2022 Toyota Tundra Problems and Top Complaints – Is Your Car A Lemon?

Engine, powertrain, brake, and electrical system issues are among the top complaints received by the NHTSA from vehicle owners

Updated on Author: Brian Jones

Updated on Author: Brian Jones

Are you experiencing acceleration hesitation or lag? Read about our Toyota Tundra Throttle Lag Class Action Investigation.

The 2022 Toyota Tundra is meant to provide all of your trucking needs. The automaker claims it is “engineered for adventure,” but many customers are finding more excitement than they signed up for. 2022 Tundra owners are facing a multitude of problems including reduced engine power, throttle lags and surges, stalling, faulty brakes, and electrical problems.

Click on other model year to view more problems: 2018   2019   2020   2021

Don’t be stuck with a lemon. You have legal rights to cash, return or buyback.

The law makes Toyota pay legal fees.

We've fixed thousands of lemon problems. Message or call 877-795-3666 today.

NHTSA Complaints for the 2022 Toyota Tundra

Complaint CategoryNumber of Complaints
Engine
18
Power Train
13
Unknown Or Other
9
Fuel/propulsion System
6
Service Brakes
6
Vehicle Speed Control
5
Forward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking
5
Electrical System
5
Back Over Prevention: Warnings
3
Air Bags
2

Most Common Problems with the 2022 Toyota Tundra

Between January 25 and November 17, 2022, 29 consumers lodged complaints with the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) about the 2022 Tundra. These all relate to 10 components and systems, with many including their problems in 2 or 3 categories.

There are 13 complaints that mention the engine, 12 that include the powertrain, and 6 that list their problem under The Fuel/Propulsion System category. It is clear that many of these are related since most of the fuel/propulsion system problems are linked by consumers to the engine and/or the powertrain.

Primary issues include an engine turbo wastegate that is defective and causes reduced engine power, engine surges, throttle lag, and stalling after an acceleration surge.

Other major problems relate to the brakes and the electrical system.

Two complaints are filed under airbags. The one involves a malfunction warning after turning the truck off. The other, filed under Airbags, Fuel/Propulsion System, and Unknown or Other, mentions multiple problems.

The complaint, by an owner in New York, states that “the truck has been stalling while driving.” It happened 4 times between the middle of March and April 5, 2022, when he filed his complaint. It happened “twice while in traffic and twice while driving on the highway. You have to come to a complete stop, put the vehicle in park, and start the vehicle again.

“One time (that) it happened we were almost rear-ended by a semi-truck driving behind us. Along with that, the airbag malfunction light has been coming on and off every few days. The fuel gauge has been showing all different fuel amounts as well every day.”

Stating that it is “a very dangerous and serious problem,” he says, “ My family is terrified to drive the truck.”

Problems with the Engine

Above all, the engine must be in good working order to create that “adventure” that Toyota is talking about. But there are so many problems with the engine, owners are wondering what sort of adventure they’ve signed up for.

An owner from Pennsylvania experienced engine failure. “I was driving and all of a sudden my engine failed and told me to pull over to a safe spot and restart.”

Several owners have mentioned a fuel gate or turbo wastegate issue. An owner from California states: “The engine V6 turbo wastegate is defective. The problem causes Reduced Engine Power. Toyota and its dealerships are trying to hide the problem from consumers.”

An owner from Texas, states, “While driving forward on (a) freeway 70 mph vehicle, (the) rear parking collision warning came on. Immediately (the) truck lost power and (the) display showed reduced power because (of the) turbo/wastegate issue. Truck lost all power (and) started shaking and trying to brake on its own.”

Toyota released a service bulletin in January 2022 talking about a possible turbocharger failure. Sadly, the only way to fix this is to replace the turbocharger, which isn’t a quick repair.  In February, they released a second communication that confirms that the “turbocharger sub-assembly is not a serviceable part.”

Other engine issues include reports that vehicles hesitate when accelerating as if they are going to stall.

An owner from Connecticut states that “From a dead stop, pressing the gas pedal nothing happens for 3-4 seconds, and then the engine surges. Very stressful pulling out into traffic. I’ve reported it to the dealer service dept and they tell me it’s normal. This condition is not normal.”

Problems with the Powertrain

Most of the powertrain problems reported by owners relate to throttle surge, throttle lag, the throttle not responding, and reduced engine power. At least 3 of these complaints are also listed under Engine. But there are other powertrain issues too.

An owner from Idaho complains about a “significant delay” when pressing on the gas from a complete stop. “The vehicle then overcompensates and launches you into drive aggressively… This could cause a massive crash if people are not prepared for the massive acceleration after waiting a few seconds for whatever engine component is stalling.”

Another, from California, experienced the rear differential locking up. “If I had been on the freeway at a faster speed I could have easily caused an accident. The Toyota mechanics had no idea how it happened, (and) replaced the entire differential. They said it was related to an earlier recall for differential problems.”

Interestingly, while there are 4 recalls for the 2022 Tundra, none relate to the differential.

Faulty Brakes

On the face of it, there are only 2 complaints to the NHTSA about brakes. One, from an owner in New Mexico, states that while driving at about 20 mph the Tundra engaged the automatic emergency brakes even though there was nothing in front of the truck.

The other reports problems with the trailer brake controller. This owner, from Wyoming, experienced “extreme brake fade” because the controller was off. This, he states, was because he didn’t realize he had to set up the trailer in the dash before the controller would switch on.

But there are several more complaints about brake problems in other categories. For example, an owner from Texas says the brakes started to squeak at 9k/10k miles. The “automatic emergency braking sensors or radar tech brakes hard at stoplights when a car is in front of me. When (the) green light is on to go, (it) is too sensitive and it slams on the brakes, jerking my neck/head forward.” This results in vehicles people driving behind him “slamming on their brakes.” Additionally, heat from outside “throws codes” for collision and brakes.

Problems with the Electrical System

With today’s lineup of vehicles, customers should have access to every top electronic feature available. While the 2022 Toyota Tundra might have great features, they don’t all seem to work well.

There are issues with Toyota Tundra’s cameras and with Apple and Android Car Play. Additionally, an owner from Texas, in a complaint listed under Electrical System and Unknown or Other, states that the vehicle’s engine turned off power steering was inoperable. According to the dealership, this was caused by an electronic control unit (ECU) computer failure.

Camera Problems

The owner from Texas, whose brakes were squeaking, also complained that the screen of the reverse camera goes blank or white “for a good  period of time.”

An owner from Los Angeles has experienced front-view camera failure numerous times. This “resulted in several warning lights appearing on the instrument panel. Due to the failure, the vehicle would come to an abrupt stop while driving at various speeds.” The fourth time he took the vehicle to the dealer, the front-view camera was replaced. Additionally, the tailgate would open inadvertently, all four windows would roll down independently, and he would receive a notification on the phone about the failure. The manufacturer was notified of the failure, but, according to the complaint, offered no assistance.

There are 2 recalls relating to the rearview camera. The first, dated April 28, 2022, warns that as many as 18,101 rearview cameras may not display an image. This reduces the driver’s view of what is behind the vehicle and increases the risk of a crash. The second, dated July 13, 2022, has the same warning but is labeled, Rearview Camera Malfunction. The number of units has increased to 31,428, with the 2022 Tundra Hybrid included in the recall.

CarPlay Problems

A review on Edmunds states that areas of the Infotainment system need to improve. For example, “before you put it into drive you need to select your profile in order to use things like navigation. If you choose to turn off Apple/Android CarPlay it constantly pops up a window that says connection failed. Extremely annoying. Remote start setup a little goofy. When you remote start and walk up to your truck and unlock it, it turns the truck off and you need to restart it again. Toyota says this is a security feature.”

A complaint to the NHTSA from an owner in Arizona states that “Apple CarPlay does not mute music when playing back text messages. This does not allow the driver to hear the message sent to them and requires they open up their phone to read the message. The point of Apple CarPlay is to allow the driver to listen to and respond to text messages using their voice. I brought up my concern with Toyota and my dealership and they both said it’s working as designed, despite the fact that Apple CarPlay does not behave this way in any other vehicle.”

Your Lemon Law Legal Rights

If you think your 2022 Toyota Tundra is a lemon you don’t have to live with it. Lemberg Law will assess your problems free of charge because the law makes Toyota pay the legal fees for lemon law cases.

Every year, auto manufacturers buy back, replace or pay cash settlements to thousands of ‘lemon’ owners like you. So, call us on our Helpline or fill out a contact form and we will see how we can’t help you.

Complaint Data

CategoryBack Over Prevention: Warnings, Forward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Forward Collision Avoidance: Warnings
DateMar 22, 2023
StateOH
Description
Automatic breaking systems - I have had several problems with the breaking systems in this truck going off without anything around my truck. I had an injury due to the brake coming on without warning. I will upload reports turned into toyota. They have had recalls on this that they stated they fixed. With in a week the truck was back to auto braking in parking lots and on the road with no vehicles or obstructions around. Throttle sticking on truck - also a recall and stated it was fixed but recall did not fix issue. The throttle will stick and keep revving even after letting of the gas. The vehicle during stop and go also sticks and causes throttle to jam. Items freezing on the led screens - also a recall stated fixed by dealership. Recall did not fix problems with this truck. Sensors on vehicle going off even when just cold or wet - also a recall and it did not fix the problems. The recall work was done on feb 14, 2023 and my vehcile was back in the shop mar 13, 2023 and is still at the dealership as of today mar 22,2023. I have had 20 or more incidents with the auto braking going off, in intersections, on the freeway, in parking lots, with a trailer attached the throttle sticking at all times even after recalls this vehicle will kill someone with all of these issues going on
CategoryEngine
DateMar 03, 2023
StateIL
Description
I am experiencing a lag in throttle response when going from a stop or slow roll. Trying to pull out into traffic and I push the accelerator and about 1-2 seconds I get nothing then truck lunges forward. Almost like it is going to die then catches itself. This has caused me on several occasions to nearly be hit.
CategorySeats, Visibility/wiper
DateJan 31, 2023
StateFL
Description
I actually have too very serious issues with my new tundra. 1) my seat is coming loose from floor of my truck every time I take a corner it feels like it's going to tip over and makes a loud clunk and it feels like the back of the seat is separating from the part where my rear end sits (aka my butt) 2) when it rains the water flows off of the hood and then I am assuming the fan that goes to radiator spits a blast of water right in my driver's side of windshield, this because the poor design of the grill on certain 22 tundra limited models. Very dangerous if you ask me or anybody else that has this problem which is quite a few people from what I have seen on 2022 tundra forums. Those are just 2 major issues of the many I have.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Service Brakes, Unknown Or Other
DateJan 28, 2023
StateFL
Description
This message keeps popping up randomly (parking support malfunction see your dealer) the infotainment keeps restarting its self randomly both of these have happened more than 20times in the last 2weeks took it to the dealership they said there's nothing they can do if they can't duplicate the problem my truck has 20,514 miles all recalls have been done I drive a lot so the 16,000 before my standard 36 month warranty will be up soon the truck was looked at on 01/25/2023 I have video of the radio but can't upload it
CategoryStructure:body
DateJan 15, 2023
StateTX
Description
Driving down interstate and heard a loud scraping sound suddenly. We were able to pull off quickly and saw the skid plate had broken and was dragging on road. There was no vibrating of vehicle or any indication of something going wrong before it occurred.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine, Service Brakes
DateJan 08, 2023
StatePA
Description
New 2022 toyota tundra hybrid, 2000 miles, experienced a total system failure while driving, engine, hybrid system, brake, parking brake etc. All systems failure causing a serious safety issue. Dealership called toyota as diagnostics instructed them to. They want to replace computer but frankly they have no idea and are guessing making this vehicle completely unsafe as it can never be driven on a highway where another failure would likely cause injury or death. Dealers position is it's not their problem, it's toyotas!!!
CategoryVehicle Speed Control
DateJan 03, 2023
StateGA
Description
The accelerator is very hesitant from a complete stop. It hesitates and has almost caused several accidents. I took it to the dealership where I purchased it from for its 1st maintenance and told them about the issue and they could not find anything wrong with it. This is a constant persistent complaint. I pick up the vehicle with 27 miles and occurs at every stop, every day. The engine can be hot or cold. There is not any time that this does not happen. They gave me a loaner 2023 tundra and it did not have any issues with the accelerator.
CategoryEngine
DateJan 02, 2023
StateGA
Description
On at least six occasions I have experienced a stall when the vehicle is in motion. The vehicle reports that I need to stop, shift into park and restart the vehicle. It seems to occur mainly when I am slowing down for a stop sign.
CategoryWheels
DateJan 01, 2023
StateAL
Description
I had a blowout on the front passenger side of the truck. The truck was purchased in oct. 2022 with less than 4k miles. In duration the rim was damaged as well from trying to get to a safe place. To get this truck fixed by a licensed toyota dealership has been the absolute worst…
CategoryStructure:body
DateDec 23, 2022
StateAL
Description
The side view camera in the passenger side door mirror flew off while driving on the interstate highway going 75mph. If there was vehicle behind me it would've hit they're windshield.
CategoryEngine
DateDec 22, 2022
StateOR
Description
The truck has a lag when accelerating from a stop, when the throttle finally figured out that it needs to go it lunges extremely fast, happened today in the walmart parking lot, almost ran over someone because it shot me across the lane to the next parking space,
CategoryEngine, Power Train
DateDec 15, 2022
StateNY
Description
At a stop while the vehicle is running and in drive, there is a delay of a second or two once the throttle is pushed to accelerate. This causes me to push the accelerator more thinking I'm not pressing hard enough, resulting in the truck accelerating faster than I'd like. When pulling out into traffic, the hesitation of the vehicle causes me to not merge at the moment I attempt to.
CategoryBack Over Prevention: Warnings, Electrical System, Service Brakes
DateDec 09, 2022
StateFL
Description
Hello, I have a new 2022 toyota tundra 2 wd, body type d cab, grade plt, transmission 10at, engine 6-cyl with 5786 miles. I was at work ready to leave and when I turned on the ignition by pressing the button and the vehicle didn't respond, never engine turn on. A few warnings started to showing up in the dashboard like pre collision system malfunctioning, parking break malfunctioning, check engine light, secondary collision break system malfunctioning. After 2 hours waiting the towing services took vehicle to dealer and tomorrow 12 / 10 / 2022 will be inspected by the dealer at doral.
CategoryService Brakes, Vehicle Speed Control
DateDec 05, 2022
StateCA
Description
The brakes failed while traveling 72 miles per hour on cruise control, and controlled distance. I was traveling behind a semi truck in the third lane from the right on interstate 5 near stockton, calif. Coming upon the truck the tundra started to accelerate, I hit the brakes numerous times yet tundra continued to accelerate, so I hit cancel on speed control, thru into park, and navigated three lanes left in heavy traffic into the median, still hitting my breaks, finally stopped the tundra with emergency break, but took the right rear tire off the rim in my violent exit to the median, inspection has been complete from toyota mfg. Saying I have a normal truck, dealer can not confirm problem, there were no warning signs. I am a very experience large animal veterinarian driving over 3 million miles in my career with no accidents, or moving violations. I own a 2007 tundra with 200,000 miles, no incidents, I know where the brakes are on a tundra.
CategoryEngine
DateNov 17, 2022
StateNY
Description
Same as recent other reports. Throttle lag of 2-4 seconds when pulling out into traffic or crossing an intersection. Happens intermittently on a daily basis. Seems to happen more when engine is warm but not at full operating temperature. Definitely not normal and potentially dangerous. Mentioned to dealer. They were unable to see, but said it was probably normal.
CategoryEngine
DateNov 16, 2022
StateCT
Description
From a dead stop, pressing the gas pedal nothing happens for 3-4 seconds and then the engine surges. Very stressful pulling out into traffic. I've reported it to the dealer service dept and they tell me it's normal. This condition is not normal. It happens every day.
CategoryFuel/propulsion System, Power Train, Vehicle Speed Control
DateNov 15, 2022
StateWA
Description
Randomly when trying to accelerate from a stop or a slow roll (less than 5 mph) the throttle doesn't respond for 2-3 seconds then the truck will surge. When I say it doesn't respond I mean nothing happens no rpm increase or anything. The dealership wants me to believe that it is turbo lag, but that is just a decrease in power, not total loss of acceleration. This has been an issue since delivery.
CategoryEngine, Power Train, Unknown Or Other
DateNov 12, 2022
StateNC
Description
Lots of lag when starting from a stop, a good 3-4 seconds after pressing the gas pedal, the truck will lunge forward. This is concerning when pulling out into traffic. Took to the dealer and they said "yes, we know about it, there is no fix for the delay". This is very unsafe
CategoryPower Train
DateNov 12, 2022
StateWI
Description
Throttle lag - when attempting to accelerate from near or complete stop vehicle will accelerate for a split second and then act as if it is stalling causing a dangerous situation. It has put me in a position where pulling out into traffic I'm left for 2-3 seconds with no throttle response.
CategoryPower Train
DateNov 11, 2022
StateME
Description
Upon acceleration after a complete stop, accelerating after almost stopping, or slowly traveling up an incline, the engine will drop to idle speed at random. Regarless of throttle input, the engine will remain at idle for several seconds (2-4) and then resume normal operation after this brief period. This is a safery issue as it can cause the vehicle to coast or become stationary in traffic or on an incline. This specific vehicle has not been to a service center, but this appears to be an issue across several online forums without a resolution from toyota. No warning lights appeared on the vehicle
CategoryEngine, Unknown Or Other
DateNov 04, 2022
StateNY
Description
Throttle lag/surge. Several times, from a stop, I've pushed on the accelerator pedal and the vehicle hasn't responded only to surge after. Something is wrong, multiple people have reported the issue to toyota but they haven't responded. This forum thread shows multiple others are having the issue too. Https://www. Tundras. Com/threads/throttle-lag-surge. 106155/
CategoryEngine, Fuel/propulsion System, Power Train
DateNov 04, 2022
StateCO
Description
When stopped at an intersection, whether for a stop sign, stop light, or waiting to turn, there are intermittent times when there is a very distinct lag or delay between when the gas pedal is pressed and the vehicle actually starting to move. As I said, this is intermittent and not an 'all the time' occurrence. However, when pulling out and crossing traffic, not knowing whether the vehicle is going to go or not is very disconcerting. At best, I feel like I am left exposed and wondering if I am going to get hit. At worst, that delay causes others to also have to react, potentially making the situation worse for more than just me. The date below is just an estimate to when I first started noticing the issue.
CategoryElectrical System, Electrical System:adas:driver Monitoring:camera/sensor
DateNov 03, 2022
StateLA
Description
The contact owns a 2022 toyota tundra. The contact stated that the front view camera had failed on numerous occasions which resulted in several warning lights appearing on the instrument panel. Due to the failure, the vehicle would come to an abrupt stop while driving at various speeds. The vehicle was taken to the dealer on numerous occasions and on the fourth visit, the front view camera was replaced. Additionally, the contact stated that the tailgate would open inadvertently, all four windows would roll down independently and he would receive a notification on the phone about the failure. The manufacturer had been notified of the failure but offered no assistance. The vehicle was not repaired and remained in the possession of the dealer. The failure mileage was approximately 1,000.
CategoryEngine, Fuel/propulsion System, Power Train
DateOct 30, 2022
StateAZ
Description
This has happened 3 times now. From stoped at a red light or pulling out of a parking lot. I start to accelerate like normal for about 5 feet and then a total loss of power. This leaves me coasting into traffic and about 2 seconds later it takes off like normal.
CategoryPower Train
DateOct 25, 2022
StateCA
Description
New vehicle had 1,340 miles on it when driving on a city street at approximately 30 mph when I felt a thump. Got out and looked under the truck but no visible trouble. Traveled about 4 more blocks and the rear differential totally locked up. Had to have it towed to the dealer for repair. No warning lamps came on until it totally locked and could not move. If I had been on the freeway at a faster speed I could have easily caused an accident. The toyota mechanics had no idea how it happened, replaced the entire differential. They said it was related to an earlier recall for differential problems. Date of manufacture is 8/22/2022.
CategoryPower Train
DateOct 03, 2022
StateID
Description
Vehicle has a significant delay when gas is pressed when at a complete stop. The vehicle then overcompensates and launches you into drive aggressively. I know I am not the only one reporting this and I have seen similar complaints from other 22 tundra owners. This could cause a massive crash if people are not prepared for the massive acceleration after waiting a few second for whatever engine component is stalling.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Forward Collision Avoidance: Warnings
DateAug 31, 2022
StateNC
Description
I was at a complete stop at a traffic light. When the light turned green, the one car in front made the turn and was a few car lengths ahead before I pressed the accelerator pedal. When I reached a speed of approx. 10+ mph and before I cleared the intersection, the automatic brakes engaged, warning flashed on the display, and engine was no longer idling. I placed truck in park, press ignition control button, then placed in drive and continued on my route. This is concerning because when the emergency brakes activate when you are not expecting it, it jerks your body and neck and the vehicle behind you could rear end you. This incident occurred on 8/22/22. I brought my vehicle in to the dealership on 8/31/22 due to the other existing recalls. I told them about this incident and they recorded it on my file. They looked at the engine data and said nothing was recorded regarding my occurrence. They stated that sometime the sensors act up and think a vehicle is in front of you when in fact there is not.
CategoryPower Train
DateAug 29, 2022
StatePA
Description
The contact owns a 2022 toyota tundra. The contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 22v445000 (power train) however, the part to do the recall repair was not yet available. The vehicle was taken to the local dealer for the recall repair and the contact was informed that parts were not yet available for the recall repair. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateAug 29, 2022
StateAZ
Description
Apple carplay does not mute music when playing back text messages. This does not allow the driver to hear the message sent to them and requires they open up their phone to read the message. The point of apple carplay is to allow the driver to listen to and respond to text messages using their voice. I brought up my concern with toyota and my dealership and they both said it's working as designed, despite the fact that apple carplay does not behave this way in any other vehicle.
CategoryEngine, Fuel/propulsion System, Power Train
DateAug 22, 2022
StateMI
Description
Intermittent issue: when pressing the gas pedal, there is often a delay of 1 to 2 seconds, followed by an acceleration surge. This has created potentially hazardous conditions during otherwise routine traffic situations. The delay has resulted unpredictability and the surge has caused loss of control when on gravel surfaces.
CategoryEngine
DateAug 16, 2022
StateMA
Description
The contact owns a 2022 toyota tundra. The contact stated when accelerating, the vehicle hesitated as if it were to stall. In addition, the contact stated that on a separate occasion when making a left turn, there was a loud abnormal noise coming from the rear of the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to the dealer but had not yet been diagnosed. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure, but the contact filed a claim but never received a response. The failure mileage was 4,975.
CategoryElectrical System, Unknown Or Other
DateAug 02, 2022
StateTX
Description
While driving during rush hour on a 7 lane roadway (600 block south fm 157, euless, tarrant county, texas 76040) on 07/19/2022 the vehicle's engine turned off. Engine and power steering were inoperable, causing me to be stuck in the left lane of traffic. Numerous warning lights and messages appeared. Truck would attempt to start, but would not. I am a police officer in euless, texas and called our wrecker service and police department to provide traffic control until the vehicle could be towed from the roadway. I was nearly struck by several vehicles while waiting for assistance. Toyota was contacted and their wrecker arrived approx. 2 hours later at the euless police dept. To pick up my vehicle and tow it to toyota of denton (tx). Toyota of denton has the truck, claiming an "ecu" computer failure. On 07/28/2022 the service department advised the vehicle was repaired and ready to be picked up. On 08/01/2022 I arrived at toyota of denton, started my truck, and was given a check engine message stating "engine maintenance required visit your dealer". I did not attempt to drive the vehicle. The service technician drove the truck back into the shop. I was advised there were addition codes from the ecu, and they still have the vehicle at this time (08/02/2022 1633 hours) with no updates.
CategoryService Brakes, Unknown Or Other
DateJul 18, 2022
StateWY
Description
The trailer brake controller is set to automatically be off until you setup a trailer. So yes, the problem is very repeatable, it's the default setting in the tundra. I traveled a rocky mountain mountain pass towing a 6,500# trailer and had extreme brake fade because unknownst to me the trailer brake controller was off because I didn't setup a trailer in the dash. I manually controlled the gears and kept in 2nd gear down the entire grade. My driving history is towing trailers with a old ford ranger ('95?) and 2014 ford expedition. The ford has brake controls and I would use it to tow 3,000#. I don't remember if the ford ranger had a brake controller. So my experience is limited. I bought a brand new 22 toyota tundra and read the manual for pulling a travel trailer (tt). I upgraded my travel trailer from 3,000# to 6,500# gvwr. It was essentially my first towing trip with both vehicles. I plugged in the tt. Dashboard said "trailer detected". I turned the dial in the middle to "tow mode". Those signals said to me everything is good. My mistake: when I adjusted the gain manually in the dash it said "trailer brake controller off". In my mind, I interpreted that as the manual controller was off. Not sure why. I should have stopped there. But dash kept saying "trailer detected" so I kept driving. Long story short, after driving the pass and nearly losing the brakes I stopped what I was doing and spent 30 minutes playing in the dash and reading the manual more. I setup the trailer I was driving in the dashboard. No where in the manual does it say "trailer brake controller off until you setup trailer in dash." when I set it up in the dash, I realized that the brake controller defualt was off, even if it says "trailer detected". I could tell because the manual brake controller started working.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Service Brakes
DateJul 14, 2022
StateNM
Description
Automatic braking engaged with no vehicle or objects in front. I was starting to move after sitting at a red light, at approximately 20 mph the vehicle engaged the automatic emergency brakes bringing the vehicle to a stop in traffic. I had to depress the brake pedal hard in order to deactivate the automatic braking system.
CategoryElectrical System, Forward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Power Train
DateJul 10, 2022
StateTX
Description
I could only select a certain amount of descriptions. 2021 tacoma had issues of a vibration in the left front or right front wheel/suspension and I have the same feeling in the 2022 tundra, (2) airflow shutters code with engine light came on, (apparently they fixed it or reset the system) (3) brakes starting to squeak at 9k/10k miles (4) transmission slipping at 9k/10k miles (5) inop reverse camera and screen goes blank or white out for good period of time (6) heat from outside temperature throws codes for collision/brake codes light come on possibly turning them off (7) automatic emergency braking sensors or radar tech brakes hard at stoplights when a car is in front of me when green light is on to go, is too sensitive and it slams on the brakes jerking my neck/head forward and other passengers in vehicle not including the people behind me, slamming on their brakes
CategoryEngine
DateMay 25, 2022
StatePA
Description
I was driving and all of a sudden my engine failed and told me to pull over to a safe spot and restart
CategoryVehicle Speed Control
DateApr 27, 2022
StateWI
Description
In stop and go traffic, when navigating round-abouts, and when accelerating away from controlled intersections (stop signals, stop signs, and yield signs), throttle control of the vehicle is inconsistent and unpredictable at slow speeds (between 1-3 mph). It behaves most poorly when attempting to accelerate after slowing, but not completely stopping. A situation drivers encounter often at yield signs, round-abouts, and stop signals that change to green while you are slowing. I have attempted to enter traffic with appropriate time/space and sufficiently pressed the accelerator only to have my vehicle sit stationary for another moment or two before lurching forward. By this time, my margin for error with approaching traffic was rapidly closing. Other times my vehicle has lurched forward when I only pressed the accelerator a small amount. I am aware of the lag in accelerating, but the lag in that 1-3 mph range is not consistent, so I can't consistently adjust for it. Recently, the truck lurched suddenly out of the parking spot I was in as soon as I took my foot off of the brake pedal. I was attempting to roll forward to have a better view around the vehicle parked next to me (I had backed into the parking spot). But rather than roll slightly forward, the truck lurched a couple feet. I caught it before impeding approaching cross traffic. But the sudden lurch visibly surprised the other driver and my passenger in the vehicle with me. (I will use this incident as the incident for the date report below, but the unpredictable throttle response is an ongoing issue that I deal with daily). I reported this issue to the dealer shortly after purchase of the vehicle. A field engineer from toyota came out and test drove my vehicle, but I have heard nothing since. The service writer at the dealership acknowledged that other gen 3 tundras he has test driven have behaved in a similar manner. My previous gen tundra did not behave this way, nor do my other vehicles.
CategoryAir Bags, Fuel/propulsion System, Unknown Or Other
DateApr 05, 2022
StateNY
Description
I have been noticing since the beginning to middle of march 2022 the truck has been stalling while driving. It has happened 4 times since that time. Twice while in traffic and twice while driving on the highway. You have to come to a complete stop, put the vehicle in park and start the vehicle again. One time it happened we were almost rear ended by a semi truck driving behind us. Along with that, the air bag malfunction light has been coming on and off every few days. The fuel gauge has been showing all different fuel amounts as well every day. The truck has been a toyota dealer for the past week and been communicating with toyota engineers and I have been told by the service advisor toyota is aware of these problems but do not have a fix. My family is terrified to drive the truck any longer and is a very dangerous and serious problem. I am not the only one who is experiencing this based on my own research. I did tell my dealer to document this on my record in detail as if anything happens to my family because of an engineering error I will take this to the highest level ever seen.
CategoryAir Bags
DateMar 09, 2022
StateCA
Description
Srs airbag system malfunction error stated visit your dealer after turning the truck off warning was gone.
CategoryBack Over Prevention: Warnings, Engine, Unknown Or Other
DateFeb 22, 2022
StateTX
Description
Wile driving forward on freeway 70 mph vehicle rear parking collision warning came on. Immediately truck lost power and display showed reduced power because turbo/wastegate issue. Truck lost all power started shaking and trying to brake on its own
CategoryEngine, Unknown Or Other
DateFeb 12, 2022
StateFL
Description
Happened 2 times first with 88 miles reduced engine power dealer said could not find problem next 10 days latter with 400 miles check engine lights reduced engine power looked up on internet many new 2022 toyota tundra owner experiencing same problem dealer still trying to diagnose problem
CategoryEngine, Fuel/propulsion System, Steering
DateFeb 10, 2022
StateTX
Description
1. Jan 3 power steering wheel low power error message 2. Jan 18 truck stalled on freeway when hit hard brake dealer can't duplicate issue just return the truck 3. Jan 31 check engine light was on dealer said fuel gate issue but didn't doesn't need to fix 4. Feb 2 all brakes led went out dealer replace instrument cluster truck still at dealer as of today 2/10/22
CategoryEngine, Power Train, Vehicle Speed Control
DateJan 25, 2022
StateCA
Description
The engine v6 turbo wastegate is defective. The problem causes a reduced engine power. Toyota and its dealership are trying to hide the problem from consumer. This vehicle is with michaels toyota of bellevue in washington. There are numerous youtube buyer with the same problem. This problem requires the repair shop to lift up the body of the truck from the frame to get to the turbo part of the engine.

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.

Share your story

Does this ring a bell? Have you had a bad experience too? Sound off and share your experience with other visitors in the comment box below.

Brian Jones

About the Author:

Brian Jones spent more than 20 years working as an ASE Certified Master Tech and Parts Specialist at multiple dealerships. Brian has become an authority in the industry, traveling across the country to consult for car dealerships and contributing his expertise as a writer for several major automotive publications. In his spare time, Brian enjoys working on pickup trucks, muscle cars, Jeeps and anything related to motorsports.

See more posts from Brian Jones
4 COMMENTS
  • MR.337

    First of all new cars and trucks smell, heating of plastics, hoses, adhesives etc, no worries there, also most of the complaints that I’ve read are in hot weather states, so welcome to my cadillac deville similar problems, what I can say is if your new vehicle is in the dealership for a month for repairs etc, you can contact your bank or lease company and demand free month payment due to the fact there is a payment agreement when the car is in your possession, soooo if you dont have the vehicle 😉 you don’t have to pay but get permission first and put in a claim with the bank or car company bank.

  • Kevin O

    I purchased my 2022 Tundra TRD Off-Road in May of 2022. Felt a slight vibration, even driving over the smallest of bumps. Was told during my 5,000 mile maintenance that it was normal for that package. Experienced the EPB light come on, but not engage while driving. Hope that was taken care of last Saturday when I also had my 15,000 mile maintenance done. While in for the recent maintenance, I was told I needed an alignment (which I had them perform) AND that my front rotors were warped and needed to be turned. Thought that was a bit soon for both the alignment and rotors with only 15,000 miles. I’m 63 and like to think I drive like an adult. As mentioned above, my mileage is between 15 – 16 mpg when promised 20 – 23 mpg. Also experiencing glitching in the Infotainment system from time to time. I’ve always had Toyota products, latest being a 2016 Tundra, 6 cylinder, TRD which I never had issues with.

    Not sure if there is any recourse here but I will be monitoring closely.

  • Mike.d

    2022 Tundra TRD pro Cab has 700 miles and smells burning plastic inside in cab, in freezing days I have to open windows to get that smell out. Lousy mpg, only hitting 16 but most of the time it sits at 13 and was promised up to 22-24. Also, weird engine indicators coming on for something with the passenger door or seat? The electric engine compartment is right below the seat. Right now, the dealership service department has advised us to monitor the mileage between fill ups. Something isn’t right even when driving at the speed limit and using eco setting. Either something is broken
    Not worth it, truck is garbage!

  • Ken H

    lousy mpg. only hitting 18 but most of the time it sits at 15. was promised up to 22-24. also, weird engine indicators coming on something with the passenger door or seat?) the electric engine compartment is right below the seat. right now, the dealership service department had advised us to monitor the milage between fill ups. something isn’t right even when driving at the speed limit and using eco setting. either something is broken, or we are dealing with false advertisement. curious to see how many other complaints will be coming up. I did read that they are replacing faulty turbos.

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead you can to our legal team.

Please select your star rating.

Briefly describe your experience Briefly describe your experience

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? Please enter a valid phone number

Want to know if you could sue? Get a free legal evaluation Lemberg Law?

Get Your No-Obligation
Case Evaluation

Send a secure message to our legal team.

What’s your name? What’s your name?
What’s your email address? What’s your email address?
What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?
Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem
Confidentiality Guarantee: We keep your information completely confidential and will not send you spam or sell your information.