2019 Volkswagen Tiguan Problems and Top Complaints – Is your car a lemon?

Engine, electrical system and powertrain issues among the top complaints received by the NHTSA from vehicle owners

By Brian Jones | Updated on

By Brian Jones | Updated on

When it comes to driving a compact SUV, there are some things that drivers demand. While style and space are right up at the top of the list, durability is also vital. VW claims that the 2019 Volkswagen Tiguan provides “bumper-to-bumper smiling” for owners. When we looked at what drivers have to say, smiling wasn’t one thing they expressed. Instead, they are quite disappointed at the faulty engine, electrical system and powertrain issues.

Click on other model year to view more problems: 2017    2018    2020    2021    2022

Don’t be stuck with a lemon. You have legal rights to cash, return or buyback.

The law makes VW pay legal fees.

We've fixed thousands of lemon problems. Message or call 877-795-3666 today.

NHTSA Complaints for the 2019 Volkswagen Tiguan

Complaint CategoryNumber of Complaints
Electrical System
20
Engine
18
Service Brakes
17
Unknown Or Other
17
Power Train
11
Vehicle Speed Control
7
Structure:body
6
Forward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking
6
Exterior Lighting
5
Air Bags
4

Problems with the electrical system

A high-quality electrical system is required to run the accessories in a VW SUV, but it also operates the essential parts as well. After all, the engine won’t start if there’s a problem with its electrical components.

In this first review from the NHTSA website, we see an electrical problem that can lead to a safety concern. “Front Collision Sensor and warning light goes on for no reason while driving at a low speed, disabling the sensor. This has happened about 5 to 6 times on various dates while driving in the city and I have to stop, turn the car off and on in order to reset the computer by itself. Sometimes it will turn off by itself too.”

What we see here is a significant amount of danger. It’s not much different from the threat posed by a recall labeled with NHTSA Campaign Number 18V824000. It appears that more than 70,000 vehicles don’t issue a warning when the key is left in the ignition. This leads to a heightened chance of having the car stolen. To fix the problem, technicians must reprogram the instrument cluster. With all the concerns caused by the SUV, some owners might wish it would get stolen.

Here are some actual complaints logged with the NHTSA about the 2019 VW Tiguan Electrical Problems

PURCHASED CAR JUNE 30, CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ILLUMINATED ON WAY HOME FROM DEALER. NEXT DAY CHECK ENGINE LIGHT OFF, BRAKE POWER BOOST FAILURE FLICKER ON SCREEN, AUTO START/STOP NOT FUNCTIONING, RESTART CAR ALL GONE. NEXT TRIP TIRE PRESSURE WARNING, UNABLE TO RESET.HAD TO GO TO AN APPOINTMENT AND WAS HEADING TO DEALER ON THE WAY HOME, CAR WENT BLACK, LOST ACCELERATION, NO RESPONSE FROM THROTTLE WHILE DRIVING 75MPH ON BUSY FREEWAY. HAD TO COAST ACROSS FIVE LANES OF TRAFFIC TO BE SAFE.RESTART CAR, DROVE TO DEALER. TOTAL AMOUNT OF MILES ON CAR 152.

THE AUTOMATIC BRAKING SENSORS WENT OFF FOR NO REASON. CAR STARTED BRAKING ON IT’S OWN. LUCKILY NO CAR BEHIND ME. CAR WAS IN MOTION ON A 35 MPH PART OF ROUTE 30 IN INDIANA WHEN IT STARTED TO BRAKE SUDDENLY. TOOK IT TO THE DEALERSHIP AND THEY COULD NOT REPLICATE IT. I SENT VOLKSWAGEN A MESSAGE AND THEY DIDN’T REPLY.

Problems with the engine

While there have been a lot of reports about this engine being underpowered, there have been larger concerns posed.

One Edmunds review states, “Bought the first car and two days later the engine light came on. Took it in and I was able to get a new one. 4 days later engine light turned on again. Haven’t made my first payment and been to the dealership 3 times already. The first car had under 100 miles and the second car had 5 miles.”

The automaker seems to have a lot of complaints regarding the engine. They do address some specific incidents with Service Bulletin #TT 27 19 01 that talks about a malfunctioning start/stop system. In the bulletin, VW suggests that the problems are related to a poor battery charge. They tell technicians to modify the start/stop module to resolve the issue. In the meantime, drivers just have to make sure that the SUV doesn’t stop in the middle of an intersection.

Here are some actual complaints logged with the NHTSA about the 2019 VW Tiguain Engine Problems

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2019 VOLKSWAGEN TIGUAN. WHILE THE CONTACT’S DAUGHTER WAS DRIVING 40 MPH, THE EPC, OIL, AND SYSTEM/POWER WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE BEGAN TO HESITATE WHEN THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO CAPISTRANO VOLKSWAGEN  WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ENGINE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 920.

NEW CAR, 2 MONTHS OLD, 3,000 MILES. ISSUE HAS HAPPENED 4X. FIRST INSTANCE, TURNING LEFT ONTO A MAJOR 3 LANE ROAD, CAR SUDDENLY LOSES POWER AND THEN CHUGS TO CATCH SPEED LEAVING YOU POWERLESS WITH THE FOOT PEDDLE TO THE FLOOR. SECOND INSTANCE, EXITING A SHOPPING CENTER, LIGHT TURNED GREEN, STEPPED ON GAS PEDAL AND CAR BOGGED AND SPUTTERED AS IF OUT OF GAS AND STALLED IN MIDDLE OF INTERSECTION. ONCE I GOT IT STARTED AGAIN IT MOVED FORWARD. AT NEXT TRAFFIC LIGHT IT SPUTTERED AGAIN AND WOULD NOT GO EVEN AFTER PUMPING GAS PEDDLE. CREEPS TO A ROLLING RUN AND THEN GOES. THIRD INSTANCE WAS ENTERING AN ON-RAMP FROM A STOP LIGHT, CAR SPUTTERED AS IF OUT OF FUEL AGAIN AND BARELY MADE IT OUT OF INTERSECTION WHERE I HAD TO PULL OFF THE ROAD TO GET THE CAR GOING. 4X SAME AS ABOVE. I?M NOW AT DEALER FOR SECOND TIME- NO REPAIR AND THEY SAY VW IS AWARE OF SOME CUSTOMERS EXPERIENCING THIS ISSUE NO FIX AT THIS TIME. VERY DANGEROUS TO DRIVE ON ATLANTA CITY STREETS. I?M NERVOUS TO PUT MY FAMILY BACK IN THE CAR.

Problems with the transmission

For a smooth driving experience, you want a quality powertrain. That’s not what the VW Tiguan seems to come with.

One NHTSA user wrote, “Upon driving my new 2019 Volkswagen Tiguan this past winter. It was a very cold winter day, when starting my car it wouldn’t go in reverse, then started to go in reverse. I put it into Drive. It would putt (go and stop) like it was running out of gas. There was plenty of gas in it. It continued to display the EPC yellow warning light. The light signal is engine control malfunction. I have notified my dealership I purchased it from. They state it will do that when it is very cold out. Now spring time, it has done it twice.”

The company has nothing to say about this or any other powertrain issues for that matter. It seems that they expect drivers to avoid reversing. Owners should only have to move forward when the weather is bad.

Here are some actual complaints logged with the NHTSA about the 2019 VW Tiguain Transmission Issues

UPON DRIVING MY NEW 2019 VOLKSWAGEN TIGUAN THIS PAST WINTER. IT WAS A VERY COLD WINTER DAY, WHEN STARTING MY CAR IT WOULDN’T GO IN REVERSE. , THEN STARTED TO GO, IN REVERSE . I PUT IT INTO D DRIVE .. I WOULD PUTT ( GO AND STOP) LIKE IT WAS RUNNING OUT OF GAS . THERE WAS PLENTY OF GAS IN IT . IT CONTINUED TO DISPLAY THE EPC YELLOW WARNING LIGHT. THE LIGHT SIGNAL IS ENGINE CONTROL MALFUNCTION . I HAVE NOTIFIED MY DEALERSHIP I PURCHASED IT FROM. THE STATE IT WILL DO THAT WHEN IT IS VERY COLD OUT. IT IS NOW SPRING TIME. IT HAS DONE IT TWICE

MY BRAND NEW 2019 VW TIGUAN FWD NEXT DAY AFTER BUYING SHOWED MULTIPLE PROBLEMS THAT RELATED TO TRANSMISSION AND BRAKING AND A UNKNOWN SOURCE OF RATTLING SOUND.

I NOTICED WHEN I COLD START THE TIGUAN AND LET IT IDLE FOR 3-4 MINUTES THE NORMAL ENGINE SOUND SLOWLY GOES DOWN BUT A LOUDER AND MORE NOTICEABLE RATTLING SOUND COMES UP. IT IS HEARD WHILE DRIVING ALSO. IT’S CONCERNING BUT WHAT IS MORE CONCERNING IS THE THAT THE TIGUAN HESITATES WHILE SHIFTING GEARS. I NOTICED IT HAPPENS WHILE ACCELERATING FROM A STOP. NOT ONLY IT HESITATES TO ACCELERATE YOU’D FEEL THE CARS STRUGGLE WHILE SHIFTING GEARS. EACH TIME THE GEAR IS SHIFTING YOU COULD FEEL THE CAR IS AT A CONFUSED STATE AND SO YOU FEEL IT THUMP.

Problems with the brakes

Brakes are designed to stop a vehicle and help drivers avoid a collision. When something becomes defective with this system, everyone is at risk.

Just look at this review on NHTSA, “The vehicles brake line that went into the ABS system was not tight enough and brake fluid leaked out resulting in the failure of the braking system. The loss of the braking system could be felt while driving, and eventually resulted in the vehicle not stopping. Fortunately, no one was injured. The vehicle was new and had 185 miles on it when the brakes failed.”

Again, there is nothing from VW discussing brake repairs or fixes. Just like before, it’s likely that there are some owners that might wish the Tiguan would just keep driving away so they can get a new vehicle.

Here are some actual complaints logged with the NHTSA about the 2019 VW Tiguan Brake Problems

MY WIFE WAS DRIVING DOWN A RESIDENTIAL STREET NO CARS IN FRONT OR BEHIND. THE AUTONOMOUS BRAKES ACTIVATED AND BROUGHT CAR TO FULL STOP FOR NO REASON.

THE CARS BREAKING ASSISTANCE BRINGS THE CAR TO A COMPLETE STOP AT ANY SPEED. IT WILL BREAK WHEN NOTHING IS AROUND, WHEN BACKING OUT OF DRIVEWAY, DRIVING DOWN FREEWAY, AND PULLING OUT ONTO THE ROAD.

Problems with the vehicle speed control systems

One of the advanced features on the VW Tiguan is vehicle speed control. When this doesn’t function properly, it puts everyone at risk.

A review on the NHTSA website states, “I leased my 2019 Tiguan in March 2019. Shortly after (1,500 miles), I experienced my 1st acceleration failure. While attempting to turn left with oncoming traffic (with my 4-year old in the back seat), my car would not accelerate although my foot was pressing the gas pedal to the floor. After multiple seconds and multiple attempts to accelerate forward, I put the vehicle in park, turned it off, turned it back on, put in Drive and was able to complete the turn. Thankfully, the vehicles coming toward me were paying attention and halted, or it would’ve resulted in a collision.”

There is information provided for the techs in Service Bulletin #45-18-03TT on how to diagnose the trouble. They don’t issue a direct fix or cause for the unwarranted autonomous braking event that many people are experiencing. It’s clear to see that this SUV is a rolling disaster, when it actually moves. Otherwise, it’s just waiting to be stolen; although there can’t be that many thieves that want to drive this vehicle.

Here are some actual complaints logged with the NHTSA about the 2019 VW Tiguan Vehicle Speed Control Problems

I LEASED MY 2019 TIGUAN IN MARCH 2019. SHORTLY AFTER (~1,500 MILES), I EXPERIENCE MY 1ST ACCELERATION FAILURE. WHILE ATTEMPTING TO TURN LEFT WITH ONCOMING TRAFFIC (WITH MY 4 YEAR OLD IN THE BACK SEAT), MY CAR WOULD NOT ACCELERATE ALTHOUGH MY FOOT WAS PRESSING THE GAS PEDAL TO THE FLOOR. AFTER MULTIPLE SECONDS AND MULTIPLE ATTEMPTS TO ACCELERATE FORWARD, I PUT THE VEHICLE IN PARK, TURNED IT OFF, TURNED IT BACK ON, PUT IN DRIVE, AND WAS ABLE TO COMPLETE THE TURN. THANKFULLY THE VEHICLES COMING TOWARDS ME WERE PAYING ATTENTION AND HALTED, OR IT WOULD?VE RESULTED IN A COLLISION

THE CAR STOPPED ACCELERATING UNEXPECTEDLY IN THE MIDDLE OF THE FREEWAY WHILE I WAS DRIVING ABOUT 60MPH. ALL KINDS OF EMERGENCY LIGHTS CAME UP FOR NO APPARENT REASON, AND THE CAR BLOCKED. THE GEAR WAS LOCKED AND WOULDN’T RESPOND TO RESTARTING THE CAR. THE CAR HAD TO THE TOWED, AND AFTER GETTING IT IN THE TRUCK I REALIZED THAT ONE SIDE OF THE HEADLIGHTS WEREN’T WORKING. THE CAR HAS ONLY 1700 MILES.

Your Lemon Law Legal Rights

Think you have a lemon? Sit back and let the experts work out your lemon case at no cost to you. The law makes VW pay legal fees. You may be able to get your lemon out of your life. Every year, auto manufacturers buy back, replace or pay cash settlements to thousands of ‘lemon’ owners like you.

Complaint Data

CategorySeat Belts, Seats, Structure:body
DateFeb 02, 2023
StateAR
Description
Sunroof drains are not draining correctly causing vehicle to flood when there is precipitation, flooring is wet/molded, seat belts have mold on them, unpleasant smell, and condensation collects on the windows. Also causing water marks/stains on vehicles exterior body.
CategoryElectrical System, Service Brakes
DateJan 23, 2023
StateIN
Description
Error code: "driver door contact switch". When this comes on randomly I can't unlock or lock my doors. I have had to climb out of my car through the passenger side door after parking because the driver's side won't unlock. Fault: "auto parking break" when this comes on I can't turn on or off the parking brake. Sometimes when I'm driving and there is a bump or a change in surface level the parking break comes on. My car stops all of a sudden and cars behind me swerve not to hit me. I have noticed that the issues can go as fast as they come on. They only really happen in cold weather. Last year (2022) was the first year that things happened. I took my car in to see what volkswagen could do. They said that because the error codes weren't running then they couldn't diagnose the issue. They also said that they have never heard of this before. However, when the error codes are on it's unsafe to drive the car. I have read that other volkswagens have this issue. The link below is one example. Https://knightlawgroup. Com/volkswagen-tiguan-wiring-harness-automatic-braking-problems/
CategoryPower Train
DateJan 18, 2023
StateNY
Description
It has already recall for other model but not ‘tiguan' recall code is ‘37m2' please do recall and save us from danger. Please.
CategoryEngine
DateDec 12, 2022
StateMO
Description
My problem does not involve a crash but involves frequent delayed acceleration in warm and cold weather, due to drive-by-wire technology or software. My vw service department does not acknowledge the problem and considers this delayed acceleration as turbo lag! Really, turbo lag at idle and no forward movement! Example sitting in parking lot at idle, auto trans in d drive. I stopped to let out my wife of car and I depressed accelerator pedal and nothing happened for six second delay, the motor continued at idle, 1000 rpm, than after approx., full six seconds (I was counting) then car raced off and I had to brake. This issue occurs from full stop warm or cold and from idle to 1800 rpm and up to 25mph and from first week of ownership beginning in october 2019. This had been reported up to eight times and only serviced by the selling vw dealership. The internet is full of remarks from vw owners of multiple vw models with same 4 cylinder turbo and many other european and japanese manufacturers. I suggest these cars with 4 cylinder and turbo be investigated. I previously owned a 2016 gmc terrain with drive by wire that never in three years displayed this similar issue.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateNov 21, 2022
StateDC
Description
I came to a stop light, and the car would not accelerate when I took my foot off the break and pushed the gas pedal. The lights remained on. I had to turn off the car and restart it. Additionally, the car has been leaking.
CategoryElectrical System, Exterior Lighting
DateNov 13, 2022
StateMD
Description
While driving at night the cars ip displayed a warning "ignition system shutdown please check your start system", the instrument panel and information display then went dark with no symbiology speed, revs or turn signals. The head lights and tail lights shut off and cabin fan and side windows stopped working. The engine continued to run so I was able to safely exit the highway but was a stressful and dangerous moment. When the vehicle was taken for repair vw service says issue was caused by a malfunctioning battery which was replaced at my cost with an oem part. This has not fixed the issue though and I am attempting to get a new appointment for service.
CategoryElectrical System:12v/24v/48v Battery
DateOct 27, 2022
StateTX
Description
The contact owns a 2019 volkswagen tiguan. The contact stated that while driving at an undisclosed speed, the vehicle lost motive power. The battery was jump started and the vehicle restarted. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the battery needed to be replaced. The vehicle was then taken to two independent mechanics who tested the battery and determined that the battery did not need to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 40,000.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateOct 07, 2022
StateVA
Description
Rooftop leakage , consistent with rain and snow and 2/3 inches of water sitting on the right side passenger floor and that side is wet for a long time and sometimes mold was formed. Car is now smelling bad. We never crossed our mind about blaming the roof leak but drivers blaming each other for leaving the window a jar or kids spilling water bottles in the car. Now the car was parked in the driveway sitting tight and right. And today, checked the car to move, saw 2/3 inches of water from last week rain with storm ian. So the problem of manufacturing fault has been with us since we bought it in 2019.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking
DateOct 03, 2022
StateIN
Description
On 3 different occasions, the emergency braking system has automatically activated with no pending accident or obstruction present. The car has been to the dealer for inspection and there is an open work order on it with no solution given.
CategoryElectrical System, Vehicle Speed Control
DateSep 22, 2022
StateMD
Description
From a stop at an intersection, the initial depressing of the accelerator produced no throttle response and then suddenly the car lurched forward. This resulted in rear ending the care in front at the intersection. The collision avoidance did not stop the car before contacting the car in front. Even after the accident the car continued to respond in the same way until it was placed on the two truck.
CategoryPower Train:automatic Transmission:lever And Linkage:floor Shift
DateAug 26, 2022
StateNY
Description
Hi, my 2019 vw tiguan, has the warning sign that ‘only exit vehicle in p position. Please service vehicle' but I found out it has recall for other vw cars for same issue but not tiguan. Nhtsa recall number 19v615 vw action code 37m2, 37l5 at dealer, they will charge for diagnosing for 0 because it has not recalled. It should be recalled. Thank you.
CategoryBack Over Prevention: Rearview System Braking, Electrical System
DateAug 11, 2022
StateTX
Description
At a random time with nothing in the way the rear and front collision auto braking will engage. The last time this happen the vehicle was halfway into the street when it came to a sudden stop. Both forward and backward. I have a video of this happening. The local dealership says this a normal.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine, Lane Departure: Blind Spot Detection
DateAug 11, 2022
StateCA
Description
Blind spot indicator went out dealer replaced under warranty (passenger side) warranty expired a few thousand miles later and now the driver side is faulty. Vehicle has a rough idle and oil leaks. Dealer will not diagnose problem and now that car is out of warranty they wont do anything unless paid for. Car has rough idle and miscellaneous oil leaks occasionally almost stalling. Independent shop ran a diagnostic and shows one cylinder misfiring and want to inspect pcv as most the time these fail on vw
CategorySeat Belts
DateAug 09, 2022
StateIN
Description
The contact owns a 2019 volkswagen tiguan. The contact stated that while operating the vehicle, the audible passenger's side seat belt alarm would randomly activate and the seat belt warning light would illuminate even though there was no front seat passenger seated in the vehicle. The seat belt was then connected in order to deactivate the alarm. The contact indicated that the failure was intermittent. The vehicle was taken to the local dealer who was unable to determine the cause of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vin was not available. The failure mileage was 46,000.
CategoryElectronic Stability Control
DateJun 22, 2022
StateVA
Description
While attempting to accelerate on major highways (55-75 mph), suddenly orange "epc" light along with orange triangle with ! Appears on dashboard. Vehicle immediately begins losing speed, unable to keep up with traffic speed - capped at around 39 mph. Notification on touchscreen display, select "vehicle status", "1 message" next to the another identical orange triangle with !. Touched the messages to find orange ! And meter symbol, left of "engine speed maximum 3000 rpm." immediately drive to dealership, when I turned off the engine and parked the car to talk to a service center representative, it wiped the error from the vehicle completely. No epc light, no message, and no data storage for the error that occurred. The dealership told me they were unable to re-create the issue, and sent me on my way. A few months later, the same issue had repeated 3-4 times, I took it to the same dealership, still unable to recreate issue. Now 2 full years have passed, warranty is expired, I bring it in having had the issue dozens of times (and documented with timestamped images), and the same dealership is claiming that the issue is the engine harness. This is extremely unsafe for other drivers, passengers, myself and my passengers. I have been fortunate enough to not have had any vehicles too close behind me when this failure occurs.
CategoryStructure
DateMay 18, 2022
StateWI
Description
The contact owns a 2019 volkswagen tiguan. The contact stated that the right hydraulic arm of the hatchback was corroded and upon closing the trunk manually, the right hydraulic arm detached and hit her on the right side of the head and shoulder. A bystander approached the contact to check on her. The contact then sought medical assistance. The contact was informed that she had sustained a severe concussion. The contact continued to undergo pain and physical therapy. The contact was later diagnosed with oxepedo myalgia and tumor on the right shoulder. Additionally, the contact was informed that she needed a surgical procedure for shoulder replacements. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where it was repaired. The vehicle was then taken to the dealer who inspected the vehicle and informed the contact that there was no proof of the incident. The contact stated that the failure occurred 14 days after the dealer had sold her the vehicle brand new. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine And Engine Cooling, Power Train
DateMar 21, 2022
StateNY
Description
The contact owns a 2019 volkswagen tiguan. The contact stated that while his wife was driving approximately 55 mph, the vehicle lost motive power and stalled with several unknown warning lights illuminated. Since the initial failure, the failure occurred intermittently and the vehicle would restart soon after failure. The contact had taken the vehicle to a dealer however, the mechanic was unable to diagnose or duplicate the failure. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 4,000.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Service Brakes
DateMar 19, 2022
StateTX
Description
My tiguan is doing the same thing as the atlas. I have been told by the dealer and the vw representative that did a physical inspection of my vehicle. That the issues are the same. I was doing 70 mph on the highway all the dash lights went on and then the breaks engage bring my vehicle to a complete stop. This was in march of 2021. Vehicle was taken straight to dealer I was told then what was happening. And was told the issed was resolved. Then in january 2022 the vehicle did the same thing once at a low speed, and again that same morning going 30 mph, were the truck behind us did everything he could to avoid hitting the vehicle as my vehicle came to a complete stop. I was the front car and thankfully the truck behind me was the only other vehicle on the road. I pulled in to a parking lot, I attempted to back up and the vehicle would not go in to reverse. I had to have my vehicle towed to the dealership where has sat since january. They have not been able to repair the unit. As they are waiting for a wire harness for the door. Vw corporate has been notified and is not been helpful at this point.
CategoryElectrical System, Seat Belts
DateFeb 21, 2022
StateCA
Description
1. Seat belt in middle row. Seat belt will not retract. 2. Electric system. Driver door contact switch, car still running, electric brake, drive window will not roll up, passenger window on left side will not roll up, driver door will not unlock.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking
DateFeb 21, 2022
StateAZ
Description
Driving on clear road with sunny skies when vehicle break system warning light came on and vehicle suddenly and without warning began breaking. The sudden breaking of the vehicle with no reason or cause surprised me and put me in a dangerous position that could have resulted in an accident. Luckily the vehicle behind me was far enough behind where it was able to break without rear ending me. There was no warning that the vehicle had sense something on the road (none which were visible to me) before slamming the breaks. I will be reporting this to the dealer, but it has occurred twice before and I've always been told they don't see any issues on there side, only been told to write down time, road conditions and location where it occurred so they could look into the system next time.
CategoryAir Bags
DateDec 28, 2021
StateNJ
Description
Passenger and driver air bag lights have come on 3 times (not working). Huge safety concern
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking
DateOct 24, 2021
StateMD
Description
While driving 25mph with no vehicles or other obstructions ahead, the vehicle forward collision warning audibly warned of an imminent crash, displayed a visible indicator on the dashboard screen, and applied strong braking force for about 2 seconds as I had been accelerating slightly. There were vehicles directly behind mine which may have collided with me if I had stopped suddenly. There was no risk of a frontal collision. This occurred as the vehicle was driving on a standard asphalt road and approached a red brick style crosswalk (there were no pedestrians). This has not been reproduced or inspected by law enforcement, a dealer, or others. There was no warning prior to this event.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine
DateOct 12, 2021
StateCA
Description
Automatic start/stop feature malfunctioned while vehicle was at a complete stop in a left hand turn lane at the front of an intersection. Caused major traffic jam because vehicle would not restart. No warning signals were given prior to failure, car engine simply turned completely off and dashboard message then read to "manually restart engine". Attempted to do so but it did not work. After that, I randomly started turning the car off and on, switching from park to drive in whatever order to try to get the engine to restart since manually restarting the "normal" way did not seem to work. While the car was not restarting, the yellow engine light did appear, I am not sure exactly when. No one's safety was at risk in this particular instance, however it could have been depending on when this problem occurs. It has happened twice prior to this incident but both times occurred in a parking lot, not in open traffic. Eventually, after about 5 minutes the car did restart and I was able to resume driving. The vehicle has not yet been inspected by anyone for this particular issue and therefore not reproduced or confirmed by a dealer or independent service center.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateSep 12, 2021
StateMA
Description
Windshield washer fluid lost without using it. Have to add a gallon of the windshield washer fluid every 4 months.
CategoryElectrical System
DateAug 23, 2021
StateTX
Description
We bought a new 2019 tiguan for my 16 year old daughter. At just over 5 thousand miles, she was driving the car home from school when all the electric power was lost. The engine kept running, but she lost all the lights, headlights, break lights, radio, ac, speedometer, etc. Basically everything stopped working except the engine. Obviously this was a safety concern for me because she's 16 and didn't have headlight, or break lights, or a speedometer, just to name a few. Volkswagen dealership in mckinney, tx, began diagnosing the issue. They changed the battery and said the car was fixed. Unfortunately, as my now 17 year old daughter was driving, the car all the sudden lost all power again. The danger is that the car starts and performs perfectly at first, but will shutdown everything but the engine while she's driving! So this is the 2nd time this has happened. The car went back to the dealership and they a "software update", and claimed that corrected the problem eventhough I suspect they dint truly believe they fixed it. So my daughter starts her car and drives down the road with no problems, until, for the individual time, she loses power while driving over 50 mph. So the car is at the dealership for a 3rd time. The car has just over 5 thousand miles on it. Volkswagen keeps claiming they've corrected the problem, and keeps returning an unsafe vehicle to my daughter.
CategoryAir Bags
DateAug 18, 2021
StateMT
Description
I was involved in a collision where I hit another vehicle with the front passenger side. The air bags did not deploy on mine, and the seat belt did not lock into place causing me to hit the steering wheel. The police verified this upon inspection immediately after the accident happened. I have spoken with volkswagen many times about the transmission lagging and requiring excessive acceleration. Because of the lag I have almost been hit many times, as well as almost hit others due to the increase in speed after the lag.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking
DateJul 08, 2021
StateME
Description
Front assist goes off for no reason engaging the brakes. Dealership told me to turn it off and fill out reports if it continues to happen. Filled out reports with photos and returned after having my vehicle for over a month they state that the front assist engaging for no reason is normal operation.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Structure:body
DateMay 06, 2021
StateUT
Description
Door latch malfunctions required multiple visits to mechanic to diagnose. Locked and unlocked randomly. As in would lock me out or in the vehicle requiring I use an alternate door (not driver door) to exit my vehicle. Emergency break assist engages in gutters and driveways. Essentially anything that isn't flat terrain may result in the tiguan slamming on the breaks for you coming to a complete stop. Even when approaching dips, gutters, driveways or different inclines you have a very likely chance of the emergency system engaging breaks.
CategoryExterior Lighting
DateApr 16, 2021
StateNY
Description
This is a second complaint about the headlights on my vehicle. The low beams do not illuminate the roadway safely. I complained to the manufacturer who referred me to the dealer. Who stated that there is no adjustment that can be made. Per the dealers description the vehicle only utilizes one bulb for high and low beams. There is a shield that comes down to create the low beams. With that being said, in the low beam position the shield creates distinct line that only illuminates a short distance of road in front of the vehicle. This also creates a wall of darkness beyond that. No diffusion of light just going into the darkness blind. This to me is a very dangerous situation..
CategoryElectrical System
DateApr 08, 2021
StateTN
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2019 volkswagen tiguan. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the vehicle would blow hot air. The contact had taken the vehicle to harper volkswagen (9901 kingston pike, knoxville, tn 37922) where the technician inspected the a/c unit and found no fault with the system. As the failure continued, the contact took the vehicle back to the dealer where she was instructed to purchase a thermometer and keep track of the temperature readings inside the vehicle. The manufacturer was notified of the failure where she was informed that they stood behind the diagnostic of the mechanic and offered no further assistance. The contact also sent an email to the manufacturer documenting that the temperature reading inside the vehicle was above normal. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 2,742.*dt*dt*dt the consumer stated the vehicle was taken to a local fire department where it was determined the air from the vent reached 180 degrees.
CategoryPower Train, Service Brakes
DateFeb 18, 2021
StateOH
Description
My vehicle was parked in a slightly sloped driveway and turned off. After 2 minutes, car went back approx. 100 feet through walkway and ended up in the middle of main road. This is a serious malfunction of the vehicle as it can cause injury to someone. When called the customer service center, the rep says there is a recall on engine and transmission control software upgrade but I was not notified about this recall. In addition, on the nthsa website it says the upgrade is for "update to address elevated tailpipe emissions that were found during vehicle testing".
CategoryService Brakes
DateFeb 02, 2021
StateCA
Description
2019 volkswagen tiguan. Consumer writes in regards to issues with automatic braking system. *ld the consumer stated the automatic braking system was overly sensitive and distracting. The consumer stated twice the vehicle shut down. The consumer stated the automatic braking system general activates when backing out or in a drive thru. The dealer was contacted and stated the vehicle operated as designed.
CategoryExterior Lighting
DateJan 29, 2021
StateNY
Description
The headlights are led and this vehicle is equipped with afs. Adaptive front lighting system. I believe the headlights do not illuminate the roadway adequately. There is an area that is just in front of the vehicle that one can see the roadway. Then there is a definite line that basically creates a wall of darkness, that prevents one from seeing anything beyond that, this creates a blind area. Any other vehicles that I have driven over the years provide lighting that illuminates the area in front of the vehicle and then defuses the light further to see down the roadway, and does not create a wall of darkness. I have brought this up to vw and the dealer who states that the system is operating correctly. I have been told that the system only utilizes one bulb for both low beams and high beams, with a shield that covers a portion of the lighting to create the low beams. I guess that is why the lighting has a very definitive line cutting it off bluntly, therefore creating a wall of darkness, this literally creates a blind area for which one cannot see a sufficient area in front of the vehicle. To operate it safely. To me this creates a very unsafe condition when driving under normal conditions with low beams on. As explained to me the shield goes up for when the high beams are activated, I have seen some online posts that others are experiencing the same thing, please advise as to what to do regarding this issue thank you, [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the freedom of information act (foia), 5 u. S. C. 552(b)(6). *cc *tr
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJan 25, 2021
StateCT
Description
Kessi key fob loses power/connectivity in cold weather. Occurred twice in 20-25 degree temperature. Unable to unlock with remote key. Requires popping off lock cylinder cover, using key blade to open door, sets off alarm, must hold key close to a designated area on steering column to start.. If there is enough power/transmission left in key fob. Could be left stranded & have to be towed. Kessi key fob no longer operable. Must go to dealer to get new battery. Store bought batteries do not work in most cases. Have had multiple vw's with kessi key fob in past and never had issue with key becoming inoperative in cold weather.
CategoryElectrical System, Unknown Or Other
DateJan 21, 2021
StateMA
Description
Sunroof leaked while closed filling the car with gallons of water, creating water damage and risk of electrical failures. The vehicle was parked in a driveway. There is an existing class action lawsuit regarding this problem, however the owners were not made aware, and the soonest dealership appointment to remedy the issue was 1 week from the call, with no sense of urgency. This is unacceptable for a vehicle under mfg warranty, which is not safe to drive in the mean time.
CategoryEngine, Power Train, Service Brakes
DateJan 07, 2021
StateNY
Description
Vehicle started leaking fluids 2 weeks after purchasing. The car has now been in 6 times for leaking oil fluids, as well as noisy brakes, and a bucking tranny. Has had seals replaced, boot replaced and is now leaking again 1/2021 in the front, and also leaking in the rear of the car.
CategoryAir Bags, Forward Collision Avoidance: Warnings
DateDec 04, 2020
StateNC
Description
Tl* the contact owned a 2019 volkswagen tiguan. The contact stated that while driving at 65 mph, when a vehicle in front suddenly stopped causing the contact to rear end their vehicle. The vehicle's forward collision prevention system had failed to alert the contact that there was a vehicle in front. The air bags failed to deploy. The vehicle was towed. The vehicle was deemed totaled. The contact did receive abdominal, chest, and back injuries. Medical attention was needed. A police report filed. The vehicle was taken to the dealer (hendrick volkswagen of concord located at 7500 hendrick auto plaza nw, concord, nc 28027; (704) 743-4110) who were made aware of the failure, however, the manager had contacted them back as promised. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure an opened a case regarding the failure. The failure mileage was 37,997.*dt*jb
CategoryEngine
DateOct 29, 2020
StateTX
Description
Regardless of outside ambient or engine operating temperature. When ever this vehicle powers down (aka sleep mode) when it is restarted this vehicle requires a minimum of 2:20 seconds of idle time before engine rpm will drop below 1000 rpm so it can be safely placed into gear. This happens in 105 deg tx days in the parking lot of the grocery store as well as the garage in the morning. Dealer says "no codes", so it is working as designed! An acquaintance at work has 2018 tiguan and his does not do this. This wastes gas and is bad for the environment. Went to dealer 2x thus far. They do not care.
CategoryPower Train
DateOct 29, 2020
StateTX
Description
Sport shift. This is an underpowered and sometimes confused vehicle. Most owners say to drive in "sport" mode to help it not hesitate as much when accelerating from a stop (can have long hesitation for no apparent reason) and when passing at highway speeds. Per manual "sport mode will not allow transmission to go into highest gear" which is 8th gear. However once in sport mode, and cruising with steady speed and rpm, if you place selector to manual mode the shift indictor immediately displays 8 with no change in engine tone or rpm. This indicates to me that the transmission is already in 8th gear against design and operation manual description. I believe this is a contributing factor for the sluggish transmission response during normal operation which does not seem very different from sport mode and will cause premature transmission problems some owners have complained about. Dealer says there are no codes so this is normal.
CategoryStructure:body
DateOct 29, 2020
StateTX
Description
This is the basic s model. We intentionally purchased this base model to exclude the hi-tech options known to fail. We wanted an ignition key to eliminate the necessity of a fob and push button start. We were not made aware of the fact you cannot lock this vehicle without using the door fob they provided!! We were led to believe it was a convenience to lock and unlock but not necessary. With our other vehicles once outside of the vehicle, we will press the electric door lock button to lock the lock, close door and doors locks. Vw does not allow the locks to be activated unless door is closed which means if you do not use fob, the doors remain unlocked! After about 3 months of ownership we realized we were not locking this vehicle when exiting. This is a safety and theft issue.
CategoryVisibility:sun/moon Roof Assembly
DateOct 02, 2020
StateAZ
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2019 volkswagen tiguan. The contact stated that while his wife was driving 40 mph, she heard an abnormal sound coming from the sun roof. The driver continued driving to her residence. After parking the vehicle, she noticed that the sun roof panel had shattered. The driver stated there was no impact that caused the failure. The contact called the local dealer chapman volkswagen of tucson located at 4500 e 22nd st, tucson, az 85711, (520) 445-4090 and made the dealer aware of the failure. The vehicle was not diagnosed nor repaired. The manufacturer had not been informed of failure. The failure mileage was approximately 20,000. *ln
CategoryService Brakes
DateAug 24, 2020
StateCA
Description
My vehicle's front assist collision sensor will engage itself while going down some driveways regardless of how slow or angled I try to exit (I always make sure that my exit and turns are safe from any ongoing traffic so the sensor is only being tripped from ground in front of the sensor). I have been almost been rear ended three times because of this and almost hit from the side when the the sensor engaged when I was more than halfway out into the first lane to make my turn. I have engaged several vw service technicians about a permanent fix but they said that they are aware of the problem after hearing of several other complaints but there is no permanent fix. It is the driver's responisbility to manually turn off the front assist collision sensor each and every time you intend to drive the car.
CategoryService Brakes
DateAug 12, 2020
StateCA
Description
The frontal braking assist. It locks up even when it is turned off. It will just brake very suddenly., causing the car to lock up. There doesnt even have to be a reason for it. This has happened several times during the year I have had the car. This has happened in motion, and city street.
CategoryStructure:body, Visibility/wiper
DateAug 12, 2020
StateFL
Description
My car has had a water leak from the panoramic sunroof. I saw the water coming in from the back passenger seatbelt holes on both sides of the car. I brought the car in to get fixed, I was never toldwhat the issue was and had to ask for official paperwork. Apparently the sunroof drain lines were "kinked and clogged." my car was in service 7/28/20-7/30/20 for that issue. There was significant mold growth on the rear floorboards and smelled of mildew. I noticed severe condensation on all interior windows 8/4/20 and made an appointment to get my car looked at 8/6/20. I could not drive the car right away since I could not see out of the windows. I had to physically dry them with a towel. I was then told they could not find a leak, but there was still water entering the car and the floorboards were wet. The car has been in the shop since. Another car was in service for the same exact issue while I was there, I witnessed the mold myself. I researched my vin and there was no recalls or service bulletins from vw.
CategoryElectrical System
DateAug 11, 2020
StateGA
Description
Since my 2019 vw tiguan was serviced in early july 2020 the horn has worked intermittently. It was first noticed when locking the car using the remote. The horn sounded only sometimes when locking the car by the remote. After recognizing this it was noticed that when driving or stationary time the horn worked about half the time it was pressed. The dealer claimed to have fixed it today (8/11/2020) and the horn worked when the car was locked by the remote on arriving home. On testing the locking again the horn did not work and we tested the horn by pressing it and there was also no sound again. I am returning to the dealer in stone mountain, ga again on 8/12/2020. This is a serious safety issue as one cannot warn pedestrians or other vehicles in an emergency situation.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance
DateAug 06, 2020
StateDC
Description
2019 volskwagen tiguan. Consumer writes in regards to front assist and adaptive cruise control failure. *ld the consumer stated the front assist systems may fail if the vehicle goes out of alignment as little as 1/1ooth of an inch. The rear of the vehicle thrusts forward. *js
CategoryService Brakes, Unknown Or Other
DateAug 04, 2020
StateFL
Description
I was driving on a residential street with no cars in front of me and my autonomous emergency braking system engaged itself bringing my car to an abrupt stop. There was nothing in the street, on the front on my car, or in front of me.
CategoryService Brakes
DateJul 31, 2020
StateAZ
Description
The automatic braking system activated twice in six weeks while pulling out from a parking lot onto a city street. This happened at 2 different locations. Both times when this occurred the vehicle was turning right and came to a complete stop 1/3rd to 1/2 through the turn.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateJul 06, 2020
StateSD
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2019 volkswagen tiguan. The contact stated that the windshield wipers independently slowed down upon the vehicle ceasing forward motion. The contact stated that while driving in the rain at approximately 35 mph and upon making a left turn, the windshield wipers independently slowed down to intermittent speed with the windshield wipers set to full speed. The contact called graham volkswagen (801 w 41st st, sioux falls, sd 57105) and notified the dealer of the failure. The contact was informed by the dealer and an independent mechanic that the failure was not a known issue with similar vehicles. The manufacturer had yet to be notified of the failure. The vehicle had yet to be repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 5,000.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJun 22, 2020
StateNC
Description
The sunroof exploded while driving at about 45 mph on top of an overpass. File a case with vw and they refuse to fix the issue. Case number was [xxx]. We were travel on rt 13 in virginia through a small town. Information redacted pursuant to the freedom of information act (foia), 5 u. S. C. 552(b)(6). *tr
CategoryElectrical System, Engine
DateJun 17, 2020
StateMI
Description
I was beginning to merge south on i75 but pulled over on the shoulder before my speed reached approx 50 mph and I was less than . 2 miles on the ramp. I immediately pulled over when I could smell and saw smoke coming out of the vents on the dash. Upon exiting the car I saw flames under the hood. While I was getting my children out of the car, a few men had stopped to help with fire extinguishers, but they were unsuccessful. The fire chief thought that the cause may have been an electrical short or some soft of manufacturing defect. I am not certain what caused the fire under the hood, but do know that I had not had any issues with the car until june 4th. It was a 2019 ;ease that I have been leasing less than a year. The car was brand new when I rolled it off the lot. It was in the dealership on 1/31 for scheduled maintenance. *tr
CategoryStructure:body, Unknown Or Other, Visibility:sun/moon Roof Assembly
DateJun 05, 2020
StateMA
Description
I was driving on the highway and my panoramic sunroof exploded causing glass to fall in on myself and my 5 year old daughter. *tr
CategoryEngine
DateJun 03, 2020
StateIL
Description
New 2019 tiguan s 4motion purchased in feb 2020 and has about 8k miles. Already having issues with hard shifting (both up and down) and have had the vehicle chug/stall and almost cause a crash 2 times now because it wouldn't accelerate. All of these issues are after about half hour of driving. Hard downshift is normally around 20-30mph and up shift 30-40. Never jerked before and now it's hard and very unsafe. *tr
CategoryEngine
DateMar 11, 2020
StateFL
Description
Vehicle consistently dies upon entering traffic locally or highway dealer says there is no fix it's been in the shop at least three times they've denied the last request for a review but it has become a serious safety issue
CategoryPower Train
DateMar 11, 2020
StateKY
Description
I have been experiencing intense throttle lag. This happens every time I stop but it is very excessive when rolling (10mph) and press throttle. It has become a safety concern as if I am merging into traffic and have to pause while other cars are around I feel it is very unsafe. I have spoken to other 2019 tiguan owners and they have experienced the same issue. And doing my research I have seen some dealerships have fixed this issue while others haven't.
CategoryService Brakes
DateMar 05, 2020
StateIA
Description
Driving in windy conditions, 4 separate times on one day, sensor went off. Red car graphic on my screen with "side impact" wave lines on the sides and car automatically braked suddenly. Happened in city, while in motion. No other cars in close proximity at time of sensor warning and braking. 3 of 4 times happened as was driving north into a strong north wind. Never had this warning thrown before.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine, Fuel/propulsion System
DateFeb 04, 2020
StateNY
Description
Vehicle has been in service 5 times since purchased. Car stalls and does not restart.
CategoryFuel/propulsion System
DateFeb 03, 2020
StateNM
Description
I had a rental from enterprise and after driving it for about 1 week it didn't start and was leaking gasoline massively.
CategoryEngine, Steering, Vehicle Speed Control
DateDec 27, 2019
StateNY
Description
I have been having serious stalling issues with this car... Since the 1st day I received it. When I am driving the car would refuse to accelerate like getting on and off exits on expressway... Changing lanes etc... It also stalls and the engine stops while driving.. The car has a lane departure assist which pulls the car from 1 lane into the other violently... I am hoping to get this car replaced with another line from vw only because my lease is 5 mnths old... They are refusing to help me because there is no recall, maybe if someone dies they will give a rat's [xxx] about this issue... An issue they had I. 2014.... Ease look into this.. Families can die from this problem. Information redacted pursuant to the freedom of information act (foia), 5 u. S. C. 552(b)(6).
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateDec 23, 2019
StateWA
Description
Purchased car in july 2019 and the carnet has never functioned properly. After calling customer care and carnet I was told to take it into the dealership. After two separate visits and leaving my car for several days I was told it's a known issue and there's nothing they can do. I have a case open with customer care since august 2019 and follow up every few weeks, as they typically forget to provide me with the promised update every two weeks. Each update is the exact same --- there are no updates at this time and no timeline for a fix. They also will not provide any compensation until the issue is resolved. The carnet app has not worked correctly -- kicks me out regularly, says my car is unlocked when it is locked, unable to send destinations from the app to my car, etc. The buttons in the car also do not work when pressed, which means in an emergency situation it will not work.
CategoryElectronic Stability Control, Service Brakes
DateDec 21, 2019
StateIL
Description
Two separate problems. #1 on two separate occasions the cars emergency system activated with no cars or anything in proximity. Vw just cleaned sensors . It happened once after that while parking the car. #2 with only 8000 miles on the brakes pulse when applied. We were told just wait for 1 year service and it will be looked at. The tiguan went in friday morning and we were informed the brake rotors are warped. Vw north america recommend rotors and associated hardware to fix the problem. Troublesome issue with only 10000 miles les than I year old.
CategoryEngine
DateDec 12, 2019
StateTX
Description
The plastic oil pan at the bottom of the engine of my 2019 volkswagen tiguan 2. 0t started leaking while I was on the highway, nearly stranding my family. It was very disappointing to see any vehicle using a fragile, unprotected plastic oil pan at the bottom of the engine, especially the tiguan, which is marketed as a sport utility vehicle.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateDec 04, 2019
StateMA
Description
I purchased this car and the car-net in my car hasn't worked since the day I bought the car. I have contacted vw multiple times and I just keep getting the 'they're working on it ' with no resolution in site.
CategoryService Brakes
DateNov 17, 2019
StateNY
Description
I was driving down a side road in a parking lot with no cars in front of me and no one in back of me. Suddenly the car braked and threw me forward. It scared the living daylights out of me. There was no reason why this happened. There was nothing in the road. I reported this problem to volkswagen and they had no answer and told me to disable the braking sensor which I did. I felt the need to report this issue since I felt this was a possible defect in the braking sensor. If this would have happened on a busy road I could have been hit from behind. Again there was no reason for the sudden braking. This is a leased car and when I turn it in I just want to let them know that the sensor is turned off for the next person who leases it and has no idea it is turned off. In summary, I was going around 35-40 mph when this braking occurred with no reason whatsover. Thank you for your time.
CategoryPower Train
DateOct 29, 2019
StateFL
Description
The transmission doesn't seem to work swiftly. Definitely a lag going on that is felt in the acceleration of the vehicle. Everything else is great with the car
CategoryEngine
DateOct 15, 2019
StateMO
Description
Our 2019 vw tiguan with 2 liter turbo motor has a random and repeated engine "stall" issue. The engine does not die but remains at idle (1000 rpm), in either d or s auto trans mode, but there is no forward movement even though the gas pedal is against floor board and then there is a rush of power, this delay lasts from 1 to 5 seconds, just enough to cause traffic merging issues. This problem usually occurs from standing start when driven straight ahead or turning. So far has not occurred above 50mph when entering freeway. This has occurred since car was delivered new with 40 miles on odometer and continues now at 1200 miles and usually at speeds from 0 - 25 mph and under 2000 rpm. I spoke to the local vw service manager and he suggested it was just turbo lag. I have owned turbo cars in past and this is not turbo lag, it is a loss of "signal" due to drive by wire technology which should never be allowed on a vehicle!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Otherwise the motor operates fine, providing decent gas mileage and power when on-boost above 2000 rpm. Our last new car a 2016 gmc terrain was also drive by wire but never exhibited this issue. There are numerous complaints online duplicating this problem which I had hoped was cleared up in older versions, evidently not.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateSep 23, 2019
StateNY
Description
Terrible wind vibration noise / thumbing that causes physical discomfort in ears the moment only 1 window is rolled down in the car. Front window down requires to open both front windows to balance; cannot lower a rear window without at least opening 1 front window / usually requires opening both front windows. If only one rear window is open plus front window(s) the wind movement results in items in the loading area in the trunk being lifted up and if lights even sucked to the back seat. Appears to be significant design flaw on vehicle. When closing windows have to close rear windows first before closing front windows, otherwise the air pressure on the ear canal is so strong that it causes ear discomfort.
CategoryEngine, Vehicle Speed Control
DateSep 04, 2019
StateCO
Description
I leased my 2019 tiguan in march 2019. Shortly after (~1,500 miles), I experience my 1st acceleration failure. While attempting to turn left with oncoming traffic (with my 4 year old in the back seat), my car would not accelerate although my foot was pressing the gas pedal to the floor. After multiple seconds and multiple attempts to accelerate forward, I put the vehicle in park, turned it off, turned it back on, put in drive, and was able to complete the turn. Thankfully the vehicles coming towards me were paying attention and halted, or it would've resulted in a collision. This failure happened 3 more times shortly after, 1 of the them occurring when my husband was driving. While getting my vehicle in for service, 1 of the vw employees mentioned they receive calls regarding this same failure every week, sometimes every day. A 2nd vw employee mentioned they have never received a call on this failure for my vehicle. ????. The dealership performed a 26m1 software upgrade that 'should fix the problem.' concerned for not only the safety of my family, but the safety of the drivers around me, I filed a claim with vw corporate and asked to be removed from my lease due to the failures almost resulting in multiple car accidents. They refused to allow me to get out of the lease as my experienced failures 'do not warrant the ability to be removed from the vehicle.' shortly after the software upgrade, my check engine light came on and I've experienced the same failure 3 more times (1 of them while attempting to reverse). Here we are again' I have a service appointment scheduled for 09/10 and opened my vw corporate claim back up.
CategorySuspension
DateAug 30, 2019
StateSC
Description
Vehicle sounds as if it is bottoming out when driving over uneven surfaces or small dips at any speed. Noise is mostly in the front with heavy concentration on the passenger front tire. Particularly around 30-40 miles per hour. Vehicle has previously been in (after 3 days of owning it 03/09/2019 for a rear shock replacement on the drivers rear). After owning the vehicle for 6 months the noise has gotten worse. Brought it to the dealer again 08/17/2019 and no issues were found. I took the tech on a long test drive on the roads (parkway) I travel daily max speed is 45. He heard the noise and stated I was maxing out my suspension (this was at 30mph) and the noise I was hearing was the suspension hitting the bumpers underneath and not the actual vehicle, this was completely normal. Noise can also be heard going over speed bumps and driveway curbs at even lower speeds). I have driven other tiguans and volkswagon models on the same roads and this does not appear to happen. My vehicle currently does not show under the any current coil recalls. I would like someone to please revisit this vin to see if this vehicle could also be part of the recall.
CategoryService Brakes
DateAug 28, 2019
StatePA
Description
The vehicles brake line that went into the abs system was not tight enough and brake fluid leaked out resulting in the failure of the braking system. The loss of the braking system could be felt while driving, and eventually resulted in the vehicle not stopping. Fortunately, no one was injured. The vehicle was new and had 185miles on it when the brakes failed.
CategoryEngine, Fuel/propulsion System
DateAug 27, 2019
StateGA
Description
New car, 2 months old, 3,000 miles. Issue has happened 4x. First istance, turning left onto a major 3 lane road, car suddenly loses power and then chugs to catch speed leaving you powerless with the foot peddle to the floor. Second instance, exiting a shopping center, light turned green, stepped on gas peddle and car bogged and sputtered as if out of gas and stalled in middle of intersection. Once I got it started again it moved forward. At next traffic light it sputtered again and would not go even after pumping gas peddle. Creeps to a rolling run and then goes. Third instance was entering an on-ramp from a stop light, car sputtered as if out of fuel again and barely made it out of intersection where I had to pull off the road to get the car going. 4x same as above. I'm now at dealer for second time- no repair and they say vw is aware of some customers experiencing this issue no fix at this time. Very dangerous to drive on atlanta city streets. I'm nervous to put my family back in the car.
CategorySuspension
DateAug 27, 2019
StateNY
Description
There is a loud thumping noise coming from the front suspension. This only happens on downwards road bumps (does not happen on speed bumps). Happens while in motion. The faster the vehicle is, the louder the noise becomes. Dealer is unable to identify the issue. The vehicle has 11k miles at the moment, and issues is there since it was brand new. Dealer suggested we wait until problem gets worse so they can identify it easier. Documented in the paperwork that a complaint was entered, but they were unable to "replicate". I have many instances recorded on my dashcam, however nhtsa does not have the option to upload a video.
CategoryUnknown Or Other, Unknown Or Other
DateAug 19, 2019
StateSC
Description
Two times my panoramic sunroof on my 2019 volkswagen tiguan has exploded. The first time was feb. 13, 2019, just a couple of months after I purchased the vehicle brand new. The second time was a week and a half ago on aug. 8, 2019. Both times the panoramic sunroof exploded I was on the highway going to work and driving about 60mph. It sounded both times like a gun shot going off in my car. There was no warning either time, it just happened and was very frightening. Both times it happened I was far enough back from other vehicles. The most recent explosion was worse. A huge hole was left and pieces were flying off behind my vehicle. Thankfully I had the mesh screen closed, so none of the glass came into the vehicle on me. The hole that was left the second time was huge and flared outwards, which indicates a defect in the manufacturing of the glass. It is a definite safety risk. Thankfully both times it happened I was able to maintain control of the vehicle but I worry if it happens again. Thankfully it wasn't raining either time, if it was I might have gotten in an accident with the rain coming in on me and keeping me from being able to see the road. There should be a recall on the 2019 volkswagen tiguan panoramic sunroof.
CategoryElectrical System
DateAug 07, 2019
StateVA
Description
Carnet in-car system doesn't work. Brought home the new 2019 tiguan with only 5 miles on it and when I pushed the carnet buttons.... Nothing. Contacted the dealer and the service department took two days to try to fix it. I was told there was no fix. It's a software problem and vw must come up with a fix. Over 2 months later, still fix. This is a safety issue and very frustrated with vw.
CategoryElectrical System, Power Train, Unknown Or Other
DateJul 15, 2019
StateMA
Description
Vehicle frequently shakes/shudders violently under light/normal acceleration in stop-and-go traffic, creating a safety hazard and extremely uncomfortable driving situation. I purchased it a few weeks ago and have approximately 1300 miles on it - this has been happening since I took delivery. Under load, shortly after the transmission shifts and as the vehicle reaches approximately 9-11 mph at 2000rpm, the entire vehicle shudders as if the engine is being lugged or is misfiring. This really only occurs after the vehicle has had sufficient time to warm up and has been driven for some time in rush-hour traffic. It is more pronounced with the adaptive cruise control turned on. The shaking/shuddering has made me extremely dizzy and nauseous to the point where I have already become physically sick to my stomach once. I had to cut off 3 lanes of traffic to reach the shoulder so I could avoid getting sick in the car - this was on 7/8/2019, a week ago today. Several passengers will no longer ride in the car with me. I have returned the vehicle to the selling dealer twice over this issue and although their efforts to diagnose it were made in good faith, they have been unable to reproduce it. I have several videos of this issue that I attempted to share with the dealership upon dropping it off the second time, which the service technician told me he did not view after I picked the car up. I also recently discovered that my emergency communication/airbag deployment notification system (car-net), is completely non-functional due to a software bug and will not work at all until volkswagen comes up with an update for it (per the dealer). I am extremely uncomfortable continuing to drive the vehicle for these reasons and continue to feel sick to my stomach every time I use it to commute to or from my job, which is just over 30 miles from my home.
CategoryElectrical System, Service Brakes, Vehicle Speed Control
DateJul 09, 2019
StateIN
Description
The automatic breaking sensors went off for no reason. Car started breaking on it's own. Luckily no car behind me. Car was in motion on a 35 mph part of route 30 in indiana when it started to break suddenly. Took it to the dealership and they could not replicate it. I sent volkswagen a message and they didn't reply.
CategoryService Brakes
DateJul 08, 2019
StateNY
Description
My wife wasdriving down a residential street no cars in front or behind. The autonomous brakes activated and brought car to full stop for no reason.
CategoryService Brakes, Vehicle Speed Control
DateJul 05, 2019
StateNV
Description
The cars breaking assistance brings the car to a complete stop at any speed. It will break when nothing is around, when backing out of driveway, driving down freeway, and pulling out onto the road.
CategoryElectrical System, Power Train, Service Brakes
DateJul 03, 2019
StateCA
Description
Purchased car june 30, check engine light illuminated on way home from dealer. Next day check engine light off, brake power boost failure flicker on screen, auto start/stop not functioning, restart car all gone. Next trip tire pressure warning, unable to reset. Had to go to an appointment and was heading to dealer on the way home, car went black, lost acceleration, no response from throttle while driving 75mph on busy freeway. Had to coast across five lanes of traffic to be safe. Restart car, drove to dealer. Total amount of miles on car 152. Purchased sunday evening 6:30 pm in repair after near collision tuesday evening 5:00 pm.
CategoryEngine, Fuel/propulsion System, Power Train
DateJul 01, 2019
StateMI
Description
I bought the tiguan brand new from the dealership with high hopes for our family suv. Almost immediately I noticed that the vehicle hesitated to accelerate from a stopped position a few times, but couldn't believe I was having a problem so soon after buying the car. When I realized that this was a recurring car issue and not user error, we had only owned the car for 3 weeks and the car had roughly 1200 miles. It was absolutely terrifying when I was turning left during rush hour traffic with my 12 month old son in the back seat and my car would not accelerate beyond about 5 miles per hour. Luckily the driver coming towards me on the main road slowed down with enough time for me to make my left turn and coast right into a nearby subdivision. I pressed my foot onto the accelerator to the floor and it took about 20 seconds for it to kick into speed. I took the car to the dealership where I assumed it would be fixed. After 9 days in the shop, they claim they drove the vehicle 80 miles and couldn't duplicate the issue. Therefore, they want me to put my family back into the car that is completely unsafe to drive. They tried to tell me that it was the "turbo lag" that I am experiencing which, in the long run, a manager admitted to my fiance and I is untrue isn't even what we are expressing as the problem. After talking to 3 managers, we finally found someone who is head of the service department at the dealership who sympathized with our issue and is letting us use a loaner until volkswagen calls us back, but this is only after I showed them all of the other reviews on this website that state our exact issue. Now we wait to see if volkswagen will do the right thing or if their customer service is as terrible as the dealership where we bought it when we went in with a real and terrifying issue. This is the beginning of what will be a recall. Unsafe and scary.
CategoryEngine
DateJun 21, 2019
StateCA
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2019 volkswagen tiguan. While the contact's daughter was driving 40 mph, the epc, oil, and system/power warning indicators illuminated. The contact stated that the vehicle began to hesitate when the accelerator pedal was depressed. The vehicle was towed to capistrano volkswagen (located at 32922 valle rd, san juan capistrano, ca 92675, (949) 493-4511) where it was diagnosed that the engine needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified. The failure mileage was 920.
CategoryElectrical System
DateMay 30, 2019
StateNY
Description
Front coalition senson and warning light goes on for no reason while driving at a low speed disableling the senson. This has happened about 5 to 6 times on various dates while driving in the city and I have to stop turn the car off and on in order to reset the computer by itself. Sometimes it will turn off by itself too!. Driver side mirror light coalition senson was activating all the time while driving on the highway without any cars around. Never noticed this happening before, because I live in queens ny and I usually drive to the city and I have lots of cars all the time so it's constantly turns on and off.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateMay 20, 2019
StateTX
Description
Big manufacturer defect issue on tiguan windshiled. Bought new 2016 vw tiguan on 2016 apr, windshield broke in two weeks, while I'm driving in a local way, slight turing right, crossing traffic @45 mile/h, (hwy 75 to east exchange, allen, tx, 75002) no trucks seen. Bought new 2019 vw tiguan on 2019 mar, windshield broke in apr, within a month. A quiet highway, no big trucks passing by, and speed @ 65mile/h.(hwy 75 @ renner) asked dealer to report as quality or design issue, with no response.
CategoryEngine, Unknown Or Other, Vehicle Speed Control
DateMay 18, 2019
StateVA
Description
My brand new 2019 vw tiguan fwd next day after buying showed multiple problems that related to transmission and breaking and a unknown source of rattling sound. I noticed when I cold start the tiguan and let it idle for 3-4 minutes the normal engine sound slowly goes down but a louder and more noticeable rattling sound comes up. It is heard while driving also. It's concerning but what is more concerning is the that the tiguan hesitates while shifting gears. I noticed it happens while accelerating from a stop. Not only it hesitates to accelerate you'd feel the cars struggle while shifting gears. Each time the gear is shifting you could feel the car is at a confused state and so you feel it thump. At other times I've experienced the car almost stalls where the rpm goes up but transmission slips. It doesn't change gear. The worst of all is that while slowly breaking the car tried to speed up. The rpm is also seen to go up. The very unfortunate news is that though the dealer's technician drove with me and saw the issue they don't have a fix. Vw corporation also isn't providing a fix. There's other reports of similar problems. The tiguan has a known transmission problem according to other owner reports. It may not be all tiguan but my car is a lemon. The problem probably has to do with which location the car was manufactured. This is a very big safety concern. I am very worried about such erratic issues 2nd day. How did vw get past safety boards. They need to solve this issue before devastating events such as death or other things occur. No vehicles should slip gears while accelerating nor speed up while breaking.
CategoryPower Train, Unknown Or Other
DateApr 08, 2019
StatePA
Description
Upon driving my new 2019 volkswagen tiguan this past winter. It was a very cold winter day, when starting my car it wouldn't go in reverse. , then started to go, in reverse . I put it into d drive .. I would putt ( go and stop) like it was running out of gas . There was plenty of gas in it . It continued to display the epc yellow warning light. The light signal is engine control malfunction . I have notified my dealership I purchased it from. The state it will do that when it is very cold out. It is now spring time. It has done it twice
CategoryAir Bags, Engine, Structure:body
DateMar 01, 2019
StateFL
Description
The first day I drove my new 2019 tiguan sel home, I opened the passenger driver-side door and the handle got stuck and would not go back in... Made an appointment for 2-days later to get this fixed. During the 2-day waiting period, I was stopped in a turning lane on a four-lane, lighted road to make a u-turn. When I hit the gas peddle to go the car jerked forward, and went to a standstill for about 5-seconds while my foot was firmly pressing the gas peddle. This caused the two oncoming vehicles to have to screech to a stop; and the vehicle in the middle lane had to swerve to avoid hitting me and spin out. When the tiguan started moving forward, I had to pull over because I was shaking. The same issue happened again the next day, but no oncoming cars were in sight. Went in for the door appointment, I told the service rep about engine and asked to speak to a manager. An assistant manager came out, I told him about the engine, and he respond that's a vw and gave me a hug and two free t-shirts. New door handle had to be ordered due to corrosion, had to come back 3-days later to have it fixed. During those 3-days, the passenger seat seat belt warning sound started randomly going off, along with the airbag light flashing above the hazard light when my handbag was on the seat. Reported that and the engine issue again at next appointment. Had to leave the car for two days... At pick-up was told everything was tested fine, but vw did not bother to test the seat sensor. Was instructed to not put anything on the passenger seat, as stated in the car's manual. Requested a new vehicle, or let me out of my lease due to feeling totally unsafe... Was denied by both corporate and dealer. Money should never come before safety, so I paid 00 to break my lease today as vw corp & dealer told me to get back in that car. This is a deadly safety issue.
CategoryElectrical System, Unknown Or Other, Vehicle Speed Control
DateFeb 13, 2019
StateCA
Description
The car stopped accelerating unexpectedly in the middle of the freeway while I was driving about 60mph. All kinds of emergency lights came up for no apparent reason, and the car blocked. The gear was locked and wouldn't respond to restarting the car. The car had to the towed, and after getting it in the truck I realized that one side of the headlights weren't working. The car has only 1700 miles. A similar but less severe event happeed threes days before. I took it to the dealer's service and they said they couldn't find anything wrong with the car.
CategoryExterior Lighting
DateDec 18, 2018
StateNY
Description
Both headlight have extensive condensation within the headlight housing. Incident occurred overnight when the car was stationary, in a closed parking lot. Car was driven from the dealer lot to the customer's parking lot a night before during rainy weather. The condensation covers the led modules of the turn signal at the bottom of the same housing, and depending on the outside temperature and how long the car was operating, the condensation moves upwards to the front of the low beams. Volkswagen service department states this incident is normal. No action was taken on two documented service visits for the same issue. First incident occurred when car was one day old. Car had approximately 15 miles on the odometer.
CategoryExterior Lighting
DateDec 01, 2018
StateIL
Description
New car with 9 miles sat in the garage overnight. In the morning,there was spotting condensation inside one of the lights(driver side). Drove it to the dealer and by that time condensation has occurred inside both of the lights.

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.

 

Share your story

Does this ring a bell? Have you had a bad experience too? Sound off and share your experience with other visitors in the comment box below.

Brian Jones

About the Author:

Brian Jones spent more than 20 years working as an ASE Certified Master Tech and Parts Specialist at multiple dealerships. Brian has become an authority in the industry, traveling across the country to consult for car dealerships and contributing his expertise as a writer for several major automotive publications. In his spare time, Brian enjoys working on pickup trucks, muscle cars, Jeeps and anything related to motorsports.

See more posts from Brian Jones
13 COMMENTS
  • Greg

    2019 VW Tiguan bought new
    Just a few months ago had antifreeze leak .. had to replace water pump 31,400 mi.

    Got the transmission in emergency mode you can continue to drive . Traveling in tx dealer would not even check error code said 10 before any technician can look at. Local auto repair found bracket broken on air duct to turbo. 34,600mi.

    Today 37,000 mi.
    Antifreeze leak again, but this time gasket to oil cooler disintegrated and has to replace

    I don’t not recommend to buy a 2019 VW Tiguan

  • Michael R

    Wife has 2019 Tiguan SEL. Been a great car, bought new now has 45k. Over 3 years no issues except 3 times pulling out of parking lot the proximity sensor detects something that’s not there and the car brakes. Only one time of the 3 did the engine cut off. But let’s be real here, Toyota and Honda always seem to get a pass when VW gets typical VW hate. My mother-in-law purchased a 2019 Rav hybrid. Had many issues, back and forth to dealership. A close friend bought a 2021 Honda CRV. First week the entire electrical system goes haywire. Left her stranded in the middle of a busy intersection. Had continuous problems until finally resolved. Bottom line to me is that all of these companies are getting ahead of themselves with these safety regulations. Too much stuff too soon. Not enough R&D. Not enough testing. Just rush it to market. Just tired of VW being singled out with so much junk on the market. Don’t get me started with Subaru and their issues.

  • Andrea E

    Engine failure 2 x in middle of 6 lane hwy had to be towed 2 x. Car is 2 and 1/2 years old.
    Car suddenly automatically braked on I-95 and shut down while no cars were in front of me

  • Mike

    2019 Tiguan R line, I just got to 30,000 mile and notice the coolant light on. Took it to the dealership and added coolant to my car. Later on I started smelling coolant when I got my car. Took it to the dealership again. They pressure tested it and found a cracked seal which coolant was in my oil.

  • Leanne

    My 2021 Tiguan has reset the clock and odometer several times in the past few months!!

  • Deutsche A

    I own a 2019 VW Tiguan SE 4 motion, with full option package. I never had problems with it in the 3 years of driving it. Surprised to see many negative reviews about this car. I have owned and driven many VW cars , Jetta, Golf , Passat, Tiguan. Never had any problems. Only wished that the engine of the Tiguan would have been a bit faster. But otherwise very good.

  • King

    2019 Volkswagen Tiguan, my daughter was driving and a car ran a stop sign and my daughter tried to break, but even the anti brakes didn’t come on, and the truck hit her and her companion and they were took to trauma emergency..so I’m confused about anti brakes.. they come on when I’m driving on a road with no car around..so what’s the purpose if it doesn’t work right?..

  • Sheryl

    Less than 30 days after I bought my BRAND NEW 2019 VW Tiguan, the left rear suspension system broke. I am extremely careful, never to hit curbs or drive wrecklessly so there is no reason the suspension system on a brand new vehicle should break. Also, it automatically breaks hard when no one is even in front of you whether you’re driving 30mph on the road or 60 mph on the freeway. That feature is only supposed to auto-stop the car if/when you are within a certain distance from another vehicle and you are not already slowing down or stopping. This could cause a serious wreck, bodily injury or worse. These issues should be taken more seriously.

  • Larry S

    I have a 2019 Tiguan SEL 4Motion. From day one, the car had a hesitation problem. I was told by a salesman that was probably the car needs to warm up. OK… this problem continued to occur at the most inopportune moments, from start to go in a traffic situation, or going into second gear while accelerating.
    the peddle would go dead for that split second you needed to get out of the way of traffic. It is a safety issue, to the point, i won’t let my wife drive it. When you step on the peddle, you want something there.
    VW is working on it, but have not come up with “the fix” yet. Car has been back a few times, and they have provided me with a loner each time. Thank you for that. Love the car, hate what’s wrong with it. Stay tuned.

  • Bill

    My 2019 VW Tiguan SEL 4 Motion that I have had for a year and a half i have never had an issue with a single thing the safety systems work just fine, no engine problems, no transmission problems, no electrical problems, no start stop problems, absolutely nothing wrong with my 2019 VW Tiguan SEL 4 Motion.

  • Keshav

    I was driving Volkswagen Tiguan 2.0 (2016) on Sept 10, 2020 at km/hr in a straight road in Winnipeg, I had nearly 50 m gap with my front car. As a pedestrian came crossing the road abruptly on the road, my front car stopped and I applied brakes up to the bottom, but there was no response on the car, it rolled at its initial speed (though my leg was on the brakes, not on accelerator), and hit the front car. Luckily, there was not any human injury, but my car broke badly!

  • Sharon V

    I have a new 2019 VW VW Tiguan SE 4 motion. The first week I had it ,I had the issue of the EPC. I called my dealership ( which is 2 hrs away ) they said it was the gas. I told them you put the gas in! The said if it happens again call us. I called 2 more times. told me to take it to my local dealer. OH Boy! They told me they couldn’t find anything on the computer . After the first year of having it I have had it towed in 2 times. Some how water got in my tank and ruined almost everything up to my engine. My insurance covered it . My start / stop is not working. My apple car play is not working. When I put my car in park…it shuts off. But everything stays on. The radio, the digital speed , the display . Everything. Just not the car. The mechanic asked me if I pushed the button to turn it off. UMMM no ! My front assist goes nuts! First it will pick up a bug then it will go off when I am 100 yards close to a vechicle and apply the brakes. But never stops. But they say when it is in for service. Well we cannot find it. It is the weather conditons you are driving in. I have been to the volkswagon dealership about 5 times or more. I have a case with the corporate office . They tell me they have to go with the dealer says. I asked te dealer to drive it for a week. See how he likes it

  • Wayne P

    I have a 2019 jeep latitude the Instrument Cluster lights up and stops you have to turn the car off and on to get it come back on the radio works sometimes it doesnt and low speeds going through the parking lot like at Walmart it was shake and night shift right

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead you can to our legal team.

Please select your star rating.

Briefly describe your experience Briefly describe your experience

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? Please enter a valid phone number

Want to know if you could sue? Get a free legal evaluation Lemberg Law?

Get Your No-Obligation
Case Evaluation

Send a secure message to our legal team.

What’s your name? What’s your name?
What’s your email address? What’s your email address?
What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?
Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem
Confidentiality Guarantee: We keep your information completely confidential and will not send you spam or sell your information.