2020 Cadillac XT6 Problems and Top Complaints – Is Your Car A Lemon?

Build quality, electrical & camera issues among the top complaints received by the NHTSA from vehicle owners

By Brian Jones | Updated on

By Brian Jones | Updated on

Sometimes customers need a luxury SUV that also offers three rows of seats. The 2020 Cadillac XT6 is supposed to meet the busy family’s needs. The company claims that “safety meets luxury” with this SUV, yet customers are struggling to feel confident behind the wheel. This model suffers from defective air bags, a faulty electrical system, a poorly-built structure, and a malfunction camera that may be a safety risk.

Don’t be stuck with a lemon. You have legal rights to cash, return or buyback.

The law makes Cadillac pay legal fees.

We've fixed thousands of lemon problems. Message or call 877-795-3666 today.

NHTSA Complaints for the 2020 Cadillac XT6

Complaint CategoryNumber of Complaints
Electrical System
6
Back Over Prevention: Rearview System Braking
3
Forward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking
2
Back Over Prevention: Sensing System: Camera
2
Unknown Or Other
2
Back Over Prevention:display Function
1
Visibility/wiper
1
Exterior Lighting
1
Engine
1
Fuel/propulsion System
1

Most Common Problems with the 2020 Cadillac XT6

The most common problems owners of the 2020 Cadillac XT6 are complaining about to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) relate to the electrical system and the camera.

Most complaints about the camera are filed under Back Over Prevention, others under the Electrical System or Unknown or Other. Either way, owners report that it is a safety hazard. Other electrical system complaints are varied and include a failure to show the fuel level in the fuel tank and malfunctioning electronics.

There are also serious issues with the airbags and complaints that the structure of the SUV is sub-standard.

2020 Cadillac XT6 Camera Problems

On July 22, 2022, the NHTSA’s Office of Defects Investigation (ODI) instituted a preliminary investigation into the cameras installed in the 2020 Cadillac XT6 and other General Motor Company (GMC) vehicles. This followed 12 complaints from vehicle owners as well as Early Warning Reporting (EWR) Field Reports that allege failures of the rear-view camera (RVC).

The reports span two years and most occur in GMC vehicles with low mileage. They state that the screen for the RVC is black and sometimes has a red triangle with a circle and a line through it.

The ODI report points out that malfunction or failure of the RVC can result in reduced visibility of the area behind the vehicle. This can lead to an increased risk of incidents resulting in injury and/or damage to property while the vehicle is reversing.

The reason for the investigation is “to determine the scope and severity of the potential problem and to fully assess the potential safety-related issues.”

Cameras in the 2021 Cadillac XT5 and 2020-2021 XT6, as well as the GMC Acadia 2020 and 2021 models are included in the investigation.

There is also a technical service bulletin (TSB) from GMC on file with the NHTSA that lists a total of 59 vehicles with potential “rear view camera issues.” The Cadillac XT6 is one of them.

But what do owners have to say? Here are some examples of complaints.

An Owner from Indiana States:

“When (the) SUV is put into reverse, (the) camera only works 50% of the time. Other times (the) screen is black with a red triangle.”

An Owner from Michigan States:

“The back up camera is intermittently non functional when placed in reverse gear. A red triangle and red camera icon appear on the screen with a circle and slash through it. GM has posted a Bulletin #PIC6420, that offers a solution stating that it is likely a connection concern and recommends replacing a coax cable which can be ordered through the WPC. There have been multiple complaints about this serious problem on the Cadillac Owners Forum. I make deliveries to senior citizens homes (Meals on Wheels) with this car and need my backup camera to work. I no longer feel safe driving this car. I have contacted my dealership (Lafontaine Cadillac in Highland, Mi) and they will not accommodate a service appointment and supply a loaner car until July 22, 2022.”

An Owner from California States:

“Backup Camera issues. I have had my 2020 XT6 Cadillac in for service three times. They have not been able to fix the issue. This is an intermittent issue at times and other times it stays off for a long period of time. I have a black screen with a camera with a red circle and slash showing along with a triangle with an exclamation mark in the center of the triangle. These vehicles have multiple blind spots and with a camera not working and the blindspot warning not working it makes this vehicle very unsafe for use. I’ve been told they cannot do anything until I take a picture of the black screen. I am taking possession of the vehicle again and I can send you the repair tickets at a later time.”

Problems with the Electrical System

With today’s vehicles, owners want an electrical system that provides comfort, security and safety. Yet, this XT6 fails on this front as well.

Another NHTSA complaint states, “Brand new off dealer lot needed new battery. From that point forward the vehicle’s electronics constantly malfunctioned. The dealer tried everything including working with Cadillac for new parts and suggestions to make the electrical system function normally. After three weeks of work, it still malfunctions and is dangerous to drive.”

One would think that Cadillac wouldn’t allow this situation to continue, but it turns out the company doesn’t know what to do. Service Bulletin #N202301990 is dealing with separate issues, such as trouble with the enhanced automatic emergency braking system. To resolve this issue, the company must replace the front view camera, plus the Active Safety Control Module must be reprogrammed. Are these issues that Cadillac owners really want to deal with? It’s not likely, especially considering how much money is paid to get behind the wheel. It’s not like the driver just paid for a Chevy.

Problems with the Airbags

When a family is driving in a vehicle, they want to know that the air bags will work as intended. However, this Cadillac doesn’t provide that peace of mind.

Read this complaint left on the NHTSA website. “July 20, 2019 I leased the vehicle. On July 22, 2019 the vehicle’s dash warning indicated ‘Service Safety Restraint System.’ On July 25, I took the vehicle in for service. On the afternoon of July 26 it was returned to me. The service advisor stated they replaced a part in the driver’s airbag. I drove the vehicle home without an issue. Within the day the issue continued and again a service warning. I made another service appointment and the dealer kept the car. August 5 I was notified they replaced the driver’s airbag and would be driving the vehicle 100 miles prior to returning it to me. August 7, I think they returned the vehicle to me. I was told it was a factory engineering issue and a recall would be issued when a fix was found. The vehicle continues to flash the warning when driven, turning and driving straight.”

It turns out that there is a recall related to the air bag system. NHTSA Campaign Number 20V446000 states that there is a defective diffuser component of the Roof-Rail Air Bag (RRAB) inflator. Because of this poor construction, the roof rail air bag might not deploy as intended. This puts every occupant in danger and leaves people feeling uneasy. It only proves that the SUV might be all luxury, but it completely ignores safety.

Problems with the Build Quality

One final look takes us to the structure of the XT6. This luxury vehicle is supposed to be made of premium parts, but it only seems to be falling apart.

Read this Edmunds review. “I won’t go into a long story but I took delivery on November 6th 2019. As of today both the right front door and left rear door were misaligned, driver’s door has a noise sounding like rubber on rubber, there is a rattling noise from the sunshade over the second row of seats, the right outside mirror stopped going down (as I had it set) when I put the car in reverse, the satellite radio loses connection and won’t restart.”

However, this isn’t the only problem worth addressing. Service Bulletin #PI0281H discusses how customers need to deal with underbody corrosion on their new luxury SUVs. This isn’t something that should be occurring on any new vehicle, let alone a Cadillac. Yet, that’s what customers are paying for – a solid heap of rusty metal.

Your Lemon Law Legal Rights

Think you have a lemon? Sit back and let the experts work out your lemon case at no cost to you. The law makes Cadillac pay legal fees. You may be able to get your lemon out of your life. Every year, auto manufacturers buy back, replace or pay cash settlements to thousands of ‘lemon’ owners like you.

Complaint Data

CategoryBack Over Prevention: Rearview System Braking, Forward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking
DateNov 06, 2022
StateNV
Description
While reversing at a downward slope, sudden strong braking will occur. It does not always happen but when it does it is very alarming and loud. I'm guessing something is wrong with the automatic emergency braking system. There is no warning prior to it happening. I fear these occurrences may cause an accident if I'm not wanting to brake at that moment. I have made michael hohl dealership in carson city nv aware of this issue but they don't have a remedy for the problem.
CategoryBack Over Prevention: Rearview System Braking
DateSep 27, 2022
StateOH
Description
Rear backup camera has failed 12 times since car purchase eight weeks ago. Black screen on info center with red circle with slash across the middle over a camera. The failure is intermittent and seems to fail when it is cool outside in the morning.
CategoryBack Over Prevention:display Function
DateAug 29, 2022
StateMO
Description
The contact owns a 2020 cadillac xt6. The contact stated when she placed her vehicle in reverse(r), the rearview camera screen went blank with a line was on the display screen. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and the rearview camera was replaced; however, the failure persisted. The manufacturer was not contacted. The failure mileage was 16,572.
CategoryBack Over Prevention: Rearview System Braking
DateJul 31, 2022
StateIN
Description
When suv is put into reverse camera only works 50% of the time. Other times screen is black with a red triangle.
CategoryBack Over Prevention: Sensing System: Camera, Electrical System
DateJun 30, 2022
StateMI
Description
The back up camera is intermittently non functional when placed in reverse gear. A red triangle and red camera icon appear on the screen with a circle and slash through it. Gm has posted a bulletin #pic6420 that offers a solution stating that it is likely a connection concern and recommends replacing a coax cable which can be ordered through the wpc. There have been multiple complaints about this serious problem on the cadillac owners forum. I make deliveries to senior citizens homes (meals on wheels) with this car and need my backup camera to work. I no longer feel safe driving this car. I have contacted my dealership (lafontaine cadillac in highland, mi) and they will not accommodate a service appointment and supply a loaner car until july 22, 2022.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateMay 03, 2022
StateCA
Description
Rear view camera malfunction. In reverse, camera will not turn on.
CategoryBack Over Prevention: Sensing System: Camera
DateJan 05, 2022
StateCA
Description
Backup camera issues. I have had my 2020 xt6 cadillac in for service three times. They have not been able to fix the issue. This is an intermittent issue at times and other times it stays off for a long period of time. I have a black screen with a camera with a red circle and slash showing along with a triangle with an exclamation mark in the center of the triangle. These vehicles have multiple blind spots and with a camera not working and the blindspot warning not working it makes this vehicle very unsafe for use. I've been told they can not do anything until I take a picture of the black screen. I am taking possession of the vehicle again and I can send you the repair tickets at a later time.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateSep 06, 2021
StateNV
Description
When in reverse, the backup camera occasionally goes black and does not give an image. Reversing this large suv without a backup camera is difficult and hazardous.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking
DateJun 08, 2021
StateTN
Description
Cadillac case number is 9-6766521074. The cadillac ct6 has a flaw in the intelligent braking assist(iba) software. When no collision is imminent, pushing the brake even slightly results in extremely hard overbraking causing all items to fly forward. There is no way to turn off iba without disabling the entire automatic emergency braking system. To be clear, it is ok that the car senses inaccurately a collision and it is ok to apply the automatic emergency braking logic, the problem is that the intelligent braking assist is too hard when a crash is not imminent and this will cause following cars to rearend the xt6 when no hazard is expected/present. As an interim, please direct cadillac that they update there system preference software to allow customers to turn off intelligent brake assist (iba) independently while still keeping automatic emergency braking (aeb).
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateMay 05, 2021
StateOK
Description
The backup camera randomly works and randomly does not work. It seems that this would be a safety hazard. We have had it in the shop several times since we purchased the car in december and keep getting the run around as to the problem. Last time they replaced the camera and said it was now working. Worked great for 2 days and now back to not working .
CategoryElectrical System
DateJan 27, 2021
StateFL
Description
All cameras stopped working. When car is put into reverse the screen goes black with a red triangle (warning) and a red camera with a circle and slash through it (no camera). Service department indicated that there is a service bulletin (pic6420a), but parts are not yet available. They said there were several intermediate "fixes" that didn't work and now gm is supposed to be releasing new coaxial cables to finally fix the issue. So in the meantime no cameras....
CategoryElectrical System, Exterior Lighting
DateNov 28, 2020
StateTX
Description
The fuel gauge is intermittently not showing the level of fuel in the fuel tank. Had to drive to the dealership when this occurred to have the technicians read the codes on the computer. If you shut the car off, the fuel gauge resets and the technicians are unable to find the error code. The dealership service department will have to order a new dashboard instrument cluster panel. The car only has 1,948 miles. This car has serious electrical issues.
CategoryElectrical System
DateNov 07, 2020
StateTX
Description
2020 cadillac xt6 with: platinum package, enhanced visibility & technology package incl hd surround vision cameras, night vision, and driver assist package. Hd surround vision camera recorder issuing intermittent dashboard displays that sd memory card has errors or has been ejected when in fact the sd memory card has not been ejected. Dealer tried to blame a brand new sd memory card for the issues and replaced the sd memory card. Issue continues to intermittently appear on the dashboard. This is a new car that has these issues since being delivered with 300 miles and not almost 1,100 (eleven hundred) miles the issues continue. This car has serious electronic and electrical malfunctions.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine, Fuel/propulsion System
DateNov 07, 2020
StateTX
Description
2020 cadillac xt6 with all options and new vehicle with less than 400 miles, fuel gauge indicator hash marks that show the level of fuel on the fuel gauge intermittently stop working upon engine startup. Dealer has already checked computer codes and found no error codes. Dealer states they have reset computers several times to correct this issue. Dangerous driving without knowing how much fuel is really in the fuel tank.
CategoryElectrical System
DateJul 01, 2020
StateIN
Description
Brand new off dealer lot needed new battery. From that point forward the vehicle's electronics constantly malfunctioned. The dealer tried everything including working with cadillac for new parts and suggestions to make the electrical system function normally. After three weeks of work, it still malfunctions and is dangerous to drive. *tr
CategoryAir Bags
DateAug 14, 2019
StateCA
Description
Takata inflators: july 20, 2019 I leased the vehicle. On july 22, 2019 the vehicles dasn warning indicated "service safety restraint system" on july 25 I took the vehicle in for service. On the afternoon of july 26 it was returned to me. The service advisor stated they replaced a part in the drivers airbag. I drove the vehicle home without an issue. Within the day the issue continued and again a service warning. I made another service appointment and the dealer kept the car. August 5 I was notified they replace the drivers airbag and would be driving the vehicle 100 miles prior to returning it to me. August 7 I think they returned the vehicle to me. I was told it was a factory engineering issue and a recall would be issued when a fix was found. The vehicle continues to flash the warning when driven, turning and driving straight.

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.

Share your story

Does this ring a bell? Have you had a bad experience too? Sound off and share your experience with other visitors in the comment box below.

Brian Jones

About the Author:

Brian Jones spent more than 20 years working as an ASE Certified Master Tech and Parts Specialist at multiple dealerships. Brian has become an authority in the industry, traveling across the country to consult for car dealerships and contributing his expertise as a writer for several major automotive publications. In his spare time, Brian enjoys working on pickup trucks, muscle cars, Jeeps and anything related to motorsports.

See more posts from Brian Jones
1 COMMENT
  • Tim

    If a used XT6 is purchased and shows these issues can it be turned in as a lemon?

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead you can to our legal team.

Please select your star rating.

Briefly describe your experience Briefly describe your experience

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? Please enter a valid phone number

Want to know if you could sue? Get a free legal evaluation Lemberg Law?

Get Your No-Obligation
Case Evaluation

Send a secure message to our legal team.

What’s your name? What’s your name?
What’s your email address? What’s your email address?
What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?
Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem
Confidentiality Guarantee: We keep your information completely confidential and will not send you spam or sell your information.