2022 Jeep Grand Wagoneer Problems and Top Complaints

Electrical system, powertrain, and brake issues are among the top complaints received by the NHTSA from vehicle owners

By Brian Jones | Updated on

By Brian Jones | Updated on

Jeep’s original Wagoneer is dubbed the father of luxury 4×4 SUVs. Launched in 1962, it was way ahead of its time, with the first independent suspension and automatic transmission in a 4×4 vehicle. At the time, Jeep advertised it as the all-new, all-Jeep.

But there have been many new Jeeps since then. The first Grand Wagoneer was the 1984 model. It’s changed a lot since then and is now what the current owner, Stellantis, calls a premium extension of the Jeep brand. Although different from the Jeep Wagoneer, both SUVs are regarded as American icons.

Don’t be stuck with a lemon. You have legal rights to cash, return or buyback.

The law makes Jeep pay legal fees.

We've fixed thousands of lemon problems. Message or call 877-795-3666 today.

NHTSA Complaints for the 2022 Jeep Grand Wagoneer

Complaint CategoryNumber of Complaints
Steering
3
Electrical System
3
Power Train
2
Vehicle Speed Control
1
Engine
1
Vehicle Speed Control:cruise Control
1
Latches/locks/linkages:hood:latch
1
Structure:body
1
Wheels
1
Service Brakes
1

The Wagoneer is big and luxurious, and the Grand Wagoneer is bigger and more luxurious. But even icons have faults as complaints to the U.S. Department of Transportation’s National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) show.

Most Common Problems with the 2022 Grand Wagoneer

There are 9 complaints that are logged with the NHTSA to early September 2022. These relate to 11 components and systems and they are very varied.

Electrical issues top the list, with powertrain and vehicle speed control issues a close second. But it’s not always about the number of complaints, and just one that highlights brake issues is worth highlighting.

2022 Jeep Grand Wagoneer Electrical Problems

Sometimes electrical system problems follow a trend, but the issues raised by NHTSA complaints are varied. Here are two examples.

An owner from California was driving at about 35 mph and tried to stop in a short distance because of a “should I go or not” situation at a traffic light. But the Jeep shut off in a blink of an eye.

“Soon after I noticed it, I tried to imitate the incident to make sure I wasn’t mistaken, and it happened three times in a row.” According to the complaint, the incident can only be seen at night, when light from the headlight is visible, because it happens so quickly.

“It wasn’t just about (the) headlight. The engine shut off and turned back (on) momentarily as well. Thankfully each event didn’t last longer than a second and there weren’t any vehicles nearby.”

The other complaint, from an owner in New York, draws attention to a potential electrical-system safety hazard.

“The wiring harness in my engine compartment is mounted on the firewall below the cowl. It runs from the driver’s side to the passenger side. On my vehicle, it has a significant drop on the driver’s side, almost hitting the master brake cylinder cover. The wiring harness does move significantly on the driver’s side. “

The concern is that there is no way to “attach the wiring harness to the firewall to keep it permanently up and away from the driver-side master cylinder brakes.”

Even though no problems or failures are noted, the complaint draws attention to the fact that it is a potential safety hazard. It “could lead to electrical shorts, major components failure, and a possible fire hazard when the vehicle is in motion due to vibration wear, including off-road use.”

Grand Wagoneer Powertrain & Related Problems

Powertrain and vehicle speed control issues appear to be related. But they don’t follow a specific pattern.

A complaint from Washington describes how, when driving at about 52 mph, “the cruise control inadvertently disengaged and the vehicle was unable to accelerate as needed.” An unidentified warning light flashed, followed by a message to service the vehicle.

An owner from Arizona stated simply: “Vehicle loses power randomly, have to pull over and turn it off and back on.”

A much more complicated complaint was sent in by a Grand Wagoneer owner from Colorado. The issue started with the transmission dropping out of gear and the rpm revving up. It happened about 5 times over the course of 1.5 hours while they were driving “normally.”

The owner called the closest Jeep dealership, assuming the drivetrain might have been the issue and the transmission might need to be reprogrammed. But while driving to the dealership, it all got worse.

“We were going to try to coast our way slowly to the dealership to avoid being stranded and try not to accelerate much.” But, within minutes there was a big noise under the car, “and it was very obvious something was wrong.”

Despite “an enormous amount of grease on the frame by the rear right wheel/inside, everything looked fine. There were no warning lights, errors or messages of any kind on the dash throughout all of these issues. The diagnosis is that the CV boot ruptured and the axle separated from the frame, also destroying the differential.”

The owner’s final conclusion was that the vehicle wasn’t assembled correctly at the factory.

“Jeep is repairing it but not buying it back. This vehicle is unsafe and no one in their right mind would want to drive this car again with the unknown.”

Brake Problems

Brake failure of any kind can be a nightmare for anyone driving any kind of vehicle.

When the owner of a 2022 Jeep Grand Wagoneer from Colorado hit a medium-sized pothole, the brakes failed.

“The vehicle lit up several warning lights (ABS, traction control, etc.) as well as the check engine light.” Predictably, the driver applied the brakes, but they went to the floor. Fortunately, he was able to coast into a roundabout and eventually into a parking lot and stop the Grand Wagoneer. Once the vehicle had stopped and was restarted, it had brakes again.

The dealer had the vehicle for a couple of days, did some software updates and replaced the battery. But about a week later, the driver hit another medium-sized pothole on a major interstate highway at 65 mph and the same thing happened.

According to the complaint, the car went back to the dealer. “Luckily traffic was very light as the time and driver was able to exit the freeway and coast to a stop.” The car was brought to the dealer again and had already been there for a month with no resolution.

What to do if your 2022 Jeep Grand Wagoneer is a Lemon: Your Lemon Rights

Only a small percentage of any vehicle make and model turns out to be a lemon, but lemons are a reality. So, it’s important to be aware that if there are issues that impact the value, use, or safety of your 2022 Grand Wagoneer, that you might have recourse with the manufacturer.

There’s nothing to stop you tackling Stellantis on your own and demanding compensation or some kind of settlement if your Jeep Grand Wagoneer is a lemon. But it’ll be a lot easier for you if you let an experienced firm of lemon law attorneys like Lemberg Law tackle them for you.

All you need to do is contact our Helpline or fill in a contact form. It’s free. When it comes to lemon law, the manufacturer, not you, has to pay the legal fees.

Complaint Data

CategorySteering
DateNov 07, 2022
StateKS
Description
Started the vehicle and had no power steering. Turned off and restarted several times to see if it was just a computer glitch. It couldn't be steered at all. If this had happened while driving there most certainly would have been an accident.
CategoryVehicle Speed Control
DateSep 08, 2022
StateAR
Description
Vehicle loses power randomly, have to pull over and turn it off and back on
CategoryElectrical System, Engine
DateAug 24, 2022
StateCA
Description
While I was driving at around 35 miles per hour and tried to stop in a short distance because of the “should I go or not” situation at the traffic light, the whole vehicle was shut off at a blink of an eye. Soon after I noticed it and tried to imitate the incident to make sure I wasn't mistaken, it happened three time in a row. The incident can only be seen at night time when light from the headlight is visible since it happens so quick. It wasn't just about headlight. The engine shut off and turned back momentarily as well. Thankfully each event didn't last longer than a second and there weren't any vehicles nearby. When I told a cdjr monrovia service department manager about the incident and said we need to investigate, he was not serious about it. And nothing was inspected upon the request. There were no warning signs prior to the failure.
CategoryPower Train, Vehicle Speed Control:cruise Control
DateJul 29, 2022
StateWA
Description
The contact owns a 2022 jeep grand wagoneer. The contact stated while driving approximately 52 mph, the cruise control inadvertently disengaged and the vehicle was unable to accelerate as needed. There was an unknown warning light illuminated, and a message to service the vehicle was displayed. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 2,999.
CategoryLatches/locks/linkages:hood:latch, Structure:body
DateJul 21, 2022
StateNC
Description
The contact owns a 2022 jeep grand wagoneer. The contact stated that while driving approximately 65 mph, the hood of the vehicle suddenly became unsecured and flew open, striking the front windshield, and creating a visibility hazard for the driver. The contact indicated that the locking mechanism bolts had erroneously unscrewed from the hood causing the failure. The vehicle was taken to the local dealer who replaced the hood and locking mechanism and the failure was remedied. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 4,000.
CategoryElectrical System
DateJul 09, 2022
StateNY
Description
Complaint - the wiring harness in my engine compartment is mounted on the firewall below the cowl. It runs from the driver's side to the passenger side. On my vehicle, it has a significant drop on the driver's side, almost hitting the master brake cylinder cover. The wiring harness does move significantly on the driver's side. Note-some kinds of clips are molded onto the wire harness cover. Upon inspection of the wiring harness and cover, there is nothing that I and service director could find to attach the wiring harness to the firewall to keep it permanently up and away from the driver-side master cylinder brakes. Notes - my vehicle is available to you for inspection if warranted. -dealership service mgr director and wagoneer customer service were notified and were inspected. I/we also confirmed and noted that other identical vehicles have the same problem. — inspection was performed either on the service lot by director and myself or in the dealership showroom display vehicle by me. -wcs officially informed me on 7/8/2022 that the service director said my vehicle wiring harness was manufactured as designed, and wcs goes by what the director says. Because I told them (wcs) I was filling a complaint with nhtsa, they will close my case. -as of this date, no problems or failures are noted. Impression- this potential safety hazard could lead to electrical shorts, major components failure, and a possible fire hazard when the vehicle is in motion due to vibration wear, including off-road use.
CategoryPower Train, Steering, Wheels
DateJul 06, 2022
StateCO
Description
We purchased this grand wagoneer on mon june 27th and left for our family vacation we had planned in oklahoma. We live in castle rock, co. The next day on tuesday as we were driving on the I-35 the transmission would drop out of gear and the rpm's would rev up. This would be while doing nothing but driving normally . Then it happened about 5 times over the course of 1. 5 hours. We stopped for gas in and upon leaving to re enter the interstate the vehicle would kick when the gas was pressed. My definition of kicking is that the front end would kick right and the rear end would kick left. This was with any amount of torque from acceleration. In trying to figure out what is going on I called the closest jeep dealership fowler to see if we can stop in and have them re program the transmission assuming that or the drivetrain might have been the issue. But then as I was driving it was making the vehicle kick more and it was getting scary as the vehicle could have flipped if I wasn't being as careful as I was. We were going to try to coast our way slowly to the dealership to avoid being stranded and try not to accelerate much but within a few minutes a large noise like we were carrying a train under out car started and it was very obvious something was wrong as the car was pulling and making lots of noises. I pulled over and looked under the car. Everything looked fine other than an enormous amount of grease on the frame by the rear right wheel/inside. There were zero warning lights, errors or messages of any kind on the dash throughout all of these issues. The diagnosis is that the cv boot ruptured and the axle separated from the frame also destroying the differential. In turn, the only conclusion is that it was not assembled correctly at the factory. The parts are at fowler jeep right now in ok. Jeep is repairing it but not buying it back. This vehicle is unsafe and noone in their right mind would want to drive this car again with the unknown.
CategoryService Brakes
DateJun 09, 2022
StateCO
Description
On 2/23/2022, owner struck a medium sized pothole. The vehicle lit up several warning lights (abs, traction control, etc.) as well as the check engine light. At this time, the driver applied the brakes and they went to the floor. Driver was able to coast into a roundabout and eventually into a parking lot and got the vehicle stopped. Upon shutdown and re-start, the vehicle had brakes again. Vehicle was taken to dealer on 2/23/22 and returned on 2/25/22. Several updates were programmed and battery was replaced. On 3/5/22 driver hit a medium sized pothole on a major interstate at 65 mph and the same thing happened. Luckily traffic was very light as the time and driver was able to exit the freeway and coast to a stop. The car was brought to the dealer again on 3/7/22 where it remains to this day.
CategoryLane Departure: Assist, Lane Departure: Warning
DateMay 05, 2022
StateIL
Description
On three separate occasions today, while driving on an interstate with the lane departure turned off, the wagoneer seized up going from 75mph to mid 40mph quickly. The vehicle shuttered and went side to side a bit like it was reacting to lane departure. It was scary and I was almost rammed from behind once. It also started swaying and serving on occasion. Lane departure is off and it's far marie than normal lane departure movement which eases the vehicle back. Vehicle is going into service tomorrow.
CategoryElectrical System, Fuel/propulsion System, Steering
DateJan 05, 2022
StateKY
Description
The vehicle locked into 4wd low while driving and would not come out. I found this dangerous as my family was on board and put us at risk.

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.

Share your story

Does this ring a bell? Have you had a bad experience too? Sound off and share your experience with other visitors in the comment box below.

Brian Jones

About the Author:

Brian Jones spent more than 20 years working as an ASE Certified Master Tech and Parts Specialist at multiple dealerships. Brian has become an authority in the industry, traveling across the country to consult for car dealerships and contributing his expertise as a writer for several major automotive publications. In his spare time, Brian enjoys working on pickup trucks, muscle cars, Jeeps and anything related to motorsports.

See more posts from Brian Jones
BE THE FIRST TO COMMENT

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead you can to our legal team.

Please select your star rating.

Briefly describe your experience Briefly describe your experience

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? Please enter a valid phone number

Want to know if you could sue? Get a free legal evaluation Lemberg Law?

Get Your No-Obligation
Case Evaluation

Send a secure message to our legal team.

What’s your name? What’s your name?
What’s your email address? What’s your email address?
What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?
Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem
Confidentiality Guarantee: We keep your information completely confidential and will not send you spam or sell your information.