2019 Mazda Mazda 3 Problems and Top Complaints – Is Your Car A Lemon?

Steering, collision avoidance, electrical and engine issues among the top complaints received by the NHTSA from vehicle owners

By Brian Jones | Updated on

By Brian Jones | Updated on

The 2019 Mazda Mazda 3 comes in both a sedan and hatchback format, both of which are quite popular with today’s driver. When discussing this model, the automaker claims “craftsmanship meets emotion.” This slogan does get one thing right, there are a lot of emotions, but many of them aren’t good. Dealing with a faulty electrical system, forward collision avoidance system, structure, engine and steering is proving to be too much.

Click on other model year to view more problems:  2020    2021    2022   

Don’t be stuck with a lemon. You have legal rights to cash, return or buyback.

The law makes Mazda pay legal fees.

We've fixed thousands of lemon problems. Message or call 877-795-3666 today.

NHTSA Complaints for the 2019 Mazda Mazda 3

Complaint CategoryNumber of Complaints
Service Brakes
14
Unknown Or Other
11
Electrical System
9
Power Train
8
Visibility/wiper
7
Fuel/propulsion System
6
Forward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking
5
Engine
5
Structure:body
4
Air Bags
4

Problems with the Electrical System

The Mazda 3 is supposed to include high-tech features, but the electrical system seems to be causing more problems than it solves.

One Edmunds review states, “After 2 weeks the Bluetooth no longer worked, on 2 occasions now the brakes slammed on all on their own almost getting me rear ended and now owning it for only 9 months and 3000 miles – it would not start.”

The problems go even deeper. Service Bulletin #SA-054-20b talks about how the engine might not start because of a low voltage issue. What is Mazda’s response to this? The bulletin tells dealers to “inform the customer that Mazda is actively investigating this issue and apologizes for any inconvenience.” Imagine the emotions that come from this response.

Problems with the Forward Collision Avoidance

Today’s modern driver-assist software is meant to keep people safe, but Mazda’s defective systems are causing more trouble.

Here’s another Edmunds review. “Let’s start with the emergency braking which went off without cause an hour after I drove the car out of the show room. After this continued every day for two weeks I decided there must be something wrong with the car and it was also becoming very dangerous. I brought the car in and they told me nothing was wrong with the car only to find out a week later the car had been recalled for that exact issue.”

To back this information up, there is a massive recall worth looking at. NHTSA Campaign Number 19V907000 says that the Smart Brake System can detect an obstacle that doesn’t exist, which makes the automatic emergency braking system to stop the vehicle. If this happens in the middle of the road, it can lead to an accident. One thing is for sure – no one will have to wonder what “emotion” the driver behind the car thinks about this situation. If there isn’t a rear-end accident, the driver will be sure to motion with a finger gesture.

Problems with the Vehicle Structure

In the same review mentioned above, the customer also talks about a structure-related issue.

This Edmunds user states, “The passenger door always getting stuck.”

However, the structure concerns go even deeper than this. NHTSA Campaign Number 19V558000 says that the adhesive on the rearview mirror might detach from the housing because the wrong adhesive was used. There’s another recall to mention, NHTSA Campaign Number 19V514000 talks about the seat cover material affecting the head restraint lock release button, causing this lock to stick. If an owner has a loose head restraint, there could be more serious injuries during an accident. Overall, it’s evident that Mazda “craftsmanship” has gone down the tubes.

Problems with the Vehicle Engine

What could be more important than a properly working engine? Mazda customers would argue that this is the most critical component, but it’s not working right.

Here is an NHTSA complaint to examine. “Car lulls/jerks when accelerating from low speeds. Car lacks power most of the time and performs poorly. Engine loses power, several occurrences of what would appear to be Limp Mode (can’t get passed 2000-3000) RPMs. Car has erratic idle RPMs, sometimes high and sometimes low. I’ve recently heard the engine roar while idling and hissing from the engine bay when shutting off the engine.”

This list of engine problems can’t get much larger, but there is something missing. NHTSA Campaign Number 19V497000 states that over 260,000 vehicles have the wrong software installed in the powertrain control module (PCM) that could cause the engine to stall. Just in case the other problems don’t cause the vehicle to quit while driving, this one is sure to aid in the cause. Imagine the emotion when stalled in the middle of a highway with a tractor-trailer driving up behind the car. It would be interesting to see how many owners have nearly peed their pants because of fear while driving this Mazda car.

Problems with the Steering

One final system to look at is the steering. Without a properly-working steering system, the car will be all over the road, which is precisely what’s happening.

Here is another NHTSA review. “I was on my street, a narrow residential street, preparing to back in my garage. In order to do that on this narrow street, I touched the lip of the driveway across the street. Speed well under 3 mph. When I did so, my car suddenly sharply accelerated and at the same time swerved to the right. The acceleration and swerve drove the car into the townhouses across the street from my house. The driveways are very short, barely a car’s length.”

Beyond the steering system, there is a major problem with the wheels that can also lead to an accident. NHTSA Campaign Number 19V425000 states that over 25,000 vehicles might be equipped with loosened lug nuts that could cause the wheel to fall off while driving. While this situation might be seen as humorous on the television, there’s nothing fun about it happening on the street. So, while this review shows that the Mazda 3 hasn’t been made with exceptional “craftsmanship,” it’s easy to agree that it creates plenty of emotion.

Your Lemon Law Legal Rights

Think you have a lemon? Sit back and let the experts work out your lemon case at no cost to you. The law makes Mazda pay legal fees. You may be able to get your lemon out of your life. Every year, auto manufacturers buy back, replace or pay cash settlements to thousands of ‘lemon’ owners like you.

Complaint Data

CategoryFuel/propulsion System
DateNov 29, 2022
StateCA
Description
Check engine light appeared then I had a dead battery. I purchased a new one and the check engine light went away for a while until now. Then I found a letter online that I never received of a recall for california vehicles that were manufactured during specific dates. Mine is listed as one but it does not have an active recall.
CategoryFuel/propulsion System
DateAug 31, 2022
StateVA
Description
Dealer service tech stated the high pressure and low pressure fuel pumps failed and needed replaced. My car was not included in the recall regarding fuel pumps for mazda, so the dealer would only cover 50 percent of the cost. Service tech and warranty service rep stated that mazda was aware that what happened to my car is a factory malfunction but because my car is out of warranty they would not cover the entire expense. My car is 3 years old and only has approximately 67,000 miles on the engine. The fuel injectors were replaced at 10,000 miles by warranty. The service tech even stated this is obviously regarding the recall of the fuel pumps and did not understand why my car was not included.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance
DateAug 18, 2022
StatePA
Description
The contact owns a 2019 mazda mazda3. The contact stated while driving 35 mph, the brake warning light illuminated and the vehicle would brake suddenly without the driver depressing the brake pedal. The failure had become recurring. The contact had taken the vehicle to a local dealer where it was diagnosed and determined that the failure could not be duplicated. The vehicle had not been repaired. The contact researched online and related the failure to nhtsa campaign number: 19v907000 (forward collision avoidance). The manufacturer had been informed of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 15,000.
CategoryElectrical System, Forward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Power Train
DateApr 20, 2022
StateTX
Description
The vehicle started surging at low soeeds and accelarating and control module issues for the transmission
CategoryElectrical System, Engine
DateJan 07, 2022
StateGA
Description
Car will not start, instrument panel flashes on and off. I've had to jump the car to start it and then the check engine light and engine malfunction warning messages appear on the panel. I've had the battery tested and told it wasn't the battery.
CategoryEngine, Fuel/propulsion System
DateJan 07, 2022
StateGA
Description
Car suddenly stalled and failed to accelerate while driving with accelerator fully depressed.
CategoryElectrical System
DateSep 01, 2021
StateOH
Description
When trying to start the vehicle it is unable to start and the car chimes while the complete instrument cluster flashes off and on. The car will not start and the entire instrument panel blinks/flashes displaying all warning lights. I hear whirring and clicking noises. Just prior to it not starting I may experience the driver side vents pushing out hot air while the passenger side is pushing out cool air. I have the ac set to cool at 60 degrees both sides. I have 16k miles currently and the non start flashing instrument panel all started after mazda did a recall and flashed the cars computer. The first problem was in april of 2020. The cars computer has been flashed more than 2 times. I have to jumpstart the car in order to start. Mazda has not found the problem and cannot recreate. The problem usually happens after the car is parked and in the sun.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateAug 14, 2021
StateNE
Description
I was sitting in the car while the ignition was off. I hit the rearview mirror slightly and it fell off.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking
DateJun 22, 2021
StateAZ
Description
Was driving in a car park and it randomly braked thinking someone was infront of me but there was nothing and the car behind me almost rear ended. Already fixed the recall last year according to mazda. This is extremely scary and not sure what would have happened if this was on a highway
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Adaptive Cruise Control
DateApr 28, 2021
StatePA
Description
Mazda dealer is refusing to update software per sspc5 to correct a safety issue relating to the mrcc (mazda radar cruise control) unless I first agree to having mazda connected services installed on my 2019 mazda 3 sedan (csp06). When I purchased my new car mazda connected services was not included in my car. I am now being coerced into having mazda connected services installed into my vehicle before they will correct a safety issue regarding a known issue with the adaptive cruise control. My vehicle is still under warranty but unless I agree to having their telemetrics control unit (tcu) installed, they refuse to install the software to correct the dangerous adaptive cruise concern per sspc5.
CategoryAir Bags
DateMar 07, 2021
StateFL
Description
I believe I still have a takata air bag installed in my car. When there was an original question, mazda only inspected the airbag. Is it ok and safe for me to continue to have the takata air bag or should it be replaced?
CategoryUnknown Or Other, Visibility/wiper
DateJan 26, 2021
StateTX
Description
Vehicle in motion at 65 mph. Very small rock chip breaks glass from left to right calling for complete replacement. Glass is highly fragile and too thin. Second occurrence in less than one year.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Service Brakes
DateDec 21, 2020
StateCT
Description
I was accelerating after a traffic light turned green and there were no cars in front of me when the car started braking automatically and came to a full stop. Luckily the car behind me was able to stop in time but there was no warning and no reason. I could have been rear ended. I pulled over and checked the two sensors and neither one was blocked (it had snowed here recently). I'm honestly scared this could happen again and mazda is saying there are no open recalls about this for my car and that the car is fine.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Forward Collision Avoidance: Warnings, Service Brakes
DateDec 11, 2020
StateSC
Description
Without cause: the vehicle will suddenly detect the presence of another vehicle and/or sense an imminent collision and subsequently applies the automatic braking system, causing the vehicle speed to suddenly decrease. This has happened repeatedly over the course of driving the car and resulted in being almost rear ended numerous times. This is a very dangerous scenario and could easily cause a severe accident, especially on the freeway when everyone around is going really fast and needs more time to react to the sudden and sharp slowing down of my vehicle. This happens in various locations, freeway, highway, or in the city. I have taken the car to the dealership numerous times to have this fixed, but get a different answer every time I take it in. But the problem remains unresolved and continues to place me, my passengers, other drivers, and even pedestrians in harms way.
CategoryElectrical System, Service Brakes
DateOct 15, 2020
StateNY
Description
The smart brake system is malfunctioning. The car slams on its brakes for no reason. No vehicle is ahead of me. I have been driving at highway speeds when this occurs and I haven't been rear ended yet. It's happened numerous times before and after I completed the recall. The condition is worse when it's raining. The car has been at the dealership for over 30 days unable to repair.
CategoryStructure:body
DateSep 07, 2020
StateNY
Description
I purchased my 2019 mazda3 hatchback brand new last sept (2019). This summer I noticed the rear driver side door was difficult to open fully. It seemed to be binding at the hinge. However, on further investigation I realized the front edge of the door was actually hitting/rubbing against the back edge of the front door! This had not been an issue for the first few months I owed the vehicle. I attributed it to either a settling of the structural frame of the car or an expansion of the doors due to the summer heat. Either one I believe are cause for action by the manufacturer. I have now brought the car to two different mazda dealership service dept's and both explained that, while the car has obviously not been in an accident, repairing the defect under warranty might be more difficult than I would expect. The first said his 'auto body shop wants to charge him even if it is covered by warranty' and the second advised he 'could take pictures and send a request for coverage to 'mazda' so they could determine whether or not it would be covered by warranty but (that he believes) it would be a 'tough fight' as it's not a 'known problem' on these cars.' I believe the correction should not only be covered by warranty but might warrant additional action including a larger scale investigation and/or recall. I should add that the paint has been removed from both doors where they were rubbing together. This should be repaired as well... Regardless of whether the frame of the car is unstable or the doors are expanding/changing position on their own.
CategoryFuel/propulsion System, Power Train
DateSep 01, 2020
StateVA
Description
From a full stop and foot on the brake pedal, move foot to hit the gas pedal and a delay or lag is experienced about 50% or more of the time. The regional mazda expert and dealership have verified the problem and nothing but excuses why they cannot figure out how to fix it have been stated, therefore I have been living with it for over 20k miles on a new car. While starting from a full stop and forgetting about the delay in propulsion, it has caused several near-miss accidents from oncoming vehicles. When I hit the gas pedal, I expect the car to move forward!! This is dangerous!! The dealership does not have a solution and is pointing to mazda japan for a solution, but nothing for over a year now.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateAug 21, 2020
StateMD
Description
I'm having an issue with all glass in the vehicle when I'm driving in the rain or foggy weather. Seems it's like the top layer of glass was damaged by sun, please follow the links below to see more details: https://imgur. Com/a/zlidrmj https://youtu. Be/q47nisrtwzw https://youtu. Be/frgwtvq3gdg
CategoryElectrical System, Engine
DateAug 15, 2020
StateAZ
Description
Vehicle slowed to 20mph and a warning message 'engine malfunction, toke to dealer''. Pulled off the freeway for a few minutes, restarted the engine and the message no longer appeared. ( the nearest dealer is 75 miles away) I am in flagstaff at this time.
CategoryService Brakes
DateAug 12, 2020
StateCA
Description
I was traveling east bound on the 10 fwy at about 50 mph between the exits town and indian hill with indian hill exit at 1 miles away and I was changing lanes so that I could exit on indian hill there was a truck that was at the indian hill exit putting it in front of my vehicle 1 miles away there was a car that was behind me at approximately miles away. Just after I changed lanes the car went into an emergency stop and then stalled almost causing the car that was behind me to come close to rear ending me this is my second complaint about this issue (nhtsa complaint #11219653) but was the third time that I have had this issue. The second time I took the car in for a recall on this issue on feb 27, 2020 10:00:00 am
CategoryElectrical System, Forward Collision Avoidance, Forward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking
DateAug 04, 2020
StateWI
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2019 mazda mazda3. The contact stated that the brake auto alarm activated causing the brakes to engage. The contact stated the vehicle was included in 19v907000 (forward collision avoidance) for which the remedy was completed. The contact stated the failure persisted. The contact stated that the vehicle network malfunction warning light, vehicle inspection needed, safety and driver support system disabled and front radar obscured warning lights were illuminated. Additionally, the lane departure alarm activated, and the auto correct activated causing the vehicle to pull both to the left and right. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer (russ darrow metro mazda - address: 11330 w metro auto mall drive, milwaukee, wi 53224 phone: (414) 409-9201) who performed the recall remedy along with 8 other unspecified recall repairs however, the failures persisted. The manufacturer was made aware of the failures and a case was filed. The approximate failure mileage was 1,491.
CategoryService Brakes, Unknown Or Other
DateJul 31, 2020
StateCA
Description
I driving uphill on a residential street. As I started to slow to turn the smart brake support flashed brake on my dash and immediately engaged the brakes and stopped the car. The road had a very slight curve with a few cars parked. There were no other moving vehicles in the area. If a car had been behind me it would have caused an accident. The system has given false warnings a lot but this was this first time that it stopped the car. I brought it to the dealership 2 days later and they tested the car and said it is working normally.
CategoryElectrical System, Unknown Or Other, Vehicle Speed Control
DateMay 27, 2020
StateAR
Description
Radar cruise control malfunction and safety systems malfunction frequently. Safety systems completely disable without warning periodically while driving. Radar cruise control doesn't work randomly. Mazda dealership can't replicate the issue. Other 2019 mazda 3 owners have the exact issue and no recall or fix has been issued. *tr
CategoryPower Train
DateMay 26, 2020
StateCA
Description
Automatic transmission went out on me while driving on road. The transmission started to slip while I was doing 15 mph and just gave out in the middle of the street. All you could smell is burnt fluid and hear a loud whining noise from under the car while at idle. The car only has 12,680 miles on it. The transmission was replaced under warranty. I am highly disappointment with this car.*dt*jb
CategoryElectronic Stability Control, Engine, Service Brakes
DateMay 24, 2020
StatePA
Description
These issues been happening since the second month I owned my 2019 mazda 3 hatchback. 1- suspensions, they're very rough & harsh., they bounce so much for no reason, I damaged one tire already while I was driving on i476 normal highway where I stepped on normal pothole ended up damaging my tire, suspensions are really dangers on all roads. 2- "adaptive cruise control" this feature many times almost caused an accident, rear end specially on highways. For some reason it doesn't detect the car in front of me when I have auto cruise enabled, no rain clear weather, this been reported more than 5 times to the dealership & its hard for them to tell what happen. They even had specialist came from ca to check up the car however it was declared the car has no issues, yet I still have issues every day, s 3- emergency breaking, sometimes it enables for no reason & the cars behind me almost rear ended me, they think I did break check but I don't the brakes! 4- peruzzi mazda, where I purchased my car, said they will never work on my car again because "it wasted enough of their time". I have video of me picking up the car from peruzzi mazda, dealership & it won't start up out side the service department & I called the manager & he said leave for next day, he called me day after saying it was my iphone charger... I asked him how the tech was able to bring it outside to the front door without no issues? He refused to answer. I work at a hospital & I daily my car to work, its not safe for me or to anyone on the road to drive it at all. *tr
CategoryExterior Lighting
DateMay 05, 2020
StateCA
Description
Automatic light malfunctions when the car is parked outside under the broad day light. When automatic light malfunctions, the head light turns on automatically and dash meter lighting dims automatically. When the dash meter dims, I can not see the speed or anything within the meter. Have talked to mazda and stated that I need to turn on an a/c to cool the system down. It is very dangerous that I can not see the speed meter. It has happened few times. *tr
CategoryStructure:body
DateMay 04, 2020
StateCA
Description
Door gap between the driver's side door and the driver side rear door is too small. When temperatures exceed 75 degrees f and the car is parked in direct sunlight, the door expands and it will rub onto the rear door b pillar weatherstripping. Door becomes hard to open from the inside when this happens. The b pillar rear door trim is pressed up so hard against the driver door that the weather seal near the top will start to prematurely wear out. On certain occasions, the driver door expand so much that the rear door b pillar trim will almost come off. Dealer refuses to acknowledge that this is a problem. Attached are other mazda 3 owners with how worse the problem can get.
CategoryPower Train, Structure:body, Suspension
DateApr 17, 2020
StateTX
Description
I have taken my car to multiple mazda dealers over the last several months with complaints of something very wrong with it structurally, specifically in the suspension, driveline, etc. Every time I plead with them that I am scared to death to drive this car because I truly feel that I might die in it due to its defects, but every time I am forced back into it because they say they cannot duplicate my concern and that the car has nothing wrong. I've caught freeman mazda of irving falsifying their internal work orders and giving me ones showing that they can't find anything wrong. My battery died about a month ago, they gave me a test strip that stated my battery needed a charge, but I got a glimpse of their copy which stated the battery had a bad cell and needed to be replaced. I have video evidence of the defects that exist with my vehicle. On the smoothest roads in dfw at low speeds my car is rocking back and forth, bouncing up and down, and it truly feels like my axles are not rotating in sync that results in severe vibrations, shuddering, and the feeling that my axles will break or that a wheel will come off at the very least. I've had so many panic attacks, suffered an amount of mental anguish I can't begin to quantify, lost wages, almost lost my job, questioned my own sanity from being told almost two dozen times that they can't find anything wrong. I need help, I really am begging. They are refusing to acknowledge the defects my car has and writing my safety off like my life does not matter. I don't want to have to get seriously injured, hurt someone else, or die in this car because I feel an accident is impending. I've been so scared for my life in this car that I've spent over text="Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm" smalltext="Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win." img="balance" color="green"k on rental cars because I didn't want to die and mazda has just left me hanging with no regard for my safety. *tr
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateApr 09, 2020
StateRI
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2019 mazda mazda3. The contact stated that while driving at 60 mph, a dime sized rock struck the driver's side windshield, leaving a minor chip on the windshield. Three months later while driving at 60 mph, another vehicle driving approximately 30 ft ahead kicked up an unknown object that hit the passenger's side windshield. The object left a minor crack on the passenger side, and as the contact continued to drive, the crack extended over the entire passenger's side. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and stated that the windshield was not covered under warranty. A dealer was not informed of the failure. The windshield was not been replaced. The failure mileage was approximately 6,000.
CategoryPower Train
DateMar 16, 2020
StateVA
Description
From a full stop, vehicle lags or lurches from takeoff when you hit the accelerator. This is a known problem by mazda on this vehicle (gen 7) after 3000 miles or more. When I hit the accelerator (especially on a new car), I expect it to go. This lag in moving off the line can be dangerous, in my opinion, but apparently not in mazda's. Been trying to get it fixed for past 6 months, but hearing it's not a priority for mazda japan, since this problem is newly being reported on 2019 and 2020's and they don't consider it a safety issue, just an annoyance.
CategoryService Brakes, Unknown Or Other
DateFeb 29, 2020
StateCA
Description
Fail sbs and sistem of detection of proximity
CategoryFuel/propulsion System, Steering, Unknown Or Other
DateFeb 17, 2020
StateMD
Description
Jan. 23, 2020. 10:45 am. I was on my street, a narrow residential street, preparing to back in my garage. In order to do that on this narrow street, I touched the lip of the driveway across the street. Speed well under 3 mph. When I did so, my car suddenly sharply accelerated and at the same time swerved to the right. The acceleration and swerve drove the car into the townhouses across the street from my house. The driveways are very short, barely a car's length. After crashing, I could feel the car still accelerating. I quickly switched the car into park and the spontaneous acceleration continued. In order to stop in I had to turn the car off. When the towing company turned the car on later it immediately started to spontaneously accelerate and surge forward again. The mazda dealer and insurance inspector explained to me that there is a sensor: when a wheel encounters what it perceives to be an obstacle, it 'tosses' all the power to that wheel and accelerates. These driveways have a small lip at the edge. This sensor reacted to it in a way that caused my car to crash. The car was totaled and the townhouses across the street damaged. Thank heaven there was no one outside or they would have been killed. This needs to be investigated, recalled and changed.
CategoryEngine, Fuel/propulsion System, Power Train
DateJan 21, 2020
StateTX
Description
Car lulls/jerks when accelerating from low speeds car lacks power most of the time and performs poorly engine loses power, several occurrences of what would appear to be limp mode ( can't get passed 2000-3000 ) rpms car has erratic idle rpms, sometimes high and sometimes low I've recently heard the engine roar while idling and hissing from the engine bay when shutting off the engine also sounded like the car was dieseling after shut down likely because the car was beginning to overheat from the immense stress in the engine from running too lean car has poor sound absorption in the cabin, sounds like you're in a airplane every bump it goes over reverberates through the car for an extremely unpleasant and unsafe experience feels like there is excessive play in the front axle wheels seem to drag and thud/thump like there is a flat when there is not I've had my wheels aligned twice already, they've balanced my tires several times, even changed a wheel bearing (I am aware of the tsb released to address these concerns and you blame it on a bearing) nothing makes this better and it is getting worse my car has been to the dealership for this complaint 3 times already this year ( yes that is every week out of 2020 so far). This is becoming a complete burden in my life and I am not going to be the person who has to die for mazda to address this
CategoryService Brakes, Unknown Or Other
DateJan 20, 2020
StateFL
Description
Vehicle is 2 months old and the automatic emergency braking is going off in the middle of the street with no cars around. Today it went off in the middle of traffic and luckily the driver behind me was paying attention. I called the dealer to ask about servicing the recall and they said they did not have a solution. When I told them I almost got rear ended. Their response was thank goodness you didn't and if there was anything else they could help me with. Zero offers to help or concern for an obvious safety issue with this vehicle.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateJan 17, 2020
StateWA
Description
My mazda 3 windshield is prone to chipping and cracking at the slightest impact. Today, without any obvious impact while driving, a new 05mm crack developed. (please see attached images) this is the second windshield which developed a full-width crack from a slight impact at local street speed. The new windshield is mazda oem glass and has been installed for approximately 1 month. The vehicle is less than 1 year old.
CategoryService Brakes
DateDec 29, 2019
StateFL
Description
I was driving on us one between ft. Pierce and vero beach, just before christmas, 2019. There was no traffic in front or besides me, although there were cars approaching from the rear. The car suddenly violently shook and came to an immediate stop. I tried to start it, and nothing happened. I could see cars coming up behind me and knew I could easily be hit from the rear. Thankfully they saw I wasn't moving, and they were able to move to the other lane. After 5 or 6 attempts, I finally got the car started and pulled off the road. I had not heard anything about this problem and thought perhaps I had caused the situation. I did not report it at that time as I did not consider it could be a defect. I now know that it is.
CategoryService Brakes
DateDec 26, 2019
StateCA
Description
Dear sir or madam, I leased a new mazda 3 on 12/20/2019. At the time of signing all documents I was provided with a document to sign that the dealership were not allowed to sell me a car with an open recall. After registering with the mazda app I found out that there is an open recall. Is this legal and what are my rights? This seems extremely dishonest. I would appreciate your feedback and advice on what I can do in this situation. The vehicle may unexpectedly stop while driving due to inadvertent activation of the smart braking system (sbs) automatic emergency braking system. Many thanks
CategoryService Brakes
DateDec 19, 2019
StateCA
Description
Automatic break system malfunctions often and does a hard break. Also the perimeter sensor gets disabled numerous time out of blue while driving and stop functioning until the car restarts. The break happens without any prior indication or same situation. It just happens on the regular road as well as highway. But the highway just scares me. But there is no way I can tell mazda with a proof.
CategoryElectronic Stability Control, Visibility/wiper
DateDec 02, 2019
StateCA
Description
I was driving about 30 mph or slower in a light rain on a city street when my vehicle said that the front radar failed/unable to function, all safety systems are now disabled. This lasted for about 3-4 minutes and then it started to function again but only for 2 minutes and then it gave the same message and disabled all my safety systems while again. It started to function again as I pulled into my driveway which is why I was unable to get a photo. I have had multiple ongoing problems with lane departure warning and with the windshield wiper sensor and the doors and trunk locking and unlocking. I think the entire electrical system is defective and most of the problems come from the front radar but there are so many problems with the electronics that I this this vehicle is a lemon. The lane-keep assist is so bad it has almost made me crash on 3 separate occasions so I have disabled it.
CategoryService Brakes, Unknown Or Other
DateNov 06, 2019
StateTX
Description
Car has given multiple warnings that driver and safety assist features are disabled -- despite not being enabled. Car also gave a camera malfunction warning approximately 1 minute before slamming on brakes unexpectedly at 35-40mph and causing injury to driver;incident occurred at clear night with no other cars around. Car currently in shop; no word on what caused this or when it will be repaired.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Dynamic Brake Support/brake Assist
DateNov 01, 2019
StateNY
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2019 mazda 3. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to immediately accelerate after the brake assist was engaged. As a result, the contact's vehicle was rear ended by another vehicle. The air bags did not deploy. A police report was not filed and there were no injuries sustained. The vehicle was not taken to a dealer or independent mechanic for diagnostic testing or repairs. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 7,000.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateSep 12, 2019
StateCA
Description
While the vehicle is in motion the right side blind spot monitoring system does not work occasionally. Sometimes this happens with a warning message but sometimes it happens without a warning. Multiple repair attempts have been made but the issue still keeps happening. Mazda is trying to work on this issue but is not able to figure out what is wrong with their vehicles.
CategorySeats
DateSep 11, 2019
StateMD
Description
Heated seat shuts off randomly while driving
CategoryElectrical System, Power Train, Steering
DateAug 06, 2019
StateOH
Description
My car suddenly made a big clunk noise and I was warned of a power steering malfunction. I have also been warned multiple times that due to a malfunction the 'safety systems have been disabled', another issue in having is a headlight malfunction. When the headlight malfunction occurs the digital speedometer gets very dark and I am unable to tell how fast I am going. There is no way to turn the brightness up to see the speedometer again until the error code goes away. Mazda told me I must leave my windows down when the car is in a hot climate to prevent it from overheating while not in use... I live in ohio so the weather is not extremely harsh. I've take the vehicle to the dealership multiple times and they have not fixed any of the issues. I called mazda corporate and was told 'what would you like me to do about it' I was told my issues had no remedy. The corporate call center would not put me through to anyone else for further help. I feel unsafe in my vehicle and it's not even over 8500 miles yet.
CategoryPower Train:automatic Transmission, Power Train:automatic Transmission:control Module (tcm, Pcm)
DateJul 20, 2019
StateCA
Description
A safety critical incident occurred on my new 2019 mazda 3 hatchback when the vehicle when into "limp" mode while adaptive cruise control was engaged at highway speeds leading to rapid deceleration. The vehicle was towed to the nearest manufacturer service location where a diagnostic was performed. Codes show that communication between the central vehicle processor and multiple sub-processors failed simultaneously. Comments were made by manufacturer service representatives that failure mode is likely different from the recent cylinder deactivation/rocker arm recall. Service representatives were instructed to simply clear the codes and drive the vehicle to attempt to reproduce the failure during which it did not occur. I have attached a sanitized version of the service receipt to this message with the full list of codes. Unfortunately mazda's representatives were unable to provide any explanation on why this failure occurred or what will be done to prevent it in the future. Engineering analysis will need to be performed to reach an acceptable conclusion. Environmental factors relating to the incident include a very hot outside air temperature, with a reading of 115 deg f from the vehicle's sensor roughly 15 minutes before the incident. The incident also occurred on a very long section of us highway with a consistent, gradual incline. Given that information potential causes are intermittent computer hardware failure in high temperature environments, or a software error in power train control or cruise control causing a communication bus failure. With the age and mileage of the vehicle (336 mi) the potential for this failure occurring is likely present in a large portion of new mazda vehicles.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJul 19, 2019
StateFL
Description
My car's collision warning engaged without cause. It makes the car brakes abruptly for no reason. This is especially dangerous during highway speed. It happened 3 times so far in the 4 months that I own the car. Some other owners also experienced this.
CategoryAir Bags
DateJul 12, 2019
StateCA
Description
Suddenly there was a error saying airbag system has malfunctioned in the middle of my commute. And it has been reoccurring. And I haven't heard a peep from the dealer.
CategoryElectrical System, Unknown Or Other
DateJul 02, 2019
StateMD
Description
The entire vehicle safety system malfunctions at random times while driving, most recently on the highway. The dashboard illuminates stating "safety and driver support systems partially disabled, drive safely". I lose blind spot monitoring, lane keep assistance, radar, and city brake support, among other things. This has happened several times over the past 2 weeks.
CategoryStructure:body
DateJun 28, 2019
StateNJ
Description
Every time it rains spare tire well fills with water
CategoryAir Bags
DateJun 27, 2019
StateMA
Description
Air bag system malfunction, have the vehicle inspected new vehicle 4/14/2019! Once while turning in parking lot on 4/17@151mi, two other times 30-35mph on 4/25@458mi and 4/29@551mi on odometer. On all occasions 2+hrs of drive time there were 4-6 stops. At other times under an hr with 1 stop no problem. I had no passangers so no other seat belts were in use when I got the warning. But, on 2 other occasions when I had a front seat passanger wearing their seatbelt doing the above no warning at all.
CategoryService Brakes, Steering
DateJun 13, 2019
StateCA
Description
On june 6, 2019 at about 6:45pm while driving in stop and go traffic on the transition from the 241 fwy to the 91 fwy I received an error on my dash (attachment 1) three times within about 10 mins "push button start malfunction"" the car did not stop, over heat or malfunction in such a way to prevent me from driving to my destination, which was 15 miles away on june 7, 2019 on my way to work traveling at about 65 miles an hour on the 5 fwy at about 10 am in the morning with there being no vehicles around the car the car did an emergency break I know this from the dash display which showed a bright red circle with the warning that the emergency breaking system was engaged I've taken it to the dealer that was close to my work location within 1 hour of the event
CategoryPower Train, Service Brakes, Unknown Or Other
DateJun 02, 2019
StateCA
Description
- rear view mirror fell off while on the freeway. Hot days will break down the adhesive and cause the rear view mirror to fall off. - brakes vibrate harshly when in sport mode. Faster the vehicle goes, the more harsh the brakes will vibrate. - acceleration is jerky on low end (1st/2nd) gear. In stop and go traffic, or going up-hill on load, acceleration will feel jerky when try to keep a steady speed between 5-15mph. Car feels normal when pushing the acceleration harder.
CategoryAir Bags, Visibility, Visibility/wiper, Visibility:rearview Mirrors/devices:interior
DateMay 25, 2019
StateCA
Description
Got alert regarding air bags while driving. Also rear mirror fell off the plastic casing while driving on freeway. They both happened at different instances. But both happened when I was driving freeway and scared me. Took into mazda dealer and they said that both were known issue and airbag issue is unannounced recall.

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.

Share your story

Does this ring a bell? Have you had a bad experience too? Sound off and share your experience with other visitors in the comment box below.

Brian Jones

About the Author:

Brian Jones spent more than 20 years working as an ASE Certified Master Tech and Parts Specialist at multiple dealerships. Brian has become an authority in the industry, traveling across the country to consult for car dealerships and contributing his expertise as a writer for several major automotive publications. In his spare time, Brian enjoys working on pickup trucks, muscle cars, Jeeps and anything related to motorsports.

See more posts from Brian Jones
BE THE FIRST TO COMMENT

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead you can to our legal team.

Please select your star rating.

Briefly describe your experience Briefly describe your experience

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? Please enter a valid phone number

Want to know if you could sue? Get a free legal evaluation Lemberg Law?

Get Your No-Obligation
Case Evaluation

Send a secure message to our legal team.

What’s your name? What’s your name?
What’s your email address? What’s your email address?
What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?
Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem
Confidentiality Guarantee: We keep your information completely confidential and will not send you spam or sell your information.