2021 GMC Acadia Problems and Top Complaints – Is Your Car A Lemon?

Electrical system, powertrain & camera issues among the top complaints received by the NHTSA from vehicle owners

By Brian Jones | Updated on

By Brian Jones | Updated on

The 2021 GMC Acadia is meant as a luxury-minded SUV that should impress. After all, the automaker claims it is “built for families that go.” Yet, some major malfunctions are causing it to break down. From the defective electrical system and faulty powertrain to the camera, customers are livid.

Click on other model year to view more problems: 2017   2018   2019   2020   2022

Don’t be stuck with a lemon. You have legal rights to cash, return or buyback.

The law makes GMC pay legal fees.

We've fixed thousands of lemon problems. Message or call 877-795-3666 today.

NHTSA Complaints for the 2021 GMC Acadia

Complaint CategoryNumber of Complaints
Electrical System
10
Service Brakes
7
Unknown Or Other
4
Forward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking
3
Air Bags
3
Power Train
3
Back Over Prevention: Rearview System Braking
3
Back Over Prevention: Warnings
3
Engine
3
Visibility/wiper
2

Most Common Problems with the 2021 GMC Acadia

Customer complaints to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) show that drivers are having issues with many components and systems in the 2021 GMC Acadia. Electrical system problems top the list with the powertrain and brakes coming a close second, with complaints citing various safety issues.

The rear-view camera is another important safety component that keeps malfunctioning. There is even an open investigation into this problem.

Problems with the Electrical System

The electrical system is responsible for running just about every part of a new car, from the steering to the radio. With 2021 GMC Acadia models, the faults are causing some major concerns.

Here is one NHTSA complaint. “Car steers to left, volume does not work after a connected call while driving, screen blacks out and noise coming out of left driver door panel while car is off. Also message that SD card was removed, no apps working.”

While all of these problems are alarming, it’s important to look closer at the steering system complaint. In fact, steering issues are nothing new to GMC. It wasn’t that long ago that there were proposed class action lawsuits because of defective power steering in Acadia models. These systems were failing after just 30,000 miles. It would appear that the Acadia should actually be “built for families that can’t go.”

Problems with the Camera

Most complaints to the NHTSA are listed under Electrical System and/or Back Over Prevention. The NHTSA’s Office of Defects Investigation (ODI) confirms that it has received multiple complaints about the rear-view camera. These relate not only to GMC Acadia vehicles, but to Cadillac XT5 and XT6 luxury SUVs as well.

However, a manufacturer communication from GMC on file with the NHTSA lists a total of 59 affected vehicles. These include the ones mentioned already as well as GMC Sierra 1500 and 2500s and Terrains. A whole lot of Buicks and Chevrolets are also on the list.

Preliminary information” supplied by GMC describes the problem and lists possible causes. These include the possibility of water intrusion, VPM SPS programming issues, and connection problems that might be caused by vibration.

Acadia ODI Camera Investigation

The ODI opened a preliminary investigation on July 22, 2022 to determine the scope and severity of the problem. They say they also need to fully assess the potential safety-related issues.

They say that complaints report the camera screen being black, sometimes with a red triangle and a circle with a line through it. Most complaints to them are from owners with low vehicle mileage.

Needless to say, it stands to reason that when the camera fails or malfunctions, it will reduce visibility in the area behind the vehicle. This limited view, as the ODI states, “may lead to an increased risk of incidents resulting in injury and/or property damage while the vehicle is in reverse.”

Complaints to the NHTSA range from a 2021 GMC Acadia owner simply saying “rear view camera stopped working,” to one that reports the camera causing an accident.

Acadia NHTSA Complaint Examples

An owner from California states: “I got into an accident because my back-up crap camera did not warn me that a car had turned behind me.” The driver had other issues too. For example, when backing up and a car is coming it doesn’t indicate the presence of the car “until it’s behind me.”

“I’ve taken it to the dealer and they say there’s nothing wrong with it. Also there is no brake when you come too close to something in front of you.”

An owner from Pennsylvania states: “Vehicle purchased new (in) mid-March 2021 and in less than 30 days the rear back-up camera stopped working intermittently. This has occurred several times and the vehicle is currently at the dealer being diagnosed.”

An owner from Ohio states: Since purchase of this vehicle in Dec 2020, the rear camera vision has been intermittent. I originally thought it to be (a) driver problem, however I am now told that there is a module that needs to be replaced and it is not available and possibly not being manufactured at the present time. As a result, the entire Camera parking assist system is completely out of service with no information on when the module may be available to repair the issue. I believe this may be a Safety issue as backing up into traffic be it parking lots or roadways, this equipment is an essential addition to safety to other vehicles and pedestrians.”

This complaint was received in August 2021 even though the incident date is January 15, 2021.

Problems with the Powertrain

The powertrain takes the energy created by the motor and directs it to the wheels for motion. Yet, the Acadia can’t get this basic concept down.

One Edmunds review states, “I purchased a 2021 GMC Acadia SLT on December 30th 2020. On March 11th (70 days and 1800 miles into my ownership) the vehicle lurched forward and the check engine light came on.  I’m being told by the dealer it is a stuck valve problem that GM is aware of and put out a paper on. The transmission needs (to be) replaced.  Now nobody can answer whether I’ll get a new or remanufactured transmission.  I obviously am disgusted this would happen to a brand new vehicle.  I would expect GM to put a new transmission in not remanufactured. ”

GMC isn’t blindsided by the transmission complaints. Not only have owners been discussing a known Shift to Park issue that is causing accidents, but Service Bulletin #16NA019 also talks about harsh transmission shifting, slipping and flaring that is leading to driveability concerns. It seems this SUV wants to do anything but “go,” creating just another lemon on today’s roadway.

Your Lemon Law Legal Rights

Think you have a lemon? Sit back and let the experts work out your lemon case at no cost to you. The law makes GMC pay legal fees. You may be able to get your lemon out of your life. Every year, auto manufacturers buy back, replace or pay cash settlements to thousands of ‘lemon’ owners like you.

Complaint Data

CategoryService Brakes
DateNov 30, 2022
StateTX
Description
The contact owns a 2021 gmc acadia. The contact stated while reversing out her parking space, the contact heard a squeaking sound coming from the brakes. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic and the brakes were replaced; however, the failure persisted. The dealer was contacted and stated that there was an upcoming recall and to wait for the recall. The manufacturer was contacted and stated that the vehicle needed to be diagnosed. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 26,000.
CategoryElectrical System, Fuel/propulsion System
DateNov 15, 2022
StateSC
Description
Was driving and vehicle engine dead stopped with out warning. Could not get started and had to call a wrecker to tow to gmc dealership. Were told it wasn't the first time that they had seen this. They had a part in stock to repair it. It was diagnosed as the “drivers fuel pump module” . Was surprised that there was not a recall as this could have been a deadly incident during rush hour on the roads in my area. While researching found a recall on full size gmc 2021 suvs from last year (nhtsa campaign number 21v739000) ! Why is this not being dealt with on the 2021 acadias? My daughter has one she bought the same day and now I am in fear it will do the same thing !!! No insurance issues or police issues. After engine died several symbols including engine icon came on when trying to restart. Also received an email “diagnostic alert” from on star immediately : an issue with the engine and transmission system in your 2021 gmc acadia has been detected. Please service your vehicle within 7 days….
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking
DateNov 15, 2022
StateOH
Description
While driving down a busy road automatic braking engaged for no reason causing the acadia to abruptly come to a dead stop in the middle of the road with nothing in front of me. Red collision lights came on at the same time as braking with no prior warnings. Could not get the car to move for a few minutes (when giving gas there were grinding sounds) then the braking system let up. Drove for another few minutes and it did it again. Called gm and we had to figure out how to get the car to the dealership with a major safety issue. Took the car in and it was throwing b390f, u0184, b395a codes. When we received the vehicle back one of the codes was for a bad back up camera so the new rear back up camera view is so stretched you can't use it to back up nor does it have the lines anymore. The rear view camera now has a view that is sideways. So I took the car back to the dealership and they had no clue how either could be happening and would look into it again. Did my own research and figured out there are two cameras on the tailgate so the rear view camera was reinstalled wrong. Sent proof of how I came to the conclusion and that I wanted the backup camera replaced/fixed also. Its been over a month and I cannot get my car fixed because I refuse to pay for a rental on something they messed up because they have no loaners. Well on 11/14/2022 my cars automatic braking system activated again only this time it stopped in the middle of the road and was not as dramatic as last time. The warning lights came on as the car was coming to a stop. This time I was able to move shortly after it came to a complete stop. Gm dealership wants me to bring the car in somehow and I will be carless for who knows how long. There is also a safety recall for a cable for the backup camera with no parts available. I have an ro number and a complaint number.
CategoryAir Bags
DateNov 05, 2022
StateFL
Description
October 2021 warning light service service seat restraint system. Schumacher lake park fl replaced sir module. Mileage 3741 took 2 weeks to repair. October 2022 warning light service seat restraint system. Mileage 7180. Vehicle at starling gmc stuart fl for 2 weeks effective this coming week - nov. 7. Airbag module issue again.
CategoryService Brakes
DateOct 17, 2022
StateOH
Description
My brakes are awful. They sqeak and sqeal constantly. I've taken it to ken ganley buick gmc several times. Prior to that, it was taken to nick abraham bmc. The dealerships are able to duplicate the sound and problem over and over again. None of the dealership representatives are able to offer a solution other than paying out of pocket to replace the brake pads because the material the brake pads are manufactured from are falling short. There is no way the brakes are functioning the way they were designed. Thankfully, I have not been in a situation where I need to slam on my brakes but I am not confident that they would do their job in an emergent situation. I have a toddler and a new baby on the way. I purchased a big suv with the mindset that it would keep my family and I safe. We have leased several gmc products over the years and have never had an issue like this. We will absolutely not be renewing our lease to prove our loyalty to this brand. The fact that I'm being told the only way to fix the manufacturers problem is to pay out of pocket and fully replace the brakes on my vehicle that is 1. 5 years old with 28k miles on it, is absolutely absurd. We are willing to give gmc the opportunity to make it right. At this point, I'll be honest, I doubt anything will even be addressed.
CategoryEngine And Engine Cooling:exhaust System:emission Control
DateOct 03, 2022
StateAL
Description
The contact owns a 2021 gmc acadia. The contact stated that while driving, he heard a loud rattling noise coming from the exhaust. The contact then stated that the rpm's increased and the rattling noise became louder. No warning light was illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the exhaust resonator failed the whole exhaust assembly needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 28,000.
CategoryBack Over Prevention: Rearview System Braking, Back Over Prevention: Warnings, Electrical System
DateSep 29, 2022
StatePA
Description
We purchased the vehicle in march 2021 and within a few weeks, the rear camera started working intermittently. At one point, it displayed a black screen with a red warning triangle. The dealership ultimately replaced the camera and we haven't had the problem since.
CategoryElectrical System
DateSep 02, 2022
StateLA
Description
Make a left turn engine stopped. Fuel pump driver module failure. Electrical short in module. Several fuses also blown. All dash warming lights stayed on. Vehicle had to be towed from middle of roadway. Battery also had to be replaced. Vehicle mileage 8100 miles.
CategoryEngine
DateAug 31, 2022
StateCO
Description
Car had only 5000 miles . We live in denver took it to mountains for first time. We are both in our late 70 s . Going down mouintains vail pass car engine exploded car went into complete stop at highway speed. Lucky we did not die as car went off to berm on I 70 west. Milemarker 180 or so. Gmc roadside called after 18 hours finally consented to tow car back to denver. We called 911 for fear of our life with trucks wheezing by. " gmc national" would not buy back car. My wife and I explained to gmc we were in a panic when this happened. Dealer auto nation found that pistons were blown up as well as engine. They offered to give us new ? Rebuilt engine .. We refused as we are very frightened to be in this car. Dealership finally offered to buy car which we consented . Gmc refuses to pay any of our trip interruptions expenses case no sr9-8150020854 april 1-866 790 5600 ext 5913625 pistons confrimed by auto nation west golden co to be defective and sponateously broken pistons there was defect in production of pistons no safety warning that car engine exploded car just completely stopped suddenly
CategoryService Brakes, Vehicle Speed Control:accelerator Pedal
DateAug 28, 2022
StateTX
Description
As I was stopped in line behind a car at the atm, my foot slipped from the brake, I quickly placed it back only to find that I ended up going forward. I quickly moved my foot more to the left for the brake only to end up going forward even faster hitting the car in front of me. I then put my left foot firmly on the brake. Now with both feet on the brake the car is climbing up the car in front of me and not braking. Finally, I put it in park and cut the engine. The whole front end of my car is crushed. Now 5 days earlier my husband had a similar incident when he was parking the car and thankfully only hitting the curb. Looking at the brake pedal you will find that there is a rubber edge hanging down on the right side. If your foot slips below it while crossing from the accelerator going right to left, you will not hit the brake but will continue to press the accelerator. In fact, if you raise your foot upward, you will only raise the brake. The only way to get to the brake is to get out from under it by going toward the accelerator and then back to the left. This action does not work in an emergency! I believe this rubber edge is too large is a safety hazard. We are still in the process of assessment by insurance, body shop and gmc.
CategoryParking Brake
DateJun 14, 2022
StateNY
Description
My emergency parking brake keeps engaging on its own, as I come to a stop, jeeking me forward. I never even put it in park, but it just engages the parking brake in a forceful manner. At a couple different times, while going at about 40 mph, the car starting shaking terribly, slowing the vehicle. The check engine light came on as well as both parking brake lights on the dash (the indicator light saying the parking brake was on and the indicator light saying there was a problem with the brakes). It felt light the vehicle had engaged the parking brake with I was driving and was dragging the parking brake. I have been having problems with the brakes with the vehicle and have taken it to the dealership a few times for this issue. They only kept it overnight and told me there was nothing they could do because it didn't happen while they had it. I have a fractured back and am disabled, and this issues actually hurts me when it does it.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Service Brakes
DateMay 31, 2022
StateAL
Description
While driving through intersection auto braking system activated for no apparent reason . Could have caused a crash due to sudden unexpected braking. No warning lights or alarm noted during or after event. Dealership was unable to find any problems with the automatic braking system.
CategoryBack Over Prevention: Rearview System Braking, Electrical System, Engine
DateMay 09, 2022
StateCA
Description
I got into an accident because my back up crap camera did not warn me that a car had turned behind me. Also when and backing up and a car is coming it doesn't indicate the car is coming until it's behind me. I've taken it to the dealer and they say there's nothing wrong with it. Also there is no break when you come too close to something in front of you.
CategoryService Brakes
DateFeb 18, 2022
StateOH
Description
The contact owns a 2021 gmc acadia c1. The contact stated while driving approximately 40 mph, the parking brake engaged independently. The contact also mentioned having difficulties steering the vehicle. The vehicle was restarted and it resumed to normal. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. No further information was available. The failure milage was unknown.
CategoryFuel/propulsion System, Unknown Or Other, Vehicle Speed Control
DateFeb 02, 2022
StateFL
Description
Brand new vehicle purchased from dealer, at 8900 miles transmission slipped. Dealer has for 2 hours and couldn't find problem, but replaced transmission fluid it was dark. At 9000 it happened again, they have vehicle and said the new transmission fluid is dark and muddy. Only 100 miles, so they determined they need to take apart transmission and see what happened. It's a 52k car, it should not be repairs, it should be replaced under warranty. Video of 8900 from dealership https://video. 37483. Net/timeline/2cjthew6
CategoryPower Train
DateJan 25, 2022
StateFL
Description
Was accelerating to approx 45-50mph when the vehicle gave no power, but my rpms were revving. Once removing my foot off the gas pedal and trying to get power back, after the 2nd or 3rd time I resumed power. The car has less than 9000 miles on it. Right after, a message alerted me to have the vehicle brought in for service, and the engine light came on. According to the dealership, the found code p0700 which is normal, followed by p7224, something I am unable to locate anywhere online. They said they tested everything and all came back normal. It's been noted and if it happens again to let them know. I'm not feeling comfortable paying 50k+ for a vehicle to have it go haywire under 10k miles.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateJan 25, 2022
StateAK
Description
I want to voice my concerns with the windshield wipers, and storage placement. In winter weather conditions the storage compartment at the base of the windshield fills up with snow, even when driving. The wiper blades eventually end up resting on this snow. When wipers are turned on there is a quite often a build up of ice on the wiper blades. This causes the wiper blades to raise above windshield and not clean the windshield (partially or completely) generally you need to stop and break/snow or ice from the wiper as you can not see. Same occurs when e get a freezing rain ice builds up at base of windshield then eventually ices up the wiper blades and not cleaning the windshield. The vehicle is not designed to handle winter and freezing rain conditions, after building vehicles for many years we should have a better wiper system. --blades should have electric heat wires in them, --maybe need completely electric windshield to handle snow/ice cond. -- the placement of the defroster vents are very poorly placed, they should be all across the base of the windshield. A couple of days ago we had freezing rain, blades were freezing up, heater defroster was at max heat, and fan was at max, I had to constantly pull over and scrape ice off. This is very dangerous situation be it ice or snow. Design engineers really don't seem to take the winter conditions into consideration in the design of vehicles. I have driven over 5 million kms during my career and used to dealing with many types of conditions. No accidents . Just want to bring these issue to your attention. I am extremely disappointed in this unit because of this. Thanks [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the freedom of information act (foia), 5 u. S. C. 552(b)(6).
CategoryAir Bags
DateJan 04, 2022
StateSC
Description
The contact owns a 2021 gmc acadia. The contact stated while driving approximately 30 mph, the vehicle started making an abnormal dinging sound. The contact stated service restraint system warning message was illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a local dealer where it was diagnosed with needing the sdm module replaced. Upon investigation, the contact associated the failure with nhtsa campaign number: 21v702000 (air bags) however, the vin was not included. The manufacturer was not informed of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 16,000.
CategoryPower Train:automatic Transmission:torque Converter
DateDec 15, 2021
StateTX
Description
The contact owns a 2021 gmc acadia. The contact stated that while driving approximately 30-60 mph, the vehicle started shuddering inadvertently. There were no warning lights illuminated. The contact stated that he continued to drive the vehicle. The contact stated that the failure reoccurred while driving and the vehicle stalled. The contact was unable to restart the vehicle after several attempts. The vehicle was towed to the dealer who diagnosed that the transmission fluid needed to be replaced per the service bulletin #pip5608h; however, the failure persisted. The dealer advised the contact to drive the vehicle for 200 miles and bring it back if the failure reoccurred. The contact stated that the vehicle continued to shudder and stall while driving. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer who diagnosed that the transmission torque converter needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 4,100.
CategoryElectrical System, Service Brakes
DateNov 27, 2021
StateGA
Description
Electronic parking brake is setting itself without you doing it even when parked on a completely flat surface. Voice activated assist is going off while driving down the road without you hitting the steering wheel button. 1st dealer I took the car to refused to even address issue because the car didn't throw a code even though the parking break issue happened while in their parking lot. 2nd dealer at this point has had the car for a total of 16 days. They tried to tell me the parking break was normal, manager at actual dealership told me it definitely was not normal, and they don't know what to do about voice activation going off. It has now been at dealerships 3 times for this issue within oct and nov 2021. Only 4,500 miles on car. If it is having these electric issues already what is in store for this car in the future? My husband has a video on youtube of voice activated assist issue so far 2 other people are saying their cars are having the same issue.
CategoryElectrical System, Exterior Lighting
DateNov 19, 2021
StateMI
Description
My 2021 acadia just stooped working as completly shut off. I had no power to contact onstar or more importantly to put my 4 ways(hazard lights) on to signal or warn other motorists that there is a problem ahead. I could not push the vehicle as it is locked in gear because of the termination of power. I have had this exact problem happen 3 times leaving me and my family stranded on a busy road with nothing working. On each occasion I have removed my family from the vehicle in fear of being rear-ended! This would not only cause an accident with harm or fatality to my family, but has put that same risk to other motorists on the road. When I have had the vehicle in the dealership (champion buick/gmc of brighton) in which it needs to be towed, they have not been able to find or confirm this issue. The dealership has had the vehicle for multiple weeks with help and assistance of gm with also no resolution. This is a very intermittent issue and when it happens it is an extremely dangerous situation. The vehicle gives no warning except for a total shut down.
CategoryEngine, Power Train
DateNov 04, 2021
StateIN
Description
The contact owns a 2021 gmc acadia. The contact stated while stopped at a stop light and depressing the brake pedal, the engine revved up with the rpm's increasing up to 15,000. No warning lights were illuminated. The contact stated that the vehicle jerked and vibrated as the transmission did a hard shift. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who took the vehicle on a 24-minute test drive and no failure was found. The vehicle was taken to the dealer several times and no failure was able to be determined. The failure occurred several times. The manufacturer was notified of the failure however, no assistance was offered. The approximate failure mileage was 249.
CategoryElectrical System, Unknown Or Other
DateNov 02, 2021
StateAR
Description
On at least 3 occasions, my vehicle's locks have malfunctioned and I've been locked out of my car with one incident being locked out in the rain. Upon approaching my vehicle and using the unlock button on the outside of my door, I was unable to access my vehicle. Then trying my key fob and app to unlock, with all attempts unsuccessful. The back hatch of the vehicle would open, so my daughter had to crawl through to manually open the door. Once the vehicle was started, once put in drive, the vehicle would not lock. As stated, I can confirm three dates this has happened and that I've contacted my local dealer. I am pretty sure it's happened one other time but I can not remember the date. The dealer would only look at it once and could not find anything wrong because the problem did not happen in the short time my vehicle was there. I do have video of at least one instance that I can provide.
CategoryService Brakes
DateOct 29, 2021
StateNY
Description
Brakes grind, usually after sitting overnight. It has happened on multiple occasions.
CategorySuspension
DateAug 30, 2021
StateNY
Description
The contact owns a 2021 gmc acadia. The contact stated while driving approximately 65-70 mph, the driver's side rear spring detached and almost caused a collision. The dealer was made aware of the failure and it was arranged for the vehicle to be towed to the dealer for diagnosis. The contact stated that the vehicle was towed to the dealer prior to the failure after the contact heard an abnormal noise coming from the rear of the vehicle. However, the dealer could not replicate the failure and the vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 12,000.
CategoryBack Over Prevention: Rearview System Braking, Back Over Prevention: Warnings, Visibility/wiper
DateAug 16, 2021
StateOH
Description
Since purchase of this vehicle in dec 2020, the rear camera vision has been intermittent. I originally thought it to be driver problem however I am now told that there is a module that needs to be replaced and it is not available and possibly not being manufactured at the present time. As a result the entire camera parking assist system is completely out of service with no information on when the module may be available to repair the issue. I believe this may be a safety issue as backing up into traffic be it parking lots or roadways, this equipment is an essential addition to safety to other vehicles and pedestrians.
CategoryVehicle Speed Control:accelerator Pedal
DateAug 05, 2021
StateFL
Description
The contact owns a 2021 gmc acadia. The contact stated that while his wife was reversing the vehicle, the accelerator pedal was stuck to the floorboard and the vehicle crashed into the garage wall. No medical attention was received. No police report was filed. The dealer was made aware of the failure and informed the contact to tow the vehicle to their location to diagnose the failure. The vehicle was awaiting a tow truck and had not been diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 2,500.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJul 31, 2021
StateAL
Description
As I was driving down interstate 65 in south alabama on a drizzling rainy day, the sunroof made a very loud popping noise and then exploded, with shattered glass falling into my suv. Luckily, I was able to keep my vehicle on the road without swerving and losing control. I closed the sunshade on the sunroof to keep the glass from continuing to fall in and drove home. There was no warning lights nor any indication that something was wrong with the sunroof. When I got home, I called the nearest gmc dealership in pensacola, florida to report the issue (850. 637. 8973). Jonathan sparks handled the claim. He sent out team members to pick up the vehicle from my home. They first removed as much of the glass as they could to keep it from flying off and possibly hitting another vehicle behind them. They drove it to pensacola, replaced the entire sunroof, and then brought it back to me. Documentation and pictures are attached.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking
DateMay 28, 2021
StateTN
Description
Was on the interstate driving when the emergency brake engaged causing the car skid the tires and almost completely coming to a stop in heavy traffic. Shortly after this the transmission had issues which caused the car to be undrivable and had to be towed. The dealership had the car for over a month and replaced the tcm. There were no other warnings prior to this.
CategoryBack Over Prevention: Warnings, Electrical System
DateMay 07, 2021
StatePA
Description
Vehicle purchased new mid-march 2021 and in less than 30 days the rear back-up camera stopped working intermittently. This has occurred several times and the vehicle is currently at the dealer being diagnosed.
CategoryPower Train
DateApr 23, 2021
StateTX
Description
Wife was driving southbound on us287 between vernon, tx and wichita falls, tx in a 75mph speed zone. Vehicle abruptly and for no apparent reason slowed as if the brakes had been applied with sufficient force to cause her to bend forward at the waist. Subsequently, the vehicle speed became erratic and she slowed to 25 while moving onto the shoulder. Could easily have caused a fatal accident had traffic not been unusually light. I am enclosing gm service bulletin issued in july of 2020 (I found it posted on the nhtsa web site) regarding the transmission used in this car. A safety recall should be immediately issued . Gm nhtsa should have required gm to notify buyers of this condition prior to purchase when the inherent potential defect first became apparent. We bought the vehicle new in question on 2 feb 21 and it had been driven just 4,063 miles at time of incident.
CategoryElectrical System
DateApr 06, 2021
StateTX
Description
Rear camera stopped working.
CategoryElectrical System, Steering, Unknown Or Other
DateDec 12, 2020
StateTX
Description
Car steers to left,volume does not work after a connected call while driving,screen blacks out and noise coming out of left driver door panel while car is off,also message that sd card was removed no apps working
CategoryAir Bags
DateNov 24, 2020
StateTX
Description
We bought our car on 11/7/2020 ,2 days after starting the messages appear on the screen (service safety restraint system) car and on my phone, this always happen when in motion, on a city or highway doesn't matter where you're driving. We have no idea what could cause the problem cause only had 2 miles when took it out from the dealer. I feel that is a defective product installed on the vehicle. Also the passenger seat doesn't move to be adjusted. Went to the dealer a week ago but still waiting for call back to made the repair.

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.

Share your story

Does this ring a bell? Have you had a bad experience too? Sound off and share your experience with other visitors in the comment box below.

Brian Jones

About the Author:

Brian Jones spent more than 20 years working as an ASE Certified Master Tech and Parts Specialist at multiple dealerships. Brian has become an authority in the industry, traveling across the country to consult for car dealerships and contributing his expertise as a writer for several major automotive publications. In his spare time, Brian enjoys working on pickup trucks, muscle cars, Jeeps and anything related to motorsports.

See more posts from Brian Jones
BE THE FIRST TO COMMENT

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead you can to our legal team.

Please select your star rating.

Briefly describe your experience Briefly describe your experience

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? Please enter a valid phone number

Want to know if you could sue? Get a free legal evaluation Lemberg Law?

Get Your No-Obligation
Case Evaluation

Send a secure message to our legal team.

What’s your name? What’s your name?
What’s your email address? What’s your email address?
What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?
Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem
Confidentiality Guarantee: We keep your information completely confidential and will not send you spam or sell your information.