2022 Jeep Compass Problems and Top Complaints – Is Your Car A Lemon?

Electrical & Forward Collision Avoidance issues are among the top complaints received by the NHTSA from vehicle owners

By Brian Jones | Updated on

By Brian Jones | Updated on

The Jeep Compass, which debuted at the 2006 North American International Auto Show, was one of the first Jeep brand vehicles to enter the small cross-utility segment.

Sales peaked at 171,167 in 2018, but have been declining ever since. By 2020 they were down to 107,968 and then to 75,642 the following year. Sales for 2022 seem to be holding firm, with 46,335 units sold by mid-year. They could meet or beat the 2021 figures.

Click on other model year to view more problems:  2018   2019   2020   2021

Don’t be stuck with a lemon. You have legal rights to cash, return or buyback.

The law makes Jeep pay legal fees.

We've fixed thousands of lemon problems. Message or call 877-795-3666 today.

NHTSA Complaints for the 2022 Jeep Compass

Complaint CategoryNumber of Complaints
Forward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking
6
Forward Collision Avoidance: Warnings
5
Electrical System
3
Unknown Or Other
3
Engine
2
Service Brakes
2
Power Train
2
Vehicle Speed Control
1
Exterior Lighting
1
Wheels
1

But not all consumers are happy about its performance, and there are already seven complaints on file with the U.S. Department of Transportation’s National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA). There is also a recall on improperly welded head restraints that could increase the risk of injury to occupants if the vehicle crashes.

Most Common Problems with the 2022 Jeep Compass

Issues relating to forward collision avoidance and lane departure top the list of complaints. Other problems concern the SUV’s electrical system and other relatively minor issues.

2022 Jeep Compass Forward Collision Avoidance Problems

There are four forward Collision avoidance complaints on record, two of which are also listed under lane departure. All the complaints state that these problems recur, sometimes happening multiple times.

This complaint states that the problem has recurred multiple times.

“I entered my vehicle and started the engine. I needed to use GPS to reach my destination, so I was sitting in Park while getting everything the address inputted. For no apparent reason, I start getting messages: AEB limited Functionality Service Required, I do not have the active lane management functionality either, service headlights, service automatic window wipers, etc. I eventually can get these settings to go away by manually turning them on but not this time.”

Another complaint says simply: “Shuts off at random and you have to go back into the system setting to turn (it) back on. Has happened twice in the two weeks I have had the vehicle.”

Someone loaning a car from a dealership says that “when we got it pretty much as soon as we were in it and down the road every dashboard warning light popped on and it goes through the process of telling you everything from lane assist to park assist. Nothing works as far as cruise control blind spot warning nothing.”

Having driven the SUV for two weeks, they reported that these issues recur “every single day at least twice a day. Around the same time every day.”

2022 Jeep Compass Electrical Problems

Complaints about electrical system problems are described as safety issues. For example:

“On Feb 8th, 2022 the four-wheel drive quit working giving (a)  message to service 4wd. The front tires turned and the back tires did not turn and the car did not move forward or backward. If this would have happened in an area that was remote and (with) no people around I would have not been able to get help. This is a safety issue as (the) car was inoperable and could have stranded me in a remote location.”

This particular vehicle was leased on December 29, 2021, and the electrical issues started on January 5, 2022. “The screen would not work (and) was unable to control heat, radio, navigation, hands-free, cruise control, etc.”

The lessee was in Tennessee at the time. It was warm and no heat was needed. But heading back to Minnesota, the temperature plummeted. “With no heat in MN at negative 30 degrees, it is unsafe to drive without heat. This is a big safety issue.”

After a week in the service department, it continued to have “daily issues.” After more than another two months in the shop, the lessee was “still having issues”.

2022 Jeep Compass Other Problems

Listed under engine and engine cooling problems, this complaint reports “a continuous audible alert coming from the vehicle” while it is parked. No warning lights illuminate and the owner did not know the result of the dealer’s diagnostic test.

Another complaint states: “Back up camera screen (is) totally black when trying to back up at night.”

What to do if your 2022 Jeep Compass is a lemon? Your Lemon Rights

If you’ve had similar problems or have suffered issues that are completely different, you may believe you have bought a lemon. Lemberg Law can assess your problems and advise whether we can negotiate a settlement on your behalf.

If it’s a lemon law case, it’s not going to cost you anything because the law says Jeep must pay the legal fees. All you need to do is contact our Helpline.

Complaint Data

CategoryElectrical System, Engine, Vehicle Speed Control
DateDec 01, 2022
StateMI
Description
I was on the entrance ramp for the freeway and the gas pedal disengaged. I could not accelerate and my car slowed down. A message on the display said to service electronic throttle. This has happened to me twice. My car is barely six months old. I was going 40 mph at the time. Today, I was getting into my car after picking up lunch and as I sat down, the alarm went off for close to 4 minutes. I unlocked and locked the key fob, I started the car and turned it off, and repeated everything about twenty times. I'm in a very public place sitting inside of a car whose alarm won't shut off... Anyone could've called the police on me. Someone probably did. The alarm is supposed to shut off at 90 seconds, why didn't it? Why have an alarm that won't disengage? When I press the button to disable the auto stop/start, my car will jerk a few times and a message will pop up to service the auto stop/start. This first happened two days after I got the car (less than 100 miles on car) and it's probably happened close to ten times by now. I'm usually going about 30 - 40 mph when this happens.
CategoryEngine, Forward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Service Brakes
DateNov 11, 2022
StateTX
Description
This vehicle has two dangerous issues: 1) it brakes unexpectedly and for no reason during drive. This has happened to me at least 3 times while driving on the freeway without any cars close in front or around me. Bells and whistles just go off all of a sudden and vehicle brakes for no legitimate reason, throwing me forward. 2) this vehicle stalls while driving. This has happened to me 6 times. Engine just falls dead while in drive. I have to put it in park and restart the engine. This could get me killed.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateNov 11, 2022
StateAL
Description
Digital display in the center instrument panel can't be seen in daylight. There was not a ambient light sensor input to control the display backlighting for daylight. This missing sensor causes digital display to default to night. So you are unable to see any warnings, gas, temp, menu, cruise control, etc. This display is also tied to the 7" screen and it causes that screen to not be programmable as well. S2208000157 has no replacement part, no remedy. I am driving a unsafe, defective vehicle that can not be repaired. This is documented in the letter I was given by the service department at jeep in foley al. Jeep service, jeep wave, bbb, lemon law attorneys all say this needs to be resolved by the dealership. They aren't doing anything and consumers need to be aware. I have a video of the screen but it will not upload. Mov
CategoryElectrical System, Exterior Lighting
DateNov 02, 2022
StateKY
Description
Display on dash is stuck in "night mode", during the day I can not see my speedometer nor my gas gauge.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Service Brakes, Wheels
DateSep 27, 2022
StateNC
Description
The contact owns a 2022 jeep compass. The contact stated while driving at various speeds, he heard abnormal grinding sounds coming from the front driver's side wheel area of the vehicle. Additionally, the contact stated that the forward collision avoidance emergency braking system and pedestrian emergency braking system was independently disabled. The message "forward collision and pedestrian brakes turned off" was displayed. The contact stated that the automatic emergency braking system would engage inadvertently while there were no vehicles or objects nearby. The contact stated that the emergency braking system engaged while he was depressing the brake pedal. The vehicle was taken to the dealer on two separate occasions and the dealer informed the contact that they could not duplicate the failure. The contact stated that the failure persisted. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer where it was diagnosed that an unknown software needed to be updated; however, the part was not yet available. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The contact was awaiting a call back from the manufacturer. The failure mileage was approximately 200.
CategoryPower Train, Steering
DateAug 08, 2022
StateFL
Description
The contact owns a 2022 jeep compass. The contact stated while driving 40 mph, the contact felt the steering wheel going to the left. While shifting gear, the vehicle was experiencing hard shifting. The vehicle was taken to the dealer however, the mechanic was unable to determine the cause of the failure. The mechanic performed an alignment on the vehicle however, the failure persisted. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 5,000.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Forward Collision Avoidance: Warnings
DateJul 21, 2022
StatePA
Description
The emergency braking l, collision warning automatically shut off by itself while driving. Occurred 7/12 and 7/20 I have reported this before. Took to the dealer and they could not replicate. This is a huge safety issue! I am taking it to the dealer again on 7/22/2022 at 730 am. Dealer motorworld chrysler dodge jeep ram 150 motorworld dr wilkes-barre, pennsylvania 18702 (570) 301-6107
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Forward Collision Avoidance: Warnings, Lane Departure: Warning
DateJul 06, 2022
StateNC
Description
This is how multiple times this has occurred and the second time I'm reporting this. I entered my vehicle and started the engine. I needed to use gps to reach my destination, so I was sitting in park while getting everything the address inputted. For no apparent reason I start getting messages: aeb limited functionality service required, I do not have the active lane management functionality either, service headlights, service automatic window wipers etc. I eventually can get these settings to go away by manually turning them on but not this time.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Forward Collision Avoidance: Warnings, Lane Departure: Blind Spot Detection
DateJun 22, 2022
StateNC
Description
This is the third time this has happened to me. The second time I took it to the dealership for inspection and was told they could not locate any issues. The first time it happened, I had started my vehicle, and it was running for around 3-4 minutes while I got my child settled in the backseat. By the time I made it back to the drivers seat, I heard noises alerting me to issues. Multiple lights showed up on the dash, and when I went into the menu it would tell me system failure, and service required. Prior to this, there weren't any indicators as to some sort of failure was going to happen. After a few days I was able to manually reset the notifications.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Warnings, Unknown Or Other
DateJun 15, 2022
StatePA
Description
Shuts off at random and you have to go back into the system setting to turn back on. Has happened twice in the two weeks I have had the vehicle.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJun 15, 2022
StatePA
Description
Back up camera screen totally black when trying to back up at night.
CategoryEngine And Engine Cooling:engine:crank/camshaft Position Sensor
DateMay 12, 2022
StateOH
Description
The contact owns a 2022 jeep compass. The contact stated while the vehicle was parked there was a continuous audible alert coming from the vehicle. There were no warning lights illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the local dealer however, the result of the diagnostic test was unknown. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was unknown.
CategoryElectrical System, Power Train
DateApr 14, 2022
StateMN
Description
On feb 8th, 2022 the four wheel drive quit working giving message to service 4wd. The front tires turned and the back tired did not turn and the car did not move forward or backwards. If this would have happened in an area that was remote and no people around I would have not been able to get help. This is a safety issue as car was inoperable and could have stranded me in a remote location. Leased this vehicle on dec 29, 2021 and issues started jan 5th, the screen would not work was unable to control heat, radio, navigation, hands free, cruise control etc. Was in tennessee where it was warm and no heat needed, headed back to mn to negative 30 degrees and no heat, could have froze if car would have stopped. With no heat in mn at negative 30 degrees it is unsafe to drive without heat. This is a big safety issue. Please help it was in service department jan 18 - 24 and continued to have daily issues then in shop feb 8 through april 14th, still having issues after picking it up. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the freedom of information act (foia), 5 u. S. C. 552(b)(6).
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Adaptive Cruise Control, Forward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Forward Collision Avoidance: Warnings
DateApr 05, 2022
StateTX
Description
I am currently in a loaner car from dodge dealership, 2022 jeep compass limited 4x4. When we got it pretty much as soon as we were in it and down the road every dashboard warning light popped on and it goes through the process of telling you everything from lane assist to park assist. Nothing works as far as cruise control blind spot warning nothing I all says needs to he serviced. When this happens if they vehicle is cruise control you lose cruise control until the vehicle decides you can have it back. We've had the loaner for 2 weeks and it happens every single day at least twice a day. Around the same times every day.

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.

Share your story

Does this ring a bell? Have you had a bad experience too? Sound off and share your experience with other visitors in the comment box below.

Brian Jones

About the Author:

Brian Jones spent more than 20 years working as an ASE Certified Master Tech and Parts Specialist at multiple dealerships. Brian has become an authority in the industry, traveling across the country to consult for car dealerships and contributing his expertise as a writer for several major automotive publications. In his spare time, Brian enjoys working on pickup trucks, muscle cars, Jeeps and anything related to motorsports.

See more posts from Brian Jones
BE THE FIRST TO COMMENT

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead you can to our legal team.

Please select your star rating.

Briefly describe your experience Briefly describe your experience

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? Please enter a valid phone number

Want to know if you could sue? Get a free legal evaluation Lemberg Law?

Get Your No-Obligation
Case Evaluation

Send a secure message to our legal team.

What’s your name? What’s your name?
What’s your email address? What’s your email address?
What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?
Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem
Confidentiality Guarantee: We keep your information completely confidential and will not send you spam or sell your information.