2022 Ford Mustang Mach-E Problems and Top Complaints – Is Your Car A Lemon?

Electrical & propulsion system issues are among the top complaints received by the NHTSA from vehicle owners

By Brian Jones | Updated on

By Brian Jones | Updated on

Battery problems? Read our post on the 2021-2022 Ford Mach-E Battery Recall.

Ford jumped into the EV market in 2021 with the Mustang Mach-E. This highly-coveted EV package was meant to excite and thrill the discerning driver. What’s been most unusual with the lineup is why it’s named after the iconic Mustang. It turns out Ford wanted to use the nameplate on the crossover lineup to ensure customers knew what this EV was capable of.

This investment has been good for the automaker. In 2021, Ford sold more than 27,000 Mach-E models in the United States. With this amount of sales, Ford quickly became the second top leader in electric vehicle sales, trailing behind Tesla.

Click on other model year to view more problems: 2021

Don’t be stuck with a lemon. You have legal rights to cash, return or buyback.

The law makes Ford pay legal fees.

We've fixed thousands of lemon problems. Message or call 877-795-3666 today.

NHTSA Complaints for the 2022 Ford Mustang Mach-E

Complaint CategoryNumber of Complaints
Electrical System
10
Unknown Or Other
5
Fuel/propulsion System
4
Vehicle Speed Control
4
Engine
3
Steering
2
Power Train
2
Forward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking
1
Structure:body
1
Forward Collision Avoidance: Adaptive Cruise Control
1

Most Common Problems with the 2022 Ford Mustang Mach-E

Even though the Ford Mustang Mach-E is a top seller, it has come with its share of problems. Despite being an electric car, electronics seem to be the top issue. Aside from that, the system propelling the vehicle forward is also causing issues. Still, it’s impossible to overlook the troubles caused by the vehicle speed control system.

Electrical System Problems

  • Failure of High Voltage Battery Junction Box: The Mach-E has suffered from defects of the main contactors that tend to fail even when used in normal charging conditions. While there is a recall for the system to prevent failure and damage, the software update does nothing to correct issues that have already occurred. In order to prevent the situation, redesigned parts are needed.
  • Trouble changing charge settings: When the charger is plugged in at the charge location, the settings can be adjusted. Customers haven’t been fond of this setup because the car must be plugged in before the charge limit can be set. While this allows for a charging window, it’s possible to do this at any time with a Tesla vehicle.
  • Quirky navigation system: Drivers have found that Ford’s SYNC 3 infotainment system works better than what’s installed in the Mach-E. It can act irrationally and fail to respond. In comparison to Tesla vehicles, it can’t offer a fraction of the functionality.

Propulsion System Problems

  • Loss of power: Because of the failure of the High Voltage Battery Junction Box, the Mach-E can suddenly lose power while traveling at highway speeds. This defect puts occupants at risk of an accident.
  • Loud, clunking noises: The Mustang Mach-E is an electric vehicle, meaning there should be fewer sounds than what is heard with a gas- or diesel-powered car. However, the Mach-E tends to produce sounds that shouldn’t exist. For example, customers have reported clunking noises coming from the drivetrain area at random times. There’s no rhyme or reason to when they occur, leaving customers unsure of what’s going on.

Vehicle Speed Control Problems

  • Unexplained acceleration: In several complaints, drivers struggled to maintain control when the Mach-E accelerated on its own. One complaint discusses an accident that occurred in a parking lot because of this failure, while other customers said accidents were avoided on two occasions why firmly pressing the brake pedal during the acceleration.
  • Lack of control with hands-free driving: It appears that hands-free driving mode can lead to rapid acceleration that drivers aren’t prepared for. One customer needed to swerve and hit the brakes hard to prevent ramming other cars on the road.
  • Issues with Adaptive Cruise Control: The Adaptive Cruise Control activation button is located near the steering wheel. It can accidentally be pushed, activating it at the wrong times. As an example, one driver hit the button while turning into their garage, forcing them to make quick decisions to stop the car. For several reasons, this safety feature shouldn’t have been able to activate, considering how slow the vehicle was traveling and how tight of a turn it was making.

Other 2022 Mach-E Problems

  • Defective seatbelts: Despite the price of a new Mach-E, there seem to be problems with the build of the EV. As an example, seatbelts are meant to hold occupants still during a collision, so they should never rip in the palm of someone’s hand. However, the material appears to be sub-par, allowing them to rip apart with ease.
  • Reduced Range: The Mach-E features a variety of driving ranges depending on what trim and equipment is chosen. Under no circumstances should the Mach-E only offer a 135-mile driving range, but that’s what one customer experiences. No matter which trim was chosen, this is far less than what’s expected.

Ford Mustang Mach-E Recalls

Currently, there are three recalls on the Mach-E models. However, these don’t cover the host of problems that have been experienced. Therefore, there may more recalls should be coming down the pipeline.

  1. Rear Axle Half Shaft May Break Under Load – A broken half shaft can cause a loss of drive power, or a rollaway could occur while parked if the electronic parking brake is not engaged.
  2. High Voltage Battery Contactor May Overheat – An overheated high voltage battery contactor may cause the vehicle to lose drive power, increasing the risk of a crash.
  3. Improperly Attached Rear Seat Belts – Improperly attached seat belts may not adequately restrain an occupant in a crash, increasing the risk of injury.

The potential number of units affected is 1,175, 48,924 and 2,622, respectively.

What to do if your Ford Mustang Mach-E is a lemon? Your Lemon Rights

If you find yourself with a Ford Mustang Mach-E that has a substantial defect that the manufacturer cannot repair, it may be a lemon.

Lemberg Law specializes in Lemon Law and we will evaluate your case. You don’t have to be stuck with a lemon. We can negotiate a settlement that may involve a replacement vehicle, a refund for the purchase price, or a buy-back.

If you’ve bought a lemon, the law ensures that Ford will pay your legal bills.

Complaint Data

CategoryElectrical System, Forward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Steering
DateOct 17, 2022
StateAZ
Description
Power steering went out including 10+ error / fault codes displaying on the dash on the vehicle after planned having vehicle towed but was back to normal after a restart. Exiting the parking lot at a low speed power steering failed again resulting in a low speed crash. After having it towed to dealership they reviewed software on the vehicle seeing vehicle has has fault codes and module errors for 3+ months on their ford telemetries cloud system showing module and system errors every other day. Dealership asked if I ever got notice via vehicle or app about these errors which I never received. Ford legal was notified and said vehicle did have a possible bluecruise recall and nothing wrong with vehicle without having a ford engineer viewing the vehicle. My dealership still said cloud system showed all these errors which didn't seem be an issue to ford. My insurance said they'd make repairs but if my dealership said vehicle isn't safe they recommenced fix what is needed which ford said 0 issues.
CategoryElectrical System, Power Train
DateOct 13, 2022
StateNJ
Description
Faulty high voltage battery junction box nhtsa campaign number: 22v412000
CategoryElectrical System, Engine, Fuel/propulsion System
DateOct 10, 2022
StateCA
Description
The hvbjb subassembly in all ford mach-e vehicles has known defects with 'under-designed' main contactors that are known to fail under normal charging and driving conditions as outlined in current open ford recall notice for my vehicle 22s41. Unfortunately, the internal damage to contactors is not visible externally, and warning notices on display only after damage has occurred, and can result in sudden loss of propulsion power at highway speed, loss of power steering, and power brakes... And failure of other 12v systems due to failure to charge the 12v battery properly after contactors are damaged. Less catastrophic results can include failure to start; which can 'strand' driver's and passengers in remote areas, bad weather conditions, as well as cause loss of use for weeks due to delays in replacement parts and local dealerships needing equipment and training to effect removal/replacement of faulty unit with a new hvbjb having re-designed 'beefier' components.​ ​ my complaint is that ford's recall notice 22s41 is a software-only attempt to prevent future damage, and does not require removal of the part(s) which are known to fail to be replaced with the re-designed components which are available, and have been used to repair failures under warranty. I have no way of inspecting the original equipment to evaluate current condition; and failure can result in sudden and unexpected loss of power, steering, and braking as well as potentially 'stranding me' in unsafe conditions unable to re-start my vehicle.​ ​ I would like to see nhtsa strengthen the ford recall to include both improved software and removal/replacement of the hvbjb sub-assembly with the new 'beefier' parts.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine, Vehicle Speed Control
DateSep 23, 2022
StateCA
Description
The battery energy control module recall software update was completed on my vehicle on september 22nd 2022 at 1203 pm at gosch ford of hemet. Upon leaving around a mile down the road I was driving around a corner. While in this corner multiple things happened at the same exact moment. My traction light momentarily flashed along with a service wrench. Vehicle skid partially off-road into the ditch. I lost control for a breif moment but was able to gain control before crashing. My speed was drastically reduced to about 1/3 of its normal power. The vehicle would still drive just much slower. Upon this happening I immediately took my vehicle back to the dealership. This recall was very vague. When I was at the dealership I initially asked the ford service salesman daniel ventura if this software changed any aspect of my vehicles performance. He then read the recall letter and said if it did it normally would say it either in the recall itself or the letter ford sends you they would normally say it in it. It did not mention that while driving thru a corner if you loose power in the car due to a battery control module failure that you may loose traction and loose control of the car momentarily. This is a very unsafe driving condition. Furthermore when I left the dealership the car drove differently. It seemed like the horse power was about 5-10 hp less then when purchased. It felt a little weird to get used to driving down the road since it had a little bit more push then before. I mention this because I believe that as a consumer I have a right to know the software that is going into my car. If any adverse reaction that may cause me a different driving experience or put my life at risk of crashing should have been included in the safety recall or the letter ford had sent us in the recall. I am a firm believer they do not want to tell us that this vehicle is still not safe to drive as what happened to me having the battery control module failure during cornering.
CategoryStructure:body
DateSep 08, 2022
StateCO
Description
While driving a warning message in red was displayed on the driver display indicating that the frunk(front trunk) hood was open and that the emergency frunk release had been activated. I pulled over and stopped and got out and closed the frunk hood. I continued driving and upon braking, the messages appeared again. This time I opened the hood and discovered that a folded hard-sided bag that was in the frunk had slid up against the emergency release button with enough force to trigger the emergency release.
CategoryElectrical System, Unknown Or Other
DateSep 07, 2022
StateMN
Description
To whom it may concern, today I washed my car for the first time. My brand new mach-e that I purchased 2 weeks ago. While going through the car wash the charging port opened up and got soaked with soap and water. This effects the vehicle charging capability and cause an electric issue to the car.
CategoryPower Train, Vehicle Speed Control
DateSep 01, 2022
StateCA
Description
The contact owns a 2022 ford mustang. The contact stated while pulling into a parking spot at approximately 2 mph and had not yet placed the vehicle in park, the vehicle had an unintended acceleration. The contact stated no warning light was illuminated. The vehicle crashed into a light post, ran over the post, and crashed into a back of a building. The vehicle had damage to the hood, grill and bumper and also to the undercarriage. The contact said he had not suffered any injuries. The police were on the scene and filed a report. The contact had the vehicle towed to a collision repair shop. The vehicle had not been diagnosed by a dealer or independent mechanic. The vehicle had not been repaired. The contact researched online and related the failure to nhtsa campaign number: 22v333000 (vehicle speed control, power train). The manufacturer had been informed of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 7,500.
CategoryElectrical System
DateAug 31, 2022
StateNJ
Description
Brought mach-e into dealership on 8/31 for recall on battery. Recall is corrected via a software update the can had not applied on its own after the last month. Car was serviced in about 2 hours and returned along with paperwork stating the recall was applied. Upon entering the car a new warning light was illuminated showing the software update was not yet complete. I assumed this just needed some more time to finish so the vehicle was driven home. Once home I used the messages on the center display to apply the update now. After about 20 min the first failure indicated the update was not applied because prerequisites were not met. A second attempt to apply the update was made and failed again. The failure clearly states it was not applied and that the update was intended to fix the specified recall. The car was immediately returned to the dealership with the error light still on at which point the service manager starts saying he's sure they applied it but maybe the car didn't take it. After some review the dealership they say they think the error is a conflict between the dealerships update and the over the air update systems but they believe it was actually installed even though the car says it failed. Due to other problems I've had at this dealership and the conflict of information at hand I don't really have any way of knowing if this was properly applied. The dealership has asked to wait and check on it later to see if the errors continue.
CategoryVehicle Speed Control
DateAug 17, 2022
StateCA
Description
Vehicle had an unintended acceleration resulting in crash in a parking lot.
CategoryElectrical System, Unknown Or Other, Vehicle Speed Control
DateAug 06, 2022
StateAZ
Description
Adaptive cruise control fault, pre-commission sensors not working, anti-lock break fault, restraint fault, tire pressure fault, dash turns off while driving which makes unable to see speed driving.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateAug 03, 2022
StateWI
Description
Recall for this mustang mache. Unable to update software. This is a safety item and the intended fix is implemented by the vehicle owner. Took vehicle today to the lake geneva wisconsin ford dealership on 08. 03. 2022. Appointment made in advance. Ford service representative stated that it would take at least a half day. Appears no one has been trained on implementation on corrective actions. Other issue with navigation.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Adaptive Cruise Control
DateAug 02, 2022
StateVA
Description
I was pulling into my garage, steering with my left hand, making a slow, tight left turn from the drive way into the perpendicular garage. As the steering wheel turned, I believe my left palm hit the cruise control button and activated the adaptive cruise control. The vehicle suddenly accelerated toward the house without warning. I slammed on the brakes in response, tossing my wife forward and then back into her seat. When I looked at the dash immediately following the stop, the cruise control image was displayed showing the range keeping bars. There were two conditions present that should have prevented the cruise control from accelerating. First, the tight turn of the wheels to the left should have prevented acceleration and two, the house directly in front of the adaptive sensors should have said "hey! There's a big object right in front of me, we should probably stop, not speed up!" a gif video from my surveillance camera is attached to this report showing the incident.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJul 27, 2022
StateMD
Description
This incident occurred on july 15th 2022. The dealership, koons falls church ford, located in falls church va, sold us a car with an active recall on it. About 3 days after the car leaving the lot, the service department contacted us about a recall notice that needed to be resolve via software update. This issue could lead to the entire car losing power while in motion, recall number 22v412000. This information was not disclosed to us at any time during the sales process, and we did not find out until later that evening when looking for accessories online. Vin: [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the freedom of information act (foia), 5 u. S. C. 552(b)(6).
CategoryElectrical System, Engine, Fuel/propulsion System
DateJul 11, 2022
StateGA
Description
The high voltage battery junction box (hvbjb) in all ford mustang mach-e vehicles has known defects with faulty main contactors that are known to fail under normal charging and driving conditions as outlined in current open ford recall notice for my vehicle 22s41. Unfortunately, the internal damage to contactors is not visible externally, and warning notices on display only after damage has occurred, and can result in sudden loss of propulsion power at highway speed, loss of power steering, and power brakes... And failure of other 12v systems due to failure to charge the 12v battery properly after contactors are damaged. Less catastrophic results can include failure to start; which can strand driver's and passengers in remote areas, bad weather conditions, as well as cause loss of use for weeks due to delays in replacement parts and local dealerships needing equipment and training to effect removal/replacement of faulty high voltage battery junction box (hvbjb) with a new one. ​ my complaint is that ford's recall notice 22s41 is a software-only attempt to prevent future damage, and does not require removal of the part(s) which are known to fail to be replaced with the re-designed components which are available, and have been used to repair failures under warranty. I have no way of inspecting the original equipment to evaluate current condition; and failure can result in sudden and unexpected loss of power, steering, and braking as well as potentially stranding me in unsafe conditions unable to re-start my vehicle.​ ​ I would like to see nhtsa strengthen the ford recall to include both improved software and removal/replacement of the high voltage battery junction box (hvbjb) with a new one.
CategoryElectrical System, Fuel/propulsion System, Steering
DateJul 10, 2022
StateMI
Description
The hvbjb subassembly in all ford mach-e vehicles has known defects with 'under-designed' main contactors that are known to fail under normal charging and driving conditions as outlined in current open ford recall notice for my vehicle 22s41. Unfortunately, the internal damage to contactors is not visible externally, and warning notices on display only after damage has occurred, and can result in sudden loss of propulsion power at highway speed, loss of power steering, and power brakes... And failure of other 12v systems due to failure to charge the 12v battery properly after contactors are damaged. Less catastrophic results can include failure to start; which can 'strand' driver's and passengers in remote areas, bad weather conditions, as well as cause loss of use for weeks due to delays in replacement parts and local dealerships needing equipment and training to effect removal/replacement of faulty unit with a new hvbjb having re-designed 'beefier' components. My complaint is that ford's recall notice 22s41 is a software-only attempt to prevent future damage, and does not require removal of the part(s) which are known to fail to be replaced with the re-designed components which are available, and have been used to repair failures under warranty. I have no way of inspecting the original equipment to evaluate current condition; and failure can result in sudden and unexpected loss of power, steering, and braking as well as potentially 'stranding me' in unsafe conditions unable to re-start my vehicle.​ ​ I would like to see nhtsa strengthen the ford recall to include both improved software and removal/replacement of the hvbjb sub-assembly with the new 'beefier' parts.
CategoryElectrical System, Fuel/propulsion System
DateJul 07, 2022
StateCA
Description
The hvbjb subassembly in all ford mach-e vehicles has known defects with under-designed main contactors that are known to fail under normal charging and driving conditions as outlined in current open ford recall notice for my vehicle 22s41. Unfortunately, the internal damage to contactors is not visible externally, and warning notices on display only after damage has occurred, and can result in sudden loss of propulsion power at highway speed, loss of power steering, power brakes, and failure of other 12v systems due to failure to charge the 12v battery properly after contactors are damaged. Less catastrophic results can include failure to start; which can strand driver's and passengers in remote areas, bad weather conditions, as well as cause loss of use for weeks due to delays in replacement parts and local dealerships needing equipment and training to effect removal/replacement of faulty unit with a new hvbjb having re-designed components capable of meeting safety and normal usage requirements of mach e owners.​ ​ my complaint is that ford's recall notice 22s41 is a software-only attempt to prevent future damage, and does not require removal of the part(s) which are known to fail to be replaced with the re-designed components which are available, and have been used to repair failures under warranty. I have no way of inspecting the original equipment to evaluate current condition; and failure can result in sudden and unexpected loss of power, steering, and braking as well as potentially stranding me in unsafe conditions unable to re-start my vehicle.​ ​ I would like to see nhtsa require that the ford recall include both improved software and removal/replacement of the hvbjb sub-assembly with the new appropriately specified parts.​ failure examples: https://www. Macheforum. Com/site/threads/😭😭😭-post-battery-contactor-recall-first-junction-box-failure-😭😭😭😭. 19209/ and https://www. Macheforum. Com/site/threads/post-recall-software-hvbjb-failure. 19396/
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateMay 20, 2022
StateCO
Description
2 times we have had an incident in which the vehicle at a slow speed when parking or switching between drive gear and reverse gear. The vehicle suddenly accelerates forward and the driver has to engage the brakes manually very firmly to prevent an accident.

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.

Share your story

Does this ring a bell? Have you had a bad experience too? Sound off and share your experience with other visitors in the comment box below.

Brian Jones

About the Author:

Brian Jones spent more than 20 years working as an ASE Certified Master Tech and Parts Specialist at multiple dealerships. Brian has become an authority in the industry, traveling across the country to consult for car dealerships and contributing his expertise as a writer for several major automotive publications. In his spare time, Brian enjoys working on pickup trucks, muscle cars, Jeeps and anything related to motorsports.

See more posts from Brian Jones
BE THE FIRST TO COMMENT

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead you can to our legal team.

Please select your star rating.

Briefly describe your experience Briefly describe your experience

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? Please enter a valid phone number

Want to know if you could sue? Get a free legal evaluation Lemberg Law?

Get Your No-Obligation
Case Evaluation

Send a secure message to our legal team.

What’s your name? What’s your name?
What’s your email address? What’s your email address?
What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?
Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem
Confidentiality Guarantee: We keep your information completely confidential and will not send you spam or sell your information.