2019 Mitsubishi Outlander Problems and Top Complaints – Is Your Car A Lemon?

Seat belts, service brakes, and engine issues among the top complaints received by the NHTSA from vehicle owners

By Brian Jones | Updated on

By Brian Jones | Updated on

The 2019 Mitsubishi Outlander is a three-row crossover that was supposed to be a quality family ride. The automaker claims it is “room for fun and everyone,” but owners are struggling with defective seat belts, malfunctioning service brakes and a faulty engine.

Click on other model year to view more problems: 2018   2020   2022

Don’t be stuck with a lemon. You have legal rights to cash, return or buyback.

The law makes Mitsubishi pay legal fees.

We've fixed thousands of lemon problems. Message or call 877-795-3666 today.

NHTSA Complaints for the 2019 Mitsubishi Outlander

Complaint CategoryNumber of Complaints
Service Brakes
8
Air Bags
4
Unknown Or Other
3
Power Train
2
Vehicle Speed Control
2
Seat Belts
2
Electrical System
2
Steering
2
Engine
2
Structure:body
2

Problems with the Seat Belts

Most people can’t remember a time when cars didn’t have seat belts. This staple of automobiles is just a given, and should work as intended, but they don’t in the Outlander.

One NHTSA complaint states, “On 12/13/2019, my daughter had an accident in 2019 Mitsubishi Outlander. She hit fence post electricity box and 2 signs doing damage all around the vehicle. Her seat belt tore, my nephews seat belt locked up and she hit her head on the steering wheel. The passenger in the vehicle seat belt locked up the back seat belt didn’t lock up.”

One would think that this is just a fluke, but there are two recalls related to the seat belts. NHTSA Campaign Number 20V403000 says that in nearly 200,000 vehicles the second-row center seat belt can interfere with the right-side buckle, causing the cover to come off. When this occurs, the latch becomes inoperable and can no longer restrain occupants. Additionally, NHTSA Campaign Number 20V280000 claims that the right side second-row seat is also not assembled correctly, leading to a further chance that the occupant isn’t restrained. Basically, Mitsubishi is hoping owners of the Mitsubishi Outlander put someone they really dislike in that right second-row seat. Wonder why just that seat had such defects? Maybe it was lunch time when it came to manufacturing that side.

Problems with the Service Brakes

Stopping the vehicle should also be a top concern. That’s why owners rely on properly manufactured brakes, but these aren’t found on the Outlander.

An NHTSA review states, “I purchased this vehicle on November 19th. It had 32 miles when I pulled off the car lot. In January, new brakes had to be put on it due to wear and a loud sound. They were replaced. In February, terrible sound coming from brakes again. Taken to shop, worked on them and advised they just needed to be oiled. Brought back to shop early March, same problem, the whole brake system was replaced. Now here it is March 23rd, and the same thing is starting to happen again, screeching, loud sound coming from brakes.”

Mitsubishi simply couldn’t figure out how to make the braking system in the Mitsubishi Outlander, much like the seat belt fiasco. Service Bulletin #TSB-19-35-002 reveals that the rear brake pad clips might need to be replaced. Vehicles with defective brakes could make a metallic knocking sound while braking at low speeds or driving on an uneven road. The Outlander basically operates like a one-man band coming down the street, announcing itself to everyone that will listen. However, these sounds only serve as a warning not to drive this crossover.

Problems with the Engine

A final look brings us to the engine, which is nothing but a disappointment to most owners.

Read this Edmunds review. “Since we purchased vehicle in the beginning of April 2019 it was about 5 times in the service. The first problem was defected engine control unit that cause the car battery to drain. We could not even open the car. The next issue was leaking sunroof that have been repaired twice. And I’m not sure if it’s final repair. The case manager from the Mitsubishi headquarters seems did not care that we are having such issues with the new car. We completely unsatisfied with the dealership and the service provided. They sold defected car and nobody care, neither the dealership nor the manufacture. I never had such bad experience before. Never Mitsubishi.”

Again, the automaker is happy to announce its shortcomings to anyone that will listen. Service Bulletin #TSB-19-13-003 says that the Check Engine Light can come on when driving in cold weather. It could also stall and fail to restart. To repair the issue, anti-freezing starters, injectors and other parts must be installed. Why are there separate parts for different types of weather? That seems quite odd. 

Your Lemon Law Legal Rights

Think you have a lemon? Sit back and let the experts work out your lemon case at no cost to you. The law makes Mitsubishi pay legal fees. You may be able to get your lemon out of your life. Every year, auto manufacturers buy back, replace or pay cash settlements to thousands of ‘lemon’ owners like you.

Complaint Data

CategoryPower Train
DateOct 03, 2022
StateTX
Description
The contact owns a 2019 mitsubishi outlander sport. The contact stated while driving 20 mph, the vehicle began to stall. The contact stated that the service engine soon and the transmission service warning lights were illuminated. The contact took the vehicle to a local dealer, where it was diagnosed with needing a transmission flush. The vehicle was repaired but continued to experience the failure. The vin was associated with nhtsa campaign number: 22v563000 (power train). The contact took the vehicle back to the local dealer for the fourth time and had the recall repair completed. The contact stated the vehicle continued to experience the failure. The manufacturer had been informed of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 50,000.
CategoryEngine, Power Train:automatic Transmission
DateJul 01, 2022
StateLA
Description
The contact owns a 2019 mitsubishi outlander sport. The contact stated while driving approximately 70 mph with the cruise control activated, the vehicle inadvertently lost motive power momentarily with an unknown message was displayed. The vehicle then regained motive power independently and the rpm was elevated to 7,000. The contact stated that there was a hole in the transmission housing and the lower engine block. The vehicle was towed to the residence. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 111,000.
CategoryEngine, Service Brakes, Vehicle Speed Control
DateApr 15, 2022
StateVA
Description
The car does not accelerate if it goes pastb40 mph the vehicle shakes. Also the battery goes down quickly. Also the oil change does not last as it should. The car has been repaired several times. Also the battery had to within one year. Something drains the battery. I recently had to purchase another battery. Something is draining the battery
CategoryAir Bags
DateJul 26, 2021
StateID
Description
Wife t-boned a old style subaru at 30 mph and the air bags did not deploy at all this was a 2019 mitibishi outlander se
CategorySeat Belts
DateApr 26, 2021
StateTX
Description
I am a rideshare driver. On friday, april 23, 2021 passengers began to complain that the right-side seat belt (on the 2nd row of seats) would not fasten. After arranging for people to move around to the other side (left-hand seat) for a while, I finally quit driving to deal with the issue myself. After numerous attempts to repair the buckle, I gave up and started calling around for the part--but could not find it. Finally I noticed a recall notice online for this exact same issue in 2014-2019 mitsubishi outlanders. On monday (april 26) I called scott elder mitsubishi in cedar park, texas to schedule the recall repair, but was told that my vin number is not covered under the recall. They also did not have the part and could not obtain one for at least a week. I then called the manufacturer directly to learn why my vehicle is not covered for the recall even though it is a 2019 and has the exact same problem as described in the recall notice. They could not give me a satisfactory answer, nor any alternative recourse to resolve my issue. As stated above, I am a rideshare driver. I cannot do my job with an unusable seat belt. Switching passengers to the other seat won't always work because I often pick up 3 or more passengers. Each day I am without the use of the vehicle for work is costing me 0-0 per day (not counting bonuses).
CategoryService Brakes
DateJan 11, 2021
StateFL
Description
When using the brake auto hold I stepped on the gas while scratching my side at the same time to cross the road. I accidentally unbuckled my seat belt which then caused the brake auto hold to disengage and automatically apply the parking brake. This caused my car to stop directly in front of oncoming traffic. I could not disengage the parking brake until I rebuckled my seat belt.
CategoryElectrical System, Forward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Service Brakes
DateDec 30, 2020
StateNY
Description
The epb (emergency parking break) was some how activated, not sure if by accident or wiring issue and now will not disengage. I cannot drive my vehicle and have not been able to get it into the dealer for 3 weeks.
CategorySteering, Suspension
DateDec 29, 2020
StateKY
Description
On december 23, 2020 I was driving aprx 30 mph. I break to go over a train track bringing my speed to roughly 20mph. I heard a noise that sounded like metal but I figured it was from the train tracks. There was a wide bend a few feet up the way. I get my speed to 40mph and start going around the bend. I slow down and try turning to turn the wheel. I could turn the wheel but the car was not moving in the direction I was turning. I press the break but I began to hydroplane causing me and my 3 children to crash into a huge ditch drain. Upon farther inspection the tower identified the cause of the accident was my wheel alignment. My wheels were not pointing the same direction meaning something with the steering broke (possibly the noise I heard.) I have researched since this day and found that other people have had the same issues with their outlanders starting in 2008.
CategorySteering, Wheels
DateOct 07, 2020
StateCA
Description
When driving in the rain the car hydroplaned on me on 5 separate occasions. It happened to me when at a mild turn at free way speeds and sometimes when strong winds hit the vehicle. Loss of tractions is felt and the car wanders into a different lane. Breaking performance was affected as well. The stock tires that came with the car perform poorly in the rain when driving at freeway speeds. Over all the car is great and the tires should be inspected. I learned that I was not the only one who experienced this and decided to contact nhtsa.
CategoryAir Bags
DateSep 15, 2020
StateNC
Description
Was driving down the road 55 mph was the speed limit the ding went off air bag light flashed in red but quickly went off. Didn't have time to read what it said just seen airbag on the dashboard where the speed is big letters.
CategoryTires, Unknown Or Other, Wheels:lugs/nuts/bolts
DateJul 10, 2020
StateTX
Description
My rear passenger tire went flat, while removing the studs , one broke off, this is a new 2019 vehicle, this vehicle it too new to have the stud break off my vehicle was in my driveway
CategoryService Brakes
DateMar 23, 2020
StateNC
Description
I purchased this vehicle on november 19th. It had 32 miles when I pulled off the car lot. In january, new breaks had to be put on it due to wear and loud sound. They were replaced. In february, terrible sound coming from breaks again. Taken to shop, worked on them and advised they just needed to be oiled. Brought back to shop early march, same problem, the whole break system was replaced. Now here is it march 23rd and the same thing is starting to happen again, screetching, loud sound coming from breaks.
CategoryStructure:body, Unknown Or Other
DateMar 07, 2020
StateAZ
Description
I went to turn on my call and my back window on the passenger side shattered. It didn't have physical damage to it and it shatter in and out it was like it wasn't installed correctly or something. It damaged my pain on the door and the inside plastic as well.
CategoryAir Bags
DateJan 26, 2020
StateFL
Description
I was waiting in red light between sunrise blvd and us1 when a vehicle in wrong way crash my vehicle in the front. The wheel air bag deployed wrong. I saw the right part of the air bag flat while the left part was fine. It caused injures in my chin and tongue, 5 ribs, in the right part of my body, broken and sternum broken too. Causing possible cinturilla in my heart and bruises in my lunges.
CategoryService Brakes
DateDec 27, 2019
StateCA
Description
My forward collision mitigation (fcm) system activated while car was in motion on a city street going straight with no hazards or objects obstructing the vehicle. There was a car far ahead of me that had a significant amount of exhaust (water vapor) and is was a very cold morning. This was the only factor that I suspect triggered the braking episode.
CategoryService Brakes
DateDec 24, 2019
StateTX
Description
Brake activated and at a complete stop, then the car started moving from a complete stop while foot is all the way on the brake. Car did not register speed at this time.
CategoryAir Bags, Seat Belts
DateDec 19, 2019
StateVA
Description
On 12/13/2019 my daughter had a accident in 2019 mishibishi outlander she hit fence fence post electricity box and 2 signs doing damage all around the vehicle her seat belt nore my newphews seat belt locked up and she hit her head on the steering wheel the passenger in the vehicles seat beat locked up the back seat belt didnt lock up I have alot of pictures but will only allow me to upload one
CategorySeats
DateDec 05, 2019
StateCA
Description
Front drivers seat is loose. It is rocking from the base. I purchased the car new
CategoryExterior Lighting, Service Brakes, Structure:body
DateDec 02, 2019
StateNY
Description
I purchased my vehicle 11/3/19, traded in my 2016 mitsubishi for 2019 mitsubishi outlander. 3 days later my lights went out and I took the car to victory mitsubishi dealership in the bronx and they said it was a loose fuse. They tighted the fuse and my lights came on. On 11/26/19, I was on the cross bronx high way in traffic and drove but could not stop the car. My brakes failed. I got off the highway and called the police and geico. The police did not come and I had the car towed to juniors automotive center in the bronx. My geico adjuster will inspect the car on 12/4/19. I should not be going through this. I know my car will eventually be repaired but I do not feel safe driving the car.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateNov 10, 2019
StatePA
Description
When turning on there is a knocking sound. Also when driving it slides to right. Without turning. Knocking sound all the time. Braking it slides.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateSep 20, 2019
StateGA
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2019 mitsubishi outlander. While driving approximately 45 mph, a pebble struck the passenger side of the windshield and fractured the entire front windshield. The contact called bill holt mitsubishi (1215 cobb pkwy s, marietta, ga 30060, 404-890-5100) who referred the contact to safelight auto for the repair. The vehicle was repaired. While the vehicle was at a car wash, the sun roof suddenly shattered inwardly with a loud banging noise. The contact sustained injuries to the left forearm and right ear. The passenger sustained injuries to the head and forehead. Medical attention was received. The contact watched the surveillance footage at the car wash and there was no evidence of any impact towards the sun roof from an object. The contact called the same dealer and was referred to sun roof express who then referred them to auto trim plus for the repair. The sun roof was replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failures and opened case number: 1/274220711. The approximate failure mileage was 12,000.
CategoryPower Train, Service Brakes
DateJun 12, 2019
StateWI
Description
Tl* the contact rented a 2019 mitsubishi outlander. While driving approximately 20 mph with the shifter in drive, the vehicle started to go backwards. The contact attempted to brake on a small incline, but the brakes did not work. The vehicle continued to roll backwards towards a truck. When the contact depressed the start button, the vehicle stopped and the brakes engaged. The contact took the vehicle back to enterprise rent-a-car and received another vehicle. The contact did not know if the vehicle was diagnosed or repaired. The dealer and manufacturer were not notified. The approximate failure mileage was 6,500.
CategoryElectrical System, Fuel/propulsion System, Vehicle Speed Control
DateSep 11, 2018
StateFL
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2019 mitsubishi outlander. While driving various high and low speeds, the vehicle stalled without warning. The contact stated that the vehicle decelerated from 30 to 0 mph on three occasions. The contact stated that the electronic range and fuel range electronic detection system (computer system) of the vehicle were probable causes of the continued failure. Furthermore, the contact stated that the fuel mile range was incorrectly reported by the computer system on more than one occasion. South miami mitsubishi (8523 south dixie highway, miami, florida 33143, (877) 718-8890) was made aware of the series of failures and determined that the humidity may have had an effect on the conditions of the failure and the battery power. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failures. The failure mileage was 5,000.

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.


Share your story

Does this ring a bell? Have you had a bad experience too? Sound off and share your experience with other visitors in the comment box below.

Brian Jones

About the Author:

Brian Jones spent more than 20 years working as an ASE Certified Master Tech and Parts Specialist at multiple dealerships. Brian has become an authority in the industry, traveling across the country to consult for car dealerships and contributing his expertise as a writer for several major automotive publications. In his spare time, Brian enjoys working on pickup trucks, muscle cars, Jeeps and anything related to motorsports.

See more posts from Brian Jones
2 COMMENTS
  • Tammy R

    Falter Bridge transmission not a knock knocking off brakes

  • Bernadette M

    looking at the qualifications for your car to be considered a lemon, disqualifies my car, However I still feel like a was sold a lemon because I bought a pre-owned 2019 Mitshubishi Outlander that had 37,000 miles on it from Terry Cullen Chevrolet in Southlake Georgia in January of 2020. December 2021 my car was diagnosed that the transmission was no good at 74,000 miles. I had no other problems with the car, no warning signs until 2 days before I took it to a mechanic. Because I was the second owner of the car my warranty was only good for 60,000 miles. I’ve tried getting the transmission rebuilt only to find out most places will not attempt to rebuild because the parts are hard to find and will not come with a warranty if found. Used transmissions are almost extinct. A rebuilt one will run you at least $3200. A new one cost $6000. I have not been able to drive my car and I have spent a lot of money riding lyfts to get to work because I cannot find a a way to get a rebuilt one and I cant afford brand new one

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead you can to our legal team.

Please select your star rating.

Briefly describe your experience Briefly describe your experience

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? Please enter a valid phone number

Want to know if you could sue? Get a free legal evaluation Lemberg Law?

Get Your No-Obligation
Case Evaluation

Send a secure message to our legal team.

What’s your name? What’s your name?
What’s your email address? What’s your email address?
What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?
Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem
Confidentiality Guarantee: We keep your information completely confidential and will not send you spam or sell your information.