2022 Ford Bronco Problems and Top Complaints – Is Your Car A Lemon?

Suspension & Structural issues are among the top complaints received by the NHTSA from vehicle owners

By Brian Jones | Updated on

By Brian Jones | Updated on

The 2022 Ford Bronco is an SUV that received a lot of praise from enthusiasts when it first arrived. The automaker claims it is a model that “comes out on top.” Yet, after driving the Bronco, customers can’t stop complaining about the defective suspension system and poorly-built structure.

Click on other model year to view more problems: 2021

Don’t be stuck with a lemon. You have legal rights to cash, return or buyback.

The law makes Ford pay legal fees.

We've fixed thousands of lemon problems. Message or call 877-795-3666 today.

NHTSA Complaints for the 2022 Ford Bronco

Complaint CategoryNumber of Complaints
Engine
25
Service Brakes
19
Unknown Or Other
14
Power Train
7
Electrical System
7
Forward Collision Avoidance: Warnings
3
Fuel/propulsion System
3
Seat Belts
2
Air Bags
2
Steering
2

2022 Ford Bronco Suspension Problems

Many people looking to drive the 2022 Bronco are looking to take it off-road, but it should still have a nice ride to it on the pavement. Yet, it seems to be one of the largest complaints from customers.

One Edmunds review says, “Purchase a 2022 Black Diamond Bronco with 23 miles on it. Had the vehicle for 72 hours before it fell apart. Had to return to dealership due to knocking and grinding noise. Vehicle now needs a brand new front axle and transfer case. Dealership wouldn’t let me out of the deal. Finally got a loaner vehicle only to find out they’re making the sales guy pay for my loaner. Oh and it’s no telling when. I will get the vehicle back.”

For now, Ford doesn’t want to discuss any suspension issues. There are no service bulletins and no telling how it should be repaired. However, it does seem interesting that the Bronco is no longer being delivered to dealers for the remainder of the year. Of course, Ford states it is because demand was too high, but it could very well be due to the defects that the company is trying to cover up. It certainly can’t “come out on top” if there aren’t any being sold.

2022 Ford Bronco Structural Problems

While this Ford SUV isn’t considered a luxury vehicle, it should still be built to higher standards, especially since it needs to hold up off-road. Yet, it isn’t.

One Car Indigo review says, “Excessive wind noise. My Ford Bronco lacks comfort. The leather upholstery on offer is not as soft as I expected. There is lots of wind noise above 60 mph.”

Again, the Ford camp is completely quiet about what’s going on. There are no repairs possible and no communications to discuss. All of those customers who waited patiently to get behind the wheel of a Bronco are sure to be disappointed. It might be time to help Chevy get on top instead.

What to do if your 2022 Ford Bronco is a Lemon? Your Lemon Rights

If you believe you’ve bought a lemon, contact Lemberg Law sooner rather than later. You don’t have to mess about with dealers or a manufacturer that doesn’t take your requests for replacement or buy-back seriously. We do that for you, and you won’t have to pay us, the law says that Ford must.

Call our Helpline today and we’ll evaluate your case.

Complaint Data

CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateDec 02, 2022
StateOR
Description
Inside above the rear seats is a metal bar and it's invaded with plastic. At first the plastic where the screw is at cracked all around the bar in 2 places. Now the plastic is completely off of the bar . Ford is saying it's normal wear and tear and it's not…
CategoryService Brakes
DateNov 24, 2022
StateCA
Description
The manual park release cable has a defect to it and needs to be replaced. I the defective part causes there to be a rattle at low speeds. Some 2021 bronco sports had a recall previously issued for this part but 2022s, even though they were built with the same part, have not formally been included in the recall yet.
CategoryService Brakes
DateNov 23, 2022
StateTX
Description
I have taken my 2022 ford bronco sport into 2 different dealers to check the brakes. They make a loud squealing noise when in reverse. They both dealers said it was dirt in the brakes. They said it was normal. It still it makes the noise in reverse.
CategoryEngine
DateNov 22, 2022
StateNV
Description
The contact owns a 2022 ford bronco. The contact stated while starting the vehicle he heard a rattling nosing coming from the vehicle. There was no warning light illuminated. The contact stated that after the vehicle warmed up, the sound went away. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and the mechanic confirmed the abnormal sound coming from the vehicle, but no failure was found. The manufacturer was contacted and advised the contact to reach out to the nhtsa hotline and file a complaint. The failure mileage was 12.
CategorySeat Belts
DateNov 19, 2022
StateMI
Description
Front passenger seatbelt buckle will not engage the latch plate. Vehicle was inspected by dealer after customer complaint. Dealer informed customer that seatbelt buckles were all inspected and working normally. This issue is still occurring on intermittent basis. Was told by dealer that it would not "accept a video showing the problem."
CategoryAir Bags, Seats, Steering
DateNov 18, 2022
StateTX
Description
Passenger knee airbag did not deploy drivers steering column came off at base which is why there was no airbag deployed. Front driver and passenger sun visors came completely off and exposed wires and metal rods.
CategoryEngine, Power Train
DateNov 17, 2022
StateWY
Description
Bronco has less than 43 miles. Took vehicle on highway and went to go pass a semi and the vehicle lost all power. This could of caused a wreck if there was someone behind me trying to pass the semi as well. Took back to the dealership and the turbo failed on my brand new bronco. Please see bronco6g for someone who is logging a list of other members that had similar issues. Https://www. Bronco6g. Com/forum/threads/2-3-2-7-failed-turbo-list-7-counting-slowly-working-on-list. 59162/
CategoryEngine
DateNov 14, 2022
StateCO
Description
Brand new bronco black diamond edition. Driven 1000 miles and now engine will not accelerate. Loud noises coming from engine with multiple warnings from the app: 1) powertrain / 4 wheel drive fault 2) transmission control module / electrical fault with transmission sensor and it's associated wiring 3)power train control module has detected one of the transmission speed sensors readings is operating outside of the expected range for the vehicle
CategoryEngine, Power Train, Vehicle Speed Control
DateNov 05, 2022
StateNY
Description
Powertrain malfunction. Decreased power sent to powertrain. No turbocharge activation. Minimal acceleration, got up to only 45 on highway. Check engine light on, followed by turbocharge wastegate malfunction. 6500 miles, 4 months old. 2. 7l engine. Daily driver awaiting dealer service appointment. Not drivable.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine
DateNov 02, 2022
StateCA
Description
Vehicle with 900 miles on it began smoking and caught fire under the hood for no apparent reason. Vehicle was in new condition. Vehicle likely a total loss (see photos). Driver was lucky to escape
CategoryElectrical System, Forward Collision Avoidance: Warnings, Service Brakes
DateNov 01, 2022
StateNY
Description
Randomly the following takes place while vehicle is in motion at various speeds… hill assist warning followed by (in rapid succession) pre collision assist not available, antilock brake fault then the brakes momentarily give out then come back in non-powered mode which dangerously locks up the wheels when stopping system then resets itself bronco6g forums have reported similar issues
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateOct 31, 2022
StateWA
Description
We received a recall notice letter from our dealer, autonation ford bellevue, with instructions to call their service department. We cross checked our recall status by entering our vehicle's vin on the nhtsa website's recalls page and verified that there is indeed a recall associated with our vehicle. However, when we called the dealer, the dealer claimed that there is no recall for our vehicle in their system and refused to perform repairs. In our second attempt to contact the dealer, the service representative forwarded our information to an advisor, claiming that recalls with this campaign number must be scheduled by an advisor, but the advisor never called us back.
CategoryEngine, Forward Collision Avoidance: Warnings, Service Brakes
DateOct 24, 2022
StateCA
Description
Vehicle reported anti-brake fault. Vehicle reported pre-collision fault. Vehicle reported 4 different hill start assist failures. I noticed the pre-collison feature did not work because the breaks never activated when there was a sudden merge into my lane going 65 miles per hour. The car says that the pre-collision feature is enabled but did not respond to a vehicle that came close to causing a wreck.
CategoryExterior Lighting
DateOct 19, 2022
StateTN
Description
The contact owns a 2022 ford bronco. The contact stated while the vehicle was parked and not driven for more than 30 minutes, the headlights turned on independently. The contact stated that the failure had been intermittent however, the frequency of the failure had increased. The contact stated that the headlights warning light was illuminated. The contact stated that the four-position headlight dial could be rotated beyond the point where the markers on the dial indicated the level of lighting. The contact had not taken the vehicle to a local dealer. The vehicle had not been diagnosed and had not been repaired. The manufacturer had been informed of the failure. The contact researched online and related the failure to nhtsa id number: 10214159 (exterior lighting). The failure mileage was 2,177.
CategoryElectrical System, Service Brakes
DateOct 17, 2022
StateFL
Description
The 2022 bronco is listed as being able to be flat towed behind a motorhome and the software allows it to be put into flat tow mode. 49 states require that flat towed vehicles over a certain weight have supplemental braking. When the supplemental brake system is installed in a bronco with the 2. 7 liter engine it stops working correctly after 45 minutes because the electronic brake booster shuts off. This results in the supplemental braking system not having enough power to activate the brakes and can cause a serious accident because the motorhome cannot stop soon enough. Ford issued tsb 22-2210 to temporarily correct this issue but it simply disables the electronic brake booster (must remove fuses) and again leaves the towed vehicle with insufficient braking. Ford claims they are working a software update due out in september 2022, it is now mid october and no recall has been issued.
CategoryEngine, Power Train
DateOct 17, 2022
StateNJ
Description
The contact owns a 2022 ford bronco. The contact stated that while driving at an undisclosed speed, the vehicle made abnormally loud knocking sounds. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where it was diagnosed with metal shavings in the engine oil and filter. The dealer performed an oil change and informed the contact that the two transmission pumps and the engine needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired and remained at the dealer. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 60.
CategoryEngine
DateOct 17, 2022
StateWA
Description
Conducting the bronco's 1st oil change at 5,003 miles at my home and the oil pan has missing or damaged pins/tabs that guide the oil plug out of and into the oil pan. When I turned the hand plug counter clockwise it did not ride out on the pans internal pins/tabs, it stayed fully seated and rotated fully to the stops. Was able to just just twist the the plug from stop to stop while fully inserted. Pulled the plug straight out and drained the oil. Once oil was drained tried feeling in the drain plug hole for any type of pin/tab that the plug is designed to guide in and out on and felt none. Did not see any damage to the plug.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine
DateSep 19, 2022
StateRI
Description
Engine/battery emitted smoke and sulfur odors. Causing concern of igniting or exploding
CategoryAir Bags
DateSep 12, 2022
StateLA
Description
Upon delivery of my 2022 ford bronco outer banks from the dealer, I noticed the airbag case near roof on front passenger was cut/filed down to get the bolt secured on the end piece. The driver's side is not installed in his manner. Upon questioning the dealership when I picked up my bronco, I was told “you should be happy that you got your order! Don't worry about an imperfection!!!!” I am attaching pictures of the front airbag cases on both sides.
CategoryEngine
DateSep 05, 2022
StateVA
Description
In the last three weeks the check engine light has come on twice and stayed on after I started the vehicle. The first time it came on I had about 7800 miles on the vehicle. I called the dealership to see if I could get a service appointment (of course it was a friday afternoon), the earliest appointment was the next wednesday. I was told as long as the light was not flashing, I could drive the vehicle. I was also told to check the gas cap/door (there is no gas cap!) because there could be an air in the fuel line. As it turned out the light went off the next day. When I took the car in for service, I was told they did the "smoke" test, and everything checked out ok. Three week later the check engine light has come on again. It is a steady light, not flashing, taking it back to the dealership.
CategoryService Brakes
DateSep 05, 2022
StateVA
Description
I have had this vehicle approximately 6 months, in that time I have noticed that not only is there a lot of brake dust and the brakes make a loud noise when reversing. The sound is like metal rubbing together and I have only noticed it when backing up. I've taken it to the dealership twice, both times I was told it's the new braking system ford has and it's "normal".
CategoryEngine, Fuel/propulsion System, Unknown Or Other
DateSep 03, 2022
StateMN
Description
In remote area in a canyon the engine quit suddenly due to fuel starvation caused by faulty fuel pump. The engine quit on the edge of the cliff and would not start again. Check engine light was illuminated. After being towed to the nearest dealership. I was advised that my bronco needs a new fuel pump. Vehicle warnings are as follows: - electrical fault with the fuel pump. - engine fuel control system cannot achieve required fuel pressure to start engine. - engine fuel control sytem is unable to control fuel system pressure.
CategoryEngine
DateAug 24, 2022
StateNV
Description
Driving and engine won't accelerate. Almost like it is just coasting while I was merging on the freeway. It almost caused an accident. It has happened on multiple occasions. Ford service said when it is hot that just happens. It's unsafe. The car has 600miles on it.
CategoryElectrical System
DateAug 23, 2022
StateNY
Description
Bronco base had no option for tow package but for 5 option 66c is a factory install auxiliary switches. Switch 1 is wired to 30 amps or 360 watts @12 v. This option has 2 parts. The second parts are not attached. Ford states the installer is liable, even though the factory supplies low wattage 16amp (1. 5mm2) wires in various parts of the bronco. When fasten to switch one at 360 watts (30 amps) the low wattage 16 agw will heat and can cause a fire in the vehicle. The smell of the low wattage burning can be detected. Ford uses an old accessory wiring harness with a power module to supply wattage to a trailer for lights and braking. It was reported that when the trailer brake control module not installed by factory since option on certain model broncos, the emergency braking module would be activate correctly and the sway controls had to disabled. Issues have been filed with ford, but ford has not responded on bronco base models.
CategoryElectrical System, Forward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Service Brakes
DateAug 18, 2022
StateNY
Description
Bronco my 2022 owners manual pages 288-289 on suv shows how to disengage in features menu the background esc controls for yaw in the trailer sway subsystem of esc. When a dangerious highway sway of a trailer occurs, this subsystem will detect yaw and apply brakes. It is reported on f150 that rear brakes will heat up and may fail. Base bronco, for marketing purposes cannot be factory equipped tow package options, but accessories market tow hitch and electric harness. Big ben and others model may or may not have option. Cas38178902 was open and selling dealer has been advised. If brake start to heat up and seaze pads to rotors the base bronco has no method to disable the trailer sway controls since the map factory was instructed not to enable the trailer tow control. Jackknifing may occur on base bronco with afterfactory tow equipment.
CategoryEngine
DateAug 04, 2022
StateAR
Description
Started my car and started down the driveway and all types of warnings with of about my engine overheating. Checked the antifreeze and there was none. Applied antifreeze and it drained into the engine. I had this vehicle for 2 months and it has been at the dealership since april 28,2022. Was told there was a crack in the engine.
CategoryElectrical System, Service Brakes
DateAug 02, 2022
StateIN
Description
Windows don't drop down when opening the door, and they don't rise when closing the door as they used to do it. Brake light came on and brakes look good no one is taking responsibility.
CategoryEngine
DateAug 01, 2022
StateMA
Description
Brand new vehicle with about 3500 miles on it. Delivered 04/29/2022. On three separate occasions between 07/29/2022 - 07/31/2022, the vehicle started jerking/losing acceleration while driving and the engine began to sputter. Upon slowing down and during idle, the engine would continue sputtering to low rpm and eventually stall. This happened while driving on the road, almost resulting in an accident in a roundabout during one of the instances. The error I received via the ford pass app is: the engine control system is unable to control the fuel system pressure as expected. This is clearly a defective product, and so far ford and ford and ford dealerships have offered me little options for repair often stating that it could be more than a month to fix with no options for a loaner vehicle. This is unacceptable. I have video proof of one of the incidents I am willing to share, but I cannot upload it to this form.
CategorySteering
DateJul 31, 2022
StateMD
Description
There is a repeating clicking noise (click, click, click…) every time I turn the steering wheel. It only occurs when it's above 90 degrees fahrenheit outside. Any problem related to the steering, or turning of the vehicle is a safety concern in my opinion. Ford forces the owner to make a service appointment to get the problem inspected (I could not just drive to a dealership). The earliest I could schedule an appointment at one of the three nearest dealerships to me is a week from the day I'm writing this complaint. So I guess I can either keep driving the vehicle in the unsafe condition, or get a rental on my own dime. There are no warning lights or trouble codes related to the issue, and the vehicle only has 3,500 miles on it. I've owned it for two months 🤦‍♂️.
CategoryEngine, Fuel/propulsion System
DateJul 26, 2022
StateMI
Description
The driver was on m53 near armada around 5pm today, july 25, 2022. The owner was driving down the road another vehicle pulled up next to her and told her the vehicle was on fire. The driver was able to exit the vehicle and took the photo (unable to upload photo). Owner called 911 and fire department was able to extinguish the fire.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJul 26, 2022
StateCA
Description
2 days after purchase while driving the vehicle I recieved a check engine light and a warning that there was a failure of the turbo wastegate. This caused my car to not allow acceleration while driving on the freeway and impeded my ability to manually shift my vehicle into gear. This caused safety issues for myself and others as I was forced to quickly lower my speed on the freeway to avoid causing unrepairable damage to my engine and to be able to shift my vehicle back into gear. My dealer confirmed that the turbo waste gate was faulty and required replacement. I have heard this is a common part failure on this vehicle. Prior to the warning light, my car regularly was difficult to shift and often would not go into gear when shifting. I had to decrease speed often to get my vehicle to shift.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJul 22, 2022
StateFL
Description
The current acceleration pedal on this model is made out of hard plastic. While driving your foot slips off the pedal because there is no rubber on the pedal for a better contact. To counter this slippage you have to move the seat closer to the dash. This then becomes a safety issue because you are now too close to the dash to quickly move your foot to the brake pedal when necessary. There is no after market product offered by ford to correct this matter. This needs to be addressed quickly so ford can correct this. I don't know how this could not be noticed by the design managers and test team at ford.
CategoryFuel/propulsion System, Power Train, Unknown Or Other
DateJul 19, 2022
StateKY
Description
The wrench icon which refers to the powertrain system keeps coming on. I received a message from the ford pass system that there was (fault) in the powertrain system. That power was reduced. Further it said to see a dealer right away. All of the ford dealers in my area are all booked up.
CategorySeat Belts, Unknown Or Other
DateJul 19, 2022
StateNY
Description
On delivery at ramp ford of my my 22 bronco I inspected the accessories bags for roof and door storage" on board" bags and retention safety harness on april 15,2022 at 3:15pm. I found the two targa roof bags (option 9) on board, however no safety retention harness was on board at delivery. Call dealer next day for safety harness and her said "on board door bags" were deleted as a dealer installed option, but nothing about the safety harness at all. Ford had marketing over wranger, in that you could take all four doors off leaving external mirrors on and store then (4 doors/ on 4 dr bronco) and safely drive at highway speeds with the four doors in the cargo area designed to store frameless window doors safely( page 362-4 owners manual) but failed to provide at time of delivery these" seat bekts" for heavy doors "on board"!
CategoryEngine
DateJul 15, 2022
StateOR
Description
This engine has the wrong oil dipstick does does not show he right amount of oil, this could risk engine damage by not installing enough oil at oil change
CategoryEngine, Power Train
DateJul 05, 2022
StateNJ
Description
My vehicle lost power on the gw bridge in nyc. It has less than 1000 miles and the power, driving at 60 mph just died. To add insult to injury ford (24hr roadside assistance told me that there were no tow truck available at this time). When my car was finally towed, vis a vie a 3rd party, to the nearest dealership, I was told that because I didnt buy my car there, there was nothing I could do but wait a "few weeks". Ford 24 hr road side assistance really left me out to dry. I wish and am looking for ways to sue them. Luckily, my responsible dealer at lester glenn ford on rt 35 was able to assist and is making every accommodation to help. Thank goodness for them and their restless souls for helping with this. I literally have less than 1000 miles on the badlands 2. 7 v6, and when this happened, I didnt know what to do. Disappointing. But lester glenn is so far amazing at the response.
CategoryStructure:body, Unknown Or Other
DateJul 01, 2022
StatePA
Description
Passenger and driver windows severely rattle/vibrate/shack when windows are open.
CategoryEngine
DateJun 23, 2022
StatePA
Description
During normal driving conditions, vehicle went into low power mode while on the highway but was able to navigate to side of road and then into parking lot. Numerous vehicle alerts came up on monitor including powertrain malfunction/ reduce power. Dealership mechanic put a camera into engine and can see metal pieces loose in engine cavity. Still waiting for dealership to tear down engine and officially diagnosis issue but it certainly looks similar to other issues now in the news (and on nhtsa website) with this 2. 7l ecoboost engine. Dealership is taking an extraordinarily long time to give me an official answer as to what the metal is from, but the photos I saw look to be similar to the valve pieces (can see threads) others have noted on the 2021 issues.
CategoryPower Train
DateJun 18, 2022
StateCT
Description
Received a powertrain malfunction/reduced power warning at 190 miles. Noticed large oil leak on garage floor which turned out was leaking from tpu due to faulty cap. Car has been at dealer for 8 days to replace fluid and cap and no explanation provided for powertrain warning.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJun 16, 2022
StateMO
Description
The contact owns a 2022 ford bronco sport. The contact stated while the vehicle was parked in a parking space on the park position, the vehicle unintendedly accelerated and reversed, striking her mother on the knee. The contact was able to get in the vehicle and depress the brake pedal. An appointment was scheduled for a diagnostic test. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 5,135.
CategoryEngine, Unknown Or Other
DateJun 15, 2022
StateNV
Description
Car had 3000 miles on it, started rough idling randomly then the check engine light came on and was flashing. Drove straight to the ford dealership in elko, nevada and barely made it the 5 miles as the car wanted to die, had gas pedal all the way to the floor and was barely going 30 mph. Dealer has had vehicle for over a week and said a core and plug and deactivator solenoid had to be replaced.
CategoryEngine
DateJun 06, 2022
StateMI
Description
I was driving my brand new ford 22 bronco south on a busy 4 lane thoroughfare duing morning rush hour and an alert sounded with the autostart sign, instructing me to shift to part and restart my car. I drove until I got to a redlight, while smelling something burning and shifted to park and presssed start/stop button. My car never started again. This is with less than 500 miles. Several near by citizens came to my rescue as I was 3 lanes from the roadside gastation. Cars were whizzing by , honking, yelling. These gentlemen risked there lives, stopping traffic. Put my car in neutral while we all pushed it to a safe location. It was towed to dealership, where they replaced my starter. 2 days later I picked up my bronco and the very next morning, the exact same thing happened on the exam same road on my way to work. Car was towed again and now I've been told there's an indefinite back order on the parts .
CategoryService Brakes
DateMay 20, 2022
StateWI
Description
The contact owns a 2022 ford bronco. The contact stated that the brakes failed intermittently. The contact stated that the brake power booster failed to operate as needed. The brake pedal required an excessive amount of pressure to stop the vehicle. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer who stated that the brake vacuum hose assembly needed to be replaced. The contact stated that the failure was related to tsb 50472. The vehicle had not been repaired due to the part being on backorder. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 129.
CategoryService Brakes
DateMay 09, 2022
StateNV
Description
When set in flat towing mode the bronco's electronic brake boost (ebb) shuts off after 45 minutes or less. Once the ebb shuts off the bronco's brakes, which are connected to the motorhome's brakes via an auxiliary brake system, no longer work properly and will not slow the bronco. This failure then requires the motorhome's brakes to stop both the bronco and the motorhome and creates a serious safety issue because: 1) stopping distance increases dramatically. 2) the motorhome's brakes could fade, while descending grades, leading to total braking failure. Nearly all states require towed units in excess of 3,000# to have brakes but once the ebb shuts off the bronco is in violation of these laws.
CategoryService Brakes
DateMay 08, 2022
StateCA
Description
The manual park release cable is defective and was a recalled issue on the 2021s (ssm 50274). I am experiencing the same rattle noise on my 2022 and have contacted ford multiple times about the issue and the most they are willing to help with at this point is cover 50% of the costs of fixing it. They state that there is no recall on 2022s and only on 2021s. This is a safety issue on a car with less than 1500 miles and has had this issue since around the 400 mile mark. I used a bronco sport forum to find a contact from someone within ford who looked up my vin and told me my bronco sport has the same part that has been found to be defective on 2021s — my car was built in november 2021 and soon after ford changed the part number that they are putting in the car so that they aren't using a defective part. I have also found on forums that there are many people experiencing this issue and are similarly being told that there is no recall on 2022s so we are basically out of luck.
CategoryEngine, Unknown Or Other
DateMay 07, 2022
StateNH
Description
I purchased this vehicle from portsmouth ford in portsmouth nh on january 27, 2022. I brought the vehicle into autofair ford (manchester, nh) on march 16, 2022 as there was a rattling in the engine (at approximately 1519 miles). I have not seen the vehicle since. The vehicle has been inspected by the mechanics at autofair ford. They attempted a repair job but the sound was still present. Apparently the engine needs to be either redone or redesigned and ford is not really giving any good answers as to even when this may be completed. The vehicle has been sitting in the dealer lot now for 50 days and counting. I might get it back but very concerned as to what else could be wrong with this car as it has been sitting there for so long and could easily be another 5-6 weeks before this might get repaired. Very concerned for what could go wrong during this incident.
CategoryService Brakes
DateMay 07, 2022
StateMI
Description
Brakes make a grinding sound at low speed. When in reverse, brakes make a humming sound. This was the same issue that caused a recall of previous models, however my vehicle is not covered by the recall. Took the vehicle to the dealer and they said “we know there is a noise but the brakes are working properly.” the noise is not normal.
CategoryService Brakes
DateMay 06, 2022
StateVA
Description
This vehicle is advertised as flat tow capable the 2. 7 is equipped with electronic brake booster and when hooked up to rv that has a charge line that feeds the bronco with 13. 5 volts continuously (as needed) the battery management system shuts off the electronic brake booster rendering the secondary brake system inoperable after 15 minutes in tow mode so the vehicle is set up with power assist brakes for the first 15 minutes then shuts down no matter what power supply is given creating the rv to do all the braking with no assist all while in tow mode
CategoryEngine, Power Train
DateMay 05, 2022
StateNY
Description
Engine comes and goes, wastegate gets stuck
CategoryEngine
DateMay 04, 2022
StateNE
Description
Engine failure with 25 miles on the odometer. The dealer inspected it and reported that a piston broke and it needs a new engine. A low engine oil pressure warning came on and the check engine light.
CategoryService Brakes
DateMay 03, 2022
StateMI
Description
I purchased this vehicle to flat tow behind my motorhome. Ford states that the full size broncos are flat tow capable, but unfortunately the braking system times out due to the electronic brake boost being on a timer. I have installed a supplemental braking unit to activate the brakes on the bronco when being towed behind my motorhome. The braking system inoperative after the 45 minutes that the electronic brake booster times out. This is a huge safety concern due to the weight of the bronco not slowing down as intended while being flat towed. This needs to be addressed with ford motor company. I do know that I am not the only person who has experienced this issue and more people will continue to have this issue until a fix is implemented.
CategoryEngine, Service Brakes, Unknown Or Other
DateApr 30, 2022
StateFL
Description
Engine makes intermittent metal crunching and scraping sounds at low speeds and when braking in stop an go traffic. And sometimes the sound would be heard the all the time when keeping the car between 25 to 30 mph.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Warnings
DateApr 29, 2022
StateVA
Description
Vehicle's pre-collision assist wasn't working. After taking it to the dealer for repair they stated "vehicle able to detect larger vehicles but not cars. Drove similar equipped vehicles, with the same results. No problem found at this time." ford describes the pre-collision assist as "this feature scans the road ahead and can alert you to potential collisions with vehicles or pedestrians detected in your path." this safety feature is supposed to work with pedestrians and vehicles, not "larger vehicles but not cars" "
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateApr 11, 2022
StateNV
Description
Car failed to go into drive several times while in traffic. Was bought with zero miles and started making strange grinding and knocking noises immediately. When I reported it I was told I couldn't get it checked for a month and that it was safe to drive until appointment. I was soon stuck in the middle of busy intersections because car would not drive after I give it gas and it acted like it was in neutral. This happened every time I stopped until I made it safely home it was very scary because I could have caused an accident not being able to go when needed and was almost stranded in traffic. There were never any warning lights. After having it towed to the dealership I am now being told it could be transmission problems, but it doesn't seem there is much knowledge on this particular vehicles mechanics or electrical system. Ford has not been honest or in contact with me about situation. Should not be happening at under 1000 miles and after more research seems is a common issue they knew about that they did not fix before selling to me. It has been at the dealership for 3 weeks with little communication or explanation.
CategoryService Brakes
DateApr 04, 2022
StateTX
Description
Recreational flat towing 2022 ford bronco with 2. 7l v6 engine. After connecting my bronco to the motorhome and using ford instructions for putting it in the tow mode the following will occur: about 45 mins after turning the ignition off and closing the doors the ebb (electronic brake boost) in the bronco shuts down leaving the bronco without any brake boost. This will leave the supplemental brake system ineffective. When first connecting the bronco to the motorhome the brake boost is active and the supplemental brake system is functioning properly. After the boost shuts down the supplemental brake system may not apply enough force to the bronco brakes to assist in stopping and the distance required to stop the motorhome and connected bronco is increased. Should an incident occur that causes the brono to become disconnected from the motorhome while under tow the automatic braking function of the supplemental braking system may experience the same issue and fail to safely stop the bronco.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateMar 30, 2022
StateMN
Description
Wipers would not stay working as they should on any setting during heavy snow, sleet, and rain. Vehicle has several intermittent settings, as well as (2) continuous wiping settings. The all settings would work as they should for around 60 seconds, then slow down to a very slow intermittent wipe. Each time a setting was changed it would work as it should for 60 seconds before slowing to a very slow intermittent wipe. This was all happening while moving, with heavy precipitation (rain/sleet/snow mix). The safety issue was having to mess with wiper settings to keep them functional, and lack of visibility when the wipers would slow down from where they were set to. No warning lamps of any sort came on.
CategoryService Brakes
DateMar 27, 2022
StateNV
Description
Flat towing 2021 ford bronco with 2. 7 v6 engine. After connecting my bronco to the motorhome and putting it in the tow mode the following will occur. About 45 mins after turning the ignition off and closing the doors the ebb (electronic brake boost) in the bronco shuts down leaving the bronco without any brake boost and leaves the supplemental brake system ineffective. When first connecting the bronco to the motorhome the brake boost is active and the supplemental brake system must be set to match, or it will lock up the brakes on the bronco when you stop. After the boost shuts down the supplemental brake system cannot apply enough force to the bronco brakes to assist in stopping and all at once it takes a much greater distance to stop the motorhome than it did when the boost was working. This is my second complaint with no reply
CategoryService Brakes
DateMar 23, 2022
StateVA
Description
Flat towing 2022 ford bronco with 2. 7 v6 engine. After connecting my bronco to the motorhome and putting it in the tow mode the following will occur. About 45 mins after turning the ignition off and closing the doors the ebb (electronic brake boost) in the bronco shuts down leaving the bronco without any brake boost and leave the supplemental brake system ineffective. When first connecting the bronco to the motorhome the brake boost is active and the supplemental brake system must be set to match, or it will lock up the brakes on the bronco when you stop. After the boost shuts down the supplemental brake system cannot apply enough force to the bronco brakes to assist in stopping and all at once it takes a much greater distance to stop the motorhome than it did when the boost was working.
CategoryService Brakes
DateMar 03, 2022
StateNV
Description
Flat towing 2021 ford bronco with 2. 7 v6 engine. After connecting my bronco to the motorhome and putting it in the tow mode the following will occur. About 45 mins after turning the ignition off and closing the doors the ebb (electronic brake boost) in the bronco shuts down leaving the bronco without any brake boost and leaves the supplemental brake system ineffective. When first connecting the bronco to the motorhome the brake boost is active and the supplemental bakes system must be set to match, or it will lock up the brakes on the bronco when you stop. After the boost shuts down the supplemental brake system cannot apply enough force to the bronco brakes to assist in stopping and all at once it takes a much greater distance to stop the motorhome than it did when the boost was working. Ford appears to not acknowledge the issue and have had no support from the dealer or service department
CategoryEngine, Unknown Or Other
DateFeb 17, 2022
StateAK
Description
Engine makes intermittent metal crunching and scraping sounds at low speeds.

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.

Share your story

Does this ring a bell? Have you had a bad experience too? Sound off and share your experience with other visitors in the comment box below.

Brian Jones

About the Author:

Brian Jones spent more than 20 years working as an ASE Certified Master Tech and Parts Specialist at multiple dealerships. Brian has become an authority in the industry, traveling across the country to consult for car dealerships and contributing his expertise as a writer for several major automotive publications. In his spare time, Brian enjoys working on pickup trucks, muscle cars, Jeeps and anything related to motorsports.

See more posts from Brian Jones
2 COMMENTS
  • Angela H

    I bought my first bronco sport in April 2022 and have had nothing but problems with it. I had to bring in to dealership as there was squeaking co I g from brakes and ample amounts of brake dust on my tires. Dealership said ‘i need parts for my brakes’ the bronco is less than 6 months old and I bought brand new. How does this happen?

  • Francis G

    I have 16 open cases on my 2022 Bronco last 8# NLA87713 .MOST COMPLAINS are on the rusted exterior grap rail ( tie down) left side. The storage in Port of Newark did not help the defective part. Other issue Ford deleted the retention harness from parts and dealer installed accessory. They advertised that Bronco over the Wrangler could store offroad removable doors , then deleted the ON BOARD harness parts.The product liability Ms. Clark , General Counsel did not approve due to a door falling off on road and hitting a following vehicle. Dealers now only sell GARAGE DOOR BAGS. So we have to leave the removable doors in GARAGES and break the law buy driving on road, say to beaches with the removabke doors in the GARAGE.

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead you can to our legal team.

Please select your star rating.

Briefly describe your experience Briefly describe your experience

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? Please enter a valid phone number

Want to know if you could sue? Get a free legal evaluation Lemberg Law?

Get Your No-Obligation
Case Evaluation

Send a secure message to our legal team.

What’s your name? What’s your name?
What’s your email address? What’s your email address?
What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?
Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem
Confidentiality Guarantee: We keep your information completely confidential and will not send you spam or sell your information.