2021 Hyundai Palisade Problems and Top Complaints – Is Your Car A Lemon?

Electrical system, structure, and visibility/wiper issues among the top complaints received by the NHTSA from vehicle owners

By Brian Jones | Updated on

By Brian Jones | Updated on

Did your sunroof shatter unexpectedly? Find out if you are eligible to join our Palisade Shattering Sunroof class action investigation.

The 2021 Hyundai Palisade is a three-row SUV that’s supposed to offer premium style at an affordable price. The company claims that every seat provides “all first class,” but many customers can’t wait to get out of it instead. The defective electrical system, combined with the poorly built structure and malfunctioning wiper are causing quite the stir.

Click on other model year to view more problems: 2020   2022   2023

Don’t be stuck with a lemon. You have legal rights to cash, return or buyback.

The law makes Hyundai pay legal fees.

We've fixed thousands of lemon problems. Message or call 877-795-3666 today.

NHTSA Complaints for the 2021 Hyundai Palisade

Complaint CategoryNumber of Complaints
Visibility/wiper
37
Unknown Or Other
30
Seat Belts
10
Electrical System
9
Structure:body
5
Lane Departure: Assist
5
Lane Departure: Warning
4
Power Train
4
Seats
3
Visibility:windshield
3

Problems with the Electrical System

In a modern car, the electrical system is a big deal and much more complicated than in years gone by. Yet, the Hyundai Palisade just can’t seem to keep up with the times.

One Cars.com review states, “The biggest issue, and it’s a big one is the awful usability and lack of flexibility with the entertainment system. Yes, you can plug in your iPhone and use CarPlay, but if you want to use Hyundai’s native system, you are going to hate it. It is so very limiting, with so much wasted real estate in the large display. For example, one cannot control the placements of radio/satellite preset stations. Although this ability has been in place since cars had 8-track players, it’s not the case here. The presets are ordered by frequency of station or channel number. So if my 4 favorite XM stations are, in this order, 88,9,33,and 1, The preset order would be 1,9,33,88. These would also fall behind whatever FM stations I may want as a preset, as FM stations come first. So if I had 4 FM stations I somewhat like, but XM ones I like more, I would be forced to have my most favorite station as #5 in presets. Additionally, one cannot view the song or radio station on the main dashboard. You are stuck viewing the worded description of the weather, so it will read “partly cloudy” for an entire car ride instead of showing me the radio or song playing in the large dash.”

Hyundai isn’t hiding electrical system concerns either. Service Bulletin #21-BE-002H talks about how the radio can disconnect on its own, requiring an update from the dealership. Come to think of it, “disconnect” would be the appropriate term to use when defining this Hyundai SUV. It seems there has been a disconnect between what the user wants and what the automaker provides.

Problems with the Structure

The structure itself hasn’t even been made as a normal vehicle should be, as seen by numerous complaints.

Here is one left on the NHTSA website. “The design of the shifting mechanism is backwards so that drivers meaning to put the vehicle into Drive (and go forward) will easily confuse the buttons and put the vehicle into Reverse (sending the vehicle backwards). Thinking about a shift knob on a standard vehicle, one thinks of the knob in ‘reverse’ as being back toward the rear windshield. Same with a motorized wheelchair: to go forward, you select the position in the front, and to go back, you select the position in the back. The confusion happened to me often enough that I always look at the buttons carefully before going forward to make sure ‘D’ has lit up. My husband, who usually drives another car, drove this vehicle and pressed ‘R’ by accident twice and the car obviously went backwards when he meant to go forwards. Everyone I ask has agreed with us that the natural (and therefore most safe) orientation would be to have the most forward button be Drive and the bottom towards the back be Reverse. Although we avoided crashes, I think this design creates the real possibility of many accidents.”

What a confusing situation Hyundai has created for drivers. However, this is only the start of what is happening with the SUV that people are relying on. Service Bulletin #21-BD-002H also discusses how some seat headrests have a putrid odor emitting from them. Maybe it’s to serve as a reminder that this SUV literally stinks.

Problems with the Visibility/Wiper

Seeing out of the SUV is essential, especially when traveling with a car-load of kids. Yet, the visibility seems to be the top complaint with the Palisade.

One NHTSA user stated, “Twice this has happened. My windshield wipers lock up and will not clear the window. It seems like there may be snow or ice below them where they tuck in when this happens, which is hard to clear out anyway. While I am driving, if any snow or ice comes down from the roof, they will lock up as well, and this has left me absolutely not able to see the road. It is a major hazard. Luckily, I have been able to pull off the road both times to clear the window manually.”

Beyond this, there are other concerns with the auto glass. Service Bulletin #21-01-001H states that the side view mirror requires a special foam pad to alleviate wind and whistling noises while driving. It seems that the Palisade is a true gift to the senses. The nose enjoys the foul odors, the ears get to hear road noise galore and touch is felt through an accident when this defective SUV isn’t in the right gear. What a way to take riders on a “first class” journey.

Your Lemon Law Legal Rights

Think you have a lemon? Sit back and let the experts work out your lemon case at no cost to you. The law makes Hyundai pay legal fees. You may be able to get your lemon out of your life. Every year, auto manufacturers buy back, replace or pay cash settlements to thousands of ‘lemon’ owners like you.

Complaint Data

CategoryTrailer Hitches
DateNov 29, 2022
StateFL
Description
The contact owns a 2021 hyundai palisade. The contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 22v633000 (trailer hitches) however, the part to do the recall repair was not yet available. The local dealer was contacted. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.
CategoryElectrical System, Visibility/wiper
DateNov 24, 2022
StateMD
Description
The is no incident yet I am writing to file a complaint as to the extend time that we owners of said vehicle got recall notices and follow up notices, but yet no fix appears to be had in the immediate future. So I have to remove and replace a trailer harness fuse everytime I need to use my hitch to avoid a fire and potentially losing my house since my garage is attached. When paying k on a car you should not have to part outside away from you house for this long extended period because the manufacturer can't figure out what the fix is. Also the wiper motor recall-would think this would be an easier fix-yet nothing resolved on that either after several months of notices and waiting. Someone needs to press hyundai to get on it!!!!!
CategorySeat Belts
DateNov 17, 2022
StateCO
Description
When locking in the seat belt it will click and lock and a few seconds later will unlock. 4 of the seats are doing this, including the front seats and once the seatbelt pops out, unlocking we are usually driving down the road and its dangerous to try and pull over and get it locked in place again just for it to unlock a few minutes later. . The seat belt appears to be weak and will not stay locked in and will certainly not stay locked in under pressure. Then when it unlocks the bells start going off and it's complete chaos and dangerous when driving to try and deal with that stress, also knowing we are no longer buckled.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateNov 01, 2022
StateTX
Description
Driving down the highway at 70 mph, no other vehicles around, we heard exploding glass shatter above us. The sunroof cover was closed, so no glass in the cabin. There was nothing around us nor anything flying in the air that could have hit the sunroof. We stopped as soon as we could safely to look at it and the sunroof glass was shattered in the middle. I had to use gorilla tape to cover the glass so we could drive the last 2 hours home. My wife had to hold the cover closed for fear it would open and glass fly in to the cabin. Our safety was at risk as the glass could have fallen in. And cut us or flown in our eyes as we were traveling at highway speed. We have an insurance claim, we have contacted hyundai with photos, and no response from hyundai at this time. No warning lights or messages were on in the vehicle. We have a repair estimate including glass clean up and new glass installation. We researched and appears that sunroof explosions have happened on hyundai models, I guess we weren't the exception.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Warnings
DateSep 28, 2022
StateCA
Description
hyundai claims that this is a "start-up" safety feature (meaning that it is designed to re-activate itself every time you start the car, even if you had deactivated the feature), and that there is nothing that they can do about overriding this since it is a manufacturing issue. While I appreciate the notion of hyundai trying to promote safety, I continue to be very upset by this because the system is way too sensitive and has already on 2 separate occasions, caused the brakes to virtually lock-up involuntarily at freeway speeds on the freeways, even though I was otherwise completely in control of the vehicle and certainly not on the brink of any type of accident prior. I continue to contend that this feature is dangerous and that it certainly could cause an accident. Hyundai should not force their customers to use this dangerous feature in the interest of promoting safety, when it reality, it actually does just the opposite.
CategoryTrailer Hitches
DateSep 21, 2022
StateWI
Description
The contact owns a 2021 hyundai palisade. The contact stated that while having a routine oil change and service, the local dealer informed her husband about nhtsa campaign number: 22v633000 (trailer hitches) and that the remedy was not yet available however, her husband was informed that he could remove the fuse to prevent the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the issue but provided no additional assistance. Parts distribution disconnect.
CategoryElectrical System, Unknown Or Other
DateSep 19, 2022
StateLA
Description
I started my car using my key fob so the car wouldn't be as hot when my baby and I got in. I walked to the back passenger side, unlocked the car and put my baby into the car. I then walked around to the driver's side door and somehow the car was locked even though I had just unlocked it. I had my keys in my hand so I pressed the unlock button. My car would not unlock. I tried all of the doors and tried to lock and unlock my vehicle multiple times. I was about to break a window since my 7 month old was locked inside when I realized maybe the trunk would open. It did and I had to climb through my trunk to get into my vehicle to unlock it. This is exceptionally dangerous as I live in a very hot climate and a child can die in a hot car in minutes. Even though the car was running if you do not get into your car in 10 minutes the car automatically turns off. If someone does not remain calm in that situation they may not think to try the trunk. I have not yet notified the dealer or had the vehicle inspected. I was able to recreate the incident without my child inside. If anyone would like to inspect my vehicle that is fine. This is a deadly accident waiting to happen.
CategorySuspension, Unknown Or Other
DateSep 16, 2022
StateCA
Description
Constant rattle and vibration coming from passengaer seat belt connector, sunroof and hud module on dash
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateAug 31, 2022
StateME
Description
While driving on I-95 near bangor maine there was a loud noise. The sun roof glass exploded and glass fell inside on the driver and passenger. Glass also flew into the air on the vehicles traveling behind. There where no vehicles traveling in front of it during the glass explosion.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateAug 28, 2022
StateFL
Description
The car randomly stopped in the middle of not where, like a stop sign, high way, and anywhere while driving it. Very unsafe… the car ask you to put the car on neutral or parking then the car does not want to start. After 15 min you can start the car with neutral button. Not solution has been make by hyundai. They have a lot of the same issue, and hyundai does not know what to do next
CategoryVisibility:sun/moon Roof Assembly
DateAug 28, 2022
StateAR
Description
The sunroof wind guard arms broke and are preventing sunroof from shutting allowing elements from the exterior such as rain to get into the cabin. The dealer is aware of the issue, and has taped the sunroof as a remedy until parts come in as they are on backorder. The car alerts every time the ignition is turned off and beeps a couple times.
CategoryTrailer Hitches
DateAug 25, 2022
StatePA
Description
The contact owns a 2021 hyundai palisade. The contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 22v633000 (trailer hitches) and the vehicle was taken to the dealer; however, the dealer declined to inspect the vehicle for the interim repair. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the interim recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue and informed the contact that the dealer was not required to do so. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateAug 10, 2022
StateNY
Description
While driving my car the sunroof randomly shattered. It sounded like it had exploded. The shade was closed so I was protected from the glass. There were no other cars around or hazards overhead. It was 100f outside and the ac was running in the car. Other owners of this model are seeing similar issues. Https://www. Palisadeforum. Com/threads/sunroof-shattered. 900/
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateAug 06, 2022
StateTX
Description
Cracked windshiled, unknown
CategoryExterior Lighting
DateAug 02, 2022
StateID
Description
-head lights -when driving in mountains (curves and going up and down hills) at night the head lights produced a shadow effect, which gave the impression it was on the windshield sight line. This shadow effect varied from 1/3 to 2/3 of the windshield which caused a distorted view of the road ahead. There were 4 adults in the car and all agreed that it was making the road dangerous to drive on. We had to slow down well below the actual speed limit which would cause cars coming around a curve behind us to quickly slow down or run into us. - took car to bronco motors in boise id and explained the headlight issue they told us that one other person had come in complaining about this same issue. Their mechanic told us that there is no way to adjust the headlights. -no warnings
CategoryElectrical System, Engine, Fuel/propulsion System
DateJul 06, 2022
StateFL
Description
I was driving on a highway going approximately 80 mph when the car stopped accelerating. It was as if someone switched the car to neutral. The engine completely shut off and I had to scramble to safely pull over to the side of the highway. I had to turn the car off, wait, and turn it back on. I got back onto the highway and rushed towards a dealership. The engine shut down two more times. Each time requiring me to pull over to the side of an incredibly dangerous highway to restart the car. The dealership stated it was an issue with the fuel injector.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateJun 15, 2022
StateTX
Description
On june 13 I was driving on the interstate when a pebble was kicked up and hit my windshield. I exited as soon as I was able to and checked for any damage on my windshield. At that time I did not see any chips or damage. On june 14, I was in the process of cleaning out my car when I looked up at my windshield and saw about a 24 inch crack going across my windshield from the top corner all the way down to the middle. This is the second chip that I have had to have repaired or replaced and I've never had this much issues with a windshield. Safelite said that it is unrepairable and in order to get it replaced will cost around 00. I am a teacher and a single mother and an m able to replace it at this time. I noticed that when I did my research that many others have complained about the same windshield issues. There is a class action lawsuit has also been filed by several plaintiffs who have experienced the same windshield issues as me. I have driven the interstate for the last 14 years every day and this is the first time I've ever had this big of a crack in my windshield I didn't even have time to call and have it repaired. Out of curiosity how many complaints do you need to collect about this issue in order for hyundai to be held responsible and correct this windshield issue?
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking
DateJun 07, 2022
StateTX
Description
Environment: passing a single car on a two lane deserted highway. Daytime, sunny, no rain. Issue: the vehicle's emergency braking system activated (brakes were automatically activated along with the emergency braking cue in the instrument cluster) when the vehicle was returning into the right lane, almost causing a collision between the two vehicles at 85 mph. This occurred a second time 15 minutes later under the same conditions. The car was taken to the dealership for inspection and repair. The dealership test drove the vehicle and could not replicate the issue. Hyundai engineering noted that since they were not able to replicate the issue and there were no active codes there is nothing wrong with the vehicle. If the radar is functioning properly, there must be an issue with the software of the vehicle.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateMay 23, 2022
StatePA
Description
Windshield has cracked twice in less than one month. Second time the car was not moving ( in parking lot) it appears there are many reports of this happening needs to be a recall. Imagine how easily it would shatter in an accident.
CategoryVisibility:sun/moon Roof Assembly
DateApr 28, 2022
StateFL
Description
The sunroof (front unit of panoramic sunroofs) exploded into pieces.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateApr 24, 2022
StateMO
Description
Windshield cracks easily it's a problem with this vehicle
CategoryService Brakes
DateMar 31, 2022
StatePA
Description
On my way to work on the interstate with the cruise control set at 80mph a few weeks ago, the cruise control turned off automatically and all the warning lights came on within the dash. I pulled over, but the car seemed to be running fine otherwise. For the next few days the lights would be on or off and sometimes cruise control work and sometimes it didn't. I also noticed the parking break would engage automatically almost with every time I stop, which was also rare. I took the vehicle in for service and they were perplexed by the situation and had me leave my car for a few days. They thought they had it all fixed, but when I picked it up, within 24 hours, the lights came on again. I had noticed some break pressure issues when starting car up with this issue, but never a huge concern, until I backed out of my girlfriends driveway down a hill within 30 seconds of starting the car. With my foot on the pedal, the break disengaged for 2-3 seconds as I drifted down towards the street in reverse, and the abs starting pumping until I was able to depress the brake and get the car to stop (probably drifted 10-15 feet). Thank goodness no one behind me. I drove the vehicle in for service immediately as they suggested if lights remained on, so they could run diagnostics. They ordered a wheel sensor, which took a few weeks to get in while I still drove the vehicle with the abs causing me some concern over those 2-3 weeks. Just yesterday before my service to get wheel sensor changed today, I was out picking up food and driving through a flat parking lot within 30 seconds of starting the vehicle. The same issue with abs happened that I had before and I started going through a stop sign and pedestrian walkway. Luckily no one coming and brakes kicked in again after 5 feet of having no brake control at low speed. Wheel sensor replaced today and lights off. Everything seems to be working. I'm extremely concerned about this safety issue and potential accidents, injuries, deaths!
CategorySeat Belts
DateMar 29, 2022
StateSD
Description
In the middle row captain's chairs, the seat belts constantly come unbuckled even while moving... I've had 11 adults and nine children sitting in those middle rows- all having the same issue including myself when I allowed someone else to drive my vehicle. Nobody even has to push the red button. It just will suddenly unbuckle by itself. I brought to the dealership and they were not able to replicate the problem but they only drove around the parking lot for a few minutes... This has been happening since I owned it in april of 2021. First incident was probably around 3,000 mi on my car and now I'm at 26,000 miles and still having the same problem... And since they couldn't fix it, I ended up trading the vehicle in and waiting for a new one to ship from south korea
CategorySeat Belts
DateMar 25, 2022
StateNJ
Description
2nd row captains chair seatbelts are very hard to click together. The receiving end of the seat belt is recessed very far into the chair, that it's hard to get the belt portion to click into place.
CategorySeat Belts
DateMar 15, 2022
StateCO
Description
The seat belt latch the right front passenger won't receive the metal fitting. Took to dealer they could not repair. Glad to order a part after 1 week the said the part was back ordered and they did not know when it would arrive. Talked to hyundai and filed a complaint. After 1 week they called back with no answer. This is a safety issue if someone rides in the front passenger seat they cannot be buckled in. There are a number of similar complaints in hyundai owner forums. The rep from hyundai said on the phone that nhtsa would be concerned about this when I told him I would file a complaint
CategorySeats, Unknown Or Other
DateMar 06, 2022
StateMD
Description
This is health concern and I have felt that my bronchial tubes are getting hot and eyes/throat/nose pain after 15 minute driving, then the pain keeps going on for while even after driving. I suspect toxic degassing from seats or interior materials in vehicle, or comes from engine room. This degassing might have been gradually decreased since purchasing this palisade in april, 2021, however, I am still suffering from respiratory pain when I drive this vehicle. Hyundai service center inspected this palisade and they told me toxic gas comes from headrests, and offered me to replace headrests. They said a thousands of people complained about this issue already. However, I don't think the toxic gas is from only headrest, but also from the others. They cleaned the headrests, but nothing changed. I conducted inspections personally as follows. 1. Tested indoor air quality in the vehicle by using a sensor from winix 5500-2 air purifier without running engine and with closed all doors/windows/vent. 2. Tested indoor air quality in the vehicle for 10 minutes by using gray wolf advancedsense pro with multiple directsense probes and with closed all doors/windows/vent and running a fan (indoor air circulation) the result from a sensor of winix 5500-2 air purifier showed "bad air quality" at the test number 1 regardless headrests (without headrests). The result from gray wolf advancedsense pro showed hcn 120. 0 micron g/m3, tvoc 1200 ppb, and so2 0. 2 ppm. I believe those values would be increased if measurement time increase. There is no warning lamps, messages or other symptoms of the problem prior to the issue when they first appear. Every day, I drive this palisade and I feel pain and hot on my respiratory, even it keeps going on by next day morning. My primary doctor recommended me to report this case to epa or nhtsa.
CategoryStructure:body
DateFeb 10, 2022
StateWV
Description
When I was driving on an interstate suddenly the sunroof glass bursted and shattered in to pieces. There was nothing fell on to us only because I had the sunroof cover closed. I just heard a huge noise like shotgun fired and found out that the glass shattered and blew out a hole in the sunroof glass about 18" across. I was 6 hours from home and took it the the local dealer for review the following day. The dealer did promptly and professionally address the matter and they are covering it under warranty. Many owners of palisades reported this issue as well
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateFeb 08, 2022
StateME
Description
The car cannot be driven in the snow. The windshield wipers are "recessed" below the hood. While driving in snow when snow gets pushed down the wipers sense the snow and shutdown/lockout. The driver (my spouse) spent 20 minutes trying to remove all snow and was forced to driver without wind shield wipers in a snow storm. It has happened both times the car was driven in the snow.
CategorySeat Belts
DateFeb 07, 2022
StateNJ
Description
The seatbelts in the captains chairs unbuckle by themselves. Sometimes it is hard for the seatbelt to buckle in the first place and takes multiple attempts to latch. Then as I'm driving the seatbelts will unbuckle without anyone touching them. This has happened multiple times, with different people so it cannot be attributed to human error. This is very dangerous.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateFeb 07, 2022
StateMA
Description
When there is snow or ice build up under the front wipers that prevents them from going to thier “starting position or offer any resistance the wipers will no longer continue to function. So during snow storms when this occurs the wipers do not work requiring the driver or other occupants to get out sometime even opening the hood due to the large wiper well on the car to clean all residual snow or ice including that under the hinge. This can be extremely dangerous if you need to do this on the side of a road or highway in poor weather like blizzard or heavy snow fall. Please note the wipers still have full and proper range to go up and may have just have gone up. But once they can't go down they shut down operations I think in order to prevent motor damage of the wiper regardless of the settings on the wiper controls. Hyundai needs to program the I cars to continue to allow wiper operations or trying regardless of the tension and if they can no longer do down stop and wipe up from that point. Lastly if the wipers are shutting down on the instrument control panel the driver should be notified of the wipers discontinuing of operations for thier awareness and not have to guess as to the issue. In all of my years owning and driving vehicles I've never experienced this with ford, chevy, dodge, gmc, etc…. This seems to be an issue and there is a large forums of users complaining of this issue here https://palisadeforums. Org/threads/wipers-stopped-working-snow-build-up. 444/
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateFeb 02, 2022
StateMI
Description
The windshield wipers stop/lock with even a small amount of snow on the windshield anywhere in the wiper well (at the bottom, near the hood). Even if it's cleared out very well to start, snow pushed down there by the wipers causes the wipers to stop working entirely, while driving. This is unlike any vehicle I've ever driven in my life; it's incredibly annoying and unsafe.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateJan 30, 2022
StateVA
Description
Serious safety problem with a very important very needed system called the windshield wipers!!! They absolutely suck!!!! I driving down the interstate and got stuck under snow, and all of a sudden my wipers just quit working!!! I almost hit the cars in front of me!! I coiner see anything. I was later told the reason by a dealer employee… because as the wipers are traveling in the down stroke, they quite naturally push snow down into the well in which the wipers sit when they are not in use, down where the wiper arms connect to the vehicle, and it doesn't take long to fill that area and pack it with hard wet snow, when this happens, evidently the system senses that there is an obstacle blocking the wiper arms motion, and shuts the system down, apparently so that nothing breaks! So now then I was forced to pull off onto the shoulder of the interstate in the middle of this snowstorm to try to clear the snow from the wiper well! This is a dangerous interstate and was almost hit by passing trucks!! While clearing the well I found here is another problem that comes into play.... The wipers are now stuck partially up, but not enough so that you can fold the arms up to be able to get a scraper or your hand to the area where the snow is now packed into ice, which is kinda a deep pocket! Now I have learned from unwanted experience that you can manually pull the wiper arms up a few inches, which aids in letting you get your fingers in there to try to clear the snow jam, but you have to move quick, because the system is constantly trying to "reset" itself and comes slamming back down on your fingers about every 30 seconds!!!! It literally took me 20 minutes while dodging semi trucks on i95 to get them working again! Now I'm 5'5" short which does not help at all especially for the passenger side wiper where the snow jam is in the exact middle of the vehicle!!! I felt I was going to be killed that day. This is an absolutely rediculous and dangerous situation to be put in, and h
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateJan 25, 2022
StateTX
Description
Windshield cracked without any impact. If there was an impact, it was very small as there is no sign of damage. (I didn't hear anything hit the windshield while driving) this seems to be a concern with many owners as seen in different forums. I have driven many different vehicles over the years with many rocks hitting my windshield in other cars with no damage. This needs to be looked into and make hyundai responsible for fixing this issue.
CategoryAir Bags
DateJan 24, 2022
StateIL
Description
While my vehicle was stopped on the left turn lane, another vehicle coming from opposite direction was veered into the left turn lane which resulted in striking driver side of my vehicle. The damage was severe enough that my vehicle was eventually totaled. Despite the such strong impact, no airbag was deployed including side airbags.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJan 23, 2022
StateOR
Description
Another windshield complaint - we got a mosquito size chip in the windshield right after we bought it. It has not spread. However now all of a sudden under no known rocks hitting it - the lower passenger side now has a crack that has spread across the windshield. We have never had this issue with past vehicles. Hoping the replacement isn't the same. I do think the glass has some compromise in it and after reading the issues others have had am convinced.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJan 11, 2022
StateTX
Description
After having my 2021 palisade with only 3,000 miles, a small crack formed on the base of the wind shield. This crack quickly spread across the the bottom of the windshield in less than a months time. The glass appears to be fragile and thin. I can even feel the glassed raised when rubbing the crack, which seems to be more unsafe than a normal glass crack. The issue was reported to the dealer but they were not able to schedule to replace for several months. The dealer did not cover the windshield even on a new vehicle. The windshield was inspected by insurance. Total replacement is 00 because of calibration.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine, Fuel/propulsion System
DateJan 06, 2022
StateAL
Description
Another vehicle t-boned my vehicle on the front left side. We were both traveling around 15 mph. As soon as he struck my vehicle, the air bags were deployed and the car instantly caught fire. The car was on fire before I was at a complete stop. I was able to pry the door open and crawl through a small opening after moving the air bags out of the way. I had to crawl into traffic to be able to escape the fire. If the door had been jammed more severely then I wouldn't have been able to make it out in time before the fire reached me. If my kids had been in the vehicle, then I would not have been able to get them out before the fire got to them. The police determined that the fire started at the engine. My insurance totaled the vehicle and then it was removed from the towing yard and taken to montgomery. There were no prior issues or any warnings/messages before the incident.
CategoryElectrical System, Forward Collision Avoidance: Adaptive Cruise Control, Power Train
DateDec 29, 2021
StateAZ
Description
This vehicle awd system failed, the assitance systems failed, namely: adaptive cruise, regular cruise, blind spot warning, emergency brake assist, lane keep assist, and parking collision warning.
CategoryExterior Lighting
DateDec 22, 2021
StateFL
Description
The low beam headlights are too bright causing vehicles in the opposite direction to flash their high beams thinking that my high beams are on. This is a safety factor as I am often blinded by other drivers who flash their high beams and in many cases keep their high beams on. I've visited palisade chat rooms and have found that other drivers have the same complaint. I have contacted hyundai headquarters and reported the problem and have taken it to dealers three times to have the low beams lowered. I have been told that the low beam adjustment is correct and nothing can be done to fix my problem. I believe this low beam problem is a design defect and should be corrected. My vehicle is available for examination if necessary.
CategoryLane Departure: Assist, Unknown Or Other
DateDec 22, 2021
StateDC
Description
From driver: "while traveling westbound on john lynch st, I approached the left turn lane heading southbound on valley st. I engaged the brakes and began navigating the left turn at approx. 30 mph. While turning, the vehicle's "lane assist" engaged preventing me from completing the turn. Halfway into the turn, the vehicle continued westbound, hopped the curb, and collided with a stationary road sign that was not in use. I continued through the intersection and pulled off the roadway." follow-on questions: 1) how fast was the customer traveling when they were actively turning? A. 30 mph, which I am assuming was the approach speed. To the best of the vehicle operator's recollection, the approach speed was appropriately 40-45 mph, with an active turn speed of 30 mph. 2) what was the recent usage of the vehicle before the incident? Was it used that day? How long had the vehicle been driving before the incident? A. The vehicle was driven, by the same driver, approximately 12 miles to work the morning of the accident. Prior to the accident, the vehicle was driven around the same city as the accident for approximately two hours. 3) did any vehicle operator notice anything wrong or unusual about the vehicle prior to the incident? A. Vehicle operator observed that the lane assist dash board icon was blinking on and off throughout the course of a few hours prior to the accident. Vehicle operator attempted to disable the lane assist feature by both pressing and holding the lane assist button located inside of the vehicle. 4) any after-market equipment installed? A. Vehicle was equipped with both law enforcement lights and law enforcement siren. 5) any upfits? A. The vehicle did not have up-fits. 6) will the customer agency consent to the oem (or nhtsa) retrieving information from the vehicle's event data recorder? A. Yes.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateDec 10, 2021
StateSD
Description
Every time that it has snowed this winter the wipers have stopped working. This has happened while stopped and while driving. If there is any amount of snow/ice/build up on the lower windshield, in the 'well' under the wiper blades and the hood of the car, the wipers will stop working. Not only is the frustrating but more importantly is a massive safety hazard the needs to be addressed asap. This happened this morning taking my kids to school, and there was very minimal snow below the wiper blades. Definitely not enough to cause harm to the wipers/motor during their use as the total amount was not even an 1/8". The time before that I was driving at normal speeds and had a truck pass me. During the trucks passing large amounts of slush/water were flung up onto the windshield and windshield well, stopping the wipers directly in their path. Being there was a vehicle in front of me, that I could a.) no longer see and b.) had no working wipers anymore, I made the decision to safely ditch the vehicle. I then had to get out, clear the slush from the well, at which point the wipers began to work again although there was nothing left to clear as all the slush/water had already ran off the windshield. This design flaw is putting lives at risk. Had I not been familiar with my area, the road I was on, and it was safe to defensively move over into the shoulder/ditch a major accident could have been caused. I can appreciate the intent, but this needs to be recalled immediately before a major accident is caused and people are hurt or worse.
CategoryService Brakes, Hydraulic:antilock/traction Control/electronic Limited Slip:wheel Speed Sensor
DateDec 04, 2021
StatePA
Description
On 11/9/2021, warning lights appeared on the dash - forward collision, abs, and auto hold and I felt a slight skipping when breaking after that. We took it to the dealership, they informed that it was a wheel sensor and nothing to worry about, however, they didn't have the replacement sensor and would have to order it but said the vehicle was safe to drive. I asked my husband to confirm that the vehicle was safe to drive as by this point the skipping in the breaks continued on occasion, accompanied by a slight skipping noise. The dealer confirmed the vehicle was safe to drive. I continued to feel and hear a skipping when breaking on occasion. While driving on 11/22/21, I was approaching a red light with one car in front of me. I attempted to slow down and my breaks were skipping heavily and then the breaks became hard to depress. I was pressing the breaks heavily and the vehicle wouldn't stop. Fearful that I was going to hit the car in front of me with just a few inches between us, I swerved into the other lane (same direction) without noticing that there was a car approaching behind me in that lane. If felt like my wheels weren't spinning as I slid onto the side of the highway. Thankfully, the car behind me was able to come to a stop - also within inches - without an accident occurring. I pulled into a parking lot and contacted my husband, who contacted the dealer. The dealer had my car towed back to the dealership. Upon dealer inspection, they insisted there is nothing wrong with breaks and said there was "failure to replicate" the incident. They again informed it is just the wheel sensor and that the breaks are fine. I am fearful to drive the vehicle after the last incident.
CategorySeat Belts
DateNov 14, 2021
StateKY
Description
Buckle is recessed too far into the seat to properly buckle the seat belt. Resulting in seat belt not fully buckling and coming undone while vehicle is in motion of when sudden stops are made.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateNov 03, 2021
StateNJ
Description
Front windshield cracked on the top right corner. The car has been sitting in my driveway since purchased in january 2021 with only 3250 miles so far. I contract hyundai and they asked to take it to the dealership however nothing was done to fix it since the crack was larger than six inches. I was given a quote to replace a windshield for nearly 00. Windshield cracking is an issue with palisade as there are many people reporting the same issues where the palisade windshield has cracked even from a small chip. It seems all of the people complaining on the internet are complaining about the same location being cracked on the windshield and then spreading. Something needs to be done to fix it.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateNov 01, 2021
StateKS
Description
Only approx 8000 miles on the palisade. Tiny rock hit windshield and left a 3mm pit in the glass in the middle. Within minutes the glass cracked and is now almost a foot long. After 1 search on the internet looking for replacement glass I found multiple forums of people discussing how common the cracking/spiderweb issue is, sometimes with no impact. Now my visibility is being impaired as the crack continues to spread across the windshield.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateOct 22, 2021
StateAZ
Description
My car is 3 months old and has 2500 miles on it. The windshield has a huge crack across it. It happened while I was driving. I'm not sure if a small pebble hit it or if the temperature caused it. The windshield seems very weak.
CategoryEquipment:appliance:tv/radio/speakers, Equipment:electrical:infotainment
DateOct 20, 2021
StateTX
Description
2021 hyundai palisade. Consumer writes in regards to defective infotainment system. Attached is a report from hyundai motor of america confirming there is a known defect and malfunction of the 2021 palisade with the informatics systems. Specifically, see the information indicated in the video link that the service department was aware as of february 2021. Hyundai and apple are fully aware and have not resolved this problem. Please reinvestigate this manner, it creates a safety hazards for drivers such as myself when utilizing hands free device and wired or unwired gps navigational because the screens will completely shut down or restart unprompted while driving.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateOct 06, 2021
StateOH
Description
Driving on 2 lane route at speed limit and rock hit my windshield and left a large crack and now needs repaired. Windshield cracks so easily this is also a safety hazard.
CategoryElectrical System
DateSep 24, 2021
StateTX
Description
The first time I was stopped at a red light and my vehicle shut off completely and was unresponsive, nothing worker. To get the vehicle to respond I had to get out of my vehicle at the light shut my door and use the remote to lock and unlock the vehicle at that time it finally responded. This happened again when I first started my vehicle and before I could put the vehicle in gear it shut off. I did the same thing as before and vehicle was responsive. The last time it happened I was driving the vehicle shut off I was almost hit from behind the brakes didn't work had to wait for the vehicle to slow down, when I got out to shut my door to try to use the remote to get it to respond it kept rolling and almost hit me. This vehicle is currently in the shop to analyze this defect. There is no warning it happens out of nowhere and there is no controlling the vehicle. I am afraid for my life to drive this vehicle because if it is to happen again at a high speed or if I need to brake I run into to someone since the vehicle completely shuts down.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateSep 21, 2021
StateNC
Description
My grandson {3 year old) went from back seat to front seat while the subject vehicle was parked in the driveway. Barely hit the front windshield (no whimper not even a bruise). The windshield spiderwebbed in a huge pattern on the right side. Hyundai palisades has several lawsuits pending this windshield substandard spiderwebbing due to soft blows! Hyundai says they have no replacement windshields available? This presents a very dangerous situation as we two grandchildren in this vehicle. Forget about insurance deductibles we need this windshield replaced asap! Can you help? Thank you grandpa nick antonecchia
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateSep 15, 2021
StateMD
Description
Oxygen depleting lighter than air toxic gasses within the vehicle causing anoxia among inhabitants. This problem has been noted consistently on hyundai web sites with no response. This problem becomes more dangerous with weather conditions and closed environment within the vehicle. It is not just the smell, but the oxygen depleting gasses emitted by whatever is causing the occurrence. Most own ers complain about the smell, but the smell is directly related to the intoxicating & probably deadly carcinogenic funes. Thank you for your time.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Visibility
DateSep 13, 2021
StateMI
Description
The contact's friend owns a 2021 hyundai palisade. The contact stated that while driving 70 mph, the emergency automatic braking inadvertently engaged. The emergency braking system warning light was illuminated. The driver had to manually release the parking brake. Additionally, while driving a stone struck the front windshield causing a crack. The vehicle was taken to the local dealer and the contact was informed that the vehicle was working as designed. The contact was also informed that the windshield was on backorder. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacture was notified of the failure however, no further assistance was provided. The approximate failure mileage was 10,000.
CategoryPower Train
DateSep 13, 2021
StateKS
Description
Had my car in shop for over 30 days on my last visit, was there 4 other times. When you reach speeds of 62 mph to 73 mph car has vibration in seat and steering wheel along with feeling it. They rotated tires, replaced drive shaft, replaced rear differential and fluids. Was told to come get car there is nothing they can do about it. Called hyundai filed a complaint and someone higher up was going to call me back within 10 days. Its now 12 days and no call. I called today and asked for the person to talk to and got a new phone number. Been trying to call her and cant get threw. Guess my next step is to tell dealership about was is going on and contact my state to fill a report with them. Got 2,674 miles on car.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateSep 05, 2021
StateFL
Description
I was turning out of a fairly quiet street and onto another road and I heard o crack and looked around my rear view mirror and saw my windshield crack. Nothing hit it it just cracked. I live in hot south florida and the ac was on. But I have no idea why it spontaneously cracked.
CategoryVisibility:windshield
DateSep 01, 2021
StateCA
Description
The contact owns a 2021 hyundai palisade. The contact stated while driving at an undisclosed speed, there was an abnormal noise and the contact noticed that the bottom corner on the driver's side front windshield was cracked. The crack obstructed his view while driving. The contact called the local dealer who informed him that the windshield was not available. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure however, no further assistance was provided. The failure mileage was 3,500.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateAug 13, 2021
StateIL
Description
Went on a trip to nashville small pebble hit windshield made a chip and rapidly started spreading. Had windshield replaced by safelite on monday afternoon on thursday got up to go somewhere and looked at the windshield and it had a crack that went from the lower left hand of driver side and went all the way to the middle of the windshield
CategoryStructure:body:door
DateJul 31, 2021
StateIL
Description
I cut my leg, badly, getting out of the car. There is a very sharp edge on the bottom corner of the door. My leg brushed against the door and I got a 2-inch long, deep gash. A review of hyundai palisade owner websites show other people have experienced the same issue.
CategoryVisibility:windshield
DateJul 29, 2021
StateOH
Description
Driving down a 2 lane road, a small pebble struck the top of the windshield. About 5 minutes later a crack extended from the top of the windshield to the middle, directly in the drivers view. There are many, many complaints of these windshields shattering from very minor impacts and some for no reason at all. The fact that the windshield can break like this (not even chip) makes me concerned that an impact from a larger item (stone, retread from semi, etc) will go right thru the windshield, endangering the lives of passengers and by-standers (due to potential loss of control).
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJul 28, 2021
StateIA
Description
Windshield glass cracked in two different locations. One caused by a small pebble and the second looks to have cracked on its own. Vehicle only 6 months owned.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateJul 27, 2021
StateLA
Description
Windshield gets rock chips very easily. It's an ongoing problem
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateJul 15, 2021
StateMO
Description
Small rock hit left side of windshield by car frame on a sunday. Left a small, superficial knick (didn't look to be through windshield). Drove car monday & tuesday with no noticeable windshield damage. Went to drive car wednesday and there was a six inch crack across windshield originating from sunday's knick. Over the course of an hour, crack grew to longer than two feet.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJul 14, 2021
StateCA
Description
Windnoise/whistle noise in driver door on 2021 palisade sel
CategoryElectrical System:adas, Lane Departure: Assist, Lane Departure: Warning
DateJul 09, 2021
StateFL
Description
Windshield cracks with the slightest impact. After 2 replacement windshields and camera calibration performed four times, the vehicle still strays into oncoming traffic lane and over the fog line with lane keep assist and lane following assist activated. Camera has been calibrated three times at safelite and one time at hyundai dealer. The lka & lfa systems were precise in their operation when I purchased the vehicle. Now the vehicle self steers into oncoming traffic with no warning until the vehicle is over the center line. Scary as hell. Apparently hyundai has defective and weak windshields across the board according to many internet sources. Also, apparently the recalibration procedure is not working, causing a major safety issue in these vehicles.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateJun 29, 2021
StateTN
Description
I purchased a new hyundai palisade (limited version) on april 1, 2021. On or about may 12, 2021, while driving down the road, a small pebble struck the bottom of my windshield directly in front of the driver position, leaving a very small chip in my windshield about the size of a bb. The small chip was so small and insignificant looking no further action was taken at the time. On the morning of may 30, 2021, I got in my palisade, that was parked in my enclosed garage, and noticed a cracked windshield of approximately 24 inches, that appeared to originate at the location of the "bb size" chip. A cold front had came in on the night of may 29, 2021/early morning of may 30th, reducing the outside temperature much below normal. On june 1, 2021, I took my palisade to the hallmark hyundai, 1198 west main street, hendersonville, tennessee, to obtain an estimate for repair and determine if this damage was covered under warranty (remember this is a new palisade, only six weeks old and less than 2,000 miles at the time of the "pebble strike"). I explained to the service manager that I believed the cracked windshield was a possible factory defect and if asked if anyone else had recently had a cracked palisade windshield. He said they had one other palisade with a cracked windshield a couple of weeks earlier. The service manager told me the cracked windshield was not covered under my new car warranty and that "at this time" there were no warranty enhancements/recalls on the windshield for my palisade. The service manager then provided me a service estimate to have my cracked windshield replaced: part# 86111-s8110 - glass windshield:

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.

,561. 89 part# 86130=s8000 - garnish assy.- 8. 00 part# 86140-s8000 - garnish assy.- 7. 31 glass moldings and labor and recalibration - 5. 00 fee windshield removal/replacement - 5. 00 tax-9. 33 grand total - text="Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm" smalltext="Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win." img="balance" color="green",846. 76 in conclusion, I believe there is a lot of smoke that indicates hyundai has a big fire with its defective windshield
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJun 27, 2021
StateNC
Description
When I was driving suddenly the sunroof glass bursted and shattered in to pieces. There was nothing fell on to it as I was driving in the middle lane of freeway. I just heard a huge noise like shotgun fired and found out that the glass is shattered. I called dealer to review and find out what can be done. I have been asked to show up to dealerships next week. I have read lot of blogs and forums and found this is a common issue with hyundai and they are not yet able to fix it. Many owners of palisades reported this issue as well.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateJun 23, 2021
StateNE
Description
On a clean road with no vehicles in either direction, I heard something like a bug hit the windshield and saw a crack appear. Two days later, on another clean road, I heard something like a pebble hit the windshield and a much larger crack appeared, that looked like a spider web. There were no large vehicles on the road (e. G. Gravel truck, dump truck, semi-truck) that would be likely suspects to throw a piece of gravel that would crack a windshield. Since this is a new vehicle with low miles, and two incidents on the same trip, I contacted hyundai north america to see if there were any known issues with the palisade windshields. The representative stated that it could be replaced under warranty as a manufacturing defect but that I had to take it to a dealership in order for them to verify prior to replacement or repair. At the dealership, the service representative stated that he would have someone look at it and call me back later in the day. He asked if I contacted anyone else yet and I told him that I contacted hyundai north america. He stated that he would have to get his manager involved, which seemed odd. I performed an internet search and found multiple instances of other hyundai palisade owners who experienced similar issues with their vehicles. This is only the second year of production of these vehicles which could indicate a design defect. There is also a pending class action lawsuit regarding cracked windshields on hyundai palisades which also raises a red flag that these windshields should be recalled.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateJun 23, 2021
StateMO
Description
My 2021 palisade windshield has cracked after nothing struck the windshield like so many others who own the 2020 and 2021 palisade and kia telluride (hyundai's company). This is a know quality issue with weak and easily cracked windshields which many owners have filed complaints to this nhtsa site and in online forums. The windshield is among the most important safety functions on a car. The auto glass must all be restored and it's essential to retain the window and in good condition at all times. Driving with a chipped or cracked windshield may put me and my passengers at risk for injury in the event of a rollover or collision. Hyundai needs to issue a recall for the safety of their customers. I respectfully ask that you investigate the windshields on the 2020 and 2021 huyundi pallisaide's.
CategoryElectrical System, Unknown Or Other
DateJun 22, 2021
StateTN
Description
The infotainment system that is included with the sel model constantly disconnects from your cell phone. We did not know prior to buying this model that hyundai had changed their vehicle packages so that the midrange does not have options for navigation or xm radio. This becomes a safety issue because instead of having my attention on the road as I should, I am attempting to reconnect my phone to use maps, and sometimes to fix the music, taking my attention off the road. I set everything up in my car prior to driving and yet the constant in and out of the connection causes me to readjust while driving. On long drives, navigation is essential to make it to the destination. Music is not an essential but it is extremely helpful to pass the time and also helps to curb the tiredness that comes with long drives. This issue may not be the worst possible issue to have but I can see it causing accidents, which is why I decided to report it. For people that do everything they can to set things up prior to driving it is very frustrating and dangerous to have to adjust the infotainment multiple times, even in short 20 minute drives, and not have their full attention on the road where it should be.
CategoryVisibility:windshield
DateJun 22, 2021
StateMO
Description
I had only had my 2021 palisade for 6 days, less than 400 miles, when a rock hit my windshield, the first rock to hit it. A few hours later the windshield was cracked over halfway. This is obviously a huge issue with many others, and this should be a recall! I paid too much money for the first rock to crack my windshield!
CategorySteering
DateJun 10, 2021
StateIL
Description
Main issue: power steering failed twice within a couple hours. Vehicle is available for inspection. Not being able to steer the vehicle increases the risk of a crash. Yes, the issue was reproduced by the service manager at a nearby hyundai dealership. Vehicle has not been inspected by the manufacturer, police, or insurance rep. There were warning messages that appeared when the steering went out.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateJun 03, 2021
StateCA
Description
Small pebble impact on passenger side of windshield caused a very small chip. Chip developed into several long cracks as repair was being attempted. As cracks continue to propagate, a full windshield replacement will be necessary. A common problem surrounding this make and model.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateMay 27, 2021
StateIL
Description
I keep having to get my windshield fixed because it cracks eas8
CategoryPower Train
DateMay 26, 2021
StateVA
Description
The vehicle developed a vibration at speeds of 65-70 mph. It had less than 100 miles on it when it was first noticed. The dealership has balanced the tires twice, replaced the drive shaft, and replaced the rear coupler with no success. They do not know what's wrong with the vehicle. They are currently awaiting a read differential "to see" if that fixes it. They aren't sure that it will. The part is on backorder from korea and the vehicle has been sitting at the dealership for weeks.
CategoryUnknown Or Other, Visibility/wiper
DateMay 26, 2021
StateWI
Description
Small chip in windshield grew into several large cracks in a very short amount of time. Based on research, many palisade owners have been experiencing the same issue.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateMay 26, 2021
StatePA
Description
Vehicle with 2200 miles. No prior damage. Traveling at 50mph, sudden failure of sunroof without warning. Sunroof and visor was closed. Driver was uninjured. Dealer inspected vehicle.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Warnings, Lane Departure: Assist, Lane Departure: Warning
DateApr 26, 2021
StateFL
Description
While driving on april 18/2021, my 7-month-old less than 2000 miles hyundai palisade started to give me alerts that some safetyfeatureswere shutting down. With messages like this "check forward collision-avoidance assist system", the same happened with the lane departure system and other safety features. Since then the car has continued giving system errors after the car has been driving for a few minutes. I have already an appointmentwith the dealer's service department on 4/30.
CategorySeat Belts
DateApr 24, 2021
StateLA
Description
The 2nd row captains chair's seatbelts are recessed so far into the seat that it is difficult to buckle. The male part of the seatbelt also has a bend/angle that requires you to push the receiver end to the side to get the right angle to buckle. It does not go straight in. It is almost impossible to buckle the seatbelt if using a booster seat. Our booster seat is narrow and does not cover the opening where the receiver is located. It is the angle that makes it almost impossible. I recommend extending the receiver to be able to adjust the angle a small amount.
CategorySeat Belts
DateApr 23, 2021
StateAL
Description
I purchased my car two days ago. I have 6 year old twins in high back booster seats in the 2nd row. We cannot get the seat belts to buckle. I have to end up climbing back there which is very difficult and fight with the seat belts. They just won't click in. My children definitely can't do it and after a good 10 minutes if I'm lucky I will get one buckled. However, even when I hear it click, it isn't always secure. Thank goodness after getting one child buckled I tugged on it before closing the door and sure enough, it came right out. This is not safe and is a major problem that needs addressed. There are a lot of people complaining about this.
CategorySeat Belts
DateApr 22, 2021
StateMN
Description
This is a brand new car but the seatbelts in the 2nd row captains chairs are nearly impossible to buckle in. My children have to spend about 5 minutes attempting and then I usually have to do it. The seatbelts are wedged too far into the seat and at a weird angle. At times I buckle them in but they clip out way too easily.
CategorySeat Belts
DateApr 15, 2021
StatePA
Description
The buckles in the captains chairs are recessed into the seat and the tongue is angled. It is incredibly difficult for an older person to properly buckle themselves in, and especially difficult to buckle the seat belt when using a booster seat. It has taken 5 minutes on several occasions to get it in correctly. At times, it seems it is in with a click, until I pull it, and it disengages. I am also concerned that the booster may actually lay in the button, completely releasing the seatbelt in an accident. Please address this issue asap so we can ensure our children are safe.
CategoryStructure:body
DateApr 13, 2021
StateMA
Description
Driver side glass has developed a hairline crack approximately 8 inches long, while vehicle was parked overnight in my garage.
CategorySeats, Unknown Or Other
DateApr 05, 2021
StateIL
Description
Car smells like rotten onions and had to replace windshield because it crack easily while driving on the road.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateApr 05, 2021
StateMO
Description
2 months old , already have chips on the windshield.. There has not been any hit as far as we know of.. But glass is chipped in two diff places
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateMar 24, 2021
StateNY
Description
When using apple play, wireless and connected, my display screen goes black. I hear this is a common issue with the palisade.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateMar 17, 2021
StateCA
Description
Before I even hit 1000 miles my windshield chipped. I was driving behind a car not tailgating and heard a rock come up and hit my windshield. There was a big chip in my windshield. Today 3 days later driving heard a rock come up and now another chip. I've never seen a windshield chip like this before. As I was investigating the chip and cleaning my windshield I discovered more chips in lower right hand corner that I never heard anything hit. These windshields are very cheaply made. This car is not cheap and for the windshield to chip this easy is wrong!
CategoryStructure:body
DateMar 12, 2021
StateTX
Description
We were driving at highway speed when the sunroof spontaneously exploded. Dealer verified that there was no evidence of any impact.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateMar 04, 2021
StateTX
Description
The air conditioner stopped working. The air was not cold at all and a I heard a noise like gas slipping away was very obvious. I had to turn it off because was afraid could be dangerous gas and no sense in leaving the ac on if wasn't working. I was driving the vehicle in a trip of 2 hours in a highway and the service personnel that checked the vehicle told me that something hit the condenser. He shows us the damage and we realized that the grill has big holes and no real protection to the condenser. Any rock can break the condenser. The dealer said they are not responsible for this when is obviously a bad design. The way the grill is designed is going to permit that the condenser breaks or suffer damages all the time.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateFeb 23, 2021
StateIL
Description
While driving down the highway, light snow can disable the windshield wipers. The wipers will not start working again until you pull over, lift the hood to clear out the wiper well. The wipers are not frozen to the windshield. They can be manually moved back and forth. This is a very dangerous defect. Below is a link to a forum describing the defect. Https://palisadeforums. Org/threads/wipers-stopped-working-snow-build-up. 444/page-2
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateFeb 18, 2021
StateWV
Description
Twice this has happened. My windshield wipers lock up and will not clear the window. It seems like there may be snow or ice below them where they tuck in when this happens, which is hard to clear out anyway. While I am driving, if any snow or ice comes down from the roof, they will lock up as well, and this has left me absolutely not able to see the road. It is a major major hazard. Luckily I have been able to pull off the road both times to clear the window manually
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateFeb 18, 2021
StateNY
Description
Wipers stop working while driving. I had cleared and use the defrost but the snow still accumulated while driving and caused the wipers to stop. I had to find a shoulder on a busy highway to clear so the wipers would start working again. Very dangerous
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateFeb 16, 2021
StateUT
Description
I just purchased the vehicle and on the same day I was driving on the highway on my way home, I discovered a rock chip on the windshield, I did not hear anything impact the windshield but judging but not hearing any sound. The windshield seems to be very fragile compared to other vehicles I've owned.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateFeb 12, 2021
StateID
Description
When it is snowing too heavily, too fast, or snow falls on to your windshield from your roof while driving the windshield wipers stop. They do not turn back on until you have manually cleared the windshield. This happens while you are driving. So you have to try and navigate to the side of the road while you cannot see in the middle of traffic. Then get out of your car to clean the windshield... This can happen multiple times in one drive. My husband was driving about 35 miles an hour and as he was coming to a complete stop, the roof snow slide onto the windshield. The wipers stopped working due to a sensor. The windshield wipers did not reengage when switched to manual. They only resumed when he cleared all the snow off the windshield and sensor. This is not safe at all. There is a whole forum page dedicated to this https://palisadeforums. Org/threads/wipers-stopped-working-snow-build-up. 444/
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateFeb 06, 2021
StateNJ
Description
The wireless car play constantly loses signal as shown in the photo. There are several forums out there with the same problem and every dealership claims there's no issues. I could provide tons of people with the same issues. The safety risk is if you are using the apple car play for navigation, every few minutes the service drops and you have to touch the screen a few times to bring it back up. Wireless apple car play is a new feature that isn't working properly.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateFeb 02, 2021
StateCA
Description
Wipers stop working when snow accumulates, blocking sensor on windshield. Very dangerous. This has happened when driving and while parked. Only way to solve is to stop car and remove snow accumulation between wipers and recessed area underneath.
CategoryElectrical System, Power Train
DateDec 31, 2020
StateIL
Description
2021 palisade calligraphy - while driving on highway (comfor mode - cruise control) htrac error light came on. After stopping and shutting car off the error resolved for a few minutes and then came back on while driving. Noticed no power to rear wheels while driving - snowed next day- awd vehicle became only fwd. Took to dealer and error code p182111 was assessed. Also water intrusion in a connection and the actuator (motor) seems to be faulty. Car has 812 miles on it when this occurred. Know of another user on hyundai forum with same issues @ around 1000 miles. Waiting to hear what issues they are diagnosed with at dealer.
CategoryElectrical System, Unknown Or Other
DateDec 27, 2020
StateNY
Description
The apple carplay consistently disconnects and gives an error on the screen. This happen a lot while waze. It is very distracting & annoying. It disconnected about 10 times in 1 min already.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateDec 18, 2020
StateMO
Description
We were driving at a slow rate of speed and a rock bounced up from a passing car, not even driving behind it but passing head on, and it cracked the windshield. These windshields seem to be extremely fragile and can't hold up to a simple rock or even pebble. In my experience, I have never had a complete crack like this and the windshield should be able to withstand or only present a rock chip that can be repaired versus replacing the entire windshield which is very expensive due to the calibration required for the safety features. This is very concerning since this was low speed, what will actually happen if it took a high speed impact.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateDec 17, 2020
StateMI
Description
This vehicle only allows for wireless apple carplay connectivity. When using this feature, calls drop constantly, maps and directions drop constantly, and the navigation screen goes black while driving. This has caused major distraction and lost calls/directions. This happens despite all software updates being current. This happens when stationary, in motion, on why or city streets. At all times.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateDec 16, 2020
StateVA
Description
Wipers became non-operational as snow slide down the front of the care preventing the wiper from completing a full cycle. The snow was ~3 inches up the windshield which halted the wiper in the down position. Once the snow was manually cleared the wiper was able to complete its evolution and regained functionality. This occurred at a speed of 15 while breaking during inclement weather. Not an ideal situation for wipers to stop working but fortunately was in a position to pull over to understand and resolve the issue.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateDec 12, 2020
StateIL
Description
I just bought a 2021 sel palisade on thursday and I'm having problems with the apple wireless carplay connection. It will connect, shows the navigation apps, and play music for about 5 to 10 minutes then drops out. Then a message pops up saying I have no bluetooth connection with any device. If I push the home menu button, however, the carplay button is still showing. If I push it I'm back in carplay, but the blank out process repeats itself again after a few minutes. I called my dealership sales guy today, and he said to set up an appointment to bring the vehicle in to fix it, but on the palisade forum, many people are having the same issue as me who have just purchased a 2021 palisade sel. And carplay cannot play if connected via usb cord as in previous models. If this bug is fixed, it's will be a great feature to have in the 2021 sel. Right now it's an annoyance and a safety hazard (as a gps map may be up and displaying then just disappears). This issues happens while the vehicle is in motion on the highway and city streets. I don't know if a software update is needed in the vehicle or if it's a bandwith issue. I haven't been able to reach hyundai yet to report the issue.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateDec 10, 2020
StateTX
Description
Driving on the highway and a small pebble hit our windshield less than 1/8 inches(estimate based on crack left) in diameter. Instead of bouncing of the windshield it cracked the windshield. Attempt to repair the windshield by a auto glass company cracked it even further. This has never happened before owning multiple vehicles. In researching there looks to be other complaints from hyundai palisade owners on various sites. We were traveling approximately 74 mph on a highway in sunny conditions.
CategorySuspension
DateDec 06, 2020
StateWA
Description
I purchased a palisade 2021 limited awd trim from a local dealership on 12/01/2020 night. I test drove a different palisade, but purchased this specific palisade as we were looking for a beige interior. We drove the new palisade for the first time on the highway on 12/06/2020. It vibrates and rumbles on the highway. It mostly comes from the rear suspicion. 1) it constantly shakes and rumbles with constant vibration 2) the suspicion almost feels like seating on loose spring and causes the lower portions of the car to shake up & down constantly with high frequency. It makes everyone in the car severely motion sick with less than 50 miles of road trip. It sounds like palisade 2021 limited inherited the vibration problem from palisade 2020 [as described in tsb # 19-ss-003h].
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Adaptive Cruise Control, Lane Departure: Assist, Lane Departure: Warning
DateNov 23, 2020
StateFL
Description
I was travelling at 50mph under cruise control with lane following and lane keeping. A car drove past me in the lane to my left at about 65mph. The computer quickly turned my wheels and sent me into the lane at my right. It was a turning lane and unoccupied. The angle of the car to the turning lane was steep. I regained control of the car before it could go off the highway to the left.
CategoryLane Departure: Assist, Lane Departure: Warning, Steering
DateNov 23, 2020
StateFL
Description
The car was keeping the car centered in lane. There was a very slight curve to the lane. The car did not respond quickly. When the car was violating the opposite edge of the lane it over corrected to get centered. Then it violated the other edge and over corrected even more. The car was oscillating out of lane on both sides before I could regain control.
CategoryStructure:body, Unknown Or Other
DateNov 12, 2020
StateWA
Description
The design of the shifting mechanism is backwards so that drivers meaning to put the vehicle into drive (and go forward) will easily confuse the buttons and put the vehicle into reverse (sending the vehicle backwards). Thinking about a shift knob on a standard vehicle, one thinks of the knob in "reverse" as being back towards the rear windshield. Same with a motorized wheelchair: to go forward you select the position in the front, and to go back, you select the position in the back. The confusion happened to me often enough that I always look at the buttons carefully before going forward to make sure"d" has lit up. My husband, who usually drives another car, drove this vehicle and pressed "" by accident twice and the car obviously went backwards when he meant to go forwards. Everyone I ask has agreed with us that the natural (and therefore most safe) orientation would be to have the most forward button be drive, and the bottom towards the back be reverse. Although we avoided crashes, I think this design creates the real possibility of many accidents.
CategorySeats, Structure:body, Unknown Or Other
DateOct 30, 2020
StateSC
Description
Toxic gaseous contaminants,. Dealer under the direct guidance of the hyundai corporate technical department. Dealer and hyundai corporation has made numerous attempts to repair the gaseous toxic smell from this vehicle and solutions are not correcting the problem. I must say I am disappointed hyundai corporation and stivers hyundai owner and representatives failed to inform us of the ongoing gaseous odor dilemma of the palisade limited purchased /del dat 11aug2020 'sick house syndrome', nausea, or fatigue from exposure to vocs. Some vocs may even cause cancer with a high exposure concentration. After the vehicle had been closed up for over 24hours we opened the palisade and received a gaseous chemical odor emanating from all four doors and the rear hatch which was both debilitating and frightening. My wife immediately had an asthmatic attack and caused a headache with both events requiring medication . I personally was choked by the odor and almost vomited . I immediately open all doors and stupidly tried to locate which area of the vehicle the terrible odor came from . It was too strong an odor to detect any one area and it permeated from all the doors and rear hatch. "what I did achieve was enough of the gaseous chemical compound in my mouth's mucous membrane and my airway that my taste and breath had the residual odor for over four hours. This was a frightening experience that we cannot withstand again. My wife certainly cannot withstand life threatening asthmatic attacks caused by our brand new hyundai vehicle, the palisade I have is unsafe because hyundai motor america cannot disclose to me what contaminants are causing this toxic odor. What is it and what level of whatever it is would be poisonous ? Technical service bulletin 20-bd-018h is non scientific and non engineered cover up of hazardous health issue to all consumers.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateOct 28, 2020
StateTX
Description
I had just left the dealership with 28 miles on the odometer when a small pebble hit the windshield and caused a one and one half inch crack in the windshield. I was traveling at 45 mph. The windshield has to be defective or too thin to incur this damage. I was not following another vehicle that could have projected the pebble. The manufacturer should be required to replace the defective windshield at it's expense. This is not a cheap vehicle. I understand there is currently a lawsuit against the manufacturer to replace other owners windshields.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateSep 23, 2020
StateSD
Description
Took a road trip across the country to glacier national park in my 2021 palisade that I purchased brand new just a few weeks ago. Decided to save a little money on flying by driving instead, but now I'm regretting that decision. A small rock flew off a truck that was passing me on the left on I-90 and hit my windshield. Absolutely not my fault and nothing I could have done to prevent it. There was a spider crack. By the time I stopped at the next exit to get gas and examine the damage further, it had already grown to a runner crack. It was saturday in the middle of nowhere so safelite was not an option. I continued on to my destination in kalispell and by the time I got there it had grown to the point that "patching" would not be possible. Now only a windshield replacement would suffice. I called around on monday and got the cheapest quote from safelite. After tax it was going to be approximately 3 for third party glass. The oem windshield, which they recommended, was 00. I obviously opted for the third party option. I asked about the camera calibration fee. They said they could do it for 0. I called a dealer who said they could do it for 0. So I'm going to have the windshield replaced by safelite and have the camera calibration done by a local dealer. All told it's going to be about 3. I've always loved road trips but seeing how ridiculous fragile the palisade windshield is makes me more apt to keep it garaged and just fly next time. Really disappointing.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateAug 28, 2020
StateTX
Description
Driving down the highway at approximately 55-60 mph. A small stone kicked up and cracked the windshield immediately. This resulted in a spiderweb that as of now has stretched approximately 12 inches across. The sound was strangely loud. I'm now responsible for a full replacement for a back ordered windshield over an something that at most should have a caused a chip if anything. I can hear the crack spreading and am concerned for the overall integrity of the glass.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateAug 05, 2020
StateAZ
Description
Windshield cracked 2 day of ownership. The smallest small pebble ive ever seen from road hit windshield. I've own many of cars and drive all over the usa and have never seen anything like this happen to a brand new car. It hit drives side windshield. Glass is cheaply made . Its not safe for family.

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.

Share your story

Does this ring a bell? Have you had a bad experience too? Sound off and share your experience with other visitors in the comment box below.

Brian Jones

About the Author:

Brian Jones spent more than 20 years working as an ASE Certified Master Tech and Parts Specialist at multiple dealerships. Brian has become an authority in the industry, traveling across the country to consult for car dealerships and contributing his expertise as a writer for several major automotive publications. In his spare time, Brian enjoys working on pickup trucks, muscle cars, Jeeps and anything related to motorsports.

See more posts from Brian Jones
5 COMMENTS
  • AY

    2021 Palisade SEL. Vibration between the speeds of 65 and 75 mph. The dealership has replaced almost everything on the drivetrain of the vehicle, To include axels, differentials, drive shafts, transfer case and now the transmission. The problem still exists. I am working on a buyback from Hyundai now and will let you know how well they stand behind their product. By the way, I must mention that the dealership, which I will mention in my up-date, has done everything in their power to fix the problemđź‘Ť

  • Ray

    Jeff, Brandi. Are you left foot brakers? Some newer cars will not allow acceleration if the brake pedal is being depressed at the same time you are accelerating. The computer senses the light pressure of your left foot resting on the brake pedal and it is designed to shut down acceleration resulting in engine jerking, coughing, or stalling… Left foot braking on a vehicle with this system installed in its computer can also result in messed up transmission shifting, which over time will also damage the transmission.. Safety and computer smart driving systems on newer passenger cars will not tolerate left foot braking because a left foot braker cannot perfectly synchronize braking with acceleration.. The newer computer aided driving systems are so sensitive that they can also sense the lightest pressure on the brake pedal.. Hope this is the cause of your problems…BTW most manufacturers will not tell you this because it is taken for granted that people drive in a conventional manner with the right foot being used to both accelerate and to brake the vehicle..

  • Brandi i

    I am at 4000 miles and the transmission has failed. Jeff, I have a feeling that is what is happening to you as it started at 2000 miles and went to jerking while moving up to each gear during acceleration and soon went to the RPM’s bursting up while not accelerating nor going forward but slowing down because the car would not go up in gear ….until finally on the highway going 50 mph the transmission just went out and could not go into gear at all.

  • Jeff

    The car has only 2k miles, on it and it like hesitates, it scared me today when I went to make a left turn with traffic quickly approaching, my foot pressed the accelerator and it hesitated, like it was going to shut down, I feel it’s something electrical with that start/stop feature,. Very dangerous!! And, I’ve also had windshield wiper issues, as well

  • Jeff

    The car has only 2k miles, on it and it like hesitates, it scared me today when I went to make a left turn with traffic quickly approaching, my foot pressed the accelerator and it hesitated, like it was going to shut down, I feel it’s something electrical with that start/stop feature,. Very dangerous!!

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead you can to our legal team.

Please select your star rating.

Briefly describe your experience Briefly describe your experience

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? Please enter a valid phone number

Want to know if you could sue? Get a free legal evaluation Lemberg Law?

Get Your No-Obligation
Case Evaluation

Send a secure message to our legal team.

What’s your name? What’s your name?
What’s your email address? What’s your email address?
What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?
Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem
Confidentiality Guarantee: We keep your information completely confidential and will not send you spam or sell your information.