2023 Hyundai Palisade Problems and Top Complaints – Is Your Car A Lemon?

Hazy windows, faulty brakes, malfunctioning seats, and engine issues are among the top complaints received by the NHTSA from vehicle owners

By Brian Jones | Updated on

By Brian Jones | Updated on

Are your windows hazy or cloudy? Read our Palisade hazy windows post to learn more.

Considered to be Hyundai’s flagship SUV, the Hyundai Palisade is punted as “a bold midsize SUV” by the manufacturer. It offers seating for as many as eight people, plus roomy cargo space and lots of high tech features. And it’s been selling well despite complaints from consumers.

Click on other model year to view more problems: 2020   2021   2022

Don’t be stuck with a lemon. You have legal rights to cash, return or buyback.

The law makes Hyundai pay legal fees.

We've fixed thousands of lemon problems. Message or call 877-795-3666 today.

NHTSA Complaints for the 2023 Hyundai Palisade

Complaint CategoryNumber of Complaints
Visibility/wiper
19
Unknown Or Other
9
Engine
3
Electrical System
2
Electrical System: Instrument Cluster/panel
1
Visibility:windshield Wiper/washer
1
Visibility:windshield
1
Wheels
1
Service Brakes
1
Forward Collision Avoidance: Adaptive Cruise Control
1

Clearly it hasn’t been plain sailing since the stylish 2020 SUV was launched in the U.S. in the summer of 2019. There have been lots of complaints to the Department of Transportation’s National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) and several recalls.

Lemberg Law is also currently investigating consumer complaints about 2022 Hyundai Palisades that have been fitted with sunroofs that shatter spontaneously. You can read more about our class action investigation here.

We are also monitoring complaints filed with the NHTSA. There have been a total of 195 complaints about the initial 2020 model and 106 complaints about the 2021 model. So far, there are only a handful of complaints about the 2022 model, but we can’t ignore them.

We are also aware that there is an urgent recall that potentially affects as many as 245,030 of the 2020, 2021, and 2022 Hyundai Palisades. Owners of vehicles that are equipped with a tow hitch harness have been warned that it might catch fire while driving or parked. This applies to both harnesses that were installed as original equipment as well as those purchased later as an accessory. The 2023 model hasn’t been included in the recall. But it’s as well to be aware of the issue since every other Palisade is potentially affected.

Most Common Problems with the 2023 Hyundai Palisade

Complaints about the 2023 Hyundai Palisade are varied, but the largest number (14 out of 21) relate to hazy glass on the windows. Other complaints are about the engine, brakes, forward collision avoidance, lane departure, electrical system, and the seats of the Palisade.

Palisades with Hazy Window Glass Problems

Complaints about the Palisade having hazy glass in some of its windows have been pouring into the NHTSA. They don’t say a lot, just that the windows aren’t clear and impact visibility. It seems that the second row, double-paned windows are the most badly affected. This may be because there is a tint between the panes. Weather conditions also appear to have a significant effect, especially when it’s sunny.

An owner from New York states that both his rear side windows have “a significant haze/cloudiness” that cannot be removed, even with “heavy cleaning. It appears that the acoustic laminate layer within the glass is hazy, impeding the driver’s view when the sun hits the glass causing difficulty seeing other traffic or objects while driving.”

Many of the complaints state this is a safety issue. Generally, dealerships seem to agree that there is a problem, but there is no indication of Hyundai taking steps to rectify hazy glass issues.

There is also substantial discussion in the Palisade forum about this problem. Many of the comments are similar to those made in NHTSA complaints. For example: “We noticed that the back passenger windows both seem to have a cloudy look to them that is really noticeable in the sun. Like there is a film on them that won’t come off.”

Some members are demanding that their windows be replaced. But as one owner comments: “Even if the service department orders new windows, it’s possible that the same defective ones show up. Probably have to wait till Hyundai acknowledges the problem…”

Problems with Brakes

As a complaint on the NHTSA website states, it isn’t safe when the brakes of any vehicle don’t work properly. In this instance, the engine shut off three times while driving during the first 17 days of owning a brand new Palisade. It happened when leaving the highway at a decreasing speed of about 40-55 mph.

“I was happy no-one was in front of me for 3x and I could stop safely without hurting anyone.” There were no warning or indicator lights before or after the incident.

The owner took the car to the dealer for inspection together with a video of the dashboard when it happened. This shows “lights flashing and emergency beeping,” but he maintains that the dealer didn’t take it seriously.

“This is a SERIOUS problem that could lead to a fatality sooner or later.”

Malfunctioning Seat Problems

A complaint about faulty seats also warns that someone could be killed if the issue is not remedied.

The problem is that after pressing the side button on the seat for the auto-folding function, the seat would no longer lock into its track. The dealer acknowledged the problem but said it would take a month to get the part. Stating that she had only had the vehicle for two days, the owner of the Palisade said:

“I’m completely disgusted at the thought (that) my child could be killed by a seat that just slides back and forth with nothing stopping forward or rear movement other than my driver’s seat or the rear 3rd row seat. I’m pretty sure (that) in the event of an accident, forward motion to that degree would probably cause severe, if not deadly, injuries.

Engine Issues

A complaint logged under forward collision avoidance and another logged under engine and “unknown or other” appear to be reporting a similar fault.

The first states that twice the car made “warning and high beeping sounds” to shift to Park and then shut off randomly. This happened while driving at 65 and 35 mph. Additionally, the car randomly gave “wrong-way notifications even on the perfectly straight road over and over again.”

The second, related complaint states that, “While driving on the highway, a safety alert appeared saying, Engine is Off. Shift to P or N. The car then turned off on its own, and had to be restarted.”

The driver didn’t press the ignition or shift buttons before the alert went off. ”Essentially, the engine stalled and the car stopped on its own while driving.”

Another complaint in the Engine category states that leaving a parking lot, the Palisade engine shut off and an engine failure message flashed. Although the SUV had been running for more than 2 weeks, the dealer told the owner to have it towed if it happens again.

What to do if your 2023 Hyundai Palisade is a Lemon?

Generally, if a vehicle of any kind has problems that recur and affect the use, value, or safety of those using the vehicle, there’s a possibility it may be a lemon. Do you have issues and think that your 2023 Hyundai Palisade could be a lemon? If so you are welcome to contact Lemberg Law for free help.

All you have to do is give us a call on our Helpline or fill in our contact form. We will assess your problems as quickly as possible and let you know. If we agree you have a lemon we can negotiate a settlement deal on your behalf. The law says that Hyundai must pay your lemon law legal bills, so you’ve got nothing to lose.

Complaint Data

CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateDec 07, 2022
StateNC
Description
The acoustic laminated windows in the second row are hazy, especially in direct sunlight. It appears to be an issue with the laminate and factory tint together, as my third row- non laminated windows are clear. This causes visibility issues in the back windows/blind spots as there is not a clear view from these windows. Dealer installed tint on the front windows (which are also acoustic laminated) also causes a slight haze, but the effect is much less so because those are only 35% tint. The darker factory tint in the middle row windows is by far the worst as far as haze is concerned.
CategoryElectrical System: Instrument Cluster/panel
DateNov 22, 2022
StateWA
Description
The contact owns a 2023 hyundai palisade. The contact stated while driving 20 mph, the computer indicated that the vehicle was going the wrong way and to turn around. Additionally, there was a beeping sound coming from the vehicle. The contact turned off and restarted the vehicle; however, the failure recurred. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer. The manufacturer was not contacted. The failure mileage was 2,080.
CategoryVisibility:windshield Wiper/washer
DateNov 18, 2022
StateOH
Description
Vehicle wipers are intermittently working in snowy conditions. Behavior is a typical from any other normal vehicle operations. Vehicle restart and wiper auto low and high modes all selected to try to gain normal wiper behavior. This is a dangerous issue when driving in wet and or snowy conditions.
CategoryVisibility:windshield
DateNov 17, 2022
StateCA
Description
Thousands of specks visible in the windshield when facing the sunlight in early morning or late afternoon. The windshield becomes so blurry. This happens only in early morning when facing the sun or late afternoon.
CategoryElectrical System
DateNov 15, 2022
StateAR
Description
Vehicle will not start and all dealership can say is it appears to be electrical
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateNov 12, 2022
StateNY
Description
Rear passenger windows cloudy. Defect with the tint inside the window glass restricting visibility especially in sunlight.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateNov 12, 2022
StateFL
Description
The passenger rear windows have a very bad hazy look on them when sun hits causing it difficult to see out of the side windows. Possibly defective stock tint on the windows
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateNov 04, 2022
StateTX
Description
Windshield broke with no reason, no vehicle in front or around vehicle
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateNov 02, 2022
StateVA
Description
Both side windows on the back side of the driver ( between b and c pillars) have a haze color, this is impacting blind spot visibility slightly
CategoryUnknown Or Other, Visibility/wiper
DateOct 30, 2022
StateGA
Description
The second row windows are not clear and are hazy. It is affecting visibility.
CategoryWheels
DateOct 30, 2022
StateOH
Description
Driving home from the dealer on day of purchase, tire pressure monitoring system failure showed intermittently. Vehicle had 7 miles at purchase and less than 50 miles before first failure warning.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateOct 29, 2022
StateNC
Description
Second row windows are hazy in direct sunlight making it difficult to see through the windows. The second row windows are double paned with tint in between the two panes of glass. The design of these windows apparently causes the hazy glass appearance in direct sunlight. I reported this issue to hyundai customer care on-line. They responded to take the vehicle to the dealer which I did. The dealer compared the windows to another car on the lot and it had the same defective hazy windows. They confirmed and reported the problem to hyundai. Hyundai has not responded to the issue. This is an apparent problem for other owners of the palisade as it has been discussed many times on-line in palisade forums.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateOct 28, 2022
StateFL
Description
2023 hyundai palisade calligraphy purchased labor day weekend 2022. Both 2d row side windows have a haze on them. This causes not only an obscured window but also a hazard when trying to see out of them.
CategoryElectrical System
DateOct 25, 2022
StateMD
Description
I purchased this vehicle on 9/17 and since day 1 the infotainment system will not turn on when starting the car. It has a digital instrument display and infotainment which control 90% of the vehicle functions. I have opened a case with hyundai # 20328505 who took 2 weeks t call me and had no resolution other than to let the dealer handle it. I have been to the dealer 3 times now and they can't figure out what the issue is. This is a major safety issue if I can't tell how fast I'm going and or the safety functions don't work.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateOct 19, 2022
StateNC
Description
2nd row windows on both sides are cloudy/ hazy. I have taken it to our dealer and they confirm that the windows are hazy.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateOct 18, 2022
StateTN
Description
The 2 second row windows are extremely hazy while all other windows are clear.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateOct 18, 2022
StatePA
Description
2 row windows tint is faulty. It is a white hazy fog between the glass. When sun shines on it sometime you can not see out of. Hazy fog. 3rd row is fine and 1st row also. Many of these palisades have complained to hyundai. I have filed complaint with no answers yet. Dealership also is calling hyundai customer service also
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateOct 12, 2022
StateLA
Description
The second row windows in my palisade are cloudy and hazy to the point that visibility is severely impacted in certain lighting conditions.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateOct 11, 2022
StateIN
Description
Just purchased this car, attempted to clean the 2nd rear windows cause they look very cloudy when the sun hits them making it very difficult to see out of them. Apparently many others have this issues so I brought to the dealership but was told "windows are not covered under warranty". This is a huge safety concern, I cannot clearly view out the back windows under certain conditions and the dealership refuses to replace the windows. I attached a photo but my camera doesn't capture it as good as others have shared so I've shared something close to what I'm seeing as well.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateOct 11, 2022
StateMI
Description
The second row windows behind the driver and passenger seat are hazy. They are not dirty. They haze at times makes the windows very cloudy.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateOct 09, 2022
StateIL
Description
2nd row side windows are hazy making difficult to see through
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateOct 08, 2022
StateVA
Description
Second row windows are milky/hazy in sunlight reducing visibility.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateOct 08, 2022
StateLA
Description
The 2nd row and rear windows are foggy/milky looking compared to the front windows.
CategoryEngine
DateOct 07, 2022
StateLA
Description
On september 21, 2022 I had sat in my car for about 8 minutes idling with the key fob in the car with me. I have as not on remote start. When I left the parking lot and drove a half a mile my engine shut off and a loud beep and red triangle warning came on that read engine failure and to start engine. I pressed the start button and drove about 500 feet and got the same warning and shift off engine. Once again, I pressed the start button and drove about 300 feet to pull out and f traffic. I parked and shut f the car and sat for about 2 minutes. When we started the car and drove I have not had another incident but am too afraid to drive far. I text my salesman at mike morgan hyundai in shreveport to tell him what happened. I was told to have it towed next time it happens
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateOct 07, 2022
StateIL
Description
The second row factory tinted windows have a hazy appearance, limiting visibility in sunny conditions. There is a sharp difference between 2nd and 3rd row factory tinted windows. The 3rd row is clear, the 2nd row has limited visibility when sun shines on it. The haze cannot be cleaned and seems to be part of the laminated windows.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateOct 06, 2022
StateFL
Description
Hazy, film-like on back seat windows. Doesn't come off. Looks almost milky it's so hazy.
CategoryUnknown Or Other, Visibility/wiper
DateOct 06, 2022
StateAR
Description
The rear door glass is hazy and hard to see through. When driving you need to view out those windows when merging. This is a safety concern.
CategoryUnknown Or Other, Visibility/wiper
DateOct 06, 2022
StatePA
Description
Passengers window s has a hazy white film problem. Not clear tint. Fault in tint
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateOct 06, 2022
StateIN
Description
Middle row windows are hazy, especially in the sun. This causes issues seeing clearly under the right conditions, causing safety concerns.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateOct 05, 2022
StateNY
Description
Both rear side windows have a significant haze/cloudiness that is unable to be removed despite heavy cleaning. It appears that the acoustic laminate layer within the glass is hazy, impeding the driver's view when the sun hit the glass causing difficulty seeing other traffic or objects while driving.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateOct 03, 2022
StateFL
Description
Both rear windows have a hazy film on them making it difficult to see out. Front drivers window also has excessive wind noise at moderate speeds (35-40mph).
CategoryEngine, Service Brakes
DateSep 13, 2022
StateFL
Description
The engine shut off suddenly while driving 3x times in 17 days of ownership, brand new car. It happened leaving the highway (decreasing speed around 40-55mph) and the brake doesn't work properly when it happens (makes it hard to break and then suddenly brake at once). I was happy no one was in front of me for 3x and I could stop safely without hurting anyone. No warning or indicator light showed before problem happen, and even after. The car is currently at dealer for inspection, have a video of the dash when it happens (lights flashing and emergency beeping), dealer didn't took this serious, opened a safety complain at hyundai case #20305592 attached photo of dashboard with the message and lights after last stop this is a serious problem that could lead to a fatality soon or later, hope is only with me that this is happening.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Adaptive Cruise Control, Forward Collision Avoidance: Warnings, Vehicle Speed Control
DateSep 01, 2022
StateWA
Description
The cars gives warning warning and high beeping sounds to shift and car engine to p and then shuts of randomly. Happended to me twicw at 65mph and 35mph. Also the car randomly gives worng way notifications even on the perfectly straight road over and over again.
CategorySeats
DateAug 10, 2022
StateKY
Description
After pressing side button on seat for auto folding function the seat will no longer lock into its track. I took the vehicle to the dealership for a repair and was advised it will be a month before the part arrives on my 2 day old vehicle. I'm completely disgusted at the thought my child could be killed by a seat that just slides back and forth with nothing stopping forward or rear movement other than my drivers seat or the rear 3rd row seat. I'm pretty sure in an event of an accident forward motion to that degree would probably cause severe if not deadly injures. I currently have no use of my ls middle seat or my third row due to a ratchet strap holding the seat from plunging into my back when I brake. (using the child restraint tether points on the back of the seats). Vehicle is avaliable for inspection if needed.
CategoryEngine, Unknown Or Other
DateAug 09, 2022
StateNJ
Description
While driving on the highway, a safety alert appeared saying, “engine is off. Shift to p or n.” the car then turned off on its own, and had to be restarted. The “start/stop” ignition button, nor the shift buttons, were pressed before the alert went off. Essentially, the engine stalled and the car stopped on its own while driving.

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.

Share your story

Does this ring a bell? Have you had a bad experience too? Sound off and share your experience with other visitors in the comment box below.

Brian Jones

About the Author:

Brian Jones spent more than 20 years working as an ASE Certified Master Tech and Parts Specialist at multiple dealerships. Brian has become an authority in the industry, traveling across the country to consult for car dealerships and contributing his expertise as a writer for several major automotive publications. In his spare time, Brian enjoys working on pickup trucks, muscle cars, Jeeps and anything related to motorsports.

See more posts from Brian Jones
BE THE FIRST TO COMMENT

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead you can to our legal team.

Please select your star rating.

Briefly describe your experience Briefly describe your experience

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? Please enter a valid phone number

Want to know if you could sue? Get a free legal evaluation Lemberg Law?

Get Your No-Obligation
Case Evaluation

Send a secure message to our legal team.

What’s your name? What’s your name?
What’s your email address? What’s your email address?
What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?
Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem
Confidentiality Guarantee: We keep your information completely confidential and will not send you spam or sell your information.