2020 Lexus NX 300 Problems and Top Complaints – Is Your Car A Lemon?

Electrical system, structure, and engine issues among the top complaints received by the NHTSA from vehicle owners

By Brian Jones | Updated on

By Brian Jones | Updated on

Luxury SUVs come in a variety of sizes and styles, but the 2020 Lexus NX300 tends to stand out among the group. The automaker claims it provides “personalized comfort,” but there’s nothing comfortable about the faulty electrical system, defective engine and poorly-built structure.

 

Don’t be stuck with a lemon. You have legal rights to cash, return or buyback.

The law makes Lexus pay legal fees.

We've fixed thousands of lemon problems. Message or call 877-795-3666 today.

NHTSA Complaints for the 2020 Lexus NX 300

Complaint CategoryNumber of Complaints
Visibility/wiper
2
Unknown Or Other
2
Forward Collision Avoidance: Adaptive Cruise Control
1
Vehicle Speed Control
1
Engine
1

Problems with the Electrical System

Even on the non-luxury cars, the electrical system has to be working correctly for a good user experience. However, so much more is expected from Lexus. This system can’t just work right, it needs to be superior, but it’s not.

Read this Edmunds review. “The user interface is complicated. Navigation is the worst I have ever had, really not in par with Google or Waze. Android auto is not working so basically I use my phone screen. My suggestion skip Lexus.”

Beyond the “comforts” that don’t appear to work correctly, there are larger problems with the electrical system. Service Bulletin #L-TT-0265-19 Rev talks about how the ground fault circuit interrupter breaker could trip, but Lexus isn’t yet sure how to fix the problem. Instead, the luxury automaker is allowing customers to drive around with a defective part. This might be fine if owners only spent the amount of a Chevy compact car to get behind the wheel, but they didn’t.

Problems with the Structure

Owning a luxury vehicle means that the driver should automatically assume that the structure is well-made and durable, but that’s not what is happening with the NX either.

Here is one more Edmunds review. “Recently bought a red Lexus NX sport. I had it washed today at dealership and noticed love bugs had stained the paint. Literally the paint absorbed the bug splat. I complained to the dealership to no avail and said there was nothing they could do. They suggested a detail which would cost me $189.00.”

Beyond this, Lexus is willing to talk about other concerns. Service Bulletin #L-TT-0244-18 Rev states that the front door window glass might get scratched easily when cleaning the windows. Should customers avoid cleaning the windows at all? Probably not! Instead, Lexus might just be trying to get customers to pay the exorbitant detailing fee for the service center to do it instead.

Problems with the Engine

Most importantly, Lexus needs to provide customers with a durable engine. Yet, this vital part is just one more aspect that lets the owners down. 

Read this NHTSA complaint. “The contact owns a 2020 Lexus NX300. The contact stated that at 2:45 am there was a loud sound coming from the driveway where the vehicle was parked. They  then discovered her vehicle was on fire near the front of the hood. The tire exploded along with the windshield fracturing. The contact mentioned that the vehicle was not driven since Wednesday from the incident date on Saturday. The contact stated the fire was extinguished by the fire department, and a fire department report was filed. The insurance company inspected the vehicle and stated the cause of the fire was undetermined. The complainant mentioned that only the frame of the vehicle remained after the fire was extinguished.

The complaint continued..

Afterwards, the contact stated the vehicle would be towed to a salvage yard where an investigator was to determine what caused the fire but as of yet the vehicle was not deemed a total loss. The contact stated an unknown local dealer was contacted and informed contact there was no recalls on vehicle. The manufacturer had not been informed of failure. The failure mileage was approximately 3,500.”

Who wants to spend the crazy price tag for a Lexus SUV only to have it start on fire at any moment? Not too many customers are thinking this is a problem – but it is. It turns out, it’s not the only powertrain issue. Service Bulletin #L-SB-0002-20 Rev also talks about how fluid is leaking from some powertrain components. Has Lexus begun employing engineers from the cheap carmakers? Where has the quality gone? The only way to experience “personalized comfort” with this Lexus is to stop driving and leave it sit in the driveway.

Your Lemon Law Legal Rights

Think you have a lemon? Sit back and let the experts work out your lemon case at no cost to you. The law makes Lexus pay legal fees. You may be able to get your lemon out of your life. Every year, auto manufacturers buy back, replace or pay cash settlements to thousands of ‘lemon’ owners like you.

Complaint Data

CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Adaptive Cruise Control, Vehicle Speed Control
DateApr 14, 2021
StatePA
Description
Feature acc: controls acceleration and/or braking to maintain a prescribed distance between the vehicle and another one in front. May be able to come to a stop and continue. Safety issue: the brake lights do not come on especially when coming to a complete stop in traffic. Vehicles following my car are unaware my vehicle is coming to a complete stop, and may rear end my vehicle. I reported the issue to lexus too.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateNov 24, 2020
StateFL
Description
On 11-05-2020 I was driving my new lexus (3200 miles on it) about 55 mph on a 4 lane highway in light traffic. It was a sunny afternoon and 84 degrees. All of a sudden there was a very loud explosion sound from above our heads and then the sound of glass flying off from the vehicle onto the roadway behind us. There was no road debris, flying rocks or cement trucks nearby that might have caused a rock to fly up and break the glass on the sunroof. I thought we had been shot at. I was able to pull over off the highway and got out to inspect the damage. That's when I realized the sun roof had exploded. It exploded upward as the shards of glass indicated. The interior sun visor portion had been closed when this explosion took place otherwise my self and my passenger would have been seriously cut by flying shards of glass. It was at this point I took the pictures that I am attaching to this report. We immediately called the lexus dealer and brought the car to them on the next day. After 1 week they said the damage was caused by flying debris but did not explain how they came to this conclusion. They also said this wasn't under warranty and we have to pay 00 to have it repaired. To date, 11/24/2020 we still do not have our vehicle back from the lexus dealer. We have filed a claim with our insurance company, state farm. I disagree with this explanation and have found hundreds of documented cases such as mine that have been reported to nhtsa where the sun roof explodes outward for no reason. I hope the nhtsa will investigate these accidents and require manufacturers to use better, safer glass in the sunroofs. These sunroofs are becoming very common. Without oversight and safer materials there will be many more accidents and people will be seriously injured or worse. Please look into these sunroof accidents and help make vehicles safer.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateNov 11, 2020
StateNH
Description
Sunroof spontaneously exploded while driving on highway route 101 in new hampshire near epping. The sunroof and car windows were closed at the time. There was very little traffic on the road and the car was not near an underpass. The glass from the sunroof shattered all over the interior of the car with the majority ending up in the back seat. Fortunately, no passengers were in the back seat and there were no injuries to report. The driver pulled the car off the highway at the next exit and drove the car to a local lexus dealer for repair.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateOct 22, 2020
StateNJ
Description
Imy 2020 lexus nx 300 had a 10,000 mile service on 10-6-2020 on 10-13-20 ive notice water coming in my car from center console. Called dealer and was told bring it in on 10-15-20. Was told by them a spider web caused blockage of drain tube and flooded my interior of car. Also was not covered by warranty. As I drove the more water was coming in the car. When the car was stationary with heat/ac running more water was coming in driver side. Also was returned car after insurance denied to pay was told to pick up my car with car parts scattered inside my vehicle and missing screw covers. I also was told mold was forming and mold mediation was recommended. It was a 6800. 00 estimate. Did some research and very simialiar problems through the years have came up with lexus / toyota.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateOct 11, 2020
StateMA
Description
Dcm computer
CategoryEngine
DateJun 01, 2020
StateLA
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2020 lexus nx300. The contact stated that at 2:45 am there was a load sound coming from the driveway where the vehicle was parked. The contact then discovered her vehicle was on fire near the front of the hood. The tire exploded along with the windshield fracturing. The contact mentioned that the vehicle was not driven since wednesday from the incident date on saturday. The contact stated the fire was extinguish by the fire department, and a fire department report was filed. The insurance company inspected the vehicle and stated the cause of the fire was undetermined. The contact mentioned that only the frame of the vehicle remained after the fire was extinguished. The contact stated the vehicle would be towed to a salvage yard where an investigator was to determine what caused the fire but as of yet the vehicle was not deemed a total loss. The contact stated an unknown local dealer was contacted and informed contact there was no recalls on vehicle. The manufacturer had not been informed of failure. The failure mileage was approximately 3,500.

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. Lemberg Law has an A+ BBB rating. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.


Share your story

Does this ring a bell? Have you had a bad experience too? Sound off and share your experience with other visitors in the comment box below.

Brian Jones

About the Author:

Brian Jones spent more than 20 years working as an ASE Certified Master Tech and Parts Specialist at multiple dealerships. Brian has become an authority in the industry, traveling across the country to consult for car dealerships and contributing his expertise as a writer for several major automotive publications. In his spare time, Brian enjoys working on pickup trucks, muscle cars, Jeeps and anything related to motorsports.

See more posts from Brian Jones
1 COMMENT
  • Sherice A

    I recently bought 2019 Lexus NX 300 F Sport. Certified from a reputable Lexus dealership I have only had it for a few months. I went to setup my phone app for the Free Trails Dynamic Navgation, remote start etc.,, my phone app continues read,”Pending” I called Lexus Enform Customer Support, three times. I was told your vehicle will be pinged from our end, drive for 15 minutes , I drove it longer an tried again….nothing. I called back and I was informed by Lexus CS, THEY cannot sync the car, we can not locate it. a rep said, ” Did you receive technical support when you bought the vehicle how did you drive off and everything was not explained to you?” She continued, “You have to take it back to the dealer.”
    I made an appointment, the same guy, came out to talk with me inside my vehicle, tried to troubleshoot my phone app to the vehicle….NOTHING CHANGED. He looks up and notices a light near my SOS button, ceiling Iis not on. He goes, ” There is nothing I can do, it’s a service appointment, there a computer close to the engine its not working.i have to make a different appointment because those guys are booked for today.’ I made the appointment for the next day at 945am. I called ahead to confirm I arrived early, Checked in and was my service person tells me it’s an hour and a half procedure. After two cups of coffee and fruit Danish it’s 11am, The computer is not working, we can try one more thing, it may take an hour. I said, okay and went back to the wait area.
    I started to discuss with service guy about paint, when I bought the car, when it was washed and shining, we noticed the deep scratches on the exterior paint even though the display room was dimly lit. One of the guy were sent to try to buff them out….
    I digress. It’s now 1245p, I have to be at work by 3pm, service guy tells me the computer does not work, we ordered a new one. The bad news is on BACK ORDER you’re the 346th person in line to receive one. It could take weeks or months.

    What can I do?

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead you can to our legal team.

Please select your star rating.

Briefly describe your experience Briefly describe your experience

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? Please enter a valid phone number

Want to know if you could sue? Get a free legal evaluation Lemberg Law?

Get Your No-Obligation
Case Evaluation

Send a secure message to our legal team.

What’s your name? What’s your name?
What’s your email address? What’s your email address?
What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?
Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem
Confidentiality Guarantee: We keep your information completely confidential and will not send you spam or sell your information.