2019 Audi Q7 Problems and Top Complaints – Is Your Car A Lemon?

Electrical system, suspension and powertrain issues among the top complaints received by the NHTSA from vehicle owners

By Brian Jones | Updated on

By Brian Jones | Updated on

Three-row luxury SUVs aren’t hard to find, which is why every model needs to be on its best behavior. The 2019 Audi Q7 is supposed to be one of the best. Even the automaker claims that the new models produce “a lot to take in.” While the focus in that statement is on the size and features, they couldn’t know how right it would be. Owners are having trouble wrapping their heads around the faulty electrical system, dangerous suspension and malfunctioning powertrain.

Click on other model year to view more problems: 2018

Don’t be stuck with a lemon. You have legal rights to cash, return or buyback.

The law makes Audi pay legal fees.

We've fixed thousands of lemon problems. Message or call 877-795-3666 today.

NHTSA Complaints for the 2019 Audi Q7

Complaint CategoryNumber of Complaints
Steering
6
Electrical System
5
Engine
4
Wheels
3
Electronic Stability Control
3
Power Train
3
Unknown Or Other
2
Service Brakes
2
Forward Collision Avoidance: Warnings
1
Visibility/wiper
1

Problems with the Electrical System

The Audi Q7 is not a cheap SUV. The materials should be high-end to make owners feel that the price is justified, but that doesn’t seem to be the case with the electrical system.

One Edmunds user states, “It started with a crack in the windshield that wasn’t caused by road debris. Not covered by Audi but I had glass insurance on my auto policy. Next came the GPS system getting lost. It took 12 days to fix due to parts.Then came warning lights coming on telling of steering malfunction and distance errors.That was caused by a loose wire to a sensor another few days in the shop.The latest is a drivetrain warning that is real. The whole car started vibrating.It goes back on Monday.This is all in the space of less than 9 months.Really poor quality!!!”

Of all the manufacturer communications, the electrical system-related concerns seem to be the most popular. Apparently, Audi has a lot to talk about in this department. One such Service Bulletin is #A9119122045020_4, which talks about how the night vision system can stop working, requiring the help of the service department. If owners were dealing with one simple glitch, it would be easy to stomach, but that’s not the case. All of the electrical issues are surely “a lot to take in.”

Problems with the Suspension

When many people think of the suspension system, it doesn’t become obvious that the tires are a part of these components. When there’s a problem with the tires, drivers are at risk. Considering this is the only part of the car touching the road, there’s no room for error.

This Edmunds review states some serious concerns. “FATAL FLAW: TIRES-THERE IS NO SPARE TIRE AND TIRES ARE HARD TO FIND FOR THE 21″  I have gotten an amazing 5 flat/damaged tires in 1 year and discovered the hard way that a) there was no spare tire and b) run flats only work to limp you to a service facility.  Try being stuck 5 states away with a screw in your tire on a family trip on a Sunday where the nearest tire that fits your car is another 5 states away and would take 2-3 days to get to the local dealer.  I got the 21″ wheels which have made finding tires even harder-have YET to find an Audi dealer (my local or when have had issues while traveling) who has them in stock, much less local tire place.  And every time it happens I’m looking at $700-900 between the tire cost ($300-400), mounting and balancing.  Had no idea when I bought the car it didn’t have a spare as this is something I just assumed it did (and I have a ’16 S6 which has one).”

On top of the tire issues, there is a suspension-related recall worth mentioning. NHTSA Campaign Number 19V114000 talks about how some of the front shock absorbers can develop cracks, which allows them to loosen. When shock absorbers become loose, drivers can experience trouble steering, which could lead to an accident. Does this sound like a problem that should be occurring on a premium vehicle, such as the Q7? Apparently, creating reliable shock absorbers was too much for the company to take in.

Problems with the Transmission

A look at this luxury SUV’s powertrain shows even more defects that should be addressed.

Here’s an NHTSA complaint pointing out the trouble. “My 2019 Audi Q7 has throttle delay problems that have resulted in near accidents more than once due to no response of accelerator until 3 or 4 seconds after depressing gas pedal when attempting to merge into traffic. The dealer could not duplicate this problem, which has occurred randomly over the past year of ownership.”

Waiting three to four seconds to merge into traffic must feel like a lifetime to the driver and the people behind the Q7 hoping to get out. Surely, there have been lots of horn beeps because of these incidents, as accidents have probably also abounded. Unfortunately, the automaker doesn’t have anything to say about what’s going on with powertrain. Instead, it wants owners to stay focused on everything there is to take in, but looking at it too hard might backfire and cause car buyers to look for a different brand.

Your Lemon Law Legal Rights

Think you have a lemon? Sit back and let the experts work out your lemon case at no cost to you. The law makes Audi pay legal fees. You may be able to get your lemon out of your life. Every year, auto manufacturers buy back, replace or pay cash settlements to thousands of ‘lemon’ owners like you.

Complaint Data

CategoryEngine
DateAug 04, 2022
StateTX
Description
Under 60k miles and have a coolant pump leak/failure due to a faulty bearing with excess movement.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJun 21, 2022
StateFL
Description
The sun roof exploded with no signs on anything hitting it. I just exploded as I was driving in the open. Seems like defective glass..
CategoryEngine
DateFeb 04, 2022
StateNJ
Description
With 49,520 miles, low coolant warning came on during vehicle start up. Periodic checks had not revealed a drop in coolant. Added coolant to minimum line, and drove to dealer for 50k mile servicing. Water pump had failed! Good thing it was under warranty. Replaced at no cost. It would have been a 00 repair otherwise. Water pumps should not fail at 50k miles, not on a car this expensive. Audi had a massive recall on earlier model years of this car - it appears the current design is no better.
CategoryWheels
DateFeb 04, 2022
StateNJ
Description
At 49,520 miles, dealer reported that tires were "chopped on inner edge and waring on outer edge". Tread depth was reported as 7/32 on front, and 6/32 on back. The goodyear eagle sport run flat tires, 285/45-20, are commonly complained about on the audit q7 for poor wear patterns. It is notable that audi does not recommend or include tire rotations in the every 10k mile maintenance services, which we pre-paid for. Tire rotations, it seems, is the only thing that can minimize the poor wear patterns. Tires are always kept properly inflated, and car is driven gently. Alignment is within specification. More than a little ticked off that the oem tires do not perform adequately throughout the life of the tread. This is a known problem area, per the internet.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Warnings
DateJul 15, 2021
StateAZ
Description
The problem occurs when making a left-hand turn. I'm in the left-hand turn lane waiting for oncoming traffic to clear. When it is clear, I proceed with my left-hand turn. After a short distance, the forward collision warning indicator flashes, the brakes are applied very hard, and the car stalls. I am often left in the oncoming lane, with a stalled car. I have to put it in park, start it then put it into drive to move forward again. This takes a bit of time. This is 1) very startling, 2) makes it likely for me to be rear-ended, and 3) my car can easily be hit head-on by a car in the oncoming lane. I luckily have not been in an accident yet. This has occurred at least 5 times, with one additional time, the indicator and brakes being applied but the car did not stall. The dealer has been notified twice about this problem, and says there is no known solution they know about. This is a very serious problem. In all instances, there are no cars in sight in the oncoming lanes. These are all false alarms. The fact that there has not been a read-end collision yet is very surprising.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateMay 10, 2021
StateIL
Description
My 2019 audi q7 has now gone through 4 winshields in 2 years. I drive an expressway to work and have never had a crack on any car before. I have read into this and other audi q7 owners are complaining of the same problem. The windshield is nearly 00 to replace. I have appealed to audi, they deny a problem. People can't just keep paying for these brittle windscreens on cars. Every time something touches the screen, it cracks or chips. I have included a pdf of claims, emails and photos of some of the over 20 cracks I have had.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine, Service Brakes
DateMar 30, 2021
StateTX
Description
While overtaking another car on a 2 lane road under high acceleration (90 mph) it appeared that all electronic systems in the car failed. The display showed several systems failing after another and beeping indicators were heard. The power breaking failed, only non-power assisted breaking, power steering failed and the engine stalled during the time while overtaking another car. I could still overtake the other vehicle and was able stop the car on the side of the road. When parking I shut off the ignition, started and was able to continue. The same issue happened later on that day. Then after that event the sos malfuction warning came on as well as the engine orange led (see picture). This had no direct effect on driving and this warning stayed on for about a week. Suddenly that warning disappeared.
CategoryWheels
DateMar 30, 2021
StateMD
Description
Both front tires at 19,600 miles have tread pealing off the tire. This is occurring across the whole tread of the front tires . From the inside to the outside of both tires. The rear tires look like new. The front tires tread depth indicaters show the tire to be evenly worn across each front tire. Audi said there was a tsb concerning the tire wear of the front tires and I would have to pay for new replacement tires and alignment. There were some sheets of rubber sloughing off the tires as though they being torn from the tires
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking
DateMar 08, 2021
StateLA
Description
Forward collision engaged on a highway with no other vehicles or obstacles near. Brakes slammed on, and vehicle came to a complete stop in the roadway.
CategoryElectrical System, Equipment Adaptive/mobility, Forward Collision Avoidance
DateJan 23, 2021
StateCA
Description
faulty radar sensors and automatic emergency breaking system issues transmission problems (e. G. Hesitation on acceleration, failure to accelerate, jerking, shuddering, revving, surging, slipping, etc.) engine problems (e. G. Leaks, illumination of the check engine light, whining noise from the engine area, loss of power, stalling, rough running, etc.) electrical problems (e. G. Failure to start, door locks malfunction, illumination of the airbag warning light, steering system malfunctions, bluetooth, screen malfunction etc.) suspension problems excessive oil consumption steering system problems
CategorySteering
DateOct 12, 2020
StateVA
Description
My son driving at low speed could not maintain control of the vehicle to avoid hitting the guard rail coming off a highway. It was like he hydroplaned without a puddle in existence.
CategorySteering
DateOct 12, 2020
StateVA
Description
While turning onto an exit ramp from the highway at a low speed, my son said the steering wheel suddenly locked up (it stiffened to the point of no movement) and he couldn't turn the wheel and crashed into a guard rail.*dt consumer would like to disregard the report.*jb
CategoryElectrical System, Electronic Stability Control, Steering
DateAug 17, 2020
StateVA
Description
Beginning at 1,700 miles (happened three times), then again just two days ago at 4,700 miles, just after starting the car, the electronic waning messages and lights on dash went crazy. The following messages appeared in a rotating sequence (1) safety system malfunction (2) tire pressure malfunction (3) transmission malfunction (4) drive system malfunction (5) adaptive light malfunction (6) brakes malfunction - stop vehicle safely (7) audi pre sense currently limited (8) stabilization control esc malfunction. In addition, the power steering stopped working for 5-10 seconds while attempting to drive at low speed. The messages appeared first while stationary, but continued while driving at low and highway speeds. Each time, over the course of 24 hours, the warnings lights and messages went back to normal.
CategoryElectronic Stability Control, Steering
DateAug 16, 2020
StateCA
Description
Vehicle stability while driving on automatic driving /lane keeping system failed 3 times almost causing vehicle to loose control and crash. On 4 other occasions the vehicles lane keeping failed to keep between lanes and instead vear vehicle in different steering directions, forcing me to pull against the stearing wheel to go back straight. Audi america and local dealer continue to say everything is ok but on all three occasions I had witnesses in my car.
CategoryWheels
DateJul 23, 2020
StateTX
Description
We have a new 2019 audi q7 bought in december 2018 that has now 11900 miles on it. I noticed a few days ago that the front tires are completely damaged, for no apparent reason. The whole tires are damaged, not just one spot on the tire. They look as if someone used a cutter and cut them up and removed bits of the tire. If I had not looked at the tires and see the problem, I am afraid the tires would have blown up at some point.
CategorySteering
DateMay 16, 2020
StateOR
Description
Since day 1 of ownership 9/29/19 the 2019 audi q7 has had an intermittent electronic steering issue where steering automatically becomes heavier. This results in more effort to effectively steer the vehicle. Audi of beaverton or where the 2019 q7 was purchased new has attempted to fix twice. The second attempt resulted in full replacement of the electronic steering rack. Issue randomly presents itself while driving. Current mileage on vehicle is 3,885 miles. *tr
CategorySteering
DateMay 04, 2020
StateCA
Description
From time to time, after the auto engine shutoff engages, when I release the brake and the engine restarts, power steering isn't available for roughly 5 seconds (the car is un-steerable). This happens when the car is at a complete stop, and I'm attempting to start moving again. I've learned to put the car into "sport mode" so I don't risk my life and my families lives. The dealership claims there is nothing wrong with the vehicle. 🙁
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateMar 16, 2020
StateCA
Description
Moonroof exploded while driving 55 to 60 mph on a straight highway. There were no cars, trucks on the road ahead of me. The stretch of highway was elevated with nothing but marshland on both sides. No civilization, stores, humans etc. There was a loud pop sound like a plastic bottle had popped, then my ears popped and about one or two minutes later an explosion and shower of glass on myself and my passenger.
CategoryPower Train
DateFeb 07, 2020
StateNY
Description
My 2019 audi q7 has throttle delay problems that have resulted in near accidents more than once due to no response of accelerator until 3 or 4 seconds after depressing gas peddle when attempting to merge into traffic. The dealer could not duplicate this problem which has occurred randomly over the past year of ownership.
CategoryPower Train
DateJan 22, 2020
StateTX
Description
My audio q7 had throttle delay issues soon after purchase. The service department at the dealer told me all tests were normal and returned the car. Problems continued, especially at low speeds. There is typically a delay of about 3 seconds before the car responds and when it does I have the pedal to the floor and the car lunges forward. One delay was about 6 seconds. On one occasion I was turning left into a busy intersection and the delay occurred. An oncoming car had to brake to avoid hitting me broadside. The problem is intermittent but occurs almost daily at least once. It can occur from a dead stop but more frequently occurs at low speeds. I took the car back to the audi dealer and was given a q8 as a loaner. This loaner q8 also had the same problem. I could minimize the problem by turning off the auto start stop button and driving the car in s mode. This had not helped the problem with the q7. An acquaintance of mine bought a q8 recently and has had the same issue two times. I had the issue about 10 times with the loaner q8 and hundreds of times with the q7. I feel unsafe driving the q7 and have parked it in my driveway. I do not plan to drive it again. At this point I do not know what I will do with it. I purchased another vehicle to drive instead.
CategoryElectrical System, Latches/locks/linkages, Power Train
DateNov 04, 2019
StateNY
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2019 audi q7. After stopping the vehicle, the contact was unable to shift the gear into park. The contact activated the parking brake and exited the vehicle to remove a child from the rear seat. He stated that the vehicle doors locked independently. The contact was unable to unlock the doors using the key fob. The local law enforcement was called to the scene and was unable to unlock the doors. Audi lynbrook (855 sunrise hwy, lynbrook, ny 11563, (516) 887-5300) was contacted and was able to instruct the police on how to manually unlock the vehicle. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 5,765.
CategoryElectrical System, Electronic Stability Control, Engine
DateAug 05, 2019
StateSC
Description
I was going approximately 55 miles per hour in the center lane on the interstate. Shortly after shifting the car into sport mode, the vehicie had sequential malfunction notifications appear on my screen. The specific order is difficult to remember due to the rapidness of the whole situation. The malfunctions appearing on the screen over the steering wheel were: traction control malfunction, tpms (tire pressure monitoring system malfunction, parking brake malfunction, automatic start/stop system: malfunction, start/stop system: malfunction, and a drive system: malfunction. The majority of these warnings said to please contact service. While the malfunctions appeared the engine of my car stopped working, acceleration stopped working, and the engine did not maintain the current speed. The vehicle essentially died at highway speed while I was travelling in the middle lane. I turned on my hazard lights and was able to coast to the shoulder (after other drivers allowed me over). Once stopped I turned off the car, pressed the start/stop button which resulted in a repeat of the start/stop malfunction indicator, and it instructed me to 'manually start'. I then pressed the button off and back on again, the car then restarted. The car shifted into drive and I took it immediately to the local audi dealership.
CategoryService Brakes
DateMar 28, 2019
StateTX
Description
Front brakes engaged while driving without warning. Rear brakes ok. Front brakes overheated before I could safely stop. Smoke from front brakes evidenced the overheating. Towed to dealership who could not duplicate the problem.

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.

 

Share your story

Does this ring a bell? Have you had a bad experience too? Sound off and share your experience with other visitors in the comment box below.

Brian Jones

About the Author:

Brian Jones spent more than 20 years working as an ASE Certified Master Tech and Parts Specialist at multiple dealerships. Brian has become an authority in the industry, traveling across the country to consult for car dealerships and contributing his expertise as a writer for several major automotive publications. In his spare time, Brian enjoys working on pickup trucks, muscle cars, Jeeps and anything related to motorsports.

See more posts from Brian Jones
BE THE FIRST TO COMMENT

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead you can to our legal team.

Please select your star rating.

Briefly describe your experience Briefly describe your experience

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? Please enter a valid phone number

Want to know if you could sue? Get a free legal evaluation Lemberg Law?

Get Your No-Obligation
Case Evaluation

Send a secure message to our legal team.

What’s your name? What’s your name?
What’s your email address? What’s your email address?
What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?
Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem
Confidentiality Guarantee: We keep your information completely confidential and will not send you spam or sell your information.