2022 Ford Expedition Problems and Top Complaints – Is Your Car A Lemon?

Airbag, trailer brake, and exploding sunroof issues are among the top complaints received by the NHTSA from vehicle owners

By Brian Jones | Updated on

By Brian Jones | Updated on

Introduced as a replacement for the 2-door Ford Bronco in 1996, the Ford Expedition has become the company’s flagship SUV. According to Ford, the Expedition has nearly tripled its market share among full-size SUVs, elevating itself above competitors. But even successful flagship vehicles have problems. Those experienced by 2022 Expedition owners include faulty airbags and seatbelts, malfunctioning trailer brakes, and sunroofs that explode and shatter spontaneously.

Click on other model year to view more problems: 2017   2018   2019   2020   2021

Don’t be stuck with a lemon. You have legal rights to cash, return or buyback.

The law makes Ford pay legal fees.

We've fixed thousands of lemon problems. Message or call 877-795-3666 today.

NHTSA Complaints for the 2022 Ford Expedition

Complaint CategoryNumber of Complaints
Unknown Or Other
2
Forward Collision Avoidance: Adaptive Cruise Control
1
Vehicle Speed Control
1
Air Bags
1
Seat Belts
1
Seat Belts: Rear/other:buckle Assembly
1
Service Brakes
1
Visibility/wiper
1
Power Train
1

Currently in its fourth generation, the 2022 Ford Expedition is a full-size SUV aimed at families. Its launch media release boasts new capabilities and technologies as well as lots of new “class-exclusive” features. These include driver-assist technology aimed at making the Expedition safer and perform better than ever before.

So, what could go wrong?

The Most Common Problems with the 2022 Ford Expedition

Complaints to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) tell us what has gone wrong already. One notable issue is the complaint that sunroofs spontaneously shatter. This is not a new problem, and Lemberg Law is already investigating complaints that the 2020 Ford Expedition has faulty sunroofs that explode and shatter for no apparent reason.

Another issue that doesn’t come as any surprise is that there are problems with the 2022 Expedition’s trailer brakes. There are potentially problems with as many as 391,836 Ford vehicles, and there is already a recall in place.

While the volume of complaints to the NHTSA isn’t great, they are disturbing. In addition to sunroof and trailer brake problems, consumers have seen fit to report faulty powertrains as well as malfunctioning airbags and seat belts.

Like the sunroofs and trailer brakes, these problems are not unique to the Expedition either. For example, we have reported similar transmission issues with the 2022 F-150 and the F-250. Similarly, we pointed out that when a 2022 Ford Edge airbags did not deploy in a crash in Colorado in April 2022, a young man was injured.

Problems with Sunroofs Exploding and Shattering

There are 2 NHTSA complaints about shattering sunroofs, both of which describe a loud explosion. Both incidents happened in August 2022.

An owner from Utah, who had owned the Expedition for only 3-4 weeks, describes the experience. Driving in an express lane at highway speeds on a Sunday afternoon, she heard “a loud explosion.” The visor was closed. There were no warning lights before it happened.

She states that she was in the SUV with her three toddlers when it happened and there were no other cars nearby.

“It scared me and I immediately slowed and pulled off the road. I first thought maybe it was a tire. I checked and all were intact. Then I saw glass and looked up on my roof and noticed that the sunroof was completely blown out. I apparently lost my Panoramic portion of my sunroof, not the part that actually opens.”

Explaining that “the glass is angled out like a slope up a mountain,” she adds that it was lucky the visor was closed because it minimized the volume of glass that entered the cab. When she filed the complaint two days after the incident, she was still waiting for feedback from the dealer.

The second incident happened in Vermont on the interstate on “a nice, sunny day.” This driver was also in a 2022 Ford Expedition with three toddlers and there were no other cars around. The children were in car seats in the middle row and she was traveling at about 65 mph.

“We heard a loud explosion and the front panel of the panoramic sunroof glass covered the inside of my vehicle.” Shards of glass went all over the three toddlers and the driver, in their hair, on the car seats, and into every possible part of the car interior.

Dangerous Airbag Problems

There is only 1 complaint about the 2022 Ford Expedition airbags. But 1 complaint is 1 too many, especially when 3 people are injured.

The owner of a 2022 Expedition from Arizona was driving at about 45 mph. Suddenly, another vehicle, making a U-turn, crashed into the rear passenger door. None of the airbags in the Expedition deployed.

It’s not clear how many people were in the vehicle at the time, but the owner reports 3 injuries including whiplash.

The son sitting in the front passenger seat was forced forward by the impact. His seatbelt retractor failed to lock, which caused him to hit his chest against the instrument panel. He needed medical attention and was taken to hospital for a CT scan of his sternum.

The other son was sitting in the rear passenger seat. On impact, his seat belt unlatched and hit the window.

They filed a police report and opened a case before filing the NHTSA complaint.

Powertrain Transmission Problems

Imagine driving at 15 mph when there is a sudden, abnormally loud noise from your SUV for no apparent reason. No warning lights or anything. This is what happened to a 2022 Ford Expedition owner in Florida whose SUV had about 6,000 miles on the clock.

While the vehicle was no longer drivable, the owner was able to park on the side and get out before having it towed to a dealer.

The dealer diagnosis was that the hose from the radiator to the transmission should be replaced.

Trailer Brake Problems

In March 2022, Ford recalled 391,836 vehicles because of a possibility that their trailer brakes may fail. If this happens, the stopping distance of the vehicles could be extended, which increases the risk of a crash.

The problem is a software error. Because of it, a towed trailer equipped with an electric or electric-over hydraulic brake system may not brake.

It isn’t clear how many 2022 Ford Expedition owners are impacted because 2021-2022 Ford F-150, 2022 Ford F-250, F-350, F-450, and F-550, 2022 Ford Maverick, and 2022 Lincoln Navigators are also on the list of affected vehicles.

There is one NHTSA complaint from a Ford Expedition owner in California who reports a “trailer brake system fault.” It’s not clear whether this person has experienced a failure. But the complaint also states that “it is likely the trailer brake system will not function when I hook up a trailer.”

What to do if your 2022 Ford Expedition is a lemon? Your Lemon Rights

If you think your 2022 Ford Expedition might be a lemon you could probably do with some help. Lemberg Law specializes in lemon law, and we have helped many clients who found themselves with problem vehicles.

It’s a lot easier for an experienced lawyer to negotiate settlement deals with manufacturers than for owners with little or no knowledge.

All you need to do is fill in our contact form or call our Helpline, and we will do a free assessment. Never forget that the law says Ford must pay the legal fees of lemon law cases.

Complaint Data

CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Adaptive Cruise Control, Vehicle Speed Control
DateDec 01, 2022
StateVA
Description
General: while driving this rental vehicle over the span of three days, I noticed and confirmed over a dozen times that the vehicle's speed control would dramatically increase with no driver input or actions. Specific: the vehicle's cruise control would be on and active, set at various speeds; 55, 60, 65, 70, 75 (long, straight road with varying speed limits). In different circumstances (sometimes when being overtaken by another vehicle, or cresting a hill or when beginning to climb a hill), the speed control, while set would immediately, with no driver input other than light steering increase to 15-30 mph above the speed at which the cruise control was set. Over the period of three days of rental I was able to verify this behavior many times and I was able to capture a video that shows the speed set increase from 65 mph to 90 mph immediately, and the vehicle would begin aggressive acceleration. I have a clear video of the steering wheel and gauge cluster that I cannot attach to this report, but will email upon request. In the video, the malfunction is at the 13 second mark. In this video, the speed control setting increased from 65mph immediately to 90mph and the vehicle started accelerating. Switching the speed control off, or tapping the brake ceased the acceleration, as expected. Vehicle was reported to national car rental and an attempt was made to report it to ford. Because it was a rental, I am unaware of any corrective action or inspection that may have, or may take place.
CategoryAir Bags, Seat Belts, Seat Belts: Rear/other:buckle Assembly
DateOct 05, 2022
StateAZ
Description
The contact owns a 2022 ford expedition. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 45 mph, a vehicle that was making a u-turn crashed into the rear passenger side door and that after the impact, all of the air bags failed to deploy. The contact's son, who was seated in the front passenger seat, had his seatbelt retractor failed to lock as a result he lunged forward from the impact and causing him to hit his chest against the instrument panel. Additionally, the contact stated that her other son was seated in the rear passenger seat and that after the impact, his seat belt was unlatched inadvertently and hit the window. No warning lights were illuminated. A police report was filed. The contact stated that her son, who was seated in the front passenger seat required medical attention and was taken to the hospital for a ct of his sternum and that all other passengers had whiplash. The vehicle has not been diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and a case was opened and the contact was advised to file a complaint with the nhtsa hotline. The approximate failure mileage was 94,000.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateOct 03, 2022
StateIN
Description
Loud booming sound followed by loud crackling coming from speakers. Thought I was in an accident and slammed on the brakes. No one was behind me, but if there was, the person may not have been able to stop. Happened yesterday 10/2/2022 at huber farms in indiana at slow speed. Also happened on 9/12/2022 when stopped. Went to bloomington indiana community ford while it was still crackling. A service department staff came and did something and the crackling finally stopped. They could not diagnose the problem and returned the car to me on 9/15/2022.
CategoryService Brakes
DateSep 22, 2022
StateCA
Description
Trailer brake system fault - it is likely the trailer brake system will not function when I hook up a trailer
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateAug 23, 2022
StateUT
Description
I was driving in the express lane nb I-15 in utah. I was at highway speeds with no one around me. I had the visor that closed on my sunroof when all of a sudden I hear a loud explosion, it scared me and I immediately slowed and pulled off the road. I first thought maybe it was a tire, I checked and all were intact, then I saw glass and looked up on my roof and noticed that the sunroof was completely blown out. I apparently lost my panoramic portion of my sunroof, not the part that actually opens, the fixed portion. The glass is angled out like a slope up a mountain. I am lucky the visor was closed as it minimized the glass inside the vehicle and onto my kids. I just bought this vehicle from ford on a special order and took possession of it 3-4 weeks ago. This was on a sunday afternoon 8/21. I took it straight to the dealer monday morning 8/22, they currently still have the vehicle. I have had no updates from the dealer. No warning lamps/lights before or after the incident.
CategoryPower Train
DateAug 18, 2022
StateFL
Description
The contact owns a 2022 ford expedition. The contact stated while driving approximately 15 mph, she heard an abnormally loud sound coming from the vehicle. The contact stated no warning light was illuminated. The contact was able to park on the side of the road and safely exited the vehicle. The vehicle was not drivable. The contact towed the vehicle to the local dealer, where it was diagnosed with needing a hose from the radiator to the transmission to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer had been informed of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 6,000.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateAug 18, 2022
StateVT
Description
While I was driving 65mph on the interstate with my three children in car seats in the middle row we heard a loud explosion and the front panel of the panoramic sunroof glass covered the inside of my vehicle, all of myself and my three toddlers. It was a nice sunny day. No trees or cars were around us. Shards of glass were in all of our hair, car seats, stroller and everywhere else in the car.

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.

Share your story

Does this ring a bell? Have you had a bad experience too? Sound off and share your experience with other visitors in the comment box below.

Brian Jones

About the Author:

Brian Jones spent more than 20 years working as an ASE Certified Master Tech and Parts Specialist at multiple dealerships. Brian has become an authority in the industry, traveling across the country to consult for car dealerships and contributing his expertise as a writer for several major automotive publications. In his spare time, Brian enjoys working on pickup trucks, muscle cars, Jeeps and anything related to motorsports.

See more posts from Brian Jones
BE THE FIRST TO COMMENT

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead you can to our legal team.

Please select your star rating.

Briefly describe your experience Briefly describe your experience

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? Please enter a valid phone number

Want to know if you could sue? Get a free legal evaluation Lemberg Law?

Get Your No-Obligation
Case Evaluation

Send a secure message to our legal team.

What’s your name? What’s your name?
What’s your email address? What’s your email address?
What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?
Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem
Confidentiality Guarantee: We keep your information completely confidential and will not send you spam or sell your information.