2019 Acura MDX Problems and Top Complaints – Is Your Car A Lemon?

Visibility, brakes and speed control issues among the top complaints received by the NHTSA from vehicle owners

By Brian Jones | Updated on

By Brian Jones | Updated on

Driving the family around in a luxury SUV is everyone’s dream, which is why many consumers opted to purchase the 2019 Acura MDX. This model is hailed as having “supercar handling in a luxury SUV,” but consumers are finding something completely different. From not being able to see out of the windshield to defective brakes and malfunctioning vehicle speed control, this SUV is a dangerous automobile for any busy family.

Click on other model year to view more problems: 2020  2022 

Don’t be stuck with a lemon. You have legal rights to cash, return or buyback.

The law makes Acura pay legal fees.

We've fixed thousands of lemon problems. Message or call 877-795-3666 today.

NHTSA Complaints for the 2019 Acura MDX

Complaint CategoryNumber of Complaints
Electrical System
15
Engine
13
Unknown Or Other
11
Power Train
7
Visibility/wiper
6
Vehicle Speed Control
5
Fuel/propulsion System
5
Service Brakes
5
Forward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking
3
Steering
2

Problems with the Windshield

When a driver gets behind the wheel, it’s naturally expected that it will be simple to see out of the windshield, yet MDX owners are finding something entirely opposite.

One NHTSA review documents the experience perfectly. It states, “The front windshield is distorted on both the driver and passenger side, pillar areas. When looking through the windshield at these points, the glass is extremely distorted and causes nausea. This portion of the glass is unavoidable as you need to view the entire windshield in order to check for pedestrians, vehicles, or other objects. It appears this is a flaw with many of the 2019 Acura MDX’s and should be addressed appropriately.”

Driving the MDX literally makes people want to throw up. That’s not a positive that should be boasted about. But, more importantly, the windshield design is causing dangerous driving conditions. If not being able to see out the windshield isn’t scary enough, how about adding defective taillights to the mix? NHTSA Campaign Number 19V256000 discusses a recall that affects over 300,000 vehicles. It appears that moisture can get into the tailgate lid and cause the lights to malfunction. Basically, this “supercar” causes drivers to operate the vehicle blindly, while other people can’t see the SUV at night.

Here are some actual complaints logged with the NHTSA about the 2019 Acura MDX Distorted Windshield Problems

RECENTLY PURCHASED A NEW 2019 MDX AND THE FRONT WINDSHIELD IS SEVERELY DISTORTED. THIS IS OCCURRING ALONG A WIDE BAND NEAR THE FRONT PASSENGER AND DRIVER SIDE PILLARS. OBJECTS SUCH AS VEHICLES AND PEDESTRIANS APPEAR WAVY AND SEVERELY DISTORTED WHILE DRIVING. IT IS VERY EVIDENT WHEN TURNING OR AT BENDS IN ROADS THAT REQUIRE LOOKING ACROSS THE VEHICLE. IT ALSO CAUSES DIFFICULTIES WHILE AT AN INTERSECTION AND CHECKING FOR ONCOMING TRAFFIC. WHEN DRIVING AND LOOKING THROUGH THESE PORTIONS OF THE WINDSHIELD IT CAUSES BLURRED PERCEPTION, MOMENTARY DIZZINESS AND DISORIENTATION WHICH IS VERY UNSAFE.

I PURCHASED A 2019 ACURA MDX TWO DAYS AGO AND NOTICED TODAY THAT THERE IS OPTICAL DISTORTION ON FRONT WINDSHIELD. CLEARLY THE DISTORTIONS AFFECT MY VISIBILITY. THE OBJECTS THROUGH DISTORTED WINDSHIELD APPEAR BENT/CURVED. I FEEL DIZZINESS AND NAUSEA FROM THE OBJECT DISTORTIONS. I WOULDN’T PURCHASE THIS VEHICLE IF I KNEW MDX HAS THIS TYPE OF PROBLEM FOR LONG TIME. SAFETY IS MY TOP PRIORITY SINCE I HAVE THREE CHILDREN.

Problems with the Vehicle Speed Control

When the gas pedal is pressed, a vehicle should move. When the brakes are depressed, the vehicle should stop. However, simple operations, such as controlling speeds, are anything but normal with the 2019 Acura MDX.

Just read this documented NHTSA complaint. “The contact owns a 2019 Acura MDX. While driving various speeds, the vehicle accelerated on its own. The failure occurred while slowing down and approaching a stop light and also while driving at highway speeds. The vehicle was taken to [dealer], but the failure could not be duplicated and the cause of the failure was not determined. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and provided case number: 09964379. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 1,000.”

Unfortunately, the automaker has yet to comment publicly on what could be causing vehicle speed control issues, but it’s not a random concern. Many owners are taking to the Internet to complain about the exact same condition. It’s clear that something wasn’t manufactured correctly in this luxury SUV. Maybe the system is taking on that “supercar” persona and attempting to go faster than it should.

Here are some actual complaints logged with the NHTSA about the 2019 Acura MDX Sudden Acceleration

THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY ACCELERATES ITSELF. THIS IS ESPECIALLY TRUE IN LOW SPEEDS. THERE HAVE BEEN NUMEROUS TIMES THAT I AM DRIVING SLOWLY IN A PARKING RAMP AND THE VEHICLE WILL JUST SHOOT FORWARD AS THOUGH I AM PRESSING THE GAS PEDAL, WHEN I AM NOT! I AM GRATEFUL THAT NO ONE WAS INJURED DUE TO THIS – BUT THIS IS DANGEROUS AND HONDA NEEDS TO LISTEN AND DO SOMETHING.

Problems with the Brakes

With all of the speed issues, it becomes more important than ever to have functioning service brakes, but this is yet another area that the MDX fails in.

Another NHTSA user commented, “After vehicle powered off and after couple of hours later, the brake pedal gets very stiff. So, tremendous force needs to apply to start the engine. After around 600 miles of driving this new vehicle, this problem happened. My wife is primarily driving this vehicle. And thus she is getting knee pain issues to stiff brake pedal. Acura confirmed this is a known issue but they denied to fix it.”

It appears that drivers of the MDX experience one extreme or the other. While this complaint discusses trouble pushing the brake pedal, a recall talks about reduced brake performance in general. According to NHTSA Campaign Number 18V777000, it appears more than 64,000 vehicles were sold with an insufficient brake caliper piston coating that causes air pockets to form, leaving owners in danger. Of course, even when the brakes are applied in this vehicle, others can’t see it when the tail lights stop working. Whether it’s the visibility, brakes or speed control, this luxury SUV needs to be called a lemon instead of a supercar. It’s a danger waiting to happen on America’s roadways, and most people don’t realize the depth of all the problems.

Here are some actual complaints logged with the NHTSA about the 2019 Acura MDX Brake Problems

THE ANTI COLLISION SYSTEM IS DEFECTIVE AND IT’S PUTTING MY FAMILY AT RISK. IT SLAMS ON BRAKES BY ITSELF WITHOUT ANY OBSTACLE IN FRONT. IT STARTED HAPPENING MORE AND MORE FREQUENTLY. CALLED THE ACURA DEALRSHIP AND THEY CLAIM IT’S NORMAL AND THE CAR WOULD BREAK FOR ANY PERCEIVED OBSTACLE IN FRONT OF IT.

BREAKING LIGHT GOES ON AND THE BRAKE GETS STUCK AND MAKES A GRASPING NOISE LIKE SOMETHING IS GRINDING AND THE PEDAL IS STUCK DOWN.

Your Lemon Law Legal Rights

Think you have a lemon? Sit back and let the experts work out your lemon case at no cost to you. The law makes Acura pay legal fees. You may be able to get your lemon out of your life. Every year, auto manufacturers buy back, replace or pay cash settlements to thousands of ‘lemon’ owners like you.

Complaint Data

CategoryEngine
DateDec 05, 2022
StateNY
Description
The contact owns a 2019 acura mdx. The contact stated that on numerous occasions while driving approximately 55 mph, the vehicle failed to respond as needed. The contact stated that the engine revved however, the vehicle went into limp mode for 10 seconds and then operated normally. The vehicle was taken to the dealer however, the failure could not be duplicated. No warning lights were illuminated. The manufacturer was notified of the failure; however, the contact never received a reply. The failure mileage was approximately 55,000.
CategoryElectrical System
DateNov 13, 2022
StateFL
Description
While in traffic the auto start sometimes fails to engage and the car stalls. Battery lights come on and the car goes into neutral on its own. I have to sit there and wait about 5 minutes in traffic before it restarts. Battery checked out fine. It has happened 3 times now. This is dangerous, and can/will cause a collision.
CategoryEngine, Fuel/propulsion System, Power Train
DateNov 05, 2022
StateNY
Description
During idle stop at red light car stops and goes into neutral and engine stalls. 2019 mdx won't move unless completely restart the car in the middle of busy intersection. High risk for accident and injury. There is few recall mention in acura site for 2019 mdx, but when input vin number its claims no recall to this vehicle . Need urgent help.
CategoryElectrical System
DateNov 04, 2022
StateNJ
Description
When stopped at a light or in traffic the vehicle engages the auto idle feature. (turns off the engine to save gas). Upon releasing the brake, the car should re-start, instead the car does not start. The car jumps out of the drive gear into neutral on the transmission. The electrical system goes crazy and does not allow you to either turn off the car's electrical system or re-restart the car using the car's on/off button. This has happened to me at least 5-10 times over the last year. Each time the car becomes immobile in the middle of the road or highway for up to 2 minutes, until the electrical system resets and allows you to turn off all the power and re-start the car. It's a very scary and dangerous situation, when my vehicle is stranded in the middle of a highway or a road for up to 2 minutes, as traffic tries to avoid crashing into my vehicle. Searching online, I was able to see that this same condition has affected many mdx owners but honda does not seem to have recall or fix for this issue.
CategoryElectrical System: Instrument Cluster/panel, Fuel System, Gasoline
DateOct 07, 2022
StateTX
Description
The contact owns a 2019 acura mdx. The contact stated that he recurringly experienced failures with the instrument panel brightness being dimmed and then not displaying properly as needed. The contact turned off and restarted the vehicle and the instrument panel operated as designed. No warning lights were illuminated. The vehicle was taken twice to a local dealer; however, the failure was not duplicated, and the vehicle was not repaired. On another occasion while driving and using the gps, the displayed failed operate as needed. After turning off and restarting the vehicle, the instrument panel operated as needed. The vehicle was then taken back to the local dealer however, the mechanic was unable to duplicate the failure. The contact stated that the vehicle was however, repaired under nhtsa campaign number: 21v215000 (fuel system, gasoline). After the repair, the contact stated that the vehicle fuel tank was at half full however, the fuel gauge indicated that the tank was empty. The contact stated that the instrument panel then became inoperable. The failure persisted and the contact would turn off and restart the vehicle for the instrument panel to operate as needed; however, the speedometer would remain inoperable. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact sought legal advice and his attorney advised him to file a complaint with the nhtsa hotline. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 20,000.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine
DateSep 28, 2022
StateNY
Description
The contact owns a 2019 acura mdx. The contact stated that while stationary at a traffic light, the vehicle stalled. The contact stated that the battery warning light was illuminated temporarily. The contact was able to restart the vehicle and continued driving to her destination. The contact stated the had occurred four times. The contact took the vehicle to a local dealer who was unable to duplicate the failure. The manufacturer had not been informed of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 59,000.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateSep 27, 2022
StateVA
Description
In stop and go traffic on a highway, the car went to auto idle mode, then shifted to neutral by itself instead of restarting to drive. This was a safety issue in that I was on a major 4 lane highway with my kids and could've been hit from behind. The only thing I could do was completely turn off and restart the car. There were no warning lights. It has not been inspected by the dealer yet. There have been similar reports of this occurring: https://www. Mdxers. Org/threads/2019-mdx-auto-stop-feature-causes-car-to-stall-or-shift-to-neutral. 175759/
CategoryElectrical System:12v/24v/48v Battery
DateSep 07, 2022
StateNJ
Description
The contact owns a 2019 acura mdx. The contact stated while at a stop light and attempting to make a left turn, the vehicle lost motive power and stalled. The contact stated that a warning message to "park and restart” the vehicle was displayed. The contact shifted the vehicle into park(p) and attempted to restart the vehicle however, the vehicle would not start immediately. The contact stated that after several attempts the vehicle restarted. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and the contact was informed that the brake assist feature had drained the battery. The contact was informed that the battery needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was not contacted. The failure mileage was 32,000.
CategoryElectrical System:instrument Panel:fuel Gauge:fuel Level Float/sensor/sending Unit
DateSep 01, 2022
StateMD
Description
The contact owns a 2019 acura mdx. The contact referenced nhtsa campaign number: 21v215000 (fuel system, gasoline). The contact stated that after refueling the vehicle and driving several miles, the fuel gauge fluctuated to empty. The contact stated that the fuel gauge would indicate the incorrect amount of the fuel in t fuel tank. No warning light was illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the failure could not be duplicated. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and the contact was informed that there was no recall on the vin, and transferred the contact to the nhtsa hotline. The failure mileage was approximately 44,000.
CategoryEngine
DateAug 27, 2022
StateNY
Description
The auto stop feature is enabled by default when the car is started. When stopped at a traffic light or in a traffic jam, the auto stop turns off the engine and is supposed to restart when the drivers foot is off the brake. The engine unexpectedly will not restart, and the car must be put in park, turned off, and restarted. This is dangerous in heavy traffic. The dealer replaced the battery as an attempted repair. The problem reoccurred. The dealer then updated the software, which also did not solve the problem. The dealer advised that honda is aware of the problem and currently has no solution. I was advised to manually turn off the auto stop feature until a solution can be found.
CategoryElectrical System
DateAug 21, 2022
StateNJ
Description
When the idle stop comes on it shifts the car to neutral and I must shut off the car to get it to start again. This happens while on the highway and is unsafe.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine
DateAug 19, 2022
StateCT
Description
On a few occasions, while at a stop light the auto idle engaged. When I lifted my foot from the brake pedal, which should restart the engine, the car shifts automatically into neutral and cannot restart the engine. The dash shows a message saying that I must now shift to park. I have to then turn the car off, while in traffic, and then restart. This happens while in traffic, causing everyone behind me to wait or drive around. I have taken this to acura of stamford twice already, and they cannot recreate it. I have pictures of the car when it was in neutral. Other people have reported this occurring on a 2019 mdx as well.
CategoryElectrical System, Unknown Or Other
DateJul 19, 2022
StateGA
Description
I was driving my car with my infant daughter in the backseat. We were stopped at a red light in the middle of a busy intersection. The car was in idle mode. When I went to turn left the car shifted into neutral. I could not go into drive. I had to turn the car off and turn it back on again to get it to move out of the intersection. We almost got rear ended. When my husband brought the car in the shop they ran diagnostic testing and said nothing was wrong. Only that the problem may be caused by a low battery. They replaced the battery and let my husband drive home. I want to know why there was no low battery warning light? Also why do I have to almost have a collision to find out the battery doesn't work?
CategoryElectrical System, Fuel/propulsion System, Unknown Or Other
DateJul 11, 2022
StateMD
Description
I have had problems with the car stalling or shifting to neutral from drive after the auto stop feature is engaged. This typically happens when the engine tries to restart after having shutoff at the stop. It is difficult to replicate the problem and the dealer can't seem to replicated the problem but it has happened to me many times, particularly in hot weather or after long drives. Typically it happens after a long drive or a lot of around town driving (maybe when the engine is hot?). The dealer does not believe it is related to the fuel pump replacement but that is when it seemed to have started happening but this is entirely speculation. Very frustrating as I have been to the dealer 3 times with the problem and they cannot "replicate" it. They supposedly also replaced the battery and updated the software in the car but that has not solved it. I am growing concerned because it is very dangerous, particularly when stopped at a busy intersection. The last stall happened and it took a minute or so to get the car running again at a busy and large intersection. I am also worried about the happening when on an incline. It doesn't happen all of the time, sometimes there is just a hesitation but the car starts and lurches forward. I have a 2019 with about 35k miles on it and have used primarily for long distance trips and not much around town driving. I have attached the dealer work orders for the three visits but stopped bringing the car in because it has been a waste of time as they are unable to find the issue. Also, I have reported the issue twice to american honda and they have sent me back to the dealer with no results. This is a dangerous situation and I noticed that there is a related recall for the acura tlx model with the same engine. This problem is ongoing and has happened to me twice in the past 2 days if I forget to disable the auto shutoff feature. Thanks.
CategoryStructure:body:hatchback/liftgate:support Device/strut
DateMay 11, 2022
StateGA
Description
Rear tail gate lift motors are overheating and won't open rear hatch. The motors will lift the gait for about 5 or 6 openings, then the gate will not lift at all. The vehicle has to sit overnight for the system to "cool down". Once it cools down, the tailgate will operate the next date, but will operate only once. The car has to once again, sit overnight, in order to lift the tailgate 1 time. If the motors of the gate are overheating, this is a safety potential fire issue. At this time I am being told the motors are on back order, and I have no manual override in this vehicle to lift the tailgate hatch. If the same motors are being put back in the vehicle, without any modifications, this will not suffice.
CategoryEngine, Vehicle Speed Control
DateApr 14, 2022
StateAR
Description
I was getting ready to pass a semi and when I went to accelerate I had no power. I pushed the pedal several times with no power. Then it finally kicked in and the car accelerated. I was almost rear ended due to me losing power. This has happened multiple times. No lights ever come on. I am also experiencing the car completely shutting off while stopped. When it does this, a message pops up that I need to shift to park. It takes a few tries and then I can restart the car. I have taken it to the dealership and they can't replicate either issue. They told me there are no tsb's on these issues. Dates this occurred in 2021: 8/27, 9/9, 10/5, 11/5. Dates this occurred in 2022: 3/4, 3/28, and 4/10.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine, Unknown Or Other
DateMar 31, 2022
StateFL
Description
I was stopped at a light and as the light changed to green I began to accelerate to enter the on ramp to 75n. While driving onto the on ramp many warning lights came on as my car shifted into neutral on its own. I couldn't accelerate, switch it back to drive. Or depress the break as it was locked. The car stopped and would not move on the entrance ramp to a busy highway. I called 911 because I was almost hit multiple times as I could not move the car. Fdot came to assist and saw that I could not depress the break, remove the emergency break, or get the car to move. After a few minutes we turned the car off and it started back up with no problem. The vehicle had to be towed to the dealer on 3/30/2022. Upon searching on the internet, I saw that this is not a new issue. I could have been killed yesterday while on the phone with 911 on the on ramp to the highway with vehicles approaching at a very high rate of speed and having to slam on their breaks and swerve off the road to avoid hitting me.
CategoryElectrical System, Fuel/propulsion System, Unknown Or Other
DateMar 18, 2022
StateKS
Description
On several occasions when auto start/stop is engaged the vehicle will shift into neutral on its own upon restart. The engine will just rev and not go back into drive until you put it in park and then drive again. This has caused us to stall in front of a semi and 2 other vehicles. The dealer has replicated the issue on multiple occasions and is now there for a 3rd time. First 'fix' was charge the battery second 'fix' was adjust exhaust and transmission valves third 'fix' is replacing the fuel pump there was a 2019 recall for acura mdx but this vin does not show up for that.
CategoryElectrical System, Unknown Or Other
DateMar 14, 2022
StateOR
Description
When at a red light, I pushed the brake and the auto idle stop feature become engaged. When the light turned green and I lifted my foot off the brake, the car went into neutral and would not move or start. In order to turn the car back on, I needed to put the car in park mode and then restart the car. This is a safety hazard since this happened at a busy intersection, with no warning, and cars needed to go around me. This happened twice before I could bring my car in to get it checked. The acura service department changed our battery.
CategoryPower Train
DateMar 05, 2022
StateCT
Description
Acceleration has a very slow response after pressing gas pedel, transmission is very jerky only 12000 miles on car. It can lead into accidents at traffic or other
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Forward Collision Avoidance: Warnings
DateJan 08, 2022
StateWA
Description
My fcw/auto-brake settings are all set to minimum interference. In approaching a left turn (via green arrow) the car in front of mine abruptly stopped, and immediately moved again. I stopped, just as the system did. It however, held the brake for 2-3 seconds and I was almost rear-ended by the person behind me for not moving again with traffic. The following has happened at least 3 times: on a 2-lane curvy road the fcw has abruptly engaged the brake for an oncoming vehicle when we are both in our own lanes.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking
DateDec 28, 2021
StateMD
Description
The contact owns a 2019 acura mdx. The contact stated that while driving approximately 65 mph, the forward collision-avoidance automatic emergency braking suddenly activated causing the vehicle to abruptly stop in the middle of the road. During the failure, the dashboard warning lights and messages remained illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the local dealer who serviced the vehicle. No further information was available. The contact indicated that the failure reoccurred approximately three months later. The manufacturer was not yet notified. The failure mileage was 41,000.
CategoryEngine, Fuel/propulsion System, Power Train
DateDec 03, 2021
StateTX
Description
I think this recall needs to be expanded: honda and acura have recalled 2019 and 2020 vehicles including the cr-v and accord for fuel pumps which can malfunction and cause the engine to lose power. My wife recently had her 2019 mdx stall on her in an intersection and she had to turn off the car and turn it back on so it would work. It sounds exactly like the below: “while driving, the vehicle shifts into neutral, the transmission indicator comes and dtc p0657 (actuator supply voltage circuit/open) is stored. The driver will not be able to select any other gear until the vehicle is turned off and restarted. Update the pgm-fi [programmed fuel injection] software and the tcm software, clear any dtcs [diagnostic trouble codes], and do the pcm [powertrain control module] idle learn procedure.” - tsb 15-034 additionally, may 23, 2021 we had an experience where the same mdx decelerated as we merged into traffic at I-30 and I-820 in ft. Worth. I let off the accelerator going 60-70 mph and then stepped on the accelerator to complete my merge and there was no power. Speed dropped to around 20 almost instantly. I had to completely let off the accelerator and depress it again to get going. Very scary situation considering how fast people drive on texas freeways. These are two big issues honda/acura needs to address asap as both put consumers at risk of injury and possibly death.
CategoryService Brakes
DateAug 30, 2021
StateMD
Description
The contact owns a 2019 acura mdx. The contact stated that while driving approximately 3-4 mph, he depressed the brake pedal but it failed to respond. The contact drove into a pole. The brake message was displayed. There was no reported injuries, fire or air bag deployment. A police report was not filed. The vehicle was towed to the local dealer but, the vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 37,000.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJul 26, 2021
StateCA
Description
car feels like being locked while I can only be able to drive at a very low speed(maybe 1m/h). Dealership said everything is fine. They don't see the problem. They did nothing to address these issue. Two messages on dashboard: electronic parking brake problem, emissions system problem. First appear on 7/23/2021 just when the issue appears.
CategoryEngine, Fuel/propulsion System, Structure:body
DateJan 23, 2021
StateTX
Description
The car caught fire spontaneously in the parking area. We called 911 and the fire brigade took about an hour to get the fire under control. We had gone to chickfila (about 6 miles total distance) and the car had been parked for maybe 5 minutes when we saw a fire engulf the front portion. I put water on it while waiting for 991 response.
CategoryEngine, Power Train
DateSep 25, 2020
StateNY
Description
Vehicle goes into 'go limp' when I accelerate or change lanes. Very dangerous situation when passing on a two lane country road (happened twice) and merging onto a highway with a short entrance ramp. This could potentially lead to a major accident and we don't feel comfortable driving this vehicle in these situations.
CategoryPower Train, Vehicle Speed Control
DateSep 15, 2020
StateTN
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2019 acura mdx. The contact stated while her husband was driving at 75 mph, the vehicle went into limp mode. The vehicle failed to accelerate. The contact stated that several seconds later the jerked and accelerated without warning. The contact stated that on one occasion, there was a popping sound coming from the dashboard. The contact called harper acura (9739 kingston pike, knoxville, tn 37922) and informed the dealer of the failure and scheduled an appointment. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and provided a case number. The failure mileage was approximately 30,000.
CategoryElectrical System, Unknown Or Other
DateAug 27, 2020
StateMO
Description
Infotainment system experiences periodic failures causing inability to control climate/temperature controls, communications, navigation, and vehicle settings including safety settings. It occurs when driving in city and on highway regardless of conditions or speed, when stationary, can at times be corrected by pulling off the road and restarting the car, but sometimes it just takes time to resolve. Acura stated this is caused by the connection to the cell phone, but occurs even when no phone is connected to or in the car. This issue is a significant distraction to the drivers attention, and can for exposure to extreme to outside temperatures below freezing and above 95f in high humidity mo summer heat. Multiple attempts to repair the vehicle have failed, arbitration with ncds ruled in my favor for acura to repair the vehicle which they cannot do, it is a known issue with acura vehicles and they continue to sell, and there are multiple current class action lawsuits against acura and their parent honda motor company for the identical issue with different models from the same model year. My attemepts to trade and sell the vehical have been thwarted by occurances of critical failure of these electronic/computer based systems. I am currently arbitrating acura (non-legal) for the resolution of these unsafe driving experience.
CategoryElectrical System
DateAug 15, 2020
StateAL
Description
While driving at highway speed, there was single "pop" sound that seemed to come from inside the dashboard between the on demand multifunction display (odmd) and the instrument panel. The navi screen then became solid black. After a very short time and while still at highway speed, the navi screen briefly showed the view from the backup camera. After a few seconds both the navi screen and the odmd screen became solid black and remained that way. Then, within seconds, light colored, grayish smoke began flowing out into the vehicle from the cd slot on the odmd. Immediately, there was an odor in the car like that from burning plastic or electrical insulation. As soon as possible the car was pulled off the highway and the engine was turned off. The smoke continued to come out of the cd slot until the engine was turned off, then the smoke stopped coming out. After several minutes the engine was restarted and the car was driven to a safer location. There was no smoke coming from the cd slot after the car was restarted and while driving the car to the dealership for service the next day. An odor like that from an electrical fire remained noticeable in the vehicle. Prior to the event, the driver observed no vehicle warning indications, and both the navi and the odmd appeared to be functioning normally. The cd player was not being used. The dealership service manager advised me that they consulted with acura engineering personnel, inspected and tested wiring inside the dashboard and have isolated the cause of the problem to "a short in the radio." the dealer says that the odmd and the hard disk drive have been sent to alpine to determine the cause of failure at alpine's request. I have asked the dealership to confirm that the repairs to the vehicle will ensure that this kind of event will not recur.
CategoryEngine, Power Train
DateJul 13, 2020
StateVA
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2019 acura mdx. The contact stated that while her husband was driving approximately 55 mph, the vehicle loss motive power and stalled with several unknown warning lights illuminated. The vehicle was restarted and was driven to the residence in limp mode. The vehicle was then towed to pohanka acura located at 13911 lee jackson memorial hwy, chantilly, va 20151 however, the cause of the failure was not yet determined. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 13,353.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJun 24, 2020
StateCO
Description
This is a very thankful compliment, not a complaint. On 20 february 2020, a 30-lb metal disk flew off a drywall flatbed truck in the lane left of me as we traveled together at 45 mph on a colorado springs main street. The disk directly hit the left side of the 2019 acura mdx sh windshield and small sharp glass shards flew through the cabin. If it were not for the windshield plastic film, the disk would have broken through the glass and probably hit me in the head killing me (the disk had a lot of velocity when it hit with a very loud thud ? No time to swerve). I am very grateful for this plastic film ? It was distorted, but no hole thankfully. Cost to repair about ,500, but I am alive and not injured. *tr
CategorySeats
DateJun 22, 2020
StateFL
Description
The internal guts of the drivers and passengers seat are loose and coming apart. Whenever your back moves against the seat the internal workings jiggle. The problem is getting worse the more you use the seats. The jiggling is a safety issue as it feels like the inside of the seat is collapsing. *tr
CategoryUnknown Or Other, Wheels
DateApr 24, 2020
StateCA
Description
I was in a drive through was asked to pull forward and park at curb as I braked my vehicle accelerated on its own striking the curb and damaging my left front wheel at the time of the false acceleration I was in drive ideling forward
CategoryUnknown Or Other, Vehicle Speed Control
DateMar 15, 2020
StateCA
Description
The vehicle is equipped with safety features which are designed to alert you if braking is required and to brake to avoid a collision the vehicle also has active cruise control which is designed to slow your vehicle when a vehicle enters your lane with in a pre set distance. Cruise control: while driving on the freeway using active cruise control my vehicle slowed down from 70 to 45 no vehicles entered my lane I was passed on my left by a vehicle doing 80 plus. This happened twice with in twenty minutes. I drove through costco at under 5mph no vehicles infront of me my safety system stopped my vehicle. No cars just one pedestrian on the passenger side. I have been stopped a red light when my brake warning indicator flased this should only happen when I am moving and need to brake to avoid hitting someone or something not when I am already stopped also happens when using the vehicles brake hold feature.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking
DateMar 10, 2020
StateCA
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2019 acura mdx. The contact stated that while driving with the cruise control engaged, without warning the automatic emergency brake engaged, causing the vehicle to come to a complete stop. The contact stated that the failure was experienced most often with a passing vehicle on the driver's side than on the passenger's side. The vehicle was taken to hoehn acura located at (5556 paseo del norte, carlsbad, ca 92008 (877) 281-4655) where it was diagnosed three times however, the technician was unable to duplicate the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure recurred multiple times. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 2,000. *ln
CategoryElectrical System, Visibility/wiper
DateFeb 08, 2020
StatePA
Description
While driving my 2019 mdx I noticed that the back-up camera was on remaining on, and I could see the road behind by vehicle. I pulled off the road and turned the car off and then restarted thinking this would correct the problem; however it did not correct the problem. I also noticed that the lights that indicate that I am backing up remain on even when the car is in park. Inside of the vehicle, the climate control isn't working. The car appears to be "safe" to drive, with the exception of the distraction from the backup camera remaining on; and, not being able to defrost/defog the windows or warm the car. The acura dealer in ardmore, pa will be servicing the car on 02-10-2020.
CategoryPower Train
DateJan 30, 2020
StateIL
Description
Transmission is constantly slamming into 4th gear and has been to the dealership 3 times. Corporate has even evaluated in and has deemed it to be "within specification". The transmission is going to break down while driving and pose a safety hazard. It feels as if the mounts are going to break off when it does it.
CategoryElectrical System, Service Brakes
DateDec 31, 2019
StateTN
Description
The automatic collision mitigation system had a complete 100% lock up of my brakes during a cross of an intersection . Although I was wearing my seatbelt the force of the stop threw my head into the steering wheel. It is a complete miracle that the car behind me did not rear-end me. This system routinely gives false positives when going around corners when you are in the center lane and it beeps and pulses the brakes. This time, the car stopped completely and I hit my head and was lucky to not cause an accident. There should be a way to 100% permanently turn off or acura needs to fix their software. Too many false positives and actually is less safe with it on.
CategoryVisibility:windshield
DateNov 26, 2019
StateCA
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2019 acura mdx. While driving 35 mph, the contact noticed that the front windshield was distorted on both the driver and passenger side pillar areas. When looking through the windshield at these points, the glass was extremely distorted and caused nausea. The vehicle was taken to metro acura (9377 autoplex st, montclair, ca 91763, (909) 626-6000) where it was diagnosed that the windshield needed to be replaced; however, the replacement windshield was worse off than the original windshield. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and provided a case number. The failure mileage was approximately 1,000. *ln*jb
CategoryService Brakes
DateNov 06, 2019
StateVA
Description
After vehicle powered off and and after couple of hours later, the break pedal gets very stiff. So, tremendous force needs to apply to start to engine. After around 600 miles of driving this new vehicle, this problem happened. My wife is primarily driving this vehicle. And thus she is getting knee pain issue to stiff break pedal. Acura confirmed this is known issue but they denied to fix it as indicated in the attached document.
CategoryVehicle Speed Control
DateNov 04, 2019
StateFL
Description
The vehicle suddenly accelerates itself. This is especially true in low speeds. There have been numerous times that I am driving slowly in a parking ramp and the vehicle will just shoot forward as though I am pressing the gas pedal, when I am not! I am grateful that no one was injured due to this - but this is dangerous and honda needs to listen and do something.
CategoryVehicle Speed Control
DateOct 21, 2019
StateMA
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2019 acura mdx. While driving various speeds, the vehicle accelerated on its own. The failure occurred while slowing down and approaching a stop light and also while driving at highway speeds. The vehicle was taken to acura of peabody (233 andover st, peabody, ma), but the failure could not be duplicated and the cause of the failure was not determined. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and provided case number: 09964379. The vin was not available. The failure mileage was 1,000.
CategorySteering, Suspension
DateSep 11, 2019
StateTX
Description
Since taking delivery of my 2019 acura mdx I started to notice a clicking noise when accelerating and braking. The issue can be heard also while making a turn. I took the vehicle to the dealership, they replaced the left strut but the issue did not get fixed. This is a brand new vehicle and should not have any issues. This clicking noise is annoying and embarrassing to be driving a new vehicle that makes clicking noises.
CategorySeat Belts
DateAug 22, 2019
StateCO
Description
This complaint is against all automobiles sold in the us. Just leased a new one, and this seatbelt problem persists. I am soooo tired of it. Women should have safe seatbelts, too. Women (50% of population) should be provided just as safe seatbelts as men (50% of population) ' but we are not. We are of shorter stature, so current seatbelts come across our body at a higher angle and therefore cut into the side of the neck rather than the middle of our shoulder. The seatbelt adjustment needs to come down on the side post another 2 inches to make it safe enough for women (at all adjustable attach points). 1. Our seat is farther forward, so we can reach the brake peddle. This causes a sharper angle which makes the seatbelt cut into our left side of the neck instead of across the middle of our shoulder. 2. We sit lower because of our shorter height, causing a sharper angle which then makes the seatbelt cut into our neck. With shorter legs, we don't want our feet to dangle and become tired while driving. Our shorter stature makes the seatbelt unsafe (and unfair). 1. The annoying cut into our neck makes us want to place the shoulder harness under out arm = extremely unsafe. 2. The neck pain distracts us from safe driving instead of having full attention on the road. 3. In the event of an accident, the misplacement of the seatbelt against our neck makes injuries to the neck more likely. Recommend you add more women drivers to your automobile safety standards committee. Women with their shorter height should have just as much protection as men.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateAug 11, 2019
StateTX
Description
Distorted windshield on the right pillar.
CategoryEngine
DateJul 24, 2019
StateKY
Description
The engine auto stop or idle stop is a safety hazard. The engine shuts off preventing a quick acceleration from an intersection or other hazard. The manufacture should offer a method to permanently disable this hazard. I was nearly t-boned when trying to make a lh turn at a busy intersection because the car had to start before accelerating
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateJun 24, 2019
StateIL
Description
The front windshield is distorted on both the driver and passenger side, pillar areas. When looking through the windshield at these points, the glass is extremely distorted and causes nausea. This portion of the glass is unavoidable as you need to view the entire windshield in order to check for pedestrians, vehicles, or other objects. It appears this is a flaw with many of the 2019 acura mdx's and should be addressed appropriately.
CategoryService Brakes
DateMay 24, 2019
StateDC
Description
The anti collision system is defective and it's putting my family at risk. It slams on breaks by itself without any obstacle in front. It started happening more and morr frequently. Called the acura dealrship and they claim it's normal and the car would break for any perceived obstacle in front of it.
CategoryService Brakes
DateMay 24, 2019
StateDC
Description
Breaking light goes on and the brake gets stuck and makes a grasping noise like something is grinding and the pedal is stuck down.
CategoryWheels
DateMay 03, 2019
StateMS
Description
Their inflatable sealant does not work. We were on the road and had a flat, pulled over got the compressor out hooked to flat all that happened was air blowing out the hole in the tire. By the grace of god a man stopped and he was a tire repair man that was going to acall on a big truck tire problem he patched our tire and inflated it and we were on our way home. What if he did not come along, we were in an area with poor phone reception, my wife finally got with roadside assistance and they were going to send someone to tow it to closest dealership. My wife told them that the tire man had solved the tire problem but not to close this complaint out. This could have been a big problem, every vehicle should come with a spare tire. What if it is late at night and there is no phone reception????
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateMay 01, 2019
StateCA
Description
Recently purchased a new 2019 mdx and the front windshield is severely distorted. This is occurring along a wide band near the front passenger and driver side pillars. Objects such as vehicles and pedestrians appear wavy and severely distorted while driving. It is very evident when turning or at bends in roads that require looking across the vehicle. It also causes difficulties while at an intersection and checking for oncoming traffic. When driving and looking through these portions of the windshield it causes blurred perception, momentary dizziness and disorientation which is very unsafe.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateMar 25, 2019
StateTX
Description
I purchased a 2019 acura mdx two days ago and noticed today that there is optical distortion on front windshield. Clearly the distortions affect my visibility. The objects through distorted windshield appear bent/curved. I feel dizziness and nausea from the object distortions. I wouldn't purchase this vehicle if I knew mdx has this type of problem for long time. Safety is my top priority since I have three children.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateFeb 28, 2019
StateNY
Description
Windshield distortion near driver and passenger front pillars causing objects to be perceived incorrectly along with momentary disorientation when trying to determine the actual position of objects when rounding curves or bends in the road. Major concern is for objects such as, other vehicles, kids, adults, animals not being perceived properly and in time to avoid a collision.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine, Steering
DateFeb 22, 2019
StatePA
Description
While driving approx. 40 mph and slowing to turn into gas station, the car completely turned off. I was unable to put car in neutral or get off of road. Tow truck called and had to be drug onto flatbed. Garage replaced battery and still unable to start. Needed to replace timing belt, tensioner pulley, water pump, engine short block and heads. Car with only 4088 miles, no s/s of issue prior to incident, etc. Garage not sure what caused issue, best guess is manufacture defect in timing belt. I asked to end lease or for new vehicle, but acura denied. Car will be returned to me despite my concerns.

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.

Share your story

Does this ring a bell? Have you had a bad experience too? Sound off and share your experience with other visitors in the comment box below.

Brian Jones

About the Author:

Brian Jones spent more than 20 years working as an ASE Certified Master Tech and Parts Specialist at multiple dealerships. Brian has become an authority in the industry, traveling across the country to consult for car dealerships and contributing his expertise as a writer for several major automotive publications. In his spare time, Brian enjoys working on pickup trucks, muscle cars, Jeeps and anything related to motorsports.

See more posts from Brian Jones
2 COMMENTS
  • Carita I

    I have a 2019 Acura MDX and the transmission is slipping and safety features are not working properly. I’ve taken it to the dealer twice and the issues have not been resolved. I’ve only had the car for 31 days.

  • Alan D

    Windshield distortion is total nitpicking. “fly by wire” acceleration, though serious, is an easy fix if the technician knows what he is doing.

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead you can to our legal team.

Please select your star rating.

Briefly describe your experience Briefly describe your experience

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? Please enter a valid phone number

Want to know if you could sue? Get a free legal evaluation Lemberg Law?

Get Your No-Obligation
Case Evaluation

Send a secure message to our legal team.

What’s your name? What’s your name?
What’s your email address? What’s your email address?
What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?
Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem
Confidentiality Guarantee: We keep your information completely confidential and will not send you spam or sell your information.