2019 Hyundai Kona Problems and Top Complaints – Is Your Car A Lemon?

Electrical, fuel system. brakes and powertrain issues among the top complaints received by the NHTSA from vehicle owners

By Brian Jones | Updated on

By Brian Jones | Updated on

This vehicle is subject to a recall. Find out if your Hyundai Kona is included in the recall.

Small SUVs have been the latest rage on the roads. One of the popular models is the 2019 Hyundai Kona. It even won the “AutoPacific 2019 Ideal Vehicle Award,” but customers have found it to be anything but “ideal.” This SUV suffers from trouble with the service brakes, electrical system, fuel system and powertrain.

Click on other model year to view more problems: 2020    2021    2022

Don’t be stuck with a lemon. You have legal rights to cash, return or buyback.

The law makes Hyundai pay legal fees.

We've fixed thousands of lemon problems. Message or call 877-795-3666 today.

NHTSA Complaints for the 2019 Hyundai Kona

Complaint CategoryNumber of Complaints
Electrical System
43
Engine
42
Fuel/propulsion System
14
Unknown Or Other
13
Power Train
9
Lane Departure: Blind Spot Detection
3
Service Brakes
3
Forward Collision Avoidance
2
Air Bags
2
Vehicle Speed Control
1

Problems with the Brakes

One of the most vital safety systems on any vehicle is the brakes. This system has been around for years but continues to become more sophisticated. However, there are some major problems with the Kona.

Within this Edmunds review, there are braking complaints addressed. “I bought this SUV in December 2019 and I am very sorry that I did. I recently retired, so I downgraded my vehicle to a small SUVs. I was attracted by the ratings, the reviews, the price, and the warranty, but I would not recommend this car to people. I am trying to think of something I like about it, but the only thing I can think of is that I sit higher up than I did in either of my Subarus or my Infiniti (which I would in any SUV). My complaints include: the acceleration, which is jerky in any condition and nearly impossible when going up a hill (even if there is no one but me and the minute trunk is empty); speaking for the trunk, you cannot even fit a carry-on bag back to front in the tiny cargo space without putting down the back seat (do not plan on even going in a short family trip in this thing); plus, the brakes are terrible (I had to bring it back and have the rotors shaved with 250 miles on the car) because of the throbbing when braking–it is better since, but it has never totally been fixed and I have no confidence in the braking system; the whole car feels cheap inside–everything is plastic and feels fragile; I also do not like the steering, which does not feel as stable as I would have liked. All in all, this car is complete bust and I will almost certainly be trading it in as soon as I can.”

Service Bulletin #20-AT-012H goes beyond talking about the brakes to discuss related issues. It states that there could be a Check Engine Light with DTCs that requires the replacement of the input/output speed sensor, as well as the oil pressure harness. These malfunctions alone make it ineligible to be considered an “ideal” vehicle.

Problems with the Electrical System

It turns out that the Kona also suffers from numerous electrical system concerns.

Here is yet another Edmunds review. “Sensor problems seems to be an uncomfortably common thing. Sometimes the screen just goes black when you connect iPhone to USB for Apple play, and it won’t display anything unless you turn off the car and then turn it on. Steering wheel peels quite easy so it seems, even though I use my bare, clean hands for driving.”

Again, this is just the beginning. Service Bulletin #20-BE-001H says that there could be connection issues with the USB, multi-box and head unit. Are these problems that most new car buyers want to deal with? Not normally. It also proves why there should be a 2019 Dud of the Year Award.

Problems with the Fuel System

The fuel system works in conjunction with the engine to provide power. When there is a malfunction in this system, the car has trouble accelerating and running correctly.

That’s what is seen with this NHTSA review. “Delays in acceleration, not changing gears properly. Sometimes when accelerating the vehicle will just rev the engine like it’s in Neutral. Acceleration delays very scary when merging, accelerating from full stop and passing. Bought April 2019.”

This is one topic that Hyundai doesn’t want to talk about. Instead, there are no communications related to the fuel system, as if everything is operating as it should. Basically, the automaker is saying, “Nothing to see here – look at the award the Kona won instead.”

Problems with the Transmission

Another essential system is the powertrain. Without a properly working powertrain, shifting becomes difficult.

One NHTSA review states, “When leaving home the vehicle had little acceleration and poor shifting. Took too much time merging into traffic. After contacting the local dealership the problem cleared up as it had bone before. Drove to the local Hyundai dealership. OBDII code read P0193.”

In this situation, Hyundai goes overboard and talks about a long list of powertrain concerns. It appears that this Small SUV can suffer from many complaints, as outlined with Service Bulletin #20-AT-018H. This communication states that it could exhibit as a Check Engine Light, a transmission that gets stuck in fourth gear and harsh shifting into Drive and Reverse. If the “ideal” vehicle is a bucking bronco, then the Kona is a true winner.

Your Lemon Law Legal Rights

Think you have a lemon? Sit back and let the experts work out your lemon case at no cost to you. The law makes Hyundai pay legal fees. You may be able to get your lemon out of your life. Every year, auto manufacturers buy back, replace or pay cash settlements to thousands of ‘lemon’ owners like you.

Complaint Data

CategoryEngine, Forward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Lane Departure: Assist
DateNov 25, 2022
StateNM
Description
Rad bearing defect. Engine needs to be replaced.
CategoryEngine
DateNov 13, 2022
StateCT
Description
Vehicle is burning oil at a rapid pace. Vehicle could catch fire or stall out due to the burning oil inside the engine. Problem is consistent with adding oil regularly in between changes. Vehicle has not been inspected, but will be in the near future. No warning lamps, but oil dip stick is always low
CategoryEngine
DateNov 09, 2022
StateNY
Description
The contact's mother owns a 2019 hyundai kona. The contact stated that while her mother was driving at an undisclosed speed, the vehicle stalled without warning. The contact stated that her mother was able to restart the vehicle; however, while driving at an undisclosed speed, she depressed the brake pedal and the vehicle stalled again. No warning lights were illuminated. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the engine needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and the contact was informed that the vehicle was not covered under warranty. The failure mileage was approximately 30,000.
CategoryEngine
DateOct 19, 2022
StateFL
Description
Vehicle only has 30000 miles was driving on the highway. When the engine started making a loud clapping, tapping noise pulled of the exit and the car totally turned off. So I thought the starter failed. But after further inspection saw that a metal rod from inside the engine broke through and sheared off the cables behind the starter as well.. Its the same description that other kona owners with the 2. 0l version describe " catastrophic engine failure " same noise same everything but I owe the 1. 6l version. In the photos you see the back of the starter and the cut cables to the left of the pic. And to the right rear of the pic you see the sheared metal rod that broke through the engine. And cut the cables that go into the starter.... We were going to the hospital to see my son when it happened. He was in the hospital for 1yr since then he has passed. I finally was able to send in my car to the dealership. Where it has been for the last 4 1/2 months with no resolve.
CategoryEngine
DateOct 15, 2022
StateIL
Description
While driving, oil began to pour into the exhaust system and the engine stopped starting
CategoryElectrical System
DateOct 14, 2022
StateHI
Description
The contact owns a 2019 hyundai kona. The contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 21v127000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.
CategoryElectrical System
DateSep 30, 2022
StateMA
Description
Check engine light came on, then went away. Check engine light came on 2 months later, then went away. Car completely dead 1 month later without any dashboard lights warning anything. Replaced battery and car died again 1 month after installing new battery. After jumping the car, alternator test read 12 at local repair shop.
CategoryLane Departure: Blind Spot Detection
DateSep 05, 2022
StateMA
Description
Driving down the highway going about 65 mph, I get a quick warning that flashed on my screen about the blindspot collision warning, too quick to actually read. Then the car jolts like I hit a giant pot hole, which I haven't, and the gears on my car drop and I am unable to accelerate or change gear until I pull over and turn the car off. This issue has occurred over 5 times and has been reported to hyundai every time, with no success in getting the issue fixed and it keep occurring. Happened again today friving home on the highway, and now my check engine light is on.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine, Lane Departure: Blind Spot Detection
DateAug 23, 2022
StateNH
Description
1: car stopped abruptly without vehicle lights or warnings , stopped while driving 39 mph without any warning. 2: car engine smoking -fire d/y motor seize and oil leaking 3: motor seized piston bore hole in engine block appears to be of concern with other vehicles same year same model unsafe vehicle
CategoryEngine
DateAug 18, 2022
StateCO
Description
The contact owns a 2019 hyundai kona. The contact stated that while driving at an undisclosed speed, the vehicle hesitated during acceleration and a burning odor was detected. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed and determined that the engine needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure but provided no assistance. The failure mileage was approximately 35,000.
CategoryElectrical System
DateJul 25, 2022
StateAL
Description
The contact owns a 2019 hyundai kona. The contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 21v127000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the recall repair was not yet available. The local dealer was contacted. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJun 27, 2022
StateNY
Description
The vehicle has started stalling about a week ago. It will just stop and all the lights go on for motor and oil and everything else. There's a sound as well that seems to be from the engine. This is scary. It tends to be happening during slower traffic. I commute with children and this is not ok. Some of this model have been recalled for the same issue. I believe it's irresponsible that no one has bothered to contact owners of this model. So we figure out the problem and then something is done. Not ok. It has happened at least 9 times today. I'm scared for my safety and that of my children that commute with me to the city daily on weekdays and at times weekends too.
CategoryEngine
DateJun 21, 2022
StateFL
Description
Your website states I am not in a recall but indeed I have been under recall 302, now 974, and another one currently. The dealers have lied and falsified records. My new kona with less than 31000 miles is burning more than a qt of oil weekly on average, knocks loudly, looses power, and now I'm finding burnt labels on the booster vac lines. The dealer states I was under recall 203 in 2020 for "vibration inspection" absolutely not I was seen for recall 203 bad piston rings with less than 12k miles. Now for the second time I'm told it's not safe nor advisable by hyundai to park my vehicle in my driveway or garage due to fire risks of my car. The car is worth 30-45% lower value than retail due to issues. Hyundai has lied non stop, the dealers have lied non stop, and no one cares. I also have over 5k in wrap warranties that are not valid anymore due to abnormal oil consumption and the dealer will not allow me to remove the packs. It's all bs now involved in a rear end collision not at fault. Hit at 40mph at a dead stop. It destroyed the rear collision system and bars as well as sensors but not one air bag deployment or safety feature. Almost 8k in repair and over 3 weeks in shop. In one of the safest vehicles nationaly
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateMay 24, 2022
StateTX
Description
As noted above, the recall (200) for this problem was issued in march 2021. I have been trying to get hyundai to repair the vehicle since I received this information. Late last year I was told by the dealer in my area that a fix was ready and took the car in for repair on december 27, 2021. The dealer had no fix. I have contacted the dealer several times in the past 6 months, and recently filed a complaint with the national hyundai corporation. As of now, I am still driving the car with the urgent battery problem, and have not received a date for the necessary repair
CategoryEngine
DateApr 29, 2022
StateIL
Description
The contact owns a 2019 hyundai kona. The contact stated while driving approximately 15 mph and making a right turn, the vehicle stalled. The contact coasted the vehicle safely to a stop on the side of the road. The contact stated that the check engine warning light was illuminated after restarting the vehicle. The contact drove the vehicle to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed and determined that the timing chain needed to be replaced, and the engine had an internal failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure recurred. The contact researched online and determined that the vin was included in nhtsa campaign number: 21v301000 (engine). The manufacturer had not been informed of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 72,000.
CategoryElectrical System, Power Train
DateApr 20, 2022
StateMD
Description
Hyundai has failed to replace the battery after more than a year.
CategoryWheels
DateApr 08, 2022
StateCT
Description
At time of purchase (new) this car did not come with a spare or jack but included a can of fix a flat and a cheep compressor. While traveling I became stranded with an un repairable flat tire and had to have someone come get me with a jack and abandon the car on the side of the road. I then purchased a spare tire kit directly from the purchase point dealer. On a second incident I discovered that the spare tire (donut) does not fit the rear wheels. It does not clear the brake calipers. Come to find out there is no other rim or tire that will fit this car thus leaving the driver with no options should a flat or bent rim happen. Hyundai's solution to this is to throw a can of fix a flat in the trunk. How can that be legal in this country. For the second time in two years.
CategoryElectrical System, Fuel/propulsion System
DateMar 25, 2022
StateCO
Description
There has been a battery recall on our kona ev since march 2021. We were asked to keep the battery charged only to 80% to prevent problems. Hyundai is aware that we need a battery and we were contacted in late summer to set up an appointment to replace it. Every time we try to set something up they tell us that they don't have the battery or the proper parts. This is unacceptable. We have spoken with the service writer several times without resolution. At this point we do not trust hyundai and are extremely unhappy with our vehicle purchase given the ongoing safety concern of continuing to drive a car with a batter that has been recalled.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateMar 21, 2022
StateLA
Description
In the last week my car has stalled out while I have been driving... This is very unsafe and dealership states that they cant get me in until friday... No warning lights at all are coming on... I feel completely unsafe driving my car and it seems like the dealership dont care...
CategoryEngine, Unknown Or Other
DateFeb 28, 2022
StateWI
Description
When I purchased my hyundai kona I was over the moon excited. It checked all or the boxes for me and my family. Now I live in fear every single day that the ongoing car theft in my area is going to flip my entire world upside emotionally and financially. I want to know what hyundais solution is to support the families that put trust in them when purchasing a vehicle from them.
CategoryEngine
DateFeb 27, 2022
StateIN
Description
As the reported recall has described, the engine in my 2019 kona failed on november 6th, 2021. The dealership (hyundai) has not repaired my vehicle and has had my vehicle in their possession since that date. I was denied a loaner vehicle due to inavailability. Hyundai has made minimal progress on repair despite the federal recall. Does the nhsta require hyundai to act within a certain time frame to have repairs effected once it's been identified and the problem has occurred? Can you help?
CategoryFuel/propulsion System
DateFeb 14, 2022
StateNY
Description
I left my car with the dealer at the end of august for a repair, and they identified that recall 200 had to be done. I received a rental car at that time. It is now february and I have still not gotten my car back. I have contacted both the dealer and hyundai corporate to try to find out what is happened but they just tell me there is no "eta" on the replacement part.
CategoryStructure:body, Unknown Or Other
DateFeb 08, 2022
StateWI
Description
My vehicle was stolen in november of 2021, (many have been in milwaukee). I had a steering wheel lock (they had broken the back rear window in april 2021 in a thwarted attempt to steal, and the police recommended this), and the vehicle was parked under security cameras. They broke the window, disabled the ignition and took it for a ride and crashed it. My vehicle repair has not been completed due to the high volume of thefts, and delay by insurance companies making claims. It is now february 8, 2022.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Warnings, Lane Departure: Blind Spot Detection, Unknown Or Other
DateJan 30, 2022
StateCO
Description
After I had the car for about 10 months, the front collision warning system light came on while I was driving 65mph. There was a huge jolt, as if I'd hit something large and metal, and the engine revved as if stuck. I pulled over and found nothing in the road. It was terrifying, and I can't imagine it's safe to have this keep happening. This has happened numerous times now, at different speeds and in all types of weather, and sometimes accompanied by the blind spot collision warning system light. The dealership has kept my car many times, trying to replicate the problem, which they did-once. They replaced the camera and tcu. The car worked fine for a while, but the problem returned, and again, the dealership could not replicate or fix it. I have seen this problem mentioned on hyundai forums, and it seems we're all having the same experiences with dealerships finding and fixing the issue. I turn the fcw system off every time I start the car, but now the bscw (which I have also turned off) is coming on and jolting the car. Both warning systems have done this too many times to count at this point. I can't afford a new car and am scared to drive my kona, but don't have a choice. This is not right and I do not feel safe in this car.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJan 28, 2022
StateFL
Description
My 20year old daughter had gone to a dealership to get her first vehicle and they have her a recalled vehicle without knowing about it. She was financed a 2019 hyundai kona with a high monthly fee. She was told the vehicle had no issues but then 3 days ago (1/26/22) we received a call regarding recall from the dealer. The dealership called with the manager apologizing profusely and stating that they were unaware of recall from (4/2021) and that the vehicle should not have been allowed for sale / finance/ lease. They said it was a big mistake. They told us that because they are not the manufacturer, we had to take it to the a hyundai dealership. She took it yesterday (1/27/22) and they said to bring it back on monday to fix😑😳 despite the danger🤷🏽‍♀️. They refused to even provide a rental car for free.
CategoryElectrical System
DateJan 19, 2022
StateNY
Description
The contact owns a 2019 hyundai kona. The contact stated that she initially received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 21v127000 (electrical system). The vehicle was taken to the dealer and the battery was reduced to 80%. The contact was instructed to park the vehicle away from structures until a final remedy was available. The contact never received information about the final remedy from the dealer. Months later, the contact had taken the vehicle to the dealer for a maintenance repair and the battery was reset to 100%. After a few weeks of driving the vehicle, the ev warning light appeared on the instrument panel and the dealer was notified of the issue. The contact was then instructed to bring the vehicle back to the dealer where it remained in their possession. The manufacturer had been notified of the failure and provided the contact a case manager. The contact had not yet heard from the case manager regarding her vehicle. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 21,000.
CategoryElectrical System, Exterior Lighting
DateJan 19, 2022
StateVA
Description
I was driving the vehicle. All of a sudden, all the lights went out on the vehicle. This includes the instrumentation panel, interior lights, brake lights, etc. I drove the car to a safe location and stopped the engine. I then restarted the car and everything started normally.
CategoryEngine
DateJan 12, 2022
StateMO
Description
Car will stall while driving, coming to a stop and slowing down. Loud clanking and knocking noise in engine, massive oil consumption, engine light illuminated, bad acceleration then stalling, rough idle and stalls while backing up. I am terrified of driving this car and it stalls when turning and coming to a stop or just slowing down. I can smell oil burning and no one at hyndai wants to help me at all. Driving it out of the dealership when I had it checked for the recall and it died 2 times. I am going to lose everything I have worked for all because this car is not working properly. Dealership allowed me to drive away knowing the car stalls while driving and wanted me to pay for another engine diagnostic test even though they stated they did one. This makes no sense and I am severely frustrated!!! I will never buy another hyundai!!!
CategoryElectrical System
DateJan 10, 2022
StateMA
Description
I was directed by jennifer kruger at the nhtsa to complete this form. My 2019 hundai kona ev is part of the ev battery recall. On august 27, 2021, my local dealer took my car while waiting for a replacement battery. I do have use of a rental vehicle. I've reached out to hyundai customer service many times in an attempt to find out when my care will be fixed and returned to me. I've not been able to get any answers. My car is 17 months old and they have now had it for over 4 months. That is unacceptable. I filed a lemon law request in july after months of 20% battery reduction with no indication of when that would be fixed. My request was denied. One month later they determined that my car was part of the recall. I'm not sure why the manufacturer gets to make that determination - that seems self serving to me. Can you help me find some resolution to this issue? Please let me know if you need any additional information from me.
CategoryElectrical System
DateJan 07, 2022
StateMA
Description
Took my 2019 hyundai electric kona into dealer on 7/30/21, re: recall #200. They kept the car for 2 1/2 weeks, finally determining that the entire battery pack should be replaced. Five months later, I am still waiting. The maximum charge is at 80%, I have brought it in for all the other recalls. The dealership keeps telling me that they have some battery packs, but that those are for "other" customers, and that I must wait. Hyundai is building new electric cars, there are clearly battery packs available. As I lease my car, and the 3 year lease is up in sept. 2022, I am beginning to wonder if the dealership is purposely delaying the battery replacement to force me into returning the car, rather than purchasing it, at the end of the lease. Why hasn't this safety recall been addressed by hyundai? Please help me.
CategoryElectrical System
DateJan 03, 2022
StateCT
Description
Hyundai has been unable to complete a recall on the kona ev's battery for nearly a year, which is not "reasonable" by anyone's definition of the word. During that time, we've been unable to charge our car in our garage (where our charger is installed) and haven't been able to use the car on roadtrips as we have to limit the charging capacity (per the recall instructions). I requested a buyback under my state's lemon laws but they claimed it wasn't applicable (I disagree based on the law and will be filing a complaint with the state as well). I've been waiting months for the battery to arrive at the dealership. There have been no updates from corporate since they denied the buyback request. Local dealerships have complained that corporate keeps changing the rules and how they're supposed to handle the recall, and are of no help. We're going on a year without being able to fully utilize the car and hyundai refuses to offer any help. They claim there are issues with the battery supply but are marketing brand new cars with batteries.
CategoryElectrical System
DateNov 29, 2021
StateMN
Description
The contact owns a 2019 hyundai kona. The contact received a notification for nhtsa campaign number: 20v630000 (electrical system) and 21v127000 (electrical system). The dealer had been notified about the recalls; however, the contact was informed that the parts were not yet available. The manufacturer had also been notified of the recalls. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.
CategoryEngine
DateNov 29, 2021
StateFL
Description
The contact owns a 2019 hyundai kona. The contact stated while driving 60 mph, the vehicle inadvertently stalled. There were no warning lights illuminated. The contact veered to the side of the road. The contact was able to restart the vehicle; however, the failure reoccurred three times while driving that same day. The contact was unable to restart the vehicle. The vehicle was towed to the dealer who diagnosed that the engine needed to be replaced under nhtsa campaign number: 21v301000 (engine) however, the parts for the recall repair were not yet available. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and provided the contact with a rental. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 37,000. The vin was not available.
CategoryElectrical System, Fuel/propulsion System
DateNov 28, 2021
StateCA
Description
My car is subject to recall #200 (ev battery replacement). I initially set my max charge level to 80% back in the spring, then was called by my local dealership for the battery replacement in early september. At that time, they checked my car in, but then sent me back out with it pending delivery of replacement batteries. I have reached out to the dealership several times since about the delay and they have responded that they're still waiting for batteries. It's been almost three months since my car was "checked in" for service.
CategoryAir Bags
DateNov 17, 2021
StateTN
Description
I was in a bad wreck on november 15th 2021 about 8pm I have pictures of car and air bags did not deploy was wondering because I thought as much damage they should have
CategoryElectrical System, Engine, Unknown Or Other
DateNov 17, 2021
StateTX
Description
This complaint is regarding our 2019 electric hyundai kona. Hyundai had a recall #200 that started last year 2020 if I'm not mistaken. They have sent us a lot of letters in the mail that they are still trying to find a solution to the battery issue of the electric car and will let us know once they come up with a solution. Last month, we went to eckert hyundai in denton, tx and we tried to get the recall fixed but the tech said they can't fix it since they do not have that much experience dealing with electric cars especially with batteries (which is the main issue due to risk of fire, explosion). I tried contacting mckinney and plano hyundai dealerships too but they tell me the same thing. As of the moment, the car does not fully charge, I don't charge at home and there's always a risk of fire whenever in use and while charging.
CategoryElectrical System
DateNov 10, 2021
StateNY
Description
The contact's wife owns a 2019 hyundai kona. The contact stated that upon warming the vehicle in cold weather, an abnormal, wire-burning smell would emit from the vehicle without warning. The manufacturer was initially notified about the failure and was informed that he would receive a callback; the contact had yet to receive a callback. The contact then took the vehicle to the dealer where they found no failure with the vehicle. The contact stated that he had a young child and that the odor could be toxic to his child's breathing. The vehicle had yet to be repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 1,000.
CategoryElectrical System:instrument Panel:speedometer/odometer
DateOct 21, 2021
StatePA
Description
Speedometer is not measuring correctly to the actual speed of car. Was actually driving about 15 mph faster than found on the analog gauge without knowing. The dealer confirmed that speedometer was reading 15 mph under the actual speed of the car. Do not now if the car component was inspected by manufacturer, police, insurance or others. There was no warning presented by the car of the defect. Only that my son told me that according to the digital speed signs on the street we were going to fast. The car was turned in for repair of speedometer r. O. Opened date 26may20 and returned fixed on ready,12jun20. Now I have returned the car for repair with same problem 2 weeks from today approximate. Car still not repaired, no reply from dealer.
CategoryEngine
DateOct 06, 2021
StateNC
Description
The contact owns a 2019 hyundai kona. The contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 21v301000 (engine) however, the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact took the vehicle to the local dealer and it was confirmed that the part was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.
CategoryElectrical System
DateSep 20, 2021
StateIL
Description
The contact owns a 2019 hyundai kona. The contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 21v127000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The dealer was made aware of the issue however, the contact was informed that parts were not yet available. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.
CategoryFuel/propulsion System
DateSep 17, 2021
StateMD
Description
I did follow the multiple recommended recalls. I have set my battery at 80% max charge on april 28, 2021.. On august 4th, it has been determined by the dealer that I needed a new battery. The battery has been ordered but we are still waiting for it. It has been 6 weeks so far. Since my current battery is only charged at 80%, I have not been able to use my car at is full potential for the past 5 months .
CategoryElectrical System, Unknown Or Other
DateSep 09, 2021
StateMA
Description
I received recall 200 notice from hyundai regarding my kona ev 2019 in june.(my mileage was around 14,000) after calling the dealer I got the appointment on 07/16. On 07/16 the service advisor said she fixed all recalls as per the instructions from hyundai and said recall 200 is also fixed. (see attached service record) I asked how you fixed the folded anode issue without replacing the battery. They said, they did the software update and the battery now doesn't have the fire risk. Called hyundai and opened a case 18464387 asking them how is recall 200 is fixed without battery replacement. They admitted that recall 200 was not performed and they will replace the battery very soon. Its not still 2 months and they don't have any battery replacement plan. Also my car is making some strange sound while charging and abruptly stopping charging around 70%. I am asking nhtsa's help as I am not getting any response from hyundai regarding battery replacement. They also rejected the buyback saying the lemon law of ma is not applicable even though my mileage was
CategoryEngine
DateSep 09, 2021
StateMD
Description
The contact owns a 2019 hyundai kona. The contact stated that while driving approximately 25 mph a knocking noise and burning odor was present coming from the engine compartment before the vehicle stalled. The vehicle was towed to the local mechanic who diagnosed that the engine had failed. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer and local dealer were notified of the failure. The vin look-up confirmed the vehicle was listed in the nhtsa campaign number: 21v301000 (engine). The failure mileage was 70,000.
CategoryEngine And Engine Cooling:engine:oil/lubrication:sump/tank:drain Plug
DateAug 31, 2021
StateOK
Description
The contact owns a 2019 hyundai kona. The contact stated she was informed at the service inspection that her vehicle was low on engine oil however, the oil had recently been refilled. There were no warning lights illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who diagnosed that the oil plug was loose. The dealer refilled the engine oil. The contact stated that the failure had been reoccurring and the vehicle was using a third of the engine oil every 1,000 miles. The vehicle was taken to a second dealer (texoma hyundai 2500 texoma pkwy, sherman, tx 75090) who test drove the vehicle and diagnosed that no issues were found. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 58,200.
CategoryEngine
DateAug 20, 2021
StateVA
Description
The contact owns a 2019 hyundai kona. The contact stated that check engine warning light was illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the local dealer where it was diagnosed with a misfire. The vehicle was not repaired. The vehicle was taken to another local dealer safford hyundai of springfield (7615 loisdale rd a, springfield, va 22150, (703)776-9040) to be diagnosed. The contact was informed that the service light needed to be reset. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 21v301000 (engine) after the failure. Vin tool confirms parts not available. The failure mileage was 20,000.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateAug 20, 2021
StatePA
Description
This vehicle has stalled five (5) times while driving, twice at highway speeds and three times at neighborhood speeds. The warning light comes on, the car stalls but then will restart normally. Have been lucky in that there have been no accidents. The dealer had the car for a week and can diagnose no problem or replicate the stall event. We have opened a case with hyundai as well.
CategoryEngine
DateAug 19, 2021
StateNY
Description
The contact owns a 2019 hyundai kona. The contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 21v301000 (engine) however, the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The local dealer was contacted, and it was confirmed that the part was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.
CategoryFuel/propulsion System
DateAug 18, 2021
StateDC
Description
This vehicle was at alexandria hyundai (virginia) for about a month for a couple of small issues and for recall work to be performed. Service advisor never informed us that the recall was intended to replace the ev battery pack if necessary upon inspection, and invoice only states "took picture of battery". Recall remains open.
CategoryElectrical System
DateAug 17, 2021
StateNJ
Description
The battery in my electrical vehicle is recalled due to the potential for shorting and fires. The dealer performed a software update but states that they cannot request a replacement battery because the manufacturer will reject it because a specific code was not generated during the software update. The manufacturer tells me to try to find a different dealer that will replace it. This doesn't make sense because the manufacturer should be in contact with the dealership telling them what to do.
CategoryElectrical System
DateAug 17, 2021
StateNY
Description
The contact owns a 2019 hyundai kona. The contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 21v127000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that while the software was being updated, the mechanic was able to provide the full recall repair because the battery replacement portion of the recall was unavailable. The dealer informed the contact that they were unable to complete the recall repair due to the part not being available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.
CategoryElectrical System
DateAug 16, 2021
StateMD
Description
The contact owns a 2019 hyundai kona. The contact stated that the battery warning light was illuminated. The contact stated he continued to drive to his destination with the warning light illuminated. The contact took the vehicle to the local dealer and the mechanic was unable to determine the cause of the failure. The contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 21v127000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact took the vehicle to the local dealer and alexandria hyundai (1707 mt vernon ave, alexandria, va 22301: (703) 535-6840) and it was confirmed that the part was not yet available. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. Parts distribution disconnect. The failure mileage was approximately 8,000.
CategoryEngine
DateAug 16, 2021
StatePA
Description
The contact owns a 2019 hyundai kona. The contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 21v301000 (engine) however, the part to do the recall repair was not yet available. The contact stated while driving approximately 35-40 mph, the vehicle experienced unintended acceleration and a loud sound was heard before the vehicle stalled. The contact shifted the vehicle into neutral and was able restart the vehicle and drive to her residence. The dealer and manufacturer were not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 37,874. Parts distribution disconnect.
CategoryEngine
DateAug 09, 2021
StateCT
Description
The contact's son leases a 2019 hyundai kona. The contact stated upon receiving a recall notification for nhtsa campaign number: 21v301000 (engine). The vehicle was taken to the dealer who informed the contact's son that the parts for the recall repair were not yet available. However, the dealer advised they would be refilling the engine oil every 500 miles. The contact stated his son had been taking the vehicle to the dealer to get the engine oil refilled, however the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact stated the engine had been making ticking abnormal sounds while driving. There were no warning lights illuminated. The dealer was made aware of the failure and informed the contact's son that they could only refill the engine oil as the remedy for the recall repair was not yet available. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and informed the contact that the remedy was not available. The approximate failure mileage was 38,000. Vin tool confirms parts not available.
CategoryEngine, Fuel/propulsion System
DateAug 09, 2021
StateWA
Description
Yesterday my car, hyundai kona 2019, stalled out for no reason while the vehicle was in motion. There were no warning signs on the panel. I change the oil regularly, but the car keeps burning oil very quickly before the next planned oil change, however, I never have any warning signs that my oil level is low. I could have gotten into an accident, and now I am afraid of driving because the car can stall at any moment, and cause an accident. The manufacturing company doesn't s solve this problem in a timely manner!
CategoryElectrical System
DateAug 04, 2021
StateMA
Description
The contact owns a 2019 hyundai kona. The contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 21v127000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the recall repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The dealer was made aware of the recall and informed the contact that parts were not available and the equipment to perform the recall repair was not available. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue and confirmed that parts were not available. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect. Range reduced to 80% of capacity. Car can not be garaged due to fire hazard and must be parked 50 feet from home and other vehicles.
CategoryEngine
DateAug 04, 2021
StateMA
Description
I brought my car to the pride hyundai dealership in lynn, ma on friday, 7/30. They confirmed that I need a new engine and still have my car and hyundai corporate has not gotten back to them. I am elderly and a one car family and I have no car. I also do not want to drive the car until it is fixed.
CategoryEngine, Vehicle Speed Control
DateAug 04, 2021
StateMD
Description
Car lost speed on going uphill. Took car to dealer and they found nothing related. I am concerned about this recall. The length of time it has taken to repair and the fact that they do not know how to repair these piston rings.
CategoryEngine
DateAug 04, 2021
StateMD
Description
The contact owns a 2019 hyundai kona. The contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 21v301000 (engine) however, the part to do the recall repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact stated while driving approximately 65 mph, the oil level warning light illuminated. The vehicle started to jerk, and the contact pulled over to the side of the road and turned off the vehicle. The vehicle was towed to the dealer who diagnosed that the engine needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 9,600. Parts distribution disconnect.
CategoryElectrical System:12v/24v/48v Battery
DateAug 02, 2021
StateNY
Description
2019 hyundai kona ev. Consumer writes in regards to design/manufacturer problems. The consumer traded-in the kona ev due to the battery issues. The consumer leased a ioniq but, stated it was a downgrade from the kona. The consumer requested to be released from the lease without penalty or charge.
CategoryEngine
DateJul 30, 2021
StateFL
Description
The contact owns a 2019 hyundai kona. The contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 21v301000 (engine). The contact stated while driving 25 mph, the vehicle loss motive power and stalled. However, the contact was able to restart the vehicle after several minutes and continued driving to the residence. The contact had the vehicle towed to the local dealer to be diagnosed. The mechanic was unable to determine the cause of the failure. The contact was concerned that the failure would recur. The contact wanted to know if the engine was taken apart during the inspection. The contact was informed that the engine was not taken apart. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximate 7,500.
CategoryEngine
DateJul 30, 2021
StateIL
Description
The contact owns a 2019 hyundai kona. The contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 21v301000 (engine) however, the part to do the recall repair was not yet available. The contact took the vehicle to the local dealer and it was confirmed that the part was not yet available. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.
CategoryEngine
DateJul 27, 2021
StateNY
Description
The contact owns a 2019 hyundai kona. The contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 21v301000 (engine) however, the part to do the recall repair was not yet available. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the vehicle would jerk. The dealer was made aware of the recall and failure but informed the contact that parts were not yet available. The vehicle was not diagnosed nor repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 82,285. Parts distribution disconnect.
CategoryElectrical System
DateJul 24, 2021
StateCA
Description
My vehicle is equipped with battery cells manufactured in the lg energy solutions china (nanjing) plant in which the anode (negative) tab can be folded. Thus, this could result in my car catching on fire. I have had my car serviced for updates since march 2020. (recall 196) as of today, the problem has not been fixed. My dealer tells me they are waiting for the hyundai headquarters to remedy the problem.
CategoryEngine
DateJul 21, 2021
StateCA
Description
The contact owns a 2019 hyundai kona. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the vehicle would not properly accelerate. On several occasions the vehicle loss motive power, stalled, and would not immediately restart. The cause of the failure was not determined. The dealer was not able to duplicate the failure. In addition, while driving approximately 60 mph the cruise control could not be manually deactivated by the cruise control switch. The vehicle was stopped and shut-off. After restarting the vehicle, the cruise control was deactivated. The vehicle was taken to the local dealer who reprogrammed the adaptive control values and the failure was remedied. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. Additionally, the tire monitoring system erroneously indicated that the air pressure was low. The cause of the failure was not yet determined. The failure mileage was 4,300. The consumer stated the sensor for the tires is not operating properly. Upon having the vehicle reviewed the technicians have tightened the lug nuts and putting air in the tires.
CategoryEngine
DateJul 14, 2021
StateFL
Description
The contact owns a 2019 hyundai kona. The contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 21v301000 (engine). The contact stated while driving approximately 25-35 mph, the check engine warning light illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed nor repaired. The dealer and manufacturer were not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 25,000. Parts distribution disconnect.
CategoryElectrical System, Fuel/propulsion System
DateJul 12, 2021
StateOR
Description
The vehicle was purchased 11/6/2019. On 1/11/2020 while driving from oregon to california the main computer shorted out causing complete shutdown of the vehicle. It took the sacramento hyundai dealership almost 3 weeks to deliver the vehicle back to me. Since then the vehicle has appeared to run well. However, my faith in taking the vehicle on long drives is at least shaken. Several recall notices have been issued for my vehicle. Most notably is number 200. A recall notice #196, received in november, 2020 states "the high-voltage battery system... May have been produced with internal damage to certain cells ... That could increase the risk of an electrical short circuit ... Increase the risk of fire." on july 2020 I received another service campaign notice which stated "the high voltage battery monitoring system is being enhanced to include additional monitoring...". On april 23, 2021 the local hyundai dealership set the maximum charge to 80% as a result of another recall notice. Early in july, 2021 I received yet another recall notice which stating that vehicles battery cell manufactured in the lg energy solutions china plant could suffer an electrical short ... Increasing the risk of a vehicle fire. I need to have a vehicle that is free from dangerous conditions. It is now 21 months since the dangerous condition in my vehicle was brought to hyundai's attention. In one of the last paragraphs of hyundai's latest recall notice they state that if they have failed or are unable to remedy the defect within a reasonable time, I may submit a complaint to you, nhtsa. I believe this situation meets that criteria. Thank you for your assistance, david steinberg
CategoryElectrical System
DateJul 12, 2021
StateMA
Description
The contact owns a 2019 hyundai kona. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to start. The battery warning light was illuminated. The contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 21v127000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the recall was unavailable. The vehicle was towed to the local dealer who stated that the part was not yet available. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 7,000. Parts distribution disconnect.
CategoryElectrical System
DateJul 12, 2021
StateCA
Description
The contact owns a 2019 hyundai kona. The contact received a recall notification for nhtsa campaign number: 21v127000 (electrical system) however, the dealer informed the contact that the part for the recall repair was not yet available. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure however, the dealer limited the charge of the battery of the vehicle to prevent a short-circuit. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. Parts distribution disconnect.
CategoryEngine
DateJul 12, 2021
StateCA
Description
The recall for my 2019 hyundai kona was issued 28 apr 2021. It is now the middle of july 2021. How long should hyundai owners need to wait for a remedy? I feel unsafe even driving this vehicle knowing it could possibly blow up. As of 7/12/2021, no remedy is listed. I have called my local dealer and they say the same, no remedy yet.
CategoryEngine
DateJul 07, 2021
StateNJ
Description
The contact owns a 2019 hyundai kona. The contact received a notification for nhtsa campaign number: 21v301000 (engine) however, the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated while driving 65 mph, the vehicle loss motive power with several unknown warning lights illuminated. The contact pulled to the side of roadway with grayish smoke coming from the engine. The vehicle failed to restart. Due to the failure, the contact had the vehicle towed to the local dealer however, he was informed that he would be placed on a list for the recall repair. The manufacturer had been notified of the recall but offered no assistance. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The failure mileage was 10,300. Parts distribution disconnect.
CategoryEngine
DateJul 05, 2021
StatePA
Description
I was notified of a recall by carfax on may 9th, 2021. On may 10th, 2021, I took my vehicle to lehigh valley hyundai in pennsylvania. I have been back and forth trying to get in contact with my case manager and he has not responded as to what is going on with my vehicle. It is now july 5th and there is still no remedy for my car. My car has been in the shop almost 2 months now.
CategoryEngine
DateJul 05, 2021
StateHI
Description
From mid-may, my wife noticed the malfunction indicator light (mil) illuminate on the dashboard. The mil light would intermittently illuminate and not display at times. 1) in june, I went on hyundai's website using my log on account to request for service. A specific date was requested but not response was provided. 2) on june 17 at 10:39 am hst, I called hyundai service center and a left a message to request service for the mil issue. 3) on june 18 at 08:52 am hst, I called hyundai service center and a left a message to request service for the same issue. On july 05, 2021 , I just opened a letter from hyundai for an important safety recall regarding our vehicle involving defective piston oil rings that could result in abnormal knocking or stalling. I believe this is a serious issue that needs immediate attention, however, we are unable to receive any service here. My wife at this time is very afraid to drive the vehicle unless this issues is resolved. Please advise us what steps can be taken from nhtsa. The service level for hyundai is extremely poor , at this point we want to somehow terminate our lease . Best regards
CategoryEngine
DateJun 30, 2021
StateNJ
Description
The contact owns a 2019 hyundai kona. The contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 21v301000 (engine) however, the part to do the recall repair was not yet available. The contact took the vehicle to the local dealer as well as sansone hyundai (90-100 us-1, avenel, nj 07001, (833)376-7829) and it was confirmed that the part was not yet available. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.
CategoryEngine
DateJun 29, 2021
StatePA
Description
The contact owns a 2019 hyundai kona. The contact received a notification for nhtsa campaign number: 21v301000 (engine) however, the part for the repair was unavailable. The dealer had been notified about the recall however, the contact was informed that the parts were not yet available. The manufacturer was also notified of the recall. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.
CategoryElectrical System
DateJun 10, 2021
StateNY
Description
We brought our 2019 kona ev in for the battery recall and the battery maintenance system (bms) recall. The reduced charge amount to 80% and ran the bms software update. This was on a friday (5/7/21). We picked up our car that same day and drove home. Drove the car twice over the weekend and charged the car overnight, sunday-monday. When we got in the car monday morning (5/10/21), the car would not go into gear (forward or reverse). On the dash and the info screen, was a message about an electrical system failure. We had to have the car towed to the local hyundai dealer (curry hyundai, cortlandt, ny). The told us the bms caused the battery to go into lockdown mode and that there was no resolution except for the battery to be replaced. We were told to get a battery could take several months. They gave us a loaner but it is not an electric vehicle. So far no one know when or if a battery will be available.
CategoryEngine
DateJun 10, 2021
StateTN
Description
The contact owns a 2019 hyundai kona. The contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 21v301000 (engine) however, the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact called the local dealer and it was confirmed that the part was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue but was unable to provide a timeline for parts availability. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.
CategoryElectrical System
DateJun 08, 2021
StateNY
Description
The 2019 hyundai kona ev (my vehicle) is a fire hazard. I am not satisfied with hyundai's current mitigation of limiting our battery (and so our range) to 80% of its capacity. A full battery replacement is planned, but there is no timeline, so it could take 1 year for all I know. 1 year during which I am stuck with 80% of my range (which is not what I purchased) and the potential, however unlikely, that my car is still a fire hazard. I wish hyundai would do more!
CategoryElectrical System, Fuel/propulsion System
DateJun 08, 2021
StateME
Description
The manufacturer has announced a safety recall (nhtsa recall number21v127000) due to the hazard of battery fire. It has been months since the recall was announced (and a year since battery fires were first reported) and the manufacturer has offered no remedy. Manufacturer has not provided timely communication or remedy to this safety problem, and we need help from nhtsa to get a safe solution to this fire danger. Hyundai either needs to provide a replacement battery immediately, or replace the car.
CategoryElectrical System, Fuel/propulsion System
DateJun 08, 2021
StateNY
Description
Manufacturer recall number200 nhtsa recall number21v127000 recall statusrecall incomplete summary hyundai motor america (hyundai) is recalling certain 2019-2020 kona electric and 2020 ioniq electric vehicles. The lithium-ion (li-ion) battery may short-circuit. I have been in touch with hyundai corporate and they have no time estimate of when this recall can be completed. It has been way too long for this type of problem to not be fixed.
CategoryElectrical System
DateJun 07, 2021
StateVA
Description
The contact owns a 2019 hyundai kona. The contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 21v127000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the recall repair was not yet available. The local dealer was contacted and it was confirmed that the part was not yet available. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact stated that the vehicle had experienced the same failure listed in the recall. Parts distribution disconnect. The approximate failure mileage was 21,000.
CategoryElectrical System
DateMay 28, 2021
StateCT
Description
The contact owns a 2019 hyundai kona. The contact stated that the vehicle had been subjected to several recalls due to the charging capacity. Recently, the contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 21v127000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the recall repair was not yet available. The dealer confirmed that the part was not yet available. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and offered to buy back the vehicle however, the contact declined. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the repair. Parts distribution disconnect.
CategoryElectrical System
DateMay 28, 2021
StatePA
Description
The contact owns a 2019 hyundai kona. The contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 21v127000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the recall repair was not yet available. The local dealer was contacted and it was confirmed that the part was not yet available. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue and informed the contact that there was no estimated arrival time for parts availability. The contact was unable to see the mileage without charging the vehicle. The vin was unavailable. A failure mileage was not available.
CategoryPower Train
DateMay 26, 2021
StateMD
Description
The car has been recalled because incidents worldwide of the high voltage battery catching fire and/or exploding. Supposedly hyundai is going to replace the batteries in affected cars, but to date has not done so.
CategoryElectrical System
DateMay 25, 2021
StateMA
Description
The contact owns a 2019 hyundai kona. The contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 21v127000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was confirmed that the part was not yet available. The contact stated that the dealer reduced the ability to charge the vehicle above 80%, reducing the amount of driving the contact could do. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced an issue. Parts distribution disconnect.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine, Power Train
DateMay 24, 2021
StateCA
Description
4/7/21 while in las vegas parked at the venetian hotel, my 2019 hyundai kona ev battery failed causing the vehicle to be inoperative. I am still waiting for hyundai to replace the recalled ev battery
CategoryEngine
DateMay 21, 2021
StateVA
Description
While slowing down car would make a whining sound and eventually started grinding. Car also stalled and died while coming to a stop. After that unable to drive or move the car in neutral.
CategoryElectrical System
DateMay 19, 2021
StateCA
Description
The march 1, 2021 recall has not been resolved. The vehicle was purchased for its mile capacity however, due to this recall, I'm unable to use the vehicle for my travel/work as intended when I purchased the vehicle. As a result of the reduced miles, I must charge my vehicle between trips to ensure I have sufficient miles to make it home. This takes time out of my schedule and I must pay for the charging (I charge my car at my residence and have solar panels - thus no charging expense). This does not take into consideration that at times, I cannot use my air conditioning or heating in my car to ensure I have sufficient miles to make it home or to the next charging station. I paid a lot of money for a fully functional car, for which I am not receiving. If I have reached the incorrect department, please forward this complaint to the appropriate department.
CategoryElectrical System
DateMay 07, 2021
StateCA
Description
Hyundai has a recall on my vehicle due to battery safety issues. They have reduced my battery storage to 80% capacity and this limits my ability to travel unless I stop for extended periods to recharge my battery. The only compensation they have provided was a 0 visa card, which is incredibly inadequate, for the time and money this is costing me. I've been without full battery capacity for over a month now.
CategoryElectrical System
DateMay 03, 2021
StateME
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2019 hyundai kona. The contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 21v127000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the recall repair was not yet available. The contact then received an email from hyundai that stated that a software update would be sent to the vehicle through the infotainment system where the vehicle would now only charge up to 80%. The contact was instructed through the email to take the vehicle to a local dealer to verify the update. The vehicle was not yet taken to a dealer. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.
CategoryElectrical System
DateApr 16, 2021
StateNY
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2019 hyundai kona. The contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 21v127000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the recall repair was not yet available. The contact stated that centereach hyundai located at 1815 middle country rd, centereach, ny 11720, (631) 615-4549) had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Vin tool confirms parts not available.
CategoryElectrical System
DateFeb 26, 2021
StateCO
Description
Manufacturer recalls this vehicle to replace battery pack due to catastrophic fire risk.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine, Power Train
DateFeb 03, 2021
StateNY
Description
During regular driving the vehicle loses power, will not accelerate and stalls out completely. After sitting a few minutes the vehicle will restart. The vehicle was taken to the repair shop but nothing seemed wrong. Within a six month period it again occurred twice. Once again nothing was observed wrong with the vehicle but the second time last night the car was brought to the repair shop and they stated the engine has little to no compression. The vehicle is currently awaiting a diagnosis from hyndai
CategoryElectrical System, Fuel/propulsion System, Unknown Or Other
DateJan 01, 2021
StateCO
Description
There is a recall on the ev battery system both on the hyundai site and the ntsb site for this. Hyundai claims there is no such recall. My battery system does not function according to specifications. Hyundai says not to park the vehicle inside due to the possibility of catastrophic fire. Neither the dealer nor the manufacturer will remedy the situation. They both deny there is any problem. I purchased the vehicle used from a dealer december 2020.
CategoryElectrical System
DateDec 02, 2020
StateME
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2019 hyundai kona. The contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 20v630000 (electrical system). Rowe hyundai westbrook (91 main st suite #3, westbrook, me 04092) was contacted and informed the contact that the battery software would be updated, which would limit the battery power. Despite the update, the contact was not ensured that the system update would prevent the failure from recurring. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.
CategoryEngine
DateAug 15, 2020
StateIL
Description
Vehicle stalls with a/c running on turns. It is intermittent issue. By putting vehicle back in neutral vehicle restarts right away. This happens normally in hotter weather. Called dealer and taken vehicle in and can not duplicate. So no fix. This is a 2019 hyundai kona with 19,500 miles. Others on hyundai website owners club have same issues. Hyundai is not a bad company. But they need to investigate issues if so many of us are having same issues. Doesn't seem to be related to the engine options happens with both engine options.
CategoryEngine, Service Brakes
DateAug 11, 2020
StateNM
Description
As I was coming to a stop light I pressed my brake pedals I felt a shudder through the brake pedal and my car died. This occurred three times in a short. Of time. This occurred three times in a short. Of time I was on a highway and it was very disconcerting I was able to finally get it back home.
CategoryEngine, Power Train
DateJul 22, 2020
StateFL
Description
A couple hundred miles after purchasing a new kona, I had started having acceleration issues going from a dead stop into first gear . As the car starts to go, this is under 5 mph, the car then hesitates as if someone is hitting the brakes. I have almost been rear ended several times due to this. It is a sporadic issue. I have had it into hyundai 3x now for this. All 3 x hyundai states they can not repair unless it happens while test driving . Of course this has not happened. So they have " reset" my driving computer 2x hoping it will stop. This is a serious issue and there are many kona owners out there documenting this issue on blogs. I have 3 service reports claiming there is an issue, but it is not being found. I have written to hyundai to open a case report. I am reporting this to the nhtsa t with hopes of either resolving this issue or bring light to a potential safety hazard from hyundai. Thank you, [xxx] redacted to protect personally identifiable information pursuant to the freedom of information act (foia), 5 u. S. C. 552(b)(6). *cc
CategoryPower Train
DateJul 13, 2020
StateNY
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2019 hyundai kona. The contact stated that while driving 70 mph, the vehicle stalled with the forward collision avoidance warning light illuminated. The vehicle was restarted. The contact stated that the failure recurred after driving for 30 minutes. The vehicle was taken to lia hyundai albany located at (945 central ave, albany, ny 12205) where the technician was unable to provide a cause for the failure. The contact was informed to take a picture when the failure recurred. The contact was concerned about attempting to take a picture while driving should the failure recur. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 2,000. The vin was unavailable.
CategorySteering
DateJun 10, 2020
StateNJ
Description
At about 8300 miles I was backing out of a parking spot. Heard a noise coming from steering column. Took to hyundai dealership. 1st visit they were closed due to power outage. 2nd trip. Mechanic couldn't hear noise. Had another mechanic along. Had to play a video I recorded on my cell phone. Mechanic pulls back into shop. Half hour later, I get told they had to order a steering column. Car now has just over 8600 miles. The noise sounds like a bad bearing. Can be heard parked and turning steering wheel left and right. *tr
CategoryService Brakes
DateFeb 29, 2020
StateCO
Description
The car breaks does not get applied intermittently, I had a forward collision. The forward collision avoidance / warning did not work. The incident happened at a busy street with slow moving traffic. This is the 2nd time the break did not get applied, the first time the road ahead was clear.
CategoryFuel/propulsion System
DateFeb 10, 2020
StateMN
Description
Delays in acceleration, not changing gears properly. Sometimes when accelerating the vehicle will just rev the engine like its in neutral. Acceleration delays very scary when merging, accelerating from full stop and passing. Bought april 2019.
CategoryService Brakes
DateJan 20, 2020
StateMD
Description
Automatic emergency braking activated unexpectedly while driving in a highway. Vehicles ahead were stopped or slowing down and I was starting to brake and the car activated the emergency braking bringing the car to a complete stop even though there was not immediate danger of collision, there was more than a car space between my car and the stopped car. The car behind me had to veer off the road not to hit me. A similar situation happened twice before.
CategoryPower Train
DateDec 20, 2019
StateCT
Description
When I come to a slight uphill incline, slow down without fully stopping, and then attempt to accelerate, there are times when the transmission feels as if it is in neutral. The engine will rev up to approximately 2000 rpm but the vehicle will not accelerate for approximately 1 second. Then all of a sudden, the car will accelerate forward at a rapid pace. It seems as if the transmission is in between gears and the transmission then suddenly realizes that it needs to accelerate and then will accelerate usually at a fast pace. The feeling is that of a manual transmission when the clutch is released while the engine is at a higher rpm. My car has the traditional 6 speed automatic and not the dual clutch transmission. This is an intermittent issue and the car was brought to the dealer's service department. The tech stated that the transmission was working fine and there were no new software updates for the transmission.
CategoryAir Bags, Seat Belts, Unknown Or Other
DateNov 21, 2019
StateCA
Description
Upon collision (front end) at about 35 mph the vehicle burst into flames and continued to burn until the fire department showed up. In addition, there may be an issue with the seat belt mechanism. Driver's clavicle was fractured and displaced upon impact.
CategoryElectrical System, Forward Collision Avoidance, Seats:front Assembly:seat Heater/cooler
DateNov 19, 2019
StateAL
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2019 hyundai kona. While driving approximately 70 mph, the forward collision avoidance system suddenly activated, which caused the vehicle to abruptly slow down. Also, while operating the vehicle, the driver's seat heater erroneously activated and the doors would not automatically lock when switching to the drive position. The cause of the failures was not determined. Jim burke hyundai (4445 13th st north, birmingham, al) was notified of the failures. The manufacturer was not contacted. The failure mileage was 8,000.
CategoryFuel/propulsion System, Power Train
DateSep 28, 2019
StateNC
Description
When leaving home the vehicle had little acceleration and poor shifting. Took too much time merging into traffic. After contacting the local dealership the problem cleared up as it had done before. Drove to the local hyundai dealership. Obdii code read p0193.
CategoryFuel/propulsion System
DateSep 10, 2019
StateNC
Description
Little to no acceleration when gas pedal is depressed while in motion. Loss of power would suddenly occur. Transmission would no longer shift properly. This has occurred twice since newly purchased may 31, 2019. Fuel injector wiring harness was replaced after the first occurrence. Problem could not be duplicated after the second occurrence.
CategoryPower Train
DateJul 14, 2019
StateNY
Description
Car at times will not accelerate from a stop for 2 to 3 seconds after acclerater is push.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJun 29, 2019
StateFL
Description
Startup and driving for 15 minutes bcw warning system disabled radar blocked message comes on, yield sign with exclaimation point comes on, and the button that turns the system on/off left of steering wheel goes out error stays approx 20-25 minutes and then resets itself pulling off road, and restarting the car, it will also clear the error, we have wiped and cleaned bumper and sensor areas, have had car into 2 dealerships, they say system is operating as it should, can not reproduce problem. This error happens every single time I drive the car (early morning , I have not had it happen at other time, although husband has twice. Dealerships claim that some kind of radar is interferring, or the system turns off when it hasnt detected another car in the mirrors after 10 minutes. My question is, this is a safety feature, why would it just turn itself off? Other things I have noticed are, if pulling off road when error occurs, and going into menu to change any car settings, the bcw feature is completely missing from the menu when the error is on. And also the button to the left of steering wheel which turns system on/off. ( in the dark) you can see it "blinking in a consistant fashion. When the system is about to "fail/ send the error code, I have noticed that the button is no longer "blinking" ( you can only take notice of the button blinking in the background when its dark out. Reported my problem directly to hyundai in california, they closed case because dealerships couldnt reproduce the problem. Likewise they will not take bumper off, check sensors or anything other than can not reproduce problem, they are done, not pulling bumper off/etc hyundai wont reimburse them. Google problem, been happening on hyundai models since 2015, withour a fix, and this is a safety feature? No other car I have driven with a bcw system has done this in area im in 15 min after startup
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance
DateApr 23, 2019
StateMA
Description
2019 hyundai kona. Consumer writes in regards to defective braking system. *ld the consumer stated the forward collision avoidance system was inoperable. The system does not respond to speed limits, does not alarm, does not display pictures, and does not apply any braking force to avoid a crash. The vehicle was taken to the dealer twice and advised the vehicle was operating as designed. *js
CategoryFuel/propulsion System
DateDec 25, 2018
StateFL
Description
Once in a while when you step on gs pedal the car does not go for about 3 seconds,very dangerous when entering highway in front of traffic. Engine or transmission does not act or sound funny just seems like fuel system does not know gas pedal has been pushed. Happens only when you stop to turn and start to go again on street or highway. Took it to rick case hyundai in weston florida they said ajusted transmission but did not fix problem,still doing same thing every now and then. It has happened about 15 times since I bought car 3 weeks ago in early december 2018.

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.


Share your story

Does this ring a bell? Have you had a bad experience too? Sound off and share your experience with other visitors in the comment box below.

Brian Jones

About the Author:

Brian Jones spent more than 20 years working as an ASE Certified Master Tech and Parts Specialist at multiple dealerships. Brian has become an authority in the industry, traveling across the country to consult for car dealerships and contributing his expertise as a writer for several major automotive publications. In his spare time, Brian enjoys working on pickup trucks, muscle cars, Jeeps and anything related to motorsports.

See more posts from Brian Jones
4 COMMENTS
  • Rod

    I am the owner of a 2019 Kona and I can’t say anything negative about the drive. I find the handling is tight, the steering is solid and the acceleration is excellent. I also have had to apply the brakes in an urgent manner a few times and felt them grab and slow the vehicle very smoothly. I will say, that the cargo space is quite small.

  • ian f

    i have a 2019 elite done 66000 kms and no problems

  • Hayam b

    Very bad car . Kona 2019 was owned by me. The electrical cruise lane control system stopped out of a sudden. And the car flipped over. Now its cancelled and the hyundai company says that its not their problem. They are very bad and the car had so many issues they were unable to fix them even👎🏻👎🏻👎🏻👎🏻

  • Diana Y

    I have a 2018-2019 Kona sport. Since I purchased this vehicle after the death of my mother I have had weird mechanical issues. The fuel jets thought replaced continue to be a acceleration problem. I was told they weren’t clean, bad gas, fan needs to be changed evt. In other words I’ve been told everythimg except the fuel injectors aren’t working. They finally replaced them and I immediately started having the same problems. The vehicle also out of the blue windshield wipers stop working. I can’t turn car off or on. Odd momentary electrical oddities. I paid almost 30,000 for this suv new but unfortunately my forever vehicle seems to be my scary vehicle.

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead you can to our legal team.

Please select your star rating.

Briefly describe your experience Briefly describe your experience

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? Please enter a valid phone number

Want to know if you could sue? Get a free legal evaluation Lemberg Law?

Get Your No-Obligation
Case Evaluation

Send a secure message to our legal team.

What’s your name? What’s your name?
What’s your email address? What’s your email address?
What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?
Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem
Confidentiality Guarantee: We keep your information completely confidential and will not send you spam or sell your information.