2021 Subaru Forester Problems and Top Complaints – Is Your Car A Lemon?

Electrical system and visibility issues among the top complaints received by the NHTSA from vehicle owners

By Brian Jones | Updated on

By Brian Jones | Updated on

Subaru has been known to make reliable vehicles in years gone by, so enthusiasts were hopeful about the 2021 Subaru Forester. After all, the company claims it “adapts to any adventure.” However, this newer model seems to suffer from a defective electrical system and terrible visibility, some of which have been a major concern with other models as well.

Don’t be stuck with a lemon. You have legal rights to cash, return or buyback.

The law makes Subaru pay legal fees.

We've fixed thousands of lemon problems. Message or call 877-795-3666 today.

NHTSA Complaints for the 2021 Subaru Forester

Complaint CategoryNumber of Complaints
Visibility/wiper
58
Unknown Or Other
17
Electrical System
10
Engine
8
Visibility:windshield
8
Forward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking
5
Service Brakes
4
Vehicle Speed Control
3
Power Train
3
Power Train:automatic Transmission
2

Click on other model year to view more problems:  2017   2018   2019   2020   2022

Problems with the Electrical System

Considering the electrical system runs just about everything in a vehicle, it must be constructed properly or significant problems can occur. That’s precisely what is happening with this Subaru SUV.

One Edmunds user wrote, “rented for a week. The electronic features like the operation of the key FOB, climate controls, lane departure, cruise control, etc., were maddeningly difficult to figure out.”

It turns out that the electrical system issues make their way into every part of the car. Service Bulletin #10-100-21 discusses a defect leading to HVAC concerns. Customers were complaining about excessive noise heard even when the A/C wasn’t running. Subaru issued this bulletin to command the service department to replace the variable displacement type A/C compressor in order to resolve the condition. Whether users are attempting to figure out complicated electronics or listening to HVAC noise with the system off, this SUV surely can’t impress many.

Problems with the Visibility

Auto glass complaints have been ongoing for several years with Subaru models. Many hoped that the problems would be resolved with the 2021 Subaru Forester, but that’s simply not the case.

One NHTSA complaint states, “I have a 2021 Subaru Forester, bought in Oct. 2020. The vehicle was parked in the garage. I went to get into the car and noticed front windshield crack for no apparent reason.”

Class action lawsuits have been formed because of this very condition with other Subaru vehicles, so it appears that the 2021 Forester will soon be joining the list. In litigation, users claim that their Subaru windshields are spontaneously chipping, breaking and cracking. For some customers, this defect occurred within weeks or months from the purchase, just like the above complaint. Adding salt to the wound, Subaru continues to replace these defective windshields with some that have the same problems, making customers irate. There’s nothing safe about driving a vehicle with a windshield that can instantaneously burst or crack. As owners start to see clearly once again, maybe common sense will tell them to switch automotive brands.

Your Lemon Law Legal Rights

Think you have a lemon? Sit back and let the experts work out your lemon at no cost to you. The law makes Subaru pay legal fees. You may be able to get your lemon out of your life. Every year, auto manufacturers buy back, replace or pay cash settlements to thousands of ‘lemon’ owners like you.

Complaint Data

CategoryEngine
DateJan 31, 2023
StateNY
Description
My vehicle stalls at stop signs and red lights at least once or twice a day regularly I've taken to the dealer and they said I was the reason it does that but the car is barely 2 years old bought new it has been doing that since last year it needs to be fixed
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Adaptive Cruise Control, Forward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Lane Departure: Blind Spot Detection
DateJan 30, 2023
StateME
Description
My forester needed new tires at 13,250 miles. I had my tires rotated and that is when subaru noticed the worn tires. I called subaru corporate and they informed me that do not replace tires. I bought new tires and then went to have a wheel alignment. The technician told me he could do the alignment but he couldn't adjust the lane assist diagnostic or the vdc and other safety features. Now I am unsure what to do. I have tried to resolve this with subaru of america without resolution. Hopefully, you will be able to help me. Why are subaru dealers not doing these adjustments? Thanks for your help with this serious situation. Bobette turner
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateJan 30, 2023
StateIL
Description
I was driving in downtown chicago with my cousin. We had already been in the car driving around the city for ~15 minutes, so the car was warm. I had approached a stoplight, and we both heard a thud. I had assumed, because it had recently snowed, that it was some slush dropping on my car from a light. So, we were both looking around (specifically up), for what it could be. However, when we both looked forward again, we saw a 6-inch crack in my windshield. It's in the middle of my windshield in between my two wipers. As I further drove, the crack continued to grow for another 4-5 inches to the right. After doing a bit of research, subaru has had issues with windshields before, and has settled a class action lawsuit (cla) related to it. The crack that I experienced is the same type of crack that occurred with the windshields in the cla. I had reached out to my insurance company (progressive), and they did not have any idea about this issue with subarus and said that it was not covered to replace it. I have not reached out to dealership yet for information. There was no warning lights, no drastic speed, no rocks or physical damage to the region that could explain the crack. However, if something like this could occur when barely anything is happening, what is the safety for a windshield when the car is on a highway, when a stone hits, when its sub-zero temperatures, etc.
CategoryService Brakes
DateJan 17, 2023
StateCA
Description
My brake rotors warped at 6900 miles. They were resurfaced and covered under warranty. The shop indicated that because I washed my wheels in the course of a 4 minute car wash 3 blocks from my house that I caused them to warp. The symptoms included very rusty view from eye level and shuddering on braking. This was the front axle. Today I took car in at 42000 miles rotors and pads have to be replaced front and back rotors surfaced and pads replaced. My car was aok but sat for 2 weeks after xmas and upon driving again they instantly suffered on braking and were very rusty. I am not a hard or fast braker. I do occasionally tow a 4x6 small wood box trailer that does not have its own brakes.. Way too old… steel frame wood sides. It sounds silmilar to the issue the ascent has. My concern is obviously safety first and second cost to replace every 20-30k miles adds 00 to 00 and it should not be that way. Ever car prior to this has gone at least 120k before needing any brake replacement parts. Is it the ceramic pads leaving material on the rotors, not rotor warp? Is it improper tightening of parts per specs? Is it hub warp? Lugs overtightened? And how can I and many others (google it) avoid this safety issue and the costs??
CategoryPower Train:automatic Transmission
DateDec 30, 2022
StateNY
Description
The contact owns a 2021 subaru forester. The contact stated while shifting the vehicle into the drive gear, the vehicle accelerated at high speed without any warning and drove into the wall of her garage causing front damage to the vehicle. The contact stated that the vehicle hesitated to turn off. No one was injured. The vehicle was not diagnosed. The dealer was not contacted. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 8,000.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateDec 19, 2022
StateIN
Description
Windshield has cracked twice in last month, in separate areas. I replaced the windshield on 11/9/22 and identified a new crack on 12/18/22.
CategoryPower Train, Service Brakes
DateDec 08, 2022
StateWA
Description
The contact owns a 2021 subaru forester. The contact stated while depressing the brake pedal and attempting to park in the driveway, the vehicle excessively independently accelerated in speed. The brake pedal failed to stop the vehicle and the vehicle was shifted into park in order to come to a stop. The vehicle caused damage to the door and garage. There were no injuries reported. The vehicle was not diagnosed. The dealer was contacted, and they stated they were not aware of any recalls or complaints for the failure. The manufacturer was not contacted. The failure mileage was 10,000.
CategoryStructure:body, Visibility/wiper
DateDec 05, 2022
StateWA
Description
In the afternoon when I returned to my vehicle, a large crack (roughly 8 inches) formed on the lower sector of the windshield that appeared to have oriented by the mounting of the passenger wiper arm. I inspected the windshield for damage such as a rock chip and could not find anything to suggest that the integrity was compromised in any way. Their was no visible damage to the windshield other than the crack that formed. The crack formed while the vehicle was parked in a parking lot
CategoryUnknown Or Other, Visibility
DateNov 30, 2022
StateMN
Description
Glass cracked for no reason. According to this article subaru has been sued related to 2017-2020 foresters for a similar reason https://www. Torquenews. Com/1084/new-ruling-subaru-cracked-windshield-lawsuit-now-adds-25m-cars
CategoryEngine
DateNov 23, 2022
StateFL
Description
Engine stalled 2x within 8 days at major intersections (both times), therefore blocking a lane in the intersections. Was told 1st time it was a gliche by dealership. Upon researching prior recalls for this make and model, engine stalls have been an issue. Dealership still can't figure out issue.
CategoryWheels
DateNov 16, 2022
StateTX
Description
This is our 3rd subaru forester from corpus christi tx dealer hicks. During the past six months we have had the stem valves in the tires replaced 4 times. I said to the manager that there appears to be a systemic issue , the run may be defective and requested that these tires be replaced total mileage 6700 dealer had three shots at fixing the problem plus the 4th shot today as the pressure signal was on. The request was denied please investigate and help
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateNov 04, 2022
StateNJ
Description
I purchased a 2021 subaru forester with approximately 9000 miles on the odometer. Purchase was made on october 18, 2022, then on october 19, 2022 I experienced unintended acceleration on my way home that day with the car. The car just seemed to have a mind of its own and just "took off" at high speed and quickly it returned to normal. I simply thought I did something wrong and kept driving the car. Then on november 2, 2022 while in my driveway, the unintended acceleration happened again and this time the car hit a building on our property and both the building and the car suffered severe damage.
CategoryElectrical System
DateOct 12, 2022
StateOR
Description
When I bought my car I was assured that it was impossible to lock the keys inside the car. Typically I put my dog in a special car harness and buckle him into the middle of the back seat. He's 77 lbs. And tall. It's a bit of a project to get him all set. I'm leaning over and all my stuff is hanging off of me so I drop my purse onto the floor of the back seat and put the car keys on the console between the two front seats so I can more comfortably deal with him. I do this from the right side of the car as the child car seat is on the left side. Once he's buckled in I close the door and walk around to the driver's side and get in. On oct. 7th I had taken him to a park to play. The temps were in the 80s and my car was parked in the sun. He's a bernedoodle and does not handle heat very well. I buckled him in as usual from the right side and also put the keys on the console as usual. Then I closed the door. Click! Uh-oh! All the doors automatically locked! With the car in the sun and the outside temps in the 80s I can only guess that the inside temp had to be well over 100. I almost panicked. I thought of calling the police, but here in portland they are slow to respond if they even respond at all. I banged on all the windows and thought of finding a rock to break one open. Then I remembered that I hadn't tried the back lift up door as it's an suv. Thankfully it opened. But I had to crawl in over all my stuff in the back, over my tall, 77 lb. Dog, and stretch out to reach my keys on the console in the front. Then I had to back out. This was not easy; I'm in my 70s. I shouldn't have to do that! So [xxx] was okay in the end. What if it had been my two year old granddaughter? What if the back didn't open like the side doors didn't? It shouldn't be that way. I called subaru and they said they never heard of that happening. They said there was a lock setting but I couldn't find it. They said the fob battery could be low but there was no warning. I'm bringing the car in. Information redacted pursuant to the freedom of info
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateOct 02, 2022
StateCA
Description
Spontaneous cracks across windshield obscuring vision. Vehicle was parked overnight in my garage. No windshield cracks, stone damage etc. Upon parking but the next morning there were diffuse cracks across windshield. This is similar to cracks in subaru vehicles outlined in 2020 class action lawsuit filed against subaru for spontaneous windshield cracks in 2017-2020 subaru vehicles, especially the forester. No recall has been issued. Car is being presented to subaru dealer where purchased in napa, ca. This week. The diffuse nature of the cracks and its affect on vision is a safety issue.
CategoryPower Train
DateSep 19, 2022
StateMA
Description
Car was parked on driveway (6 degree slope to rear) car was placed in park driver exited car to go into house when she came out car had rolled down the driveway to hit another car parked across street rear facing bot cars had rear damage. The same thing happened to the car one week later when parked in the garage placed in park but started to roll back. Was able to stop it because I was still in the car I use the parking brake now all the time
CategorySuspension:rear:springs:leaf Spring Assembly:u-bolt, Leaf Spring To Axle
DateSep 09, 2022
StateCA
Description
The contact owns a 2021 subaru forester. The contact stated that on two separate occasions while driving below 35 mph, the sway bar fractured and detached from the subframe of the vehicle. There was no warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the bolt was replaced; however, the contact then stated that while driving at a slow speed, the rear sway bar failed. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the rear sway bar had fractured and separated from the subframe and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and the contact was provided a case number. The failure mileage was approximately 26,000.
CategoryStructure:body
DateSep 06, 2022
StateVT
Description
On my 2021 subaru forester the rear passenger wheel well rubber cover came loose during travel. This has happened on my wife's 2019 subaru forester on the driver rear, and the one on the passenger rear is coming loose. The part was slapping against the side of the car and if we had not pulled over and manually removed it it could have easily flown off the car. The driver side on my wife's car has been replaced, and a replacement has been ordered for my car. The local dealer stated that this has not happened before. To have two car suffer from this seems a bit suspect to me.
CategoryVisibility:windshield
DateSep 06, 2022
StateAR
Description
The contact owns a 2021 subaru forester. The contact stated while driving 70 mph, she heard an abnormal noise and saw a crack on the upper driver's side windshield. The contact was able to continue driving. The contact took the vehicle to the local dealer, where it was diagnosed with needing the windshield to be replaced. The dealer referred the contact to an auto shop to have the repair completed. The windshield was replaced however, the failure recurred. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. A dealer was not contacted. The manufacturer had not been informed of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 7,000. The vin was not available.
CategoryVehicle Speed Control:accelerator Pedal
DateAug 31, 2022
StateHI
Description
The contact owns a 2021 subaru forester. The contact stated that while the vehicle was parked, she shifted the gear shifter into reverse(r) and the vehicle experienced unintended acceleration and lunged backward, crashing into another vehicle. Additionally, the vehicle made abnormally loud noises and was extremely hot after it was turned off. The contact did not sustain any injuries. No police report was filed. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, and the dealer inspected the brake system. The dealer was unable to duplicate the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 7,000.
CategoryEngine, Unknown Or Other
DateAug 27, 2022
StateVT
Description
On 08/23/2022 while driving on a four lane city street, light rain, moderate traffic, at about 35 mph, the car suddenly lost forward speed, depresssing the accelerator move rpm to over 3000, with continued loss of forward speed, until suddenly the drive train engaged and forward speed resumed. This is the fourth time this type of event has occured. A check at a subaru dealer the next day revealed no codes in memory. Fortunately there was no heavy traffic on this road at the time because in another half hour there would have been very heavy traffic. This is very disconcerting and potentially dangerous to vehicles directly behind. Is there a problem with the eye sight system that triggers a sudden loss of speed when there is no vehicle close ahead?
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateAug 24, 2022
StateOH
Description
The windshield cracked from a minor stone impact while driving on a highway. This is the second time it cracked since purchasing in march of 2021. The first cracked windshield was replaced by the dealer under warranty since no impact indication was detected. The crack is documented in pictures and the windshield will require replacement in order to comply with local regulations. The crack location across the drivers line of sight poses a safety distraction.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateAug 09, 2022
StateCO
Description
A stone came off the road in interstate 25 and hit my windshield. Within 24 hours, there was a crack halfway across. I have had the car for a year and this will be the second windshield replacement. The first one was from an impact so small that I could not see it--I thought it had just spontaneously cracked. The dealer showed me a pinhole impact (you could find it by tracing the crack with a ballpoint pen until the tip of the pend caught in the impact crater). These windshields are garbage--I have been driving since 1974 and have never seen anything like this.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateAug 03, 2022
StateOK
Description
Windshield crack spontaneously appeared while parked. There are no rock chips. Crack starts where the windshield wipers meet, immediately over the heated windshield wiper location. This is the same issue that subaru recently had a class action lawsuit against them for, though that was for models up to the year 2020. Subaru so far has denied there to be an issue and states that the warranty period is up to 36,000 miles, which I have surpassed in the 17 months since I bought it brand new in 2021. There appears to be a bubble under the glass where the crack started.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateJul 28, 2022
StateMD
Description
A spontaneous crack in the windshield appeared across the driver's field of vision. The crack began on the lower driver's side and progressed to the middle of the windshield. It blocked my normal field of vision and caused light distortion from oncoming headlights. This problem has been documented many times including in a class action lawsuit for 2017 - 2020 subaru foresters. Yet subaru refuses to acknowledge a problem. The windscreen was replaced by delmarva auto glass, cambridge, md. Pictures were taken of the removed windshield.
CategoryExterior Lighting
DateJul 15, 2022
StateMD
Description
I believe low beam head lights must be carefully inspected in low light environments, when driving at around 60mph at 2 lanes highway where you cannot use high beam lights, the sight is clear at the sides of the road but its to low down at at the speed driven if something shows up at the road it would be impossible to see and to stop at a safe distance. I believe the lights from your car ahead are too low to the ground and the visibility is dangerously short, I think that problem should be revised carefully. When driving on a highway alone at night that concern can be seen and maybe understand what I want to say and why that can cause an accident.
CategoryEngine, Service Brakes, Vehicle Speed Control
DateJul 13, 2022
StateNY
Description
On 7/9/22 @ 6:00p I was with my wife & 2 grandsons going into a diner parking lot. As I was slowly going into a spot the car suddenly and without warning accelerated causing the car to drive over a cement parking stop, over a 1foot high cement wall, through a chain linked fence which had privacy covering, down into a 12 deep ravine. After shutting off the car my grandsons, wife & myself had to crawl out through the rear hatch. When things quieted down we realized that none of the safety features were activated (anti-collision warning, anti-collision braking) I thank god no one was hurt. Subaru needs to look into this so in the future no one ever experiences this.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateJul 03, 2022
StateCO
Description
Windshield started cracking for no reason from bottom left, spreading to about 22inches across to the driver side
CategoryUnknown Or Other, Visibility/wiper
DateJun 21, 2022
StateTN
Description
Windshield developed large l or j shaped crack from very top near roof line, down center of windshield and turns toward the drivers side. This car was parked in our driveway at home when it cracked. No stone chips, nothing dropped on it as you can see in attached pictures. We will schedule a visit to subaru dealer here in knoxville, tn. For inspection. No warnings because vehicle was parked in our driveway.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateJun 21, 2022
StateWY
Description
A crack developed at the base of the windshield and spread across the windshield
CategoryAir Bags, Fuel/propulsion System, Vehicle Speed Control
DateJun 18, 2022
StateCT
Description
I was coming out of my garaged ( car was facing forward) . The car seemed to hesitate as I tapped the gas pedal. I thought maybe this was because the car sensed the sides of the garage via the rear view mirror sensors. I am always careful when exiting my garage so as not to ding the rearview mirrors. I repeatedly tapped the gas lightly about three times but the car hesitated each time and did not want to seem to move forward. One last time I tapped the gas and the car bolted out of the garage jumped the curb across the street at an unexpected rapid speed. I did not have my foot on the gas pedal. The car lunged forward , crossed the street and hit the garage door and frame of the house across the street for me doing structural damage. I believe this to be unintended acceleration for which other subaru models have experienced problems. The air bags did not deploy. Please see similar accident for another example of this same scenario with the same make model and year as my vehicle: https: //www. Google. Com/amp/s/www. Torque net. Com/1084/subar-acceleration-lawsuit-update-forester-slams-garage/amp
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJun 15, 2022
StateOK
Description
Uknown. This vehicle was purchased in january of 2021. Approximately a month afterwards, the windshield had cracked and I paid out of pocket to get it replaced. Shortly after replacing the windshield, it had obtained 2 chips on the windshield and from the second chip, it cracked from the bottom left corner up towards the middle of the windshield. The frequency in which chips and cracks are occurring, especially after purchasing the vehicle brand new and shortly after replacing the windshield, is alarming. This puts my safety at risk because of its interference with visibility and subaru eyesight which is suppose to be a safety feature on the vehicle. This has been an ongoing problem with subaru and their windshields. After owning the vehicle for just 18 months and having replaced the windshield already, this should not be happening in such frequency.
CategoryEngine
DateJun 13, 2022
StateMI
Description
The contact owned a 2021 subaru forester sport. The contact stated while driving at 75 mph, the front end of the vehicle crashed into a small deer. The air bags did not deploy. The contact veered to the side of the road. The contact's friend who was occupying the front passenger seat exited the vehicle and inspected the front end of the vehicle. The contact's friend then advised her to immediately exit the vehicle as there were flames underneath the hood of the vehicle. The contact stated while she was exiting the vehicle and letting her three dogs who were occupying the rear seats out of the vehicle, the fire expanded to the entire front end of the vehicle. The contact stated that the vehicle burned significantly. The contact was able to extinguish the fire with the assistance of the fire department. A fire department report was filed. A police report was filed. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic, where it was totaled. The contact sustained a soreness on the right knee but did not seek medical assistance. The dealer was notified of the failure but did not provide any assistance. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 20,000. The vin was unavailable.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateJun 08, 2022
StateNJ
Description
The windshield was parked in my driveway and was fine when I parked it. When I went to start the car the windshield had cracked. It was not hit with a rock or anything - just spontaneously cracked while sitting in my driveway. Vehicle is just over a year old and very low miles.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateJun 02, 2022
StateKS
Description
I was driving down the interstate using the iq cruise feature. There was no road construction and a car was in front of me. A small pebble hit the bottom part of the windshield, passenger side. This was not a large rock. It was "normal" gravel that often hits the windshield during highway driving. After hearing the "ting" from the small rock, we then heard a cracking sound. Immediately a 12 inch crack appeared in the windshield. Within hours, the crack doubled in size. Two days later, two new cracks appear. These cracks are on the bottom, driver side and intersect with one another. One crack is approximately 18 inches long, the other is less than 12 inches. I now have two sets of cracks that almost span the entire width of the windshield. I have already paid to repair a chip in the middle of the windshield that occurred several months ago. I was stopped at a red light. There was a car in front of me. When the light turned green, the car in front of me threw a rock on my windshield as we began to accelerate. We were not moving fast at all, since the light had just changed to green. I was shocked to see a chip in my windshield from that incident. Prior to owning my 2021 subaru forester, I drove a 2010 mazda cx-9. My mazda had 160,000 miles when I traded it in. The mazda's windshield was never damaged in over 10 years and 160,000 miles. In contrast, I have owned my subaru forester for 18 months and have driven less than 19,000 miles. I have already paid to repair one chip and now need to replace the entire windshield due to cracks across both the driver and passenger sides. There appears to be a defect with the subaru forester windshield that makes it excessively prone to damage. There have been subaru windshield issues in the past (unknown to me until recently). Based on my experiences, I do not believe the windshield problem has been completely resolved.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateMay 22, 2022
StatePA
Description
A small rock hit the top driver's corner of the windshield and led to 2 continuous cracks which extended to the middle of the windshield.
CategoryEngine
DateMay 05, 2022
StateVT
Description
This is in reference to tracking # 11462054, a third incident of sudden engine power loss/deceleration. On 04/27/2022 the 2021 subaru premium was returned to the selling subaru dealer to try and fix the two previously reported problems . They found no codes in memory and no problems when road tested. I left the dealer to return home, and about 10 min. After, on a two lane city street, the engine suddenly lost power while I was going about 25mph, and decelerated to about 10mph before regaining power. I drove back to the dealer and a service rep came with me for a road test of several miles, where the car operated normally. At the dealer, there was no code in memory. The mileage was about 13,135. No paperwork was provided by the dealer. How to resolve this problem???
CategoryEngine, Power Train:automatic Transmission
DateApr 25, 2022
StateVT
Description
On 04/02/2022, several minutes after having filled the gas tank, I was driving at about 35 mph on a two lane road at constant throttle, when the engine suddenly lost power for several seconds before it regained acceleration. There was a pickup truck following me very closely and it swerved around me to avoid hitting me. On 04/13/2022 , several minutes after leaving my driveway, at about 27 mph on a two lane road, the engine again lost power for several seconds before resuming power. In the first case the engine was at operating temp., in the second case it was cold. I will take the vehicle to the subaru dealer from whom I purchased it in a couple of days to evaluate the problem, which I consider to be serious. In both cases I was so surprised that I didn't look at the tach etc. 12,500 miles.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateApr 25, 2022
StateNC
Description
Windshield chipped while driving 60mph on the freeway. A few minutes later while stopped at a light it developed an 18 inch crack as we watched it happen.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateApr 25, 2022
StateWI
Description
Used the car on saturday, didn't get hit with a rock or a branch. When I parked the car there wasn't a crack. Woke up sunday morning and the windshield was cracked, it started from the bottom passenger corner up to the middle of windshield about 10-12". No trees nearby or rock damage. Taking it to subaru today.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateApr 19, 2022
StatePA
Description
Windshield was cracked and was repaired successfully by safelite. Then a new crack started about 18 inches long. Then a 3rd crack just happened. There was no major things hitting windshield . 3 cracks to a brand new 1yr windshield seems to be very faulty material. Online comments have noted this is a major problem with subaru who don't seem interested in rectifying the situation. This seems to be a major safety issue.
CategoryVisibility:windshield
DateApr 15, 2022
StateTX
Description
The contact's wife owns a 2021 subaru forester. The contact stated that a diagonal crack had formed on the bottom driver's side of the windshield without incident. The contact then stated that the crack rapidly spread to the upper driver's side of the windshield. The contact stated that the crack obstructed his wife's vision while driving. Neither the dealer nor the manufacturer had been notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 8,500.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateApr 12, 2022
StateNE
Description
Having the car less than a year already have several chips on the windshield. In doing research it seems that there are a lot of issues with new subaru windshields with chipping and cracking.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateApr 06, 2022
StateCA
Description
Design flaw-2022 subaru forester, antenna placements inside body of car result in pacemaker interference and make it impossible to drive in and avoid. Antennas are built into frame of car and cannot be disabled to accommodate for disabled persons who have implantable medical devices. Inability to be able to permanently and completely disable technology that can interfere with implantable medical devices including "starlink", gps, wireless and radio wave technologies. Failure by subaru to release testing results of above telematic devices to consumers. Failure by auto industry to properly test these systems before implementing into autos. Failure by auto industry to allow for accomodating people with disabilities to operate and purchase safely autos with these features. I want a black box warning on all vehicle stickers and complete disclosure in writing to dangers and exclusion to disable person to operate these vehicles! I disclosed to sells staff at subaru at time of looking at vehicles to purchase that I have pacemaker, no warning was giving or safety concerns for persons with pacemakers. After purchase of vehicle and experiencing pacemaker function issues caused by these systems I was informed to stay 8" away from all antennas, which is impossible to do while driving or sitting in or near vehicle. I now have a vehicle I cannot drive and subaru has refused to buy back to vehicle. I also want all any any testing info result findings do by nhtsa/subaru to be mail to me asap! Thanks for your time.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateApr 02, 2022
StateWA
Description
Windshield is faulty because it cannot hold up to small impacts of small rocks. I was driving on the freeway and a nearby car picked up a small rock which impacted my windshield glass. There was about one centimeter circumference star crack that webbed out 1 inches. While driving, the crack grew to 1 foot long in the span of less than 30 minutes during the drive (this day the outdoor temperature was 49-50 degrees f.). This is the second time this has happened. I had recently replaced my windshield about 8 months ago when rock hit windshield and crack grew over 2 feet. I have purchased the car 14 months ago and needing two windshield replacements.
CategoryElectrical System, Forward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Visibility/wiper
DateMar 25, 2022
StateTX
Description
Purchased brand new from dealer. Less than 3 months later a tiny pebble came up and hit the center of the windshield, immediately you could see an indentation and a spider web. Now the whole windshield has multiple spider web cracks. The splits go from edge of driver's side all the way to edge of passenger side of the car. As well as 3 separate rings going around center indentation. Only had the car 3 months when this occured. Have had 3 instances that I could not start the car. Now the cigarette lighter charge port will not work. Moon roof malfunctioning and will not close sometimes when fully opened. Now I am having issues with the brakes sticking. It's 1 year old and this is way too many issues for a brand new car! Never again!
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateMar 19, 2022
StateNC
Description
There was a small rock kicked up by another car, and there immediately was a 6 inch curved crack in the windshield from the bottom-most part of the windshield. It quickly spread to 10+ inches and is still growing. The car is only at 9. 8k miles
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateMar 09, 2022
StateME
Description
I heard a ping from a small rock kicked up by another driver, and I immediately noticed a 6 inch crack in the windshield. It quickly spread to 10+ inches and is still growing. The car is only at 7k miles…and I already had to replace the left rear quarter panel glass which shattered a month after buying new. I've never had vehicle glass crack so easily on any other vehicle!!
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateJan 25, 2022
StateWA
Description
While driving home 1/21/2022 I heard a rock hit the hood of my car, when I arrived home I checked for damage... Nothing I could see. When I went out the next morning I had a 14 inch crack in my windshield. I took my car to have inspected at the dealership repair and they said it was due to a chip the size of a pinhead. I have contacted my insurance and filed a claim so the windshield will be repaired but I have to pay a 0 deductible. There's got to be some kind of fault with the windshield that it would sustain this kind of damage from such a small chip in the glass. I have included pictures magnified at 10x
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateJan 23, 2022
StateTN
Description
There was a tiny pebble hit the windshield on friday jan 21st 2022. There was a minor chip in the windshield due to that and later in an hour or so it expanded into a 8-10 inches one. This is while I was driving, I still haven't got home.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateJan 20, 2022
StateWA
Description
With no impact from flying debris the windshield developed a bubble/crack potentially in the interlayer. There crack/bubble cannot be felt on the inside or outside parts of the windshield.
CategoryElectrical System, Unknown Or Other
DateJan 12, 2022
StateGA
Description
My windshield shattered when hit by a small rock that apparently came from across and bounced up and hit the windshield. Subaru does not replace windshields... So you have to get insurance to cover. The wiring in a subaru is attractive to rodents - what the wiring is made of depends on who you speak with - most common answer is oat based covering. I have spent over 00. 00 to have the wring in the front and fuel area. This is a 2021 subaru forester with less than 12k miles. Subaru can not give a straight answer on material in the wiring and says I need to build a shed. There are 4 other vehicles at my location that are there 20 hours a day - I go to an office 5 days a week so my car is gone over 50 hours a week - still my fault!
CategoryBack Over Prevention: Rearview System Braking
DateJan 09, 2022
StateAZ
Description
The rcta system operates very poorly. When backing up and we see a car in the rear camera screen approaching from the back side of our car, we cannot hear or see any allert. My wife and I are both seniors in our seventies and I suffer from normal age-related hearing loss.... My wife not so much. Her hearing is quite normal. But we cannot hear the alert alarm. Also, the visual alert is located in a place where you do not look when you are backing up. It wasn't until I owned the car for four months that I discovered that there is a visual rcta alert in the side view mirrors (of all places).... An area one does not look at while backing up. With a car with a rear camera, your eyes are usually glued to the camera display screen when backing up; after all, it is a safety device. We have nearly had a collision a half dozen times already. I contacted subaru about this issue, and they told me that there is nothing that they can do and that in their words "as you can imagine, finding the right balance for all of our owners is a difficult job." this sound alert should be adjustable... It is not. And the visual alert should be in a place where your eyes are looking when backing up. Right now, the subaru rcta is worthless to us.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJan 05, 2022
StateCA
Description
I leased a 2021 forester in april, and around september, I got a j shape crack in the bottom center of the windshield. Subaru dealership in glendale, ca told me they would replace the windshield free for the first time. Had to wait until mid-december for the backordered replacement to come in. Today, 1/5/22, was driving on the highway and a small projectile on the road caused a starburst crack on my newly replaced windshield.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateDec 28, 2021
StateCA
Description
Today I replaced my windshield for the second time in less than 6 months of owning the vehicle. The first crack happened a few months after I bought the car with no impact while driving. The second one also happened a couple weeks ago with no impact while driving. After seeing the other complaints, I'm shocked that there isn't a recall on these windshields. It's very dangerous to have windshields constantly cracking, especially without impact while driving.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateDec 24, 2021
StateTN
Description
Windshield cracked with no impact. Started at top center and is expanding down the center of the windshield. I reached out to subaru but no response.
CategoryVisibility:windshield
DateDec 17, 2021
StateAR
Description
The contact owns a 2021 subaru forester. The contact stated while driving 70 mph and passing a vehicle, he heard a sound coming from the windshield and the windshield cracked from the driver side to the middle of the windshield. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who replaced the windshield. The contact stated that the failure reoccurred at the same spot while driving and passing another vehicle. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer who replaced the windshield a second time. The contact stated that the failure reoccurred a third time while passing another vehicle. The contact stated that the windshield had a small crack at the bottom; however, the crack significantly expanded overnight. The dealer was notified of the failure. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 3,000.
CategoryElectrical System
DateDec 14, 2021
StateGA
Description
The wiring system fails when the wiring - soy based - is eaten by rats. Subaru refuses to take responsibility for this. My car has less the 9500 miles and has had over 00. 00 work done to replace the wiring eaten by rodents as this is considered "my fault?.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateDec 13, 2021
StateLA
Description
Windshield cracked after it was hit by a rock. I have been told there is windshield issues with this vehicle.
CategoryVisibility:windshield
DateDec 10, 2021
StateFL
Description
The contact owns a 2021 subaru forester. The contact stated that while driving approximately 45 mph, the front windshield cracked without impact. The crack started at the top right on the passenger's side and curved toward the rear-view mirror. The contact called the local dealer and was informed that the vehicle was not covered and referred the contact the insurance company. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not contacted. The approximate failure mileage was 9,000.
CategoryElectrical System
DateDec 08, 2021
StateGA
Description
I have had the wiring in my 2021 subaru forrester having to be replaced 2 times - once in front of car, once in fuel parts - due to rodents eating the wiring. I have been told by subaru customer service staff that the wiring is soy based. Subaru has a class action suite in hawaii for this exact reason yet subaru in macon continues to insist this is my problem not theirs. I have rodent repellant devices in my car. I am very frustrated, upset with being misled and no concern for the customer being offered.
CategoryElectrical System
DateDec 01, 2021
StateAZ
Description
Several instances of parasitic drain of the battery resulting in vehicle not being able to be started without a jump. Nothing was left on in the vehicle. Each time it was parked with the alarm set for approx 3-4 hours. The battery was completely dead. This vehicle is only 8 months old and this has happened around 8-9 times. Dealer does nothing about it except to charge the battery. This is unacceptable.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateNov 19, 2021
StateIL
Description
Crack in the windshield in line of sight. There is no entry point and upon research I'm seeing a lot of people complain about the 2021 models of the subaru forester with cracks. Living in the cold this is highly dangerous.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateNov 16, 2021
StateWA
Description
I purchased this vehicle one week ago and the first four miles I was on the interstate a small rock cracked my windshield. The issues with the forester windshields extend to the 2021 models.
CategoryEngine, Power Train
DateNov 12, 2021
StateCT
Description
The vehicle gets a shudder at different speeds and it feels like it's either the transmission is slipping or its coming from the motor but it never throws a trouble code so as the dealership says if its not throwing a trouble code they can't diagnose it until it does. So that's why I don't like these vehicles because no one know how to fix it old school by being a real mechanic and going old school to find the issue.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateNov 12, 2021
StateTX
Description
Windshield cracked for no apparent reason.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateNov 07, 2021
StateVA
Description
Windshield cracked at passenger side wiper arm area. There was no impact and no other vehicles in the immediate area. Crack quickly spread in a j shape to the driver's side.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateNov 02, 2021
StateCO
Description
Windshield easily cracks, without an impact site. I will be putting my 3rd windshield in and have owned the car for 7 months. 1st windshield cracked while parked at work. Not driving. May 5th, 2021. Had 1805 miles. 2nd windshield cracked while parked at home last night. Not driving. Have approx 9k miles now
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Service Brakes
DateNov 01, 2021
StateVA
Description
1. July 15, 2021 the brakes didn't fully engage three times. Twice within 30 minutes while driving to work and once on my drive home. 2. Unknown 3. Yes. Car was at dealership put through all kinds of tests and field engineer checked it out. They had me come out on monday, 9 august and drive it with the head mechanic while hooked up to a computer trying to see if the problem replicated. 4. Yes. 5. Yes. Eyesight technology picked up there was a problem – light came on, a text and an email were sent to me. Subaru got the message too. A specific issue was not identified at that time. Vehicle was towed to dealership three days later. Subaru's field engineer was called into examine vehicle. Apparently, he saw something he didn't like on a reading – it had to do with the aeb-autonomous emergency braking system. Dealership replaced the entire braking system and returned the car to my driveway on monday, 16 august. I bought this car in february 2021 after much research to include the nhtsa recommendations.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateOct 30, 2021
StateVA
Description
Intermittently, wipers do not function, even after 2 repairs. The first time, (3 weeks after vehicle purchase) after driving approximately 5-10 minutes in the rain, the wipers (front and rear) stopped working. After approximately 10 minutes, function resumed. The second time (later the same day), after driving approximately 5-10 minutes in the rain, the wipers (front and rear) stopped working. After approximately 17 minutes, function resumed. Wiper motor replaced by dealer. (3. 5 weeks after vehicle purchase) the third time (9 weeks after purchase), after a heavy dew, the wipers (front and rear) did not function. After approximately 10 minutes, wipers began to function. The fourth time (12 weeks after purchase), rain began after driving 1. 5-2 hours and wipers (front and rear) did not function at all. Dealer located and fixed a loose connection. (12. 5 weeks after vehicle purchase) the fifth time (13 weeks after purchase), rain began after driving 1. 5-2 hours and wipers (front and rear) did not function. After approximately 15 minutes, wipers began to function. The sixth time (15 weeks after purchase), rain began after driving 15 minutes and wipers (front and rear) stopped functioning after approximately 5-10 minutes of use. After approximately 30 minutes, wipers began to function.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Adaptive Cruise Control, Forward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Visibility/wiper
DateOct 25, 2021
StateCA
Description
Rock damage to windshield. Subaru advises to replace with oem glass to guarantee safety systems operate correctly making this a safety issue. The problem is that subaru windshields are back ordered. There are two problems here. First, subaru windshields are very susceptible to damage, perhaps more than others. Second, subaru fails to maintain critical safety system parts.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateSep 23, 2021
StateOK
Description
Windshield started cracking
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateSep 21, 2021
StateMO
Description
1100 miles on vehicle. Went inside business came out and 18 inch crack on windshield across my vision. No apparent reason.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking
DateSep 17, 2021
StateMI
Description
While driving down a two-lane road at 50-55 mph, the car started beeping and said "obstacle detected" despite there being *no* cars in front of, to the side of, or to the rear of me. Also, there was *nothing* on the road (no roadkill, litter, or other debris). Immediately upon beeping, the speed abruptly dropped from 50 to below 15 in a matter of milliseconds. Had there been a car behind me, they would've either rear-ended me or had to swerve (possibly into oncoming traffic), and had the road been wet or slippery, I would've likely spun out, possibly into oncoming traffic. Had the incident occurred on the interstate, it is entirely possible that I could've been rear-ended by a driver traveling at full speed. Again, all of this over no physical obstacle and with nobody around. This isn't the first time that the crash mitigation system has been activated over no observable obstacle (in fact, similar incidents have happend at least thrice), but this resulted in the most severe and abrupt change in velocity and was particularly concerning due to the high likelihood that it could cause an accident if the event had occurred with someone behind me. Since the incident happened maybe two hours ago, it has yet to be inspected and it didn't cause an accident, but I no longer wish to own the vehicle as it's clearly not safe for passenger travel.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateAug 27, 2021
StateMO
Description
I bought my vehicle and less than 24 hours later I was driving in the middle lane of the highway when my ears popped, and my windshield cracked down the middle. No rock seen or heard. Bought 8/26. Windshield cracks over 12 inches 8/27.
CategoryElectrical System
DateAug 15, 2021
StateCA
Description
The batteries drained overnight 3 times within 7 months after the purchase of the new vehicle. Battery was jumped each time by subaru roadside assistant. The dealer checked the battery and it was fine. It is the electrical (can) problem that drained the battery.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateAug 13, 2021
StateMI
Description
Windshield cracked without impact. This is on a new forester, less than 1000 miles.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateAug 07, 2021
StateOH
Description
The windshield cracked in the center while driving in a heavy rain storm. The temperature dropped from about 86 degrees to 73 degrees during the storm. I was operating my a/c at the time. The dealer inspected the windshield and found no external indication of damage. The repair was performed by the dealer under the new car warranty. Subaru america customer service was contacted and coordinated with the dealer for repair after inspection. Repair was listed as windshield install for stress crack.
CategoryVisibility:windshield
DateAug 05, 2021
StateCA
Description
The contact owns a 2021 subaru forester. The contact stated while his wife was driving 65 mph, she heard a ticking sound coming from the front windshield and noticed a small rock had struck the front windshield. The driver drove to the destination however, later in the day the driver returned to the vehicle and noticed a large crack had formed in the middle of the windshield. The vehicle was not diagnosed nor repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 6,000.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateAug 02, 2021
StateNJ
Description
Windshield cracked only 3 months on road 2600 miles. Long crack in middle of windshield distracts vision. Yes it was estimated for repair of 1425. 00. History of incidences are very high with cracked windshields since subaru change to acoustic glass. Windshield seem more prone to crack damage than other vehicles.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateJul 27, 2021
StateNJ
Description
March 2021: windshield - cracked from a small stone on roadway (rt 1). Crack is from top edge of windshield down and past the middle. Needed to be replaced. Paint chip needed to be repaired. Had to pay deductible of 0. Replaced with new oem windshield. July 2021 weekend on highway(turnpike). Stone caused a star shaped crack. Two days later the small damage radiated into 3 cracks covering more than half the windshield. Paying another 0 for replacement. Damage of two new oem windshields in less than 5 months on a brand new car causes fear of driving freely in case the next pebble might come through. Police can ticket for driving with a cracked windshield. Loss of time and effort to replace. Causes anxiety driving even after the windshield is replaced since it is so prone to damage and costs 0 each time. Weakness in subaru windshields known since 2015. I would expect such problems would have been resolved six years later. Have not experienced such a problem in 30 years of driving various model cars. Benefits of buying a new car is mostly lost both in expenses and peace of mind. Verified by insurance representatives.
CategoryElectrical System
DateJul 25, 2021
StateID
Description
I parked in the parking lot yesterday afternoon. But when I try to start my car this morning, the battery dead!I just bought this new subaru three months with 5000 miles. Very disappointed.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateJul 22, 2021
StateCA
Description
Bought the vehicle new. 2000 miles later I walk into my garage and notice a 6 inch crack at the top of my windshield. Completely out of nowhere. Neither my wife or I ever heard any impact that would have caused it. Immediately took it to dealership and had service rep inspect it. He seemed understanding and said he would try and get the go-ahead to replace from subaru of america. Nothing for months. I finally followed up and now nothing again. I am at 7000 miles now and am driving with a 3 ft long c shaped crack because I am not paying for this absurdity. ,000 and now I am to spend over 00 more within 2 months of driving. The dealership has the original pictures from when it had just occurred.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateJul 19, 2021
StateNC
Description
Cracked windshield while car was parked and nothing hit it. There is a separation in the glass that is not normally seen when caused by debris
CategoryVisibility:windshield
DateJul 12, 2021
StateNJ
Description
The contact owns a 2021 subaru forester. The contact stated while driving approximately 45 mph, the contact noticed that the front windshield was cracking from the bottom of the passenger's side going upward. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where they informed the contact that the issue was due to an object striking the windshield. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 5,200.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateJul 07, 2021
StateMD
Description
The windshield was hit by a small stone on highway and show a minor chip mark a while ago. Nothing else happened and the chip mark remain as it happened on my other vehicles. I parked in my indoor garage as usual on the july 4 weekend. When I pull out the vehicle to work on tuesday. I was terrible surprised by finding long cracks appeared on my windshield. One of them is more than a foot long.
CategorySuspension
DateJul 06, 2021
StateOR
Description
Top bolt on strut fell out. Caused wheel to collapse and bent drive axle.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateJul 04, 2021
StateTN
Description
This is the second cracked windshield on our new subaru forester in the past four months. We purchased the car new just over six months ago (12/29/2020). The first time, the windshield cracked, something hit the windshield while driving. The crack was extensive and we paid to replace the windshield on 3/22/2021. The second time something hit the windshield while driving (on 6/8/2021), it just chipped the windshield, and since the chip was a small star, less than the size of a quarter, we had the chip repaired to prevent further damage (on 6/10/2021). Today (7/4/2021), the windshield cracked while the car was parked in the driveway. The crack extends from the original chip. Since an intact windshield is critical to the safety of the vehicle, we will replace the windshield again. See attached photos and receipts. It is disappointing to have to replace the windshield twice within the first seven months we have owned the car. This seemed so unusual, I searched online to see if other subaru owners have had similar problems. There is evidence that this has happened to others as well, so this may be a bigger issue. See https://www. Subaruforester. Org/threads/2021-3-days-new-and-my-windshield-is-crack-already-moan. 821592/ and https://www. Torquenews. Com/1084/can-your-subaru-windshield-shatter-its-own-new-forester-and-outback-owners-say-yes
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJul 01, 2021
StateWA
Description
I was on highway and I was not tailgating other cars. While on highway, a tiny rock (so tiny didn't even see it make impact) hit the windshield of my 2021 subaru forester. It left less than . 5 inch of crack on windshield. The next day, the crack grew to the edge to over of half the windshield. The windshield is surprisingly extremely weak and susceptible to cracking and breaking. If such a tiny rock cause cause that much damage to the windshield, I fear for my safety and passengers' safety if larger hail or other debris will hit the windshield. Worse, if an accident would occur face-on, we will not be protected by the windshield. This is unacceptable that the windshield is weak and poorly manufactured. I brought car to the dealership and they inspected and took photos. I have also contacted subaru corporate and I am waiting for their follow-up contact.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateJun 27, 2021
StateCA
Description
Unknown crack in front windshield
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateJun 18, 2021
StateCA
Description
The windshield cracked for no reason. It's hotter than average today, about 102 f at the time of the incident.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateJun 18, 2021
StateVA
Description
For no observed reason, the windshield cracked while the car was parked in the shade between the hours of 11:56 - 12:43 pm. The crack appeared to originate from the lower right corner and spread diagonally towards the center of the windshield.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateJun 16, 2021
StateWI
Description
Cracked front windshield location is bottom passanger side by wiper up left to towards the rear view mirror. Car is a new 2021 subaru forester.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateJun 10, 2021
StateAZ
Description
The windshield cracked at 1,700 miles, while parked. The car had no visible chips/cracks and is brand new. After researching, it is apparently a common defect with the subaru windshield. Crack is comparable to photos of other subaru forester owners. Seems that subaru should already be aware of this problem and issue a recall on the windshield
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateJun 06, 2021
StateCA
Description
Windshield on the car has a 18" crack after no impact. It was brand new when we got it just over 2 months ago. Only 1500 miles on the car and already the windshield cracked so badly that it's beyond repair and needs to be replaced. This is a known issue with subarus that they have not addressed
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateJun 02, 2021
StateTX
Description
Unknown the windshield began to crack from the top during drive and has continued to crack down the middle
CategoryFuel/propulsion System, Unknown Or Other, Visibility/wiper
DateMay 31, 2021
StateTX
Description
This is for a car only 18 days driven. Windshield cracked from bottom, under retaining gasket, with no strike, impact, or previous ding. Car hood flexes up and down, more than 2-inches, when large trucks pass in opposite direction. Automatic fuel stop at pump did not work properly, causing fuel spill one time, and underfill another time. Windshield visibility and possibility of total failure. Car hood could fly up and obscure visibility and break windshield. Have not contacted dealer or insurance company yet about issues. Windshield problem is a known defect for subaru, and subject of many lawsuits. No warnings before problems.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateMay 20, 2021
StateNJ
Description
The windshield on my forester continues to chip and crack. I'm not understanding how and why. The first time it happened I repaired it. Now this is the 2nd time and there are multiple scratches and cracks in the center of the windshield. They are currently small. I am going to have to repair it again. I just bought my car in december 2020. It has been 5 months with two windshield incidents. I've owned cars for years and never had this issue.
CategoryVisibility:windshield
DateMay 10, 2021
StatePA
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2021 subaru forester. The contact stated that while the vehicle was stationary, the windshield cracked. The vehicle was taken to fred beans subaru (854 n easton rd, doylestown, pa 18902, (215) 340-7959) where it was diagnosed with needing the windshield to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was informed of the failure and informed the contact that the copay for the insurance would be reimbursed. The failure mileage was approximately 14,000.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateMay 05, 2021
StateCO
Description
Windshield cracked without warning. There was no damage to the windshield at 9am when I walked in to my office building, when I came out at 5:15 pm there was a large crack stretching from the passenger side towards the center. The vehicle had been parked all day, in a very slow office building complex (there were 3 of us at work) parked along the front walkway, there is no foot traffic around our building.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateMay 01, 2021
StateOH
Description
My windshield just cracked for a second time within 6 months of buying my car. I had it replaced when it cracked the first time less than a month after I bought it. It just cracked for a second time less than three months after having it replaced at an authorized place.
CategoryVisibility:windshield
DateApr 30, 2021
StateMS
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2021 subaru forester. The contact stated while driving 65 mph, the front windshield cracked without impact. The vehicle was not taken to the local dealer. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was informed of failure and the contact was awaiting a response. The failure mileage was approximately 1,900.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateApr 18, 2021
StateWA
Description
A crack appeared for no reason on my front windshield. I have recently been dealing with an issue where the car alarm would go off at random so I took it to the dealership service center to have the sensitivity turned down. Last night while the car was sitting in the parking lot it went off for no reason again. This morning when driving my car I noticed a ~12inch crack on the front windshield. It curves from the edge at the middle over to the driver side. Photo attached. This crack must have happened while sitting stationary parked outside.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateApr 10, 2021
StateIN
Description
I purchased my 2021 subaru forester in late november 2020. On the morning of 2/24/2021 I discovered that my windshield had a crack. I was not driving. It started at the bottom center of the windshield and went up from there. It couldn't have been from an impact since the crack started at the bottom of the windshield, below the line of the hood and below the windshield wiper. Over the next week the crack got longer. My subaru dealer replaced the windshield under warranty.
CategoryElectrical System
DateApr 06, 2021
StateOR
Description
On march 2, 2021 I needed to get to an appointment and my car wouldn't start, nor would my fob work to even open the doors. After calling for assistance they jumped the battery. Then I brought it to subaru where they did a complete diagnostics test and found that the battery was defective. I had bought the car nov. 25, 2020, only three months before! They replaced it with the same kind of battery. I was dismayed to find that I had been sold a new car with a defective battery.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateApr 05, 2021
StateNY
Description
Windshield cracked when vehicle was 5 weeks old
CategoryVehicle Speed Control
DateApr 03, 2021
StateMD
Description
While pulling into a parking spot my forester lunged forward even though I did not have my foot on the gas pedal. Also, when pulling away from a traffic light, the vehicle sometimes feels as though it wants to accelerate even though I am not pressing the gas pedal too hard.
CategoryUnknown Or Other, Visibility/wiper
DateMar 14, 2021
StateCO
Description
While parked at work, my window cracked about 10-12' right down the middle. It looks like it formed from a small pit in the window. Even though the car is maybe 5 weeks old, it looks like there are a bunch of these small pits all over the window which could be a manufacturing defect. My friend has a 2020 forester that had the window crack in the same fashion after about 5 weeks of owning the car as well. I have attached a picture of the damage to the window.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateMar 09, 2021
StateLA
Description
I have owned the car only since nov and on my first road trip last month the windshield cracked while driving home to new orleans from mobile, al. A cold front was coming through and it was raining. We drove from a warmer air mass into the colder air behind the cold front. At first we could not see the crack but when we noticed the crack it was already about 5 inches long and by the time we could stop to look at the windshield it had grown to over 18 inches long. 03
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateFeb 13, 2021
StateNY
Description
With less that 800 miles I caught a chip in the windshield, safelite repaired that crack and filled it, then later that night with no cars around me another rock hits the windshield and it's got a huge crack... The car is a 2021 with less that 800 miles on and it and I need a new windshield already!! I've owned cars for years and this hasn't happened. I feel the glass is defective or weak.
CategoryElectrical System
DateFeb 07, 2021
StateNY
Description
The car is two months old and the battery died (nothing was left on)!
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateJan 21, 2021
StateCA
Description
I have a 2021 subaru forester, bought in oct. 2020. The vehicle was park in the garage. I went to get into the car and notice front windshield crack for no apparent reason.

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.

Share your story

Does this ring a bell? Have you had a bad experience too? Sound off and share your experience with other visitors in the comment box below.

Brian Jones

About the Author:

Brian Jones spent more than 20 years working as an ASE Certified Master Tech and Parts Specialist at multiple dealerships. Brian has become an authority in the industry, traveling across the country to consult for car dealerships and contributing his expertise as a writer for several major automotive publications. In his spare time, Brian enjoys working on pickup trucks, muscle cars, Jeeps and anything related to motorsports.

See more posts from Brian Jones
2 COMMENTS
  • Roy O

    2021 subaru forester windshield cracked for no apparent reason. Is there a class action suite being filed?

  • rudedogchew

    So I’m not imagining things??? Most chippin’est windshield ever.

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead you can to our legal team.

Please select your star rating.

Briefly describe your experience Briefly describe your experience

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? Please enter a valid phone number

Want to know if you could sue? Get a free legal evaluation Lemberg Law?

Get Your No-Obligation
Case Evaluation

Send a secure message to our legal team.

What’s your name? What’s your name?
What’s your email address? What’s your email address?
What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?
Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem
Confidentiality Guarantee: We keep your information completely confidential and will not send you spam or sell your information.