2018 Chevrolet Volt Problems and Top Complaints – Is Your Car A Lemon?

Electrical, brakes, engine and powertrain issues among the top complaints received by the NHTSA from vehicle owners

By Brian Jones | Updated on

By Brian Jones | Updated on

When it comes to electric technology, the 2018 Chevrolet Volt was praised as a leader. Even the automaker labeled the lineup as “efficient and advanced,” but that fact that it was quickly discontinued proves how faulty this car actually was. From the electrical system to the powertrain and the engine to the service brakes, there isn’t a system on this car that runs as it should.

Click on other model year to view more problems: 2017

Don’t be stuck with a lemon. You have legal rights to cash, return or buyback.

The law makes Chevrolet pay legal fees.

We've fixed thousands of lemon problems. Message or call 877-795-3666 today.

NHTSA Complaints for the 2018 Chevrolet Volt

Complaint CategoryNumber of Complaints
Power Train
40
Electrical System
33
Unknown Or Other
21
Engine
16
Power Train:automatic Transmission:lever And Linkage:floor Shift
7
Fuel/propulsion System
6
Service Brakes
5
Vehicle Speed Control
2
Steering
2
Structure:body
2

Problems with the Electrical System

The electrical system in any vehicle is extensive, but even more so with a hybrid or EV. This model relied on a lot of electronic equipment to work properly, but it never lived up to the task.

One Edmunds review talks about numerous problems.“I Just leased brand new 2018 Volt and encountered serious problems with the car. (1) The battery could not be charged very first time. (2) Noticed some burning smell for the 1st couple of days after each drive (with no warning light on). (3) On the 3rd day, the check engine and battery lights came on. While driving the car to the dealer, it certainly stalled on the road (such a scary moment and so lucky not to have any accident or injury). So the car had to be towed to the dealer that day. The OnStar diagnostic codes showed, P0D4D (issue with the Litium-Ion Battery issue), P1F5A (issue with the Engine and Transmission System), P1F59 (issue with the Engine and Transmission System), P1EBD (issue with the Charging Cable System). (4) It took the Chevrolet dealer about a week to diagnose and repair (replaced the 12V battery). (5) A few days later the same symptom reappeared with almost identical OnStar diagnostic codes so the car was sent back to the dealer for the 2nd time in about two weeks. (6) This time it also took them about a week to diagnose and repair (replaced the switch and the cable). When doing research on line I found out other owners of 2018 Volt are having similar problems like mine. This car definitely has many serious issues including safety and therefore I strongly urge GM to launch an investigation or even recall to investigate these faulty or defective cars that may cause safety issues.”

With nearly 100 electrical system related communications, it’s clear that GM missed the boat on this vehicle. One such bulletin, labeled #18NA330, discusses how a no-start condition could trigger up to 96 separate DTCs being set, depending on what battery cells are involved in the incident. Talk about complicated and unnecessary. This alone proves that the Volt is anything but “efficient.”

Problems with the Transmission

The powertrain on a hybrid or electric vehicle isn’t that much different from standard cars. It’s still subject to powertrain issues.

One NHTSA complaint talks about some of the problems. “The contact owns a 2018 Chevrolet Volt. While driving 55 mph, the vehicle jerked forward violently, slowed down to 45 mph, and then stalled. Also, the Check Engine Warning Indicator illuminated. The contact immediately powered off the engine in the middle of traffic. The vehicle was pushed over to the side of the road by the police and towed to [dealer]. The dealer found several failure codes and the transmission fluid pump outlet seal, internal filter and spacer plate were all replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and provided [case number]. The approximate failure mileage was 12,125.”

What a crazy set of circumstances this owner ended up in. It turns out that there are numerous powertrain concerns that GM is happy to talk about. Even Service Bulletin #990420002K talks about a clunking noise from the driveline, except the automaker wants to find a way to convince customers that these noises are part of normal operations. Maybe part of this car being “advanced” is the new sounds that would typically be considered abnormal.  Clearly GM believes that car owners are ignorant and don’t know anything about cars.

Problems with the Engine

It goes even further to the engine. The Volt struggles to maintain any integrity with its parts.

Another NHTSA review states, “Car is constantly making a burning smell and the dealer is refusing to acknowledge it. I went there 2000 miles ago, they claimed it was a break-in smell. The smell is still there and once again they are calling it a break-in smell. I mean the car has 8,400 miles. How long does it have to break in for?”

Once again, the automaker wants people to believe that all of these malfunctions are normal. Yet, there’s no getting around Service Bulletin #PIP5163D, which talks about excessive oil consumption, misfiring, cylinder bore damage and blow-by. How does the company explain the issues created by its entire current engine lineup?

Problems with the Brakes

Finally, it’s vital to take a look at the brakes. After all, this is the system that needs to work the best when everything else starts to fail.

One last NHTSA review states, “Collision occurred on [highway] on a downhill slope in stop-and-go traffic after about 20 minutes of constant brake use to hold back the car. About 2/3 of the way downhill the brakes failed, no resistance whatsoever and the car rolled into the vehicle in front, a distance of about 15 feet. This was a one-off incident and did not recur so far. GM and 3rd party inspectors found no error codes, but the brakes indeed failed, which makes me suspect a design problem in the brake-by-wire system that controls the pedal pressure and modulated regenerative braking. It was like sliding on ice, no traction whatsoever.”

It shouldn’t surprise anyone that this vehicle suffered from a massive brake system recall, affecting over 200,000 vehicles. According to NHTSA Campaign Number 18V576000, the insufficient coating put on the rear brake caliper pistons lead to a decreased braking performance and a higher chance of an accident. That’s not the worst of it. Over 15,000 vehicles faced a recall, labeled with NHTSA Campaign Number 18V67300 that states the rear seatbelt retractor might not lock. If occupants aren’t secured when the brakes fail, there could be serious injuries or death. Instead of dealing with all of the issues, GM discontinued the Volt. Maybe it’s simply too “efficient and advanced” for the modern world.

Your Lemon Law Legal Rights

Think you have a lemon? Sit back and let the experts work out your lemon case at no cost to you. The law makes Chevrolet pay legal fees. You may be able to get your lemon out of your life. Every year, auto manufacturers buy back, replace or pay cash settlements to thousands of ‘lemon’ owners like you.

Complaint Data

CategoryFuel/propulsion System
DateOct 25, 2022
StateOH
Description
Although the battery showed fully charged, the vehicle was not using battery power. At various points I would receive a "propulsion power reduced warning" and the car would lose power. I was driving on 2-lane windy country roads with no passing zones and lots of hills. At one particularly steep hill, I received the warning light and the car started lowing power again. By the time I reached the crest, the car had nearly come to a complete standstill. I have no doubt had I not reached it at that point, the car would have lost all power and begun rolling backward. The speed limit on this road is 55mph with several blind curves and hills, so the potential for a serious collision was great had it begun to roll back. When I reached my destination and turned off the car and restarted it again, it would only shift to neutral. It is now at the dealership where it was diagnosed as needing the becm replaced.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine, Fuel/propulsion System
DateOct 22, 2022
StatePA
Description
To begin, I will set the scene of my experience. I was traveling east bound on 84 in northeast pa on my way to long island for work meetings that day. I was about one hour and a half away from my home at roughly 6am. I was traveling at apx. 70 mph when my car suddenly says "engine unavailable, reduced propulsion." and the fueld tank turned yellow in color on my dashboard. Then a sign said "service soon." my car then completely stopped working. My speed fell from 75 mph or so to 0 in a matter of a minute, I had no idea what was happening because there were no appropriate warnings such as, "pull over immediately" or "safety concern please get off the highway" -I would have taken anything to know that this was an actual emergency and I needed to at least get to a shoulder. I luckily was able to come to a stop mostly off the highway in a shoulder. I was located around a bend, in the pitch black, unable to stay in my car out of fear I would be smashed by a tractor trailer or car that did not see my car suddenly stopped. The car would not go in neutral or anything other than park and I left the hazards on (they eventually failed). I called my husband who drove to me while I stood on the side of the highway for an hour and a half in 30 degree weather. I called the police who were eventually able to put up flares and mark me as a hazard on the road. If there was a car traveling behind me, I would have been killed or seriously injured because I slowed so suddenly and had no way of knowing that this was an absolute emergency. The worst part is that this is the second becm failure in my volt and I have driven less than 1000miles since it was repaired the first time (which took >5 months). The first time this happened my car was on a quiet town road and my brother who was driving just parked and had it towed. He hadn't thought there were any warnings but he wasn't sure. This time, I could have been smashed on the hwy with little to no warning. I can't believe im alive.
CategoryEngine, Fuel/propulsion System, Power Train
DateOct 06, 2022
StateMI
Description
Reduc d propulsion power warning while driving in ev mode. Ice started and was able to make it 1/2 mile home. Failure diagnosed to a faulty becm. Has been at the dealer for 1 month today with no word on when the part or repair will be done.
CategoryElectrical System, Unknown Or Other
DateSep 23, 2022
StateNC
Description
When placing in park it doesn't trigger the switch and car will not shut down.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateSep 06, 2022
StateVA
Description
Shift to park not working. Dashboard says action needed and vehicle will not shut off.
CategoryElectrical System, Power Train
DateAug 16, 2022
StateCA
Description
The gear shifter for the chevy volt has an issue where it does not register in park. I need to contantlty move through the gears to have it be in park.
CategoryEngine
DateAug 14, 2022
StateMD
Description
...... Car totally stopped on road in traffic and would not restart. I felt the car losign propulsion so I got off the intestate and on to a local street. Message in dash was that engine was unavailable. I got out of the car and several cars almost hit my car. Car was flat bedded to chevy dealer and diagonosed. Egr valve needs to be replaced and is covered under warrenty. However, have been waiting 4days and t old that valve not available. This is on a vacation trip and 300 miles away from home.. I can ask for the egr valve from the car. I am on the gm-volt listserve and other generation 2 volt owners have identified this problem previously. You should initiate a recall since the engine just cuts off and the battery propulsion is unavailable.
CategoryPower Train:automatic Transmission:lever And Linkage:floor Shift
DateJul 18, 2022
StateNY
Description
I put it in park, and try to turn off the car, but it says "shift to park", and won't let me turn off the car.
CategoryPower Train:automatic Transmission:lever And Linkage:floor Shift
DateJul 17, 2022
StatePA
Description
When the vehicle is placed in park and I attempt to turn it off, the dash will indicate the vehicle is not in park and subsequently, the vehicle cannot be turned off. Sometimes, if you wiggle the shifter or move it through all the settings (rndl) and back to park, it will resolve the issue. Sometimes, it can take a few minutes to resolve the issue.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine
DateJul 09, 2022
StateOH
Description
Becm failed upon startup. Pressed start and vehicle appeared to turn on. Shifted into reverse but there was no motor power and I began to roll backwards down the driveway. Started the vehicle again and then the engine came on and a reduced propulsion message appeared.
CategoryPower Train:automatic Transmission:lever And Linkage:floor Shift
DateJul 09, 2022
StateNY
Description
Car shifter saying not in park when it is causing issues with turning off car. Has been happening for a while
CategoryPower Train:automatic Transmission:lever And Linkage:floor Shift
DateJul 07, 2022
StateSD
Description
Over the past several weeks, I have had the car issue an error stating "shift to park". I have previously had the car in for service for this error, and in the past have succeeded in getting it to stop by squeezing the trigger on the shifter repeatedly, but the error has returned and is getting more persistent. It now happens every few times I park the car. I cannot turn off the car without getting the error message to clear, and sometimes it has taken considerable time and effort to get the message to clear. I have not taken the car back to the dealer again as I read that it was important to first submit a report here.
CategoryPower Train:automatic Transmission:lever And Linkage:floor Shift
DateJul 05, 2022
StateFL
Description
Car wouldn't turn off kept saying shift to park. When car was already in park on chevy volt forms this problem is common, sometimes it comes on when driving and freezing the steering wheel. Chevy knows how wide spread this problem is as attested by the many class action law suits, but the refuse to fix it or issue a recall for cars outside of warranty
CategoryPower Train:automatic Transmission:lever And Linkage:floor Shift
DateJul 02, 2022
StateTN
Description
The shift to park error populates every time I park incorrectly informing me to shift to park before turning off vehicle and thus preventing me from turning off the vehicle. I have to restart the car, put in drive and put back in park forcefully and it may recognize the shift from drive to park.
CategoryElectrical System, Power Train, Vehicle Speed Control
DateJun 20, 2022
StateOH
Description
Going 80 mph on the freeway with adaptive crusie control on, the car begins to jerk, and the rpm's shoot up and down. The adaptive cruise control disengages, the stabiltrack, abs, and engine light turned on and the car goes into limp mode. As I slow down, the speedometer keeps increasing up to 90. After, I inspected the driver wheel speed sensor and discovered that the sensor tip in the hub had been damaged. The anti-click washer had broken and began cutting the sensor until it failed.
CategoryPower Train
DateJun 20, 2022
StateOH
Description
Shift to park message from failing shifter frequently displays, preventing the car from turning off.
CategoryElectrical System
DateJun 15, 2022
StateNY
Description
After turning off the car, I get a "shift to park" error. I am not able to lock the car and it does not power down.
CategoryPower Train
DateJun 14, 2022
StateCA
Description
When car is put into park, system does not show vehicle is in park and will not shut off. It takes multiple times of pushing the start button and moving the gear shift back and forth before the car finally realizes and confirms the vehicle is in park and will turn off.
CategoryPower Train:automatic Transmission:lever And Linkage:floor Shift
DateJun 08, 2022
StateCO
Description
For a few weeks, I had been getting a "shift to park" messaged when I tried to power off my car after putting it into park. Like others, I was able to jiggle the shifter and press down hard to get it to recognize it was in park. Last week while I was driving at about 50 mph, the "action required: shift to park" message appeared and my check engine light turned on. The car stopped responding to acceleration so I immediately pulled off the road. I couldn't turn the car off, I couldn't drive the car, so I was stuck on the side of the parkway. After about 10 times of moving the shifter through all the gears and pressing the power button, the car finally turned off but then I had to get towed. I am lucky that I was driving in the right lane and was able to pull of immediately or otherwise I would've been stuck in traffic with cars coming by at 50 mph. It has been almost a week and the dealer still has not given me any information as to the repair of this problem.
CategoryElectrical System
DateMar 21, 2022
StateMA
Description
Vehicle displays "shift to park" when it is already in park, and will not shut off. I had to leave it on, and despite nothing apparently on (electric vehicle, no motor running), it drained the12 volt battery and would not start up the next day.
CategoryPower Train
DateMar 17, 2022
StateME
Description
Shift to park error message on dashboard this error prevents the car from being driven
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateMar 14, 2022
StateSC
Description
My 2018 chevrolet volt has 35,000 miles on it and has been experiencing a problem turning the car off. I move the shift lever to park and the push the power button to turn off the car and the dash display indicates "shift to park". The car will not turn off! If I depress the switch on the shift lever a few times, the car will eventually turn off. I took my car to the dealer and they indicated they wanted 0 to diagnosis the problem and then more to fix the problem. This appears to be a problem with other owners too. Chevrolet should recall the 2018 volts and repair this problem.
CategoryElectrical System
DateFeb 27, 2022
StateFL
Description
When car is stopped and shifted to park a message comes onto the dashboard telling me to shift to park. The car does not completely shut off nor do the lights, and you can not lock the car.
CategoryEngine, Power Train
DateFeb 09, 2022
StateFL
Description
When the gear shift is placed into park and the power button to turn the car off is pushed, I get an alert that says “shift to park” and cannot turn the car off. I have to attempt to turn the car off and on several times before I can actually turn the car off and leave it.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateFeb 09, 2022
StateCA
Description
The windshield washer tank was leaking fluid to the point that no fluid was available to clean the window. Upon repair it was found that a protruding screw had punctured the washer fluid tank causing the leak. The mechanic backed off the screw and added a rubber cap to the tip of the screw to hopefully prevent another incident.
CategoryPower Train
DateFeb 06, 2022
StateCA
Description
The car won't shut off and requires you to shift to park but it is shifted into park. After playing around with the shifter eventually it will allow you to shut it off.
CategoryPower Train
DateJan 30, 2022
StateCA
Description
After turning off the engine, the car will frequently raise an alert saying "shift to park", even though the lever is positioned correctly on "p" (park) and the light for "p" is lit up.
CategoryElectrical System, Power Train
DateJan 14, 2022
StateCA
Description
When shifting to park, and switching the car off, the vehicle will not register as being in “park”… and displays “shift to park” and accompanying warning chime. Further, the car will not turn off.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJan 07, 2022
StateCA
Description
The vehicles interior chrome creates hazardous driving conditions. Due to the reflective nature of chrome sunlight gets reflected into my eyes blinding me and causing debilitating migraines. It once peeled and sliced my finger. Chevy replaced the part but refused to do anything about the chrome. After exhausting all available options with chevy I am coming to you for help.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine, Unknown Or Other
DateDec 30, 2021
StateTX
Description
When attempting to turn the vehicle off after parking, the driver's console displayed the message "action required: shift to parlk". The shifter was already firmly in the "park" position. Moving the shifter back to "d" and then back to "p" did not resolve the issue. Pressing the power button twice more resolved the issue this time without further moving the shifter. This is a well-known and well-documented issue with "gen 2" chevy volts.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateDec 28, 2021
StateCA
Description
When trying to turn off car while shifter is in park, car state “shift to park”. Dealer supposedly fixed it last year, but the issue is still occurring.
CategoryElectrical System
DateNov 24, 2021
StateCA
Description
When shifting car into park, car sometimes does not detect car is already shifted into park. The car will then not shut off until I have to turn the car completely on and shift into drive and then park a few times so the car can detect that it is in park. Give message on car's to shift the car into park.
CategoryFuel/propulsion System
DateNov 22, 2021
StateCA
Description
While driving, message suddenly pops up on the dashboard "propulsion power is reduced." check engine light is light on.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateNov 07, 2021
StateMI
Description
I cannot turn the vehicle off due to a notice to shift to park even though the vehicle is in park
CategoryElectrical System, Engine, Power Train
DateOct 29, 2021
StateAZ
Description
When I stop and shift vehicle into park and try to turn off vehicle. The vehicle does not recognize the vehicle is in park and will stay running. This had happened numerous times and is ongoing. Have read there is even a class action suit because of this problem with numerous different gm vehicles. Why has a recall not been issued?
CategoryElectrical System, Engine
DateSep 21, 2021
StateGA
Description
Shift to park defect. When I try to turn my car off it won't completely shut off, a notification on my dash says “shift to park” but my gear shift is in park already. It takes 5-10 times of me cutting car off and on for it to finally completely shut off.
CategoryPower Train
DateSep 16, 2021
StateCA
Description
“shift to park” message appears when car is in park making it impossible to turn vehicle off. This is a documented issue going back to 2016 across other chevy vehicles
CategoryPower Train
DateSep 11, 2021
StateCA
Description
The car doesnt shift into parking and engine keeps running.
CategoryElectrical System, Power Train
DateSep 03, 2021
StateVA
Description
When turning vehicle off, it will display a message "shift to park" even though shifter is in the park position, the vehicle will also remain on. Sometimes have to jiggle the gear shift or shift back into park a few times before the message goes away and am able to turn vehicle off. This is very dangerous as if it's left unnoticed in a garage the car can be left running potentially filling the house with fumes. Can also run out the battery and gas and leave you stranded if away from your home.
CategoryElectrical System, Power Train
DateSep 01, 2021
StateMI
Description
Shift to park issue, not allowing car to shut off.
CategoryElectrical System, Service Brakes
DateAug 26, 2021
StateCA
Description
After I put the car in park, the car dashboard doesnt reflect this change, essentially assumes the car is not in park and I am unable to lock the car and the lights will stay on for a while. After jiggling the shift handle just the right way I could get it to recognize the car was indeed in park.
CategoryEngine, Power Train
DateAug 23, 2021
StateWV
Description
Car will not shift to park. Will not allow the car to be turned off.
CategoryPower Train
DateAug 08, 2021
StateFL
Description
I keep getting a shift to park message when I place the vehicle in park. I have to continuously take the vehicle out of park and put it back in a few times until it finally works otherwise I cannot turn off the vehicle. This is a huge issue that needs to be recalled immediately.
CategoryElectrical System
DateAug 03, 2021
StateWA
Description
When trying to turn car off, "shift to park" error message appears on console, but car is in park as observed by gear shift and console display. Order of events: car stopped in parking spot or garage; shifted to park; parking brake set; hit power button to shut down; "shift to park" error message appears; car will not shutdown. Need to hit power button again in order to shift out of park to any other position (n, r, d, etc.), then shift back to park and hit power button again. Sometimes 1 try works, but often the error message will appear again and multiple power button - shift to gear - shift back to park and power button again - sequences must be tried in order to turn the car off. Please issue recall.
CategoryPower Train
DateJul 31, 2021
StateUT
Description
When car is in park the vehicle sometimes does not recognize that and will not let you turn the car off. The display tells you that you need to shift to park but it is already in park. The problem is happening frequently now.
CategoryEngine
DateJul 23, 2021
StateFL
Description
General: when I would shift to park, the display would indicate I was in park, but the car would not turn off. I sometimes had to spend 10 minutes trying. The safety issue was if the car is left on it because the engine system would not recognize park, it could run from gas and create deadly fumes. 1. Shift stick and harness. I do not have the part. 2. Confirmed by dealer and part replaced. 1. 33 3. Unsure if it was inspected. Google search has multiple listings for this issue 4. No warnings, no lamps prior to. Warning message when shifted to park and trying to turn off.
CategoryPower Train
DateJul 19, 2021
StateCA
Description
When shutting down the chevy bolt ev, the car is shifted into park, and with foot on the brake, the power button is pushed to shut down the power... But wit some regularity the car won't shut down and gives a "shift to park" message, even though it is in park. This is a safety hazard, because at times the car simply can't be turned off, meaning the driver can't exit the car and leave it behind. The problem is intermittent. I've experienced it many times. The problem is also apparently common, as there are hundreds of complaints about this problem on the internet (search volt shift to park). Please ask gm to fix this problem.
CategoryPower Train
DateJul 18, 2021
StateGA
Description
When you put the car in park, the engine would not shut off and the car kept sending a message that I needed to shift to park, but I already was in park. I shifted in and out of park to drive to reverse, but every time it went back to park it said I needed to shift to park. I was in my garage, could not leave the car running all night as the battery would be dead by morning, but couldn't shut it off either. I drove it immediately to the dealership and they reproduced and confirmed the problem, repaired it on tuesday. Fortunately, I was at home, but had I been anywhere my safety and others could have been at risk, because I could have been in an unsafe place late at night, unable to shut my car off and/or get out of my own car. You are unable to put gas in a running vehicle, and I could have been stranded. My car is repaired but according to the internet there is a class action lawsuit over this very thing in texas filed several years ago. This same problem has happened to thousands of gm cars, and it is my understanding that second and third replacements of gear shifter are not covered by warranty and it is a 0 repair. Gear shifters have been in cars since they were first invented. This should be a recall and gm forced to create a new shifter and replace the old ones. This is not a new technology. There are 8,500,000 discussions and comments on the internet about this situation.
CategoryPower Train
DateJul 13, 2021
StateGA
Description
The contact owns a 2018 chevrolet volt. The contact stated that while the gear shifter was in park, the shift to park warning light illuminated and the vehicle failed to turn off or change gears. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the gear shifter assembly mechanism failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired however, the failure recurred. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximate 28,995.
CategoryPower Train
DateJun 16, 2021
StateTX
Description
I have the shift to park error come on sporadically when the car is in park. Clicking the shift trigger a few times usually fixes it. Car won't fully turn off when the message is displayed.
CategoryElectrical System
DateJun 13, 2021
StateMI
Description
I put the car in park and try to shut it off but it says I need to put the vehicle in park. It is in park but will not shut off.
CategoryElectrical System, Power Train
DateMay 04, 2021
StateOH
Description
Park to shift issue. When car is placed in park it is not recognized and says that action is required. Giggling the shifter or pressing the button on the shifter usually takes care of the problem. The car will not turn off unless it recognizes it is in park.
CategoryElectrical System, Power Train
DateApr 24, 2021
StateVA
Description
When fully stopped and in park, turning car off, message appears 'shift to park' car is already in park. Upon pushing start to turn car off, most lights etc. Turn off except the speedo display. No way to turn it off. Car horn honks upon exiting car with keys. Speedo lights stay on, draining battery battery and possibly tempting a car thief.
CategoryElectrical System, Fuel/propulsion System
DateApr 12, 2021
StateCA
Description
Ntsb should require a recall of certain chevrolet volts. As an owner I received a letter from chevrolet stating that my volt 'may have a condition where it could gradually lose the ability to maintain voltage. If battery concerns are not addressed, over time the vehicle could enter a reduced propulsion mode while driving, or lose propulsion, or it may not start.' losing propulsion while driving is a serious safety issue, and warrants a recall. Gary bailey
CategoryElectrical System, Power Train, Unknown Or Other
DateApr 06, 2021
StateMO
Description
Will not shut off when transmission shifted to park.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine, Power Train
DateNov 24, 2020
StateFL
Description
Vehicle will not turn off on a regular basis.. Receive a message that reads: 'action required. Shift to park.' when this occurs, the vehicle can not be turned off or locked. Researched this problem on the internet and discovered that it is a very common problem that affects nearly all 2016, 2017 and 2018 chevrolet volts. A recall should be implemented!
CategorySteering
DateNov 17, 2020
StateMD
Description
Power steering failed while driving into baltimore city on I-95. Was able to control the vehicle without power steering but it was difficult. The power returned at the end of the work day after the vehicle did not move all day. Took the vehicle to the dealer. The dealership said it found "scan code c056d found bulletin 18-na-313".
CategoryElectrical System, Power Train, Unknown Or Other
DateNov 10, 2020
StateMI
Description
Vehicle will not shut down properly. When trying to turn off push button ignition the vehicle says " action required: shift to park". The vehicle is already stopped and in park however it is not registering somehow.
CategoryElectrical System
DateSep 05, 2020
StateCA
Description
'shift to park' problem the car won't shutdown
CategoryElectrical System
DateSep 03, 2020
StateCA
Description
The vehicle has more consistently failed to turn off the display keep seeing shift to park and it's happening with more frequency.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine, Unknown Or Other
DateAug 25, 2020
StateCA
Description
I leased a chevy volt 2018, about 3 months after the first few charge, using the cable that came with the vehicle the car do not charge anymore, air conditioning not was working, I reposted the issues to the sales agent. He responded that there was nothing wrong with the vehicle, that I need to learn how to use it. A couple of months later when I was driving the the vehicle started to sake and the control pannel went crazy, I call again to the dealer. They tell me this time to bring the car inn. After the keep it for a day, they call me to said that they have to keep the car because the car have a difectec battery cell, they tell me that they need to order this celd and install it. They keep the car for a week. After the car work ok for a couple of months and after the air conditioning no not work, I call ageing to report the problem, but they give me the same answer. After I received a notice of a recall for the air conditioning, I took the car for service and I noticed that they never rotated the tires as they claimed. The problem with the air continue, so I took the car to a dealer closer to my home, they tell me that the car have a problem and they need to keed the vehicle. After they tell me that I have to paid because for the repairs about 1600. 00 because of this problem I don't have a car and I'm about to loss my job. This car has been a nightmare. I ask the dealer to please to take back the car. I also ask chevrolet corporation but not answer has been taken, this cause me to loss my jod snd created many problem to me and my family. The vehicle still on the shop for the last two weeks and they trll mr that maybe take longer. Cause they don't have the part and that is on back order.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateAug 10, 2020
StateCA
Description
Shift to park. Vehicle does not turn off after shifting to park. The car does not detect park mode and driver has to 'jiggle' shift knob.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateAug 06, 2020
StateCA
Description
Over the last month (starting around july 6 but continuing today), when I shift my car to park and attempt to turn it off, my volt displays the message "shift to park" and will not fully turn off. This results in me not being able to lock my car and the lights stay on. The message appears randomly about 50-75% of my attempts to turn off the car. The car is always stationary of course and in park. To fix it, I will depress the shifter button a few times... Or hit the ignition button again, shift to drive, and back to park. I may have to do these several times to eventually get it to stop displaying that message and fully turn off. I've heard that over time, those fixes won't work and the car just will not shut down properly. Online, I see that many people have this issue with gen 2 volts. Even when they get the shifter assembly replaced by chevy, after some time, the issue comes back again. Could this shifter assembly be recalled since it is such a known issue and continues to cause problems? Thank you!
CategoryElectrical System, Power Train, Unknown Or Other
DateJul 29, 2020
StateOK
Description
While attempting to turn the car off- a message appears saying "action required- shift into park". The car is in park and the dash registers that it is in park, the gear shift is locked in park but the system doesn't sense that it is in park and won't let the car shut off. Has progressively gotten worse and more frequent.
CategoryElectronic Stability Control
DateJul 22, 2020
StateCA
Description
Whenever I put my vehicle in park and turn if off, the screen on the dash will say "please shift to park." I will turn on my vehicle and then shift it to park again and turn it off. Sometimes it will stop notifying me after one time and other times I will have to turn it off and shift it to park, even though its in park, several times. The car will not turn off and I cannot leave the vehicle until it stops notifying me.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJul 20, 2020
StateIL
Description
When trying to turn the car off, the instrument panel will say "shift to park" even though the car is already in park. Then, the car will not turn off. This has happened multiple times, over many days, when the car is stationary, in any location, when you are attempting to turn the car off.
CategoryElectrical System, Power Train
DateJul 11, 2020
StateCA
Description
Vehicle gives a "shift to park" message when it is already in park and I am attempting to turn it off. I have to shift the car back into drive or reverse and then shift it back to park many times before it allows me to turn off the vehicle. I took it to be repaired to my local dealership and they replaced the "shifter in-line wire harness jumper", as indicated on my invoice. Two days later, I am having the same problems again.
CategoryPower Train
DateJun 30, 2020
StateCA
Description
Shift to park displays on the screen even though the car is already in park. Electric motor will not shut off. And now the shifter doesn't work at all. When put into drive or reverse there is no power to the wheels. The vehicle is stationary when this happens because I was parking the car. *tr
CategoryElectrical System
DateJun 28, 2020
StateOH
Description
When the car is shifted to park and turned off, a "shift to park" message appears. The care has to be restarted, shifted out of park, and back to park again in order to turn the car off. The problem is currently sporadic. About 8 occurrences since early june, 2020.
CategoryPower Train, Unknown Or Other
DateJun 19, 2020
StateLA
Description
Shift to park error displays after shifting the car into park. When this error message occurs, I am unable to turn off the vehicle. *tr
CategoryPower Train
DateJun 15, 2020
StateCA
Description
When I try to turn the car off, it says I must shift to park, even though the car is already in park. As a result, I can't turn the car off and I can't leave it because there is no way to lock the doors when in this state. *tr
CategoryElectrical System
DateJun 05, 2020
StateCO
Description
After shifting to park and pushing the power button to turn the car off, I get the message "shift to park.", and the car will not turn off. It does not recognize that the car is in park. The car was stationary. The chevy dealer fixed the problem in october of 2019 and it worked until recently. *tr
CategoryElectrical System, Unknown Or Other
DateMay 10, 2020
StateCA
Description
Shift to park warning alert issued when shifter is already in park. This issue occurs intermittently at least 3x a day. Wiggling and/or reshifting to park sometimes resolves the issue. More effort and time to "play" with the shifter is required in the last month to make the warning go away. Online research resulted in multiple reports including videos on the issue with the shifter assy. This issue started occurring when the car was 1. 5years old. This issue seems to be systemic with other similar gm models. Please consider issuing recall to fix this issue. Thank you. *tr
CategoryPower Train
DateApr 30, 2020
StateOR
Description
When attempting to turn off car after driving and after shifting the car into park, a message appears on the screen to shift the car to park. Even though the car is already in park the message remains, and the car won't turn off, or will only turn off after repeated attempts at shifting the car out of and back into park.
CategoryPower Train
DateMar 24, 2020
StateCA
Description
Car sends notification to "shift to park" when shifter is in the park position and gear selection indicator display indicates "p". Car will not shut down until shift to park condition has been satisfied by finessing the shifter. This is an issue of safety because the car cannot be turned off.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateMar 22, 2020
StateTN
Description
I am having the shift to park issue. The engine will not turn off although the car is in park. This issue is well known to users and to dealers. There should be a recall
CategoryPower Train
DateFeb 01, 2020
StateNC
Description
When I shut down power in park on my 2018 chevy volt (the car is stationary) the car will not completely shut down and the dashboard displays "shift to park". Essentially, the car is not recognizing that the car is already in park. I can not walk away fro my car because it remains on. It takes multiple attempts until it ultimately will shut off. This has been a common issue as reported by other chevy owners.
CategoryService Brakes, Vehicle Speed Control
DateJan 29, 2020
StateCA
Description
After fully charged my car, I pulled out of the parking garage and into an available parking stall at work on friday january 24th 2020 at approximately 1:50pm. I let my car cruise into the stall while my foot is covering the brakes. Halfway into the parking stall, the car accelerated on its own. I applied the brakes but did not help. It stopped only when it jumped the front concrete stall with 2 front wheels and hit the trees then rolled back. I then immediately shift the gear to park. The day was sunny and road condition was dry. I was fortunate that it hit the trees and not other cars if I were to take this out on the road. The attached pictures shows tire marks as I am trying to brake and the tire wears.
CategoryElectrical System, Power Train
DateJan 16, 2020
StateCA
Description
When attempting to power off vehicle after shifting to park, an error message is displayed on console, "shift to park", and the vehicle will not power off. Vehicle is in park when the issue occurs, but requires shifting out of park, possibly multiple times, to allow vehicle to power off. Issue occurs during each use of vehicle.
CategoryPower Train
DateDec 11, 2019
StateTX
Description
Shift to park issue. When the car is in park the car still reports shift to park when you try to turn it off.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateSep 04, 2019
StateGA
Description
Android auto is less safe than using a phone on the dash. It is very buggy, always laggy. Today it was unresponsive for an entire hour. Even after rebooting the phone and the car while traffic was stopped it would not come back. When it does work it is so slow it is a distraction. The voice commands as completely unreliable. They only work half the time at best. This forces you to touch the screen and try those commands which are also unreliable. The update in august of 2019 did not make anything better. Please do not trust anyone's lives to a google automated car until they can get such a simple piece of software as android auto to function at an automotive level of reliability and safety. This includes not letting the cars on the roads to endanger other people. It doesn't matter if the car is stationary, on city streets or the highway.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateAug 30, 2019
StateNY
Description
Chevrolet service case [xxx] 5/20/19 for same issue described below service at victor chevrolet victor chevrolet replaced brake calipers problem was minimized for a short time. 8/27/19 -- brought the vehicle to victor chevrolet for the second time for the same problem * clunk in rear of car as it stops. Previously, the problem started small and got progressively worse with time. The clunk moves the car slightly forward; it moves more as the problem worsens. * car has 6700 miles now. It had about 4500 miles last time (victor chevy can confirm or correct) 8/30/19 -- called victor chevrolet service. Nikki told me that they tested another volt and it has the same issue, so this isn't a problem. I said it becomes progressively worse, and needs be fixed, as it is a safety issue. At the very least, I ought never to have to pay for fixing the issue or related problems regardless of the status of my warranty. Nikki said I need to call and talk to service manager (gary). I said he needs to research and give me more information; I will call chevy meanwhile and consult with them. 8/30/19 -- called chevy (c/s) 800 888 1020 -- julian will escalate to senior advisor team. They say two business days. That means wednesday. Today is friday. Case number [xxx] goals: 1) keep communication in writing as much as possible so no misunderstandings 2) fix the issue. Sounds like maybe there is a recall needed if many volts have the same problem. Perhaps chevy corporate can research the problem and minimize trips to service (ugh. Such a hassle to drop off a car) 3) if issue can't be fixed, obtain in writing from chevy a waiver so that any future repairs directly or indirectly related to this problem are warranty covered information redacted pursuant to the freedom of information act (foia), 5 u. S. C. 552(b)(6). *tt
CategoryEngine, Power Train
DateJun 24, 2019
StateFL
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2018 chevrolet volt. While driving 55 mph, the vehicle jerked forward violently, slowed down to 45 mph, and then stalled. Also, the check engine warning indicator illuminated. The contact immediately powered off the engine in the middle of traffic. The vehicle was pushed over to the side of the road by the police and towed to maher chevrolet (located at 2901 34th st n, st petersburg, fl 33713). The dealer found several failure codes and the transmission fluid pump outlet seal, internal filter, and spacer plate were all replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and provided case number: 9-5251855943. The approximate failure mileage was 12,125.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJun 24, 2019
StateFL
Description
Car will not turn off after being put in park and power button pushed to off. The displays reads "put car in park to turn off", but the car is already in park. The local chevrolet dealer said the gear assembly needs to be replaced.
CategoryEngine
DateMay 24, 2019
StateCA
Description
Car is consistently making a burning smell and the dealer is refusing to acknowledge it. I went there 2000 miles ago, they claimed it was a break in smell. The smell is still there and once again they are calling it a break in smell. I mean the car has 8400 miles. How long does it have to break in for? Nhtsa, please step in and help us. Gm is creating this possible fire hazard and their franchises are not helping.
CategoryEngine
DateApr 05, 2019
StateCA
Description
When my gas engine is warmed up and up to operating temperature, there would be this burnt plastic smell coming from under the hood. It's been happening like this for the past 3000 miles or so. It's a clear burnt plastic smell from under the hood, and it is always after the engine is completely warmed up. I use my gas engine all the time. The dealership claims it is normal for hybrid to burn stuff off as it isn't run all the time, but the car has 6700 miles. It's a stretch to blame it on break in oil. Some of the smell gets into the cabin when I am stopped, but it is very strong when I get out the car and walk by. It's been happening for a few months now.
CategoryService Brakes
DateFeb 18, 2019
StateNY
Description
Gen 2 volt has a paddle on the steering column that brakes the vehicle and adds some charge to the main battery. (part of thr regen system) since it brakes the vehicle I believe that the brake lights should illuminate , they don't . In the owners it states that the "brake lights may come on"... May???..... I had the vehicle in the dealership for 2 days. The bcm was changed and that was suppose to fix the issue, it did not. I and other volt form members feel this an unsafe condition. 17/2018
CategoryStructure:body, Unknown Or Other
DateNov 20, 2018
StateNY
Description
Chevrolet volt cannot be driven in deep snow. The car was driven in snow at a speed of one mile per hour covering 6 miles in 6 hours after first snow in nyc nov 15, 2018. The protective under carriage panel that covers the electrical and tubing becomes brittle and breaks away when impacted.
CategoryEngine, Fuel/propulsion System, Power Train
DateOct 25, 2018
StateCA
Description
While driving the vehicle at around 60 mph, the 'check engine' light came on and a message saying 'shift to park' appears on the dashboard. Once the vehicle was stopped at the traffic light, the driver shifted to park and was not able to pull down to drive again. Vehicle was stranded in the middle of the road while cars were approaching from behind with high speed. After repeated attempts to press the vehicle 'start' button, we finally were able to pull down to neutral and pushed the vehicle to the side of the road. Vehicle needed to be towed to dealership for diagnosis.
CategorySteering
DateOct 18, 2018
StateCA
Description
Loss of power steering while driving. Error message on dash as well. Very difficult to turn and not possible to make a quick avoidance. Had to have car towed to the dealership. Dealership found dtc error code but could not duplicate the power steering loss. Dealership did not replace or fix anything as of now.
CategoryAir Bags, Service Brakes, Structure:body
DateOct 16, 2018
StateNY
Description
I ran into a vehicle in front of me during normal traffic on my way home from work, two months to the day of picking up my 2018 volt. The vehicle ahead of me may have stopped quickly, but it was not a stop the volt shouldn't have been able to handle. I was on a street in my neighborhood I drive every day in traffic. I had mentioned to friends and family that the volt's brakes just did not feel on par with the rest of the car and would be the only aspect of this ev experience I found lacking. I have the dated text messages to prove this. Now I have a volt at the body shop for the 5th week (lacking an ac line for reassembly), an over 55% increase in my insurance premiums (per the renewal notice I just received) and what really hasn't been a good experience. While I'm waiting for the return of my volt I have received the important safety recall indicating the braking performance may be reduced. If the car had been able to stop two feet shorter I'd have an undamaged three month old volt and my insurance standings untarnished. That two feet ended up costing over ,500 to the car. Turns out volts are also expensive to repair. I'm a 55 year old male, no wild kid. Still stuns me that in 2018 gm can't get brakes right... The most important of safety systems.
CategoryPower Train
DateOct 14, 2018
StateCA
Description
I was driving my car on freeway at 65 mph and suddenly car displayed warning on dash board to shift the car in park position. Car immediately lost power from engine. I had to immediately pull over car from left most lane to buffer lane between freeway and exit. My move until it had momentum. But them it stopped on freeway. After stopping car, it did not start or stop engine. It displayed check engine light. While restarting car, it keep displaying "initializing" and immediately system reboot by itself. Car did not start at all and eventually car had to be towed to dealership. Chevrolet dealer could not identify root cause and reported the issue is fixed. After five days, exactly same error occurred again on the freeway. At this time, with help from onstar, multiple error code were retrieved and they were related to failure in hybrid power train system. Above two incidents were quite riskier as car lost engine power on busy freeway. It could have serious collision. Also, incident occur on almost newly leased car.
CategoryService Brakes
DateSep 12, 2018
StateWA
Description
Collision occurred on e denny way in seattle, approx 3:20 pm on a downhill slope in stop-and-go traffic after about 20 minutes of constant brake use to hold back the car. About 2/3 of the way downhill the brakes failed, no resistance whatsoever and the car rolled into the vehicle in front, a distance of about 15 feet. This was a one-off incident and did not recur so far. Gm and 3rd party inspectors found no error codes, but the brakes indeed failed, which makes me suspect a design problem in the brake-by-wire system that controls the pedal pressure and modulated regenerative braking. It was like sliding on ice, no traction whatsoever.

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.

Share your story

Does this ring a bell? Have you had a bad experience too? Sound off and share your experience with other visitors in the comment box below.

Brian Jones

About the Author:

Brian Jones spent more than 20 years working as an ASE Certified Master Tech and Parts Specialist at multiple dealerships. Brian has become an authority in the industry, traveling across the country to consult for car dealerships and contributing his expertise as a writer for several major automotive publications. In his spare time, Brian enjoys working on pickup trucks, muscle cars, Jeeps and anything related to motorsports.

See more posts from Brian Jones
1 COMMENT
  • Charlene F

    Currently I am servicing the 2018 volt for powertrain service, and a condition related to the battery that could loose ability to maintain voltage and lose propulsion mode, smoky aroma in the car, thick smoke coming from the emissions pipe. And I am having an issue in the electrical function of the car when I shift into park. It is not recognizing shifting in park.

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead you can to our legal team.

Please select your star rating.

Briefly describe your experience Briefly describe your experience

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? Please enter a valid phone number

Want to know if you could sue? Get a free legal evaluation Lemberg Law?

Get Your No-Obligation
Case Evaluation

Send a secure message to our legal team.

What’s your name? What’s your name?
What’s your email address? What’s your email address?
What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?
Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem
Confidentiality Guarantee: We keep your information completely confidential and will not send you spam or sell your information.