2022 Honda Civic Problems and Top Complaints – Is Your Car A Lemon?

Electrical system, cruise control, automatic braking, and steering issues are among the top complaints received by the NHTSA from vehicle owners

By Brian Jones | Updated on

By Brian Jones | Updated on

The 2022 Honda Civic provides the traditional style and memorable name that the average car buyer is looking for. The automaker tries to step it up a notch by claiming it will provide “nonstop fun.” However, some customers aren’t having any fun at all, especially when their cruise control disengages, or the emergency braking system randomly activates.

Click on other model year to view more problems: 2017   2018   2019   2020   2021

Don’t be stuck with a lemon. You have legal rights to cash, return or buyback.

The law makes Honda pay legal fees.

We've fixed thousands of lemon problems. Message or call 877-795-3666 today.

NHTSA Complaints for the 2022 Honda Civic

Complaint CategoryNumber of Complaints
Steering
86
Forward Collision Avoidance: Adaptive Cruise Control
27
Vehicle Speed Control
25
Lane Departure: Assist
19
Electrical System
9
Forward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking
8
Visibility/wiper
5
Suspension
4
Lane Departure: Warning
4
Unknown Or Other
4

Most Common Problems with the 2022 Honda Civic

There were 56 complaints made to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) about the 2022 Honda Civic between July 2021 and mid-October 2022. Overall, 13 components and systems are listed, but most complaints relate to at least 2, sometimes to 3 of them.

Forward collision avoidance tops the complaints list with 30 complaints. Vehicle speed control is a close second, with 26 complaints, but of these 22 are combined with forward collision avoidance. In total, 29 of the complaints related to Cruise Control and Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC) systems malfunctioning. Several also complain about problems with the emergency automatic braking system activating even when there aren’t other vehicles nearby.

There are 10 complaints, so far, about the electrical system, and half of these are combined with cruise control problems.

There are 9 complaints related to lane departure issues. Of these, 4 relate to faulty steering, which has attracted a total of 8 complaints.

With so many brands of vehicles reporting problems with sunroofs shattering and windshields cracking, we note that the 2022 Honda Civic isn’t immune. One of the 3 complaints about the structure of this car reports a windshield crack that occurred without any impact. Despite the fact that there is widespread comment about windshields that randomly crack – including Honda vehicles – the dealer maintained “a small item must have hit it and it isn’t a manufacturer issue.”

Shattering sunroofs are also common with multiple brands, and again, the Honda Civic isn’t invulnerable. A California resident with a new 2022 Civic reports that the sunroof shattered while driving on a freeway in March 2022.

Problems with the Electrical System

The electrical system issues cited in complaints to the NHTSA are varied. Out of a total of 10 complaints, half are listed as vehicle speed control and/or forward collision avoidance issues, specifically the widespread cruise control problems and 1 to steering issues.

An owner from California complains that the car engine also randomly shuts down and the car loses all power. This usually happens after 3-5 hours and the car has to be restarted. And an owner from Ohio, with only 307 miles on the clock, states that the traffic sign recognition feature provides inaccurate speed data,

Here’s an example from an Edmunds review. “Within 10-hours after purchase, the defroster stopped working followed by the air-conditioning immediately afterwards. Took it back to the dealer and it’s been with them for over a week. I may not get my car back for several weeks as it’s difficult to get the electrical replacement parts probably due to chip component shortage. Not very happy with this purchase.”

The electrical issues range from small to large. On the minor side, Service Bulletin #AATS210301 talks about the wireless charger not working with iPhone 12 models. Honda’s solution to this is to “use a USB charging cord” instead. However, even larger are the previous issues that Honda has faced. In the past, the automaker has been found possibly liable for failing to disclose issues with the seatbelts and airbags because of an electrical defect.

Cruise Control Problems

The first complaint about cruise control problems was lodged with the NHTSA on December 2, 2021. Since this time, there have been 3 technical service bulletins (TSBs) that address the issue. The first was released on April 28, 2022 and the most recent in July 2022. But months later Civic owners still have problems.

What the TSBs Say

The initial TSB warns dealers that the Cruise Control and ACC “stop working or cancel while driving.” It states that when customers try to resume the function with a key cycle, they will hear a series of beeps. The cause, they say, is possibly software issues with the multipurpose camera. Dealers are therefore asked to get a repair technician to update the driver support software.

The next TSB, issued on June 24, says, “Cruise control is not working and all the ACC lights are illuminated.” Again, they blame this on software issues with the multipurpose camera and ask dealers to update the software to the most current version.

The most recent TSB was issued on July 15, 2022. This was updated little more than a week later, listing an increased number of VIN numbers. All 3 TSBs state that the normal warranty applies. It isn’t clear whether the software itself has been updated.

What the Complaints Say

A recent complaint from a Michigan resident lodged with the NHTSA on September 21, 2022 tells it like it is. “The adaptive cruise control disengages abruptly during its operation with a beep and cannot be reengaged unless it is restarted. Honda seems to have released a TSB for this issue but this car hasn’t been updated for that TSB software update.” Now that it’s happened a couple of times, the owner plans to get the software updated.

A Los Angeles resident has experienced the ACC and regular cruise control disengaging on multiple occasions. “Once this occurs the cruise control will not engage regardless of whether I try ACC or regular cruise control and I receive a message ‘Cruise Control Off’ and a beep when I try. The only consistent solution seems to be to turn off the car and turn it back on.”

This owner didn’t take the Civic to a dealer for inspection because the problem occurs “very randomly.” Their concern is that it will probably take a dealership hours of driving to reproduce the problem … not knowing that Honda already knows about the problem! While the cruise control failed for the first time in December 2021, the complaint was only filed on July 22, 2022. Surely that’s evidence enough that a recall would solve the problem for many?

The solution may be to join a forum, because they spread the word!

But then, an owner from Texas experienced the problem. The dealership confirmed the issue but said it would “be a while to get fixed.” A software update?

Emergency Automatic Braking Issues

There are only 4 complaints about random or ghost braking in the category Service Brakes. But brake problems are reported in other categories, including Forward Collision Avoidance. It seems that malfunctioning cruise control may sometimes go hand-in-hand with random emergency braking issues.

An owner from Virginia was driving at 75 mph in ACC away from other cars. The weather was perfect, and then the car braked automatically. “The braking period lasted about two seconds during which time inertia slammed me forward. Fortunately there were no cars immediately in back of me or I no doubt probably would have been rear-ended. I did not step on the brake pedal or the gas pedal during this period.”

The owner’s assumption is that the forward collision system activated.

An owner from California reports that while driving on an empty highway, the car ghost brakes even though there are no cars in front. “It has happened multiple times that my last incident almost caused an accident behind me. I have tried to get serviced and they won’t listen.”

Faulty Steering

If your steering doesn’t work, you’re in trouble. Complaints about the steering system of the 2022 Honda Civic range from “unstable steering at low speeds” and the steering becoming “statically neutral” to lane departure issues.

An owner from Tennessee reports a crash, saying that “Steering pulls to the side making it very hard to steer.” The car stays in the lane when going straight but it “makes your arms sore trying to steer it.” The dealer was able to duplicate the problem but was not able to fix it.

An owner from Illinois complains that the steering wheel starts “to stick or bind” after driving for half an hour. When the car stops, they hear a clunk coming from the electronic power steering. “Once on the highway, the steering wheel gets really sticky and when trying to do a small correction it jerks. After a while it becomes really unsafe to drive since all the corrections you make are extreme and it struggles to keep the car centered on the lane without constant struggle.”

Is your 2022 Honda Civic a Lemon? Your Lemon Rights

Do you think you may have a lemon? If you do, Lemberg Law will assess your problems free of charge. The law makes Honda pay legal fees and you may be able to get your lemon out of your life.

Every year, auto manufacturers buy back, replace or pay cash settlements to thousands of ‘lemon’ owners like you. All our Helpline or fill in our contact form and we’ll get back to you.

Complaint Data

CategorySteering
DateJan 25, 2023
StateWA
Description
Steering wheel seems to get stiff and lock into center at highway speeds, causing to push hard on steering wheel to do minor corrections, car feels incredibly unsafe at highway speeds constantly having to fight the steering wheel. Many other drivers have this issue in forums. Dealer says they don't know how to fix that.
CategorySteering
DateJan 25, 2023
StateCA
Description
Steering wheel feels jerky, it has a mind of its own. Even if driving straight it will move without me moving it.
CategoryLane Departure: Assist, Steering
DateJan 24, 2023
StateKY
Description
When traveling straight down the road, most noticeably at interstate speeds, the car will start to drift ever so slightly in one direction. You start adding steering angle to go straight and can feel the electric steering weight ramp up like it should. Then all of a sudden it gets light and corrects back to center, however now you are traveling in the direction the steering is pointing. The feeling is like driving on an extremely windy day where the driver has to fight the steering to keep the car going straight. However this happens at random without warning. It feels like something in the rack is binding up when it gets warm.
CategorySteering
DateJan 23, 2023
StateGA
Description
My steering wheel keeps sticking and u have to jerk the steering wheel to correct it. It happens multiple times daily
CategorySteering
DateJan 22, 2023
StateNY
Description
At highway speeds, steering sticks and requires excessive force to break resistance and provide input. This makes it difficult to make small corrections and causes swerving within the lane.
CategorySteering
DateJan 21, 2023
StateOH
Description
Steering wheel sticking after 2nd oil change 9,000 miles. On the highway and speeds over 45mph the steering wheel will stick and require force to move it from its position. It is not subtle and smooth like every car I've driven before. A recall is I order for this steering column. Please look at all the other similar complaints on 2022 civics.
CategorySteering
DateJan 21, 2023
StateNC
Description
Sticky steering, drifting steering, hard to keep in a straight line. This is an ongoing problem which I first noticed in late november after having the car for several months. It seems to be getting worse. I took it to the dealer they said that it is normal, but I wonder how it could possibly be normal.
CategoryLane Departure: Assist, Steering
DateJan 20, 2023
StateKY
Description
While driving for some time the steering feels notchy like it takes more effort than normal to steer from center (only occurs for the first 5-10 degrees either direction from center). This usually becomes noticeable when driving around 30+ minutes over 35mph, and it causes lkas to struggle to keep the car center in the lane. Definitely a safety hazard and seeing as there are a ton of others having this same issue across all trims levels. Does not prevent me from driving but is a potentially hazardous issue if it becomes worse than it is.
CategorySteering
DateJan 20, 2023
StateMI
Description
After driving at highway speeds for some time >10minutes, the steering wheel exhibits a "stickiness" when moving it out of straight ahead. With some extra pressure, the steering wheel then moves, jumping into a turned position, then moving smoothly through its motion. This effect continues for the entirety of the drive. This has been occurring since last fall, but seems to be getting worse over time.
CategorySteering
DateJan 16, 2023
StateTX
Description
The car has 18k mikes and the steering sticks after driving for 30 minutes or so. It takes a slight jerk to get it unstuck and is a dangerous issue. It happens at highway speeds and slower speeds as well.
CategorySteering
DateJan 15, 2023
StateAZ
Description
The steering seems to be sticking well driving in a straight line, and as you pull on the wheel, it will suddenly almost feel like it's clicking then move. I have seen many forums online of the same complaints and honda is doing nothing about it. This is my daughters car and I want it to be safe. That's why I bought a new one. I was driving the car last night and it's seems very dangerous. The car only has 4600 miles on it and it's extremely noticeable.
CategorySteering, Suspension
DateJan 13, 2023
StateTX
Description
The contact owns a 2022 honda civic. The contact stated while driving 75 mph, the vehicle independently started to steer to the left and right. The contact stated there was no warning light illuminated. The contact stated that extra effort was needed while steering the vehicle. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. A dealer was not contacted. The manufacturer had not been informed of the failure. The failure mileage was 19,355.
CategoryAir Bags
DateJan 12, 2023
StateLA
Description
Steering wheel airbag did not deploy at impact but knee airbags deployed airbag in steering wheel did not deploy when impact occurred vehicle is currently at body collision shop under review and inspection currently being inspected at body collision no known warning lamp or messages prior to failure of airbag deployment
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Adaptive Cruise Control, Lane Departure: Assist, Vehicle Speed Control
DateJan 12, 2023
StateOH
Description
2022 honda civic sport current milage: 21,000 miles. I have had this car since september 2021. Ever since my first day of ownership, the lkas system for assisting the driver with lane guidance constantly fights me. Often, the car turns the steering wheel by itself to hug the left lane line, often passing over the line and causing the lane departure warning to activate, shaking the steering wheel. This issue has occurred on the right lane line as well, but typically the issue is with the left lane line for my car. This happens every time I drive my car. I took my 2022 honda civic sport to a honda dealership about a year ago to look at the lane departure issue. The mechanics were able to replicate the issue, however nobody knew what to do as no codes were supplied by the car. The employees acted as if I was stupid as I explained my issue, with video proof, however their doubt changed when their test drive concluded. I was later informed by honda dealership employees that the car was "supposed to guide towards the lane lines." I am not confident that any car is "supposed" to do anything as dangerous as the 2022 honda civic sport lkas system; this issue will increase the likelihood of accidental sideswipes on multi-lane roads, or loss of control in poor road conditions as you have to yank on the very stiff steering wheel and constantly apply pressure to oppose the lkas system. Another issue with the same 2022 honda civic sport is that the acc system malfunctions. For no reason at all, in perfect driving conditions and no warnings at all, cruise control will turn itself off. This is dangerous as I do not anticipate the deactivation of the system, leading the car to significantly decrease in speed on the interstate without. The system cannot be reactivated until the car is recycled; the vehicle must be pulled off the road to correct this problem. Nobody at the dealership knows what to do about the cars they sell.
CategoryLane Departure: Assist, Steering, Unknown Or Other
DateJan 12, 2023
StateCA
Description
There are issues with steering possible lane assist. I took it to honda to be accessed, initially the rep tried to tell me there was nothing wrong/ didn't understand the issues I was having. Then I was told it was a small hose that was constantly triggering lane assist feature and that they needed to take the dash apart and install this part they claim they special ordered. I left my car at the service center for several days. They reported they had replaced defective part and the issue had been resolved however, it's been 2 weeks and the car is worse than before. The steering wheel is stiffer than before and makes a clicking sound when turning any direction. I'm afraid of an accident because the issue forces the driver to constantly. The service guy claimed it's not dangerous just something annoying. I feel frustrated because this shouldn't be happening with a car that I just 1 year old
CategorySteering
DateJan 12, 2023
StateCA
Description
While driving my car on the highway I'm noticing that my steering wheel often gets stuck if I've been driving straight for a while. When I feel it get stuck I have to apply pressure or pull it to get it to move. Sometimes when it gets stuck and I try to move it slightly it feels like the car is drifting off into the next lane. Almost as if the car is fighting me a bit. For example I will try to move it to the right but it gets stuck and goes to the left. This is very dangerous sometimes I get scared thinking what if it doesn't move one day and I crash into something or someone. It is very unsafe!
CategorySteering
DateJan 10, 2023
StateMD
Description
While driving the 2022 civic touring there is a noticeable stickiness to the steering almost as if the wheel will look up while trying to drive straight and pull the car to different sides of the road. Its almost like the first 5 degrees right or left are not registered, causing it to lock up. It originally was while driving straight mainly highway miles. Now it's becoming noticeable during day to day driving and turning. This is very unsafe considering the car can turn and steering wheel will not allow the driver to automatically correct because it is locked up. If you go to the dealership everyone pretends like it's unreal but check any forum and tons of people are experiencing these problems with 2022 civics. I had a dealership tell me to my face that it is 100% "normal".
CategorySteering
DateJan 09, 2023
StateLA
Description
Vehicle has sticky steering that is noticble above 40 mph and gets worse as the vehicle goes faster. It does take considerable effort to steer at highway speeds as the resistance makes it difficult to not overcorrect when steering. When lane keep assist is on it can also be felt that it is struggling with the resistance in the steering. This started at around 5000 miles. The dealership states that it is the steering rack. There was no warning lamps. There is no tech safety bulletin or recall. This is a known problem and a potential safety issue.
CategorySteering
DateJan 08, 2023
StateMD
Description
Steering feels sticky at highway speeds. Almost feels like it jumps and wonders on the highway when making small corrections.
CategoryLane Departure: Assist, Steering
DateJan 07, 2023
StateGA
Description
The steering wheel doesn't allow me or the lane keeping assisting system to make small adjustments. It's sticky and may cause over adjustments. Please check the link below. Most of the users have the same problem. Https://www. Carproblemzoo. Com/honda/civic/2022/2022-honda-civic-steering-problems. Php
CategorySteering
DateJan 07, 2023
StateCA
Description
Steering is sticky feel at highway speeds.
CategorySteering
DateJan 07, 2023
StateCT
Description
Turning the steering wheel feels "sticky" or has excessive resistance, and I have to apply significant force to "break it loose" again, seems to happen at highway speeds intermittently. This issue makes it very difficult to keep the car in a straight line. The force needed to turn the wheel when it "sticks" causing unintentional overcorrections. This is extremely annoying to the driver, and possibly safety concern for keeping control of the car.
CategorySteering
DateJan 06, 2023
StateNY
Description
Steering sticky and stiff at highway speeds, requires additional effort to move from centered position. The vehicle is one year old with has roughly 15,000 miles and this just happened recently, oddly enough it appears to work fine at lower speeds.
CategorySteering
DateJan 06, 2023
StateSC
Description
At approximately 20,000 miles the vehicle has issues with the steering wheel sticking, adversely affecting the ability to steer the vehicle safely. The issue appears after the vehicle has warmed up and is more noticeable while in the higher rpm range at approximately >40 mph. The steering feels locked in place with the driver needing to fight the steering in order to control the vehicle. The amount of adjustment needed to steer the vehicle causes the steering to overcompensate and causes the steering to stick in the opposite direction which requires the driver to fight the steering the entire time the vehicle is operated. This issue presents a great safety concern to both the drivers/passengers in the vehicle and other drivers as the fatigue of manipulating the sticking/notched steering wheel can lead accident if the driver's inputs are not consistent with the steering defect. No warning light or or error codes are present.
CategorySteering
DateJan 06, 2023
StateTN
Description
Car is at about 14k miles. I noticed at high speeds (on the interstate highway) around 55-70 mph, the steering wheel starts to stick. When keeping my car inside the lanes it is very difficult to do so without accidentally jerking the steering wheel, because of it sticking. The steering wheel does not stick when moving at speeds slower than this.
CategorySteering
DateJan 05, 2023
StatePA
Description
The steering at highway speeds feels like it sticks at the 12:00 position, almost like a notch is there and I have to give it a little more movement to get the wheel itself to budge. The car also feels like it needs to be re-centered in the lane a lot and it tends to weave.
CategorySteering
DateJan 04, 2023
StateNJ
Description
Steering wheel/rack in car feels as if it's sticking, giving resistance, and notchy. Driving car at highway speeds the steering seems to be less responsive and doesn't want to continue to stay straight. Has a jittery feeling as if it wandering. Lane assist has been turned off and issue still occurred. The problem seems to be getting worse and the car feels unsafe to drive.
CategorySteering
DateJan 04, 2023
StateTX
Description
The steering has a tendency to "stick" and hold a direction to the left or right of center, requiring more force to bring back to center after a turn. This comes up during highway speeds where there is no "on centering" movement in the steering after a turn, rather, the steering feels notchy and "stuck" in a certain position and extra unusual amount of force is required to right the steering wheel back to center
CategorySteering
DateJan 03, 2023
StateNY
Description
The car is 5 months old and the steering wheel was never centered always pulled to the right I had the dealer do an alignment done and nothing has changed it is unsafe and always pulling to the opposite direction. No warning lamps came on. The dealer is telling me the alignments are perfect but it is not. I see that so many others are reporting the same issues but the dealer says nothing is wrong. The steering sticks unless moved to straighten it out. This is a big safety concern if there are so many people complaining about the same issue in the same car.
CategorySteering
DateJan 03, 2023
StateFL
Description
When I drive down the road at certain times the steering sticks which does not allow me to make the minor adjustments needed to stay in the center of a lane. This causes a jerkiness and overcorrection when driving at higher speeds. This has occurred on long trips and short drives, but sometimes the steering seems fine. I have confirmed that it is not the lane assist kicking in. It is a problem with the steering wheel sticking.
CategorySteering
DateJan 03, 2023
StateVA
Description
2022 civic sport has close to 2k miles and the steering is sticky and requires force in the opposite direction to "unlock". This is happening with our 2022 civic touring and now this new sport :(. It is a safety issue when trying to correct the stuck steering wheel, if over corrected, can inadvertently drive into another lane unannounced. Many people seem to be having this issue. Nhtsa please help us! Honda won't acknowledge this faulty, dangerous issue!!!
CategorySteering
DateDec 30, 2022
StateTX
Description
Factory ordered 2022 civic touring sedan summer of 2021. Took delivery october 27th 2021. Vehicle has 17,600~ miles roughly today. Around mid to late summer of 2022 I started noticing the steering becoming semi-stiff, notchy only in centerline position of 3-5 degrees on highway driving. All driver aides are turned off lkas etc. Tried with on or off. Basically, any speed in excess of 40+ mph, especially 60+ mph the steering wheel at random feels lightly stuck, semi-locked, resistive at center position or anywhere within about a 3-5 degree center position requiring a slight but constantly noticeable over steer to get power steering to engage properly. Makes highway driving annoying and uncomfortable constantly using wrist to make minor over corrections slightly right/left, left/right against the resistance. Car drives fine below 40mph. Alignment has been done twice to rule it out. Most recently this december. Dealership has been advised on my last alignment. Simply put steering is sticky, notchy, semi-stiff in centered position once above 40mph+ but not at every single time the vehicle is started. Mostly 60% of the time. I am waiting and would seriously like honda to investigate the issue and release a tsb fix so I do not have to waste my time running around with the dealership debates before the factory warranty runs out.
CategorySteering
DateDec 29, 2022
StateNJ
Description
Vehicle have major steaming issues. Over correcting constantly at highway speed. Very dangerous to drive. Brought to dealer. Cannot duplicate the problem. Car curently has 35k miles as I commute everyday with this vehicle. Steering is getting stuck in certain positions. Causing myself to oversteer the vehicle. Does it most at 60-70mph going straight
CategorySteering
DateDec 29, 2022
StateVA
Description
Steering is sticking when making normal minor corrections while driving. This causes the driver to have to over-correct to get past the sticking point. When driving on the highway, this makes driving dangerous, as an over-correction moves the vehicle closer to other vehicles or barriers.
CategorySteering
DateDec 29, 2022
StateTX
Description
When driving above 45 mph the steering wheel stiffens or sticks. It is unsafe to drive with this issue because it causes the car to slightly swerve to get the wheel to unstick. When turning I can let go of the wheel and it sometimes gets stuck in a sideways position instead of spinning back like most cars do.
CategorySteering
DateDec 29, 2022
StateIN
Description
Steering wheel gets stuck momentarily while driving. It feels like it skips/steps after getting released. As a result small adjustments to the steering wheel are not smooth when the problem occurs. While not touching the steering wheel, it makes a slight move unintentionally. The problem seems to occur at any speed, but less noticeable at high rpms. The problem puts me and passengers at risk since I constantly need to give adjustments to the steering wheel.
CategorySteering
DateDec 28, 2022
StateNY
Description
I've notice sticking in the steering wheel 2 days ago and seems to be getting worse especially the more I drive. So when driving and not turning for a sec or two two make adjustments in steering weather it's right or left it gets stuck. I have to put a litter force into it to make steering adajustmenst.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateDec 28, 2022
StateCA
Description
I was driving down the highway and I got sprayed by a truck, but the wiper would only clear a small portion of the windshield. There were 2 large pockets on the driver and passenger side that the wiper didn't even touch. This issue only occurs in winter. I believe this is a safety issue because I can't see out the window and the wiper system clearly has some issues. I believe honda should have added a heated wiper park to this car. My old cr-v touring had heated park and I did not experience such an issue on that vehicle.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateDec 27, 2022
StateNJ
Description
Cold weather the wiper blades do not clear the windshield at all. Leaves huge parts of the window not able to see threw. This is at least the 2x to 3x time that this has happen. Seems like a big safety issue
CategorySteering
DateDec 26, 2022
StateFL
Description
The vehicle steering has a spot where it sticks like something is binding happens even trying to make a slight correction and the lane assist is not on when this occurs
CategorySteering
DateDec 26, 2022
StateAZ
Description
Steering feels very jerky on the highway. Best I can describe it is when you are giving little corrections with the steering wheel it feels heavy and then the power steering helps once you get to a certain level of input and the wheel jerks hard. Almost like the power steering can't see the first 5⁰ of input at highway speeds. This makes for a car that is hard to keep centered and unsafe driving conditions on the highway. This effect is noticeable in normal mode and unbearable in sport mode.
CategorySteering
DateDec 24, 2022
StateWA
Description
The steering is sticking, most noticeable at 50 mph plus, the stickiness causes accidental overseer when making small steering adjustments.
CategorySteering
DateDec 24, 2022
StatePA
Description
Steering becomes sticky and stuck when turning to left as steering must be manually auto-corrected to center mostly more prominent on highway speeds causing car to be at serious risk for crash. Dealer diagnosed problem as ps rack and replacement is around k with out of pocket or extended warranty. This was a known issue for previous generation and continues to be an issue in this generation.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateDec 24, 2022
StateMA
Description
Windshield wipers do not fully clean/clear driver side of windshield. This is a major safety risk as wet roads can impair driver vision from salt and sand trucks. Windshield wiper fluid does not clean/clear drivers vision from this and creates a direct block of vision of the road. What I experienced was minor due to minimal snow. This was very impactful in loss of visibility even on this experience. I am genuinely afraid for my safety as this winger season ensues. This is incredibly dangerous and could cause an accident or possibly death.
CategorySteering
DateDec 23, 2022
StateSC
Description
While driving at speeds above 45 mph the steering becomes very stiff as if locked in place and when you try to adjust the steering it jerks the wheel making it very dangerous if your not careful.
CategoryFuel/propulsion System
DateDec 21, 2022
StateFL
Description
I have less than 2000 miles on a new honda civic ex and the emission systems problem warning light has come on and it says power may be reduced and see your dealer. Took to dealer and they think it is with the fuel cap but cannot get parts since it is too new. Everything I read indicates it is serious and needs immediate attention. Do not know what to do.
CategorySteering
DateDec 21, 2022
StateCA
Description
Steering is sticking when making normal minor corrections while driving. This causes the driver to have to over-correct to get past the sticking point. When driving on the highway, this makes driving dangerous, as an over-correction moves the vehicle closer to other vehicles or barriers. Note that this problem started around middle of november 2022. Prior to that the vehicle drove fine, no issues.
CategorySteering
DateDec 21, 2022
StateCA
Description
Steering wheel has started to stick while driving. Noticed about a week ago and has done it every time driven since.
CategorySteering
DateDec 20, 2022
StateFL
Description
The steering of the car is hard to control starting at 30 mph and getting progressively worse as you increase the speed. The steering wheel seems to lock in a position and when you try to correct your path of travel it causes an over correction due to the additional force necessary to try and keep the car in the intended path. I had 2 close calls where I almost had an accident on the high way because of this. Along with my hand being damaged as a result of a service connected disability I fear that I wont have enough strength to keep the car from veering into a tragedy.
CategorySteering
DateDec 19, 2022
StateWA
Description
The steering wheel "sticks" a little when driving at highway speeds. This is when lane keep assist is turned off. As far as I can tell this mostly happens when I'm going in a straight line. It can be unstuck fairly easily by applying pressure to turn, but something is clearly off.
CategoryLane Departure: Assist, Steering
DateDec 18, 2022
StateFL
Description
One day after approximately 11k miles of use, the sterring began to bind. Sticking mainly to the center, at first it wasn't very drastic. A little extra effort & you were able to mussel through it. The more you drive it ghe worse it gets. It got to an unmanageable point with the lane assit on, as the car fights itself. This started approximately 3 & half weeks ago. Its getting worse. Had an appointment at tge dealer 2 weeks ago, yesterday there was a release date for my steering rack of january 1, mabye. It gets worse w speed.
CategorySteering
DateDec 17, 2022
StateAZ
Description
While driving my 2022 civic at freeway speeds beginning to notice steering wheel isn't responding as smoothly as normal. Car tends to drift in lane and when you correct steering wheel sticks and feels similar to the lane keeping assistance even though it is turned off. Seems to be getting more noticeable and steering isn't as responsive
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Adaptive Cruise Control, Forward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Vehicle Speed Control
DateDec 16, 2022
StateMO
Description
Adaptive cruise control suddenly disengaged with a loud beep while on an interstate and collision mitigation braking also engaged without warning or reason. No warning lights or messages came on. Today, 12/16/2022 is the first time this happened.
CategorySteering
DateDec 16, 2022
StateTX
Description
When driving at higher speeds on the freeway my steering becomes resistant. Causing over correcting. One day when it was very windy driving to work after over correction I blew into the other lane, luckily no one was close enough. Driving on the freeway for long periods of time causes hand cramps from the amount of grip it requires to keep it center lane. This is a safety issue. I have taken it to honda on 3 separate occasions for the same issue and every time they say there is nothing wrong.
CategorySteering
DateDec 16, 2022
StatePA
Description
At highway speeds, the steering wheel will stick a few degrees from center on either side when allowing the wheel to return to its neutral position. When making minor adjustments while travelling straight, the wheel will give increased resistance at the points mentioned above. This can be possibly dangerous if a driver assumes the wheel will behave normally when completing a turn or overcompensating during minor adjustments. This can be especially true during inclement weather conditions where minor adjustments or wheel sticking may affect the driver's ability to correct an otherwise avoidable traction related incident.
CategorySteering
DateDec 15, 2022
StateGA
Description
Car wanders, and when moving the wheel slightly in either direction it will stay in that direction and not return to the center without help. The wheel also sticks to the center and requires a bit more force to move occasionally.
CategorySteering
DateDec 14, 2022
StateCA
Description
When im on freeway my car steering wheel starting to feel like sticky and im always fighting to steering to be staright on the road. And its always going right. And when im in idle I can feel and hear a bumping sounds under my vehicle when I slowly turning it right. Its makes me feel unsafe on this car specially when im driving on freeway! And when I bring it to the dealer ti fix it they always saying nothing was wrong with my steering!! I leave my car in dealer for 2days and when I get it its feel thesame and they pull out the wire power of my dashcam for no reason!!!
CategorySteering, Suspension
DateDec 14, 2022
StateTX
Description
Steering became difficult and unresponsive at times. Car barely has 3000 miles on it. Took to honda dealership for inspection. They test drove car and I was told the following needed to be replaced and recommended leaving car there for repairs. Repair rack and pinion assembly, update control unit, update vsa and eps systems, alignment. 2 weeks to get a part leaving me stuck having to pay for a rental car for weeks.
CategorySteering
DateDec 13, 2022
StateCA
Description
The contact owns a 2022 honda civic. The contact stated while driving 55 mph and making a left turn, there was significant resistance while turning the steering wheel back to the center position. The contact stated that the failure had been occurring mainly after making turns at faster speeds. The dealer was notified of the failure and informed the contact that the failure was associated to an unknown recall; however, the vin was not included. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 28,000.
CategorySteering
DateDec 11, 2022
StatePR
Description
El problema comenzó a las 18,000 millas, el manejo del vehículo a ido empeorando, ahora tiene 22,000 millas y lo hace a poca velocidad de manejo, el problema el que el volante tiene ruido al girar y se atasca durante el manejo, tengo que forzar el volante para que quede línea recta, lo lleve a la garantía y los técnicos me dijeron qué hay una falla interna del rack & pinion failure, pero los técnicos no han tomado este problema muy en serio, no me siento seguro manejándolo
CategoryLane Departure: Assist, Steering
DateDec 10, 2022
StateNC
Description
While driving the 2022 civic sport there is a noticeable stickiness to the steering almost as if the wheel will look up while trying to drive straight and pull the car to different sides of the road. It originally was while driving straight mainly highway miles. Now it's becoming noticeable during day to day driving and turning. This is very unsafe considering the car can turn and steering wheel will not allow the driver to automatically correct because it is locked up. Around 5000 miles the steering wheel will begin having a loose change noise when turning to the left behind the horn, around 10,000 miles the steering wheel will begin locking up and not allowing the driver to correct it and will pull the car to different sides of the road. If you go to the dealership everyone pretends like it's unreal but check any forum and 1000s of people are experiencing these problems with 2022 civics
CategorySteering
DateDec 09, 2022
StateNM
Description
The contact owns a 2022 honda civic. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the steering wheel momentarily seized. The contact stated that extra effort was needed to turn the steering wheel, causing the driver to overcompensate while attempting the turn the vehicle. The contact stated that the failure occurred while driving in a straight line, or while the steering wheel was stationary. The cause of the failure was not yet determined. The local dealer and manufacturer were not yet notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 10,000.
CategorySteering
DateDec 09, 2022
StateAZ
Description
Steering wheel is not reacting properly. It feels like sticky.
CategorySteering
DateDec 09, 2022
StateNJ
Description
My steering wheel is starting to stick, I have to pull harder than normal for it to turn, it's led me to over correct it by accident on the highway to get it to move. Others have had this issue on these civics as well. If it gets worse I can see this being very dangerous if it gets worse.
CategoryLane Departure: Assist, Steering
DateDec 08, 2022
StateLA
Description
Starting around 38k miles the steering will get stuck in the middle position causing me to use extra force to free the wheel. This causes an over compensation and swerving. It's especially worse at higher speeds than 40 mph. I feel this could cause an accident. It happens with lane keep assist on or off. I have not seen any fault lights on the dash and have not taken to a dealer or mechanic yet, but I will soon.
CategorySteering
DateDec 08, 2022
StateMD
Description
Steering wheel/rack in car feels as if it's sticking, giving resistance, and notchy. Driving car at highway speeds the steering seems to be less responsive and doesn't want to continue to stay straight. Has a jittery feeling as if it wandering. Lane assist has been turned off and issue still occurred. The problem seems to be getting worse and the car feels unsafe to drive. Car has not been to dealer yet waiting in appointment. Car has no been inspected by any of the following: manufacturer, police, insurance representatives or others no warning lamps, messages or other symptoms of the problem prior to the failure when the issue started. Noticed issue on 12/6/22. Roughly 8600 miles on vehicle.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Adaptive Cruise Control, Forward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking
DateDec 07, 2022
StateCA
Description
The contact owns a 2022 honda civic. The contact stated that the vehicle experienced phantom braking while driving at various speeds with the cruise control activated. The contact stated that an unknown sensor obstruction warning light was illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a local dealer, where the mechanics were unable to duplicate the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 14,000.
CategorySteering
DateDec 07, 2022
StateCA
Description
The steering wheel sticks at times. Driving straight and in turns. It's a slight stick, but increasingly more noticeable. While driving straight it happens if I don't touch the wheel for a few seconds. Then I'll need to make a minor correction and it's stuck. I have to put some decent pressure on the wheel to make it unstuck, which causes an over-correction
CategorySteering
DateDec 07, 2022
StateTX
Description
At medium to high speeds (40 - 70 mph ) the steering wheel sticks in left and right directions with all lane keeping and honda safety turned off. It takes a decent amount of force to correct the steering and causes jerky reactions causing my car to dramatically bounce between lane lines. This is a major safety issue as on a curvy road I can easily veer off road or into oncoming lanes . This is a major issue and have found a lot of other honda civic owners are seeing the same issue. There are no indicator lights on the dash when this happens. I have tried to correct issue by changing the steering wheel location via the telescope position with no change. I plan to take my car in to service asap as it is unsafe to drive on my daily 100mi commute.
CategoryLane Departure: Assist, Steering
DateDec 05, 2022
StateCT
Description
While driving, the steering wheel will stick and require extra effort to turn the wheel. While not currently life-threatening, this has all the potential to become fatal. There has been some reproductions at service centers, but my vehicle has not been inspected yet, and there are no warning lights or prompts.
CategorySteering
DateDec 05, 2022
StateNY
Description
I own a 2022 honda civic sport and I am having steering issues. When going over 30+mph, the steering wheel feels very sticky, on the highway the wheel will stay in a slightly turned position and not return to center, it causes resistance when making small corrections which then gives away when applying pressure, over correcting and making driving dangerous. This started around 8k miles and I now have almost 12k with no fix (I've had the car since 5 miles). Driving this car at first was one of the most fun experiences, but now its getting tiring with this big issue that dealers around my area cannot fix.
CategorySteering
DateDec 04, 2022
StateCA
Description
When driving straight on the freeway for a certain amount of time, the steering wheel sticks and I would have to apply more force to adjust the steering. I had the dealership run a diagnostic and they updated the software but the problem still persists. The steering is sensitive and applying extra amount of pressure is dangerous, especially on rainy days.
CategorySteering
DateDec 04, 2022
StateMA
Description
My steering wheel becomes sticky once I get to highway speeds. Attempting to make any micro adjustments becomes difficult because it requires more force and causes over correction. It doesn't happen as often when temperatures are lower though. Seems more common when it's warm out. Have not gone to the dealer yet.
CategorySteering
DateDec 04, 2022
StateNJ
Description
Immaculately kept and cared for 2022 civic with 8,000 miles on it has “sticky” and/or “binding” steering, which came on out of nowhere a week or two ago. The problem is more pronounced at highway speeds, but is starting to become noticeable at residential street speeds (25-35mph) too. I do not feel safe driving my less than year old car! Brought it to the dealership yesterday and they actually acknowledged the problem and recommended “a whole steering gearbox replacement”, which is under warranty, but the part has at least a month lead time. Unacceptable! Most dangerous incident took place when I was turning onto my street and in mid-turn the steering wheel got stuck making me have to apply more than normal force and making an over correction. Thankfully, nobody was around so I didn't hit anyone, but it could have been bad if there was a car in the opposing lane.
CategorySteering
DateDec 02, 2022
StateCA
Description
The car has 13,000 miles . The steering sticks on the highway and over corrects when having to unstick it . It feels very unsafe to drive . Took it to the dealer and they said could not find anything wrong . It started doing this recently was fine up to now . Don't feel safe at all driving it and there is a clunking sound when making turns or backing out of a parking space.
CategorySteering
DateDec 01, 2022
StateFL
Description
When im driving, my steering wheel doesnt return to center on its own, even when turning the slightest bit. I have to apply force and it's dangerous especially on the freeway.
CategorySteering
DateDec 01, 2022
StateOH
Description
This issue has been occurring since my vehicle had approximately 10,000 miles on it. Currently has around 16,000 miles on it. Sticking of the steering wheel while at traveling speeds and near-straight direction. Generally happens for the entire duration of the drive, occurring after the steering wheel has been stationary for more than a second or two. Most noticeable when at faster/highway speeds. Problem will be reported to the dealer. This can very in intensity and require different amounts of effort to overcome the sticking. It causes annoyance in keeping the vehicle straight or slightly curved, and making very minor steering inputs can be difficult. This could create a safety issue if not expecting it or cause minor over-correction when the pressure releases while traveling on contaminated roads. Seems to happen more often in cool temperatures between 45 and 65 degrees, and regardless of lkas or other driver assist system functions being on or off.
CategorySteering
DateNov 30, 2022
StateAL
Description
Steering is "sticking" causing temporary moments of resistance while steering which then gives away and can cause an over correction.
CategoryTires
DateNov 28, 2022
StateNJ
Description
I just got this car from the dealership. Took it on to the road. The rear passenger side tire blew-out and I lost total control of the car.. I could have died. The tire sidewalls separated from the rest of the tire. The service center says that it is manufactured defect that caused the problem. I need assistance asap.
CategoryLane Departure: Assist, Steering
DateNov 27, 2022
StateFL
Description
30+ mph steering becomes sticky / notchy that requires over-correction to fix, making it uncomfortable and dangerous to drive, particularly on the interstate. When using lane keep assist, it pulls to one side or the other, crossing the line, and then autocorrects when the lane departure warning is activated, only to repeat this process consistently. There are no error codes on the car and local dealerships have not yet heard of a solution. There are currently no recalls or official statements from honda regarding this issue.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Adaptive Cruise Control
DateNov 25, 2022
StateCA
Description
The cruise control stopped working all of a sudden on the freeway with a beep. When trying to turn it back on it beeps again and shows the off sign on the cruise control icon in the display screen.
CategorySteering
DateNov 25, 2022
StatePA
Description
Since I've owned the car, when driving above 40 mph(when lkas may engage), with lkas off, the steering becomes statically neutral. . . I. E in a turn the steering wheel will remain in the turned position when pressure on the wheel is reduced. In this case the steering wheel( as well as the front wheels themselves) should straighten out as you continue to move. This is dangerous. Also, at highway speeds, in order to maintain the center of your lane small inputs to the steering wheel are normally required. In this vehicle, there is resistance to these small inputs. When the force of your input finally overcomes the resistance in the steering wheel the wheel turns more dramatically than intended(overcorrection). This is also dangerous. This also occurs with lkas off. It's almost like lkas engages the steering column preemptively above 40 mph but in a dangerous manner. I have less than 3000 miles on the car.
CategorySteering
DateNov 23, 2022
StateNC
Description
Steering wheel has some resistance when trying to correct while driving. It feels as if though the steering wheel is getting stuck and I have to force it when trying to correct the car when going straight.
CategorySteering
DateNov 22, 2022
StateMI
Description
The issues started around 3000 miles. When I turn the steering wheel to stay on the road around a slight curve, it will not naturally return to the center and I have to manually pull it back. It makes it feel like the car is wandering and if it gets much worse it will be unsafe. My car now has 5500 miles and is exhibiting a light “catch” or stickiness when making small adjustments (mostly noticed on the highway). My dealership is useless and rude and says that they will charge me a fee if they do not find anything wrong with the car, even though it is well under warranty. My concerns were confirmed by a mechanic shop in my area who acknowledged the steering oddity.
CategorySteering
DateNov 19, 2022
StateTX
Description
Notchy or sticking of steering wheel when driving and low or highway speeds. Less than 8,000 miles on the car and started within the last 1,000 miles. Issue is present with and without driving assist featured enabled/disabled.
CategoryLane Departure: Assist, Steering
DateNov 11, 2022
StateOK
Description
When driving at normal and highway speeds with or without lane keep assist activated steering rack gets stuck in position. When trying to maintain lane the steering wheel will lock and to release you must steer turn the wheel past this point of resistance. When this happens the car may end up leaving the roadway or entering another lane of traffic. The car has 53,000 miles and the warranty for this part is out however this is a known problem surfacing in forums with cars under 5000 miles. I feel this should be a recall due to the steering not functioning safely. This problem is getting worse over time and just started a couple weeks ago.
CategorySteering
DateNov 04, 2022
StateVA
Description
Our 2022 civic touring started exhibiting weird steering behavior about 3000 miles in. With higher speeds, the steering "sticks" and requires slight, but manual force to free it. Usually, the stickiness happens and the car veers slightly to the left, I have to pull right to free the steering wheel again. This is dangerous as it can invite over compensation when correcting the locked steering, at best creates a jerky movement when correcting, at worst, over correction can cause accidents. Honda is not acknowledging this issue.
CategorySteering
DateNov 03, 2022
StateNJ
Description
When driving straight on highway steering wheel gets stuck at center causing jerking/ oversteering when trying to make small adjustments on highway. Turned off all lane keeping assistance and lane departure options with no change. Have had vehicle for almost one year and issue just started about one month ago. Multiple other owners having same issue from online forums with dealers stating no problem
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Service Brakes
DateOct 19, 2022
StateCA
Description
The contact owns a 2022 honda civic. The contact stated while driving approximately 20 mph, the forward collision avoidance; emergency automatic braking activated inadvertently without a vehicle being nearby. The contact stated that the brake pads made a loud grinding sound. The brake warning light and alarm was activated. The vehicle had not been taken to the dealer to be diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 27,000.
CategoryElectrical System, Lane Departure: Assist, Steering
DateOct 14, 2022
StateFL
Description
Since I've owned the car, when driving above 40 mph(when lkas may engage), with lkas off, the steering becomes statically neutral... I. E in a turn the steering wheel will remain in the turned position when pressure on the wheel is reduced. In this case the steering wheel( as well as the front wheels themselves) should straighten out as you continue to move. This is dangerous. Also, at highway speeds, in order to maintain the center of your lane small inputs to the steering wheel are normally required. In this vehicle, there is resistance to these small inputs. When the force of your input finally overcomes the resistance in the steering wheel the wheel turns more dramatically than intended(overcorrection). This is also dangerous. This also occurs with lkas off. It's almost like lkas engages the steering column preemptively above 40 mph but in a dangerous manner.
CategoryElectrical System, Lane Departure: Assist
DateOct 08, 2022
StateAZ
Description
The electrical system does not read my phone , my phone is an ios device. The lane departure is not accurate and it needs to be calibrated.
CategorySteering, Suspension
DateSep 30, 2022
StateTN
Description
Despite multiple attempts to correct and/or tighten, vehicle exhibits loose ball control contact and unstable steering at low speeds. An audible roughness and response is heard when driving. Multiple dealers have diagnosed and repeatedly attempted to remedy. Honda america tech support has yet to offer any workable solutions. Will continue to pursue a solution to make the automobile completely safe to drive.
CategoryStructure:body
DateSep 28, 2022
StateCA
Description
Windshield crack on passage edge with no impact or cause at 2,000 miles. Noticeable sounds like sand constantly hitting windshield or air whooshing around was heard prior to seeing small line crack starting from passage side edge. Safety concern is the windshield install issue or faulty glass and vehicle body safety issues. Took vehicle to honda dealer and service representative took visual assessment stated, no impact mark but something caused it then focused tip of a pen into crack and stated a small item must have hit it and it isn't a manufacturer issue.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Adaptive Cruise Control, Vehicle Speed Control
DateSep 21, 2022
StateMI
Description
The adaptive cruise control disengages abruptly during its operation with a beep and cannot be reengaged unless it is restarted. Honda seems to have released a tsb for this issue but this car hasn't been updated for that tsb software update. Nevertheless I wish to log this complaint since it did occur a couple of times on the road so far with no obvious abnormal surrounding situations. The windshield and the weather were clear. The second incident occurred during night. Plan to go the dealer and get the tsb software flashed.
CategoryLane Departure: Assist, Steering, Vehicle Speed Control
DateSep 21, 2022
StateMI
Description
The lane keep assist of the car is supposed to keep the car centered when enabled. It does this job well most of the time however a few times, the car keep wanting to hug the right lane line to the point where lane departure alert starts beeping. In summary the car thinks the center is closer towards the right lane line to the point where lane departure alert warning comes on. As the driver you have to actively hold the steering to keep it centered since the system will keep fighting you to gravitate towards the right lane line. This issue occurred twice as of this date with no specific pattern observed that might trigger it. The abnormal behavior is observed when the system is engaged for a while in its normal operation. This can pose a safety issue if the car suddenly drifts to the right rather keep it centered in the lane since it occurs without warning. No warning lights or alerts come in the car when this abnormal behavior occurs. However the dashboard (sport touring digital cluster) visualization also shows the car deviating towards the right lane line during this behavior indicating the car's camera also sees this abnormal behavior but the lane keeping logic somehow is issuing the wrong control commands. Plan to show it to a dealer soon.
CategoryEngine
DateSep 06, 2022
StateNC
Description
I had waited several months for a 2022 honda civic ex. I had requested either white or morning mist. I finally got a call than "it" was in. "it" turned out to be a dark grey. My old lease was running out, so I took the car. I never had a chance to drive any of the 2022 honda civic ex models. I did not know anything about the idle stop "feature." I went to the dealership and a product specialist told me it could not be disabled except for the button on the console. After I had the car about 10 days, when it would restart after stopping, the engine would sound like it was choking or not starting well. This "feature" is driving me crazy. I'm 75 years old and usually don't remember to hit the turn-off button when I start the car; then when I do stop, it goes through the re-start process again. That's when I finally remember to hit the button. But I wonder if and when the engine won't start up since it sometimes sounds like it's stalling before it starts. Thank you.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking
DateJul 27, 2022
StateCA
Description
I was driving in an empty highway and it would ghost brake with no car in front of me. It has happened multiple times that my last incident almost caused an accident behind me. I have tried to get serviced and they won't listen
CategoryStructure:body
DateJul 24, 2022
StateGA
Description
The trunk lid does not remain open once lifted up and must manually be held open with one hand. I needed to use both hands to remove something from my trunk yesterday. The trunk lid closed while I was doing so and the metal latch of the trunk lid slammed into my forearm. A golf ball-sized knot started forming almost immediately and I am in a lot of pain today. I am trying not to seek medical assistance today, but will probably end up doing so.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Adaptive Cruise Control, Vehicle Speed Control
DateJul 22, 2022
StateLA
Description
While driving on the interstate both adaptive cruise control(acc) and regular cruise control have disengaged on multiple occasions. Once this occurs the cruise control will not engage regardless of whether I try acc or regular cruise control and I receive a message "cruise control off" and a beep when I try. The only consistent solution seems to be to turn off the car and turn it back on. There have been multiple instances where the system disengaged while I was between other vehicles and my safety was definitely at risk due to a sudden change in speed without a logical traffic reason. I have not had the vehicle inspected by a dealer because this only occurs very randomly(5-10 times in 12,00 miles) and to reproduce it would likely require hours of driving. I am only able to speciically list one date that I know that this problem occured while my friends and I were on a 12 hour road trip back from watching an nfl game. Thankfully I was driving and was already aware of the issue and quickly accelerated away from the 18 wheeler that was tailgating dangerously close behind me. The vehicle is available for inspection upon request.
CategoryLane Departure: Assist, Lane Departure: Warning, Steering
DateJun 13, 2022
StateCO
Description
I have just over 600 miles and haven't had an issue before today but today the lane centering/keeping feature began pulling me sharply to the right side of the lane and crossed it, causing the vehicle's lane departure warning system to shake the steering wheel. I have driven this road with this car before. This did not happen.
CategoryVehicle Speed Control
DateJun 12, 2022
StateNJ
Description
As I was driving to church on highway 46w and then, it turned into 23n, I noticed my car was driving by itself. I pushed on the brake pedal because it's an intersection, and I noticed it slowed down, but as soon as I let my foot off the pedal the car was accelerating again. I checked if I touched the cruise control, but it wasn't on. A few times I hit the break and, again, as soon as I took my foot off the brake pedal, the car began to accelerate. This time I lifted both my feet away from the pedals and had them in the air, and I checked if the mat or anything was touching the gas pedal, but nothing was on or pushing it. So, I decided to downshift, because my car is standard manual, and my car began revving. The rpms went high and then, I shifted up and pushed the gas pedal and after I did that, that's when the gas pedal popped, it made a loud pop, and the car stopped accelerating on its own. If I had to stop immediately, I could have, definitely, got into an accident for something that was out of my control. There were not any warning lights or any other symptoms prior or after that incident.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking
DateJun 06, 2022
StateIN
Description
On several (more than 10) occasions, my vehicle at random has randomly either shown me "brake" or it actually started to brake for me for absolutely nothing. On at least 3 occasions, most recently 5/9/22, the aeb system has activated with nothing in front of me on a straight, level road. Third-party forums report that this is a known issue as well. Thankfully no one was behind me as the system activating would have rapidly slowed the car had I not intervened.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine, Fuel/propulsion System
DateMay 19, 2022
StateCA
Description
I traded in my 2022 civic in november because the car would randomly shut down because of the faulty denso fuel pump. I told norm reeves cerritos that once I put fuel cleaner the car will shut down 3-5 times the same day and will reoccur again in eight months. Replicated same problem with the sports model after car was in shop 3 months because of an accident and while doing uber this week with witnesses. Filed numerous complaints with bbb and honda corporate all were ignored and they blamed me for putting a third party device in the cigarette lighter.
CategoryLane Departure: Assist, Steering
DateMay 18, 2022
StateTN
Description
Steering pulls to the side making it very hard to steer. Will stay in lane when going straight but makes your arms sore trying to steer it. Does not happen at all speeds usually above 30mph. Duplicated by dealer. Unable to fix the problem due to steering rack in back order for over 6 months and counting. Will not drive the car as it is my daughters and is unsafe for her. No codes showing at the dealer.
CategorySteering
DateMay 17, 2022
StateIL
Description
Steering wheel starts to stick or bind after a 30 minute drive. When stopped there is clunk coming from the electronic power steering. Once on the high way, the steering wheel gets really sticky and when trying to do a small correction it jerks. After a while it becomes really unsafe to drive since all the correction you make are extreme and it struggles to keep the car centered on the lane without constant struggle.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Adaptive Cruise Control, Vehicle Speed Control
DateMay 12, 2022
StateTX
Description
Purchased vehicle 1/31/2022 from dealership with only 5 miles on it. While driving to work 2/3/2022 cruise control was set, came behind a vehicle and when switched lanes to pass. Cruise control turned off and decreased speed rapidly and was unable to restart system. Almost was rear ended by traffic behind me. Called dealership and they said to bring it in to see what is going on. Confirmed issue with cruise control was told that it would "be a while to get fixed" it is now 5/12/22 and the part has not even been ordered and I am unable to use cruise control as I dont know when it will quit working and even when I turn off the vehicle it will not work for several trips after the car is turned off.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Warnings, Lane Departure: Assist, Lane Departure: Warning
DateMay 02, 2022
StateTX
Description
I've had my car for three four months and today some light turned on in the car saying my brake system is failing lane collision high lights failings auto cruise failing
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Adaptive Cruise Control, Unknown Or Other, Vehicle Speed Control
DateApr 03, 2022
StateCA
Description
While driving on the freeway at 75 mph, the adaptive cruise control was engaged, and when commnig up behind a slower moving truck in the slow lane, our car decelerated to match it's speed. I then went to pass the truck after several vehicles passed us on the left. As soon as I started to change lanes, the cruise control shut itself off and the car started to slow down with several more cars now right behind us in the fast lane. Once we were past the truck and back in the slow lane, I tried to re-engage the acc, which refused to turn back on. It only gave a beep and showed an icon on the display that said acc was off. (it was not off). The acc would only start working again after we had gotten off the freeway and stoped the car. On this same trip, the acc turned itself off, on about 6 or 7 different occasions. There was also a time when I was following a vehicle with acc on, following at medium distance, and another vehicle sped past me on the left, and darted between our car and the one we had been following, and continued past that vehicle on the right side. As this other car passed between us and through, our car suddenly sped way up, forcing me to slam on the brakes so we wouldn't rear-end the vehicle in front of us. At this point, I do not trust the acc, or any of the advanced driver assistance systems in this car, and will not be using them unless honda makes some fixes. (and even then, I will be wary) prior to this trip, my wife was in the car, parked, with engine off, using the radio to listen to a pod-cast via her phone (plugged into the usb) and the car suddenly gave her a warning message that all of the driver assist functions were disabled, and to please see the dealer. We took it in, and they said there were known issues with some of the cameras and they would replace ours when they get one in. They still haven't got one in, however, everything started working again on it's own after the dealer had looked at it.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Adaptive Cruise Control, Vehicle Speed Control
DateMar 29, 2022
StateDE
Description
At random times under all driving conditions, the cruise control will shut off. There will be an alert sound without any subsequent information and the car will start decelerating. The system cannot be re-engaged until after the car comes to a complete stop and the engine is restarted. There are many reports of this on honda forums. Here is a link: https://www. Civic11forum. Com/threads/anybody-having-cruise-control-issues. 963/
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Adaptive Cruise Control, Forward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Lane Departure: Assist
DateMar 28, 2022
StateIL
Description
In a few different events I have had my 2022 civic but emergency brake with no object in front of me and pull me out of the lane instead of steering me in lane. I have provided honda with video and picture evidence and they can't seem to do anything to fix it and I can no longer comfortable use those features and feel safe driving the vehicle.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Adaptive Cruise Control, Forward Collision Avoidance: Warnings
DateMar 19, 2022
StateMN
Description
While driving on a interstate highway with adaptive cruise control enabled the adaptive cruise control system unexpectedly disabled itself. I was in the process of passing another vehicle, it was sunny and clear and suddenly I heard a long beep and the vehicle started to slow down. I briefly looked at the dashboard but see any warning but noticed acc was off. Once it was safe again I attempted to re-enable acc but the system refused saying acc was off. At the next rest area I stopped and shut off the vehicle, only after that I could use acc again. It's unknown if any of the other honda sense features were disabled but this unexpected behavior is a concern. There is an entire thread at https://www. Civic11forum. Com/threads/anybody-having-cruise-control-issues. 963/ which indicates others are having the same issue.
CategoryLane Departure: Assist, Lane Departure: Warning, Visibility/wiper
DateMar 12, 2022
StateVA
Description
When I was driving on the george washington memorial parkway I came across a part of the parkway that was under work by construction. As the lane begun to end I moved into the next lane as guided by the construction barrels, but the lane keep assist function would not allow me to steer onto the part of the road that I wanted to, and actually jerked me back onto the side of the road that had the barrels, causing my side mirror to collide with the barrels and the back cover came off and the mirror isn't adjustable through use of the adjustable mirror button in the car anymore.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Adaptive Cruise Control, Vehicle Speed Control
DateMar 09, 2022
StateNE
Description
Cruise control shuts off while on interstate without any warning. Have taken to dealer and no codes and unable to reproduce. Happens every commute on interstate. Have to stop car turn of ignition and then works again. No warning lamps, messages. Honda aware of situation and not offering fix. Car has less then 1500miles
CategoryElectrical System, Forward Collision Avoidance: Adaptive Cruise Control
DateMar 04, 2022
StateGA
Description
Since day one of purchasing the vehicle which now has 6000 miles on it the cruise control intermittently drop out and you cannot reengage it unless you pull over turn off the car and restart the car
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateMar 02, 2022
StateCA
Description
Sunroof shattered on freeway new vehicle
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Adaptive Cruise Control, Unknown Or Other, Vehicle Speed Control
DateMar 01, 2022
StateTX
Description
While driving on a freeway, the cruise control will beep and then automatically and abruptly turn off and it will not turn back on. To turn it back on I have to pull the car over and, sometimes, turn it off and turn it back on to get the cruise control working again. This has happened multiple times and the frequency is about 2 times a week.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Service Brakes, Vehicle Speed Control
DateFeb 25, 2022
StateTN
Description
Twice while using the adaptive cruise control on the interstate my vehicle gave me a "brake" warning and automatically applied hard braking on my vehicle even though this was at 0430 in the morning and no cars present on the interstate. I too pressed the brake and cancel on the steering wheel to try and disengage the adaptive cruise control, so I could regain control of my vehicle. The first time it happened, it caught me off guard. The second time it happened, I was waiting for it. I drove with my hand able to disengage cruise control as soon as it would happen. This was an attempt to verify if the first time was a fluke or if there was a real problem. I have not used my cruise control since because I cannot trust it. Luckily these were when the traffic was light on the interstate and it did not cause a wreck.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Warnings, Service Brakes
DateFeb 25, 2022
StateVA
Description
I was driving at 75mph in adaptive cruise control. The closest car in front or beside me was at least 1/4 mile away. The weather was perfect, no rain, wind, etc. Just sunshine. Without notice, the car automatically braked, the brake light showed up in the dash. The braking period lasted about two seconds during which time inertia slammed me forward. Fortunately there were no cars immediately in back of me or I no doubt probably would have been rear-ended. I did not step on the brake pedal or the gas pedal during this period. My vehicle is scheduled to be at the dealers service center in 6 days but with all the intermittent issues I am having with this vehicle, I am sure they will say they cannot replicate the problem. My assumption is that the forward collision system intermittently axctivated.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Adaptive Cruise Control, Vehicle Speed Control
DateFeb 24, 2022
StateOH
Description
Cruise control disengages 20 minutes after activation. It can not be re-engaged without stopping the car.
CategoryLane Departure: Warning, Steering, Suspension
DateFeb 16, 2022
StateCA
Description
My wife purchased a new 2022 honda civic sport, it has lane control assist and at high speed it wonders, pulls side to side, follows lanes color change, pulls into a curve and pulls when going by big trucks into the truck. I have to hold the steering very tight and it has made my arms hurt from the straining. I went to honda 4 time before anyone admitted it has a serious problem. Hammer honda in reseda ca, verified the problems. The book clear states the lane change assist may or may not work, honda denies anything is wrong. This is a safety issue and we have had 4 near crash events. I am a certified trained alignment technician and know cars well, I have 43 years of hands on experience, this car is unsafe and no one at honda is disclosing this safety issue with this 2022 honda civic sports. The expert at honda on the 4th visit witnessed and verified the lane change assists not working properly at 50 mph.
CategoryElectrical System, Forward Collision Avoidance: Adaptive Cruise Control
DateFeb 05, 2022
StateVT
Description
Adaptive cruise control will shut of randomly and for no reason. Must wait for it to re-engage adaptive cruise control or power off/on vehicle. During this time the auto high-beam feature is not useable.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateFeb 05, 2022
StatePA
Description
The wiper blades on the 2022 civic are prone to fail in cold temperatures. They fail to properly clear the windshields and effectively prevent the driver from being able to see. To me, it's an obvious design defect that causes the wiper blades to lift away from sections of the windshield. This is a serious safety issue that must be repaired.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Adaptive Cruise Control, Vehicle Speed Control
DateFeb 04, 2022
StateVT
Description
Driving the vehicle on the interstate and cruise control will randomly turn off and I cannot turn the cruise control back on until I pull over and put the vehicle in park. I feel it is unsafe to have to pull over on the interstate and put the vehicle in park to be able to use cruise control. This is the only fix to the issue right now, so when I am on a long trip, I have to pull over so I know I can maintain a safe constant speed.
CategoryVehicle Speed Control:cruise Control
DateJan 27, 2022
StateFL
Description
Cruise control randomly shuts itself off and will not turn back on.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Adaptive Cruise Control, Vehicle Speed Control
DateJan 23, 2022
StateIA
Description
My cruise control will randomly shut off and deactivate when I'm on the highway. It has almost caused me to have accidents due to the sudden deactivation and cars traveling behind me. I am unable to reactive my cruise until I come to a complete stop. This has happened to me since the day I have had the car and it happens sometimes serval times a day, or not at all. It is completely random when it happens. I have had my car in the honda shop a couple of times and they are unable to figure out the cause or the problem. I am a home health nurse and rely on my car and cruise control and I'm worried about my safety because of this malfunction. I have looked online and there are a lot of discussion groups with the exact same thing happening in their 2022 civics.
CategoryElectrical System, Forward Collision Avoidance: Adaptive Cruise Control, Vehicle Speed Control
DateJan 20, 2022
StateAZ
Description
Vehicle purchased new from honda dealership in yuma az in june of 2021. Within 2nd day of ownership, the cruise control abruptly shut off causing a safety risk of driver's behind me coming close to rear end collision. The cruise control has abruptly and without warning has randomly shut off over 40 times since then. Vehicle has been taken in for repair 4 times with no resolve. Honda tried adjusting brake switch on first repair attempt, did not fix the issue. Second and third attempts the dealership replaced the srs module and the brake switch. Drove vehicle for 800 miles, then the issue arose again, causing the car to immediately slow, causing others behind me to have to brake quickly putting me at risk of rear end collision. Opened a case with american honda, case number12509879. American honda and the dealership states "they can not fix the issue until they actually see it for themselves acting up", which it does not act up when they drive it. I have many, many videos of the cruise control randomly shutting off and me being unable to reengage the cruise control. The only solution so far is to pull off the roadway, shut the car off, restart it, cruise will activate then. Visit the following website to see how many others are having same issue: https://www. Civic11forum. Com/threads/anybody-having-cruise-control-issues. 963/
CategoryExterior Lighting, Forward Collision Avoidance: Adaptive Cruise Control, Vehicle Speed Control
DateJan 20, 2022
StateTX
Description
While driving on hwy to work the automatic high beams would go to low followed by the automatic cruise control would cancel with a warning stating it was unavailable. It did this three times on the way to work in the morning and once in the afternoon going home on the same day, one of the times it would not let me turn acc back on stating it was unavailable. The following day it happened again on the way to work in the morning.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Service Brakes, Vehicle Speed Control
DateJan 20, 2022
StateNM
Description
Adaptive cruise control (acc) has been randomly shutting off out of nowhere during my drive. This has been happening off and on for two months and is not happening due to the reasons it could happen in the owners manual. It will not turn back on unless I pull over and shut off the car or place the transmission into park which forces me to leave a highway. Today without acc even on I get 5 warnings including collision mitigation brake system failure and to see a dealer (pictures attached for all 5 warnings that came on the dashboard today). I saw rudolph honda in el paso tx today and the service center lady told me she is aware of this problem and already tried to diagnose another 2022 civic with no luck and there are no rentals to help me leave my car for further diagnostics and I cannot be seen for a week at borman honda in las cruces nm nearby where I live. So honda is putting me out for my time and money I give them for this faulty acc and related safety systems. I feel unsafe as this shuts off out of no where and could cause me to get rear-ended as last time this happened the car suddenly decelerated with someone behind me. This car is available for inspection.
CategoryVehicle Speed Control:cruise Control
DateJan 19, 2022
StateNE
Description
Driving down the road with cruise control set, twice it has turned off for no reason. It refuses to turn back on no matter what I do. It can only be "fixed" by restarting the car. My safety and others is at risk because I can't keep my speed as consistent as using cruise control, taking my attention away from the road since I'm now concentrating more in my speed. I have not taken it to the dealer yet as others on the forums say the dealers are doing nothing about it. No warning lamps or warnings of any type before. Once the cruise fails, I get an icon on the screen but no message.
CategoryElectrical System, Forward Collision Avoidance: Adaptive Cruise Control, Vehicle Speed Control
DateJan 18, 2022
StateTX
Description
After driving anywhere from 20-30 minutes my car's cruise control feature experiences a bug. From my experience while the vehicle is in cruise control the cars system will make a low tone elongated beep and the cruise control system will stop working. As the vehicle is in motion and attempting to engage/set the cruise control feature the hud alerts that the “cruise control” needs to be on/active. No matter how many times you deactivate and activate cruise control the system will not allow you to set any desired speed because it perceives the cruise control feature as “off”. The only fix I've found is to come to a complete stop or park and restart the vehicle. I'm not the only person to experience this. The photo uploaded shows the hud telling me that the acc is off when it is in fact on. However the system will not engage and set the speed. Yet, I hope I have offered the most details. My suggestion is to rewrite the coding/update for the cars system to detect the cars cruise control feature. Or implement a double click which overrides/automatically turns the cc feature on and sets the desired speed.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Adaptive Cruise Control
DateJan 16, 2022
StateCA
Description
Acc and normal cruise control always stops or canceling while on driving on the freeway.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Adaptive Cruise Control
DateJan 15, 2022
StatePA
Description
Driving car on I-76 in pennsylvania. Speed set to 72 mph. Passed a truck and the cruise control shut off without warning and would not restart. This posed a risk to me because I had just completed a pass of a truck and started to slow without my knowledge. This resulted in the truck catching back up to me on a curve - a dangerous situation (a truck would never pass on the right, let alone in a curve.)
CategoryVehicle Speed Control:cruise Control
DateJan 14, 2022
StateWI
Description
The contact owns a 2022 honda civic. The contact stated that while driving at highway speeds with the cruise control activated, the cruise control would independently deactivate without warning. The contact had taken the vehicle to a dealer where they informed him that they were unaware of the failure. The manufacturer was also notified of the failure but offered no assistance. The vehicle had yet to be repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 1,000.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Adaptive Cruise Control, Vehicle Speed Control
DateJan 08, 2022
StateTX
Description
Was driving on the interstate at approximately 75 mph. Randomly the cruise control stopped keeping speed. Someone was on my tail when it disabled and could not get it to re-engage. The dash said the cruise control system was still enabled, but would not allow me to set the speed. I'm reading on online forums about several other drivers of this particular model vehicle are having this same issue. When trying to set the speed, it beeped 3 times. Turning off the car and back on re-enabled the cruise control.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Adaptive Cruise Control, Vehicle Speed Control
DateJan 07, 2022
StateVA
Description
My 2022 honda, vin [xxx] when in cruise control mode either adaptive cruise control or regular, cruise control mode intermittently shuts off. The automatic headlight diming function also shuts off. There are no messages, warnings or codes associated with it. Attempting to reset the cruise does not works and the car beeps when it is attempted. The only way to reset cruise control is to stop, place the car in park or stop, place the car in park and turn the ignition off and restart. The issue is that when in traffic on the interstate, when cruise shuts off, operator (me) may not necessarily se it when it happens. As the car slows unknowingly, vehicles behind may run in to the car or create unnecessary congestion. The dealer asked if I could video this and I did. The video was after it shutoff and my attempts to reset it. I provided this video to the dealer and they indicated that it was useless, though it was requested by them. I have had my car at the dealers' service center 3 times now and they could no replicate the issue. However the issue occurs intermittently and usually on long (50 miles or more) interstate drives which they have not performed. The issue started within 1 week of purchasing the vehicle. The environment that this occurs in has always been clear, no inclement weather, sometimes in traffic and others when isolated. Information redacted pursuant to the freedom of information act (foia), 5 u. S. C. 552(b)(6).
CategoryVehicle Speed Control
DateJan 06, 2022
StateNJ
Description
Cruise control shuts off while I am using it without warning and then will not allow me to reengage it. Happens frequently, approximately 2 times a week while I am driving to/from work (about 45 miles each way). Turns off randomly, usually after driving for 30 min. When it shuts off there is only a 2 second beep noise as it is shutting off and no visual messages or warnings. When I try to reengage it, it only gives a quick beep noise but does not turn back on until the car is completely stopped. I brought the vehicle to 2 honda dealerships 3 separate times for a total of 4 days to get looked at. No one was able to provide a fix. The 2nd time I brought it into honda, they were able to reproduce the problem but still did not know how to fix it and advised me to bring it to the dealership I leased my vehicle from. This is a big problem because out of nowhere my vehicle will begin to slow down with no warning at all.
CategoryVehicle Speed Control
DateJan 04, 2022
StateWI
Description
My cruise control shut itself off during interstate driving with a car behind me. This seems to be a widespread issue per owner forums for the 11th generation 2022 model civics of all varieties. I did not have the driver attention system on, was driving at night, and was not using adaptive cruise control. I have not gone to a dealership yet because per others' experiences it has been a waste of time. I am calling to let my dealer know of the issue and have them tell me when there is a solution. The issue has just appeared for the first time, my car is at ~1,000 miles, and I've had it for about 12 days. I have done very little driving with cruise control but will do a significant amount now. I believe this to be a safety issue. No warning lights come on and I'm order to reset cruise control, I needed to pull to the shoulder, restart the car, which is dangerous enough.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Adaptive Cruise Control, Vehicle Speed Control
DateDec 26, 2021
StateIA
Description
The cruise control turns off by itself while driving and cannot be turned back on without restarting the car. It can put others at risk because of the unexpected speed change. The car has 800 miles and it has happened 3 times so far. No warnings or lights occurred prior to it shutting off. This seems to be a common issue according to the posts by others here: https://www. Civic11forum. Com/threads/anybody-having-cruise-control-issues. 963
CategoryElectrical System, Forward Collision Avoidance: Adaptive Cruise Control, Vehicle Speed Control
DateDec 02, 2021
StateMI
Description
Cruise control (either in adaptive cruise control or regular) disengages randomly and if you attempt to restart the cruise, the cruise control will not work. The cruise control icon will appear on the center display and beep, with the words "cruise control off", to get this working again, the only way I've found is to stop the car and either put it in park and/or shut off the car or turn it back on. The problem seems to happen at random, and so the dealership at this point can not help me. This does not seem to be an isolated incident as others have been posting online about the exact same issue. ( see the following forum posts on https://www. Civic11forum. Com/threads/anybody-having-cruise-control-issues. 963/ ). Perhaps this is a software issue with the cruise on the new models... Hopefully honda can get an update out fast! Disappointing that such a dangerous issue exists at launch of the new model...
CategoryStructure:body
DateNov 08, 2021
StateNC
Description
We purchased a 2022 civic new on 9/11/21, and after the paperwork was completed, the dealer removed the sticker from the window, and the window has gouges from either manufacturing or shipping. The dealer promised to replace the window. That was two months ago. They have been unable to obtain a new window, and they have no estimate for me when they can obtain one. I called corporate honda on 10/8/21, and they could not provided me a part status, and they have never called me back on this topic as of 11/8/21. This window could shatter more easily during an event, and we want a clean new one installed. Parts should be available because they are making new models right now. They are placing production over safety in my instance at this point.
CategoryAir Bags
DateSep 30, 2021
StateIA
Description
have a 22 civic touring sedan. Two weeks ago two days in a row I have got a warning that there is a problem with the supplemental restraint saying it's with the airbag or seatbelt and to shut the vehicle off and to restart and to contact a dealer if it persists. I shut the vehicle off and turn it back on and the error clears. The same thing happened last night after I got home from work and unbuckled my seat belt on 9/29/21. Others on a honda civic form online for this year car have reported the same problem and there doesn't seem to be a fix yet
CategoryElectrical System, Engine
DateSep 11, 2021
StateCA
Description
Once stopped by a light or a stop sign for a minute the car will randomly shut down engine and the car will lose all power. The vehicle randomly shuts down and does it after 3-5 hours of driving. The car has to be put in park and the ignition needs to be started again.
CategorySteering
DateAug 04, 2021
StateAL
Description
The contact owns a 2022 honda civic. The contact stated while driving approximately 55 to 60 mph, the steering wheel was vibrating. The dealer was made aware of the failure and the vehicle was inspected; however, the dealer informed the contact that the steering column part was not available. The contact was informed that the vehicle was safe to drive until the part became available. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact stated that after receiving the vehicle back from the dealer, there were abnormal sounds coming from the front driver's and passenger's side tires while driving. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 100.
CategoryElectrical System:adas
DateJul 26, 2021
StateOH
Description
The contact owns a 2022 honda civic. The contact stated that while driving the traffic sign recognition feature provided an inaccurate speed data. The local dealer was not contacted. The vehicle was not diagnosed nor repaired. The manufacturer was contacted and informed of the failure. The failure mileage was 307.

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.


Share your story

Does this ring a bell? Have you had a bad experience too? Sound off and share your experience with other visitors in the comment box below.

Brian Jones

About the Author:

Brian Jones spent more than 20 years working as an ASE Certified Master Tech and Parts Specialist at multiple dealerships. Brian has become an authority in the industry, traveling across the country to consult for car dealerships and contributing his expertise as a writer for several major automotive publications. In his spare time, Brian enjoys working on pickup trucks, muscle cars, Jeeps and anything related to motorsports.

See more posts from Brian Jones
7 COMMENTS
  • Judith

    I have a 2022 Honda Civic, it has 6,000 miles and I’m having problems with the steering wheel sticking at any speed and a noise from the front that makes it constantly (but at the time it was checked it didn’t) I took it to service the day of today and they tell me that for Honda that is not a problem. I’m worried that this could cause an accident.

  • Marilyn M

    I leased a Honda Civic Sport 2022 and was at a stop sign a little bit over and I put it in reverse to back up a little. The cars engine reved up and the brakes would not work. I hit a tree in my neighbors yard and there was damage. I took it to Honda and of course they stated the car was fine. I decided to claim it on my insurance. Well they have had my car for five months with no idea when they will release the part. I have asked Honda to help with this issue and they have done nothing to help me. I will never deal with Honda again and advise others to follow suit.

  • Brandy R

    I am having steering issues with a 2022 Honda Civic Sport. The steering is sticking, and then will release suddenly causing an over correction.

  • jackie

    While driving on the freeway with the cruise control, lane departure on and going about 75mps the car suddenly started breaking on it’s own. Then warning lights on the dash started flashing. Saying there was a malfunction with the breaking system, cruise control and lane departure system. When I pulled over turned the car off and then back on everything seemed to be working just fine. Have had issues with lane departure and ghost breaking a few other times before. The car likes to pull into big rigs that are in the next lane.

  • Jennifer F

    My son wrecked our 2022 Honda Civic sport in March. He was on the highway with his cruise control set and came up behind a truck with a horse trailer. The adaptive cruise control did not slow the car down nor did the the brake assist engage before he rear ended the horse trailer. The car was a total loss. It was replaced by a 2022 Civic Touring. Tonight he was driving the vehicle on the highway and came up behind a vehicle with a low flatbed trailer and the same thing happened except he manually slowed down to disengage the cruise control and avoid the accident. Both instances happened at night.

  • David R

    I am 5’7″ and a70lbs. I have two issues with the 2022 Honda Civic sport Fastening the drivers seat belt is
    difficult for me.I can’t align the plunger without having to slide to the left in the seat and make 2-5 tries to latch the seat belt.The latching part three inches higher would work better. The second issue is the drivers head rest,it pushes my head 2 to 3 inches forward of a setting position causing neck and shoulder strain and pain. I am starting to have head aches likely as a result.I only drive 12 miles twice a day for four days a week.

  • Pedro

    My honda civic 2022 not even a year in has adaptive cruise control problem,lane keeping assit problem,collission mitigation system problem, auto light system problem all at the same time than my right side window as i auto raise has a problem where it reaches 2 invhes before close and automaticlly open it self

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead you can to our legal team.

Please select your star rating.

Briefly describe your experience Briefly describe your experience

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? Please enter a valid phone number

Want to know if you could sue? Get a free legal evaluation Lemberg Law?

Get Your No-Obligation
Case Evaluation

Send a secure message to our legal team.

What’s your name? What’s your name?
What’s your email address? What’s your email address?
What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?
Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem
Confidentiality Guarantee: We keep your information completely confidential and will not send you spam or sell your information.