2019 Chevrolet Trax Problems and Top Complaints – Is Your Car A Lemon?

Brake, electrical, steering and suspension issues among the top complaints received by the NHTSA from vehicle owners

By Brian Jones | Updated on

By Brian Jones | Updated on

Compact SUVs are taking over the streets. As the popularity of these models increases, it makes sense to see more 2019 Chevrolet Trax crossovers navigating the roads. Chevy is so proud of this model; the company even claims “it puts the U in SUV.” Research shows that this model has absolutely nothing to boast about. In fact, it suffers from a defective steering system, electrical trouble and malfunctioning service brakes.

Click on other model year to view more problems: 2018

Don’t be stuck with a lemon. You have legal rights to cash, return or buyback.

The law makes Chevrolet pay legal fees.

We've fixed thousands of lemon problems. Message or call 877-795-3666 today.

NHTSA Complaints for the 2019 Chevrolet Trax

Complaint CategoryNumber of Complaints
Suspension
19
Unknown Or Other
15
Electrical System
10
Service Brakes
10
Engine
9
Steering
8
Wheels
8
Structure:body
4
Power Train
3
Visibility/wiper
2

Problems with the Steering and Suspension

Every driver expects the vehicle to steer properly. Otherwise, accidents would be occurring all over the place. Yet, steering issues are a popular topic among Trax owners.

Just look at this NHTSA complaint. “The contact owns a 2019 Chevrolet Trax. The contact stated that the steering wheel vibrated while driving between 40-60 mph. Also, the vehicle wobbled and hesitated. The contact struggled with the steering wheel, but managed to regain control to continue driving. The vehicle was taken to [dealer] to be diagnosed, but the test could not read the codes. The vehicle was not repaired. The dealer stated that the dealer tried to keep and sell the vehicle. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and did not assist. The VIN was unknown. The failure mileage was 3,000.”

Losing control of the SUV after only 3,000 miles is a terrible experience for any owner. What’s notable is that the steering isn’t the only thing causing people to lose control of the Trax. There is also a recall related to the suspension system. NHTSA Campaign Number 19V312000 talks about the recall of more than 100,000 vehicles with a bad weld on the lower control arms. This might break, which causes separation and loss of control. Between the suspension and the steering, the Trax doesn’t want to stay on track.

Here are some actual complaints logged with the NHTSA about the 2019 Chevy Trax Steering Problems:

WHILE DRIVING IN CITY GOING SLOW SEEMED FINE. GOT ON FREEWAY CAR PULLING OFF RIGHT SIDE OF ROAD , HAVE TO HOLD CONSISTENT HOLD TO THE LEFT ON STEERING WHEEL WHILE DRIVING. CALLED SALESMAN THAT NIGHT , THEY TOOK IT BACK AND MADE ME WAIT . THEY SAID THEY REALIGNED IT AND ROTATED TIRES. SAID TO DRIVE IT 500 MILES AND SEE IF IT GETS BETTER. DROVE 500 MILES NO CHANGE. TOOK IT BACK. DEALERSHIP KEPT IT 4 DAYS. SAID THEY TEST DROVE IT AND SAID IT WAS ROAD CROWN. TOOK IT HOME. NO CHANGE. TOOK IT TO TIRE DISCOUNTERS. CONFIRMED PULLING TO RIGHT. SAID ALIGNMENT IS GOOD BUT STILL HAS PULL TO RIGHT. TOOK IT TO JERRY HAGGS GM DEALERSHIP. THEY REFUSED TO CHECK IT. ALL THIS TIME THE BACK DOORS DON’T SHUT FLUSH AND THE SEALS LEAK. THE ORIGINAL DEALERSHIP REFUSED TO DO ANYTHING ABOUT THE DOORS. THE CAR IS NOW AT GM DEALERSHIP IN MILFORD OHIO. THEY ARE TRYING TO REPLACE THE BACK DOOR SEALS TO TRY TO FLUSH DOORS WITH THE BODY BUT HASN’T CHECKED FRONT END YET. YOU HAVE TO HOLD THE STEERING WHEEL TO THE LEFT WITH A CONSTANT TUG. DRIVING IN RAIN IS WORSE . HAVEN’T OWNED CAR LONG ENOUGH TO SEE WHAT SNOW IS LIKE. THE CAR WAS SITTING IN DRIVEWAY DURING A RAIN STORM WHEN DOORS LEAKED. CAR CONSTANTLY DRIFTS RIGHT WHILE DRIVING SPEED LIMIT.

BEEN AT SHOP 4 TIMES FOR STEERING PROBLEM. CAN’T KEEP CAR DRIVING STRAIGHT

WENT TO DEALERSHIP FOR OIL CHANGE. TOLD TO PULL CAR UP INTO BAY. WHEN TURNING CAR BACK ON THE DASHBOARD LITE UP CLAIMING ISSUE WITH POWER EFFECTING STEERING AND BRAKES. THEY PERFORMED A DIAGNOSTIC TEST AND FOUND NO ISSUE. TOLD ME IF IT HAPPENS AGAIN LET THEM KNOW AND I SHOULD PULL OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD, WITH MY FLASHERS ON, AND TURN THE CAR OFF WHICH WOULD TRIP IT. I ONLY LEASED THIS CAR IN MARCH 2019 WITH 79 MILES. THERE HAS ALREADY BEEN ONE RECALL ON THIS MAKE AND MODEL.

Here are some actual complaints logged with the NHTSA about the 2019 Chevy Trax Suspension Problems:

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2019 CHEVROLET TRAX. WHILE DRIVING 30 MPH, THE VEHICLE PULLED TO THE RIGHT. THE CONTACT COASTED THE VEHICLE OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 19V312000 (SUSPENSION), BUT THE PART NEEDED FOR THE REPAIR WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO DAVID MAUS CHEVROLET, BUT THE PART WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE VEHICLE HAD BEEN AT THE DEALER FOR ONE MONTH. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND PROVIDED CASE NUMBER: 9-5410553050. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 10,000. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

Problems with the Electrical System

A quick look at the electrical system shows the same level of defects.

Another NHTSA complaint states, “The contact owns a 2019 Chevrolet Trax. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA Campaign Number 19V312000 (Suspension). [Dealer] stated that the part was not available and would be ordered in July of 2019. The dealer stated that they would call the contact back, but never did. The contact also stated that the heating and cooling components would not function properly and it took an excessive amount of time to cool or heat the vehicle. Also, the accessories would not charge her devices. The manufacturer was not notified. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The failure mileage was 300.”

It took a mere 300 miles for this Trax to fail. The owner basically got the chance to drive it around town before it fell apart. While the original problem stemmed from the first recall addressed, there were other issues that became apparent. It seems that Chevy has a handful of electrical complaints to deal with. That’s what prompted another recall labeled with NHTSA Campaign Number 18V774000. It turns out that select models have a malfunctioning Sensing Diagnostic Module that wasn’t turned off from manufacturing mode and prevents the air bags from deploying during a crash. This is a severe electrical problem that should never have occurred and could cost lives. Instead of putting the U in SUV, this model puts you into the windshield after a crash.

Here are some actual complaints logged with the NHTSA about the 2019 Chevy Trax Electrical System Problems:

VEHICLE IS JUST OVER 300 MILES AND THE LED DISPLAY HAS STOPPED WORKING. FIRST IT WENT WHITE AND NOW IS COMPLETELY DARK. NO BACK UP CAMERA EITHER.

Problems with the Brakes

The brakes are designed to stop the vehicle and prevent accidents, but it’s already apparent that Chevy isn’t concerned about owners crashing.

This NHTSA review illustrates problems with the braking system as well. It says, “The contact owns a 2019 Chevrolet Trax. While operating the vehicle, the service brake indicator illuminated and the brake pedal traveled to the floorboard while attempting to stop. The vehicle was taken to [dealer] where it was diagnosed that the brake line had become disconnected and needed to be replaced due to a loose driver’s side brake caliper hose bolt. The vehicle was repaired and the failure was remedied. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 7,500.”

Again, it’s made clear that the Trax was not built to last. All of these failures occurred within the first 7,500 miles, which is downright unacceptable. Even Service Bulletin #PIC5704F illustrates the dysfunction of Chevy. In this communication, the automaker tells the technicians to check the Brake Pressure Modulator Valve assembly to ensure all of the shipping material has been removed. It doesn’t appear that the company can get the basics down, let alone create a quality vehicle. Instead of the U standing for you in the tagline, maybe it should read “putting the U in unacceptable.”

Here are some actual complaints logged with the NHTSA about the 2019 Chevy Trax Brake Problems:

VEHICLE ACCELERATED WHEN BRAKES WERE APPLIED COMBING TO A STOP LIGHT

Your Lemon Law Legal Rights

Think you have a lemon? Sit back and let the experts work out your lemon case at no cost to you. The law makes Chevrolet pay legal fees. You may be able to get your lemon out of your life. Every year, auto manufacturers buy back, replace or pay cash settlements to thousands of ‘lemon’ owners like you.

Complaint Data

CategoryElectrical System
DateDec 29, 2022
StateAZ
Description
The instrument cluster failed at approximately 21,100 miles in september of 2022. Every indicator lights up but doesn't function. The radio and reverse camera work sometimes but not for long. The part is on back order. The dealer has no idea when it will arrive. When I drive, I don't know my speed and I don't know if my safety systems are working.
CategorySuspension, Wheels
DateDec 07, 2022
StateTN
Description
Ball joint on front drivers side apparently broke... Vehicle at a dealership now to determine if the weld is bad or what the issue is. I was simply turning into the driveway when the car came to a sudden stop due to wheel rotating 80*. Tow truck driver stated he had seen this happen with this exact yr and model of trax. He mentioned a man had his vehicle 1 week and this very same issue had occurred. I did find recalls concerning this make and model however my vehicle did not apply... I would very much like this issue to be investigated to be sure the recall does not need to be amended for additional vehicles. This incident could have been catastrophic if it would have occurred just a few minutes before at regular speed.
CategorySuspension
DateNov 02, 2022
StateVT
Description
The contact owns a 2019 chevrolet trax. The contact stated while driving at various speeds over bumps, the vehicle emitted squeaky sounds. The contact stated that as she depressed the brake pedal, the vehicle pulled towards to the right and hesitated to respond. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the front driver's side tire tread was lower causing the failure. The dealer replaced the front driver's side tire however, the failure reoccurred several times while driving. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer and to an unknown dealer who informed the contact that the mechanic could not duplicate the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and informed the contact that nhtsa campaign number: 19v312000 (suspension) was previously completed on the vehicle. The failure mileage was approximately 8,000.
CategoryElectrical System:ignition
DateOct 20, 2022
StateMI
Description
The contact owns a 2019 chevrolet trax. The contact stated while driving approximately 10 mph, he stopped at his mailbox and inadvertently left his key fob and keys at the mailbox. The contact stated he was able to drive to run several errands however, after stopping and turning off the vehicle, he realized that he had no key fob. The contact attempted to start the vehicle and saw the message that the key fob was not detected. The contact made a second attempt to start the vehicle, and the vehicle started up. The contact was able to drive the vehicle with no key fob to his residence. The contact retrieved the key fob from his mailbox. The contact stopped and turned off the vehicle and was able to restart normally. The contact had not taken the vehicle to a local dealer or independent mechanic. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer had not been informed of the failure. The failure mileage was 35,853.
CategoryElectrical System:ignition:interlock/lockout
DateOct 02, 2022
StateMI
Description
I went to my mailbox in the trailer park where I live and I got my mail and I left my key in the mailbox drove all the way to the gas station without my remote shut my car off pumped gas it said I could not detect remote and it still let me start the car and I was able to drive home and get my key from the mailbox that I left it at
CategoryStructure
DateSep 26, 2022
StateMI
Description
The contact owns a 2019 chevrolet trax. The contact stated that water was leaking inside the trunk of the vehicle. The contact stated that he noticed water leaking on both sides of the trunk. The contact stated that the failure reoccurred whenever it rained. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that water was leaking through the rear window. The dealer removed the rear window and headliner and the dealer cleaned the water. The dealer then reinstalled and resealed the rear window on the vehicle. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 29,000.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine
DateSep 07, 2022
StatePA
Description
A/c stopped working suddenly; instrument panel cluster not showing anything- looks like something is shorted out; usb ports hot to touch diagnosed at chevy dealership: a/c hose from condenser to compressor has melted completely, as the hose was lying on the transmission. Clips to hold hose away from engine parts is missing instrument panel cluster needs a new circuit board and new usb ports safety: pa has had the hottest days and I had no a/c odomoter/tire pressure/oil percentage not readable as instrument panel cluster is not on. Ever
CategoryElectrical System, Engine
DateJul 27, 2022
StateGA
Description
I'm having a problem with my catalyst converter in my vechiclw the dealership is on back order and the parts departments at the muffler shops here in atlanta,ga won't order them because they said it's an consistent problem with these cars! So I'm stuck paying a car note on a car I can't even get an emissions for because of this issue! My radio also blanks out and I'm unable to turn the volume up or down even sometimes I'm unable to listen to my radio in my car when will this matter be recalled and took care of?
CategoryEngine, Power Train, Unknown Or Other
DateJul 21, 2022
StateMD
Description
I was driving on 95 n and out of the clear blue, my car began to smoke. There was no warning lights on the dashboard that indicated that I needed to check the oil or engine, etc. I pulled over, taking the nearest exit to a gas station. As I turned into the gas station, I heard a loud popping sound. My husband and I looked under the hood and discovered the engine was on fire. My husband and gas station attendant helped get rid of the fire by using a fire extinguisher. My mother and stepdaughter were in the car at the time. While the fire was being extinguished, we ran away from the car and called 911. An auto mechanic discovered the transfer case was broken and thus, empty.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine, Unknown Or Other
DateJul 13, 2022
StateTN
Description
Air conditioning compressor failed, took to a gm dealership service center and was informed that the ac compressor failed at a weld joint, most likely due to an improper weld. This happened during the intense heat wave this summer (tennessee summer 2022) and my air conditioning failed, causing incredibly hot climate conditions in the car, which I had no substitute that I could drive during 100 degree weather. Symptoms had occurred previously, beginning as soon as I purchased the vehicle (but did not realize it was a symptom until the unit went out.) I smelled a chemical smell anytime the air conditioner was running and just believed it to be a normal occurrence, as well as any time I went a long distance using the ac, it would stop working. I brought this to a dealership but they were unable to recreate the problem due to the length of time that it took for the problem to occur while driving, so was never completely investigated. The air conditioning completely failed on a long distance drive from memphis, tn, to houston, tx.
CategoryEquipment:electrical:infotainment
DateJun 23, 2022
StateMI
Description
The digital information center goes off and on randomly. This has been reported in forums but no resolution
CategoryEquipment:electrical:infotainment
DateJun 20, 2022
StatePA
Description
I was driving and all of a sudden my touch screen went black and I couldn't turn my stereo down or off. I even pulled over, shut the car off and opened the door to cut the power and it still would not go off. It was very distracting while driving because I didn't know what was wrong. I was panicking that it may be an electrical issue and was afraid my car would catch fire. It has gone out on me once in awhile for a few seconds since 2020 but I didn't think much of it. The backup camera still worked and the reception would cut out in dead spots but I could do absolutely nothing with the volume or power to it.
CategoryService Brakes, Hydraulic
DateFeb 14, 2022
StateOR
Description
The contact owns a 2019 chevrolet trax. The contact stated that while driving at 65 mph, the vehicle unexpectedly came to a complete stop and lost motive power, causing the contact to suffer whiplash. The "service stabilitrak" and "abs service soon" warning messages were displayed. The vehicle was towed to the dealer, but the dealer could not duplicate the failure. The failure recurred and the vehicle was taken back to the dealer. The dealer diagnosed the vehicle with brake booster failure. The dealer replaced the brake booster. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure but provided no assistance. The failure mileage was approximately 30,000.
CategorySteering
DateFeb 14, 2022
StateMI
Description
Ac delco manual rack and pinion this is the second time it's been replaced in 3 months these are all the part numbers that are on it a118338053, 2110200000000x, 812563302, 4250 8252 the steering wheel knuckle that connects to the steering shaft from the rack is breaking down with every bump it gets worse it's going to eventually cause an accident this is the 4th time I've tried to make contact about this issue as the first 3 times gm has completely ignored my messages and I don't want this to get any worse it's at the point I can't drive the car right now and I already paid to have a new one put in plus the part and I'm out all that money and still paying on a broke down car I don't think that's very fair if we can get to this as soon as possible much appreciated thank you
CategoryElectrical System
DateFeb 09, 2022
StateMI
Description
Had issues with a burning plastic smell when initially turning on blower fan to distribute heat in vehicle for about 8-10 weeks. Had vehicle in for service 3 weeks after issue began. Mileage approximately 48,000 miles. Nothing found by service techs. Paid for oil change and vehicle returned to me. Advisor recommended returning vehicle anytime I smelled the odor however I live 30 minutes from dealership and smell would only last momentarily for approximately 1 minute and smell would dissipate. Yesterday at the 10 week mark of the odor occurring on a daily basis of using the heater blower fan it stopped working leaving no option to get any heat in the vehicle cabin. Took to dealership, they indicated today heater fan was pulling too much amperage and caused other heating components to burn out/ melt. This could have caused a vehicle fire and I was lucky it did not happen. Don't feel lucky.! Had to pay 0 for repair out of my pocket that I feel not my fault. Uncovered repair under 3 yr 36000 mile chevrolet warranty. Very disappointed!!
CategoryWheels
DateFeb 04, 2022
StateNC
Description
2weeks after purchasing this car with aprox. 350 miles on the car the tires were bald . The dealer replaced the tires and said they saw no reason for this to have happened. Now with about 26,000 miles on the car I am being told the tires are bad again and I need to replace them. I am not understanding why the tires are wearing so quickly.
CategoryEngine
DateJan 11, 2022
StateIL
Description
The contact owns a 2019 chevrolet trax. The contact stated while driving at an undisclosed speed, the check engine warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a local dealer where it was diagnosed with needing a blanket for the front of the vehicle but was not repaired. The manufacturer was informed of the failure and informed the contact that they were unable to assist. The failure mileage was approximately 55,000.
CategoryFuel/propulsion System
DateJan 01, 2022
StateMO
Description
I got qcletter that my car is,indeed on a recall list and it did not show up on this site. It was a very dangerous repair too. How could you make a mistake of not knowing.
CategorySuspension
DateOct 29, 2021
StateMI
Description
Front top strut mounts completely broken loss of turning and grinding metal on metal clunking noise when you turn 22,000 miles alignment is way off factory issue bad parts
CategoryTires:pressure Monitoring And Regulating Systems, Wheels
DateOct 05, 2021
StateMS
Description
The contact owns a 2019 chevrolet trax. The contact stated that the front and rear passenger's side tires continued to experience loss of air pressure. After replacing the tires, the failure continued to occur. The cause of the failure was not determined. The local dealer and manufacturer were not contacted. The failure mileage was 39,000.
CategorySuspension
DateJul 30, 2021
StateVA
Description
We purchased the vehicle june 1, 2021. We started hearing a popping noise when being driven. Sometimes it was often and sometimes every now and then. The trax is in the shop as of now. We were told there was a crack in the frame. They said they would weld the area, but it would take time. Car had to be taken apart piece by piece. I asked them what would cause the problem. I was told it was when the car was turned sharply. I have talked to several people and I was told that did not sound right. A sharp turn should not make the frame crack. I wanted the frame changed. They said they would weld it and it supposedly be good as new. I do not feel comfortable driving a vehicle with a welded frame. I think it is a safety risk for me or anyone else to drive it. This our only car we have. They weren't even going to give me a loaner car to use until I made some calls and finally got one. They car is a 2019 and has less than 20,000 miles on it. I don't think this problem should have happened on a car this new.
CategoryService Brakes
DateJun 04, 2021
StateMN
Description
The contact owns a 2019 chevrolet trax. The contact stated that the brakes failed. When the contact drove at 30 mph, the vehicle in front of the contact made a sudden stop for a vehicle that was making a left turn. The contact engaged the brake pedal and the brake pedal failed to move down to slow the vehicle down, and to bring the vehicle to a complete stop. The contact proceeded and came to a stop when it crashed into the vehicle in the front rear and airbags did not deploy. Seat belts did not lock up. The vehicle was taken to an unknown mechanic. However, the mechanic did not provide the contact a diagnostic for the brake system failure. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was not contacted. The failure mileage was 8,200.
CategorySeat Belts
DateMay 03, 2021
StateWA
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2019 chevrolet trax. The contact stated that the pin in the front passenger's seat belt fractured and was unable to secure an occupant while seated. There was no warning light illuminated. The contact called camp chevrolet cadillac (101 e montgomery ave, spokane, wa 99207, (509) 456-7890) however, the vehicle was not yet diagnosed nor repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 41,389. The vin was not available.
CategoryElectrical System
DateMar 24, 2021
StateVA
Description
For over a year now, I have have issues with electrical problems. Bluetooth ringing, screens blacking out, locks unlocking and locking along with car stalling
CategoryService Brakes, Structure:body, Suspension
DateMar 24, 2021
StateOH
Description
My car smells like a strong fume that is wanting to knock me out. I pharmacy something in the car that was wrapped in foil and the foil started crackling. Since then it looks like my car is pulling apart, and the suspensions shocks have gone out. When making turn it comes off as if the car is going to buckle under me.
CategoryElectrical System
DateFeb 23, 2021
StateGA
Description
Its shut off on me twice. Now the radio has shut down blank screen. Came back up after hour driving and shut the car down it came back up but its not clear.
CategoryWheels
DateFeb 15, 2021
StateTN
Description
I have less than 24;000 miles and my front driver side tire is almost bare and passenger front is not much better. I went to see about warranty and you only warranty it for 7500 miles now the tires that are on it are discontinued and can't get now what's!? Can't afford 4 new tires. I think chevy should help me with replacing my tires on my wonderful teas. Please help get this going. The tires are not safe to really drive and be on the road. I bought a new car so I would be safe.
CategoryPower Train, Unknown Or Other
DateJan 23, 2021
StateCA
Description
Vehicle makes a chirping noise at idle speed not moving. Only has 9,000 miles.
CategorySuspension
DateDec 10, 2020
StateME
Description
My 2019 chevy trax both strut mounts are broken on the front, the car is three years old this is to young of a car to already have those issues. And both sides.
CategoryEngine, Wheels
DateDec 07, 2020
StateMN
Description
The tires have a manufacture defect on them causing abnormal wear, tires are new and when I took car back to dealer they refuse to change them. I refuse to buy another set due to I should not have to on a car that I really didn't want. The engine is not powerful enough to maintain a speed at 70mph it surges
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateOct 03, 2020
StateOR
Description
The stereo display gets hot and it want connect to my phone. My phone was ringing and when I push answer it wouldn't do anything it kept ringing louder I then pulled over and turned off the vehicle and open the door. When I turned it back on if continued to do the the same and louder. I then waited a few minutes and turned it on again and it finally stopped. I took it to the dealer 3 times bought 3 different phones and still doing the same as no pairing. The dealer said they can't do anything until gm updates the hardware for the vehicle. So now I cant use my bluetooth on my vechicle.
CategoryWheels
DateAug 13, 2020
StateVA
Description
I was driving down the the highway and without any notice the tire blew out. After inspection of the tire I noticed the inner wall of the tire had exploded. There were no sharp objects and appeared to be a spontaneous blow out.
CategoryAir Bags
DateJul 10, 2020
StateNY
Description
I was driving speed limit, car in front of me stopped without enough notice and I hit the vehicle in front of me. Driver's airbag deployed with a loud pop and a cloud of smoke poured out from the airbag. My left forearm was burning and when I looked at my arm I watched my skin blister while the skin peeled away. 2nd degree burn was treated at local urgent care. The car I was driving is a company vehicle owned by my employer.
CategoryEngine
DateMar 16, 2020
StateOH
Description
I noticed that my exhaust smelled strongly of hydrocarbons so I examined and photographed the dip stick and the crank case oil was a dark brown and smelled of gasoline. The trax has 3245 miles on the odometer and may have had waste oil dumped in it while my wife and I were asleep in our home with a gas port.. There are signs on the local highways of engine failure spewing oil on the asphalt and weakening the newly paved roads. *tr
CategoryService Brakes
DateMar 13, 2020
StateMN
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2019 chevrolet trax. The contact stated that while traveling at an unknown high rate of speed, the brakes failed to operate as needed without warning. The contact crashed into another vehicle due to complete brake failure. The air bags deployed upon impact. The contact sustained injuries to her right hand and her son suffered a severe headache and bruised leg. The contact nor her son sought medical attention. The contact stated inhaled on known fumes or smoke. The other driver did not sustain any injuries. The contact was unsure if a police report was filed. The contact's vehicle was towed to an independent collision center and was destroyed. The dealer nor the manufacturer have been notified of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown.
CategoryService Brakes, Suspension
DateMar 12, 2020
StateMI
Description
I was traveling in my car on the freeway. Traffic came to a deceleration very quickly and suddenly. I was able to slow down in time to avoid the car in front of me, however I was struck from behind. The driver behind me must have swerved also to try to avoid hitting me directly from behind. She hit my rear driver side. This action caused my control arm, strut tower, rotor, wheel and all other associated parts to detach from the vehicle. This also consequentially caused the brake hose to be ripped from the assembly resulting in poor brake pressure. I was able to pull to the shoulder with hydraulic brakes along with the use of my emergency brake. Very minor injuries were sustained from this incident, however, the situation could have resulted in severe injury or death. I have not existing recalls for the parts that failed, however, there is a recall on the front control arms on this vehicle.
CategoryService Brakes, Unknown Or Other
DateFeb 27, 2020
StateNY
Description
In the 2nd maintenance of the vehicle at the authorized dealer they informed me of a recall on the front train, after this the vehicle has presented different incidents, from different sounds to higher fuel consumption, it does not respond in the same way when accelerating, the guide vibrates and it doesn't stop the same. This happens on any type of pavement. Currently the vehicle has 8,500 kilometers and the situation has not been resolved and is the third visit to the workshop after what happened. Help me please I don't feel safe in the vehicle.
CategorySteering
DateFeb 26, 2020
StateNY
Description
Power steering locks when car is parked and temperature drops below 30 degrees. Car has to be warmed up for about 20 minutes and then when the steering releases there is a very loud rubbing noise.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateFeb 24, 2020
StateIL
Description
I have had my 2019 trax for a little over a year now and I have had nothing but problems with the radio the radio in my car has stopped working at least 8 or 9 times (when I am driving and when I am parked. When I bring it to the dealer they say they cannot find anything wrong with it unless it does it for them. It goes out while I am driving all the time for 5 to 10 minutes at a time and today when I went to start it the whole display screen was gray and then it went to black. I could hear the stations but I had no display for at least a 1/2 an hour. I am really not happy with this problem and because it does not do it when I bring it to the dealer it does not happened. I am very unhappy with this problem and I do not know if I will by another chevrolet again. I have contacted chevrolet direct and they tell me they can't do anything about it until it happens for them. Bad business if you ask me!
CategoryEngine, Service Brakes
DateJan 25, 2020
StateGA
Description
Car was bought brand new and had a manufacturing defect of the automatic transmission fluid coolant lines leaking, to the point that the car would not go forward or backwards, this problem was fixed under warranty, and also the car will surge forward at operating temperature, making it hard to stop at red lights, and in panic stops, like my son had recently causing a minor parking lot accident, while the car was moving at a very low speed.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateDec 02, 2019
StateFL
Description
Purchased 2019 chevrolet trax new in july. Has only 5,734 miles on it. It is december 2 and just found out the heater does not work. Took it to dealership. Dealer said heater case was bad and needed two parts to fix, but the parts are on back-order and should take 3-4 weeks to come in. Internet search revealed many buyers with same problem.
CategorySuspension
DateNov 25, 2019
StateNY
Description
I leased a 2019 chevy trax in jan on this year, had about 8,000 miles on it last month when the lower control arm failed while my wife was driving it. There is recall for previous years but not my vehicle for the lower control arm. Long story short, I filed an inquiry case with gm to which they said the accident caused the failure. In my opinion, the failure caused the accident and thank god she was just accelerating at 3 or 4 mph from a stop light when the failure occurred. I am attempting to get this appealed but having a hard time, they said to get the results of their inquiry I needed to get a court order.
CategoryAir Bags
DateNov 14, 2019
StateMI
Description
2019 chevrolet trax. Consumer writes in regards to takata airbag safety recall. *ld the consumer stated the dealer has had possession of the vehicle for 103 days. The manufacturer was contacted and stated the parts necessary to complete the repair were unavailable. *js
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateNov 08, 2019
StateNC
Description
I own a 2019 chevolet trax... I have taken it back three time for the shreaking sound every time I go in the drive way and ride on the street. I took a saleman with me on the ride and he heard it.. But when he told me to go to the service department they claim they didn't here it... Even when a technician went with me he said he didn't here it but I did... I ask him do he want to drive the car, because it was comming from the driver side, he didn't want to.. We went back and he told them he did't here anything. But yet the salenan heard it... The noise get on my nerve so I turn the radio up not to here it. I traded that car from a 2017 rax to a 2019 trax, I would not realize I would have the same problem.. The 2017 was new just like the 2019, but they found out on the new 2017 it was the struts that was bad... I really hate that car.. The 2019 was value at 10,000 dollar when I tries to trade it end. And I owe 24,000. 00. It have 12,000 mile on it. It don't drive smooth at all. It shake sometime when I am on the highway.. I know it have a recall on it. But of course they said mind wasn't affected. But that noise I hear is comming from that part they check on... I told the saleman, I guess the noise or whatever I am hearing got to get worst like the other trax that I had.... Before they do anything about it... It is hard to trade in because I am upside down on it. That to much of a different to. Put on another car... The car is alway in motion. I am really scare the car is going to break down on driver side where I hear the noise.. If the 2017 had strut problems. This 2019 might have the same problem
CategoryService Brakes, Vehicle Speed Control
DateNov 05, 2019
StateMI
Description
Vehicle accelerated when brakes were applied combing to a stop light
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateOct 22, 2019
StateTX
Description
Can not turn air condition from cool air to warm air. First and second trip I was told it was the knob. Today I am told it is the air vac system.
CategoryElectrical System, Service Brakes, Steering
DateOct 21, 2019
StateNJ
Description
Went to dealership for oil change. Told to pull car up into bay. When turning car back on the dashboard lite up claiming issue with power effecting steering and brakes. They performed a diagnostic test and found no issue. Told me if it happens again let them know and I should pull over to the side of the road, with my flashers on, and turn the car off which would trip it. I only leased this car in march 2019 with 79 miles. There has already been one recall on this make and model.
CategoryElectronic Stability Control, Steering, Structure:body
DateSep 27, 2019
StateOH
Description
Been at shop 4 times for steering problem. Can't keep car driving straight
CategoryElectrical System
DateSep 26, 2019
StateNY
Description
Vehicle is just over 300 miles and the led display has stopped working. First it went white and now is completely dark. No back up camera either.
CategoryService Brakes
DateSep 23, 2019
StateIL
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2019 chevrolet trax. While operating the vehicle, the service brake indicator illuminated and the brake pedal traveled to the floorboard while attempting to stop. The vehicle was taken to homewood chevrolet (18033 halstead st, homewood, il) where it was diagnosed that the brake line had become disconnected and needed to be replaced due to a loose driver's side brake caliper hose bolt. The vehicle was repaired and the failure was remedied. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 7,500.
CategoryElectronic Stability Control, Steering, Structure:body
DateSep 21, 2019
StateOH
Description
Bought car on 7-26-2019. Car drifting off the road to the right back doors don't shut flush water leaks . Car in shop 7-27-2019. No fix problem still the same. Back in shop 8-5-2019 to 8-8-2019. No improvement . Took car to another dealership on 9-5-2019 to 9-12-2019. Found door molding bad replaced them . Doors still not flush. Car is still pulling off the road to the right. Going back in shop on 9-23-2019 for same problem water leaks happen while sitting still pulling happens all the time no improvement
CategorySteering, Structure:body, Unknown Or Other
DateSep 16, 2019
StateOH
Description
Bought car on 6-26-2019 . While driving in city going slow seemed fine. Got on freeway car pulling off right side of road , have to hold consistent hold to the left on steering wheel while driving. Called salesman that night ,was told to bring car back next morning. Got there 9:00 am 7-27-2019 . They took it back and made me wait . They said they realigned it and rotated tires. Said to drive it 500 miles and see if it gets better. Drove 500 miles no change. Took it back on 7-5-2019. Dealership kept it 4 days. Said they test drove it and said it was road crown. Took it home no change. Took it to tire discounters on 8-16+2019 . Confirmed pulling to right. Said alignment is good but still has pull to right. Took it to jerry haggs gm dealership. They refused to check it. All this time the back doors don't shut flush and the seals leak the original dealership refused to do anything about the doors the car is now at mike castucci gm dealership in milford ohio it's been there since 9-5-2019. They are trying to replace the back door seals to try to flush doors with the body but hasn't checked front end yet. You have to hold the steering wheel to the left with a constant tug. Driving in rain is worse . Haven't owned car long enough to see what snow is like. The car was sitting in driveway during a rain storm when doors leaked. Car constantly drifts right while driving speed limit.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateSep 12, 2019
StateLA
Description
Once I got my vehicle fixed from the suspension and ball joint recall my vehicle began to get stuck in between shifts whenever I would try to shift gears I would have to really force it into reverse, drive or whatever gear I am trying to get in.
CategoryPower Train
DateSep 09, 2019
StateGA
Description
Car shifts rough it doesn't shift at all and had no power to go up a very small hill, to be parked in my driveway or carport, at the apartment we live in. This happens on the highway, at red lilghts and when breaking to stop this has gone on for several days and gotten progressively worse, with time since last wednesday. The car was just purchased new on august 30, 2019.
CategorySuspension
DateAug 13, 2019
StateFL
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2019 chevrolet trax. While driving 30 mph, the vehicle pulled to the right. The contact coasted the vehicle over to the side of the road. The contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 19v312000 (suspension), but the part needed for the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The vehicle was taken to david maus chevrolet (972 towne center blvd, sanford, fl 32771, (407) 641-4198), but the part was not available. The vehicle had been at the dealer for one month. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and provided case number: 9-5410553050. The approximate failure mileage was 10,000. Parts distribution disconnect.
CategorySuspension
DateAug 02, 2019
StateCT
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2019 chevrolet trax. The contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 19v312000 (suspension). The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. Woodbury chevrolet (729 main st s, woodbury, ct 06798, (877) 541-5831) was contacted and confirmed that the parts were not available for the recall remedy. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue and was not able to confirm when the parts were to become available. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine, Suspension
DateAug 01, 2019
StateOH
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2019 chevrolet trax. The contact received a recall notice for nhtsa campaign number: 19v312000 (suspension). Ganley chevrolet (13865 brook park rd, brook park, oh 44142, (216) 586-5804) stated that the part was not available and would be ordered in july of 2019. The dealer stated that they would call the contact back, but never did. The contact also stated that the heating and cooling components would not function properly and it took an excessive amount of time to cool or heat the vehicle. Also, the accessories would not charge her devices. The manufacturer was not notified. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The failure mileage was 300.
CategorySuspension
DateJul 05, 2019
StateMI
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2019 chevrolet trax. The contact received a recall notification for nhtsa campaign number: 19v312000 (suspension). The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. Denooyer chevrolet (5800 stadium dr, kalamazoo, mi 49009, (269) 743-0134) was contacted and confirmed that the parts were not available for the recall remedy. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue and was not able to confirm when the parts were to become available. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJul 05, 2019
StateMO
Description
Purchase vehicle in february 2019 then receive a letter stating a recall on rocker arms they were not welded . Very upset with this disposition and what a nitemare . Trax is in the shop now at reliable service dept . Located on south campbell in springfield mo .. It failed the inspection . I'm driving a loaner car from reliable and want to trade the trax for it . I am afraid of the trax now... I'm in debt 000. 00 and want a car I feel safe in . Please let me trade ... This is my 5th car purchased from reliable ... Please get me into a safe car ...
CategorySuspension
DateJul 01, 2019
StateVT
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2019 chevrolet trax. The contact received a recall notification for nhtsa campaign number: 19v312000 (suspension) and stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time to repair the vehicle. Denecker chevrolet (510 us-7, middlebury, vt 05753) confirmed parts were not available to perform the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.
CategoryService Brakes, Suspension, Wheels
DateJun 27, 2019
StateMD
Description
While on the highway, my truck went hard right while my steering wheel was in straight position. I asked my passenger did you feel that . They said yes . It was very scary and happens very sporadic. Also the brakes seem to be some timey with stopping efficiently, like you either stop too quick or not fast enough. I'm not sure why my vin has not appeared in this recall when clearly my vehicle has the same issues and within the make model and year.
CategorySuspension
DateJun 25, 2019
StateFL
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2019 chevrolet trax. The contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 19v312000 (suspension). The contact called cox chevrolet at 941-749-2699 (located at 2900 cortez rd w, bradenton, fl 34207) and informed that the parts were not available. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue and was not able to confirm when the parts were to become available. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.
CategorySuspension
DateJun 18, 2019
StateNY
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2019 chevrolet trax. The contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 19v312000 (suspension). The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. Lasorsa chevrolet buick (3510 webster ave, bronx, ny 10467, (347) 614-1457) was contacted and confirmed that the parts were not available for the recall remedy. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue and confirmed that the parts were not available. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.
CategoryVisibility:defroster/defogger/hvac System
DateJun 17, 2019
StateIL
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2019 chevrolet trax. While driving 20 mph, the windows failed to defrost when the defogger button was pressed. The vehicle was taken to mike anderson chevrolet of chicago (located at 5333 w irving park rd, chicago, il 60641, (773) 465-2000) where it was repaired twice for unknown parts on the heater, but the failure continued. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 200,000.
CategoryWheels
DateJun 12, 2019
StateNH
Description
My trax has been on recall for over 50 days and I have not recieved a part to have it fixed. I'm very disappointed in gm for not making these parts in a timely manner.
CategorySuspension
DateJun 06, 2019
StateNJ
Description
2019 chevy trax. Consumer writes in regard to gm control arms recall a182202370 and request to know when parts will be available for repairs. *as *js
CategorySuspension
DateMay 22, 2019
StateOR
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2019 chevrolet trax. The contact purchased the vehicle from tc chevrolet (located at 2045 rogue valley hwy 99 n, ashland, or 97520, (541) 201-8698), but was not allowed to drive it off the lot because the vin was included in nhtsa campaign number: 19v312000 (suspension). The dealer stated that the part needed for the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue and provided case numbers: 9-1599538349-9-524657225. The contact had not experienced a failure. Vin tool confirms parts not available.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateMay 09, 2019
StateFL
Description
Car was parked, idling, and suddenly the drivers side window shattered into many pieces. Some dropping into door but mostly window stayed intact.
CategorySteering
DateMay 07, 2019
StateFL
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2019 chevrolet trax. The contact stated that the steering wheel vibrated while driving between 40-60 mph. Also, the vehicle wobbled and hesitated. The contact struggled with the steering wheel, but managed to regain control to continue driving. The vehicle was taken to new smyrna beach chevrolet (2375 fl-44, new smyrna beach, fl 32168, (386) 427-1313) to be diagnosed, but the test could not read the codes. The vehicle was not repaired. The dealer stated that the dealer tried to keep and sell the vehicle. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and did not assist. The vin was unknown. The failure mileage was 3,000.
CategorySuspension
DateMay 01, 2019
StateNY
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2019 chevrolet trax. The contact received a recall notice for nhtsa campaign number: 19v312000 (suspension). Summit chevrolet buick gmc (318 grant ave, auburn, ny 13021, (315) 258-2000) and the manufacturer stated that the part was not available. The contact had not experienced a failure.
CategorySeats, Unknown Or Other
DateApr 11, 2019
StateMD
Description
I purchased a new 2019 chevy trax after trading in my 2016 trax. I had been driving it for about two weeks when my radio, turn signal, phone calls and onstar (not sure about back up camera) was affected by some glitch. The sound went away from my turn signal, all the radio channels, no sound but could receive phone calls and tried to call onstar per sales rep to do a diagnosis but the call could not be heard. The onstar call could not be disconnected. The eventual fix to this was I took it to the dealership and the sales rep did a factory reset in the settings. This brought it back. I had a similar issue in my 2016 trax that blacked out the screen completely and took away any sound from it and my signal. It eventually came back after a shop played around with it. Second issue which fell under a warranty repair was that I noticed not long after buying that there was a high pitched squeal coming from my drivers seat when stopping and hitting bumps. I thought at first the springs needed breaking in. It ended up being the bolt at the back right of the seat that attached it to the floor. Come to find out it was crooked and completely stripped which was causing the seat to bounce around. It was also found out during repair that a second bolt was starting to do the same thing. This was a brand new vehicle straight from the factory. I was told by the service dept that vehicles from the factory aren't state inspected. This seems to be an unsafe method.
CategoryUnknown Or Other, Visibility/wiper
DateFeb 21, 2019
StateMD
Description
A thick film appears on the windshield throughout the car as if someone was smoking cigarettes or some type of substance. This film shows up on the car windows every 3 days if you don't wash the windows it gets thicker. We have taken the vehicle back several times and they can't seem to find the cause. Also if you drive for more than an hour your eyes will start to burn and it will make you feel sleepy. This is not safe. The dealer just keep washing the windows. Something needs to be done.
CategorySteering
DateJan 20, 2019
StateMI
Description
Bought car 4 days ago. Steering pulled to left. Was assured it just needed alignment. Next day, dealership did a botched alignment (got second option and re-do at belle tire, proving my suspicions). Issue still happening. Car pulls to the right' and I feel like I am in a deathtrap. It feels very unsafe to drive because no matter what I do it continually wants to pull to the right. Steering wheel stiff turning left and loose on right. Must keep steering wheel straight even when on curved roads that turn leftward. I am afraid that this car was a dealer loaner and somebody got into an accident. The mechanics at belle tire said they think it is a rack and pinion problem. I do not feel safe driving my children in this car because I am certain that I am going to crash into a telephone pole if I take my hands off the steering well even for a second. It's awful.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateNov 23, 2018
StateIL
Description
I had a bad experience with the brakes on this vehicle. I had this car to not stop on me on two occasions . Once in a parking spot, and once when I approached a busy intersection on a college campus. The car would not stop. It made a grind g noise, skied and just would not stop. I had to throw the car out of drive to get it to stop. The dealership plilips chevrolet is saying the diagnostic tests did not detect a problem. S I just imagined the terrifying ordeals that I encountered. I now have to go back and get this car and drive it brill it happens again. The weather is about to get bad so what if it happens and putting the car in drive does not stop it. I'm totally scared to drive this vehicle.

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.

Share your story

Does this ring a bell? Have you had a bad experience too? Sound off and share your experience with other visitors in the comment box below.

Brian Jones

About the Author:

Brian Jones spent more than 20 years working as an ASE Certified Master Tech and Parts Specialist at multiple dealerships. Brian has become an authority in the industry, traveling across the country to consult for car dealerships and contributing his expertise as a writer for several major automotive publications. In his spare time, Brian enjoys working on pickup trucks, muscle cars, Jeeps and anything related to motorsports.

See more posts from Brian Jones
13 COMMENTS
  • PAM H

    I have only put 3000 miles on my used 2019 Chevy Trax. When I back up, something under the floor board on drivers side pops and I can feel it under my feet, it is very hard. It is also eating my drivers side tires. The radio went off for no reason the other day. What should I do?

  • PAM H

    I have a 2019 chevy trax with 36000 on it. It is eating my tires, the front ones and when i turn to the left it makes a grinding noise.

  • Stephanie B

    Third electrical issue with 19 trax and of course dealer is no help. Fox Chevy Marquette said they can’t replicate issue, supposedly so won’t fix anything. This will be third time I won’t be able to drive in snowy weather because wipers don’t work. This after gas gauge electrical went out, then th radio went out, rear bulb went out or has been out since purchase, along with brakes issues and I have only had the car about 4000 miles since purchase.
    Gm Chevy is no help and rude as hell like dealer.
    I’m very concerned I bought a lemon and even with warranty left dealer Will scam me out of fixing things that should be covered. Lots more to list but will end here for now.
    They lied about delivery report for sure on few items and found several items of body damage attempted repair but vehicle has supposedly not had any accidents. So fed up and scared major items will go wrong soon and I won’t have money to fix and dealer is terrible.

  • Angie F

    Call my 2019 Chevy tracks in May 2022 your recently my heater has decided it’s gonna work at random times and right now it’s not even turning on at all. It only has less than 20,000 miles on it so any thought to be appreciated.

  • a f

    2019 Trax currently has 111,000 miles. yesterday my car started running strange kind of “chugging” I drove the 5 miles home and parked it. Today, I drove it about 15 miles then it was parked/off for 6 hours. I started the car back up and went back inside to allow it to warm up before leaving {as it was only 10 degrees outside). I went back out to leave after about 20 minutes later and the engine had died/shut off and my check engine light was on and my message center read, “service battery charging system”, “service power steering system”, service stabilitrack” and “battery saver active” and now the car wont start!
    My stereo has been randomly turning off for months, at times my stereo does not shut off with engine it remains on for a good 45 minutes!, my usb charging ports frequently stop working, but yet I’ve tried to address the stereo and charging port issues several times and was told everything looked fine! Now I’m stuck with no car for who knows how long and god only knows what extent my repair bill will be! Today is Sunday so no repair shops are open but tomorrow I need to find a way to get it to repair shop to find out what is wrong!

  • Elexis C

    Bought the car in November of 2019. The radio would occasionally go off but it was sporadic. This year it has become more consistent. I have around 25k miles on it .The tire pressure system is faulty. It is not reading the pressure correctly. One tire is reading 8 psi which is impossible because a manual gauge is reading the pressure correctly at 35psi. I was in an accident last year when someone cut me off on the highway. My brakes did not engage correctly, nor did my airbag deploy. Yesterday, the car randomly pulled to the right twice. I brought it to the dealership for the tire pressure system issue and to have the radio checked. They told me they could only check the radio during the week and proceeded to tell me nothing was wrong with my tire pressure system one minute and that if it WAS a sensor issue that it would cost me $150+ out of pocket to fix because it was “normal wear and tear and part of the tire”. In the same breath the service advisor stated the sensor shouldn’t be having these issues this soon. So I got no help for either of my issues and my concerns were brushed off. I mentioned the airbag and brake issue from my accident and again was brushed off. I am not in a position to purchase another vehicle and there is not enough value in this car to trade it in free and clear to purchase something else. I am disappointed with the entire experience with this car, both after the purchase, and my experience with the dealership.

  • sharieboggan1974@gmail.com

    My car won’t start the steering column is messed up. I keep getting an alert to service my power steering and my stabilitrak needs servicing. I bought this car brand new in 2019 it had 7 miles on it. The first month I had to have the radio replaced 3x. My alternator is bad which has destroyed my battery. My car smells like rotten eggs. My car don’t wanna accelerate. My driver side tire keeps losing air had to replace tires. It wobbles on the highway when driving the speed limit. It feel like it’s going to tip over. This is ridiculous to be having all these problems with a brand new car. I’m not happy with this car. I don’t have money to just buy another car but I don’t feel safe driving this car. Something needs to be done about this car and not at our expense. The manufacturer new these cars are not safe but yet they are still selling them to consumers that don’t know what we are getting ourselves into. Buying a car is a big investment other than buying a house. I wasted my money on this raggedy car. Is there anything that can be done about the manufacturer knowingly selling lemons just to make a dollar.

  • QuYahni

    I’ve had my 2019 Chevy Trax since 10/7/19. The brakes have always squeaked after sitting for a few days, but the car drove fine so I didn’t worry. But now at 45K miles, it decelerates and loses engine power if I go above 55mph (on roads with 70mph speed limit). It happened today while driving my daughter back to campus. Now I’m praying I make it home safely the 2.5hr trip that will now be 3hrs b/c I’ll be driving at least 15mi under the speed limit for fear that I’ll get stuck or worse. I’ve read the reviews and they’re horrible. Hope it’s not too late to trade mine in.

  • Jennifer B

    Top of our Chevrolet Trax 2019 trim pieces flying off of the car!!! Lost both so far!!!

  • william b

    I have a 2019 trax. At 15,000 miles my passenger side tires stared losing air. I have to put air in the tires 3X a week. Also my entire system radio and wifi system keeps shutting off. Very upsetting when you count on your GPS and it just shuts off. I wish I could just get rid of this car.

  • Tracey p

    Anyone having issues with oil burning too fast. Missed only 2 on time like to the mile oil changes and now it’s crazy with this car. I got them done but it’s been insane. Now brakes go no warning squeek and totally gone. I bought a new car NOT to have these issues. Been nothing but

  • Graham

    Had the car for 26000 km had to be taken in twice to the garage as it wouldn’t start. Still under warranty 1st time, let’s see today.

  • Rhonda A

    Had a 2019 Chevy Trax about a year it has 13061 miles and the service power steering came on and car won’t start.

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead you can to our legal team.

Please select your star rating.

Briefly describe your experience Briefly describe your experience

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? Please enter a valid phone number

Want to know if you could sue? Get a free legal evaluation Lemberg Law?

Get Your No-Obligation
Case Evaluation

Send a secure message to our legal team.

What’s your name? What’s your name?
What’s your email address? What’s your email address?
What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?
Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem
Confidentiality Guarantee: We keep your information completely confidential and will not send you spam or sell your information.