2018 Buick Encore Problems and Top Complaints – Is Your Car A Lemon?

Vehicle structure, stability control and powertrain issues among the top complaints received by the NHTSA from vehicle owners

By Brian Jones | Updated on

By Brian Jones | Updated on

The 2018 Buick Encore is a compact SUV meant to bring luxury into the family vehicle. The company claims that the modern lineup is “crafted with purpose,” but unless that purpose is to head to the junkyard, the automaker missed the mark. This SUV has a faulty powertrain, poorly-built structure, malfunctioning air bags and a troublesome electronic stability control system.

Click on other model year to view more problems:  2017  2019  2020  2021

Don’t be stuck with a lemon. You have legal rights to cash, return or buyback.

The law makes Buick pay legal fees.

We've fixed thousands of lemon problems. Message or call 877-795-3666 today.

NHTSA Complaints for the 2018 Buick Encore

Complaint CategoryNumber of Complaints
Engine
7
Power Train
7
Unknown Or Other
7
Electrical System
5
Air Bags
5
Service Brakes
5
Electronic Stability Control
3
Steering
2
Engine And Engine Cooling:cooling System:hoses/lines/piping/fittings
1
Latches/locks/linkages:doors:latch
1

Problems with the Transmission

The main part of any powertrain is the transmission. With this vital component not working correctly, the entire ride becomes rough and unenjoyable.

That’s exactly what this Edmunds review discusses. “Rented the vehicle for a trip to Southern California. It couldn’t keep up with highway speeds. Acceleration was inconsistent, the transmission was a nightmare because it wouldn’t shift until the accelerator was nearly at the floor and then it would downshift twice before providing a tepid amount of power.”

It turns out that Buick is dealing with a long list of transmission issues. Even Service Bulletin #16NA019 talks about low-speed harsh shifts, flares and slips. The Encore acts like a bucking bronco on the road, which could be quite a sight to see.

Here are some actual complaints logged with the NHTSA about the 2018 Buick Encore Powertrain Problems

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2018 BUICK ENCORE. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED AND UNOCCUPIED, IT INADVERTENTLY ROLLED AWAY AND CRASHED INTO ANOTHER VEHICLE. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THERE WERE NO INJURIES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS AWAITING TO BE DIAGNOSED AND REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 5,200.

Problems with the Vehicle Structure

What’s worse is all of the structure-related issues that have been brought to light with the 2018 Buick Encore.

Another Edmunds review states, “There was one glaring problem: the driver’s side and center rear seat belts were partially missing.  We thought the missing parts were simply down beneath the seats, but extensive efforts to find them were fruitless.  We reported the problem to the rental car company when we returned it.  The car had only 700 miles on it when we rented it and was otherwise was fine, except the rear doors sometimes required a second hard slam to close them.”

Missing seatbelts is a major defective that should never occur. Aside from that, the automaker has been forthcoming about several other structural concerns. One communication, Service Bulletin #PI0281G even discusses underbody component corrosion. Instead of teaching techs how to repair the problem and increase customer satisfaction, the bulletin was released solely to teach the dealership how to address customers. One part of this is to explain what is considered “Acceptable Corrosion.” As it is written in the communication, “General Motors has determined that the performance of some components is not affected by surface corrosion and no longer takes preventative steps on these parts.” In short, this luxury SUV doesn’t have complete corrosion protection, because some parts simply don’t matter.

Problems with the Air Bags

The one system that is specifically designed to keep occupants safe during an accident is the air bag. Modern vehicles are equipped with multiple air bags for maximum safety, but these do no good if they don’t deploy during a crash.

That’s what happened to this NHTSA user. “Airbags did not deploy upon auto accident. Impact area was front corner fender on passenger side. Possible gas released into passenger side of the cabin, smelled electrical and smoke filled passenger footboard area. No loss of coolant from car to explain smoke. Airbag warning light remains on dashboard display. Car was traveling at normal highway speed 30-35 mph, brakes applied, then crashed into a turning car in front – turning from passenger to driver direction.”

As of now, Buick has nothing to say about air bag defects. Instead GM has chosen to remain quiet on this essential system. After all, it’s difficult to tell people that this vehicle is “crafted with purpose,” unless the purpose is to put people in danger. In that case, the Encore was perfectly crafted.

Here are some actual complaints logged with the NHTSA about the 2018 Buick Encore Air Bag Problems

AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY WHEN VEICHLE WAS HIT FROM BEHIND. 2 PEOPLE WHERE INJURED.

Problems with the Electronic Stability Control

The electronic stability control was put on modern vehicles to help retain traction and stay safe, but if the system fails, all bets are off.

One NHTSA complaint discusses ESC issues. “When it rains most of the time the vehicle OnStar sets off alerts for my antilock brakes and stability to be checked. Dealer said it is normal and not concerning but checked at the 1 year inspection for me. NPF. A month later a rainy day, alerts, and the vehicle wouldn’t start. All the lights came on. Press Brake to Start. Appeared but pressing brake did not start it. After an hour of trying various tricks it started with the remote started. A week later same thing.Rain, alerts, and no start. This time 2 hours of trying various tricks (Emergency brake on off/park pushed all the way up, wheels forward, remote start attempts, OnStar diagnostics etc. I had to have it towed. The mechanics from AAA tried and nothing, we towed an hour back to dealership and he tried once more, nothing. Next morning the dealership report NPF. I am picking it up tomorrow but expect to report this happening again soon.”

Again, there are no communications discussing the issues with the electronic stability control. Instead, Buick has left users in the dark, attempting to troubleshoot issues on their own. This Encore was surely “crafted with purpose.” Its purpose is to become the poster child for lemon cars.

Here are some actual complaints logged with the NHTSA about the 2018 Buick Encore ESC Problems

CAR SERVICE FOR ROUGH IDLE AND LACK OF POWER, SERVICE STABILITRAK LIGHT ON AND CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ON WITH AN ERROR CODE OF P0171

Your Lemon Law Legal Rights

Think you have a lemon? Sit back and let the experts work out your lemon case at no cost to you. The law makes GM pay legal fees. You may be able to get your lemon out of your life. Every year, auto manufacturers buy back, replace or pay cash settlements to thousands of ‘lemon’ owners like you.

Complaint Data

CategoryElectrical System, Engine, Power Train
DateJul 05, 2022
StateFL
Description
Feel like the car is loosing drive/power and not accelerating. I was driving and the engine light started flashing. No power to go up the hill, it could have gone backwards. Car does not accelerate made a whirring noise when it was turned off. Dangerous situation. Service bulletin #n212338400
CategoryAir Bags, Service Brakes
DateJun 30, 2022
StateOH
Description
The contact owns a 2018 buick encore. The contact stated while driving 35 mph, she depressed the brake pedal but it failed to stop the vehicle, causing her to rear-end a truck. The contact stated no warning light was illuminated. The air bags did not deploy. The contact did not sustain any injuries nor sought medical attention. A police report was filed. The contact was able to continue driving to her destination. The contact called the local dealer and made them aware of the failure. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The vehicle was taken to a collision center and had the front bumper repaired. The manufacturer had not been informed of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 15,000.
CategoryEngine, Unknown Or Other
DateJun 29, 2022
StatePA
Description
Turbo charger malfunction. Confirmed by dealership and had to be replaced. Stabilitrak malfunction. Car is stalling out at a red light or stop sign, and/or jerking hard. Stalled out in middle of an intersection with my children in the car. Ongoing problem.
CategoryPower Train, Seat Belts, Unknown Or Other
DateJun 21, 2022
StatePA
Description
Stabilitrak warning comes on and car stalls out. Passenger seat belt doesn't clip person in correctly.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine
DateJun 10, 2022
StateTX
Description
My vehicle would not start and I had no control over the computerized system.
CategoryElectrical System
DateMay 11, 2022
StateNJ
Description
Currently my vehicle has issue with dash board and instrument panel getting hot to the touch after driving for approximatly an hour also causing an odor. The heater/ac stays on continuesly never turns off and the heating up issue exists with either temperature.
CategoryEngine And Engine Cooling:cooling System:hoses/lines/piping/fittings
DateSep 29, 2021
StateOH
Description
The contact owns a 2018 buick encore. The contact stated while driving at various speeds, the check engine warning light would illuminate as the average miles per gallon decreased. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who stated that the clamps for the turbo hoses were loose. The clamps and hoses were realigned and tightened. The contact stated that the failure recurred 2 months later. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer and the same diagnosis along with a red thread failure. The clamps were realigned and tightened again. The contact stated that the air filter hose was also loose. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 54,000.
CategoryElectrical System, Service Brakes, Steering
DateAug 28, 2021
StateFL
Description
Twice I was driving my car going about 35-45 mikes an hour. My car started to shake along with a loud humming sound. I lost my power steering and brakes. The over drive light was flashing both on the right under radio and on the dash. The rpms started racing as well one time for sure. I was able to get to the side of the road and hit the emergency brake at the same time put it into park. I was so scared. I waited a few minutes turned it back on and drove around a parking lot before I ventured home. The second time I was close to home and drove it home 10 miles an hour. Since then I am extremely scared to drive my car. Being a nurse I need my car. I took it to sterling buick in venice. They ran a diagnostic test and it showed nothing. They drove it and of course it did not do it. There suggestion was for me to trade it in. They charged me and sent me on my way. They fixed something with my ac. When I droved the car days later my fiance called to tell me that there was something now leaking from the bottom of my car and took pictures of the brown pink color fluid dripping from undermeath the car. I called buick. They suggested they would give me on star for 6 months!!! Really!!! I they want to beable to find me in a ditch. I can not in good concious trade that car in knowing what has happened. If someone does not have the hinsight to beable to stop it they can be killled or kill someone else! The first time it happened I had my kids in the car and they were screaming. The second time I had 2 friends with me.
CategoryLatches/locks/linkages:doors:latch, Power Train
DateJul 26, 2021
StateCO
Description
The contact's girlfriend owns a 2018 buick encore. The contact stated while his girlfriend was driving 35 mph, the vehicle inadvertently shifted to neutral and all the door latches unlocked independently. The contact stated that there was no warning light illuminated. The driver continued driving to her destination. The contact stated he also experienced the same failure while driving up a hill. The contact took the vehicle to the local dealer however, the mechanic was unable to duplicate the failure. The contact stated that the failure persisted. The contact also took the vehicle to o'meara buick gmc (2000 w. 104th ave, thornton, co 80234, (720) 712-0951) and the mechanic was unable to duplicate the failure. The manufacturer had not been informed of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 800.
CategoryEngine
DateJul 08, 2021
StateTX
Description
Unknown. On highway total loss of power, unable to steer.
CategoryEngine And Engine Cooling
DateMay 24, 2021
StateAZ
Description
The contact's sister owns a 2018 buick encore. The contact stated while driving at various speeds, the vehicle inadvertently loss motive power without warning. The vehicle would restart independently and resumed normal operation. The contact had taken the vehicle to a dealer to be diagnosed. The mechanic determined that the turbocharger assembly was defective. The vehicle was repaired. The contact was also informed that the antifreeze had been burning within the engine however, no additional repairs were performed. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The vehicle was repaired. The failure mileage was unknown.
CategoryEngine, Power Train
DateJan 25, 2021
StateSC
Description
With estimating my months over a span of 4 months I had my turbo charger replacedbecause it had gone bad. I was out of town the light came on. And when I return I took it to the shop they diagnose it and said it was a turbo charger. I had an extended warranty on the car so they replace the turbo charger with no problems give me a rental with no problems everything was covered.. And a month and a half later my engine light came on and I replaced the purge valve another month or so later the engine light came back on and it was a turbo charger gone bad again. It took about week to find out why the turbo charge went bad. They finally said it had something to do with the return and supply line like there was no lubrication coming through a hose tthat runs to the turbo charge. This is the only place that I've had my oil change since I bought the car from king cadillac buick gmc. I went one other place one other time and that was it. I wonder why they did not check the supply line when they change the turbocharger the first time is that not a part of changing the turbo charge. I was told that they have seen this issue before but not a lot. When this first happened I was on interstate 40 on my way to was to salem north carolina. And I noticed a decline when I went to celebrate on the gas. When it happened the second time I was riding to church here in my hometown and the engine light came on and just riding around hell is as if the car did not want to go like I would give it to gas and it would hesitate or not want to drive.
CategoryPower Train
DateJan 19, 2021
StateOH
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2018 buick encore. The contact stated while driving 55 mph, the front end of the vehicle started to shake and shudder. The contact stated that the steering wheel to ceased and the vehicle loss motive power and stalled with the check engine warning light illuminated. The vehicle failed to restart and was towed to mark porter chevrolet buick gmc (42411 charles chancey drive, pomeroy, oh 45769). An unknown module was replaced and the vehicle was repaired however, the failure persisted. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 7,132.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateDec 03, 2020
StateKS
Description
I was told to reach out to this site because of the issues I am having with my vehicle. I have been in a the process of trying to get my 2018 buick bought back by gm. In june 2019 the buick died on the railroad tracks in archie, mo then 30-40 seconds later it started back up on it's own without my assistance. I called on-star right away and asked if a code was thrown. No code was thrown. I drove it to the dealership. They found that the battery which was not even a year old blew up inside itself. I bought the buick 8. 24. 2018. They dealership replaced the battery. In july of 2019 I was driving on 1-70 right before the 291 exit and the car joulted (the only time it has ever done that) it died again 30-40 seconds the car came back on. Once again I called on-star, no codes popped up. I called the dealership to let them know I was bringing it back because of the issue. I got onto 291 south right before exit 214 the buick died again 30-40 seconds the car started back up. I took it straight to the dealership. They had the buick in the shop for a week, they could not duplicate what was happening. They told me that it has to do several times and to bring it back if it does it a couple more times. It did again after july 2019 when I was driving it around olathe in town. I did not report this time. In may 2020 I had just got onto 435 from wornall @1715 before I could hit roe the car died on the interstate and started back up 30-40 seconds. This time I called gm itself, if it was not for lock down. I would have died. Gm has denied my buy back. The dealership keeps telling me there are no codes being thrown nothing we can do. I could have been injured or killed. When the buick does this I have no control over the steering wheel, pedals, or electronics in the car. I can not warn anyone that is behind me that this has happened. I am scared to even get in the buick. .
CategoryAir Bags
DateJul 21, 2020
StateFL
Description
I have brought my new 2018 buick encore vehicle into delray buick dealership, delray beach, fl for numerous servicing to address correcting/repair/replace the passenger side airbag switch and or any components in the system effecting the dash indicator light which shows 100% of the time that the passenger airbag is off when there is in fact an adult passenger in the seat and concerningly is a hazard to the passenger in this seat and all passengers in the vehicle. Delray buick and gm have failed to respond to inspect components and contacts through this safety system its modules, components and connections to clear this complaint in any way. The ticket numbers for servicing are as follows: 2/11/20 invoice # 207656; 1/16/20 invoice # 206511; & 12/19/19 invoice # 204865. I also contacted gm customer care (case # 9-5827839607) on 02/20/20 spoke with alondra (senior advisor) with no resolution to address this safety defect to attempt resolution. I am concerned that this is a safety defect for my vehicle that places the front passenger and possibly all occupants that the entire airbag system is defective and there is no possibility for resolution tthrough the dealorship or gm themselves. I am seeking the help from your organization to investigate this safety defect so that my vehicle as well as all others are placed in service on the road with all highway safety requirements and standards in proper required operating condition.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateMay 11, 2020
StateTX
Description
As far as I can determine there is no recall concerning tires on 2018 encores. Yet at only 19,334 miles on my encore I had to replace a tire because the tire store could not get the tire repaired. Their comment was that the puncture on the tread area was too large to accept a patch. Thus I spent 2. 25 for an equivalent new tire. If buick is not capable of providing tires that will last past 19,000 miles then they need to do a quality check. The "factory" tire I had to replace was a continental tire (p215/ 55r/ 18 rated at 94h. *tr
CategoryElectrical System, Electronic Stability Control, Steering
DateApr 26, 2020
StatePA
Description
Since I bought this car in 04/2018 I had many problems problems as the engine sensor had to be replaced, headlights going out when I was driving, they could not reproduce the problem at the dealership , now the back wheel driver module is bad,it will need to be replaced ,and finally I almost could not drive in the highway on 04/25/2020, I was very afraid that I was going to be in an accident when the power steering wheel locked, abs, brake lights and traction light were all on in the panel and so a warning signal. The vehicle was in motion. I was in rt 206 in nj, after chester. 025/2020. I had to stop by a market. The car was taken to a shop in newton and it will be towed to mcguire delearship in newto for repair. I am very scared of driving this car and I need a safe car to go to work everyday!!!
CategoryService Brakes, Unknown Or Other, Vehicle Speed Control
DateFeb 11, 2020
StateAZ
Description
This took place on private property in the parking lot of a commercial building. The vehicle was in motion going forward. It was decelerating head-in into a parking spot. The braking action was engaged. The vehicle had slowed to about 5 mph. My right foot was on the brake pedal and the braking was engaged. I then heard the sound of the engine revving at a very high rate. There was a high whining sound. I lost braking as my right foot depressed the pedal all the way to the floor. The car suddenly accelerated forward at an increased speed. It jumped the sidewalk curb, crossed the concrete sidewalk, and slammed into a cinder block wall column on the side of a building. The vehicle felt like it experienced sudden unintended acceleration.
CategoryElectronic Stability Control, Power Train, Wheels
DateNov 29, 2019
StateCA
Description
8/14-car was lacking power, service manager was able to duplicate issue on road test . 8/24-car service for rough idle and lack of power, service stabilitrak light on and check engine light on with an error code of p0171. In september, car started to shake while in park but no check engine light, dealer advise unable to do any repairs unless check engine light on. 11/27- check engine light on again for same code, p0171. Vehicle is currently in shop. Vehicle has had the same issues dec 2018 and at the time of purchase. Gm dealers are not able to fix turbo issue and p0171 issues. My vehicle is not operating as designed and it is a safety issue.
CategoryElectronic Stability Control, Engine, Service Brakes
DateNov 07, 2019
StateNY
Description
When it rains most if the time the vehicle onstar sets off alerts for my antilock brakes and stability to be checked. Dealer said it is normal and not concerning but checked at the 1 year inspection for me. Npf. A month later a rainy day, alerts, and the vehicle wouldn't start. All the lights came on, 'press brake to start' appeared but pressing break did not start it. After an hour of trying various 'tricks' it started with the remote starter. A week later same thing. Rain, alerts, and no start. This time 2 hours of trying various tricks- (emergency break on off/ park pushed all the way up, wheels forward, remote start attempts, onstar diagnostics etc) I had to have it towed. The mechanic from aaa tried and nothing, we towed an hour back to dealership and he tried once more, nothing. Next morning the dealership reported npf. I am picking it up tomorrow but expect to report this happening again soon.
CategoryExterior Lighting
DateSep 24, 2019
StatePA
Description
After I bought this car 1 year and a half ago I had 2 engine problems fixed already. Now, I have been experimenting 4 times a total lack of headlight and panel lights while I am driving. It lasts seconds, the idiot lights come back while I am driving. I was very scared because in one of these times I was driving at night in a busy highway and it was raining heavily, I could not see anything . I took it to mcguire twice for this problem and they can not find anything wrong.
CategoryService Brakes
DateSep 13, 2019
StateFL
Description
I have complin to my dealer about my car excelerating when I hit the brakes . They said they can find a problem , well it happen again on august 29 2019 an it cause a accident I was driving on a 6 lane roadway around 330 in the afternoon I was in cruise control at 45 mph an when I went to stop the car accellerated . I was not able to avoid the car in front of me
CategoryAir Bags
DateJul 23, 2019
StateRI
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2018 buick encore. The contact stated that while driving 55 mph, crashed into the corner panel of an unknown vehicle. There were no warning indicator lights illuminated. The driver frontal and floor air bags deployed. The contact sustained injuries to the legs and medical attention was provided. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic where the body damage was repaired. A police report was filed. There was no fire due to the crash. The local dealer was not contacted and the vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was contacted who provided case number 9-5265716704 however no further assistance was provided. The failure mileage was 6,000. *bf *tr
CategoryAir Bags
DateMar 19, 2019
StateNV
Description
Air bags did not deploy when veichle was hit from behind. 2 people where injured.
CategoryAir Bags
DateFeb 17, 2019
StateFL
Description
Airbags did not deploy upon auto accident. Impact area was front corner fender on passenger side. Possible gas released into passenger side of cabin smelled 'electrical' and 'smoke' filled passenger footboard area. No loss of coolant from car to explain smoke. Airbag warning light remains on dashboard display. Car was traveling at normal highway speed 30-35mph, brakes applied, then crashed into a turning car in front - turning from passenger to driver direction.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateNov 25, 2018
StatePA
Description
During first snow of the season here in pa, had a wet/heavy snow. Snow was removed from windshield, but not the gully below wipers. No biggie, this is how we've done it on every car since I was a kid, cleaning out the gully when wipers cannot go down all the way. As I was driving and snow was coming down, some from above the windshield came down and added to what was in the gully. The wipers stopped working! Imagine my surprise, the wipers came to a stop and were not moving. I could not see if blizzard like conditions, pulled over when I could, and started scraping out the gully. Wipers were freaking out doing a spastic short spurt and would not clear. Re-started car, and did the same thing. Had to get every piece of wet packed snow from area of the gully (under wipers) and re-start car for wipers to function normally again. Again, driving, coming to a stop to make a turn, and snow above the windshield that had accumulated in the heavy snow, fell down to the wiper gully and made wipers stop completely. It seems the design of the wiper motor doesn't just stop where it has to stop and then keep working, as with 99. 9 percent of other cars made in the last 50 years, if it cannot return to complete home, it just stops working. No car I've ever owned has done anything like this. To make matters worse, the wipers were still trying even after being turned off and was pinching my hand and fingers between the hood and wiper arms. As they tried to get out of their spastic mode. It was so bad, I took a bath on trading in this car for a car that is known not to have that happen. An awd car that cannot drive in the snow due to a serious wiper malfunction should not be sold in the usa.
CategoryEngine
DateOct 03, 2018
StateIL
Description
There is a malfunction with the turbo hose on a majority of 2018 buick encore's that require a new hose. There is a nationwide back order on these parts due to all of the repairs. When this item broke I was driving about 70 mph on the interstate, there was a loud pop from the engine compartment and the vehicle would not accelerate appropriately.
CategoryPower Train
DateAug 02, 2018
StateNY
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2018 buick encore. While the vehicle was parked and unoccupied, it inadvertently rolled away and crashed into another vehicle. A police report was filed. There were no injuries. The vehicle was taken to a dealer (nye buick gmc, 1421 genesee st, oneida, ny 13421, (315) 363-2200) where it was awaiting to be diagnosed and repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 5,200.
CategoryFuel/propulsion System
DateJun 10, 2018
StateIN
Description
Every time it rains I am unable to get any gas due to water setting on the port in which I place gas nozzle in to fill tank. Very nervous about the situation due to how costly it could be to fix due to such a poor design
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJun 03, 2018
StateWI
Description
The driver's side blind spot indicator (located on the side mirror) is malfunctioning and giving false and erroneous indications - both false positives and false negatives - this has occurred each time I have driven the vehicle- on the freeway, on the highway, on side streets. If drivers depend on this extremely unreliable safety feature accidents are highly likely to result.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateApr 17, 2018
StateSC
Description
The drivers side blind spot indicator is malfunctioning and giving false and erroneous indications this is due to the incorrect parts being installed at the factory. The dealership said that "control module" from the factory was the incorrect part number for the vehicle and may the cause of the problem, but they are unsure as they have been unable to replace it.

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.

Share your story

Does this ring a bell? Have you had a bad experience too? Sound off and share your experience with other visitors in the comment box below.

Brian Jones

About the Author:

Brian Jones spent more than 20 years working as an ASE Certified Master Tech and Parts Specialist at multiple dealerships. Brian has become an authority in the industry, traveling across the country to consult for car dealerships and contributing his expertise as a writer for several major automotive publications. In his spare time, Brian enjoys working on pickup trucks, muscle cars, Jeeps and anything related to motorsports.

See more posts from Brian Jones
12 COMMENTS
  • Dianna H

    I have the same issues..I bought my 2018 Buick encore from the Buick dealership. Problem started with the car not starting..was told due to cold weather it drained my battery next winter happened again so far I’ve purchased 2 batteries..then my AC started hissing..took it to the dealership was told it was the compressor but factory warranty will take care of it…then one day I was driving on the highway head a loud noise the screw holding undercarriage fell down…then engine light came on took it to dealership and now Iam being told there is a Cell issue ,engine oil cooler leak, water outlet leaking,coolant res.cracked,A/C compressor leak, discharge hose leak,and today now it’s a exhaust flex pipe that need to be replaced…when asked how is this all possible..was told it standard maintenance but that the factory warranty only cover the cell leak..my extra warranty would try to cover the rest ..and they only cover $4,000. So now Iam left thinking did I buy a lemon ? Either way now I have a car I still owe 9,000. On and no warranty left…so distraught….

  • Mary

    Hi,just bought a 2018 Buick Encore, paid cash for it.Three weeks later engine light is on and the airbag light never goes off.I’ve had this suv for three weeks still has dealer plates on it. Car had 27,000 + miles when I bought it , it has 29,000 miles on it now. Did I get a lemon or what, taking it to the dealership today Hope this is’nt going to be a reoccurring matter .I also bought the extra under the hood warranty.

  • Carey

    Bought my encore brand new. It is a 2018. Recently my air conditioner or so I thought has been making a hissing sound. Brought it to a mechanic. He said it needed freon. Well the hissing was still happening. On June 28, 2022 I was in a drive thru after work and the temperature shot up and said overheating. So I parked and turned off the car. Checked the coolant resourvoir and it was empty. Waited till it cooled off then hurried to an auto parts store. Let the car cool down while I done some shopping . Went buy some coolant, poured it into the resourvoir and was able to make it home. Checked coolant empty again. Put more in it after it cooled down. Checked in the morning, it was still there. Took the car for a ride, all the coolant went away. Made an appointment w a mechanic. He said I should bring it to the dealer because it looks like it is leaking near the intake and near the turbo. I have 73000 miles. It is not under warranty anymore. Why would it be leaking already? I am still paying on the car. Seems like alot of people with issues with the turbo. Help please. I can’t afford to spend thousands of dollars.

  • JD F

    Just got my Wife a 2018 Encore with 47000 miles, three days AC stopped getting cold. Took to dealership, gave us a hard time about fixing it, said it had a bad seal. Finally got them to fix it, here we are a week later and the AC is blowing hot again. Is this a common issue?

  • Jordan

    My boyfriend recently hit a deer on the expressway, air bags never went off even though the front passenger side was completely obliterated.

  • Joyce

    I purchased my Buick Encore last year it was a leased vehicle it was running ok and then all of sudden it did a little pull I got the transmission flush on Monday 4th and now it’s jerking and dealership saying it’s not there fault I’m confused and it’s warranty but they act if they did nothing wrong

  • Spenny

    I have a 2018 Buick encore preferred its so far been good just feels like it so could do with more power

  • MN7

    Bulletin 16-NA-405, it freezes in states that have temps below zero. If it is past the manufacturers warranty GM will only partially pay for it if you fight for it. otherwise they pay nothing. I bought my encore new at a MN Buick/ GM dealership. I don’t think they should be allowed to sell cars that shouldn’t be in cold climates and should have to pay for the after GM revision. I have an extra warranty that I purchased at the dealership but it will only pay for the exhaust manifold replacement because the rest of the parts aren’t the original parts, and it won’t replace the original parts because it won’t fix the problem.

  • Farrah B

    Car wouldn’t start. Thought it was key fob. I was wrong. Thought it was the battery. Nope not that either. Would let it run while I ran errands so I didn’t have to keep jumping it. Next day had to jump it twice once in the morning and once in the evening. When I parked it I could smell a foul smell. Pop the hood and the battery was smoking. Getting it towed to dealership today. Gm dealer didn’t even see it yet and they are saying it’s a leaking battery. I personally think I have a lemon. Reason why is because my screen went completely black and I could control the radio at all. Battery was over charged from jumping too many times.

  • Patty B

    I am not sure if I got a lemon but the car was a leased vehicle with only 23,800 miles on it. I bought it January 12, 2021.about a month ago I had to put a new battery in it. Now the sensor has to be replaced. I have only put about 4,000 miles on it. I love the car. I just hope I don’t have any more issues. It’s a 2017 Buick Encore. I paid cash for it so there is not warranty. I really do not want to sue, but I need some info about this car. Thank You!

  • Rebecca H

    I own a 2018 Buick Encore that has ongoing starting issues for over 1 year. Car hard to start and Check Engine Light came on. Took car to local GM Certified Repair Shop replaced the battery (2020). Problem persisted. Car hard to start and Check Engine Light comes on. Returned to local GM Certified Repair Shop and was told the Check Engine Light Code stated that the car needed to be driven more. Drove car more. Problem persisted. Car hard to start and Check Engine Light on again. Returned to same local GM Certified Repair Shop. Was once again told Check Engine Light Code read that the Car needs to be driven more. Drove the car even more (15 -20 miles a day) Problem persisted. Returned to same local GM Certified Repair Shop. Told my Car was getting old. Problem persisted. Returned to same local GM Certified Repair Shop. Told to let my car run for an hour each day in the driveway. Did not follow that advice. Took my Car to a GM Certified Repair Shop 40+ miles from home. Replaced Battery Cable. Problem persisted. Returned to same out of town GM Certified Repair Shop. Replaced Battery. Problem persisted. Now I am driving the car twice daily for 15 miles each time. I am sick and tired of having to leave my car run in the parking lot when I need to go grocery shopping or run errands. I am sick and tired of paying each month for a car I do not trust to even start.

  • Cassandra

    I bought my 2018 buick encore 10/10/20. i purchased it from kia of Cleveland,recently i had it serviced and and the coolant was bone dry and I didn’t even know it! Car wasnt running hot or anything. Well i told them to do what they needed to fix it and they also told me tht i needed an alignment because the driver side tire was already wore out! So they fixed all tht and I thought it would be ok to drive to Montana… on my way I was hit in the rear and my air bags did not deploy, I was almost to my destination when the traction light came on and the my vehicle lost power and check engine light came on. Had it checked and its reading p0299 which is the turbo. It’s under an extended warranty but have to wait til monday to even take it to a dealership out here! So now I’m going to have to rent me a vehicle and hope we can fix it!!!

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead you can to our legal team.

Please select your star rating.

Briefly describe your experience Briefly describe your experience

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? Please enter a valid phone number

Want to know if you could sue? Get a free legal evaluation Lemberg Law?

Get Your No-Obligation
Case Evaluation

Send a secure message to our legal team.

What’s your name? What’s your name?
What’s your email address? What’s your email address?
What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?
Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem
Confidentiality Guarantee: We keep your information completely confidential and will not send you spam or sell your information.