2018 Audi Q7 Problems and Top Complaints – Is Your Car A Lemon?

Electrical, service brakes and engine issues among the top complaints received by the NHTSA from vehicle owners

By Brian Jones | Updated on

By Brian Jones | Updated on

Those in the market for a luxury midsize SUV often trust the 2018 Audi Q7. After all, it’s listed at a premium price, so the quality must be good. Even the company boasts that this modern model provides “exceptional comfort and style.” While it’s not argued that this SUV has plenty of class, there are some major problems that must be addressed. Families across America continue to find themselves stranded without a vehicle because of shoddy electrical systems, malfunctioning engines and poorly working brakes.

Click on other model year to view more problems: 2019

Don’t be stuck with a lemon. You have legal rights to cash, return or buyback.

The law makes Audi pay legal fees.

We've fixed thousands of lemon problems. Message or call 877-795-3666 today.

NHTSA Complaints for the 2018 Audi Q7

Complaint CategoryNumber of Complaints
Unknown Or Other
15
Service Brakes
9
Engine
7
Electrical System
7
Wheels
6
Steering
4
Seat Belts
3
Power Train
3
Vehicle Speed Control
2
Fuel/propulsion System
2

Problems with the Electrical System

It today’s day and age, up-to-date and innovative electronic systems are mandatory in vehicles. This is even more important when someone pays top dollar to drive a luxury SUV.

Sadly, drivers continue to experience problems with the electrical system in this vehicle. Just look at this Edmunds review. “Last October, my husband bought me a brand-new 2018 Q7 car, as a gift, from Audi Silver Spring, Maryland. Surprisingly, in less than a month, a sudden annoying beep, repeatedly announcing an Emergency Call Malfunction, terrified us. After contacting Audi Service, they took the car on November 24th, 2017, and promised to fix it in a day or two, saying they know about 2018 Q7 car defect. This comment rang a bell in our mind. If they already know about it, why Audi sell it without fixing it?! Is this a fair trade?! After more than 20 days later, Audi did not fix the car. Going back and forth, finally Audi’s Service Department told us that they could not fix the car, because a part was not received from Germany! This was not just an irrational excuse; but, also, a gross insult to us for spending over sixty-seven thousand dollars on an Audi car, and receive such poor service! Is this a fair trade?!”

This review goes on to discuss how this customer continued paying the monthly payment and insurance for three months, even though she didn’t have the vehicle. For a company that has nearly 100 service bulletins related to issues with the electrical systems, you would think dealerships would stock the parts they need for repairs of these common issues. It seems the automaker got ahead of itself by providing electronics it doesn’t know how to operate quite yet — nothing like paying them more for a vehicle so they can spend time learning.

Here are some actual complaints logged with the NHTSA about the 2018 Audi Q7 Electrical Problems

MY 2018 AUDI Q7 HAS BEEN IN FOR SERVICE THREE TIMES SINCE I LEASED THE CAR. ASIDE FROM CONTINUED REBOOTS OF THE AUDI COMPUTER SYSTEM OR MMI SYSTEM, THE CAR WOULD FLAG AUDI PRE SENSE WARNINGS AND FORCE THE CAR TO STOP IN THE MIDDLE OF INTERSECTIONS, MID TURN. ONCOMING TRAFFIC WAS ESTIMATED AT 150 YARDS FROM THE INTERSECTION WHEN THE CAR JAMMED TO A STOP. THE SENSORS APPEAR TO STOP THE CAR AFTER IDENTIFYING A FALSE READ. THE CAR IS THEN STALLED IN THE MIDDLE OF AN INTERSECTION CAUSING SIGNIFICANT SAFETY RISK.

WHILE IN REVERSE BACKING UP, THE BACKUP CAMERA UNPREDICTABLY REVERTS TO USELESS “GRAPHIC” MODE DESPITE REPEATEDLY BEING SET TO “CAMERA” MODE. CHANGING THIS SETTING WHILE BACKING UP IS DANGEROUS, DISTRACTING AND UNPREDICTABLE. SOMETIMES IT WORKS CORRECTLY AND STAYS IN CAMERA MODE, OTHER RANDOM TIMES IT REVERTS TO GRAPHICS MODE. THIS IS A KNOWN DEFECT OF MOST 2018 AUDI VEHICLES AND HAS BEEN UPDATED IN LATER RELEASED VEHICLES, BUT NO UPDATE TO EXISTING VEHICLES HAS BEEN OFFERED.

Problems with the Brakes

Most people that purchase three-row SUVs have children. This is more the reason that the braking system must work well, in order to protect these little lives.

Again, an Edmunds review reveals that there are some significant issues with this SUV. “The Audi Q7 2018 or the 2017 are horribly known to have brakes squeal while in reverse. Look it up, do your research and read the forums. Audi is ignoring the issue. Too much money for this car to have insanely loud brake squeal.”

In Service Bulletin #A461903 2034181, Audi advises technicians on how to troubleshoot noisy brakes. They attribute most sounds to worn brakes, improperly installed components or debris. It’s slightly alarming that a service bulletin needs to be issued to teach this to the mechanics. After all, shouldn’t they know these necessary fixes before they come to work in a shop? Most home auto enthusiasts can figure this out on their own; without any training. Maybe the Audi technicians should go back to working at the quick lube.

Here are some actual complaints logged with the NHTSA about the 2018 Audi Q7 Brake Problems

AUDI HAS A PRE SENSE FEATURE THAT WILL AUTOMATICALLY SLAM ON THE BRAKES. IT FAILS CONSTANTLY AND SLAMS ON THE BRAKES AT VARIOUS TIMES. SO FAR IT HAS BEEN AT SLOW SPEEDS, BUT SOMEONE IS GOING TO GET KILLED BY THIS FEATURE. THERE IS NO WAY TO AUTOMATICALLY TURN IT OFF, AND IT TURNS ON EVERY TIME YOU RESTART THE CAR

THE BRAKES HAVE SQUEALED SINCE 3K MILES. NO MATTER THE WEATHER CONDITIONS MAY BE. WE HAVE BEEN TOLD THAT IS NORMAL, BUT I AM RESEARCHING OTHERWISE. AT 5AM LEAVING THE HOME, THE BRAKES SQUEAL, AT 2PM SQUEALING, 5PM SQUEALING, MIDNIGHT SQUEALING. FOR BEING A LUXURY VEHICLE I LOVE AND TRUST, THIS MAKES ME EXTREMELY NERVOUS AND EMBARRASSED WHEN NEIGHBORS ARE OUT AND HEAR THIS SQUEALING. THE BRAKE FOOT PEDAL DOES NOT GLIDE WHEN BEING USED. THE STEERING WHEEL HAS A LOCKING MOTION WHEN BEING USED ON TURNS.

Problems with the Engine

Most importantly, owners expect that the engine in their luxury SUV is going to offer maximum performance and reliability. After all, what else would they be paying so much for?

A quick peek at another Edmunds review reveals how well the engines are working out. “I have had this car for less than a year, and on two separate occasions it has completely shut down while I was driving. Both times the car was towed to the dealership where they could not duplicate the problem. Therefore no repairs were made. Audi will not buy the car back, and I am left wondering when and where I will be stranded with my young children. Hopefully somewhere safe and not far from home. Not cool. I will never buy another Audi.”

It shouldn’t surprise you to hear that this Audi model suffered from a massive recall related to the engine. NHTSA Campaign Number 19V035000 talks about an improperly welded fuel rail that might cause fuel to leak. When this occurs, there’s an increased risk of fire. To fix the problem, Audi must replace the fuel rails. Apparently, the welders working for Audi also need some more training. What is it exactly that the money from all these car sales is going toward? It doesn’t appear they are investing in quality parts or highly trained workers? Customers would be better off buying a budget vehicle and saving themselves the trouble.

Here are some actual complaints logged with the NHTSA about the 2018 Audi Q7 Engine Problems

OUR Q7 3.0T PRESTIGE ENGINE BLEW WHILE DRIVING AND LEFT US STRANDED ON A COUNTRY ROAD AT 12:45 IN THE MORNING. THEN TO ADD INSULT TO INJURY, AFTER FIGHTING WITH AUDI CARE FOR THE LAST MONTH THEY ONLY AGREED TO REIMBURSE US $200 OUT OF A $525 TOW BILL BECAUSE WE DIDN’T CALL THEM TO SCHEDULE THE TOW. WE DIDN’T EVEN KNOW THAT SERVICE EXISTED AND AT 12:45 AM WITH A CAR THAT JUST DIED AND WAS IN THE ROAD, WE JUST WANTED TO CONTACT THE CLOSEST PLACE AND GET OUR CAR OFF THE ROAD AS WE WERE WORRIED ABOUT OUR SAFETY AND GETTING HIT BY ANOTHER VEHICLE.

WHEN ATTEMPTING TO CROSSOVER A BUSY INTERSECTION, AND TRYING TO DETERMINE THE DISTANCE BETWEEN THE ONCOMING TRAFFIC AND MYSELF, THE 2018 AUDI Q7, HAS A HESITATION BEFORE THE VEHICLE STARTS IT ACCELERATION. I HAVE HAD TWO OCCASIONS WHERE THE VEHICLE JUST WOULD START A SLOW ACCELERATION BUT WOULD HESITATE BEFORE ENGAGING AT ITS HIGHER ACCELERATION. THIS CAUSING THE ONCOMING VEHICLES NEARLY HITTING MY VEHICLE. I HAVE TAKEN THIS TO THE LOCAL AUDI DEALERSHIP AND SAID THAT IS NORMAL. I VALIDATED THE OPERATION, WHEN THEY LET ME TEST A NEW AUDI Q7, AND HAD SIMILAR OR WORSE SYMPTOMS. THEIR ONLY WORK AROUND IS TO ENGAGE THE VEHICLE INTO “SPORT” MODE. THAT MODE HELPS WITH THE RESPONSE. BASICALLY IF, I STEP ON THE GAS PEDDLE, I SHOULD EXPECT IT TO DRIVE AND BE RESPONSIVE AND NOT HESITATE. HAVING THAT HESITATION, MAKE IT VERY DIFFICULT TO DETERMINE WHEN ACCELERATE.

Your Lemon Law Legal Rights

Think you have a lemon? Sit back and let the experts work out your lemon case at no cost to you. The law makes Audi pay legal fees. You may be able to get your lemon out of your life. Every year, auto manufacturers buy back, replace or pay cash settlements to thousands of ‘lemon’ owners like you.

Complaint Data

CategorySeat Belts
DateOct 14, 2022
StateVA
Description
The contact owns a 2018 audi q7. The contact stated while driving approximately 30 mph, the seat belt on the passenger's side the second row started to make a clicking sound and tightened independently around the contact's son. The contact's son reported that he felt pressure on his chest and shoulder as the seat belt tightened but was not injured. The contact stated that the seat belt failure had become a constant issue and had stopped using the seat belt. The contact stated no warning light was illuminated. The contact had not taken the vehicle to a local dealer or independent mechanic. The vehicle had not been repaired. The manufacturer had been informed of the failure. The contact researched online and related the failure to nhtsa campaign number: 21v606000 (seat belts). The failure mileage was approximately 50,000.
CategoryParking Brake, Parking Brake:electrical
DateOct 07, 2022
StateNY
Description
The car's parking brake system is not engaging when a door is opened while the car's transmission is in "drive." normal operation requires the parking brake to be engaged when the door is opened. Audi is aware of the issue and has issued a software patch to flash the car's firmware. See https://static. Nhtsa. Gov/odi/tsbs/2019/mc-10158462-9999. Pdf however, this is only done for cars in warranty. Since this is a safety concern it should be done for all cars as a car can roll when a door is opened and the parking brake is not automatically engaged as originally designed.
CategoryElectrical System:instrument Panel:fuel Gauge:fuel Level Float/sensor/sending Unit
DateAug 21, 2022
StateTX
Description
My audi with 42k miles ran out of gas on the interstate highway without any warning. Failure was a fuel sending unit which provides fuel quantity info and the low fuel light. The erroneous display indicated just less than half tank and the display indicated 185 miles to empty. This failure of the engine to suddenly quit on a busy freeway is potentially catastrophic! At a minimum there should be a safety recall requiring the audi company to design the low fuel light to be on a separate circuit.
CategoryEngine
DateAug 18, 2022
StateMI
Description
At approx 56,600 miles I received a low engine coolant error on my vehicle. Upon inspection, all engine coolant was gone from the tank. Engine coolant was refilled by me at home. The next day, I received a low oil error on my vehicle. Upon inspection, the oil was below the minimum level. 1 quart of oil was added to my vehicle and we promptly took the vehicle in for inspection as this did not seem like a coincidence. Upon inspection at motor city euro repair, it was noted that the water pump was leaking causing the engine coolant and oil levels to decrease. Water pump replacement required, which should typically not be a required repair until 100,000 miles. Audi is aware of this issue, but no recall has been made. There is also a class action lawsuit for this issue, but the 2018 q7 prestige 3. 0 is not part of the vehicles in the suit. Total cost of repair was

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.

,375 as the vehicle is 6,600 miles out of warranty. Again, this is a know volkswagen/audi issue and audi us is not recalling.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine, Lane Departure: Assist
DateJun 20, 2022
StateMN
Description
1. Interior color light bars: these light bars developed inconsistency. Audi repaired the inconsistency however now the light bars only display pink (not white) during start up. The dealership tried telling me it's not pink, then claims to be color blind. I have artiest friends who maintain the color is pink. 2. Engine start-stop: dealership confirms the q7 will shut down as part of the start-stop feature before the vehicle has stopped. I explained to the dealership that the q7 speedo claims moving 1 to 2 mph faster than it is moving. Therefore, during slow speed braking, stop sign, the q7 will shut down before it stops moving. Without the engine on, the q7 will lurch to a stop or and forcing the transmission to turn. 3. Low oil light comes on between oil changes sometimes.
CategoryEngine And Engine Cooling:cooling System
DateMay 17, 2022
StatePA
Description
I purchased car july 2nd 2021 with 74956 miles, I just had it towed to audi do to coolant level light coming on. I purchased extended warranty at time of purchase and though this would be covered but was told warranty only covers water pump not the thermostat. Now they are demanding over 2100 to fix. I have seen several other audi owners that have experienced similar issues and believe this could be a dangerous to the owners especially when going on a long trip which my leave you stranded.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateMay 12, 2022
StateGA
Description
Sunroof exploded. No trauma to the sunroof it just popped and glass shattered going down interstate
CategoryTires:tread/belt
DateApr 19, 2022
StateIL
Description
285 45 r 20 all of the treads on each tire is delaminating. The tires are not even a year old and have 90% tread heigh left. There are less than 20000 miles put on this vehicle. I went to have my tires rotated and my mechanic pointed out that the tires were dangerous and treads were cracked and delaminating on all 4 tires. You may need to blow up pictures or zoom in to see accurately
CategoryEngine
DateMar 22, 2022
StateVA
Description
Water pump stopped working properly, creating hazardous situation with my car. Had the car overheated and stopped working while driving, this could have been catastrophic. The only symptom was loss of coolant and resulting warning message from the car. I took it to an independent service center, who diagnosed the problem and replaced at my own expense of 1. 07.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateMar 14, 2022
StateMN
Description
After the shutdown of 3g network, my 2018 audi q7 prestige lost some great features. Audi usa sent a recall 91cd which is basically the notice that 3g network will be shutting down from 2/22. This deactivates app based features like lock/unlock, vehicle monitoring, vehicle related data etc. When taken to the dealership "audi minneapolis" with letter from audi usa, dealership just upgraded the software but refused to upgrade the hardware. They asked 0 to upgrade the hardware. This is really inconvenient for the customer and also a safety issue as I am thinking. Please look into this and pressure audi usa to come up with a resolution. Attached is a chat script with audiusa. Basically customer has to live with the issue.
CategoryService Brakes
DateJan 26, 2022
StateTX
Description
I recently purchased a cpo 2018 audi q7, and shortly after purchase, I encountered the problem indicated in this tsb about break squeal (https://static. Nhtsa. Gov/odi/tsbs/2018/mc-10153128-9999. Pdf) I contacted the dealer (audi north austin, located at 12971 pond springs road, austin, tx 78729) to fix this problem, but was refused because my car does not meet the criteria specified in the tsb, namely 24 months / 24,000 miles (my car has 27,700 miles). In doing so, I found another tsb (https://static. Nhtsa. Gov/odi/tsbs/2018/mc-10153129-9999. Pdf) with the same problem as in my car. And it has different criteria, namely 48 months/50,000 mile. In this regard, I would like to ask why there are different criteria for the same problem? Why are 2017 audi q7 models has 48 months/50,000 miles to fix this problem, but 2018 audi q7 only 24 months/24,000 miles ?
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Adaptive Cruise Control, Forward Collision Avoidance: Warnings, Service Brakes
DateDec 28, 2021
StateWA
Description
Icy road, pulling up to stop sign, at 5-8 mph , had just pulled out of parking space, touched brakes to slow down, brakes locked up, tried to pump to release brakes with no response, car stopped brakes released.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateDec 02, 2021
StateCA
Description
Low coolant, and found coolant leaking from waterpump
CategoryTires
DateSep 13, 2021
StateCA
Description
Noticed front goodyear eagle sport 285/45r20 tread are cracking and peeling. This is my second set of at the same oem tire having the same phenomenon as original tires that came with vehicle when purchase new. Per dealership, this is a known issue with goodyear tires and was recommended to switch to pirelli tires. Current tires are still under manufacture warranty but if there is a known issue, why is goodyear still selling tire? This failure seems to occur after about 15k to 18k miles of usage. Concern tread will tear apart at high speed and could cause an accident on there road.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateAug 03, 2021
StateWA
Description
Dear leadership @ nhtsa, on july 5th, I reported an incident of air conditioner not working on my audi q7 car with dealer- audi bellevue, located at 1533 120th ave ne, bellevue washington 98005. Findings from the service team was, faulty control module and it was replaced. However, this replacement did not fix the problem. Further investigation led to puncture in the condenser as the cause. I was told the condenser had to be replaced. I spoke to my service advisor and supervisor of the service advisor. My question to them was “how can the condenser get punctured, which is under the hood of the car. My car never met with any accident”? Per dealer supervisor, while driving rocks from the road, can make its way through the front grill and make a hole on the condenser and this is a known issue. My concern is, if this is a known problem, why is audi still sticking to this design where it can let rocks pass through the front grill to make a dent on the condenser. This is causing a huge inconvenience/hardship to customers like me. I had to spend

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.

,542. 62 for the condenser replacement(though I had a platinum extended warranty) and had to leave my car at the workshop for 11 days. Now that the condenser is replaced and working fine, the issue does not resolve here, rocks can potentially come through the front grill and can make a dent on the condenser again. This is still an open issue. If that happens again, I will have to go through the same cycle of hardship/hazard/inconvenience. From inspection standpoint, the punctured condenser should be available with my dealer. I have not made a claim through insurance, so no inspection is made on this condenser. I am not certain when the rocks would have puncture the condenser and there is no indication when the condenser was punctured. Since I noticed my air conditioner not working on june 27th, I believe this incident of condenser puncture could have happened a week before.
CategoryPower Train
DateJul 22, 2021
StateNJ
Description
When I was driving and trying to make a right turn to merge into the traffic, the transmission suddenly stalled and stuck in neutral, put my car in the right lane with large traffic on the lane and forced other cars to make sudden stop. After restarting the engine multiple times, it was suspected that somehow the transmission is always in neutral while the onboard system showing it is in driving mode. I had to get out of the car to push it to a safe side road. This is all sudden while car engine is running. Initially the onboard dashboard shows transmission malfunction, but after restarting even that error message disappeared, while the transmission is still not engaging.
CategorySeat Belts
DateApr 12, 2021
StateFL
Description
Stationary vehicle: for the last 3-4 week the seat belt does not want to fasten. I have to really work with it to fasten. Also ,it is difficulty to un-fasten once it is fastened. This problem is intermittent and is getting hung more frequently. I ask the audi dealer in melbourne to check the seat belt about 5- months ago. They said they could not reproduce the problem with the seat belt. But to me this is a real safety problem.
CategoryEngine, Power Train, Unknown Or Other
DateApr 06, 2021
StateCO
Description
At times, the "stop-start" system seems to falter when the vehicle has slowed to almost a full stop, but not quite. If I try to accelerate I get a few seconds when nothing happens. I feel that it is either a transmission caught between shifts or an engine falter. I have mentioned this to the dealer, but was told that "that's how it is".
CategorySteering
DateMar 03, 2021
StateNJ
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2018 audi q7. The contact stated while driving at 25 mph, a warning message indicating 'steering malfunction please vehicle' illuminated. The contact pulled over, shut off the vehicle and attempted to restart the vehicle, however the message was still displayed. The contact left the vehicle at a parking lot over night. The contact had the manufacturer tow the vehicle to a local dealer bell audi (782 us-1, edison, nj 08817) who diagnosed the failure as a steering wheel system issue that would need to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired due to cost. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 60,328.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateFeb 01, 2021
StateCA
Description
Sun roof spontaneously exploding while driving straight on a highway.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateDec 22, 2020
StateTX
Description
In may of 2020 I severely hit my head (left side of forehead) on the c-pillar while exiting the left-rear seat. The vehicle was parked at the time at the time of my head injury. The injury was caused because the c-pillar is very close to the rear headrest, and to exit the vehicle one generally has to look down at the ground where one is about to step. It is my understanding that there is currently a safety recall (70h8 nhtsa: 20v658) for this vehicle, a 2018 audi q7. (the c-pillar is the third vertical beam from the front of the vehicle.) the recall states "an increased risk of injury if an unbelted passenger's head contacts the c-pillar in a crash." my experience is that there is also an increased risk of head injury on the c-pillar as passengers exit the vehicle from the rear doors while the vehicle is parked. I reported my problem to the manufacturer and they responded on dec. 22, 2020: "audi of america has reviewed your concerns and we see the experience as being no fault of the vehicle or the 70h8 campaign."
CategoryService Brakes
DateDec 01, 2020
StateMI
Description
Loud squeaking noise when backing up/on reverse coming from front brakes. Advised audi dealership at rocherst hills, mi for the issue when the car was less then 2 years old and with only 20,000 miles on it, but service adviser said there was no bulletin tsb, service campaig or recall for the the issue. I should pay out of my pocket for the service. After speaking to an audi representative directly, I was advised that there was a tsb for the car and my car it should be serviced. When contacted the same dealership I was advised that I was out of 24,000 miles (by 1,000 miles) or 2 years warranty (out 4 months) and they could not fix it. When I complained to them that the other advised told me there is no coverage available, when my car was under coverage limits, then the dealer told me that the adviser dos not work with them anymore. I opened a complain with audi customer care and after 2 weeks, audi customer service stated that the dealer advised that I need to replace rotor and pads due to dust'.. Audi could not do anything as they have a relatioship with the dealership, as per customer service repersentative. The squeaing is very, very loud, my 3 kids and people around get scared or wondering what is happening when I press brakes while on reverse. Neither audi usa or audi rocherster hills, mi care about their customers safetybut just our money.
CategoryService Brakes
DateNov 27, 2020
StateMN
Description
Front brakes have issues from the beginning with brand new tires from the dealer. Dealer changed all tires with brand new tires again and brake pads for front brakes six months ago. Vehicle makes noise when I push brake. Vehicle is now with the dealer and they are trying to figure out. This is not at all acceptable being a k vehicle. Audi should discontinue these defective vehicles and refund the money. This is also a road hazard and risky issue to drive. This is a major safety issue.
CategoryElectrical System, Unknown Or Other
DateOct 09, 2020
StateFL
Description
I went to pick my 3 yo twins at school. Opened my door, got off the car and closed it, with keys inside my purse at front passenger seat (my usual routine). Was able to open passenger's back door, buckled my son to car seat and closed his door. When turned to other side to open the door for my girl, noted car was locked and ignition turned off with my 3yo son inside. All doors were locked despite keys being inside car and ignition off. Remote control was operable with batteries functioning well. School director called 911 and fire department went to assist. They were unable to open door and after ~20minutes of my son being inside, buckled and in florida heat, emt and fire fighters had to break a window to get him out. When I was able to get him, he was extremely hot with elevated temperature and soaked in sweat. Thankfully I was not with my 3month old baby that day. Since my boy's temperature was coming down nicely with supportive measures I did not take him to the hospital and decided to observe at home. Car had service 6 days prior to this event in audi fort myers next day on 10/08/10, took car to audi fort myers and reported event to service department, computer system was checked and no event was registered. Then I was told by employees at audi, they could not explain the event but nothing they can do and no need to report to audi usa.
CategoryEngine, Fuel/propulsion System, Unknown Or Other
DateJan 15, 2020
StateNJ
Description
Kept light appears on dash that add 1 qt of oil for 6 times. Before this light appears, car always suddenly stopped while im driving or parked. Last saturaday 1/11, my car was suddenly stopped on highway and engine was running and so loud after car stopped but cannot change any gears for few seconds. I'm so frustrated and scared to operate this vehicle. I went to audi service but they don't found any problems and refilled oil again. In my 6 times of this experience, light will be appeared and car will be stopped while operating again. Must be fixed this matter by audi
CategorySteering, Wheels
DateJan 03, 2020
StateCA
Description
Purchased a new 2018 audi q7 late june 2018 with goodyear eagle all season tires (285/45r20). After about 24,000 miles, notice steering was drifting towards the passenger side while driving on highway and road in normal conditions. Then notice both front tires started to "chunk" on outer edges of tire. Rear tires are still in good shape and wearing evenly at 7/32 tread depth. Dealer at fremont, ca acknowledge this is a known issue and will not replace tires after 12,000 miles. Per dealer report, lf and rf are "5+ cupping". Dealer service advisor recommended to call goodyear. Call goodyear toll free number to file a warranty claim. Goodyear also acknowledge audi is aware this is an issue on vehicle and provided a warranty claim number. Very surprised both goodyear and audi acknowledge there is a design defect but dealer is not willing to replace tires under manufacture warranty especially since car is drifting to the right under normal driving conditions. Drifting could be a safety issue and potentially create an accident.
CategorySeat Belts
DateDec 18, 2019
StateLA
Description
When coming to an abrupt stop to prevent a collision the middle row passenger seatbelt came unbuckled. My 2. 5 year old is in a forward facing car seat buckled into this seat. The buckle came lose causing the seat the be free.
CategoryService Brakes
DateDec 09, 2019
StateNC
Description
Loud squeaking noise when backing up coming from brakes. Noise is alarming and causes one to immediately brake, and noise dramatically alarms those around and in vehicle. 2018 audi q7 with 26k miles. Dealer did not advise of tsb advising self... Only aware after calling audi directly. Dealer service advised brake and rotor replacement if problem continues. Internet research reveals problem existed since 2016 q7 model. Audi never informed us directly and dealer service did not inform us... We needed to call and or inform both before being advised of tsb. Nhtsa called and informed self of audi's decision to not do recall and only issue tsb. Where is the responsibility for advising vehicle owners of such problems.... Dealer service rep did not advise of tsb initially... Owner advised to repair and absorb cost. Once tsb discuss by owner, arrangement was made for cost sharing.
CategoryWheels
DateNov 30, 2019
StateAZ
Description
I noticed rough handling and road noise at 7,000 miles. I checked the tires and they were worn unevenly. The dealer said they needed to be rotated and that it would go away, but it's been another 9,000 miles and it hasn't improved. The tires are pirelli scorpion verde all season run flats. They are wearing horribly only on the inside half of the tires. I had a four wheel alignment done, but it hasn't helped the uneven wear. The wear pattern is wavy, like a roller coaster. I believe there is an issue with these tires. The car is a 2018 audi q7.
CategoryWheels
DateNov 26, 2019
StateCA
Description
The oem goodyear eagle run flat technology (rft) tires that were originally installed on the vehicle are starting to "chunk" on the outer edges of the tire. The tread is still at 8/32 and the car only has 9,700 miles on it. This is a well documented issue on 2018 audi q7's with this tire, so much so that there is a tsb out for the issue. However, audi and the dealership have declined to replace the defective tires even though they are clearly wearing differently than the back ones. Their explanation is that this is "normal wear", but no other car I have driven has had this type of tire wear.
CategoryElectrical System, Vehicle Speed Control
DateSep 23, 2019
StateCA
Description
The driver assist system on the car has been completely malfunctioning. It will slam on the brakes when turning, and has almost caused several accidents. The vehicle has been in the dealership for a total of more than a month with no resolution
CategoryFuel/propulsion System
DateAug 27, 2019
StateSD
Description
Driving on interstate 29 and suv started acting funny and then stopped. Called audi care and they had truck towed to omaha ne. They put in new fuel tank, pump and line. Had my suv in shop for two weeks less than two weeks later driving and all the sudden my gas light comes on. I stopped and put gas in and got home. Drove into the garage and fuel was running out from under the truck. Called audi care again and couldn't get towed until fuel stopped leaking because of safety concerns. Truck has been in shop for over two weeks again. So, out of over 6 weeks I have had my q7 for less than two weeks to drive.
CategoryWheels
DateJul 25, 2019
StateCO
Description
Excessive tire wear continental tires installed as original equipment worn out at 14,000 miles; identical tires installed and showing excessive wear at 3500 miles.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJun 23, 2019
StateMN
Description
Vehicle gets locked and can't unlock it even when keys are in pants pocket. Need to go to driver seat and unlock it. It happened to multiple times when I had the key in my pocket and I came to back seat to get something and closed the door. Car got locke and could not unlock it from rear seats. I had to climb over to driver seat to unlock from there. This is a safety issue to me because toddler can be in the back seat and get locked. To me it does not make sense when keys and inside the car. Please look into this matter. This is a k car and this is what happens. These companies are nothing bit money grabbing organizations!!!
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Dynamic Brake Support/brake Assist
DateMay 29, 2019
StateNC
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2018 audi q7. The contact stated that the autonomous brake assist function engaged more than twice without warning. The failure occurred while at an intersection and upon making a left turn. The vehicle had come to a complete stop when a red warning indicator illuminated and indicated to take the vehicle to the dealer for servicing. The contact was uncertain if the driver assist function was faulty and could cause a crash. Audi asheville (621 brevard rd, asheville, nc 28806, (828) 232-4000) initially indicated that this was a normal condition. After the failure recurred, the vehicle was taken back to the dealer for further diagnostic testing. The manufacturer was notified and the contact was waiting to determine if they had a remedy. The failure mileage was not available.
CategoryEngine
DateApr 26, 2019
StateIL
Description
Our q7 3. 0t prestige engine blew while driving and left us stranded on a country road at 12:45 in the morning. Then to add insult to injury, after fighting with audi care for the last month they only agreed to reimburse us 0 out of a 5 tow bill because we didn't call them to schedule the tow. We didn't even know that service existed and at 12:45 am with a car that just died and was in the road, we just wanted to contact the closest place and get our car off the road as we were worried about our safety and getting hit by another vehicle.
CategoryElectrical System, Service Brakes
DateApr 02, 2019
StateGA
Description
Audi has a pre sense feature that will automatically slam on the brakes. It fails constantly and slams on the brakes at various times. So far it has been at slow speeds, but someone is going to get killed by this feature. There is no way to automatically turn it off, and it turns on every time you restart the car
CategoryWheels
DateFeb 05, 2019
StateFL
Description
I bought a brand new 2018 audi q7 pretige with goodyear run flat tires. All four tires failed or are failing with tread loss and tread separation/delaminating. I bought tire hazard coverage at added cost. At 6500 miles one tire lost a large tread section, and this tire was replaced by audi bend oregon. As of today when I took car to audi naples fl, now the other three tires at 17000 miles all show defect. Audi will not stand by the warranty state no it's over 12000 miledelamination/fraying tread. Audi states its a goodyear tire issue but audi put these tires on the cars they sold. They stated that due to problems audi puts perrilli or continental tires and no longer goodyear. I never got an alert to defect or to getting tires inspected for a defect. They now want me to pay for 4 new tires without any allowance for my upfront warranty cost and the fact audi stated they were switching out to perelli tires but it expired for me. These tires are not safe and I will attach pictures of the defects. And the dot numbers of the 3 organic final tires and the one replaced - nec4jj1r4617 nec4jj1r3917 nec4jj1r4717 nec4jj1r4717
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJan 27, 2019
StateIL
Description
The car can be locked by a toddler from rear seat even when the child safety is enabled while the car is idle. It does not matter whether the remote/key is inside or outside the car. When the car is idle, you cannot unlock the car using the remote and the toddler will be locked inside the car. This case is the same problem as the case of nhtsa id number: 10626358, which was reported for 2014 audi q7 in 2014. I searched online and found lots of people are reporting similar problem. But this case potentially can be deadly for the toddler if the car is parked in a non-open space. The 2014 case report mentioned that this problem has been there for at least 5 year before 2014. So, it has been almost 10 year since the problem was reported. Fortunately, the mother was inside the car together with the toddle and she unlocked the car from inside. Otherwise, it will be a tragic day for us with almost 0 degree and the snow storm. Audi need to disable the 'lock all door from rear' function. This is a very serious safety concern and audi should pay attention to fix the problem. In summary, there are two situations that the toddler can lock himself inside the car: 1. The car is not running. The toddler can lock himself in the car if the parents accidently left the remote in the car. For this case, the parents can unlock the car with the other set of remote. 2. The car is running. The toddler can lock himself in the car no matter where the remote is. But in this case, the door cannot be unlocked with the remote. So, if you are outside the car (for example, just finished buckling up the toddler), you are out of luck. I don't know what you can do before the car is out of gas. And this situation is more dangerous.
CategoryElectronic Stability Control, Service Brakes, Wheels
DateJan 15, 2019
StateTX
Description
I was taking a u-turn under a freeway in my 10 month old audi q7. As I was finishing the u-turn a stabilization error message appeared and my brakes went out. I was finishing my uturn and couldn't slow down soi ended up running into the cement barrier with my right back wheel and went onto the feeder. Luckily it was at 5am so no other cars were on the road. Hitting the barrier slowed by car down to 5 mph. As I straightened out my car, the brakes started working again. I had the car towed to the dealership. The dealership said audi of america had to look at it. The engineer finally came to look at it on jan 3rd (3 weeks after the accident). He said that they couldn't test drive the car because the control arm was broken but the tests they ran showed that nothing was wrong with the car and told me to call my insurance. I asked how they knew nothing was wrong and they said tests were run. I asked how they explained the error messages (stabilization error and safety error). They said those came up after the accident. They don't the time of the accident so how do they know this?. I took pictures of the error messages and know the timing of that. I asked for a print out of their findings 3 times. It has been 10 days and I still have not gotten anything from them. The car is still sitting at the dealership.
CategoryService Brakes, Steering
DateNov 01, 2018
StateTX
Description
The brakes have squealed since 3k miles. No matter the weather conditions may be. We have been told that is normal, but I am researching otherwise. At 5am leaving the home, the brakes squeal, at 2pm squealing, 5pm squealing, midnight squealing. For being a luxury vehicle I love and trust, this makes me extremely nervous and embarrassed when neighbors are out and hear this squealing. The brake foot pedal does not glide when being used. The steering wheel has a locking motion when being used on turns.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateSep 14, 2018
StateNJ
Description
Car is equipped with 360 degree cameras and system defaults to graphic mode (vs camera mode) in an unpredictable manner. This requires the user, while in reverse, to change the settings back to camera mode in order to see the vehicle clearly in the system. This is a safety-related defect due to the distracting nature of the unpredictability of the state of your backup camera, the cognitively complex and distracting steps needed to change to camera view while you are backing up, and the safety issue caused by not having the cameras work properly. I understand that this affects nearly every audi with this option sold in the 2018 model year. It is also my understanding that audi has acknowledged this safety issue but has refused to offer any solution for over a year -- and more importantly, has continued to knowingly sell thousands of vehicles with this defect, and has misrepresented the safety features of these cars.
CategoryElectrical System
DateSep 13, 2018
StateSC
Description
While in reverse backing up, the backup camera unpredictably reverts to useless "graphic" mode despite repeatedly being set to "camera" mode. Changing this setting while backing up is dangerous, distracting and unpredictable. Sometimes it works correctly and stays in camera mode, other random times it reverts to graphics mode. This is a known defect of most 2018 audi vehicles and has been updated in later released vehicles, but no update to existing vehicles has been offered.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateAug 31, 2018
StateWV
Description
The overhead camera view will not stay set. This is a safety issue as one cannot see the area around the car when parking. This is apparently a software problem and has been known to audi since august 2017. They have yet to address it.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateAug 27, 2018
StateGA
Description
Reverse birds eye camera often flips to a different mode and you never know what camera view you will get. Happens once out of every 2-5 reverses. This is a safety-related defect due to the unpredictability of the state of your backup camera. I must then go through a multi step process to revert it back. This appears to affect nearly every audi with this option sold in the 2018 model year.
CategoryElectrical System, Power Train
DateAug 23, 2018
StateWA
Description
When car is placed in reverse a "p" or park is still displayed in the instrument panel. This has happed several times. Audi service was provided pictures and video of occurrences and they said they would get back to me. They never did. Also now have sos malfunction warning displayed. Car only has 7k miles on it.
CategorySteering
DateJul 03, 2018
StateTN
Description
Steering wheel does not align with the driver seat; the center of the seat is about 1" (one inch) to the right of the center of the steering wheel
CategoryEngine
DateMay 15, 2018
StateTX
Description
When attempting to crossover a busy intersection, and trying to determine the distance between the oncoming traffic and myself, the 2018 audi q7, has a hesitation before the vehicle starts it acceleration. I have had two occasions where the vehicle just would start a slow acceleration but would hesitate before engaging at its higher acceleration. This causing the oncoming vehicles nearly hitting my vehicle. I have taken this to the local audi dealership and said that is normal. I validated the operation, when they let me test a new audi q7, and had similar or worse symptoms. Their only work around is to engage the vehicle into "sport" mode. That mode helps with the response. Basically if, I step on the gas peddle, I should expect it to drive and be responsive and not hesitate. Having that hesitation, make it very difficult to determine when accelerate.
CategoryElectrical System, Unknown Or Other, Vehicle Speed Control
DateApr 09, 2018
StateAZ
Description
The 2018 audi q7 has been in for service three times since I leased the car on 9/11/2017. My initial inquiry related to technology issues was back on december 22, 2017 that was shortly followed up by a service appointment. After your team assessed the issue and allegedly reset the system, I checked out of the service department, only to experience the same technology issue as I was driving off the lot. Your team proceeded to check the vehicle back in for further investigation. Aside from continued reboots of the audi computer system or mmi system, the car would flag audi pre sense warnings and force the car to stop in the middle of intersections, mid turn. Oncoming traffic was estimated at 150 yards from the intersection when the car jammed to a stop. The sensors appear to stop the car after identifying a false read. The car is then stalled in the middle of an intersection causing significant safety risk. Audi replaced the mmi system and the fuel tank after identifying a faulty valve. After the repairs, the vehicle continued to have the same issues. Audi was not able to identify the source of the issue and claimed that the pre sense system sensors were set to a high sensitivity. They also claimed that a pothole or a bird could set off the sensors, causing the vehicle to stop in the middle of an intersection. This seems like a serious safety issue. By the way, I was driving a loaner car for over three months while they attempted to fix my vehicle and false pre sense warnings are common.
CategoryService Brakes, Structure:body:hatchback/liftgate
DateJan 17, 2018
StateNY
Description
2018 audio q. Consumer writes in regards to parking brake malfunction. *ld the consumer was informed that the vehicle must be put in to neutral and select the "p" for parking. The consumer stated the emergency brake was not activated because the vehicle was on level land. The consumer stated the vehicle rolled into a parked vehicle. No alarms went off indicating the vehicle was not in park. The rear liftgate would not open when using a foot. It needed to be charged. *js

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.

Share your story

Does this ring a bell? Have you had a bad experience too? Sound off and share your experience with other visitors in the comment box below.

Brian Jones

About the Author:

Brian Jones spent more than 20 years working as an ASE Certified Master Tech and Parts Specialist at multiple dealerships. Brian has become an authority in the industry, traveling across the country to consult for car dealerships and contributing his expertise as a writer for several major automotive publications. In his spare time, Brian enjoys working on pickup trucks, muscle cars, Jeeps and anything related to motorsports.

See more posts from Brian Jones
1 COMMENT
  • Hassan H

    My Audi Q7 2018 that I purchased in September 2019 has excessively squeaky brakes. My brakes have been making a loud noise when I back out my garage since I bought it. I initially thought they made noise because they were new but after 2 months that wasnt the case. I bought the car to Audi last week because my friend who tech said it was known issue with my Vin and year with the front brakes so my warranty and Audi care should cover it. Audi said it’s outside of the recall miles. My brakes are at 4mm with only 2700 miles to date, which means Carvana should of fixed this before I got the vehicle.

    1. Carvana never took my check in September so in October 25th they alert me that they have no check on file. So I stopped using my car for 3 weeks because I had to reapply for another loan and mail them a new check.

    2. When my car was dropped off it had an excessive amount of scratches that wern’t reported online. They recommend I took it to a body shop to get it repair by their insurance.

    3. The brake issue, I work from home and barely drive my truck. Carvana said it passed their brake inspection with 5mm it’s no way I wore down brake pads to 4mm in 2700 miles. They been dropping the ball with everything else with my truck and I know they did with these brakes also.

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead you can to our legal team.

Please select your star rating.

Briefly describe your experience Briefly describe your experience

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? Please enter a valid phone number

Want to know if you could sue? Get a free legal evaluation Lemberg Law?

Get Your No-Obligation
Case Evaluation

Send a secure message to our legal team.

What’s your name? What’s your name?
What’s your email address? What’s your email address?
What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?
Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem
Confidentiality Guarantee: We keep your information completely confidential and will not send you spam or sell your information.