2022 Toyota Camry Problems and Top Complaints – Is Your Car A Lemon?

Electrical system, forward collision avoidance, and exterior lighting issues are among the top complaints to the NHTSA from vehicle owners

By Brian Jones | Updated on

By Brian Jones | Updated on

Launched 3.5 decades ago, the new 2022 Toyota Camry was expected to continue a long line of pleasing customers and being one of the top sedans on the road. The automaker claims this model is the “cure for the common commute.” However, there are problems with a faulty electrical system and headlights, and there are forward collision avoidance issues too.

Click on other model year to view more problems:  2018   2019   2020   2021

Don’t be stuck with a lemon. You have legal rights to cash, return or buyback.

The law makes Toyota pay legal fees.

We've fixed thousands of lemon problems. Message or call 877-795-3666 today.

NHTSA Complaints for the 2022 Toyota Camry

Complaint CategoryNumber of Complaints
Forward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking
3
Service Brakes
2
Vehicle Speed Control
2
Structure:body
2
Tires
2
Electrical System
2
Exterior Lighting:headlights:high/low Beam Dimmer Switch
1
Forward Collision Avoidance: Warnings
1
Engine
1
Visibility:rearview Mirrors/devices
1

Most Common Problems with the 2022 Toyota Camry

Forward collision avoidance tops the list of complaints to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) with drivers citing terrifying safety issues. Electrical system and exterior lighting problems are also high on the list.

There is also one very unusual complaint that relates to visibility and structure. A 2022 Toyota Camry owner from Virginia states that the mirror housing covers on both the driver and passenger sides are melting. Toyota refuses to replace the covers under warranty stating “the failure was due to climate.”

Forward Collision-Avoidance Issues

Today’s modern safety systems are created to offer more protection on the road. If they aren’t working, drivers and occupants are in danger, as can be found with the 2022 Toyota Camry.

A Terrifying Experience

A rental client from California describes an experience driving on the highway as “absolutely terrifying.”

“I had been using the adaptive cruise control, but I braked because there was traffic ahead. I was slowing down reasonably with the flow of traffic and all of a sudden the auto brake went on and slammed the car to a full stop! The pickup truck behind me had to slam his brakes and swerve and came within inches of plowing into me. The jolt threw me forward and terrified me. It was as if I wasn’t driving the car – the car did it. So dangerous!!!

Camry Won’t Let Driver Accelerate

A complaint from an owner in Indiana describes how the “car allowed me to roll out into oncoming traffic and then took away my acceleration!” The incident happened on a road with 2 lanes of traffic going in the same direction. “The traffic was heavy but a car left a gap for me to pull out into the lane closest to me.

“I stepped on the gas but I believe my car detected the cars in the far lane and applied the brakes.” This led to limited control of acceleration until the driver managed to steer the nose of the car so that it wasn’t pointed at the far lane of traffic.

“When driving in a high traffic urban area where the street is never completely empty of cars, you do not want your vehicle fighting you for control when you pull out into a break in traffic.”

What Happens When the Electrical System Malfunctions?

The infotainment system has been an issue for an owner from New Jersey.

“Roughly between 5 and 15 times, throughout a 30 minute drive, the map will glitch and freeze and so will any music being streamed via android auto. This happens no matter which phone or cable is connected. This is extremely annoying and distracting to me when driving and frankly inexcusable for a brand new 2022 car with 0 miles on it that I bought 8 months ago.”

“Also, the Rear Camera Detection system often fails saying that there is dirt on the camera when there clearly isn’t any. Finally the key fob sometimes fails to work.”

An owner from Rhode Island experienced issues with several safety and infotainment systems not operating. This included the radio and rear backup camera. The vehicle had multiple warning lights relating to these systems. “The Adaptive Cruise Control, Automatic Emergency Braking, Blind Spot Warning, Forward Collision Warning, Lane Departure Warning, Lane Keeping Assistance, Parking Collision Warning, and Rear Cross Traffic Warning were all stated to be non-operational by the vehicle’s dashboard.“

There are also complaints about forward collision avoidance that highlight electrical issues. For example, a 2022 Camry owner from Alabama was driving on Interstate 65 when, with no prior warning, multiple warnings appeared on the dashboard and the driver lost all forward power.

“My power steering malfunctioned and I was forced to immediately slow up the car and bring it to a stop. The warnings that appeared were “Hybrid System Malfunction”, “Braking Power Low”, “Maintenance Required”, “Pre-Collision System Malfunction”, and “Check Engine”. I had about 5 lights appear on my dash as well. The fact that I lost power steering means I could have easily crashed if I wasn’t careful.”

Problems with the Exterior Lighting

If the headlights of your car don’t work you aren’t going to see the road at night, increasing the risk of an accident.

This is why a Camry owner from North Carolina was extremely worried when the low-beam headlights only projected about 50 feet in front of his car that only had 30 miles on the clock. He said he “lived in a rural area with limited streetlights and was concerned about a possible crash due to the failure while driving in low light conditions.”

The dealer couldn’t find any issues.

A Florida resident who rented a 2022 Camry found that” the daytime running lights were still running even at night on the auto setting.” But, the headlights were not on while on the auto setting, and the taillights weren’t working either.

The only solution was to turn off the auto setting and use a manual setting.

What If Your 2022 Toyota Camry is a Lemon? Your Lemon Law Rights

The fact that the 2022 Toyota Camry has problems doesn’t mean that every vehicle is a lemon. But lemons do come off the production line, and if you end up with one, Lemberg Law can help you resolve the problem.

Auto manufacturers buy back, replace or pay cash settlements to thousands of owners every year. So, if you think you’ve got a lemon, contact us via our Helpline or fill in our contact form.

We will assess your problem free of charge because the law says Toyota must pay the legal bills that relate to lemon law cases.

Complaint Data

CategoryService Brakes
DateJan 25, 2023
StateWA
Description
I was driving down a steep hill with two curves. Shortly before the first curve near the top of the hill I attempted to decelerate by pressing the brake pedal. There was no response whatsoever. I tried a couple times then realized that I had to do something different. I put the car into neutral and then actually reverse and nothing happened. I didn't hear the engine change or anything. I tried the e-parking brake to no avail. I then tried the power button for a few seconds. All the while hitting the brakes. By this time I was near the first big curve and had to steer. Given the terrain I didn't think I could drive onto a curb. After the second curve I was in the oncoming lane and noted a car coming up the hill towards me. I was able to change lanes and pump the brakes once or twice more as I got to the bottom of the hill at a high rate of speed. I plowed through the t intersection and through a guardrail overlooking the a steep drop off to the farmland below and a ditch. Evidently I rolled the car at least once before coming to a stop and notifying emergency responders. The car is currently at the usaa lot waiting for an inspection by someone (figuring out who to engage). There was a general warning light on when I started the car shortly before the accident. I assumed it was due to condensation on cameras preventing the rear cross traffic sensors. The light went off when put into drive and I didn't have any other symptoms.
CategoryTires
DateJan 13, 2023
StateNY
Description
On november 17, 2022 at approximately 1:30pm the 3 1/2 month brand new 2022 toyota camry with approximately 5000 miles was being driven northbound on interstate 85 in the left lane in dry conditions. Then suddenly a noise was heard and the car began to veer out of control to the left towards the center median and embankment. The car finally came to a stop down the embankment. Upon exiting the vehicle and walking around the car it was noticed that the passenger rear tire sidewall had completely separated from the tread, leaving two distinct and separate pieces of the tire remaining. Those two pieces were the outside side wall and bead as one piece and the second piece was the tread and inside sidewall and bead which was still attached to the wheel. There was also damage to the front nose and rear of the car, wheels and cut on one of the other tires' sidewall. The tire that became separated had no punctures or damage to the inside sidewall as reported by two service technicians at toyota of bristol, tennessee, (see attached note by technician). Two tennessee police officers responded, saying we were lucky to survive the accident. There was no prior indication of loss of tire pressure from the tpms system on the car before this incident, and tire pressures were checked just a few days before on november 14, 2022. That day, the car was repaired by toyota of bristol, sufficient to continue our journey home to ny. Upon returning home, we brought the car to the dealership we purchased the car from (mariano rivera toyota) and they provided the attached estimate with damage indicated and part numbers that include, but are not limited to, front bumper, front end covers, suspension control arms, struts, fender liners, front fender, rear quarter panel, rear bumper, wheel damage, roof damage, along with other damages, detailed in the attached estimate. All this damage was caused by a defective tire that had a sidewall separation from the tread resulting in loss of control
CategoryTires, Tires:pressure Monitoring And Regulating Systems
DateJan 04, 2023
StateMS
Description
On interstate a warning goes off for tire pressure. I'm thinking it's just the temperature no big deal. Could not read entire message until I stopped. Within 30 minutes that tire blew completely off the rim. Was lucky enough to immediately get off side of interstate this is 2 tires that have blown out on me in a car I purchased 13 months ago!!! Ium a single older woman and bought a toyota to feel safe when I travel. I no longer feel safe with these tires!!!!! Tubeless radial ep4afz. Horrible tires for a brand new car
CategoryVehicle Speed Control
DateNov 28, 2022
StateAL
Description
The contact owns a 2022 toyota camry hybrid. The contact stated while driving at highway speeds exceeding 50 mph, the vehicle failed to slow down when the accelerator pedal was released. The contact indicated that the vehicle would continue driving at the same speed. The vehicle was taken to the dealer however, the mechanic found no failure with the vehicle. The manufacturer was contacted, and an engineer was sent to examine the vehicle; however, no cause of the failure was determined. The failure mileage was 6,800.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateNov 07, 2022
StateKS
Description
While driving on the highway with no vehicles in sight my sunroof glass shattered falling in on my wife cutting her.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Adaptive Cruise Control, Forward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking
DateSep 08, 2022
StateCA
Description
This is a rental from enterprise. I was on the highway driving. I had been using the adaptive cruise control, but I braked because there was traffic ahead. I was slowing down reasonably with the flow of traffic and all of a sudden the auto brake went on and slammed the car to a full stop! The pick up truck behind me had to slam his brakes and swerve and came within inches of plowing into me. The jolt threw me forward and terrified me. It was as if I wasn't driving the car- the car did it. So dangerous!!! I called toyota and they filed a report and said someone would call me. And I called enterprise and they are coming to get the car from me. Absolutely terrifying. Thank goodness no one got hurt or worse.
CategoryAir Bags, Service Brakes, Structure:body
DateSep 02, 2022
StateMA
Description
I don't have any incidents
CategoryBack Over Prevention: Rearview System Braking, Electrical System
DateAug 27, 2022
StateNJ
Description
Since the day this brand new car rolled off of the lot, I noticed an issue with the android auto usage via the infotainment system. Roughly between 5 and 15 times throughout a 30 minute drive the map will glitch and freeze and so will any music being streamed via android auto. This happens no matter which phone or cable is connected. This is extremely annoying and distracting to me when driving and frankly inexcusable for a brand new 2022 car with 0 miles on it that I bought 8 months ago and it still does this to this day. Also, the rear camera detection system often fails saying that there is dirt on the camera when there clearly isn't any. Finally the key fob sometimes fails to work. The dealer could not figure out the problem and would not fix it. I would upload the service records and video documentation of these issues, but the files are a bit too large and am having issues uploading them. I would gladly send them to you if provided another way of doing so.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking
DateAug 14, 2022
StateIN
Description
It is unknown what was actually causing this, this is my assessment from how my car handled. I was ready to turn from a shopping center lot onto a road with 2 lanes of traffic, both lanes going the same direction. The traffic was heavy but a car left a gap for me to pull out into the lane closest to me. I stepped on the gas but I believe my car detected the cars in the far lane and applied the brakes? Limited control of my acceleration? To prevent me from “striking a vehicle in the next lane broadside”. My vehicle rolled partially into the nearest lane but seemed to be fighting my efforts to accelerate and pull fully into my lane. The car that had left a gap for me to pull out had caught up at this point and laid on their horn in irritation. This could have caused an accident as no one in that lane would be expecting stopped traffic. My car continued to barely creep along until I was able to steer the nose around where it was not pointed at the far lane of traffic, then it detected I was “in a clear lane” and allowed me to accelerate. When driving in a high traffic urban area where the street is never completely empty of cars, you do not want your vehicle fighting you for control when you pull out into a break in traffic. My car allowed me to roll out into oncoming traffic and then took away my acceleration!
CategoryExterior Lighting:headlights
DateFeb 25, 2022
StateNC
Description
The contact owns a 2022 toyota camry. The contact stated that upon taking the vehicle out of the garage facing the long driveway, he noticed that the low-beam headlights only projected approximately 50 feet in front of the vehicle. The contact stated that he lived in a rural area with limited streetlights and was concerned about a possible crash due to the failure while driving in low light conditions. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed however, no issues were found. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 30.
CategoryExterior Lighting:headlights:high/low Beam Dimmer Switch, Exterior Lighting:lighting Control Module:software
DateFeb 17, 2022
StateFL
Description
The contact rented a 2022 toyota camry. The contact stated while driving at night at undisclosed speed, they noticed their daytime running lights were still running even at night on the auto setting, however, the headlights were not on while on that setting as well the taillights were not working. The contact had to get the headlight off of auto setting and place it on manually for the headlight and tail lights on the vehicle to stay on while they continue to drive to their residence. The contact called the local dealer where they rented the vehicle to inform them of the failure. The dealer stated they were not aware of this issue and offered to exchange the vehicle but the contact declined. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 1,245.
CategoryStructure:body, Visibility:rearview Mirrors/devices
DateFeb 02, 2022
StateVA
Description
The contact owns a 2022 toyota camry. The contact stated that both the driver's side and the passenger's side mirror housing covers were melting. The vehicle was taken to an unknown collision center who took pictures of the vehicle and provided an estimate of repair to the contact. Then the vehicle was taken to the dealer where the vehicle was purchased. The dealer advised the contact that the mirror housing covers were not covered under the manufacturer's warranty. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and advised the contact that they could not assist as the failure was due to climate. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 301. Consumer purchased toyota camry 2022 xse delivered 12-6-21. Spotted side mirror plastic covers melted by heating elements 1-13-22. Requested the dealer in elizabeth city nc. 252-335-4301 to repair, dealer denied to repair. Toyota hq & dealer both denied the repairs.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine, Forward Collision Avoidance: Warnings
DateFeb 01, 2022
StateAL
Description
I was driving on I-65 northbound in alabama, 20 miles south of birmingham, when my car suddenly had multiple warnings appear on my dash and I lost all forward power. My power steering malfunctioned and I was forced to immediately slow up the car and bring it to a stop. The warnings that appeared were "hybrid system malfunction", "braking power low", "maintenance required", "pre-collision system malfunction", and "check engine". I had about 5 lights appear on my dash as well. The fact that I lost power steering means I could of easily crashed if I wasn't careful. I have brought the car to the dealership after having it towed and want it to be inspected. It has never had an issue like this before, and it passed the dealer inspection at 11,000 miles and only just became due for its next maintenance. I had no prior warning to this issue.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Steering, Vehicle Speed Control
DateDec 30, 2021
StateRI
Description
Drove a new 2022 toyota camry le with 15 miles. Notified dealer that several safety and infotainment systems were non operational. Vehicle had multiple warning light related to these systems. Notably, the adaptive cruise control, automatic emergency braking, blind spot warning, forward collision warning, lane departure warning, lane keeping assistance, parking collision warning, and rear cross traffic warning were all stated to be non-operational by the vehicle's dashboard. Several warning lights were illuminated. Furthermore, the radio and infotainment system was non-operational, which also means that the rear backup camera was non-operational. The technician at the issuing dealer stated that the "pil" had to be replaced.

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.

Share your story

Does this ring a bell? Have you had a bad experience too? Sound off and share your experience with other visitors in the comment box below.

Brian Jones

About the Author:

Brian Jones spent more than 20 years working as an ASE Certified Master Tech and Parts Specialist at multiple dealerships. Brian has become an authority in the industry, traveling across the country to consult for car dealerships and contributing his expertise as a writer for several major automotive publications. In his spare time, Brian enjoys working on pickup trucks, muscle cars, Jeeps and anything related to motorsports.

See more posts from Brian Jones
4 COMMENTS
  • AMY

    I bought a 2022 Camry LE back in January of 2022. I am pleased with the car. The seats are a little uncomfortable when driving for hours at a time but I am sure I could adjust it in a way that would solve the problem if I tried hard enough. I have now put close to 16,000 miles on the car and I really can’t find anything to complain about.

  • len

    sounds like paid butcher reviews.
    I bought a new 2022 Camry le and love everything about it.
    super comfortable seats and plenty of power.
    in fact I haven’t even had to take it of econo mode.
    3500 miles on it with an overall mpg of 43.
    very happy with it and would recommend highly.

  • Michelle

    I actually bought a 2022 Camry LE and returned it for the same reason. Extreme back and leg pain while in power driver’s seat; passenger seat was even worse. Thankfully, I was able to return it.

  • Mohammad

    Hello everybody,
    Here is my story, I bought the camry hybrid 2022 5 days ago , i would say i can write 10 full pages of A1 explaining how nice and smart the car is , however,
    after i drove the car for 2 hours i can’t move without feel so much pain in my lower back and my neck , the seat’s in this car is a nightmare
    Uncomfortable, harsh , and not soft at all , it’s just like you are sitting on a park wood bench, i am literally now having my back frozen and I can’t drive the car no more , not to mention that the seats are short , mean that after you adjust the seat on a mode you would feel comfortable with you still can see how short the seat is and how uncomfortable it is , i really got upset about that, please tell me if there is a way to change this up

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead you can to our legal team.

Please select your star rating.

Briefly describe your experience Briefly describe your experience

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? Please enter a valid phone number

Want to know if you could sue? Get a free legal evaluation Lemberg Law?

Get Your No-Obligation
Case Evaluation

Send a secure message to our legal team.

What’s your name? What’s your name?
What’s your email address? What’s your email address?
What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?
Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem
Confidentiality Guarantee: We keep your information completely confidential and will not send you spam or sell your information.