2022 Toyota Sienna Problems and Top Complaints – Is Your Car A Lemon?

Visibility and structural issues are among the top complaints received by the NHTSA from vehicle owners

By Brian Jones | Updated on

By Brian Jones | Updated on

The 2022 Toyota Sienna is a popular family minivan with room to hold the whole gang. In fact, the automaker claims it provides “more than enough.” Still, customers are left wanting some of the basics, such as a solid structure and decent visibility. It seems that the Sienna struggles to fulfill both.

Click on other model year to view more problems:   2018     2019     2020     2021

Don’t be stuck with a lemon. You have legal rights to cash, return or buyback.

The law makes Toyota pay legal fees.

We've fixed thousands of lemon problems. Message or call 877-795-3666 today.

NHTSA Complaints for the 2022 Toyota Sienna

Complaint CategoryNumber of Complaints
Service Brakes
10
Back Over Prevention: Rearview System Braking
5
Seats
5
Visibility/wiper
5
Lane Departure: Blind Spot Detection
4
Unknown Or Other
4
Wheels
3
Vehicle Speed Control
2
Engine
2
Electrical System
2

Problems with Vehicle Structure

When driving with a family, everyone wants peace of mind knowing that the vehicle is built to the highest standards, but that seems to be a problem with the Sienna.

On the Sienna Chat Forum one owner wrote, “One thing that I have not been able to deal with is the wind noise at 60 and over. It sounds like the windows are not fully shut. Acoustic glass doesn’t appear to be on the front windshield. I found the markers on the side windows but could not find any indicator of acoustic glass on the front. Seems odd.”

This isn’t the only issue happening with the Toyota minivan. In fact, it already has a recall showing how defective it is. NHTSA Campaign Number 21V889000 states that the seat belt webbing might not be installed correctly in the second row. This defect can cause damage, making it easier for the seat belt to tear during an accident. Basically, the minivan is “more than enough” unless the driver wants their kids to remain safe. Then, they are simply out of luck.

Problems with Visibility

Seeing clearly from every side and angle of the vehicle is a must, especially if the drive is to remain safe. Yet, this doesn’t seem to be the case with Sienna models either.

One NHTSA complaint states, “We have a rear entertainment center package in our 2022 Toyota Sienna van, when we pull the screen down it completely blocks our rear view due to screen is too big. I am wondering why Toyota didn’t install digital rear view mirror to all trim levels with rear entertainment center, but they automatically install [it to the] limited and platinum trims. To us that is a safety issue, for instance if there is a cop, fire truck or ambulance coming up behind us we wouldn’t see them do to it blocking our view. I have a 12, 8 and 3 year old and every time they get in van they want to always watch the rear entertainment center.”

Toyota has been known to neglect the important details. In fact, it wasn’t that long ago class-action lawsuits were proposed because of defective transmission on the previous Sienna models. Considering Toyota couldn’t get the transmission design down, it’s no wonder that the visibility suffers as well. After all, the engineers have clearly been too busy to think about simple things, such as seeing out the rearview mirror. Who needs to do that anyway with today’s safety systems? Owners can just pretend to be elderly grandmas that back up and hope nothing’s coming.

Your Lemon Law Legal Rights

Think you have a lemon? Sit back and let the experts work out your lemon case at no cost to you. The law makes Toyota pay legal fees. You may be able to get your lemon out of your life. Every year, auto manufacturers buy back, replace or pay cash settlements to thousands of ‘lemon’ owners like you.

Complaint Data

CategoryService Brakes, Vehicle Speed Control
DateJan 05, 2023
StateNE
Description
When breaking at a stop sign or light, the vehicle occasionally feels like it surges forward and I'm accelerating instead of breaking. This causes me to push harder on the brakes, which then seem to mechanically engage and then stop the van. I've had the van for a year now and it happens a few times a month, especially if I breaking on an uphill incline.
CategoryBack Over Prevention: Rearview System Braking, Lane Departure: Blind Spot Detection
DateJan 03, 2023
StateMI
Description
While driving approximately 25 mph my dash lit up with the cross traffic sensor is unavailable and my blind spot monitor is unavailable. I got out and cleaned off my sensors on the outside of my vehicle all around the vehicle front and back and the warning has stayed on. It was not raining or snowing and I was on dry pavement at the time. My vehicle was not hit nor did I hit anything. There is no damage what so ever to the sensors or anywhere on my vehicle.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateDec 27, 2022
StateNM
Description
My issue is not with my sienna but an appeal to the dot to do some regulation or oversight of all the bright head lights on vehicles that are now so bright and many colors that is is dangerous at night for some people with eyesight problems to judge distances of oncoming vehicles. In a mix of vehicles some will have awesomely bright lights and some dim lights that make it just impossible to gauge what is what and some of these vehicles have huge light bars too, some of the large pick up trucks with these lights when behind me are so bright I can't see behind me, some vehicles have red and blue lights facing forward that first responder vehicles normally use. The dot has to get on top of this wild west on our highways of headlights that are harming other drivers. Even the headlights on my sienna hv with the adaptive feature are blinding to other oncoming drivers.
CategoryElectrical System, Wheels
DateDec 12, 2022
StateSC
Description
The tpms sensors stop working when driving at highway speeds and won't tell you the air pressure. Says see dealer but when I take it there, they can't do anything. Has happened probably 10 times. Usually only on interstate. Can be safety hazard if tire pressure goes low and no idea.
CategorySuspension
DateDec 12, 2022
StateTX
Description
Car only has 10k miles. It pulls to the right. We had dealer check tires multiple times, did alignment twice and yet car pulls to the right.
CategoryExterior Lighting
DateNov 06, 2022
StateMI
Description
Question 1 auto headlight continues to malfunction and it has been inspected 3 times by randy wise toyota (grand blanc, mi). Yes, it is available for inspection (video & list of incidents provided to randy wise toyota - as requested by tech/[xxx] but no action taken). Question 2 high beams have come on when oncoming vehicle is between 300 to 500 feet - potentially temporarily blinding the person in the oncoming car and causing an accident. The high beams also have come on when following vehicles within 300 to 500 feet, also in the city (with city lighting) the high beams were on with a city bus approaching 1 block away. We have had numerous cars flashing their bright lights at us as our high beams do not dim to low beams appropriately potentially temporarily blinding us and creating an accident. We also are concerned about a potential road rage incident due to others thinking we are intentionally turning on our high beams. Question 3 no the dealership service director [xxx] took our vehicle home (23 miles each direction - during the day time) but only test drove the vehicle for 6 miles to try to duplicate the issue. When asked how many vehicles he passed, was told he was not available (out of town) we asked for a phone call to discuss this - but never received a call. Tech/[xxx] stated that we needed to provide video documentation and to keep a list of when the issue happens and details - which was provided but since there was no "code" they determined there was no problem. Question 4 vehicle has been inspected by randy wise toyota 3 times. Question 5 no warnings prior to failure. First appears immediately after purchase. Add'l info: video provided to dealership shows us following a vehicle (never loosing site of their tail lights) when an oncoming vehicle approached and when the oncoming vehicle was approx. 500 ft. In front of us our bright lights turned on and remained on until that oncoming vehicle was approx. 300 ft. From us. Information redacted pursuant to the freedom of information act (foia), 5
CategoryService Brakes
DateSep 12, 2022
StateOH
Description
I have had this issue ever since I got the hybrid sienna minivan. When at speed 45-65mph and slowing down (for example approaching an intersection), when the driver presses the brake the vehicle initially slows down using the hybrid regen system and at some point switches to using the mechanical brake. I hold down the brake at the same firm pressure but when the vehicle switches from regen to mechanical brake, the vehicle jerks forward as it starts accelerating briefly before the mechanical brake engages. This causes a panic in the driver because vehicle is not behaving how the driver wants. In my experience I have had to slam the brakes even harder. There is a bulletin by toyota to fix this but my dealer said that did not apply to my vehicle. I have had issues hydroplaning / skidding when making a turn on wet pavement which I think might be due to the acceleration / jerk forward while braking during a turn. This happened to me again on 9/11, I crashed into a concrete base of a light post in a parking light at 5-10mph. The forward collision warning did not trigger and airbags deployed.
CategoryService Brakes
DateAug 24, 2022
StateCA
Description
It happens more often when the interior of the car is super hot and ac is in max output and city driving speed around 35mph. When slightly braking for a longer time in regenerative brakes mode, the brakes will let up. Not completely but it's as if my foot let up on the brake pedal when it didn't. It caused the vehicle to suddenly speeding up, even though my foot hadn't changed pressure on the brakes. Increase the risk of not being able to stop the vehicle at low speed and cause rear-end accidents. I am thinking that it may be caused by a software problem when the battery can't take all the charge of regenerative braking while the ac is in max output and the computer lowers the power of regenerative braking which causes the "speeding up" effect. It has been happened more than 10 times in summer time.  it will not happen when the car is cooler and ac is not in max output.   100% sure that is related to the "regenerative braking " . No problem for the hydraulic brake.
CategoryWheels
DateAug 08, 2022
StateOR
Description
A tire and wheel came off of my 2022 toyota sienna while driving over a mountain pass. I was going downhill and around a curve, heard and felt some clunking, then watched my tire bounce across the two lane highway and over the steep dropoff. This was a potentially fatal occurrence, for so many reasons. This malfunction put the oncoming traffic and the drivers behind me at risk for collision, or worse. There was no warning lamp on, my tire pressure sensors read steady, and no other system lit up before or during this occurrence. The dealer can not find a reason as to why this happened within a year of owning it.
CategoryService Brakes
DateJul 31, 2022
StateNH
Description
While applying brakes vehicle lurches forward. While coming to a stop at a red light with a car in front of me I was slowing down applying brakes and all of a sudden it was just like they released for a second and had to stand on them. Does not happen all the time but I see many complaints about it. This has happened so far 8 or 9 times maybe more. May have to do what you eat generative breaking going to normal breaking power. Have reported it toyota and they said it's normal it's not normal it's a safety issue
CategoryBack Over Prevention: Rearview System Braking, Lane Departure: Blind Spot Detection, Service Brakes
DateJul 27, 2022
StateOH
Description
Today in the morning while driving on normal road, suddenly rear cross traffic alert and blind spot monitor became unavailable according to a message on the dash. This message persisted after restarting. In the afternoon another message gave these two company. The vehicle informed me, that the parking support brake is now unavailable as well. Funny is, that these messages are not documented in the alert history of the vehicle, although they still persist. Mileage of first occurrence was 9800. Another user in a sienna forum reported a similar problem and said this might be related to the poor design of the rear bumper that allows ingress and accumulation of dust, dirt and mud around the rear radar sensor. The vehicle was driven the week before the incident and about 700 mi before the incident on a dirt road (county road) in michigan. This was pretty dusty and a bit muddy, but nothing a normal non-off-road vehicle couldn't stand.
CategoryEngine, Fuel/propulsion System, Service Brakes
DateJul 24, 2022
StateOH
Description
I my sienna had its 12 volt battery depleted over night with no reason. After it was jump started, literally every single piece of equipment was malfunctioning and producing an alert (hybrid system, brake pressure, rcta, bsm, awd,tire pressure and so on). After several restarts of the engine (about 15 min after running engine), all systems went to normal except hybrid drive system, that still asked for maintenance and the tire pressure sensor was still on alert. However I drove the vehicle to a dealership in maine after the parking brake finally decided to get loose again. These guys told me, they had just the same problem with another 2022 sienna a week before. However, they reseted the errors, and everything worked fine. They had no explanation why two sienna in one week come to their lot with a depleted battery and as a consequence with a malfunctioning hybrid systen. That's very unsatisfying.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJul 24, 2022
StateOH
Description
Premium audio system. I have a bunch of fm and xm favorites saved as presets on my radio. After the 3 month trial of sirius xm expired, I am having trouble with my presets. Whenever I zap through the presets and coming from a fm to an xm station, I can't control the direction of zapping anymore. Hitting the left button triggers going right, hitting right triggers right as well. This forces to zap through all presets. The moment I hit the expired xm preset the whole system suffers from lag of more than a second for every click. The only reasonable way back to control is switching to the audio menu and start over with selection of fm source. Best thing: I can't delete the xm stations on this premium audio system.. That's a bummer. Dealership found this behavior strange, and tried to reset the system, didn't work at all. So they suggested to store 25 fm stations to override the existing xm presets.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateJul 24, 2022
StateMN
Description
Car is 2 weeks old and large crack appears in windshield for no apparent reason. No chips in glass. No rocks hit windshield.
CategoryWheels
DateJul 24, 2022
StateOH
Description
Occasionally there is a message popping up about a malfunction of the tire pressure sensor while driving. This appears in conjunction with the yellow flat tire warning. It is very inconvenient, since I have to stop the van just to find out that the tire pressure is fine. Actually it's more than inconvenient since this may lead to a kind of negligence of this system what poses a safety thread. On top of that, the toyota connect is app keeps telling me, that my tire pressure is low. Went to the dealership, they say they can reproduce the error message and the problem is known to toyota. However they can not fix it. It seems to be a software issue.
CategoryElectrical System
DateJul 10, 2022
StateTN
Description
This van was converted to be wheelchair accesible by vantage mobility international. My parents have repeatedly had an error arise that indicates an issue with the hybrid battery cooling system. This system was modified by vmi, in partnership with toyota, to allow for the accessibility features to be added to van. Neither the vehicle dealer, superior van and mobility in knoxville, tn, nor the local totota dealer, toyota of knoxville, have been able to rectify the issue, despite mutliple attempts. We are concerned that this is a safety issue, and have asked for written confirmation of that and for the issue to be resolved. None of the three parties, superior, toyota, nor vmi, have been willing to do that nor rectify the issue. (I have filled this out for my parents because this has already become so stressful and in the wake of my dad's rapidly progressing disability, I don't want either of them to have to deal with more of the headache with this.)
CategoryService Brakes
DateJun 10, 2022
StateOH
Description
The van, sporadically, for the entire time we've owned it, lunges forward while depressing the brake pedal while turning into a corner or parking lot, etc. I reported this to the toyota dealer service department when I brought my van in for the recall. The lunging continues so I brought to the dealer service department again, today. The service representative asked me if I ever drove a hybrid before, informed me that this lunging is designed into hybrid vehicles because this is when the battery is getting charged. The service representative told me that he drives a hybrid and that this happens to him. I asked for clarity stating, "so it's "designed for a vehicle to lunge forward? This seems like a safety issue. I've gone on forums to see if others have been experiencing this and saw that this is happening in the 2022 and 2021 siennas". They service representative advised me to not go on forums because they are filled with unhappy people. He said he moderates a forum and knows this. I responded, "I know what I'm feeling when I depress the brake, the van is lunging forward."
CategoryService Brakes
DateJun 10, 2022
StateTX
Description
When I'm braking, some times, the car seems to lunge forward for just a moment. It's very unnerving. It's almost like it's slowing, but then surges forward for just a moment. We're at 2k miles and have had it happen ~5 times now. Once it happened and shot me forward into traffic, thankfully there wasn't a car right there or I would have been hit! Very scary, I feel like I'm not in control of the car at all. It definitely needs to be looked into more.
CategoryService Brakes
DateJun 07, 2022
StateTX
Description
The contact owns a 2022 toyota sienna. The contact stated while driving approximately 40 mph and slowing to stop at a traffic sign, the brake pedal was depressed and there was no resistance from the brake pedal. The contact depressed the brake pedal with force to bring the vehicle to a stop. The contact stated no warning light was illuminated. The contact had driven the vehicle to a local dealer, where it was diagnosed and found that the brakes were operating correctly. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact stated that the failure recurred intermittently. The manufacturer had not been informed of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 10,000.
CategorySeats
DateJun 03, 2022
StateNY
Description
3rd row seats do not lock into place when folded down. As a result, when going over a bump or applying brakes, the seats can start to bounce. Upon hard braking the seats can actually fully pop up and transform to unfolded position, potentially injuring anything in front of it.
CategorySeats
DateMay 31, 2022
StateLA
Description
We hit a bump in the road at approximately 25mph and the third row seats went flying forward from their stowed position. The impact force was loud enough that it caused me to swerve and the seats could have easily injured our dog had it been in the back.
CategoryAir Bags, Equipment:electrical:radio/tape Deck/cd Etc.
DateMay 28, 2022
StateWA
Description
Srs airbag warning light is in the dashboard. It is confirmed by the toyota dealer a faulty radio head unit can not register the srs airbag. In the event of collision, the srs airbag will not be deployed, causing passengers at risk.
CategoryInsert, Padding
DateMay 22, 2022
StateIN
Description
The padding in headrest is unglued and coming loose. My son has grabbed the head supports at times but I noticed it detached one day and not sitting in the correct position. I have tried to reattach but would require heavy duty glue and assistance with assembly. Car seat is available for inspection and I will include pictures. The car seat has not been inspected by police, manufacturer of others.
CategoryBack Over Prevention: Rearview System Braking, Forward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Service Brakes
DateMay 07, 2022
StateOR
Description
I got the software recall fix last week. Today is the first time I have had any issues. 2 time today the emergency braking activated. First time I was leaving mcdonald's parking lot. I waited for a car to pass then I took off to get on the road. The emergency braking system activated leaving me halfway in the parking lot and part way in the road. I thought that was weird. The a few minutes later I arrived at home and started backing into the driveway like I always do. As I was backing into the driveway a car started to pass on the road in front of me. The car emergency braking system activated leaving me part way in the road and driveway was the car passed. I have saved the ring camera footage of me arriving home in case it is needed.
CategorySeats
DateMay 04, 2022
StateCA
Description
The third row seats do not latch when stowed. The 1/3 side does not lie flat. Because of the lack of latch, when going over a speed bump, the seats bounce and in some cases the seat flies forward and latches violently into place with a loud sound. It was very alarming and could have caused damage to any thing laid flat there, or potentially injured a dog in the cargo area. This is a fundamental design flaw. The corresponding seats on my 2005 sienna latch into place.
CategorySeats
DateApr 29, 2022
StateHI
Description
3rd row seats do not lock down when stowed. When vehicle comes to abrupt stop, 3rd row seats shoot up with high velocity. Anyone in the vicinity will be harmed. Any items placed on chairs will fly as projectiles, harming individuals with the possibility of an accident.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateApr 27, 2022
StateGA
Description
We just recently purchased 2022 toyota sienna xle with rear seat entertainment package which is a 11. 6-in. Display. We did not use this display until yesterday when my daughter wanted to watch something. After she opened the screen to watch, I realized that this display screen covered/block the rear-view mirror view 100% and can't see anything. Before I tried to tell that she needs to close it, I had just a near-miss where I could have colloid to car in backend. This is a huge safety risk due to poor design of covering 100% rear view by this rear seat entertainment screen. There was no car available to test drive at nearest dealer where I would have catch this. If I would know this safety issue, I did not have purchase this car with rear seat entertainment package. Higher trim has the "digital rearview mirror" option that could have alleviate this issue, but they don't even give that option to select as optional package on xle trim with xle plus and rear seat entertainment package. I paid ~,000 for xle plus and rear seat entertainment package and it does include the "digital rearview mirror". This is a huge safety issue in point view and requesting nhtsa to take an action on it. I just googled it and found others complain for this hazards concern. (https://www. Siennachat. Com/threads/xle-with-rear-entertainment-system-cant-see-out-of-rearview-mirror. 66818/)
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateApr 16, 2022
StateOH
Description
Driver and passenger front window have obstructed visibility, when wearuling polarized glasses. This might be no issue for sunglasses but with regular glasses, it could impact safety. In an irregular pattern clouds of low visibility are spread across these windows. Normal sight without my or my wife's sunglasses is not impaired. It was observed in full sun while being in clouds I didn't try it.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateApr 16, 2022
StateOH
Description
When using polarized sunglasses, visibility of the driver and passenger front windows gets obstructed (standard windows, no modification) . This means, that these windows are partly intransperant. In an irregular pattern clouds seem to be dispersed all over them. In total maybe one third or up to 50 percent of the window seems to be way less transparent, only while wearing polarized glasses. Without glasses there is no impaired visibility at all.
CategoryEngine
DateApr 14, 2022
StateLA
Description
During heavy rain exhaust system become dislodged and fell to the road, only hanging on by the engine connection. We had the vehicle towed to the dealership only to be told that is not a warranty issue. They did reinstall it in the rubber brackets. Due to my persistence a warranty claim was opened. There claim was that it hit something as there were marks across the muffler however those were made by dragging on the road until vehicle could be driven off the road. Knowing it was most likely water pressure from the water on the road that lifted the exhaust up and out of the rubber brackets, I wanted this documented. Although if the exhaust system had completely broken off from the engine it would have not hurt our vehicle occupants, any vehicles behind could have been hit.
CategoryVehicle Speed Control
DateApr 11, 2022
StateMN
Description
The contact owns a 2022 toyota sienna. The contact stated while driving on the highway at 35 mph, she depressed the brake pedal however, the vehicle inadvertently accelerated. The contact stated that there was no warning light illuminated showing that the accelerator and brake pedals were being depressed simultaneously. The contact was able to drive home safely. The vehicle was not yet taken to be diagnosed. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 1,600.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateMar 30, 2022
StateCA
Description
The car does not have digital rear view which uses built-in camera installed at bottom of back to display what is behind the car. Because of this whenever entertainment system display (dvd player) is pulled for use or cargo is fully loaded; rear view mirror does not show anything and driver remains unaware what is coming behind the car or what is going on behind the car. I had incident in first couple of usage it self that I was not able to see emergency vehicle & was not able to give a way. Additionally, it could be difficult to understand behaviour of other cars behind coming. I have purchased this car paying lots of money and others could have do so thinking lots of safety features for family usage purpose. Unavailability of rear-view mirror display when there is obstructing entertainment system and cargo, will completly put all passengers at risk. I have paid more than msrp for this car as I was in deep need of car. Dealer did not give any detail on this issue and when drove car multiple time then only experienced. Raised everything to toyota by calling their number given in the car manual. No one picks up. Submitted online complaint (reference#220311002236) but not getting any helpful response. They are just saying someone will call from nearest toyota dealership or reachout directly. When no call came, went to dealer who says reachout to toyota directly! Its going in circle. Also reached out to dealer from where it is purchased, they are too not responding. This is to be taken seriously. I am going thourgh lots of harrassment by dealer/toyota after paying this much for the car and should be compensated accordingly. Nhtsa should help me getting digital rear view camera installed in this vehicle and have toyota to install same in all other similar configured toyota siena vehicle. As an alert citizen and driver, I am raising this and can provide more details if needed but need all help to fix on this car. Rest everyting is fine in the car. Thanks.
CategoryBack Over Prevention: Rearview System Braking, Lane Departure: Blind Spot Detection
DateMar 19, 2022
StateOH
Description
We are not talking about malfunction, since it's underperforming by design. Rcta and bsm don't make any audible alert. Every other vehicle I owned had this. Here bsm is silent and rcta can't be heard, because volume can't be adjusted. This is dangerous, since relying on visual with rcta doesn't make sense, when you try to watch you back in reality through the rear windows. Please recall this toyota safety issue because it doesn't utilize its potential and poses an unnecessary risk for everyone.
CategoryBack Over Prevention: Rearview System Braking, Lane Departure: Blind Spot Detection
DateMar 09, 2022
StateMT
Description
While operating the vehicle in the city of helena, montana, foreign matter entered the interior of the rear bumper. This caused the rcta and bsw systems to fail because the sensors were obstructed by mud. This failure condition happens to my 2022 toyota sienna every three weeks. Toyota has designed the vehicle to allow the ingress of debris to the *interior* of the rear bumper, therefore the failure of rcta and bsw is inevitable. Toyota can and should know that this failure is inevitable but has offered no repair, nor has it offered advice on how to restore operability after failure. Yes, mud can interfere with safety sensors on any vehicle, but only this 2022 toyota sienna intentionally allows mud to accumulate on the *interior* of the bumper resulting in this otherwise avoidable failure.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJan 24, 2022
StateMI
Description
Got my 2022 sienna with the factory installed rear entertainment system. When the entertainment system is in use, there is zero visibility out of the rear view mirror or window. This is a huge safety issue as I have almost been rear ended 4 times now. Today while it was snowing, if I had my entertainment system in use, I would not have been able to see that someone was sliding in to me. Luckily I saw out of my rear view mirror and I was able to hurry and speed up to not get hit. I have taken the car to 2 toyota dealerships who have both verified and took pictures to show that you cannot see a thing out of the mirror or window when the entertainment is in use. They all agree it is a major safety issue and reported it to toyota corporate and opened a case to get it fixed. The fix is to install a digital rear view mirror for those who have the entertainment system (which again comes from the factory) toyota brand engagement said that yes this is a safety issue but since there is no ope recall they won't fix it for me by giving me a digital rear view mirror. This is absolutely crazy that there is this big of a design/safety flaw over looked by toyota. They also told me that there have been some that have been fixed however it is a case by case basis and basically depends on who you talk to. I just paid 52,000 for this car and I can't use the features it comes with because of this huge safety issue. If I had my back window taped up completely blacked out and couldn't see through it, I would get a ticket from the police for a safety hazard of not being able to see out of my back window. How is this different? This is unacceptable and should immediately be recalled for those vehicles that toyota put entertainment systems in. This issue could cause people to be rear ended because they cannot see anything out of their windows. I can send pictures that the dealership took to verify this safety issue. It needs to be addressed and corrected before people get hurt.
CategorySeats
DateDec 23, 2021
StateOR
Description
The 3rd row seats doesn't have locks when it folds down so when we hit a bump it just go up and down and during sudden breaking the folded 3rd row seats come up because there is no locks . But all older models of sienna have the safety lock . It is a simple fix but my new sienna doesn't have the major safety lock . During a accident it might come and hit the 2nd row passengers . Please consider this safety issue as soon as possible.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateNov 20, 2021
StateTN
Description
We have an rear entertainment center package in our 2022 toyota sienna van, when we pull the screen down it completely blocks our rear view due to screen is too big. I am wondering why toyota didn't install digital rear view mirror to all trim levels with rear entertainment center, but they automatically install the to limited and platinum trims. To us that is an safety issue, for instance if there is a cop, fire truck or ambulance coming up behind us we wouldn't see them do to it blocking our view. I have a 12, 8 and 3 year old and everytime they get in van they want to always watch the rear entertainment center. Thanks.
CategoryVisibility:rearview Mirrors/devices
DateNov 08, 2021
StateCA
Description
The contact owns a 2022 toyota sienna. The contact stated that the vehicle was designed with an 11-inch screen located in the roof between the front driver's and passenger's seats. The contact stated that the screen was designed for movies and entertainment however, the screen obstructed the rearview mirror while flipped down. The dealer was notified of the failure and referred the contact to the manufacturer. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and informed the contact that they could not assist. The vehicle was not diagnosed nor repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 90.

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.


Share your story

Does this ring a bell? Have you had a bad experience too? Sound off and share your experience with other visitors in the comment box below.

Brian Jones

About the Author:

Brian Jones spent more than 20 years working as an ASE Certified Master Tech and Parts Specialist at multiple dealerships. Brian has become an authority in the industry, traveling across the country to consult for car dealerships and contributing his expertise as a writer for several major automotive publications. In his spare time, Brian enjoys working on pickup trucks, muscle cars, Jeeps and anything related to motorsports.

See more posts from Brian Jones
3 COMMENTS
  • Ashley L

    2022 Sienna purchased brand new from Toyota in PA. At 960 miles my dashboard lit up that several sensors were unavailable, brought it into the dealership and their response was that the undercarriage was dirty and sensors were ‘sensitive’ – but they replaced them anyway. Sensors still go off after driving for more than 10 minutes in anything other than pristine weather. 5k/7ish months in my car needed a jump. Next day jumped again. Dealer couldn’t get me into a rental big enough for my family so we had to wait 4 days until we could get into shop. Sat there 6 hours with a toddler only to be told the car didn’t register any codes of issues and batteries were in perfect condition, call them back if I have to jump it again. While I was there I asked for tech to help with my app (couldn’t get many of the features to work) and to show me how to work the tv – turned out that was because both items were not working. They would ‘look into it and get back to me….’ Next day car wouldn’t take a jump and had to be towed in. Today is day 13 of car in the shop…..no idea what’s wrong. Can’t do anything because without a tangible issue it technically doesn’t fall under any kind of warranty to be replaced whether that’s parts or the whole car. Asked to just trade in for another Sienna – and told that we can’t order the same one. Everyone is at the mercy of what they get sent. Not even sure we want another Sienna at this point because it’s obviously not a safe car and Toyota isn’t standing by their product! Spent over $58k for heartbreak and hassle!!

  • Peter R

    We have a 2022 sienna with 1000 miles. It has been in the shop 3 weeks now. Toyota found defect in DCM module caused by bad software. They do not have a fix yet. Don’t know how long it will take. 3 others at our dealership same day. Maybe caused by excessive cold weather. Maybe you have same trouble.

  • Carla M

    Toyota Sienna 2022 – bought from Steinbach, MN. I have had nothing but problems regarding the battery & the Hybrid make. Peter Thiessan (love this salesman and have bought 4 Toyota’s from him with no complaints until now. Not his fault but this SIENNA ’22 HYBRID has caused me more grief than all the vehicles I have owned in one life time. To date we have had to have the van towed away (with only 1,300 + KM) then installed another occasion the trickler (over $4+++ ) then had to buy an extension cord, $150 bcuz of sold out product with all the cold weather. We also have had to have this van ‘jumped’ on 4 different occasions, yesterday being the last time. I was late for work, van would not start, I had already put our dog in the van (crated) went in to get my jacket etc., for work, VAN DEAD LIKE FRED, again…I could not get the back hatch up, all electric was DEAD…it was well over an hour, missed class, and dog (doberman) no coat in this weather it is not for the faint of heart (or dobes with now winter coat) to be outside for more than one hour…I got my hair dryer & hooked it up to ex. cord, & was able to get in 2nd row seats, & turn on hot for some relief of this poor dog. ) It was suggested I craw into the back, sorry I will be 80 next year & am not 110 pounds!!! There are 2 crates (we have 2 dobermans) and the clearance on top was about 11 or 12 inches, and the crates are soft side (expensive) I could not get into the back as suggested by Toyota and unlock the hatch.
    One day at work for about 4 AFTERNOON HOURS, go out, DEAD LIKE FRED AGAIN. We have had the van into Toyota dealership in TB but to no avail days after DEAD DEAD DEAD. I paid cash for this van, also go extra warranty, new winter tires , installed the trickler here, it’s just so upsetting. I did consider a HIGHLANDER and drove one at Wayne Toyota in TB – not realizing the price ($82,000 + taxes) It was very nice, Steinbach is offering me another for almost $5,000 difference but again another 8 hour drive to return/ pick up – the hardships I have endured are most disturbing especially when my dog was exposed to one hour of cold weather when I couldn’t get to him. The list goes on & on & I am willing to take the HIGHLANDER AT WAYNE’S IN THUNDER BAY OR A LESSER MODEL FROM STEINBACH…
    Please consider my age (80 next year) and my business (dog training school) owner of #1 Male Doberman in Canada 2 years in a row, 16 obedience titles, this has been my life for 52 years. I am not married but my business partner has helped me out somewhat and I put the van in his name, although I paid for it, because of my age I thought it best to be in his name in case ……)
    I do not blame the salesman Peter Thiessan, he is just doing his job, but this is more than inconvenient as you can well imagine.

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead you can to our legal team.

Please select your star rating.

Briefly describe your experience Briefly describe your experience

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? Please enter a valid phone number

Want to know if you could sue? Get a free legal evaluation Lemberg Law?

Get Your No-Obligation
Case Evaluation

Send a secure message to our legal team.

What’s your name? What’s your name?
What’s your email address? What’s your email address?
What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?
Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem
Confidentiality Guarantee: We keep your information completely confidential and will not send you spam or sell your information.