2018 Toyota Sienna Problems and Top Complaints – Is Your Car A Lemon?

Power sliding door, engine and powertrain issues among the top complaints received by the NHTSA from vehicle owners

By Brian Jones | Updated on

By Brian Jones | Updated on

Minivans might not be as popular as they once were, but the 2018 Toyota Sienna seems to still have a following. The newest lineup is labeled as “life meets style,” but good looks might be all this model has to offer. Owners are dealing with trouble related to the engine, powertrain, structure and vehicle speed control.

Click on other model year to view more problems:   2019     2020     2021     2022

Don’t be stuck with a lemon. You have legal rights to cash, return or buyback.

The law makes Toyota pay legal fees.

We've fixed thousands of lemon problems. Message or call 877-795-3666 today.

NHTSA Complaints for the 2018 Toyota Sienna

Complaint CategoryNumber of Complaints
Unknown Or Other
11
Power Train
7
Fuel/propulsion System
6
Structure:body
5
Vehicle Speed Control
5
Fuel System, Gasoline
4
Seats
4
Engine
3
Electrical System
3
Air Bags
2

Problems with the Engine

When it comes to powering a vehicle, the engine is essential for all operations. When the motor isn’t reliable, all bets are off.

That’s what is shown with this NHTSA complaint. “The contact owns a 2018 Toyota Sienna. While driving at low speeds making a right turn the oil warning indicator light illuminated and contact noticed the oil was low. The vehicle was taken to [dealer] where it was diagnosed that the oil was low and additional oil needed to be added. The vehicle was repaired however, the failure recurred. The manufacturer was contacted but no further assistance was provided. The failure mileage was 3,700.”

There’s no reason for a new vehicle to go through so much oil. While there has been no explanation for it, there is a recall that can lead to other engine troubles, particularly stalling. NHTSA Campaign number 20V012000 states that the low-pressure fuel pump inside almost 700,000 vehicles can go bad, causing the vehicle to stall. When this happens, owners are left stranded in the middle of the road, with a car full of kiddos to protect. At least the van looks good sitting on the roadway. It’s a good thing Toyota spent so much time perfecting the style. Owners might have preferred an uglier van that doesn’t stop while driving.

Problems with the Transmission

In conjunction with the engine, the powertrain is vital to the everyday operation. Yet, this is another essential component that fails on the Sienna.

One Edmunds review states, “Tranny not very smooth – have to literally be at complete stop before moving again or get some unsmooth tranny issues as it tries to figure out what to do.”

Toyota hasn’t hidden any transmission-related problems. One of the communications, Service Bulletin #T-TT-0580-19 states that some of the models have a leaking Transmission Side Cover. For now, the automaker is investigating the case and the fix. Whether it’s leaking transmission fluid or burning through oil, this Sienna proves it doesn’t know how to hold onto its fluids. That must not be part of the style that was designed.

Problems with the Power Sliding Door

The Toyota Sienna isn’t the lowest-priced minivan on the market. It should be constructed with high-quality materials and well-built to last, but that’s not the case either.

Another Edmunds users says, “Both side view mirrors click / jostle when accelerating or decelerating. It is a really distracting and started within a year of owning a brand new car (on both mirrors). The customer care team told us this was normal and even tried to tell my wife it was an ‘auto adjust’ feature. (trust me, the loud ‘adjustment’ is not normal and happens at random times when accelerating or braking). I took the issue to their management team thinking there is no way a company would try to justify that loose mirror housings on a car are normal but sure enough … they doubled down. It’s really mind blowing.”

The side mirrors aren’t the only parts to worry about. Service Bulletin #ZH5_Dealer Lette states that Sienna owners are struggling with the power sliding door. It turns out that corrosion has left the sensor inoperable. Either the power closing door doesn’t close at all, or it starts to and then reverses. Getting into the Sienna is like playing a game, but the sliding door seems to be winning.

Problems with the Vehicle Speed Control

On modern vehicles, there are speed control systems set up to regulate how fast it travels. When these systems malfunction, occupants are left at risk of an accident.

An NHTSA comment illustrates the point, “I was turning left on a country road at 25 mph. The car decelerated and a yellow warning came on. The dealer said the car though it was going to roll over. They did the software update. The car still decelerated. Yellow light comes on most of the time when starting up.”

Toyota hasn’t issued any communication about this problem. Of course, it makes no sense that this dealer would assume that the van thought it was going to roll at 25 mph. If that’s the case, then drivers better take it really easy when going around turns. While Toyota was creating the style, they must not have factored in the dynamics that are required to turn. Either way, this minivan is a lemon and definitely not meant for much else than to look at.

Your Lemon Law Legal Rights

Think you have a lemon? Sit back and let the experts work out your lemon case at no cost to you. The law makes Toyota pay legal fees. You may be able to get your lemon out of your life. Every year, auto manufacturers buy back, replace or pay cash settlements to thousands of ‘lemon’ owners like you.

Complaint Data

CategoryFuel/propulsion System
DateJul 19, 2022
StateAZ
Description
Car stalled, sputtered and died. At first, I thought I was out of gas. After several tries, the car started and went 3 miles to gas station. After getting gas, the car wouldn't start several times and that same day the check engine light came on. We took it to autozone to check the code and they said it was showing fuel pump failure. Today I'm taking it in to the dealer for service. It has started and run twice since the initial episode.
CategoryChild Seat:harness/crotch Buckle
DateMay 23, 2022
StateID
Description
The contact owns a baby trend car seat, model number: cs661232h-sb-00137, manufactured date: 07/05/2021, installed in a 2018 toyota sienna. The contact stated that the buckle handle on the left was hard to operate. The contact also stated that the harness connection was defective. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and informed the contact to send the car seat back; however, the contact stated she needed a temporary replacement car seat. The car seat was not repaired nor replaced.
CategoryPower Train, Seats, Structure:body
DateJan 25, 2022
StateCA
Description
The last week of september 2021 my husband notice a sound like water runing and a leak on the driver and passenger seats, we take the vehicle to the dealer for an inspection on october 2nd. They said the ac hose was clogged for a spiderweb and the leak can create a mold. This mold can affect my family health. We informed to the insurance and we taked the vehicle to the dealer for repair. They did an expensive special cleaning to remove the mold, and disamble my entire vehicle, the worse is my vehicle still unassembled after 3 months at the dealership. All this happens with out any warning sign, symptoms or light. This vehicle is 3 years old and all services on time and by the same dealership. My vehicle has a lot of technology but not warning about this ac clogged and damage my entire vehicle wich still on repair.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateSep 01, 2021
StateCA
Description
Driver side automatic sliding door won't stay open , upon opening and reach all the way , it will quickly close. My child safety is a big concern.
CategoryStructure:body
DateJul 03, 2021
StateCA
Description
The front passenger side bumper snap(s) comes undone, by air flow, as vehicle travels down the road - this causes further tearing of the supporting plastic frame. Local toyota dealership says this initially was caused by a driver of the vehicle hitting a concrete curb. Note: bottom of the bumper is only 8 inches from ground surface. The safety issue is: the bumper and its supporting plastic frame will eventually break and fall off vehicle while in transport. I have witnessed this several times on other vehicles (especially on toyota's). Dealer compounds problem by saying entire bumper has to be replaced at high cost to customer. Customer delays repair (as I have). This causes further damage to the supporting plastic frame. I have gone from one snap to several snaps in duration. I sent corporate toyota a complaint - essentially, they said they would not do anything .
CategoryAir Bags
DateJul 01, 2021
StateIL
Description
The contact owned a 2018 toyota sienna. The contact stated while driving at 74 mph, a deer ran across the freeway, and as a result, the contact crashed into the deer. The air bags failed to deploy. A police report was filed. The contact sustained a sore shoulder but did not require medical treatment. The was not drivable and was towed back to their home address. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. A dealer was contacted and informed the contact that they would run tests on the air bag once the vehicle was fixed. The manufacturer had not been informed of the failure. The failure mileage was 60,000. The vin was unavailable.
CategoryAir Bags:side/window:curtain
DateJun 07, 2021
StateMI
Description
When turning left in a busy intersection, our van was struck by another vehicle on the front passenger corner of the car. The strike occurred with my van going about 10 mph, the other car going about 45 mph. All of the airbags deployed. When the airbags deployed, the coverings on the lights came off and the small lightbulb and silver casing projected out, scratching my son's arm. Nothing in the vehicle should break or become a projectile when the airbags deploy. I am not certain on the last few questions.
CategoryFuel System, Gasoline
DateMar 23, 2021
StateCA
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2018 toyota sienna. The contact stated while driving 70 mph, the accelerator pedal was depressed however, the vehicle failed to respond. There was no warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the local dealer hanlees davis toyota (4202 chiles rd, davis, ca 95616, (530)753-3352) however, the mechanic was unable to duplicate the failure. The contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 20v012000 (fuel system, gasoline). The recall repair was satisfied at maita toyota of sacramento (2500 auburn blvd, sacramento, ca 95821, (916)481-0855) however, the failure recurred. The manufacturer had not been informed of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 52,350. The vin was invalid.
CategoryElectrical System
DateMar 19, 2021
StateKY
Description
Appears all the time the tire pressure warning light .
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateMar 10, 2021
StateOK
Description
We received a safety recall notice from toyota for a defective low-pressure fuel pump on our 2018 toyota sienna. But the dealership, fowler toyota of tulsa, would not replace the recalled part free of charge because of the vehicle being converted by a non-authorized mobility conversion company. So far the van has not malfunctioned but feel like the recalled part should be replaced. Consumer contacted the manufacturer but has not received a response. Our company, brighter day, inc., purchased the van from affordable mobility solutions and it was converted for wheelchair accessibility by assisted transportation systems. I called & sent an email to ats but haven't received any response. Please respond at your earliest convenience. Thank you, [xxx] ~ fleet manager brighter day, inc. [xxx]*dt information redacted pursuant to the freedom of information act (foia), 5 u. S. C. 552(b)(6).
CategoryFuel/propulsion System, Vehicle Speed Control
DateFeb 27, 2021
StateNY
Description
I had torque converter clutch pressure control solenoid control circuit and when I rich 85 speed the car check and my friend have the same car sam model he had the same issue
CategoryEngine, Fuel/propulsion System, Unknown Or Other
DateFeb 01, 2021
StateCA
Description
Mobility works sold me a car,that had a recall,designed for special needs,they knew avout it plus the ramp wasnt working properly,made me pay for an expensive warranty that doesnt cover the problem that already has,they are blaming me for misuse I got it 4 months ago my son doesnt weight more than 100 pounds
CategoryStructure:body, Unknown Or Other
DateOct 29, 2020
StateVT
Description
Power door cable broke,door does not open
CategoryWheels
DateOct 16, 2020
StateTX
Description
Original tires at 17k, my 2018 sienna is showing excessive wear on the outside of the front tires. Alignment checked, it is fine.
CategoryService Brakes
DateAug 16, 2020
StateCA
Description
Light, moderate to too much vibration on the front brake when driving downhill. I was driving downhill and I felt moderate vibration on the front brake. I was so scared that I have to release the brake hoping to stop the vibration. On the way back home, I have to drive another downhill and this time, I felt too much vibration on the front brake when I applied the brake. The vibration was too much that even the hood, I feel like it starts vibrating as well. When driving flat, the vibration will fade away or there is no vibration at all.
CategoryFuel System, Gasoline
DateJun 30, 2020
StateCA
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2018 toyota sienna. The contact stated that after starting the vehicle and exiting the driveway, the vehicle surged forward while idle, with an unknown warning light illuminated. The contact then received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 20v012000 (fuel system, gasoline) however, the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. North bakersfield toyota (19651 industry pkwy dr, bakersfield, ca 93308, (661) 615-1100) was contacted and confirmed that parts were not yet available for the recall repair. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The failure mileage was 2,000. Vin tool confirms parts not available.
CategoryElectrical System
DateJun 29, 2020
StateCA
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2018 toyota sienna. The contact stated that while driving approximately 20 mph, the master warning light illuminated and the vehicle stalled. The cause of the failure was not determined. An unknown dealer was notified of the failure. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact was informed that the vin was included in the nhtsa campaign number: 20v012000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the recall repair was not yet available. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact stated that the vehicle experienced the failure listed in the recall. Vin tool confirms parts not available. The failure mileage was 56,000. *bf consumer stated dealer fixed the problem by replacing the tank fuel pump.*jb
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJun 08, 2020
StateCA
Description
There is a recall notice on my van and toyota has no solution for it as of yet and it is causing me to be unable to renew my registration online and I will now have to pay a late fee. *tr
CategoryVehicle Speed Control
DateJun 05, 2020
StateCA
Description
Unintended acceleration while reversing vehicle. Van went full throttle and sped up in reverse while backing up from my drive way at home. *tr
CategoryFuel System, Gasoline
DateJun 04, 2020
StateFL
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2018 toyota sienna. The contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 20v012000 (fuel system, gasoline) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Vin tool confirms parts not available.
CategorySuspension
DateMay 29, 2020
StateCA
Description
The vehicle has been wearing tires down unevenly to the point steel braid becomes exposed. It has had 3 sets of tires in less than 2 years. It has been aligned twice. The rear wheels are not within specs and are fixed and in adjustable. Toyota has refused to look into the problem any further and has stated that it might be how the van rides. Having the alignment off causes the tires to wear down to an unsafe level and it affects vehicle handling and performance. *tr
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateMay 22, 2020
StateCA
Description
I am unable to pay my renewal registration fee because there is no available remedy for the recall on my vehicle yet. I am not sure what to do at the moment. The dmv told me to contact my dealer. But my dealer responded by stating that there is no remedy to fix the vehicle yet. The dealer said that I should notify the dmv so that they could investigate further and allow me to pay my dues. This current covid-19 pandemic has made it difficult for me to get in contact with the dmv. *tr
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateMay 16, 2020
StateLA
Description
My van has been sitting in the driveway during the covid-19 lockdown. One day I noticed a crack from top to bottom down the middle of the windshield. This has to be due to a manufacturing defect because there was no accident, no trees above the van, and the pattern is not the same as windshields that have been hit by rocks. This model van has had multiple safety recalls and a class action lawsuit so I won't be surprised if this was a manufacturing defect. My hope is that this will turn into a safety recall and toyota takes responsibility and fixes it. The "bumper to bumper" warranty does not cover windshield defect. They dealership claim that it was caused by wear & tear without even inspecting it. When I called corporate, they said the same thing and I can take it into the dealership for an inspection. However, I would have to pay for the inspection fee. *tr
CategoryFuel System, Gasoline
DateMay 11, 2020
StateFL
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2018 toyota sienna. The contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 20v012000 (fuel system, gasoline) however, the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. Alan jay toyota (404 us hwy 27 n, sebring, fl 33870) was contacted and confirmed the part was not available. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Vin tools confirms parts not available. *tr
CategoryFuel/propulsion System
DateMay 10, 2020
StateNH
Description
We received notice from toyota of a possible failure in the vehicle's fuel pump for which there is no current fix available. The vehicle is parked in the garage. Nothing happened. My concern is that there's no data available about the frequency of these failures, so it's impossible for me to assess the risk of driving our only car. *tr
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateApr 22, 2020
StateTX
Description
The pcs stopped our van abruptly with no warning and did not slow down. Cruise control set at 75 mph north bound on tx hwy 69 between alto and rusk, tx. No rain smooth road late at night only the car in front of us. No other traffic. I screamed. Husband had fallen to sleep at the wheel even though we had taken a long nap in huntington, tx. We were on our way back home from my sister's funeral in nederland, tx.. I could see inside the read window of the car we stopped behind. No collision but injured my neck. Have medical records, was treated for neck injuries in jacksonville, tx and tyler, tx
CategoryFuel/propulsion System
DateApr 08, 2020
StateNY
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2018 toyota sienna. The contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 20v012000 (fuel system, gasoline). The contact called the lia toyota dealer, located in west nyack, ny, and it was confirmed that the parts were not available. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Vin tool confirms parts not available.
CategorySeats
DateMar 18, 2020
StateCA
Description
Tl* the consumer owns a 2018 toyota sienna. The consumer stated while the vehicle was at a stand still, when all four rear driver and passenger seats began to move independently forward. The vehicle was taken to local dealer autonation toyota hayward located at 24773 mission blvd, hayward, ca 94544, where it was diagnosed with needing floor rail caps to be replaced. The vehicle had been repaired twice but continues to experience the failure. The manufacturer had been informed of failure. The failure mileage was 1,000. *dt *as
CategoryFuel/propulsion System
DateMar 05, 2020
StateFL
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2018 toyota sienna. The contact stated that after coming to a complete stop, the vehicle hesitated without warning as the accelerator pedal was depressed. Upon investigation, the contact discovered nhtsa campaign number: 20v012000 (fuel system, gasoline) however, the parts to do the repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. Neither the dealer nor the manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 35,000. Vin tool confirms parts not available.
CategoryEngine
DateJan 23, 2020
StateVA
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2018 toyota sienna. While driving at low speeds making a right turn the oil warning indicator light illuminated and contact noticed the oil was low. The vehicle was taken to mechanicsville toyota 6546 mechanicsville turnpike, mechanicsville, va 23111(804) 559-8000 where it was diagnosed that the oil was low and additional oil needed to be added. The vehicle was repaired however, the failure recurred. The manufacturer was contacted but no further assistance was provided. The failure mileage was 3,700. The vin was not available.
CategoryTires
DateNov 25, 2019
StateMI
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2018 toyota sienna equipped with four bridgestone turanza tires, size: 235/55/18 (na). The contact stated that the inside shoulder of each tire experienced severe wear. The vehicle was taken to my auto imports toyota (1860 east sternburg rd, muskegon, mi), but the cause of the failure could not be determined. The tire manufacturer was not notified. The tire and vehicle failure mileage was 30,000.
CategoryPower Train
DateAug 11, 2019
StateAZ
Description
Delay in downshifting when throttle is pressed. A delay of 1 to 2 seconds occurs then abruptly downshifts and the engines revs loudly.
CategoryPower Train, Vehicle Speed Control
DateMay 29, 2019
StateMI
Description
I was turning left on country road at 25mph the car decelerate and yellow warning came on the dealer said the car thought it was going to roll over they did the soft ware up date the car still decalrate yellow light come on most of time when starting up
CategoryAir Bags
DateApr 30, 2019
StateFL
Description
Takata recall (?) we purchased this van on 4/18/2019, previously the van was a rental. The next evening, going to dinner on a friday night about 9 p. M. I was on a 2 lane road in a rural area, traveling at 60 mph and a dog walked in front of me. I had no time to react. The front end of the van was laying in the road, not drivable. Again, a front end collision and no air bag deployment! 2nd toyota sienna, first a 2017 and now a 2018, both rental sales, both had front end collisions and both had no air bag deployment. At 60 mph there's no reasonable excuse for no air bag deployment.
CategoryPower Train, Service Brakes, Vehicle Speed Control
DateMar 04, 2019
StateCO
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2018 toyota sienna. While driving approximately 45-50 mph, the accelerator pedal was depressed, but failed to respond. Additionally, the vehicle decelerated independently on occasion. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. Larry h miller toyota colorado springs (located at 5115 new car dr, colorado springs, co 80923, (719) 419-5832) was notified of the failure. The contact stated that the failure recurred on several occasions. The manufacturer was not contacted. The approximate failure mileage was 10,000. The consumer stated the while backing out of a parking space, the vehicle suddenly stopped reversing and the engine began to rev up as if the gas pedal was being depressed. The vehicle was put into park and back into reverse. The issue resolved itself. The braking system would shutter when in snow or ice causing the vehicle to vibrate violently and lose traction. *js
CategoryPower Train
DateFeb 25, 2019
StateTX
Description
2018 toyota sienna le. Consumer writes in regard to delayed acceleration which is causing transmission damage. *as *tr
CategoryElectrical System, Seats
DateFeb 21, 2019
StateIL
Description
3rd row power seats are malfunctioning and are operating while vehicle is in motion. Multiple times, and on different days, the power seats have started to close while passenger is seated and buckled in the seat. Occurred today while on the highway, at highway speed while my wife was seated in the drivers side 2 seat split. The seat started to close on its own - no one touched any button and we had been driving for over an hour. The seat put pressure on her until it stopped in a partially closed position. The seat buttons then did not work to reopen the seat back for several minutes. This would be extremely dangerous for a small child. This has happened in a similar scenario on multiple occasions and we are certain that the power seats are malfunctioning.
CategoryPower Train, Vehicle Speed Control
DateJan 16, 2019
StateVA
Description
The van struggles to accelerate. There is no way to turn off eco mode. No button is available. Van struggles to go up hills , excelerate thru intersections and always hunting for gears or stuck in a gear and sounds and acts very heavy on power train end. There is an option to turn off eco light. Turning off eco light does nothing but hide the problem. We need an option to complete disable eco mode with update or with a button.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateNov 20, 2018
StateGA
Description
1. Even to go on a small uphill slope, the vehicle(v6) really struggles. And when I try to accelerate, it kind of stalls or slows down for a moment, then tries to speed up but its still very slow. I'm facing this issue every day. My other car 2011 camry(v4) is very smooth at the exact same places. Cant believe the pickup is this poor with a new car. 2. On highways, just to maintain the speed over 65 mph on a recent trip, I had to press real hard on gas the whole time, even after that, I can clearly tell the vehicle was working extra hard just to be over 65. This issue is consistent every time I go on highways. Many owners have reported the above issues at toyota owners forum: https://www. Toyota. Com/owners/community/ask-an-owner/question-details/id/62777282 both issue#1 and 2 might lead to/trigger a back end collision because the cars coming from behind wont know that the vehicle will slow down (due to poor pickup) all on a sudden on even a smaller slope. Same with highways too and got tailgated on many occassions on highways. Recently did the diagonostics at the dealerhsip recently but they said everything looks good.
CategorySeats
DateNov 08, 2018
StateNC
Description
I have a question regarding vehicle seat movement. I have been told by two dealerships that the seats in the third row of the toyota sienna are meant to have some play to them. My main concern is that with a couple of car seats in the third row, or a couple of passengers, the movement of the seats may be an issue. All four seat latches rotate when lifting on the seat by hand, allowing the seat to twist, move to the rear of the vehicle and move laterally. This would be less of a concern if the seats themselves were not the mount for the latch system and seat belts. My question is, what movement is allowed of these seats? In an accident, a huge amount of force can be exerted on these latches, and if they allow play, that force can be multiplied by that movement. The increase in force could potentially cause the latches to fail. Currently there is no safety test for third row occupants or rear end collisions, from what I have researched. The attached files show the accessible latches, and their movement when force is applied to the seat.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateOct 08, 2018
StateTX
Description
Exploding moon roof
CategoryEngine, Power Train
DateSep 26, 2018
StateMA
Description
My 2018 sienna le is experiencing acceleration problems. I had the software up dated but after approximately 1,000 miles the problem is returning. This problem is especially unsafe when merging onto the highway.
CategoryStructure:body
DateSep 18, 2018
StateGA
Description
The automatic sliding doors do not have an auto/emergency stop if something impedes their shutting. A child can get crushed if an adult is not there to stop the doors. Even though I was there it was very hard for me (an adult) to stop the doors from closing. Yes, the child was wrong for pushing the close button then reaching back in the van to retrieve something. He thought it would stop until he was done. Thankfully I was standing beside him and was able to pull him away but the door still caught my arm and I had to push really hard to stop it. It just happened so fast. The vehicle was stationary, in park, and the ignition was switched off.
CategoryStructure:body
DateAug 31, 2018
StateOH
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2018 toyota sienna. The contact stated that the carpet on the driver side near the accelerator and brake pedals was loose and made contact with the driver's foot while driving. The vehicle was taken to cain toyota (6527 whipple ave nw, north canton, oh), but the failure was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 4,700.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateAug 24, 2018
StatePA
Description
3rd row seating passenger side cut holders and side panel get hot after 10 minutes of driving. Took the vehicle to toyota dealership for diagnosis and was told that the rear heating unit is routed along the 3rd row seating passenger side cut holders and side panel. Since the lines for the rear heating unit is running with coolant at 190f, the heat is transferred to the surrounding area and causing the hot cup holders and side quarter panel. As the vehicle ages, this will definitely become worse. The toyota dealership informed me that this is the way designed by toyota; however, this clearly is a design flaw and needs to be remedied.
CategoryExterior Lighting, Interior Lighting
DateFeb 23, 2018
StateMD
Description
I rented a 2018 toyota sienna on a recent trip to hawaii. Unlike earlier sienna models (which had bolder, thicker labels for the indicators), the instrument panel was very faint and hard to read in daylight. In shade, it was almost invisible. I checked the manual to see if I could turn the brightness up, but it appears to have been designed this way. I'm concerned that not being able to see the instrument panel to observe speed or other information could cause an accident, especially if you have to take your eyes off the road because it's so hard to read. It's enough to make me not buy this car, because it made me feel very unsafe in driving.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateJan 10, 2018
StateFL
Description
Driving on 1-75 and sunroof exploded. Glass all over our dog in the back. No traffic around us thank god. Van is 3 days old. Took to dealer in florida after duct taping around hole. Told it was hit by something. We did not hear anything but my concern is if we around any traffic we may not be here anymore. Hell of a noise causing me to swerve. Lucky no one was there. Total bill 1690. 85. I am a former toyota dealer from ontario canada. Scared the you no what out of us.

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.


Share your story

Does this ring a bell? Have you had a bad experience too? Sound off and share your experience with other visitors in the comment box below.

Brian Jones

About the Author:

Brian Jones spent more than 20 years working as an ASE Certified Master Tech and Parts Specialist at multiple dealerships. Brian has become an authority in the industry, traveling across the country to consult for car dealerships and contributing his expertise as a writer for several major automotive publications. In his spare time, Brian enjoys working on pickup trucks, muscle cars, Jeeps and anything related to motorsports.

See more posts from Brian Jones
BE THE FIRST TO COMMENT

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead you can to our legal team.

Please select your star rating.

Briefly describe your experience Briefly describe your experience

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? Please enter a valid phone number

Want to know if you could sue? Get a free legal evaluation Lemberg Law?

Get Your No-Obligation
Case Evaluation

Send a secure message to our legal team.

What’s your name? What’s your name?
What’s your email address? What’s your email address?
What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?
Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem
Confidentiality Guarantee: We keep your information completely confidential and will not send you spam or sell your information.