2018 Subaru Crosstrek Problems and Top Complaints – Is Your Car A Lemon?

Electrical, engine and powertrain issues among the top complaints received by the NHTSA from vehicle owners

By Brian Jones | Updated on

By Brian Jones | Updated on

There’s no doubt that the 2018 Subaru Crosstrek has a following of enthusiasts. Most owners come from a long line of Subaru owners that have come to rely on the brand. Even this model uses the tagline, “there’s always room for more stories.” They don’t realize how true that is. In fact, many of those in love with the brand are questioning their loyalty after experiencing this defective electrical system, malfunctioning engine and faulty powertrain.

Click on other model year to view more problems: 2019   2020   2021   2022

Don’t be stuck with a lemon. You have legal rights to cash, return or buyback.

The law makes Subaru pay legal fees.

We've fixed thousands of lemon problems. Message or call 877-795-3666 today.

NHTSA Complaints for the 2018 Subaru Crosstrek

Complaint CategoryNumber of Complaints
Visibility/wiper
62
Unknown Or Other
27
Engine
25
Electrical System
18
Power Train
12
Vehicle Speed Control
9
Structure:body
8
Visibility:windshield
7
Steering
4
Exterior Lighting
4

Electrical

For a reputable brand such as Subaru, it seems obvious that they should provide functioning electronic equipment with their vehicles. After all, the customers are paying a premium price to choose this model over the competition. Sadly, that extra money is a waste when facing an SUV with electronics that don’t work.

One Edmunds review illustrates this perfectly by saying, “The electronic steering on the highway over 50 mph has no feel of the road. It pulls the wheels on the slightest imperfection on the road. This makes the ride very  uncomfortable and dangerous. Also, a/c blows hot air when getting on the parkway or when passing another vehicle. However, city driving was great and the reason I originally purchased the vehicle. Traded the vehicle in after only 6 months.The is car is gone at a great loss to me, notice the reviews are not as good on the newer cars anymore.”

There are more than 40 service bulletins related to the electrical system. What’s most interesting is Service Bulletin #WUA-86R, which states, “In the interest of customer satisfaction, Subaru of America, Inc. (Subaru) is initiating a service program to update the Harman head unit.” Notice that the repairs aren’t being done because the system is faulty, but rather just to keep people happy. There’s a problem with that situation. The automaker should want to fix the issues because the car isn’t right. Instead, it’s a “courtesy” to the driver. Having a working audio system is no longer expected.

Here are some actual complaints logged with the NHTSA about the 2018 Subaru Crosstrek Electrical Problems:

SUBARU’S SAFETY SYSTEM EYESIGHT THAT USES ACROSS MULTIPLE MODELS INCLUDING MY 2018 CROSSTREK HAS A SERIOUS PROBLEM THAT PREVENTED THE HUMAN DRIVER TO BE ALERTED. THE EYESIGHT SAFETY WARNING AUDIO ALERT DOES NOT INTERRUPT THE AUDIO FROM THE RADIO UNIT, IN ADDITION THE AUDIO WARNING SOUND LEVEL IS VERY LOW DESPITE THE MAX SETTING ON THE SYSTEM. MY CELL PHONE’S RINGER VOLUME IS MUCH LOUDER THAN THE SUBARU’S EYESIGHT VOLUME. DURING THE NORMAL MUSIC LISTENING I CAN’T EVEN HEAR THE SAFETY WARNINGS (REAR CROSS TRAFFIC, FORWARD WARNING, AND LANE ALERT ETC). THIS CREATE AN EXTREMELY DANGEROUS DRIVING ENVIRONMENT THAT MIGHT LEAD TO AN ACCIDENT. MY CROSSTREK DOES NOT HAVE AN ADDITIONAL WINDSHIELD VISUAL ALERT LIKE MY GM CAR THAT HAS A RED LED PROJECTED TO WINDSHIELD IN ADDITION TO AUDIO ALERT. BY THE WAY GM’S ALERT STOP THE RADIO AND THE VOLUME IS LOUD. MY PROBLEM WAS CONFIRMED BY DEALER AND SUBARU OF AMERICA. SOA TOLD ME THAT THERE ARE NO REPAIRS NEEDED. I HOPE YOU CAN WORK WITH SUBARU OF AMERICA TO ASK THEM TO REPAIR THIS IMPORTANT SAFETY FEATURE. I HAVE A YOUNG TEENAGE DRIVER IN MY FAMILY AND I AM VERY CONCERNED ABOUT THIS ISSUE

MAIN COMPUTER SYSTEM STOPS WORKING ON A COUPLE OF OCCASIONS. NO RADIO, NO VOLUME CONTROL, NO CD, NO PHONE, NO MAP/GPS. MAP/GPS WAS IN USED AT THE TIME. SYSTEM RESUMES ALL OF ITS FUNCTIONS AFTER THE VEHICLE WAS PULLED OVER AND SHUT DOWN FOR A FEW MINUTES. VEHICLE WAS IN MOTION WHEN THIS HAPPENS.

THE STARLINK ENTERTAINMENT AND NAVIGATION SYSTEM (8″ SCREEN) PERIODICALLY FREEZES WHILE DRIVING. WHEN FROZEN, THE TOUCHSCREEN WILL NOT WORK AND THE SYSTEM IS USELESS. SOMETIMES THESE IS NO SOUND AND AT OTHER TIMES IT IS MAXIMUM VOLUME. AFTER SHUTTING OFF THE VEHICLE FOR AT LEAST FOUR HOURS, THE SYSTEM WILL UNFREEZE.

Engine

The car’s engine must be performing at optimal levels to get drivers from Point A to Point B. With Subaru, many people assume that the engines are highly durable and last forever, but it’s easy to find different experiences.

Just look at this NHTSA review. “My oil temp on my Subaru is higher than normal…I have had it in the dealer 2 times already and even tho they say the temps are not normal they say there is nothing they can do because everything looked fine.. but they tell me to change my oil every 3k now instead of 6k… I have asked Subaru what the oil temp range is and after months of calling someone finally tells me max temp is 247… My car goes over that… I take it to the dealer again and same thing… They do nothing… I ask them again what the normal temp range is and they don’t know… They tell me to just drive it that it’s under warranty… The high oil temp probably did some long term damage… Subaru is unwilling to do anything here even tho they say the temps are not normal… The temps rise up at highway driving… Up hills mostly..Normal speed.  It’s like there is no cooling… Go up hill during regular highway driving the oil temp just shoots up.. Water temp is normal.”

While there isn’t anything about this listed in the manufacturer communications, there are plenty of other engine troubles addressed. One that stands out is Service Bulletin #16-121-19. It indicates that many customers hear a tapping noise coming from the engine and CVT. Most often, this sound is heard after the car is warmed up. The repair involves taking off the six converter drive plate bolts, rotating it and reinstalling them. Maybe Subaru just wants to help consumers have more stories to tell others. The problem is that it is backfiring and the stories being spread are mostly negative.

Here are some actual complaints logged with the NHTSA about the 2018 Subaru Crosstrek Engine Problems:

PURCHASED A NEW 2018 SUBARU CROSSTREK FROM MY LOCAL SUBARU DEALERSHIP AND DROVE THE CAR HOME. THE NEXT DAY (JUNE 3, 2018), ON MY FIRST TRIP OUT TO RUN ERRANDS THE CAR STALLED AFTER GOING FROM REVERSE TO DRIVE AT SLOW SPEED IN A PARKING LOT. THE NEXT DAY (JUNE 4, 2018), THE CAR STALLED AGAIN TWICE IN RAPID SUCCESSION UNDER SIMILAR CONDITIONS IN ANOTHER PARKING LOT. THE SAME DAY (JUNE 4, 2018), I DROVE THE CAR TO MY LOCAL SUBARU DEALERSHIP FOR SERVICE. SUBARU ENGINEERS EVALUATED A SIMILAR PROBLEM ON OTHER CROSSTREKS AND DETERMINED THAT THE ISSUE WAS A SOFTWARE PROBLEM. 21 DAYS LATER I AM STILL WAITING FOR A REMEDY.

THERE WAS A RECALL ON MY CAR FOR THE ENGINE STALLING AND HESITATION. THE RECALL DID NOT RESOLVE THE PROBLEM. THE CAR HAS BEEN AT THE DEALERSHIP TWO TIMES. THEY CANNOT DUPLICATE THE CONDITION. SUBARU DOES NOT WANT TO GET INVOLVED TO HELP MY DEALER REPAIR THE CAR. I AM AFRAID TO DRIVE THE CAR BECAUSE WHEN IT DOES LOSE POWER ITS A MAJOR SAFETY CONCERN.

Powertrain

Along with the engine, the powertrain is also a component that needs to be running correctly for optimal performance. With this Subaru model, there are just as many complaints about the durability and competency of the powertrain.

One NHTSA review says, “The CVT transmission in this car is jerky, will often act as if applying the brakes with stopping, will have trouble shifting during stop and go traffic, resulting in jerking of the car. Will occasionally vibrate as if traveling over rough pavement. The vehicle is in motion when this happens. Can be in urban or highway traffic.”

There are also lots of manufacturer communications about the powertrain. Service bulletin #16-103-16R talks about fluid seeping from the CVT assembly. It turns out that the seepage is coming from the oil pump chain cover sealant. The repair involves removing the chain cover and cleaning all of the surfaces.

Aside from that, Subaru also has a significant recall that causes alarm for some drivers. While it isn’t powertrain related, it must still be addressed. In NHTSA Campaign Number 17V701000, it is stated that Crosstrek vehicles might have the incorrect floor mat retention bracket installed, which allows the mat to move and interfere with the pedals. This can lead to a crash if not dealt with. Imagine the stories that have come from that defect. Probably nothing that most owners think they will have to experience.

Here are some actual complaints logged with the NHTSA about the 2018 Subaru Crosstrek Transmission Problems:

VEHICLE HAS BEEN TO THE DEALERSHIP TWICE SINCE PURCHASED IN JUNE 2018 DUE TO JERKY, BUCKING AND HESITANT ACCELERATION AND SHIFTING. ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS, HESITANCY HAS ALMOST RESULTED IN BEING HIT WHILE PULLING OUT INTO TRAFFIC AND FROM PARKING SPACE IN LOT. THIS CAN OCCUR IN FWD DRIVE AND REVERSE. VIBRATION AND SHAKING OCCURS AT ABOUT 1700RMP AND LESS OCCASIONALLY 1100RPM.

Your Lemon Law Legal Rights

Think you have a lemon? Sit back and let the experts work out your lemon case at no cost to you. The law makes Subaru pay legal fees. You may be able to get your lemon out of your life. Every year, auto manufacturers buy back, replace or pay cash settlements to thousands of ‘lemon’ owners like you.

Complaint Data

CategoryExterior Lighting
DateNov 26, 2022
StateMT
Description
The passenger side headlight stopped working 2 months ago. I have the oem led system that tracks through turns. I finally got in for service and mentioned it. Also mentioned I had something similar in 2019 after a service at the dealer and they said it was “fixed”. Only had one or two moments where is didn't work and just turned off car and back on and seemed to resolve. This recent service they looked into fixing it and found out it's an entire sealed assembly and quoting the part us 00(cad) plus labour. Their mechanic drove it around anfter replacing fog lights and it worked for a moment then when I started and drove away it stopped. I have one working headlight but I live where winters are dark so I'm nervous.
CategoryPower Train, Structure:body, Vehicle Speed Control
DateNov 05, 2022
StateCA
Description
While I was doing parallel parking, the car on its own went into involuntary, sudden, uncontrolled acceleration & hit a tree & bushes resulting into considerable body damage. Then I called subaru national customer relations representative & I was told to go to the local subaru dealer where I had purchased the car about four and a half years ago. The mechanic there told me that he had never heard such incident & he said that since there is no engine light on, there is nothing to scan. And he thought the car was okay. So, I am driving it very cautiously. But, I am concerned. We thought the newer such cars are safer with the high-tech computers on board but I countered this safety problem that I had never come across before.
CategoryElectrical System:wiring:fuses And Circuit Breakers, Engine, Vehicle Speed Control
DateOct 17, 2022
StateNY
Description
The contact owns a 2018 subaru crosstrek. The contact stated while driving at approximately 50 mph, the vehicle lost motive power and stalled. While driving on a ramp at slow speeds and depressing the accelerator pedal, the vehicle failed to accelerate and stalled. There were no warning lights illuminated. The vehicle was towed to the local dealer to be diagnosed. The contact was informed that the ignition fuse needed to be replaced. The fuse was replaced, and the vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was contacted but provided no additional assistance. The approximate failure mileage was 39,000.
CategoryEngine
DateOct 02, 2022
StateMI
Description
When I attempted to start the car, the starter would spin but fail to engage the flywheel, leaving me stranded in a parking lot. The car needed to be towed to a repair shop. The repair shop confirmed the problem and replaced the starter with an oem replacement part. I am told that the manufacturer has redesigned the part. The car has less than 55,000 miles on it. I was unaware of any symptoms of the impending failure of this engine component.
CategoryElectrical System, Unknown Or Other
DateAug 31, 2022
StateFL
Description
Battery issues
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateAug 30, 2022
StateNV
Description
A crack developed on the front windshield of my 2018 subaru crosstrek out of nowhere. There was no accident or incident of a object (rock, dirt, etc…) that hit my windshield. I noticed the damage getting into my car that is parked inside a closed, locked garage.
CategoryEngine, Fuel/propulsion System, Vehicle Speed Control
DateAug 29, 2022
StateSC
Description
This morning august 29 2022 I started my 2018 subaru crosstrek, when I put it in gear the car just took off before I could stop it. The idle when about 5000 rpm and then up and down. I was able to get the vehicle stopped and parked. I tried starting the vehicle again and the same. The vehicle is on its way to crews subaru north charleston. Even the tow truck driver wouldn't drive the vehicle. This makes the vehicle unsafe. What if someone was walking past my driveway when this happen? It took about 40 feet to get the car stopped with my foot on the brake hard and to park the car. I have a video showing the rpm at 3900 but could upload it to your site. The consumer stated he would like the complaint removed, the floor mat holding the accelerator down was the problem.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJul 29, 2022
StateCO
Description
My car was parked in the covered garage at the denver airport. I left for 3 days and came back to a large crack in the windshield stemming from the lower driver side to the middle of the windshield. Nothing had hit it. It spontaneously cracked.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateJul 24, 2022
StateKS
Description
Windshield cracked almost all the way across to other side and then down. This vehicle has the eyesight package. I do not remember date it happened but will state 2 years ago. When it happened it quickly moved across windshield.
CategoryChest Clip, Buckle, Harness
DateJul 23, 2022
StateTX
Description
Was loosening the shoulder strap to get my child out of the seat and one of the straps came completely off of the seat. The strap hadn't broken, just had come unattached from the seat. Now only one strap is usable. Sent pictures to cybex and because it was 2 months out of the 2 year warranty, they couldn't replace it.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateJul 17, 2022
StateCA
Description
A windshield that was replaced july 14, 2021 at a subaru dealership developed a crack for no apparent reason within 6 months (december 2021). The crack began at the bottom passenger-side edge and as of july 17, 2022 the crack has now extended 3/4 the distance across the windshield (upwards towards the top edge of the windshield). This is a very expensive replacement cost (

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.

,400) at the subaru dealership. I am concerned about replacing the windshield again if the replacement windshields are defective and prone to cracking.
CategorySteering, Unknown Or Other
DateJul 12, 2022
StateNY
Description
This issue has happen 2 other times one time last year where suburu tow truck had to be called, 2nd time may 2022 in larchmont, ny and a police office had to come help me. And, the 3rd time on july 4, 2022, in the super market of key food, throggsneck, ny a stranger had to help me. When, I park my car and I turn off my ignition and the steering wheel is to the left it will lock. The manual says when the steering wheel locks to insert the key and slightly turn the wheel and it will unlock. Well I am not strong enough to do it. Usually, men come to assist me and they have trouble unlocking it. There is something definately not right. I should never have to go through so much trouble and why is my steering wheel locking. I also have issue with my car staining in various places. I don't eat in my car and my car is under a port in a shaded area. I have taking it to the dealer and reported it to suburu they said nothing. But, my car keeps staining. I had my car since 2017. And, I had multiple problems with it. The air conditioner doesn't cool enough, even when it is 70 degrees inside or out, the hose has be change multiple times, my tires rotors have always been black and I never take to a car wash I wash it at home and dry it wheel by wheel, and the back door does open properly and I have been hit in the head several times. I had computer problems where it keeps being reprogramed. But, the steering wheel is freaking me out I have a child and being lockout of my vehicle because I can't turn it on is very dangerous. Please assist. I have a video. It won't let me upload the video? Why [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the freedom of information act (foia), 5 u. S. C. 552(b)(6).
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateJun 12, 2022
StateVA
Description
A very, very small pebble hit the windshield while driving and caused a ~9 inch fracture in the windshield. I see that subaru has had a class action lawsuit for defective windshields, but for some reason did not include the 2018 crosstrek — but I can assure you, it's the same glass on these vehicles and the smallest pebble caused a nearly foot long crack.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateApr 06, 2022
StateRI
Description
The windshield cracked across the whole front of the car while it was parked in a private lot. There is no sign of impact.
CategoryVisibility:windshield
DateMar 04, 2022
StateVA
Description
The contact owns a 2018 subaru crosstrek. The contact stated that upon entering his vehicle after a light snowstorm, he noticed a vertical crack had from the bottom passenger's side of the windshield. The contact stated that the crack had expanded further up the windshield and obstructed his vision while driving. The dealer was notified of the failure and claimed they never heard of such a failure. The contact stated that he was also informed that the windshield was not covered under warranty and was provided an estimate for the repair. The manufacturer had yet to be notified of the failure. The vehicle had yet to be repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 80,000.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateJan 21, 2022
StateWA
Description
I got a cracked glass on the empty road and this is a same problem like at impreza
CategoryElectrical System, Structure, Visibility:sun/moon Roof Assembly
DateJan 13, 2022
StateCA
Description
The contact owns a 2018 subaru crosstrek. The contact stated that after a heavy rain and starting the vehicle several warning messages appeared on the instrument panel such as the assist braking and eyesight driver assist needed servicing. The contact also stated that the steering wheel was hard to maneuver. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who stated that a sensor in the wheel caused the failure. The sensor was replaced however, the failure reoccurred after heavy rains a month a later. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer who stated that the failure reoccurred due to the computer sensor in the rear driver's side wheel that was replaced was not reset. The contact stated that in december water was noticed on the driver's side floor and condensation after a heavy rain. The vehicle was taken to the dealer again where the failure was diagnosed as clogged sunroof draining ports. The contact stated that the sunroof port needed to be replaced and unclogged. The manufacturer was notified, and a case was opened. The approximate failure mileage was 32,000.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateJan 03, 2022
StateCA
Description
Windshield cracked in cold weather.
CategoryUnknown Or Other, Visibility/wiper
DateDec 16, 2021
StateNE
Description
This is the second time my windshield has spontaneously cracked since buying my 2018 crosstrek. Both the first and this time, the windshield appears to crack for no apparent reason and the crack grows every day until it crosses the entire windshield. These are costly to repair and should not crack without any visible damage.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateDec 11, 2021
StateGA
Description
Cowl panel separates from windshield. Taken to dealer on 4/21/21, paid 0 for replacement, 8 months later, 12/11/21, noticed separation again. At dealer to have it replaced. Same issue reported with impreza, ntsha ids: 11408233, 11193248. Cowl separation probably allows water intrusion into engine compartment, possible degradation of window seal and further fogging of windshield.
CategoryPower Train
DateDec 07, 2021
StateFL
Description
Under light throttle, car jerks at approximately 25 mph.
CategoryEngine
DateNov 12, 2021
StateOR
Description
Ecm reprogramming. I have sent in a report of 2018 crosstrek manual transmission models like mine with acceleration delay and hesitation. There has been numerous reports of this issue among the owners. It creates hazardous condition when the driver is unexpectedly experiencing power loss or acceleration delay on lane merging situations. My car hesitates at around 2000 rpm during acceleration. I have approached subaru dealer last year at approximately 28k miles. The car was deemed " normal". Then I called subaru of america and I was told no such issues were reported. However, after my own research online on crosstrek forum, this has been a known issue. In fact, tehre is a subaru issued service bulletin on the issue described above. The subaru service bulletin states " applicability: 2018-21 my crosstrek 2. 0l mt subject: lack of power / hesitation during acceleration number 09-77-21r date 7/28/21 revised 08/19/21. It also included 2017-21 my impreza 2. 0l mt. The service bulletin describes the same problem I have experienced and described above and an ecm reprograming is needed to fix the issue. Subaru of america has not issued a recall on these models. It should have. It should have done so in 2019 or 2010 when owners of these vehicles like me has brought the issue to their attention. Please investigate and contact subaru of america so potential accidents, hazards can be avoided. These cars need to be recalled.
CategoryEngine
DateNov 11, 2021
StateOR
Description
There are many online posts of the same issues as my 2018 crosstrek acceleration hesitancy, stumbling at around 2000 rpm or under light acceleration. This is particularly hazardous when entering highways. The subaru dealership cannot find any issue with diagnostic error codes. I called subaru of america they also reports no such recalls on the complaint above. Please investigate this for the model year 2015 and newer subaru crosstreks. Many many people who owns this model has complained this on the online forum for same issue and no response or fix from subaru. Below is a sample of what other crosstrek owners experienced what I have experienced also: subaru xv crosstrek engine hesitates during acceleration ... Https://www. Yourmechanic. Com › ... › xv crosstrek an engine that is hesitating to accelerate is most likely dealing with a fuel/air mixture that is too lean. Engine's that are running inefficiently will begin ... Hesitation during subaru crosstrek acceleration - victoriamgclubhttps://victoriamgclub. Com › hesitation-during-subaru-c... Feb 24, 2020 — another possible explanation why you experience hesitation during subaru crosstrek acceleration, whether you are driving, stationary, hot, cold ... Engine hesitation after ignition coil recall service - subaru xv ... Https://www. Clubcrosstrek. Com › threads › engine-hesita... May 30, 2020 — hi... Does the crosstrek have multiple ignition coils... Like one per cylinder, or just one? I had the impression that it was a single one? Problem with accelerating/going up hills - subaru xv ... Sep 17, 2020 rough starts regardless of condition? - subaru xv crosstrek ... Dec 3, 2014 engine stumble? | subaru xv crosstrek forums apr 11, 2014 sporadic starting problems | subaru xv crosstrek forums feb 5, 2014 more results from www. Clubcrosstrek. Com 2019 subaru crosstrek - hesitates - maintenance/repairshttps://community. Cartalk. Com › 2019-subaru-crosstrek... Jun 7, 2019 — 825 miles and the car occasionally hesitates when m
CategorySeats
DateOct 13, 2021
StateIA
Description
I recently 10/7/2021 had my subaru serviced for an oil change, and a couple of safety recalls that were needed. I also had a loose center console, and a loose wobbly drivers seat. Ramsey subaru, urbandale ia performed the service. Upon picking the vehicle up on the above date I was informed that all services were performed and fixed with the exception of the drivers seat. I was informed that the drivers seat needed to be replaced because “the welds on the bracket had broken.” with that said they said that would not come under warranty because my subaru has 51,000 miles on it and it is past the 3 years 36,000 mile warranty. I get that, my assumption when I had the car serviced that the bolts on the seat bracket just needed tightened. I was told by the service advisor that the seat bracket would cost over 0. 00 to be fixed. How is a weld defect a consumer issue? That is why I'm contacting you. This is a safety issue for the drivers of subaru's and other motorists and subaru needs to be held accountable and fix this issue with a mandatory recall. Please feel free to contact me at [xxx] or by email in regards to this very serious safety issue. I have read on the internet that isn't the first issue with the seat bracket welds. Information redacted pursuant to the freedom of information act (foia), 5 u. S. C. 552(b)(6).
CategoryStructure:body, Unknown Or Other
DateOct 04, 2021
StateCA
Description
The third windshield we've had on this car cracked again for now reason. This is available for inspection, and we have documentation of the previous issues, including when subaru paid part of the second one because they determined there was no reason the windshield should have cracked. Windshield cracked while in the driveway (we were in the car), determined unsafe to drive. The problem keeps occurring. Each windshield replacement has been performed by the dealership we bought the car from. The vehicle has been inspected by the state farm insurance folks for payment of the first windshield repair. There was no warning for the crack.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine And Engine Cooling
DateSep 22, 2021
StateMI
Description
The contact owns a 2018 subaru crosstrek. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the vehicle would not properly accelerate. The failure occurred while operating the vehicle in warmer humid weather. The contact indicated that the failure occurred after the vehicle was serviced under the nhtsa campaign number: 21v264000 (electrical system, engine and engine cooling) which included replacing the and updating the emc software. The manufacturer was notified of the failure, but no assistance was offered. The approximate failure mileage was 58,000. Consumer stated vehicle is still at the dealer.
CategoryVisibility:windshield
DateSep 13, 2021
StateWA
Description
The contact owns a 2018 subaru crosstrek. The contact stated that while her husband was approaching the parked vehicle, he noticed a crack on the upper driver's side of the windshield. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. A dealer was not contacted. The manufacturer had not been informed of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 23,000.
CategoryEngine
DateAug 06, 2021
StateNY
Description
The contact owns a 2018 subaru crosstek. The contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number:21v264000 (electrical system, engine and engine cooling) however, the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The part was on backorder because of a previous recall for the ignition coil as well. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue and confirmed the backorder of the part for the recall. The manufacturer also informed the contact that their case would be escalated. The contact had not experienced a failure. Vin tool confirms parts distribution disconnect.
CategoryElectrical System
DateJul 13, 2021
StateID
Description
The battery in my crosstrek inexplicably drains and sometimes won't hold a charge. I've had to buy a charger/booster after replacing the battery twice. 7/20/2020 and 9/18/2020
CategoryEngine, Fuel/propulsion System, Unknown Or Other
DateJun 17, 2021
StateCA
Description
Unknown my subaru has always had a little hesitation when accelerating. I brought this up to the dealer and they are telling me it is normal. However, in the last few months, it has gotten worse. Sometimes, when trying to accelerate into traffic, the car feels like it's going to stall or die, then it kicks in and I am able to accelerate. This is intermittent, so I never know when it's going to happen. This is a safety issue, since the hesitation could cause me to get hit.
CategoryEngine, Power Train
DateJun 17, 2021
StateCA
Description
Purchased used in august 2019 - premium 6mt. Issue has been present since purchase. There is hesitation with acceleration, not only with extremely slow acceleration, but jerking and surging at times. Dangerous when trying to pull out into traffic and driving in general. Appears to be an issue mostly between 2k-3k and then seems to rev properly after 3k, but have noticed jerking up around 4k and over. Had taken to dealer several times before issue was reproducible, then told to be issue with buildup of carbon in fuel lines. Had fuel lines blown, problem lessened, but did not resolve - this was roughly a year ago, problem has continued and worsened. Changed air filter with no change in problem. Multiple other owners on subaru forums have this same issue, as well as have posted on this website. Subaru needs to recognize this as an issue and resolve. No dashboard lights appear, no sensor issues have been reported. There is also a "knock" or "bloop" sound that comes from the passenger rear of the car, near the gas tank input, when pulling forward from reversing. Not sure if that is part of issue, perhaps too much air is getting into system? It's a very annoying issue; if I had known, I would have kept my jetta.
CategorySeats
DateMay 28, 2021
StateWA
Description
Driver seat mounting, the driver seat was rocking, at 11,000 miles the dealer replaced a bolt under warranty. It started again at 25,800 miles. Now out of warranty, the dealer did replace the seat base at no charge as goodwill... I am a big man 6'3 250# but that should not exceed the parameters of a seat mount... At this point I am satisficed with the repair but not happy it has occurred twice in a 4 year old car with less than 26,000 miles on it.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateMay 27, 2021
StatePA
Description
Sunroof exploded while driving at highway speed. Nothing hit my car while driving, no cars were in front of me. Glass and debris fell on my while I was driving. The car was taken to the dealer for repair because local auto glass shops would not work on the sunroof. The car has been with the dealer for almost a week. They are telling me that there is not a sunroof glass available in the united states.
CategoryVisibility:windshield
DateMay 21, 2021
StateNY
Description
The contact owns a 2018 subaru crosstrek. The contact stated while driving 50 mph, a small crack appeared on the windshield. The contact stated that after approximately 2 months, the crack expanded. The vehicle was not taken to the local dealer nor an independent mechanic to be diagnosed. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not informed of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 17,000.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateMay 13, 2021
StateDE
Description
What looks like a small chip appeared on the windshield without anything hitting it. The car was parked in a driveway in a suburban neighborhood.
CategoryExterior Lighting
DateMay 06, 2021
StatePA
Description
My driver's headlight went out which is led with only 40,600 miles. I discovered that if the swiveling test feature fails when I first start the vehicle, it will turn off the headlight. That is a big safety issue because the led light will still work if the swiveling feature wasn't malfunctioning. I found out several people online has the same issue, and subaru won't recall this problem. My headlight did turn back on for 1-2 weeks before going out again because of the swiveling test feature fail. My dealer told me the entire headlight assembly would have to be replaced at a cost of 37. 00 before tax. I refused because it's an led that should have never gone out with only 40,600 miles on it, and I bought it new. Also, I told them it's a safety issue since if the swiveling feature failed, the light should stay straight and be kept on, but subaru's design is to turn off the headlight. What are my options? I'm frustrated because of so little miles, and I don't have the vehicle paid off yet so getting rid of it isn't an easy option for me regarding money. Thank you.
CategoryElectrical System, Forward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Forward Collision Avoidance: Warnings
DateApr 25, 2021
StateFL
Description
Eyesight switches on and off too often for no obvious reason when the vehicle is in motion regardless of a city street or on the highway
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateApr 21, 2021
StateCA
Description
My 2018 subaru crosstrek's windshield cracked for no apparent reason. There was no rock or anything that I saw hit it. The crack keeps growing and is now about the length of a dollar bill. I have had a cracked windshield before on a different car and it is obvious when something like a rock hits it. However, this crack seemed to have come out of nowhere. When I first noticed the crack the vehicle was in motion on city streets (~35 mph)
CategorySteering
DateApr 20, 2021
StateNY
Description
Popping noise when turning to the right or the left only during a short range turn, had it to the dealership they couldn't hear the noise- as soon as they gave it back it was still popping, it is very frustrating. I have found online that there could be many issues, but was a recall on earlier models. Maybe 2018 should be recalled as well. Was at the dealer 4/2/2021- bought the car july 2020
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateApr 03, 2021
StateWA
Description
I own a subaru crosstrek (2018)our car windshield has a crack. I've never been into any accident or collision that can cause such a crack. I didn't understand why there all of a sudden is a crack on windshield one day. I just parked the car in our parking lot in our community ( it's a covered lot) and the next day when I went in to car, I noticed the crack.. I've been searching around and noticed that subaru vehicles including crosstrek have tons of reported issues of windshield cracks.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Adaptive Cruise Control, Forward Collision Avoidance: Warnings, Visibility/wiper
DateApr 02, 2021
StateTX
Description
The windshield suddenly cracked while driving the car on a city street. No impact or reason for it. Crack begun on the top middle section of the windshield and extended to the bottom of the winshield in a matter of seconds. Window replacement and eyesight adas calibration required.
CategoryStructure:body
DateMar 30, 2021
StateNY
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2018 subaru crosstrek. The contact stated that along the top of the windshield their were rough spots in a row above the top of the windshield that looked like rust. The contact spoke with the dealer (west herr automotive group 3552 southwestern blvd, orchard park, ny 14127; (716) 649-7711) who stated that they would receive a repair before the lease was up however have yet to receive one. The dealer stated they were stone chipped however the contact stated that it looks more like rust. . The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware. The approximate failure mileage was 21,700.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateMar 12, 2021
StateOH
Description
Out of nowhere my windshield had a 5 inch crack, from the bottom of the windshield on the passenger side. There is no chip, just a crack. There is nothing that I know of that caused this. I see online that there are a lot of problems with subaru windshields cracking. I do not have a picture, just a copy of the receipt for replacement.
CategoryEngine, Power Train, Vehicle Speed Control
DateMar 04, 2021
StatePA
Description
When crossing across traffic to get in the lane from right or left turns. There is slow and sluggish as it wants to stall or stay out in cross traffic to cause a collision!! It has happened since I purchased it from a non subaru dealer beginning of 2021. There should be a recall as this sluggish acceleration problem can cause an accident.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateFeb 26, 2021
StatePA
Description
On my way to work at 6:30am, my 2018 subaru crosstrek with eyesight may have had tiny rock create a pin sized chip in windshield. I park my car on the roof of a parking garage. When my shift was over at 7:30pm, I noticed a fracture about the size of one and a half dollar bills or close to 5 or 6 inches in length. The fracture was on the driver's side upper left hand corner. Called the dealership and they said to file a quote with my auto insurance. Since its not covered under the warranty.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateFeb 13, 2021
StateMD
Description
Driving my 2018 subaru crosstrek down the highway today (2/13/2021) with no other cars visible on the road with me in their direction I turned on my defrost and windshield wipers. I noticed at that after that function a cracking line from the bottom of the windshield grew up from the bottom and curved left. The crack continued for about 7-10" during the remaining 3 hour drive on the highway. To be clear there was no chip or impact. I have pictures from the moment I realized it behind the wheel and again outside of the vehicle at the end of my trip. There is no impact just a perfect crack starting from below the windshield wipers, which is proected from debre by the hood and wipers. The car was purchased may 2018, manufactured after feb 2018 and is less than 3 years old.
CategoryVisibility:windshield
DateFeb 11, 2021
StateOH
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2018 subaru crosstrek. The contact stated that while operating the vehicle, the driver discovered that the front windshield had cracked on the passenger's side. The contact indicated that no object had impacted the windshield to cause the crack. The vehicle was taken to the local dealer adventure subaru located at 1991 mentor ave, painesville, oh 44077 who was unable to determine the cause of the failure. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 54,800.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateJan 27, 2021
StateCA
Description
I have a total of two windshield cracks on my orange 2018 subaru crosstrek. The first occured in 05/23/2019. I was driving on mira mesa blvd in san diego approaching I-15 north ramp when a small rock flew a from cars tire and hit my windshield on the driver-side, lower portion near the wiper blades. I was driving the speed limit of 45 when this happened. The rock caused a small chip and two cracks. As I drove on the freeway to work, the crack began to propagate. I immediately called a windshield repair company and have them seal the crack to prevent it from spreading. Cost the second occasion on 01/24/21 I was driving on the I-5 freeway near oceanside heading north. I was passing a truck when a dime size rock flew once again and hit my windshield. I was driving at 75 mph. This hit right on the driver-side around eye level to the driver. At this point, it seemed the windshield was weak so I'm getting it replaced. Costing me 0. This windshield is weak and I should have not have to replace or repair it at such a rapid rate.
CategoryStructure:body, Unknown Or Other, Visibility/wiper
DateJan 24, 2021
StateFL
Description
While driving on my way home in light snow my window cracked starting at 6 inches and is now over a foot long and growing.
CategoryStructure:body, Unknown Or Other, Visibility/wiper
DateJan 23, 2021
StateNY
Description
My windshield got a big crack out of nowhere while I was driving on a highway. In addition my windshield wiper nozzles and pump have both been replaced due to problems cleaning window but continue to malfunction still and I can't see clearly because of it.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateJan 13, 2021
StateWA
Description
Windshield cracked, unsure of timing
CategoryStructure:body
DateJan 03, 2021
StateFL
Description
Windshield had small crack in it when I came out one morning.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateDec 27, 2020
StateCA
Description
A long (10-12 inch) crack in the windshield. I can only imagine that a small pepple his the windshield wihile driving on the freeway. No noticable damanage until a few days later when I noticed a long (10-12) inch crack in the windsheild near the dash (bottom of the windshield) and traveling up and to the right of the windshield.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateDec 27, 2020
StateWY
Description
Windshield cracked on the driver's side while driving on the interstate. The crack occurred in early october. There was no reason the windshield should have cracked.
CategoryVisibility:windshield
DateDec 03, 2020
StateMI
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2018 subaru crosstrek. The contact stated that while approaching her parked vehicle at her residence, she noticed a vertical crack on the front windshield. The contact stated that the crack was not caused by an impact. The vehicle was taken to repair shop and the front windshield was replaced. The vehicle had been repaired. A dealer was not contacted. The manufacturer had not been informed of failure. The failure mileage was approximately 9,500.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateNov 30, 2020
StateCO
Description
After only one year of ownership, the vehicle's windshield cracked. While preparing for our early morning commute, my wife and I approached the vehicle and quickly realized that there was a crack extending from the upper left-hand side to the lower right-hand side of the windshield (viewing the vehicle from the outside). No rocks or sharp objects ever struck the windshield. The windshield cracked while the vehicle was stationary.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateNov 30, 2020
StateIN
Description
Windshield cracked with no cause.
CategoryLane Departure: Warning, Unknown Or Other, Visibility/wiper
DateNov 27, 2020
StateCO
Description
With the crack covering the eyesight system, the warning signal was always flashing and causing my steering to pull to one side. Since it was doing this it was causing the car to pull to one side or bring my tires costing me an additional 0 to replace the tires balance and alignment for my crosstrek, plus the downtime that I had to takeoff from work to get my car worked on at the subaru dealership.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateNov 27, 2020
StateNM
Description
A crack appeared across the bottom center of the windshield 2 weeks ago while it was parked.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateNov 27, 2020
StateCA
Description
While driving down the road I ran over a small pothole and I noticed a small chip that had appeared on the windshield. When I stopped to look it over I couldn't even feel it from the outside. Resolving to get it fixed when I came home I began driving and not even an hour into my trip it had turned into. A crack going down the length of the drivers side. By the end of the trip it stretched 4 feet from the uppermost corner drivers side going down, and then making a curved perpendicular to the ground and going to the passenger side. All in the matter of a few hours.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateOct 30, 2020
StateCA
Description
Have asked subaru to update their software to control the dash board. When the digital dash is set to the digital speedometer, and a call comes in, the dash displays :call in progress" and no longer shows the digital speedometer. Subaru has not made any software updates to their software.
CategoryElectrical System
DateOct 10, 2020
StatePA
Description
We can drive hundreds of miles, make a few stops and during one of those stops, the battery is dead. This has occurred three separate times over the last 4 weeks. We've had the vehicle at john kennedy subaru in norristown where they attempted to diagnose the problem. What they did was perform an update on radio and the battery, starter and alternator all checked out ok. The car died again today and we're scheduled to bring it in again on monday.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateSep 01, 2020
StateVA
Description
I was driving on highway 65 mph but did not see anything hit windshield. Small crack to start.. Small spider web crack grew into a un-repairable 6-8 inches in 4 days.
CategoryWheels
DateAug 09, 2020
StateCA
Description
At less than 60,000 miles my wheel bearings started making a loud humming noise. The noise getting louder the faster I go. It's is a constant noise that only goes away when I stop. I have never taken the car off road.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateAug 06, 2020
StateCA
Description
Windshield constantly popping like it is cracking from when new. Small rock hit it and a huge crack across at least 25% of windshield before you could have it repaired.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateJul 14, 2020
StateVA
Description
The windshield has cracked with no impact or damage to cause the crack. The vehicle has been parked in our residence driveway and not driven (home due to covid) so I am certain nothing has hit the window to cause it to crack. The crack is vertical straight up from the defroster element on the passenger side and is 10+ inches long. Dealer indicates this is not under warranty and would cost nearly 3k to replace windshield and recalibrate the eyesight functionality. I understand from research online that this is a known issue on subaru models, including the crosstrek.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateJul 10, 2020
StateKS
Description
My car was parked approximately 2 hours and 15 minutes today, friday july 10, 2020, from 9:15am until 11:30am. When I returned to my car, the windshield had a crack on the right passenger side starting at top of window approximately 3 inches long. It is going up and down on the windshield, from the top. I did not have a rock or debris hit my windshield while driving. The parking lot is not near a roadway or where it could be hit by debris.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateJul 09, 2020
StateOH
Description
Windshield crack , which is lengthing. Noticed while driving but do not recall an iincident which could account for this damage.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateJul 04, 2020
StateMA
Description
The windshield spontaneously cracked while stationary in our driveway. The crack is vertical located in the center of the window from the roofline to almost the windshield wipers. The local subaru service department stated this is a problem they see often and will not be covered by the warranty.
CategoryUnknown Or Other, Visibility:windshield
DateJun 25, 2020
StateMO
Description
My windshield has cracked twice and chipped other times, I believe it to be defective! *tr
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateJun 24, 2020
StateMD
Description
A small piece of pebble hit my windshield on the highway. Normally, a small pebble should not make such a big damage, but it created such a big crack in the window. Interestingly, in my neighborhood, there is the same make/model car with the same window crack. It is very disappointing to see subaru to have low quality windshield in their latest model. *tr
CategoryVisibility/wiper, Visibility:windshield
DateJun 22, 2020
StateCA
Description
I have had 6 rock chip since I have owned this car. I drive mostly highway miles to and from work. It seems any slightest hit to the windshield will cause a chip. In all the vehicle I have owned other than this I have only had 4. Out of 8 other vehicle. I would have to say that something isn't correct with how they made this windshield. My 1981 and 1986 subaru's that I have owned I never got a chip in the windshield. And I put more miles on them that my current 2018 crosstrek. My first chip was at about 200 miles and then from there just down hill. I dread the sound of something hitting the windshield. At times I am afraid the windshield is just going to shatter. *tr
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateJun 22, 2020
StateMI
Description
Windshield gets a massive crack out of nowhere. Vehicle was in garage. *tr
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateJun 21, 2020
StateWA
Description
Windshield crack appeared overnight from above the heat vent.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateJun 21, 2020
StateCA
Description
Winshield crack about 6 in long for no apparent reason. Car was parked. Day temperature was mild, not extremely cold or hot. It's going to cost 0 to replace due to eyesight calibration. I got it temporarily fixed with resin. Windshield technician said it was not caused by debris or foreign object.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateJun 19, 2020
StateNM
Description
We have now had to replace or repair significant cracks from seemingly small rocks hitting the windshield. They never pock the windshield but rather cause long cracks to appear that can obscure vision or the visual aid cameras provided with the vehicle. *tr
CategoryElectrical System, Unknown Or Other
DateMay 21, 2020
StateNJ
Description
In nov 2017, at 700 miles, I had a remote start installed at the dealership. In may 2018, my remote start would not start the car & when it would the car would stall. Even without the remote start my car wouldn't start or it would start and shut off. I couldn't get it to function for 3 days. In addition, I was having issues with my radio. The radio would freeze up or it would not turn off, there were times the radio would keep running for close to 15 minutes even though the car was shut off. I took my car to dealership in may 2018 at 4136 miles & they stated my terminal connections were loose, they completed a radio update & that when the remote start was installed they didn't believe it was fully connected to the battery. Shortly after, my gps would lose connection a lot, my eye sight technology shuts off when I'm driving if it's foggy or rainy, my reverse auto brake has stopped my car even though there was nothing behind me, my car auto braked on the highway twice even though I was not near anyone & almost caused accidents, & my radio has frozen up, so I could not do anything but view a blue screen with white stars. I kept getting charged for starlink but it never worked, the icons wouldn't even light up on my screen for it. I brought my car in for numerous recalls in feb 2020, my car had 13,790 miles. On may 20, 2020, my car would not start; my key fobs & remote start wouldn't work. A jumper box couldn't start my car; I had to have someone jump the car. The car ran rough & the odometer shut off & the screen changed while driving. Today, the car is dead again. I can only get into my car with emergency key, the car & electronics will not turn on & lights were blinking on the dashboard. My car has 17,132 miles & this is the 2nd time I am completely without a car for days. There is something seriously wrong with the battery & electrical components of this car. *tr
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateMay 05, 2020
StatePA
Description
My car sat in my driveway for about three days without being driven. In that time, the windshield formed a crack starting at the bottom near the heat vent and going up into the main part of the windshield. There was no impact from a foreign object, the crack seemed to form spontaneously at some point during the three days I didn't drive the car. *tr
CategoryService Brakes
DateApr 27, 2020
StateNJ
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2018 subaru crosstrek. The contact stated that the vehicle was serviced on 3/32/2018 at a local dealer for an unknown brake recall. The contact stated that while his daughter was driving 20 mph the brake pedal was depressed, failed to respond and the vehicle hydroplaned crashing into the median. There were no warning lights illuminated. There were no reported injuries. The air bags did not deploy. A police report was filed. The vehicle was towed to the contact's residence. The contact stated that rk subaru of vineland (612 n delsea dr building 2, vineland, nj 08360) was contacted however, he was awaiting a callback. The contact also stated that this dealer serviced the recall for the brakes. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not contacted. The failure mileage was 40,247.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateApr 27, 2020
StateWA
Description
In the past 18 months of owning my subaru crosstrek, I have had the windshield crack twice for no apparent reason. The first time my windshield cracked, there was no "point of impact" that I was able to detect and the windshield started to crack near the heating vent under the windshield wipers. The second time the windshield cracked, there again was no "point of impact" detected and the crack seemed to start from the top most part of the windshield right where the rearview mirror was attached to the windshield.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateApr 13, 2020
StateWA
Description
Traveling down highway, vehicle in motion when the windshield was hit by small rock from the car traveling in front of me. Resulted in spider crack and within 30 minutes a 10'+ crack. Normal windshields do not crack this easy.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateApr 12, 2020
StateTN
Description
Cracked windshield less than 15,000 miles on the car.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateApr 08, 2020
StateCO
Description
I noticed that my windshield had a large crack in it after driving into work one day without any precipitating factors (no wreck, no hit, no rocks, etc). It was initially small and has quickly involved top to bottom of the right side of the windshield
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateMar 15, 2020
StateCA
Description
The car was in motion on a highway and a small crack appeared from the passenger side of the window. It quickly spread across the window.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateMar 14, 2020
StateMO
Description
Windshield cracked twice, once a small crack which was repaired and second time a larger crack which needed windshield replaced. No obvious causes in either case
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateMar 14, 2020
StateAR
Description
I purchased my 2018 subaru crosstrek from harvey subaru in bossier city la in march of 2018. I can't recall the exact date, but the car was in the parking lot at work and the sunroof exploded. The warranty was honored and they replaced the sunroof with no hassle. I assume they will have service records detailing the incident. It was in the summer of 2018 if I recall correctly. I'm not sure if this is related to the windshield issues subaru is having but I felt like I needed to report it.
CategoryStructure:body, Visibility/wiper
DateMar 13, 2020
StateCT
Description
Since I bought the subaru cross I have encounter multiple paint chipping in the body and had a windshield crack and paid out of pocket to have safelite repair the window.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateMar 13, 2020
StateFL
Description
My windshield cracked and spidered out was for no apparent reason. I was driving down the highway when it happened.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateMar 13, 2020
StateWA
Description
Drove from work to home. Left parked in our driveway as it always is. Husband went to get in it later and came and asked what happened. The crack was not there when I got home. It happened in the drive way, within a couple of hours of being home. This is concerning as the crack is now running into our navigation sites, so the car gives off incorrect reading, not picking up the white lines or disabling the sight detection, usually only stays on instrument panel a few minutes then returns to normal. There was no police report or insurance claim filed. I am unable to get a picture to upload. I cannot get them any smaller than 6. 2 mb. I have them if needed.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateFeb 24, 2020
StateUT
Description
Cracking and chipping of windshield
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateFeb 23, 2020
StateWA
Description
The windshield chipped for no reason. Then it spread a crack across the passenger to the driver side. It was parked in a safe place and I did not drive it at all since I worked from home.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateFeb 23, 2020
StateIL
Description
A very small surface chip on the outer portion of the windshield (black area, driver's side) developed into an approximately two foot long horizontal crack across the driver's side of the windshield. The crack developed over a period of three weeks during which the vehicle was stationary, on city streets and highways.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateFeb 23, 2020
StateVA
Description
Windshield cracked near left column while driving within two months of buying the brand new car. There were no rocks or other obvious signs of damage. Crack spread across the entire windshield and took 4+ months to get replaced due to not enough extra windshields in the area.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateFeb 23, 2020
StateCA
Description
Windshield cracked from center of bottom edge without contact from any object. Crack appeared in the morning when I went to start my 2018 crosstrek.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateFeb 22, 2020
StateNJ
Description
Car was parked in a car port under a condo at the beach no bad storms no bad weather came back the next morning to a chip now walked 4 to 5 inches.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateFeb 11, 2020
StateMO
Description
On june 30, 2018, I was driving my 2018 subaru crosstrek limited edition on a city street. I heard a noise while driving but kept driving since I was just blocks away to work. I parked in the monitored parking lot and visually looked inside and outside my car for some indication of where the noise came from, including the windshield from the inside and outside. I saw no cracks to the windshield or other area of the vehicle. It was hot outside (90's). I went in to work. When I got off work I went out to my car. I got inside my car, immediately noticing a 6-8 inch long crack on the driver's side of the front windshield. I went home in shock about the large crack in my windshield. I later contacted my insurance company, and was told my deductible and to call around to find quotes on replacement. I was told by all the auto shops including my local subaru dealer the entire windshield would need replaced but the car was so new that they didn't have the parts in stock and didn't know how long it would be since the car was so new. I didn't get the windshield replaced . I felt that subaru should be responsible for a new windshield as the car was only purchased new 9 months before. I did not have the money to go through my insurance at the time and I was told by my local dealer that subaru did not cover the windshield in the warranty on the car. However, I believe the defect of the windshield prevents the safe and proper operation of the vehicle because subaru's eyesight safety system, intended to prevent collisions, is attached to the inside of the upper windshield. I did research online at the time if other owners had complaints, but the car was so new I only found one. Now, a search reveals many complaints of defective windshields and a class action lawsuit. I worry about my safety still and I believe subaru should be held accountable for the replacement of the windshield.*dt*jb
CategoryEngine
DateDec 31, 2019
StateNC
Description
The car engine has stalled 4 times since july when wife was accelerating onto a main street or through an intersection, turning from a stop. On one occasion, she fluttered the pedal and regained engine power. The other times she had to take the car out of gear and restart the engine with the ignition key. Loosing power in an intersection with moderate to heavy traffic has scared her and she refuses to the the car. Two of these incidents were prior to the car being serviced for the coil inspection and ecm reprogram recall on nov. 20, the other two were on dec. 3, 2019. The auto was taken to the wilmington, nc subaru dealership for a thorough inspection on dec. 17, 2019, and they could not find the problem. The car was purchased used from a dealership in april. 2019. I, (the husband) drive the car 95% of the time and have not had the problem of engine stalling. The wife is 5'2" and is in her early 70s. She has been driving for 55 years and our previous car was a 1998 subaru outback of which she had no problems. The wife does drive with both feet, accelerating with the right foot and breaking with the left foot. Attempts to duplicate the problem, both with her driving and with me driving fail to cause a stall.
CategoryEngine
DateDec 19, 2019
StateMD
Description
Three recalls for december 2019 on a 2018 subaru crosstrek. Subaru service program numbers are; wur-03, subaru safety recall wuq-02 nhtsa recall id 19v-743, and subaru saftery recall wup-01 nhtsa id 19v-744
CategoryVehicle Speed Control
DateDec 17, 2019
StateTX
Description
Tl* the contact owned a 2018 subaru crosstrek. While the contact's son was driving at low speeds and making a left turn, the vehicle became difficult to accelerate. A pick up truck crashed into the rear passenger side quarter panel of the contact's vehicle. There were no warning indicators illuminated. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic. There were no injuries and a police report was not filed. The air bags did not deploy. The contact called subaru of grapevine (2651 william d tate ave, grapevine, tx 76051, (817) 438-1700) and informed them of the failure. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was contacted and referred the contact to a local dealer. The insurance company deemed the vehicle destroyed. The failure mileage was 20,000.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine
DateDec 09, 2019
StateNY
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2018 subaru crosstrek. The contact received two recall notifications for nhtsa campaign numbers: 19v744000 (engine & engine cooling) and 19v743000 (electrical system). The manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time to repair the vehicle. Northtown subaru (3930 sheridan dr, hamherst, ny) confirmed that parts were not available to perform the recall repairs. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.
CategoryEngine
DateDec 09, 2019
StatePA
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2018 subaru crosstrek. The contact stated that the pcv blew up and stranded the contact on the side of the highway. The vehicle was towed to faulkner nissan of harrisburg (3925 paxton st, harrisburg, pa 17111) where it remained from november 16, 2019 to november 27, 2019. The dealer had to remove the engine to clean up the pcv debris and other engine components. The vehicle was included in nhtsa campaign number: 19v744000 (engine and engine cooling). The manufacturer was called on december 2, 2019 and they provided a case number and promised to call back. The contact called the manufacturer back on december 9, 2019 and was informed that the vehicle did not qualify for the lemon law since it was only with the dealer for nine days. The contact felt that he was one of six people that experienced the failure and his engine was not replaced. The vehicle had not been repaired. The failure mileage was 22,850.*dt*jb
CategoryPower Train
DateDec 03, 2019
StateVA
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2018 subaru crosstrek. The contact stated that when the gear was shifted into reverse, the vehicle would move forward. There were no warning indicators illuminated. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic, but was not diagnosed or repaired. The dealer and manufacturer were not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 6,500. The vin was not available.
CategoryEngine
DateDec 02, 2019
StateIL
Description
2018 subaru crosstrek, mileage 17,000 as of 12/02/2019. Vehicle being driven on a city street at 35 mph started to feel heavy/rigid and losing motive power. Exhaust started to discharge non-stopping heavy black smoke like that of tires burning. Also, there was a very strong plastic-like smell in the smoke. Immediately called the nearest subaru dealership and took the vehicle in. I waited over 4 long hours until the technician said I had to leave the car as they did not know what the problem was since all tests performed had come out ok. A loaner was provided the following day and a call from the dealership stated that they were not 100% sure about the issue and that they suspected it had to do with manufacturer recall number wup01 (nhtsa 19v744000) and that it would take at least 2 weeks to repair. Subaru of america failed to send letters or emails concerning 2 open recalls for this vehicle since october 2019. I do not have documentation to submit at the time of this complaint as I have not yet received any copies from the subaru dealership. My life and the lives of my family members when we have been riding on the vehicle have been at great risk because subaru has failed to inform of these recalls which could have ended up in a fatality. This is completely unacceptable from a manufacturer I have put all my trust in.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateNov 06, 2019
StateUT
Description
A crack developed in the windshield, starting just under the wipers in the wiper defrost region. By the time I noticed the crack, it had propagated longer than was safe to repair. The crack also developed into a complex crack (split into two directions from the initial crack). The crack length spanned ~70% of the width of the windshield, approximately 3-4 inches above the wiper blades. There was no apparent reason why the crack occurred. I do not remember a rock or other debris striking the windshield while driving, and I am the only individual who has driven the vehicle.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine
DateNov 01, 2019
StateVA
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2018 subaru crosstrek. The contact received two recall notifications in the mail for nhtsa campaign numbers: 19v744000 (engine and engine cooling) and 19v743000(electrical system). Prior to the notifications, the contact informed cma's colonial subaru (2122 ruffin mill rd, south chesterfield, va 23834, 888-929-4456) that she heard a banging noise coming from the engine when parking the vehicle. There were no warning indicators illuminated. The contact was informed that the noise was related to the engine cooling off and that an oil change was needed. The manufacturer had not been notified. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 33. Vin tool confirms parts not available.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateOct 30, 2019
StateCO
Description
Did not notice anything wrong with the front windshield yesterday and car was parked in garage overnight. Drove out this morning and noticed a roughly 6" long crack in front windshield in bottom left corner. No apparent cause for the new crack.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateOct 29, 2019
StateAZ
Description
The windshield developed 2 large cracks that hinder the visibility on both the driver and passenger side. The cracks developed over approximately 4 months while parked.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateOct 28, 2019
StateOK
Description
Windshield cracked within 30 to 45 days of purchase for no apparent reason. Had a second crack less than a year later
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateOct 28, 2019
StateCA
Description
Within the first year of owning my brand new 2019 crosstrek my windshield developed two very large cracks across it.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateOct 28, 2019
StateMT
Description
I was driving on the freeway 3 months after purchasing the car brand new, and the windshield cracked on the drivers side about halfway up. I replaced the windshield only to have it crack in the same spot 3 months later.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateOct 27, 2019
StateMI
Description
Oct 2017, stone chip passenger violently cracked next morning when defroster was run to defog front window. Car was stationary.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateOct 27, 2019
StatePA
Description
2018 crosstrek with 3000mi, got into car early cold morning 1/2018, turned on defroster windshield cracked while stopped. No "trauma," no rocks, no accidents. Crosstrek with eyesight driver assist package, had to replace windshield and recalibrate eyesight. A replacement windshield was not immediately available. Windshield could not be repaired, only replaced, due to the presence of eyesight. Two days for repair, loaner car provided.
CategoryVehicle Speed Control
DateOct 04, 2019
StateNC
Description
Intermittent jerky acceleration combined with a significant loss in power during modest acceleration. At times I get no acceleration while the car jerks between 2,000 & 3,000 rpm. This is unpredictable as to when it might happen but occurs at engine speeds under 3,000 rpm regardless of vehicle speed or gear selected. My initial impression was that it is most frequent when resuming driving after having stopped for a short period which was preceded by prolonged high speed driving. Now it seems it can happen anytime. May be related to our high ambient temps this time of year. There are numerous accounts of others having the same problem on this forum. Https://www. Subaruxvforum. Com/threads/hesitation-while-modest-accelerating. 163650/ I took it to my subaru dealership for service. They said they were able to reproduce what I describe and say it is "normal". I have owned 7 manual transmission vehicles prior to this one and can say it is anything but normal. "normal" apparently means it is a known problem and there's nothing my dealer can do about it.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateOct 01, 2019
StateCA
Description
Small pebble hit windshield. Not moving at high rate of speed. Now windshield is cracked.
CategoryElectronic Stability Control, Engine, Vehicle Speed Control
DateSep 10, 2019
StateKS
Description
While driving on the highway, the engine just stopped and the entire vehicle turned off (computers and all). The cruise control was being turned off (from going about 75) because I was approaching traffic and it just turned off. Brakes still worked and I got on the shoulder. Then when trying to turn it back on, it would have very strange noise like an old fan or clunking. I would press my accelerator all the way down and it would only go 5 miles an hour. Finally after turning the car off an restarting enough times it ran normally. But then the computer was on the fritz. Flashing the high incline sign, the four wheel drive sign, and flashing all the cruise control. And the check engine light is on.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateAug 28, 2019
StateCO
Description
I have two small cracks on my windshield after a 1. 5 years of owning it. The first one (attached images): was cracked while driving on the highway. I guess a small rock flipped up and hit and it cracked. Was going roughly 60-65 mph. The second one (not pictured): is more towards the lower middle of the windshield. This was also cracked while moving from a small rock that flew up. I was traveling much slower this time as it was more of a normal road out in the country. I was going around 45 mph. It seems absurd to me that I already have a cracked windshield 1. 5 years into owning this vehicle when every vehicle I've owned before this one has never had that happen before.
CategoryVehicle Speed Control
DateAug 18, 2019
StateWA
Description
Driving on highway adaptive cruise control engaged. Skies are grey. It's about 1300. No rain. In right lane. 2 cars ahead exited and cruise control did not see the white truck ahead of us who was slowing down for traffic. The car increased speed, accelerating into the back of the truck. We applied our breaks and avoided an accident going from about 50 mph to the slow traffic speed of about 20 mph in 10 yards. It was quite scary. I similar incident with the car not seeing a white truck happened about a year ago in stop and go traffic driving through seattle.
CategoryElectrical System, Exterior Lighting, Visibility/wiper
DateAug 01, 2019
StateNY
Description
1) vehicle was delivered new with rear power windows not working. 2) led brake light stopped working at 15000 miles , noticed when I was backing up in front of glass doors. I was told by dealer wire was shorting out and entire light assembly needed to be replaced. Dealer did not stock part so I was sent off with non working brake light under warranty until they could get part.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJul 11, 2019
StatePA
Description
I have a security issue related to the 2018 crosstrek and the door locking and unlocking system. This issue puts vehicle operators at risk and fails to protect the contents of the vehicle when unattended. We experience issues where the alarm would sound when opening the driver door. There is nothing in the documentation that described this so we went to search the internet for help. We discovered many people are having this issue. This happens when the vehicle is locked with the remote control but the driver door does not lock. The vehicle can be entered when unattended, the doors manually unlocked and the contents removed. It is also possible the door is not locked while operated. This exposes the occupants to the risk of unexpected entry from outside while they are operating the car. This situation occurs when the door handle is used to unlock and open the car in a single motion. The locking latch gets caught in an intermediate position and will not close. There is a notable difference in the sound made by the driver lock. The corrective action is to use the emergency key contained in the keyfob and turn the lock. I turned it to lock and unlock and restored normal operation, but this was after a long period of time where my wife and her packages were exposed. I believe a workaround is to not open the door in a single motion, but rather to touch the handle, pause while it unlocks. There are several steps I believe subaru should take. First, I believe subary should notify customers of this condition, of the signs it exists and how to resolve it. The risk is real and they should be stated. Second, I believe the solenoid that locks the door is too weak to free itself, and subaru should upgrade this part so that if this occurs, the next use of the lock corrects it. Third, I think subaru should conduct tests of its own across all models.
CategoryElectronic Stability Control, Steering, Vehicle Speed Control
DateMay 23, 2019
StateCA
Description
Upon starting car in driveway found power steering sluggish and requiring great force (operative, but no apparent boost). Engine sluggisn like limp-home mode. Additionally mil, tc and other lights illuminated on dash. I took photo. I forget if it threw odb codes, but I remember that it two battery disconnect cycles, and two odb code clearing cycles, to regain normal function. I forget id any odb codes were set. Here are the conditions: daytime morning, about 11am, ambient temperature about 65 degrees. Car parked in driveway. I previously (about 30 minutes before) moved car from street to driveway. Date listed below is approximate. I will update when I check exif data on pix.
CategoryAir Bags
DateApr 19, 2019
StateCO
Description
Airbags did not deploy upon impact at highway speed (~80mph).
CategoryElectrical System
DateMar 19, 2019
StateAZ
Description
When phone is connected via usb to phone it doesn't always pull up apple play. Also if phone is left plugged in and turn car off go into store come back it says error connecting and wont connect back to apple play for hours.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateMar 19, 2019
StateME
Description
At highway speed the wiper blades do not properly clear and will leave area of puddled water on the windshield causing visibility for the driver to be made. At standstill the wiper blades will vibrate when you clean the windshield with the washer fluid. But a very noticeable vibrating wiper blade is visibly seen. This has been a problem from day one. I was able to find a set of aftermarket blades that somewhat fits the adapter that will fully make it operational. However, they are not properly secured to the wiperarms. I just had service at 27,500 miles and with the same results of replacing the wiperarms. Dealership does not seem to be too interested in fixing the issue. Due to the design of the wiper arm connections point. There are no aftermarket wiper blades I've been able to locate that will properly fit the wiperarms for both front blades. This is a safety concern at highway speeds. Not to mention the windshield will boil up faster with how the windshield washer solution will remain on the windshield and wiper arms at highway speed...... Highway speed is anywhere from 60-80 mph.
CategoryPower Train, Wheels
DateMar 02, 2019
StateWA
Description
Vehicle was climbing a residential street with a gradual incline in snow approximately 3 inches of fresh powder with no ice underneath. Vehicle had only 3,150 miles on the odometer and the tires were stock all season yokohama with a good mud/tread rating. The vehicle was climbing the hill very well until at the crest a check engine light and awd light illuminated and the vehicle stalled. The tires failed to clean the snow properly and I slid back into a guardrail for approximately 500 feet and there was cosmetic damage to the vehicle as well as the right wheel was bent. Dealership where I traded the vehicle into had 2 other customers trade their 2018 crosstreks due to poor awd system and very dangerous all season tires.
CategoryEngine, Power Train
DateJan 18, 2019
StateCA
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2018 subaru crosstrek. While driving at low speeds, the vehicle stalled and was rear ended. A police report was not filed and there were no injuries. The air bags did not deploy. There was no body damage to the contact's vehicle. The contact mentioned that the failure occurred intermittently. The vehicle was taken to irvine subaru (23663 rockfield blvd, lake forest, ca 92630, (949) 837-3500) where it was repaired per technical service bulletin number: 10144878 (equipment, power train, engine); however, the remedy failed to repair the vehicle. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and referred the contact back to the dealer. The failure mileage was 7,000.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateDec 21, 2018
StateIL
Description
Sunroof exploded and shattered without any contact
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateOct 08, 2018
StateTX
Description
When the sunroof is open - there is a blinding glare(on a sunny day) projected from the base 6. 5 inch radio screen directly into the drivers eyes. Since this is a blinding condition it makes driving with the sunroof open extremely dangerous as it could blind the driver causing a accident - the radio screen should have either been coated with a non-reflective cover - or - tilted forward sothat sunlight is not projected directly into the drivers eyes. Wrote subaru a letter - no response.
CategoryEngine, Power Train
DateSep 26, 2018
StatePA
Description
Vehicle has been to the dealership twice since purchased in june 2018 due to jerky, bucking and hesitant acceleration and shifting. On several occasions, hesitancy has almost resulted in being hit while pulling out into traffic and from parking space in lot. This can occur in fwd drive and reverse. Vibration and shaking occurs at about 1700rmp and less occasionally 1100rpm.
CategoryEngine
DateSep 21, 2018
StatePA
Description
There was a recall on my car for the engine stalling and hesitation. The recall did not resolve the problem. The car has been at the dealership two times. They cannot duplicate the condition. Subaru does not want to get involved to help my dealer repair the car. I am afraid to drive the car because when it does lose power its a major safety concern.
CategoryElectrical System
DateSep 10, 2018
StateCA
Description
The starlink entertainment and navigation system (8" screen) periodically freezes while driving. When frozen, the touchscreen will not work and the system is useless. Sometimes these is no sound and at other times it is maximum volume. After shutting off the vehicle for at least four hours, the system will unfreeze.
CategoryExterior Lighting
DateAug 17, 2018
StateME
Description
The interior lighting is a red orange color. For someone like my wife and I, in their sixties, it is terrible as far as being able to see, especially the odometer. This is a safety issue and we would not know this , the dealer does not give a [xxx] as well as the people at subaru. Com who we complained to and asked if the bulbs in at least the instrument cluster could be changed but it is a sealed unit. Also, the thumbwheel adjustment does not give enough illumination even at the highest setting. We test drove the vehicle during the sunny daylight hours so of course one would not realize this as a possible issue. I have been driving for 45 years and have never been so pissed off and disappointed with a vehicle, if I had only known. It upset my wife and I so much that we turned it in to our local toyota dealer that we have purchased vehicles in the past with even though this meant a large hit in our pocketbook. The subaru dealer can go to [xxx]. My biggest reason to tell this story is the hope that something can be done so others will not have to go through this. Sincerely information redacted pursuant to the freedom of information act (foia), 5 u. S. C. 552(b)(6). *tr
CategoryEngine
DateAug 07, 2018
StateNY
Description
Complete engine shut down when making left turn.
CategoryPower Train
DateAug 06, 2018
StateFL
Description
The cvt transmission in this car is jerky, will often act as if applying the brakes with stopping, will have trouble shifting during stop and go traffic, resulting in jerking of the car. Will occasionally vibrate as if traveling over rough pavement. The vehicle is in motion when this happens. Can be in urban or highway traffic.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateJul 26, 2018
StateCA
Description
Crack appeared in lower driver's side portion of windshield. Car was parked when crack appeared. No known significant damage to windshield. Crack appears to have started underneath windshield wiper at the de-icer area and then spread upwards.
CategoryEngine
DateJul 25, 2018
StateCA
Description
My oil temp on my subaru is higher than normal... I have had it in the dealer 2 times already and even tho they say the temps are not normal the say there is nothing they can do because everything look fine.. But they tell me to change my oil every 3k now instead of 6k... I have done a lot of research about the oil temps and have not found anyone or any other case that has this problem with a 2018 crosstrek . I have ask subaru what the oil temp range is and after months of calling someone finally tells me max temp is 247... My car goes over that.. I take it to the dealer again and same thing.. They do nothing.. I ask them again what the normal temp range is and they don't know... They tell me to just drive it that it's under warranty.. The high oil temp probably did some long term damage... Subaru is unwilling to do anything here even tho they say the temps are not normal.... The temps rise up at highway driving.. Up hills mostly... Normal speed... It's like there is no cooling... Go up hills during regular highway driving the oil temp just shoots up... Water temp is normal
CategoryPower Train
DateJul 20, 2018
StateOH
Description
This car is a lemon!! I ordered my 2018 crosstrek june 2017, took delivery aug. 7th. Car ran great, loved it! Nov. 2017, 5600 miles on it, it starts intermittently bucking/shuddering under acceleration. Took it to my local subaru dealer, they had it 3 day, couldn't find anything wrong. Some time passes, and we're into winter, this is my only vehicle, and I can't go without it especially with the snow. Car still acts up for months, progressively getting worse and more frequent. April 2018 take it back to the dealer, they have it 13 days, can't find an issue. I pick the car up on a friday, the service manager and a master tech ride with me so I can duplicate the condition, they experience it like I described. That monday, I return it to the dealer. Subaru tech case #63 days later, and countless calls to subaru customer service, they tell me there's nothing they can do for me on it! So, now I've resolved to diagnose my own "brand new car". I spent 3 days with my personal scan tool hooked up, and I find the reason for the bucking/ shudder. I've consulted the dealer, they are discussing with subaru tech on why I see what I'm seeing on the live data. So, to sum up 80+ days at the dealer, they can't find anything, I have it 3 days, and I find the reason for the symptom! Needless to say, I won't buy another subaru, and this one will be going bye bye! I don't blame the dealer, they can only do what subaru allows. This is subaru corporate's fault, and they don't want to come to the table on making it right with the customer.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJul 13, 2018
StateMD
Description
My sunroof exploded yesterday, 7/13/18, while I was driving on rt. 95. It made a hole through both layers of glass. Fortunately I had the sunshade pulled or the glass would have come into the car. No one was hurt but my roof can't be replaced until august because of the high demand for replacements. I was too shaken to think of taking a picture and it is now wrapped up tight at the dealer.
CategoryElectrical System, Service Brakes
DateJun 28, 2018
StateMO
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2018 subaru crosstrek. When the brakes were applied, the vehicle lost power without warning. The contact stated that the failure occurred on numerous occasions. The vehicle was taken to the dealer (reliable subaru, 438 s ingram mill rd, springfield, mo 65802, (417) 720-8373), but the cause of the failure could not be determined. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 677.
CategoryEngine, Unknown Or Other
DateJun 25, 2018
StateAZ
Description
June 2, 2018. Purchased a new 2018 subaru crosstrek from my local subaru dealership and drove the car home. The next day (june 3, 2018), on my first trip out to run errands the car stalled after going from reverse to drive at slow speed in a parking lot. The next day (june 4, 2018), the car stalled again twice in rapid succession under similar conditions in another parking lot. The same day (june 4, 2018), I drove the car to my local subaru dealership for service. Subaru engineers evaluated a similar problem on other crosstreks and determined that the issue was a software problem. 21 days later I am still waiting for a remedy.
CategoryEngine, Power Train, Steering
DateJun 20, 2018
StateAZ
Description
Vehicle turned off while driving two times in traffic causing near collisions. Its been at dealer for more than a week. The dealer says they couldn't repair it so subaru sent out engineers and determined their was a fault with no repair protocol available. They say they will have to keep my car until they can repair it. They mentioned another car in the phoenix area having the same problem. They stated that they might have to develop new software to fix the problem. I filed a complaint with subaru of america case #[xxx] on june 18, 2018. I ask them to return the vehicle that I have had for less than 2 months, but there is no resolution from them at this time. The vehicle has already had air conditioner issues that the dealer service team say are resolved, but as yet we have not driven the car since the repair, to see if the ac is actually working properly. This vehicle was purchased for its outstanding safety rating in the transportation of our elderly mother to and from medical appointments and any collision could be a life threatening event for her, in her current condition. We are deeply concerned for the safety of others and very disappointed in subaru for continuing to sell this vehicle to the public with the knowledge it has a defect that can turn it off at any time causing a collision. Please contact me with any questions. Information redacted pursuant to the freedom of information act (foia), 5 u. S. C. 552(b)(6). *tr
CategoryElectrical System
DateJun 08, 2018
StateCA
Description
Main computer system stops working on a couple of occasions. No radio, no volume control, no cd, no phone, no map/gps. Map/gps was in used at the time. System resumes all of its functions after the vehicle was pulled over and shut down for a few minutes. Vehicle was in motion when this happens.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine, Power Train
DateMay 29, 2018
StateCO
Description
After being purchased on april 4th, 2018, with 125 miles on the vehicle, I ran the vehicle roughly 2000 miles, at which time my vehicle began having major issues. The first occasion, I was driving in bumper to bumper stop and go traffic on i25 in downtown denver, I stopped the vehicle with traffic, and at that time the car had a "computer malfunction" as I was told by the dealer, essentially killing my car, leaving me stuck in the center lane of a 5 lane highway. The second occasion was the same malfunction, I stopped at a stop sign in my neighborhood on a city street , and the car did the same thing, had a "computer malfunction" and I had to be towed to a dealer for service, the entire ecm was replaced. The third break down was the exact same malfunction again, but this time I was going 40 miles per hour. Exiting from highway 34 in greeley, co. The dash lights all lit up and my vehicle slowed itself to a stop and I was forced to pull over.
CategoryEngine
DateApr 26, 2018
StateNH
Description
My safety concern with the 2018 subaru crosstrek results from a huge amount of engine rev hang ( rev hang - a high (or 'hanging') engine rpm after depressing the clutch pedal. Reference - subaru outback sb# 11-174-17r dated 6 23 17 ) when shifting up through the lower gears. As a result of rev hang, it is essentially impossible to drive this car safely and efficiently in traffic without severely abusing the drive train. The problem is most noticeable when driving in stop and go traffic while up-shifting from first and second gear, where rev hang can exist for 3 to 4 seconds. A potential safety issue exists as you are at risk of a rear end collision as the car abruptly slows, with the car's brake lights off ( this is especially evident when driving in traffic and going up a hill ) while you sit and wait for engine rev hang to dissipate in order to up-shift the car's transmission. I mention this potential safety issue as it is one that I have experienced while driving in stop and go traffic and going up a hill in boston earlier this month. Additionally, I am convinced that this rev hang issue, if left uncorrected, will ultimately result in unacceptably shortened clutch, transmission and associated drive train component life. Also, excessive brake wear will most certainly result, as any available engine braking has been essentially eliminated by engine rev hang. Note ' this rev hang issue has been reported to subaru of america, see s of a sr #:1-31863796593, and remains uncorrected.
CategoryStructure:body
DateApr 25, 2018
StateWA
Description
Water collecting in front doors and not draining out of door when parked facing uphill. The drain holes in the front doors are not located in the rear corner of the door. If the vehicle is on an incline facing uphill, water can not escape the rear corners of the door interior until the vehicle or door is level.
CategorySuspension
DateApr 25, 2018
StateWA
Description
Water is collecting under the passenger side strut tower dust cover in the engine compartment and causing rust/corrosion of the strut shaft/nut and strut tower pocket. Vehicle new and has less than 4000 miles on the odometer.
CategoryElectrical System
DateFeb 14, 2018
StateCA
Description
Subaru's safety system eyesight that uses across multiple models including my 2018 crosstrek has a serious problem that prevented the human driver to be alerted. The eyesight safety warning audio alert does not interrupt the audio from the radio unit, in addition the audio warning sound level is very low despite the max setting on the system. My cell phone's ringer volume is much louder than the subaru's eyesight volume. During the normal music listening I can't even hear the safety warnings (rear cross traffic, forward warning, and lane alert etc). This create an extremely dangerous driving environment that might lead to an accident. My crosstrek does not have an additional windshield visual alert like my gm car that has a red led projected to windshield in addition to audio alert. By the way gm's alert stop the radio and the volume is loud. My problem was confirm by dealer and subaru of america. Soa told me that ther are no pairs needed. I hope you can work with subaru of america to ask them to repair this important safety feature. I have a young teenage driver in my family and I am very concern about this issue. Thank you for your assistance.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateFeb 10, 2018
StateNY
Description
The car battery was dead and recharged by subaru roadside assist. We ran thecarfor 40 minutes. The following day the car battery was dead again. We called the rye dealership where we purchased the car and had it towed there. The person who charged the battery the first time told us that subaru's having a lot of calls fordeadbatteries but notadmitting there's a problem
CategoryElectrical System
DateOct 20, 2017
StateNM
Description
Upon starting the car, the radio blares after a few seconds, when backing up, for instance, regardless of whether it has been turned off. According to subaru, that's the way it's designed. I think its a safety hazard, as the first moments when driving can require special attention (when backing up, for instance), and the radio blaring without warning can be disconcerting and jarring. Can this be considered a design flaw, and the vehicles with this new system recalled?
CategoryElectrical System
DateSep 26, 2017
StateCA
Description
Purchased new 2018 crosstrek with harman kardon premium audio system. After one week there was a constant static buzz coming from the door speaker on the passenger-side, even when the audio system was turned off. Dealer says that they need to replace the amplifier.

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.

Share your story

Does this ring a bell? Have you had a bad experience too? Sound off and share your experience with other visitors in the comment box below.

Brian Jones

About the Author:

Brian Jones spent more than 20 years working as an ASE Certified Master Tech and Parts Specialist at multiple dealerships. Brian has become an authority in the industry, traveling across the country to consult for car dealerships and contributing his expertise as a writer for several major automotive publications. In his spare time, Brian enjoys working on pickup trucks, muscle cars, Jeeps and anything related to motorsports.

See more posts from Brian Jones
2 COMMENTS
  • brian k

    even subaru-canada sucks > my 2018 crosstrek is on it’s FIFTH radio > dealer said that subaru is washing their hands of my radio problem,, even though radio still acts up > SEPT 2022,, Also told me that I am no longer welcome at the dealership > Also many trips to dealership for Useless Updates

  • Joyce D

    2 24 22 10 43
    I bought a brand new 2018 Crosstrack, one year ago, had the car 3 years at the time, at times it flat out would not start, totally DEAD. This has happened about 3-4 times, had it to Subaru, maybe 3 times to try to work on it, been told since I only dive it less than 15 miles a week, I need to run it several times a week for 15 minutes, did this still died again 12 2021, Subaru (about 1 hour drive) did pick up the car and give me a loaner for about 10 days, thought it was fixed and today, it is cold out, car is garaged, it would not start again. I am 78 I had a subaru 16 years before this one, this one is a piece of junk. I called them this AM, Joe in service, said he has done everything he can do, replaced battery, twice, and a new starter. He gave me 800 782- 2783 advocacy number, I called it, had to punch a few numbers then was disconnected ARRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRGH, I hate this car!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead you can to our legal team.

Please select your star rating.

Briefly describe your experience Briefly describe your experience

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? Please enter a valid phone number

Want to know if you could sue? Get a free legal evaluation Lemberg Law?

Get Your No-Obligation
Case Evaluation

Send a secure message to our legal team.

What’s your name? What’s your name?
What’s your email address? What’s your email address?
What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?
Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem
Confidentiality Guarantee: We keep your information completely confidential and will not send you spam or sell your information.