2018 Kia Sorento Problems and Top Complaints – Is Your Car A Lemon?

Electrical, steering and engine issues among the top complaints received by the NHTSA from vehicle owners

By Brian Jones | Updated on

By Brian Jones | Updated on

Families in search of a reliable SUV regularly turn to the 2018 Kia Sorento. It’s spacious and provides the style that many consumers desire. Even the automaker claims that the newer models have “the power to perform.” While it appears this model features everything someone could hope for, there are some dark sides to this vehicle. From a faulty steering system to defective engine and glitchy electrical components, this SUV doesn’t live up to the hype and puts people in danger.

Click on other model year to view more problems: 2019    2020    2021    2022

Don’t be stuck with a lemon. You have legal rights to cash, return or buyback.

The law makes Kia pay legal fees.

We've fixed thousands of lemon problems. Message or call 877-795-3666 today.

NHTSA Complaints for the 2018 Kia Sorento

Complaint CategoryNumber of Complaints
Engine
27
Exterior Lighting
17
Steering
16
Unknown Or Other
15
Electrical System
13
Air Bags
6
Structure:body
5
Fuel/propulsion System
3
Power Train
3
Vehicle Speed Control
2

Problems with the Steering

One component that everyone takes for granted is the steering system. Consumers know that most vehicles steer the way that the automaker intended and there’s minimal discussion about it unless something goes wrong as with the Sorento.

One Edmunds review illustrates trouble with the steering. It states, “I have noticed that while driving over 50 MPH on a hi way I’ll be going straight and move the steering wheel a millimeter and it jumps left or right. This startles me and I almost jerk the wheel too hard to regain control. I read where someone posted that Kia has had this problem for years and won’t fix it because it’s not a life threatening problem. Ha HaI almost jerked the wheel out of control. It’s very annoying when you can’t relax your hand on the steering wheel without it jumping right to left. Ask drivers of Kia what they think, or better yet test drive one on the freeway at 65 mph.”

Sadly, this isn’t the most concerning steering issue with the Kia Sorento. In fact, the automaker issued a recall labeled NHTSA Campaign Number 18V656000. It turns out that the steering column can separate while driving, leading to an increased risk of an accident. Why would the steering column disconnect? Because the company improperly welded the cowl crossbar connecting the Motor-Driven Power Steering column. While watching steering wheels come detached is fun in cartoons, it’s not so exciting in real life.

Here are some actual complaints logged with the NHTSA about the 2018 Kia Sorento Steering Problems:

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2018 KIA SORENTO. WHILE DRIVING, THE STEERING WHEEL SEIZED WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT COASTED THE VEHICLE TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND POWERED OFF THE ENGINE. THE VEHICLE WAS RESTARTED AND WAS ABLE TO DRIVE NORMALLY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FAILURE OCCURRED INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO ED VOYLES KIA TO BE DIAGNOSED, BUT THE FAILURE COULD NOT BE DUPLICATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND DID NOT ASSIST.

WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD THE STEERING WHEEL STICKS. WHILE YOU KEEP TURNING A LITTLE TO KEEP THE VEHICLE STRAIGHT IT WILL SUDDENLY BREAK LOOSE, CAUSING THE VEHICLE TO JERK LEFT OR RIGHT DEPENDING ON THE DIRECTION YOU WERE TURNING THE WHEEL AT THE TIME. IT IS MOST DANGEROUS WHILE THE ROADS ARE EITHER SNOW OR ICE COVERED AND SLIPPERY. HARD TO KEEP THE VEHICLE ON THE ROAD.

THE PROBLEM IS A STICKY FEELING IN THE STEERING WHILE DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY. WHEN MAKING VERY SMALL CORRECTIONS FEELS LIKE THE POWER STEERING IS TURNED OFF. GENTLE PRESSURE DOES NOT TURN THE WHEEL AT ALL. AS MORE AND MORE PRESSURE IS APPLIED, IT FEELS LIKE THE POWER STEERING TURNS ON. THIS CAUSES THE VEHICLE TO SWERVE DUE TO OVER CORRECTION. THE VEHICLE IS INCREDIBLY HARD TO CONTROL AND UNPREDICTABLE. OCCURS AT HIGH SPEEDS. EXTREMELY DANGEROUS.

Problems with the Engine

Since the Sorento claims to have all of the power, it makes sense to examine the engine as well. It’s clear that this Kia SUV suffers from numerous motor problems, making it dangerous to drive.

One NHTSA complaint states, “Engine completely lost power and shut down on the highway and when restarted, went into limp mode. Now engine needs replaced and no engines are available. My car has a mobility device installed to accommodate my missing right leg and any rental vehicle is difficult to use since I have to remove my prosthetic leg to drive it. I need a vehicle fitted to accommodate my disability and don’t know when or if I’ll be getting mine back.”

It turns out that the Sorento suffers from major engine malfunctions. The automaker released Service Bulletin #VPI1802WX_TSB_R3 discussing why the engines need to be replaced. It turns out they previously attempted to skirt around the engine troubles by installing a Knock Sensor Detection System in consumers’ vehicles that would reduce the wear, but it didn’t work. In fact, some owners complained that it made the engine troubles worse. Now they have to repair so many engines that they can’t keep up. This model is the poster child for a lemon car.

Here are some actual complaints logged with the NHTSA about the 2018 Kia Sorento Engine Problems:

I WAS DRIVING ON A STATE HWY ABOUT THREE MILES FROM HOME GOING 50 MPH. I WAS THE SOLE OCCUPANT IN THE VEHICLE WHEN I BEGAN TO SMELL SMOKE. I WAS ABLE TO PULL OFF THE HWY. AND TURN THE VEHICLE OFF. I OPENED MY DOOR AND OPENED THE HOOD FROM THE INSIDE. WHEN I DID, FLAMES AND SMOKE BEGAN TO SHOOT OUT FROM THE HOOD AND I HEARD A LOUD POP. I EXITED THE VEHICLE AND WITHIN SECONDS, THE WHOLE CAR WAS CONSUMED WITH FIRE. I CALLED 911 AND REPORTED A VEHICLE ON FIRE. THE FIRE DEPARTMENT AND EMS BOTH RESPONDED WITHIN MINUTES. THE FIRE DEPARTMENT WAS ABLE TO PUT OUT THE FIRE BUT NOT BEFORE IT WAS A COMPLETE LOSS. AFTER THE FIRE WAS EXTINGUISHED, I NOTED ALL THE DOORS AND THE HATCH HAD LOCKED AT SOME POINT DURING THE FIRE. I CONTACTED CUMBERLAND KIA WHERE I PURCHASED THE VEHICLE TO NOTIFY THEM OF WHAT HAPPENED AND THEY TOOK POSSESSION OF THE VEHICLE THAT AFTERNOON.

AFTER THE SOFTWARE UPDATE, MY KIA HAD ISSUES WITH THE KNOCK SENSOR. SO, WILL THIS VEHICLE HAS ISSUES FOR THE REST OF THE ENGINES LIFE? I AM HOPING TO DRIVE THIS CAR FOR MORE THAN 100,000 MILES. IS THIS JUST A COINCIDENCE THAT THE SENSOR WAS BAD RIGHT AFTER THE UPDATE? THE CAR WENT INTO LIMP MODE AFTER A LOUD CLUNK. GLAD I WAS CLOSE TO HOME!

ENGINE COMPLETELY LOST POWER AND SHUT DOWN ON THE HIGHWAY AND WHEN RESTATRED, WENT INTO LIMP MODE. NOW ENGINE NEEDS REPLACED AND NO ENGINES ARE AVAILABLE. MY CAR HAS A MOBILITY DEVICE INSTALLED TO ACCOMODATE MY MISSING RIGHT LEG AND ANY RENTAL VEHICLE IS DIFFICULY TO USE SINCE I HAVE TO REMOVE MY PROSTHETIC LEG TO DRIVE IT. I NEED A VEHICLE FITTED TO ACCOMODATE MY DISABILITY AND DONT KNOW WHEN OR IF I’LL BE GETTING MINE BACK.

Problems with the Electrical System

If those problems aren’t enough, a quick look at the electrical system might be enough to prove how defective this model can be.

Another NHTSA complaint says, “The contact owns a 2018 Kia Sorento. The contact stated that the vent control functions failed to work properly when needing to use the heater. In addition, the headlamps failed to illuminate as the contact was informed by a passerby on the roadway. The dealer was notified of the failures and the contact was waiting for a response to schedule an appointment to service the vehicle. The manufacturer was notified. The contact would like the dealer to buy back the vehicle if there is no remedy. The failure mileage was not available.

Believe it or not, the automaker is facing multiple electrical concerns. Service Bulletin #PS541 talks about an inoperative shift lock release or ignition while in accessory mode. Because of this malfunction, owners aren’t able to release the key or turn on the car once the key is placed in accessory mode. Those with smart keys, also face the Shift to Park message illuminating even though the vehicle is already in Park. Considering the definition of perform is “to carry out or accomplish” it’s clear that Kia has some work to do before claiming that this model has “the power to perform.” It seems all they have is the power to fail and cause destruction.

Here are some actual complaints logged with the NHTSA about the 2018 Kia Sorento Electrical Problems:

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2018 KIA SORENTO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VENT CONTROL FUNCTIONS FAILED TO WORK PROPERLY WHEN NEEDING TO USE THE HEATER. IN ADDITION, THE HEADLAMPS FAILED TO ILLUMINATE AS THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED BY A PASSERBY ON THE ROADWAY. THE DEALER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURES AND THE CONTACT WAS WAITING FOR A RESPONSE TO SCHEDULE AN APPOINTMENT TO SERVICE THE VEHICLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE CONTACT WOULD LIKE THE DEALER TO BUY BACK THE VEHICLE IF THERE WAS NO REMEDY. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

Your Lemon Law Legal Rights

Think you have a lemon? Sit back and let the experts work out your lemon case at no cost to you. The law makes Kia pay legal fees. You may be able to get your lemon out of your life. Every year, auto manufacturers buy back, replace or pay cash settlements to thousands of ‘lemon’ owners like you.

Complaint Data

CategoryEngine
DateJan 19, 2023
StateNY
Description
My vehicle had 4 recalls on it and caused engine to blow. The dealer I purchased car from would not fix recalls, so had it towed to a kia dealer, my car has been there since dec long story short recalls fixed but they won't replace engine, nor will dealer I purchased it from. So they're saying over 00 that I would be responsible for
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Adaptive Cruise Control, Unknown Or Other
DateJan 16, 2023
StateFL
Description
The cruise control has been fixed once. It was not fixed. Same problem still happening. Sometimes it works, more than not it does not. Sometimes you can't shut it off. They also have not come up with a fix for the new hitch recall problem that results in fires.
CategoryTrailer Hitches
DateJan 09, 2023
StateIL
Description
The contact owns a 2018 kia sorento. The contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 22v703000 (trailer hitches) however, the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.
CategoryFirerelated
DateDec 29, 2022
StateMI
Description
The contact owned a 2018 kia sorento. The contact received notification of an unknown nhtsa campaign number regarding the trailer hitches however, the contact stated that while the vehicle was unoccupied in a parked position, he noticed that the rear end of the vehicle inadvertently caught fire. The contact then stated that the fire started to spread igniting the whole vehicle. As a result, the side of the contact house caught fire. No injuries were sustained. No medical attention was required. The fire department was notified, and the fire was extinguished. A fire report was filed. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The origin of the fire had yet to be determined. The vehicle was deemed a total loss by the insurance company. The dealer was not notified. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and a case was opened but no further assistance was provided. The failure mileage was approximately 87,000.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateDec 23, 2022
StateLA
Description
My 2018 snow white pearl kia sorento is experiencing paint failure on the hood and rear hatch. The manufacturer notified me that they identified this as a problem with 2011-2014 models and, at this time, are not offering a remedy for a 2018 model.
CategoryElectrical System:12v/24v/48v Battery
DateDec 08, 2022
StateWI
Description
The contact owns a 2018 kia sorento. The contact stated that the battery was draining faster than usual. The contact stated upon parking the vehicle overnight with the battery fully charged, the contact became aware that the battery had lost 30-50 % charge by the next morning. There was no warning light illuminated. The contact's friend, an electrical engineer, diagnosed that the battery was losing 1 or 2 amps of power. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed, and no issues were found. The contact later received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 22v703000 (trailer hitches) which he associated with the failure; however, parts were not yet available. The contact stated that the failure persisted, and the dealer informed him that the battery needed to be replaced. The contact replaced the battery; however, the failure persisted. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 15,631.
CategoryExterior Lighting
DateNov 29, 2022
StateIL
Description
While driving at night with headlights set to "auto" the car will (without moving the physical switch) change the headlights to "off" for approximately 2 seconds, after which it will change them back to "auto". This causes a momentary loss of vision to the driver. The drivers display shows the change from "auto" to "off" as though the switch had been turned. I am unaware if this also happens in lighted conditions, as it is only noticable when you are driving in the dark. It appears as though this has happened to multiple drivers of different vehicles
CategorySteering
DateNov 23, 2022
StateFL
Description
The contact owns a 2018 kia sorento. The contact stated while driving approximately 40 mph, the steering wheel started shaking abnormally and swaying back and forth. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the steering column needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The contact stated that he inquired if the vehicle was included in nhtsa campaign number: 18v656000 (steering) and was informed that his vehicle was not included in the recall. The failure mileage was approximately 24,000.
CategoryWheels
DateNov 12, 2022
StateVA
Description
I have new brakes put on as well as had my tires balanced and rotated and a wheel alignment. However, my 2018 kia sorento sx v6 awd shakes when I apply pressure to the brakes when I am on the highway. If I get to a certain speed and apply brakes to slow down while approaching traffic, my car shakes terribly. I thought that rotating, getting new brakes and an alignment would help but it did not. This is my second kia sorento, and I had the same exact issue with the previous one.
CategoryEngine, Fuel/propulsion System
DateNov 03, 2022
StateMI
Description
Fuel expired much quicker than should be, and burned on to the dip stick before oil was due to be changed. Then the engine failed while driving, causing my vehicle to lose power on a left turn on a 55 mph road, nearly causing my children and I to be hit by another vehicle. I could not accelerate, but still had power to steer and brake. After having the gas pedal fully extended, I resumed power to 30 mph (this was described as engine knock sensor decreased power). We are hearing that 14 million kia vehicles are experiencing this. There are 46 cars ahead of mine to be repaired for the failed engine and oil problem at that dealership as of today. They are not offering loaner vehicles.
CategorySteering
DateOct 22, 2022
StatePA
Description
The engine failed which required a replacement. Upon being released from the kia dealer, the steering wheel failed and the car began shaking at 70 mph. The service director claimed the vehicle was running as kia likes.
CategorySteering
DateOct 19, 2022
StateNY
Description
As one is driving at 50-60 mph the steering wheel sticks and requires force to correct the direction the vehicle is going. This is very concerning because the abrupt motion is extremely dangerous.
CategoryExterior Lighting
DateOct 09, 2022
StateOH
Description
Headlights and daytime running lights turn on and off at random
CategoryElectrical System, Exterior Lighting
DateOct 06, 2022
StateTX
Description
10/5/2022 driving down texas interstate 20 last night, just east of willow park, texas the headlights turned off. I switched the lights from the auto position to the on and the lights turned back on. Wife informed me this has happened to her previously as well. Driving down the road at 70 mph and everything goes dark is a bit frighting. From my search, this has become a common issue with our kia model. The issue happens randomly so difficult to pinpoint the issue.
CategoryEngine
DateSep 30, 2022
StatePA
Description
The contact owns a 2018 kia sorento. The contact stated while driving 60 mph, the check engine warning light illuminated and the vehicle stalled. The contact was able to pull into a parking lot. The vehicle failed to restart after several attempts. The vehicle remained parked in the parking lot. The contact notified the local dealer and other unknown dealers of the failure, but no assistance was provided. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and a case was opened. The failure mileage was approximately 78,500.
CategoryExterior Lighting
DateSep 22, 2022
StateNC
Description
Driving down a dark highway tonight and headlights just randomly went out completely. Had to switch them on and off several times to get them back on. Safety risk is obvious for myself and other cars on the road. Has not been inspected, just happened tonight. I have noticed my lights cutting on and off during the day randomly lately but I just assumed it was the auto mode picking up shady areas but it appears to all be related based on the thread I just read online and sounds like an issue with this year sorento.
CategoryEngine, Power Train
DateSep 16, 2022
StateGA
Description
Shortly after fuel oil and filter change at ~75,000 miles, engine light came on and car engine stopped. Oil pump failed and cracked through housing. Major damage. Repair shop indicates engine needs to be replaced.
CategoryExterior Lighting
DateSep 14, 2022
StateTN
Description
In the last month, I've started noticing issues with my headlights/icons. My lights are always set to auto in my 2018 kia sorento. First issue: when driving during the day, the dashboard will show the icon that appears when you turn on the lights manually. I'm assuming the lights actually come on as well, but it's daylight so I can't actually see if this is happening or not. Once when this happened, I was sitting at a red light with my turn signal on, and I was able to get a picture of the manual icon light showing and my switch was still in the auto position. This has happened about half a dozen times. 3 weeks ago I woke up to my lights being on, even though the switch was still set to auto. The back red lights were on and the front lights were on. I know the lights were out the night before and I double checked that the switch was as I left it in the auto position. Tonight 9/14 and last weekend, my lights turned off for a few seconds while driving at night. The lights had been on for a while and it was completely dark outside so there was no way they should've turned off. I was in an unlit area both times without any head on traffic, so it was extremely obvious that the lights went out and very dangerous not being able to see in front of me. It's also dangerous for any approaching traffic to not be able to see a vehicle at night until they get close enough to hit it. I've attached a picture of the auto setting when the icon light indicated it was set to manual during the day. I've also attached another picture of my vehicle the way I found it one morning when the lights were set to auto and they came on at some point in the middle of the night. I had to unlock the vehicle, and flip the light switch off, then back to auto, for them to go off. This instance my vehicle was not even on, and it was daylight outside.
CategoryFuel/propulsion System
DateSep 10, 2022
StateCA
Description
Just recently starting to smell fuel when I'm driving and when I turn the car off and when I try to start the car it cranks a little and then I'll stop then try it again and it will start up fine
CategoryExterior Lighting
DateAug 31, 2022
StateAZ
Description
While vehicle is set to auto on the headlights, they will randomly shut off while driving.
CategoryExterior Lighting
DateAug 26, 2022
StateIL
Description
Last year my headlights melted & had to be ordered & replace because the melted in their encasements. I have problems with headlights again & have reported it to my kia dealership. I've been driving sometimes with one headlight or none or using my brights to drive at night. I currently have no headlights again & dealership has had to order parts for them again. It's been more than two months already. It's unsafe for me to drive at night with no headlights!!
CategoryEngine
DateAug 09, 2022
StateLA
Description
No warning before engine failed. 3/2021
CategoryEngine And Engine Cooling, Power Train
DateAug 04, 2022
StatePA
Description
The contact's daughter owns a 2018 kia sorento. The contact stated while driving at an undisclosed speed, there was an abnormal ticking noise detected. The vehicle lost motive power and stalled with the check engine warning light flashing. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who informed the contact that the knock sensor needed to be replaced. The vehicle was towed to the local dealer where it was diagnosed and determined that the engine needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired; however, the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken back to the local dealer where it was diagnosed that the transmission and catalytic converter needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired; however, the failure recurred. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to shift into park(p). The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not contacted or notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 57,000.
CategoryElectrical System, Exterior Lighting
DateJul 31, 2022
StateFL
Description
The headlights will occasionally turn off at night while driving. We have to then turn them back on by touching the light switch. The are set on auto always and should not go out at night, especially while driving. They should only go out when exiting the car after engine shut off. The parking lights (front and back) occasionally do not turn off when leaving the car, after engine shut off. They are also on auto and should go off so the battery does not drain. A few times they have even come on when we were not in the care and we discovered them on after a period of time when returning to the car. The dealer could not find a problem and did nothing to resolve it.
CategoryEngine
DateJul 07, 2022
StateNY
Description
Excessive oil consumption causing engine to fail. Need to replace whole engine. No warning lights or gauges registered the low oil
CategoryElectrical System, Engine
DateJun 16, 2022
StateTX
Description
This kia sorento was brand new and I was the only owner. What component or system failed or malfunctioned, and is it available for inspection upon request? The engine, brake lights, charging ports and overhead lights. Yes, the vehicle is available for inspection. How was your safety or the safety of others put at risk? The engine: this puts me at risk because the vehicle stop in the middle of the highway and the rear lights was not working because I burnt harness... A truck was coming full speed. Has the problem been reproduced or confirmed by a dealer or independent service center? Yes, several times and they failed to take responsibility. Has the vehicle or component been inspected by the manufacturer, police, insurance representatives or others? The manufacturer and several other opinions from other reputable mechanic shops. Were there any warning lamps, messages or other symptoms of the problem prior to the failure, and when did they first appear? No not at all, I was driving home from work, and once I exited the highway and came to a red light it just started violently shaking. There was no sign of this issue. I thought the light going out was just regular maintenance until it we out a few days later... Then again. Then I noticed it was burnt on the wiring.
CategorySteering
DateJun 13, 2022
StateTX
Description
Within the last 1 1/2 years the car makes a popping noise in the steering and its not a tie rod or ball joint issue. Nobody can seem to figure out where its coming from.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateMay 24, 2022
StateCA
Description
The car makes a loud noise like I hurt a bump, the engine light comes on. I brought the car to the kia dealer and they told me everything was ok . I took the car home and continued to experience the same problem but this time the car decelerate even if I am driving in the freeway . At that time I cannot accelerate. I brought again the car to the same kia dealer . They told me they drove the car 19 miles and did not have any problem ! I went and took the car and believe what I was told but this time the wheel blocked and I could not turn ,the engine turn itself off . The oil engine and battery lights come on in red and the engine light in yellow. It is very scary and unsafe I had to tow this car to the dealers without my concerns being addressed.
CategoryElectrical System, Exterior Lighting
DateMay 17, 2022
StateNY
Description
Headlights , all front lights shut off while driving, repeatedly.
CategoryEngine
DateMay 17, 2022
StateTX
Description
My wife was taking my son to school on april 11, 2022 around 7:45am. On the way, and without warning, the engine stopped. She coasted on an exit ramp and stopped at the light. The car's engine wouldn't turn over or even click. A police officer assisted by pushing the car into a gas station parking lot. We had the car towed to the dealer in fort worth. After two weeks, they contacted me and said I needed a new engine, intake manifold, and starter because the engine was sized. They said there was no oil in the vehicle. They could not offer an answer as to why.. There had been no warning... No lights had come on the dash... No indication the engine was overheating.... No check engine light came on... No check oil light.... No limp mode activated. Until that morning, there had been no problems with our vehicle whatsoever. I filed a complaint report with kia consumer affairs. Today, 6 days later, I was told that they would offer no assistance and that all repairs would have to be paid by me. It is available to inspect st the dealer. My wife and child could have been seriously hurt had they stopped in the middle of the interstate by another car running into them. Only the dealer has inspected the vehicle. Had any warning lights come on, we would have had the vehicle serviced. There was never an indication there was a problem.
CategoryEngine
DateApr 16, 2022
StateDE
Description
While driving the vehicle there came a knocking noise from the engine. We had driven down to the beach for a work event. We decided to turn the car around and to retrieve our other vehicle from home. As we were driving back the engine was still making the knocking noise. We went over a bridge and the engine started seizing. The engine light then came on. We were able to get it to a pepboys by home lucky but barely made it. They looked over the car and determined a whole engine repair was needed. We took it to kia dealership and they determine the same and that the bearings had failed. Our car was under warranty but do to failure of proper oil changes our warranty was voided. I understand the need for proper maintenance of the vehicle but our car had only 24000+ miles on it. When I looked up issues regarding the specific engine our car has there were many complaints of engine failure for the theta 2. 4 gdi engine. This is very underwhelming and I am grateful my children were not in the car at the time of this failure and we did not get hurt.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateMar 24, 2022
StateNH
Description
This is with regards to a major safety incident that could have been fatal for my wife and others on 2/2/2022. My wife parked her 2018 kia sorento on our driveway picked up her belongings and closed the door of the car. As she was about to enter the house it felt to her that the car was still running. So, she went to the car again opened the drivers side of the door and reached out and pressed the "start/stop" button thinking if the car's engine is still "on" it will turn it "off". As soon as she hit the button the car started rolling backwards and my wife got entangled in the door. She got knocked down to the ground sustaining a concussion on her head and deep bruises on her legs and shoulder. The car went to neighbor's front yard across the street and was stopped by the curb and the snow bank on neighbor's yard. After I tended to my wife I went to fetch the car I double checked and saw that the gear shifter was in "parking" position. The mystery is how the car moved backwards while the car was in "parking". It's not a steep hill and the way car rolled it felt to my wife as the car was in "neutral". There is no warning lights or any other failure indications. We took the car to local kia dealer for thorough inspection but they couldn't find anything. We are quite scared to drive the car. I am hoping a very through investigation of the car and get to the bottom of the issue. We complained to kia, they reached out once after almost a month and now radio silence on the issue.
CategoryEngine
DateFeb 17, 2022
StateTN
Description
I was hit by another car in july 2021 which totaled the lovely suv I owned. I decided to buy my 2018 kia sorento (from a different state) in august 2021 because I thought kias were safe and reliable cars. My kia began to oil leak right before september 2021. I had it checked for oil leak and got my oil topped off. There was no oil leak detected. In november 2021, my engine light comes on. I believed it to be an indication it was time for an oil change. The night before I could even make it to the car shop my kia begins to make a loud knocking sound. I got my oil change and the knocking still persist. The mechanic gentlemen tell me that I needed a crankshaft position sensor replacement. I drive my kia to the nearest kia dealership and they keep my kia sorento over the weekend because of the shortage in workers. The following monday kia dealership calls to say I needed a full replacement engine (motor). I haven't had my kia for even four months and it is under 100,000 miles. I have never had to receive such gut wrenching news about any car I have brought! I pick up my car to park it immediately. There has been over thousands of recalls on kia motors I was and still am frightened my engine (motor) could catch fire anytime. I am scared to even start it to keep my battery alive. Kia dealerships will not offer me any help because I am the second ownwer of this kia. I definitely will never buy a kia car again or even hydaui car.
CategoryEngine
DateFeb 11, 2022
StateIL
Description
02/06/2022 driving north bound on tx hwy 75 near mckinney, tx at the posted speed limited 70mph the engine suddenly quit running and the steering and brakes went out. There were no warning buzzers or lamps prior to the shut down. Traffic was light and with a lot of pumping of the brakes able to get onto the shoulder. Vehicle was towed to kia of mckinney, tx. They stated engine bearing had gone bad, causing the engine to seize.
CategoryService Brakes
DateFeb 08, 2022
StateFL
Description
My breaks would not push down for me to stop and I collided into the car in front of me causing a serious accident. It is being investigated for malfunctioning breaks.
CategorySteering
DateFeb 02, 2022
StateVA
Description
When trying to move the steering wheel, it initially sticks and requires extra force to get it to provide a steering input. Once it gets past the initial resistance, it jerks the car in the direction you are trying to go which required compensation in the other direction. Upon correction, it jerks the car in the opposite direction causing a continual need to correct the steering wheel to keep the car straight and causing the car to not be able to maintain perfectly straight travel. On large sweeping corners, this problem is even more pronounced and feels dangerous. This happens mostly on longer trips where the vehicle has been on the road more than 30 minutes.
CategoryEngine
DateJan 28, 2022
StateGA
Description
Our 2018 kia sorento seized, stalled, in the middle of the road, smoked, then nearly caught fire with our young daughter in the car and 19 year old son driving. We reported it to kia. They agreed to reimburse our rental car if we sign a settlement agreement/hush order regarding it our vehicle and to get reimbursed.
CategoryEngine
DateJan 06, 2022
StateMS
Description
The contact owns a 2018 kia sorento. The contact stated that while driving approximately 65 mph, a loud noise was suddenly present coming from the engine before the vehicle stalled. The vehicle was towed to the residence and was examined by an independent mechanic who diagnosed that the engine rod bearing had failed. The vehicle was not yet repaired. The local dealer was notified of the failure. The manufacture was not yet notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 65,000.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateDec 28, 2021
StateMN
Description
2 recent incidents: suv was parked on a driveway with slight incline overnight in park and ended up at the bottom end of driveway in the morning. With car running on a friends driveway with an incline, I had car in the park mode and was going to depart car to quickly knock on door and car very slowly proceed backwards while in park mode. I called kia dealership on 12/22/2021 where I purchased car they stated they never heard of this & could be icy driveways.. I stated they were not iced over at the time and I'm very concerned for everyone's safety with this situation. They dealership service department stated it will be a diagnostic charge due not any service or engine lights “on” at this time.
CategoryExterior Lighting
DateDec 21, 2021
StateMN
Description
Having intermittent issues with the headlights turning of while driving at night. The headlights were set on "auto". I have had this happen multiple times! Went to local dealer to report the problem & was told that they would have to drive it at night to replicate the issue. I asked if I would be charged for this & was told that if the technician could find anything that I would be charged for the technician's time. I found online that kia had this same issue with 2015-2015 k900 vehicles & issued a recall to replace the multi-functional light switch. Losing headlight rumination can reduce visibility and increase the risk of a crash. Kia dealerships should replace this multi-function switch free of charge to the owners of kia vehicles. There should be a recall issued for this issue because it is a huge safety issue.
CategoryAir Bags
DateNov 29, 2021
StateOH
Description
I was in a weather related accident where I hit the guardrail twice head on and none of my airbags deployed. My vehicle is currently at a tow yard and will be towed to the autobody shop 12/8/2021. No warnings or indications on why the airbags wouldn't have worked properly prior to the accident.
CategoryFuel/propulsion System
DateNov 04, 2021
StateNV
Description
Over I'd say about the last 5-7 months my husband and I have been noticing the smell of fuel coming from what/where seems to be the gas tank area and we have on an occasion or 2 noticed very small drops on the ground also around the gas tank area. Shortly after we began noticing the smell of gas, one day after re-fueling when I went to put the gas cap back on I noticed that the cap went back on but it wouldn't make that signature clicking sound that lets you know it's properly in place and sealed properly so we purchased a replacement one from the dealership thinking/hoping that would fix the issue but it hasn't. In fact just before purchasing the gas cap from the dealership we purchased a replacement from autozone and it was the wrong one. It appeared to fit for the most part (or so we thought) but it was definitely the wrong one and because it was dark when we got the cap we couldn't see just how poorly it fit (plus you had to look from the bottom of the cap to be able to see the white plastic of the bottom of the cap was still exposed) so we ended up having to use it until the following day when we could get to the dealership to get the right one. Well while we had the wrong gas cap in it cause the check engine light to come on (which at least we know that works, lol) but oddly enough the car was getting better fuel mileage so I'm thinking that because having the proper gas cap seals the system properly it could be causing it to leak more or worse because since putting the right cap on, while it did help the check engine light go off I'm not getting very good gas mileage at all. I'm going to take it to a shop and hopefully they can figure out what is going on with it (when we're able to pay what I'm assuming will be a pretty heft shop bill) but I just wanted to let it be known and I will send a follow up message letting you know what came of the shop fix/inspection. Thank you for reading my lengthy message and I send well wishes to you, your friends, and family.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateSep 11, 2021
StateWA
Description
My 2018 kia sorento keeps going into limp mode. It can't be duplicated by any shop so I keep paying for diagnostic and not having anything repaired besides things that could “possibly be the problem” but aren't covered by the warranty like a positive battery cable or a software update. Now I'm 00 out of pocket and had the most terrifying experience of my life and the car is still not repaired. Driving 75mph down the freeway, the car violently tried to stop and shut off and turned back on all on its own. It went into limp mode. Felt like a grenade went off. Still nothing can be found as to what the problem is! It is not safe and I refuse to put my children back in this car.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateSep 11, 2021
StateLA
Description
I was driving down the road, my car suddenly began slowing down even as I pressed the accelerator down more, as I started to pull over I heard a tapping noise and a sound almost like a chains rattling the vehicle shutoff immediately after. I tried restarting the vehicle, vehicle did not restart. As I got out the vehicle I smelt a burning smell but saw no fire. I had the vehicle towed to my house.
CategoryExterior Lighting:headlights:switch
DateAug 03, 2021
StateGA
Description
Headlights completely turn off on their own at random times at night. Has happened twice when entering into a curve at night. I have to frantically turn the knob off and then back on to make them function again. Extremely dangerous! Took into bulldog kia athens ga. They "verified concern, found open short in multifunction switch" kia will not cover the cost of repair. Total needed to repair 5. 78
CategoryEngine
DateJun 26, 2021
StateTX
Description
Engine started smoking and cut off. Vehicle was taken to kia dealership but representatives do not want to honor engine replacement recall.
CategoryAir Bags, Structure:body, Unknown Or Other
DateFeb 23, 2021
StateIA
Description
My son was traveling down a highway between 45-55 mph when he overcorrected and made full impact of the front of the car with a solid snow bank in the middle median. The radiator was slammed backwards, the front end was demolished with around ,000 in damage to the vehicle. There is no reason we can find that the air bags did not deploy. We bought this vehicle because of the safety rating but now I am concerned that we have issues with our air bags. Will they protect us if this should ever happen again?
CategoryEngine
DateFeb 03, 2021
StateFL
Description
Driving down the road the car made a ticking noise and then just shut off
CategoryElectrical System, Exterior Lighting, Seats
DateJan 20, 2021
StateFL
Description
The right head light just stops working and I have to open the head light casing and play with the cables to get it to work again. Also the power seats don't work.
CategoryStructure:body
DateJan 03, 2021
StateTX
Description
My kia sorento back hatch (rear door) is not opening, it clicks with the key fob and the manual handle, but it needs a lift by hand to be able to open, I did a web search an there are several complaints regarding this issue.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine, Structure:body
DateDec 08, 2020
StateMI
Description
I was traveling to florida and saw sparks in the mirrors in the back. I quickly pulled over and went to the back and saw fire, the car was on fire everybody got out, we tried to put it out but it seemed like there was an accelerrent or something cause it was engulfed with fire very fast once we stopped the whole car was burning.+we were on 65 south in kentucky just driving ,no rain roads were dry.
CategoryElectrical System, Latches/locks/linkages:doors:latch
DateNov 27, 2020
StateTX
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2018 kia sorento. The contact stated that the driver's side door latch indicated a malfunction on the instrument panel. The contact stated that the doors failed to lock while the vehicle is being driven. The contact manually locked the doors however, the warning light and door ajar message remained illuminated on the instrument panel. The contact contacted fort bend kia (26633 southwest fwy, rosenberg, tx 77471; (877) 265-5649) and was informed that the vin was not under recall. The vehicle was not diagnosed nor repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 61,000.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine
DateNov 26, 2020
StateFL
Description
While driving on numerous occasions the car has to be forced to go. It's always hesitating to go and I'm forced to press hard on the gas. In october 2020, the engine light came on and the car went into "limp" mode. I'm very scared while driving with my kids. The dealers have no fix-I will be taking it in for a third time within a year.
CategoryEngine
DateNov 23, 2020
StateIL
Description
After turning into traffic on a highway, and I probably should not have, I had to "gun" it to get moving faster. After that the engine light came on and was flashing. Then I would say it went into a limp home mode. This "gunning" has happened to me 3 times.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateNov 23, 2020
StateMA
Description
Sunroof exploded while traveling down highway at approx. 65 mph. Did not see anything strike the vehicle prior to the explosion. Vehicle is equipped with a panoramic sunroof. Failure occurred in the front section which opens and closes.
CategoryAir Bags
DateNov 20, 2020
StateTN
Description
I was driving approximately 35 miles per hour on a city street when another vehicle pulled out in front of me. The impact totaled the other vehicle and caused ,500 in damage to my vehicle, and my air bags did not deploy. While I was not seriously injured, I did suffer significant whip-lash type injuries, and injured my knee when it hit the dash board.
CategoryElectrical System, Exterior Lighting
DateNov 02, 2020
StateWI
Description
2018 kia sorrento - lights have shut off for approximately 3 seconds intermittently driving in various driving conditions (interstate/city street/etc.). Can happen multiple times during a single trip (twice yesterday and four times last week all within one trip). Can go days without it happening which is frustrating as dealer "needs to see the issue to fix it". Observing it in both night and day. Obviously more dangerous during night. I have videos from others that replaced the light stalk switch with success. Dealer refuses to do this while car is still under warranty as they have not been able to reproduce concern. They recommend that I continue driving and bring it in "if it happens again". They charge me 150 dollars each time I bring it in to tell me "they can't reproduce it". I am seeing multiple people on forums for this issue. Video from another customer (start at 56 seconds): https://www. Youtube. Com/watch? V=txg9cj076ha
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateOct 20, 2020
StateWA
Description
Sunroof spontaneously shattered when driving on the highway at 63 mph. There was no road debris that caused this - in looking at the remaining attached glass, it appears to have broken upwards, not as if something broke it from the outside, but from the inside, like it bubbled upwards. It is the front panel of a panoramic sunroof, and the fabric was open and the sunroof was vented open at the time.
CategoryAir Bags
DateOct 12, 2020
StatePA
Description
Frontal impact with a deer on interstate 81 northbound in pa., cruise control set at posted speed limit of 65mph, no airbag deployment at time of impact or after collision chest impacted steering wheel and arm pain from holding steering wheel.
CategoryAir Bags
DateOct 08, 2020
StateCT
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2018 kia sorento. The contact stated while her husband was driving at 35 mph, when another vehicle intersected his lane on the right side. The driver attempted to prevent a crash by swerving but crashed into the guard rail on the far left side. The air bags did not deploy. The driver did not have any injuries. A police report was filed. The vehicle was not drivable. The vehicle was towed to auto body shop. The contact called local dealer (premier kia service center located at 205 n main st, branford, ct 06405, (203) 315-2070) and was made aware of the failure. The vehicle had not been diagnosed or repaired as of yet. The manufacturer had been informed of failure. The failure mileage was approximately 55,000.
CategoryElectrical System, Exterior Lighting
DateOct 08, 2020
StatePA
Description
Headlights turn off while driving on highway and city streets. Service on 3-23-20 and could duplicate problem. On 9-25-20 driving and dash board indicator switching from flashers on, headlights going from auto set, to off, to running lights, and door locks locking and unlocking. Scheduled service for 10-20-20, but was told if they can not duplicate problem may not be able to repair.
CategoryEngine
DateAug 02, 2020
StateFL
Description
Currently, there is an engine recall on the 2015-2018 kia sorento, which results in premature rod wearing and potential engine fires. Within a few weeks of having the vehicle, brand new off the lot, the engine noises (tapping/knocking) were noticed by a family member. It was reported to kia within the first 3,500 miles on the vehicle, who advised me initially that the sounds were because the engine was new and breaking in and that the sounds were normal. In january 2019, I was advised when I brought the car in for their courtesy inspection that there was a recall and they needed to perform a software update on the vehicles ecm that is supposed to turn the vehicle into limp mode to warn the driver of a potential engine fire before it happens. Kia performed the update and the engine noises still persist. The technician claimed he inspected the vehicle and reported that it was performing as intended and that he did not hear the noise. Lately the noises have been more frequent, so as a safety concern I brought the vehicle back into kia for inspection. Now the dealership and manufacturer instead of checking and confirming the safeness of the vehicle, is blaming an aftermarket oil filter and synthetic oil as the cause of the engine issues, not their engine issues that recalled thousands of cars and resulted in engine fires. Moreover, kia not only refuses to provide me with the diagnostic report and supposedly oil pressure test that they claim to have been performed that gave them those results, they also refuse to confirm to whether the car is safe to be on the road. This is a safety hazard; engine fires are real which can severely injure or kill the occupants of a vehicle. The manufacturer and the dealer refuse to address this hazard and it needs to be investigated, for consumer safety.
CategoryExterior Lighting
DateJul 28, 2020
StateCA
Description
7/23/20 20:30, while driving straight down a city street, just began driving from stopping at a light, and the headlights turned off by themselves. After a few seconds, my wife rotated the lights switch to off then back to auto and they came back on. This is the third time this has occurred since we bought the vehicle in august of 2019.
CategoryVisibility:sun/moon Roof Assembly
DateJul 20, 2020
StateCO
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2018 kia sorrento. The contact stated that while driving at 60 mph, the sun roof exploded without impact. The contact pulled over and inspected the vehicle. The contact stated that the sun roof exploded upwards and outwards. There was no glass fragments inside of the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to durango kia (1195 carbon jct, durango, co 81301, 833-963-0462) where the contact was informed that the replacement part would be ordered and that the regional manager would be informed of the failure. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 65,000. *bf *js
CategoryEngine
DateJul 13, 2020
StateNC
Description
Since 2/2020 I have been back and forth to the dealership multiple times for my check engine light. The dealership has replaced multiple different parts but the light continues to come back on. The dealership has been in contact with kia corporate mechanics and they do not seem to know what the problem is as well. I am very frustrated because I have also reached out to kia corporate office and they have been of no assistance. I do not feel safe driving this vehicle and has voiced this concern multiple times.
CategoryExterior Lighting
DateJul 07, 2020
StateNJ
Description
The headlights on my 2018 kia sorento randomly turn off. It's happened at least 20 times in the past six months. It happens both day and night. The lights are set to auto. Although the even appears to be random, it is while the car is in motion and has happed while driving in parking lots as well as major highways. In order for the lights to come back on, I have to use turn the knob to off then back on. When the lights turn off at night I can not see anything around me nor can anyone else see me. I did contact kia and they ran diagnostic testing but could not find the source of the problem.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine
DateMay 12, 2020
StateMO
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2018 kia sorento. The contact stated that while her son was driving approximately 60 mph, the vehicle suddenly stalled and lost all power. The contact stated that son called her and informed her that the vehicle was smoking. He was able to pull to the side of the road, upon exiting the vehicle he saw flames coming from under the vehicle. The contact stated that he opened the hood and the flames immediately engulfed the whole vehicle. The fire department was called and extinguished the fire. A fire department report was made. There were no injuries or medical assistance needed. The vehicle was towed and totaled. The contact contacted the dealer suntrup kia south (6263 s lindbergh blvd, st. Louis, mo 63123 phone: (314) 254-8955) who stated that they were not liable and to contact kia consumer line. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure a case was opened as well as an investigation was conducted. The approximate failure mileage was unknown.
CategorySteering
DateMay 03, 2020
StateID
Description
When driving 40+ mph, when the wind is blowing, the steering becomes sticky, notchy or jerky, call it what ever you please. When trying to adjust steering slightly to drive in a straight direction, my steering becomes jerky and dangerous. Kia refuses to look into this seriously. They want me spending hundreds of dollars to get it diagnosed. But how will it be diagnosed when it only happens when it is windy? Please help me with this.
CategorySteering
DateMar 16, 2020
StateMD
Description
Steering has a "notchy" or "sticky" feel at highway speeds especially when steering from right to left.
CategorySteering
DateJan 02, 2020
StateGA
Description
Steering felt sticking while driveling on the highway took it in been told it's the steering column.. This is the second issues I have had with my steering 6mths apart. Last time I was told it was something in the drive train an was covered by warranty an the part was going to be replaced but when I took my car in for the sec issue I was told they only did a soft wear update but its also calling for another software update
CategoryExterior Lighting
DateDec 30, 2019
StateCA
Description
Car headlamps shut off when car is in motion, first noticed when driving at night as lights were in auto setting and the dashboard shows the light setting change and the lights outside changing as well with nothing being touched. Lights have completely shut off about 5 times when driving.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine
DateOct 23, 2019
StateIA
Description
In january 2019 a recall was done on my vehicle. A few days later, I was traveling out of state. I was on the interstate driving 70 miles per hour when the car lost power. Luckily there was no one behind me. I was told that the recall sent the car into limp mode because the engine was bad. My car was in the shop for over 4 months in wisconsin. I live in iowa. Long story short, kia came up with new diagnostic testing and after 4 months they decided I did not need an engine and it was my wiring harness that was the problem. 2 months later, I was driving on the interstate again when my vehicle did the same thing my car went from 70 mph to 50 mph within seconds. I looked in my rearview mirror and a semi was right behind. Thank goodness the driver was paying attention. He had to go onto the shoulder of the highway to avoid crashing into me. I was told the car was once again in limp mode. It was in the shop for 3 days and they said it needed a new knock sensor. Fast forward a few more months and my vehicle goes into limp mode for the 3rd time. Currently my car is still in the shop. It has been there for 6 weeks. I'm being told that it now needs a new computer, but kia has to write one, so it could be awhile. This car is unsafe. The car going into limp mode is dangerous and unsafe. I have had this vehicle for 15 months and of that, its been in the shop for 6 and counting.
CategoryEngine, Unknown Or Other, Vehicle Speed Control
DateAug 26, 2019
StateCA
Description
I was driving back home I had too work in rodeo california half the way everything was going great I had my 3 children with me my car didn't gave me any warning no check engine light.,no white smoke , I was passing the dodger stadium when suddenly my 2018 sorento just shut down almost got hit I was about too enter the 710 and nooooo I didnt even got a chance to get out the I-5 south I checked the water it was full oil was ok no smoke no over heating ones the car shut down I try too stop since when passing dodger stadium in going down hill the damm breaks didnt work god was on my side I stop the car the dash board turn on and off the engine how ever never turned back on. I waited for 5 hours for kia roadside service 60 minutes turned up too be 5 hrs its funny I got that 2018 because I didn't want to be having problems like this one I thought hey a new car would be great for the family ... Nope I should had never got that car love my chevrolet silverado nothing like chevy
CategoryStructure:body
DateAug 26, 2019
StateCA
Description
Vehicle was in a parked stationary position, tried to open sun roof and heard a loud pop noise. Panoramic sunroof glass cracked horizontally clear across roof and met with glass particles all over.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateAug 26, 2019
StateDC
Description
On 8-23-19 at approx. O805hrs I arrived at my destination and parked my kia sorento. I had driven the kia sorento from my residence to vancouver, wa and during this travel period the kia sorento functioned as usual with no indication of mechanical, electrical or functionality of the vehicle. I parked the kia and entered the building. At approx. 0840 a co-worker indicated the kia had smoke coming from the kia's engine compartment. I exited the building to see a small haze of smoke coming from the engine compartment, which began to increase. I used a fire extinguisher in an attempt to neutralize the fire, which only suppressed it for a short time and I didn't open the engine hood due to potential exposure to fire or explosions. The engine fire continued to increase in size and I attempted with another fire extinguisher, which wasn't effective due to size, heat and accessibility of the full engine compartment. Vancouver fire later arrived and extinguished the engine fire continued within the kia's engine compartment.
CategorySteering
DateAug 19, 2019
StateCA
Description
The steering is notchy at freeway speeds 50 mph. Athe car cannot be held in straight direction by making small corrections to the steering wheel. Any steering corrections made are met with heavy resistance then steering will move instantly to what feels like a notch. This causes the driver to make another correction in the other direction. Again, this correction is met with heavy resistance and then instantly jumps to what feels like a notch. This correction causes steering to be erratic and fatigues the driver who must make corrections every few seconds leading to an over correction. At highway speeds, it causes the driving to be unsafe as the vehicle is constantly weaving. Kia knows about this problem affecting many of there vehicles, but there has of yet been no recall. But, it is a very real safety concern, as it fatigues the driver from the constant over corrections, and causes the driving to be erratic.
CategoryEngine
DateAug 06, 2019
StateMI
Description
After the software update, my kia had issues with the knock sensor. So, will this vehicle has issues for the rest of the engines life? I am hoping to drive this car for more than 100,000 miles. Is this just a coincidence that the sensor was bad right after the update? The car went into limp mode after a loud clunk. Glad I was close to home!
CategorySeat Belts
DateJul 16, 2019
StateOH
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2018 kia sorento. The contact stated that the front passenger seat belt did not have a seat belt warning system to advise when the front passenger seat belt was unfastened. The vehicle was taken to an unknown dealer who confirmed that the seat belt unfastened warning system was not installed in the 2018 kia sorentos. The manufacturer was contacted. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 0. *bf *tr
CategorySteering
DateMay 08, 2019
StateWI
Description
The problem is a sticky feeling in the steering while driving on the highway. When making very small corrections feels like the power steering is turned off. Gentle pressure does not turn the wheel at all. As more and more pressure is applied, it feels like the power steering turns on. This causes the vehicle to swerve due to over correction. The vehicle is incredibly hard to control and unpredictable. Occurs at high speeds. Extremely dangerous.
CategoryEngine
DateMar 27, 2019
StateOH
Description
Engine completely lost power and shut down on the highway and when restatred, went into limp mode. Now engine needs replaced and no engines are available. My car has a mobility device installed to accomodate my missing right leg and any rental vehicle is difficuly to use since I have to remove my prosthetic leg to drive it. I need a vehicle fitted to accomodate my disability and dont know when or if I'll be getting mine back.
CategoryElectrical System, Exterior Lighting
DateFeb 28, 2019
StateFL
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2018 kia sorento. The contact stated that the vent control functions failed to work properly when needing to use the heater. In addition, the headlamps failed to illuminate as the contact was informed by a passerby on the roadway. The dealer (bev smith kia, 5655 us-1, fort pierce, fl 34982, 1-(772) 465-8589) was notified of the failures and the contact was waiting for a response to schedule an appointment to service the vehicle. The manufacturer was notified. The contact would like the dealer to buy back the vehicle if there was no remedy. The failure mileage was not available.
CategoryEngine, Steering
DateFeb 18, 2019
StateWA
Description
Over the last 6 months my kia has started to act like it is going to die or stall while driving and/or idling. This has happened at various different speeds. I took my kia into the service department and explained what was happening. They ran some diagnostic tests and stated that they could not replicate it. The check engine light never comes on. In december, I received a recall notice for the engine control unit. This recall was completed and now less than a month later the shaking like my car is going to stall is still happening intermittently. Recently, the steering wheel started sticking. While I am driving the steering wheel makes me over adjust to keep the car going straight. You can feel the sticking as you have to constantly adjust the steering wheel right or left. This happens every time I am driving, whether on the highway or side streets.
CategorySteering
DateFeb 18, 2019
StateWI
Description
While driving down the road the steering wheel sticks. While you keep turning a little to keep the vehicle straight it will suddenly break loose, causing the vehicle to jerk left or right depending on the direction you were turning the wheel at the time. It is most dangerous while the roads are either snow or ice covered and slippery. Hard to keep the vehicle on the road.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateFeb 08, 2019
StateUT
Description
Our car has a third row with two seats in the back and we put 2 people on each row. We had a steel trailer hitch cargo carrier hanging on the back of the car. We have used this device many times with our other 2007 kia sorento with no problems of any kind. We had four large tubs with lids and each of the 4 kids would get a tub to hold their suitcases. These tubs were connected to the cargo carrier with bungie cords. We had planned to spend the night in las vegas and after a 5-hour drive, we arrived at the hotel & we noticed that the tub on the bottom starboard side had been burned significantly. Upon further investigation, we learned that the exhaust pipe was part of the bumper system and that it had heated the one tub and the cargo carrier to such high temperatures as to cause a fire inside the tub. It had melted the tub to the cargo carrier and burned a big hole in the side of the tub. The suitcase inside the tub had a huge black hole in the side and all of its contents were burned or scorched. Since the fire was no longer burning, we decided to not call the las vegas fire department as the threat was over. The next day, before we left las vegas, we went to home depot and found some materials and crafted an aluminum shield to block the exhaust from hitting the cargo carrier. Then we were able to reach our destination in seal beach ca. When we took the cargo carrier off the car, we saw that several of the bungie cords had been melted right to the cargo carrier. Through our assessment, we determined that the damages done to the cargo carrier, the bungie cords, the tub, the suitcase and all of its (mostly brand new) contents to be about 47. 15. This did not count the cost to build a deflector so we could continue our trip. It in no way counts the discomfort and trauma my family suffered from this event.
CategorySteering
DateFeb 05, 2019
StateGA
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2018 kia sorento. While driving, the steering wheel seized without warning. The contact coasted the vehicle to the side of the road and powered off the engine. The vehicle was restarted and was able to drive normally. The contact stated that the failure occurred intermittently. The vehicle was taken to ed voyles kia of chamblee (located at 5647 peachtree industrial blvd, chamblee, ga 30341, (770) 234-7800) to be diagnosed, but the failure could not be duplicated. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and did not assist. The approximate failure mileage was 15,000.
CategoryService Brakes
DateJan 22, 2019
StateTN
Description
Aeb autonomous emergency braking ///will not stop the vehicle and was never intended to do so but is advertised as standard features and should be noted in the safety rating of the auto,,also I believe kia should be made to remove this from their features because of false advertising... Will be happy to supply sticker from auto
CategorySteering
DateDec 21, 2018
StatePA
Description
Steering is sticking both right and left, can feel it when driving low speed and higher speed on any road city or highway, took to dealer they did a 4 wheel alignment, still doing the same thing
CategorySteering
DateDec 13, 2018
StateID
Description
Sticking steering then gives when constant pressure applied making a significant sudden steering movement. Happens when driving. Seems more on right than left. Started noticing it a couple of months ago. Have not changed anything. Happens when ever driving.
CategorySteering
DateDec 07, 2018
StateOK
Description
While driving down the highway, the steering seems to stick to the right. This has not been noticed while driving in town. This does not always happen. It is random. I have had the car four months and it has been noticed 4 times.
CategoryEngine, Structure:body
DateNov 20, 2018
StateTN
Description
I was driving on a state hwy about three miles from home going 50 mph. I was the sole occupant in the vehicle when I began to smell smoke. I was able to pull off the hwy. And turn the vehicle off. I opened my door and opened the hood from the inside. When I did, flames and smoke began to shoot out from the hood and I heard a loud pop. I exited the vehicle and within seconds, the whole car was consumed with fire. I called 911 and reported a vehicle on fire. The fire department and ems both responded within minutes. The fire department was able to put out the fire but not before it was a complete loss. After the fire was extinguished, I noted all the doors and the hatch had locked at some point during the fire. I contacted cumberland kia where I purchased the vehicle to notify them of what happened and they took possession of the vehicle that afternoon.
CategoryAir Bags
DateNov 10, 2018
StateNJ
Description
Driving on highway, hit deer. Front airbags deployed. Car swerved onto median and front passenger side crashed into guardrail. Side airbag did not deploy. Unclear why side airbag did not deploy. Front passenger hit head on passenger door window and shattered window, sustained concussion.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateOct 15, 2018
StateTX
Description
Got 2018 kia sorrento 9 thousand miles it stall 6 times last week took it to kia thay say nothing wrong with it this saturday it stall 2 more times thought I was going to die big rig had to brake fast now im takeing it in tues so now thay can have it for a longtime so thay can give it back because the code will not do nothing if it dont stall on them so what should I do I owe the back I pay on my car every month I dont want anyone getting hurt or sue because I cant drive it and being scard of it
CategoryTires, Wheels
DateOct 09, 2018
StatePA
Description
( 2 ) hankook dynapro hp2 size 235/65r17 104h ,blew tires on passage side front & rear . Driving on I-95 in philadelphia,pa sept. 29th 2018
CategoryExterior Lighting:headlights
DateJun 19, 2018
StateFL
Description
Tl* the contact rented a 2018 kia sorento. Upon activating the headlights, they failed to properly illuminate and caused a lack of visibility. A dealer was not contacted. The manufacturer was notified and did not assist. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The vin and failure mileage were not available. *tt *tr
CategoryPower Train, Unknown Or Other
DateMay 09, 2018
StateGA
Description
I was backing up when my car just accelerated like crazy and ran over a huge brick mailbox. It was like my car was possess, it became a crazy 4 wheel drive.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateMar 14, 2018
StateIL
Description
I am requesting that dot nhtsa investigate the issue of kia sorento's sunroofs exploding. We were driving our company leased 2018 kia sorento heading westbound on I-90 going approximately 30 mph to due rush hour traffic during sunny weather, with optimal road conditions, and we were approximately 16 feet from the car in front of us when all of a sudden we heard a bomb blast sound coming from above us. We carefully felt the sunroof shield and determined the sunroof exploded into many pieces. Nothing from the outside or inside fell on the sunroof to cause it to shatter. We have not used the sunroof since november of 2017. We immediately called the kia dealership to notify them of the problem and they asked us to bring the vehicle in right away. If we had the sunroof shield open, we would have suffered numerous injuries. We continued to investigate online and found a numerous cases of kia sorento's sunroofs exploding. Currently, there is a class action lawsuit against kia for a defect in the sunroofs that causes the sunroofs to shatter without warning. This issue is highly dangerous to kia drivers, passengers and other drivers. Please formally investigate.
CategoryVehicle Speed Control
DateFeb 14, 2018
StateCA
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2018 kia sorento. While the vehicle was stationary, the smart cruise system malfunctioned. The contact stated that the smart cruise system did not detect that a vehicle was in front of it and accelerated forward independently. Stevens creek kia in san jose, california was made aware of the failure, but the source of the failure was not determined. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 650.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateDec 18, 2017
StateTN
Description
2018 kia sorento sxl the aeb ( autonomous emergency braking ) does not work as advertised or expected.. This feature is advertised as aeb and also on the electronic dash as aeb but according to the very definition of autonomous meaning without human intervention to stop the vehicle to avoid a crash does not work and can not be relied on to avoid any type of crash at any speed and I hope the safety board will make kia take action to correct this problem post hast. This vehicle has been to the dealer shop and they assure me all is working and it will stop the auto from having a crash or at the least minimize the severity of the crash and also give you a warning 1 to 2 seconds before the crash which is totally absurd and also false advertising. Please look on the internet and you will find numerous complaints of this problem with no resolve . Kia needs to make this work as advertised or quit putting this on vehicles and then falsely advertising it has aeb will you please test this and help.....

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.


Share your story

Does this ring a bell? Have you had a bad experience too? Sound off and share your experience with other visitors in the comment box below.

Brian Jones

About the Author:

Brian Jones spent more than 20 years working as an ASE Certified Master Tech and Parts Specialist at multiple dealerships. Brian has become an authority in the industry, traveling across the country to consult for car dealerships and contributing his expertise as a writer for several major automotive publications. In his spare time, Brian enjoys working on pickup trucks, muscle cars, Jeeps and anything related to motorsports.

See more posts from Brian Jones
1 COMMENT
  • Sonia

    My car start burning oil

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead you can to our legal team.

Please select your star rating.

Briefly describe your experience Briefly describe your experience

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? Please enter a valid phone number

Want to know if you could sue? Get a free legal evaluation Lemberg Law?

Get Your No-Obligation
Case Evaluation

Send a secure message to our legal team.

What’s your name? What’s your name?
What’s your email address? What’s your email address?
What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?
Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem
Confidentiality Guarantee: We keep your information completely confidential and will not send you spam or sell your information.