2018 Infiniti Q50 Problems and Top Complaints – Is Your Car A Lemon?

Electrical system, tire and engine issues among the top complaints received by the NHTSA from vehicle owners

By Brian Jones | Updated on

By Brian Jones | Updated on

For consumers that desire a sports sedan with plenty of performance, the 2018 Infiniti Q50 seems to be the obvious option. After all, the newest lineup is hailed as “luxury that thrills,” but the excitement is more than owners bargained for. This model has a failing electrical system, defective engine and poorly constructed wheels.

Click on other model year to view more problems: 2019

Don’t be stuck with a lemon. You have legal rights to cash, return or buyback.

The law makes Infiniti pay legal fees.

We've fixed thousands of lemon problems. Message or call 877-795-3666 today.

NHTSA Complaints for the 2018 Infiniti Q50

Complaint CategoryNumber of Complaints
Engine
6
Wheels
3
Fuel/propulsion System
2
Electrical System
2
Lane Departure: Blind Spot Detection
1
Air Bags
1
Back Over Prevention: Sensing System: Camera
1
Electronic Stability Control
1
Service Brakes
1
Structure:body
1

Problems with the Electrical System

The main part of a vehicle’s electrical system includes the battery, starter and alternator, but the power runs throughout the entire car. When this system malfunctions, nuisances abound.

One NHTSA complaint talks about the problems. “The contact owns a 2018 Infiniti Q50. The contact stated that the back-up screen would not display while the gear was in reverse. The cause of the failure was not determined. [Dealer] and the manufacturer were notified of the failure, but no assistance was offered. The contact was informed that the vehicle was included in the NHTSA Campaign Number 19V654000 (Electrical System). The contact stated that the vehicle experienced the same failure listed in the recall. The failure mileage was 30,000.”

The recall being referenced states that the back-up camera doesn’t have an image, which increases the chance of an accident. This problem affects more than one million vehicles. Owners might as well close their eyes before backing up. They might have a better chance of entering traffic than allowing themselves to be distracted while fiddling with the back-up camera. It’s just one way that this model aims to “thrill” the occupants.

Problems with the Engine

A car engine can make or break the vehicle. If the motor is powerful and reliable, the ride is enjoyable. Otherwise, it can be cumbersome and downright dangerous.

That’s what is shown in this NHTSA comment. “The car caught fire under the hood and completely burned up in the parking lot as I was exiting the vehicle.”

While this is scary, there’s another occurrence that’s happening with the Q50. NHTSA Campaign Number 17V476000 states that the fuel pump control module software might be defective in over 14,000 vehicles. This defective software allows the fuel level to drop too low to supply the engine, leading to a stalling situation while driving. If this occurs, the vehicle is at risk for an accident. While it’s unclear what caused the car fire above, it’s evident that Infiniti has found multiple ways to create “thrills” for owners. Either stalling in the middle of the road or having the sedan burst into flames is sure to gain attention.

Problems with the Tires

It’s rare to see a wheel or tire-related complaint on a newer vehicle. For the most part, this is one area that automakers have perfected and can’t really fail at, except for with the 2018 Infiniti Q50.

Another NHTSA complaint states, “Run flat tires went flat on a pothole that was not even realized on a Sunday with no service station open. Even if they were, the tire has to be replaced, cannot be repaired. There is no spare tire option – when contacted, company refused ‘not possible.’ This is not safe at all and must be addressed. Must have a spare tire especially since run flat tires cannot be repaired and are not in stock at most service stations.”

The run-flat tire should have gotten the owner at least ten miles, but probably more with the equipment Infiniti includes. For the premium price of this vehicle, it’s disheartening to see the lack of care for occupants, as this situation could have led to a major accident. Of course, the automaker has nothing to say about the situation and has chosen to act like it didn’t happen. In the meantime, owners are driving around, experiencing maximum “thrills,” completely unaware that the tires could put them in danger.

Your Lemon Law Legal Rights

Think you have a lemon? Sit back and let the experts work out your lemon case at no cost to you. The law makes Infiniti pay legal fees. You may be able to get your lemon out of your life. Every year, auto manufacturers buy back, replace or pay cash settlements to thousands of ‘lemon’ owners like you.

Complaint Data

CategoryLane Departure: Blind Spot Detection
DateAug 10, 2022
StateAL
Description
The blindspot on my car needs a sensor to signal a cars presence. I have to turn my neck and head all way around to see which is unsafe for myself and others on the road.
CategoryEngine
DateAug 28, 2020
StateTX
Description
On 6/13/2020 the drive belt shredded while driving under 30mph, under light acceleration. At first, the battery light illuminated on the instrument cluster, followed the check engine light. White smoke began to come from the engine. Thankfully, I was nearby my house and made it there safely. Furthermore, the engine overheated due to a coolant hose being knocked off by the shredded belt. Additionally, the water pump and a/c compressor failed. The pulley tensioner assembly and belt were replaced under manufacturer's warranty, along with the aforementioned failed components. All work was done at grubbs infiniti of grapevine, tx and the repair took exactly three weeks to fix. The failure mileage was 28,660. Previously, on march 6, 2019, infiniti of van nuys, ca, tightened the pulley tensioner assembly due to a squeaking noise I was hearing while accelerating. Vehicle mileage was approximately 10,000. I was informed that if I hadn't had this issue fixed before my drive back to texas, my drive belt could have shredded. After the dealer addressed the concern no further noise was heard at all. The dealer also informed me that this issue is known and has been documented in infiniti service bulletins. Although, this poses a major safety concern as the vehicle could have stalled at high speed resulting in an accident and or loss of life. I worry this issue will happen again. Two times, two many!
CategoryFuel/propulsion System
DateMay 16, 2020
StateNY
Description
Poor gas mileage range per full tank is 289miles very bad mileage *tr
CategoryEngine
DateMar 09, 2020
StateCT
Description
Vr30ddtt serpentine belt keeps shredding
CategoryAir Bags, Electrical System
DateJan 30, 2020
StateNC
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2018 infiniti q50. The contact stated while driving 45 mph, the air bag warning light illuminated and after which the vehicle started to hesitate. The vehicle has been taken to local dealer (lake norman infiniti located at 20435 chartwell center dr, cornelius, nc 28031) on five different occasion. The contact stated that the dealer replaced the airbag fuse, airbag harness and 2 additional unknown repairs. The contact stated that the failure recurred. The manufacturer had not been informed of failure. The failure mileage was 28,706.
CategoryBack Over Prevention: Sensing System: Camera, Electrical System
DateJan 02, 2020
StateGA
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2018 infiniti q50. The contact stated that the back-up screen would not display while the gear was in reverse. The cause of the failure was not determined. Nissan of athens (4735 atlanta hwy, athens, ga) and the manufacturer were notified of the failure, but no assistance was offered. The contact was informed that the vehicle was not included in nhtsa campaign number: 19v654000 (electrical system). The contact stated that the vehicle experienced the same failure listed in the recall. The failure mileage was 30,000.
CategoryFuel/propulsion System
DateNov 20, 2019
StateNY
Description
Gas mileage is verry bad ! In city only my car give me 14 mpg and hwy 18mpg infiniti say is. 20mpg city and 29hwy. And combined 22mpg
CategoryElectronic Stability Control
DateOct 29, 2019
StateAL
Description
The phone/bluetooth constantly disconnect devices that are added to bluetooth. Often when calls are made from your cell through bluetooth, there is a frying/static sound that occurs. You have to hang up and place your call again. This happens both while driving and stationary.
CategoryEngine
DateOct 09, 2019
StateWA
Description
The serpentine belt makes consistent noise in all types of weather. Already had the dealer replace it once. Noise came back and the dealer now says it could be the tensioner pulley.
CategoryEngine
DateOct 09, 2019
StateWA
Description
From start into the warm-up, there is a consistent whoreling noise coming from the motor.
CategoryService Brakes, Structure:body, Vehicle Speed Control
DateApr 01, 2019
StateFL
Description
As I was parking the vehicle at 5mph behind a parked car, with the front tires slightly turned to the left, the brake pedal was depressed, the vehicle suddenly accelerated but the vehicle failed to stop. Resulting in hitting the vehicle in front and pushing it out of the way, the vehicle continued moving despite having the brake pedal depressed to the limit, the engine was revving very high. The vehicle crossed the median and came to a stop on the opposite travel lane of the street after the engine went to idle speed. The dealer suggested to contact infiniti usa to start an investigation(tba), a police report was filed. Collision avoidance/auto brake did not engage. Video with sound of the incident is available upon request.
CategoryEngine, Wheels
DateDec 15, 2018
StateMA
Description
While I was driving my infiniti on the highway my serpentine belt snapped 4 different times while in motion. All within one year. Including me getting my car back from the dealer and them letting me have it back that way. Also, the tires are horrendous, from day one, they pulled the car left or right on the car. All the settings were correct on the car. I wanted to have the tires replaced, by the manufacturer, and that can be done because no it's to long and everyone took to long to make things happen. Not to mention dunlop is impossible to get a hold of.
CategoryWheels
DateNov 10, 2018
StateNY
Description
Run flat tires went flat on a pothole that was not even realized on a sunday with no service station open. Even if they were, the tire has to be replaced, cannot be repaired. There is no spare tire option- when contacted, company refused " not possible". This is not safe at all and must be addressed. Must have spare tire esp since run flat tires cannot be repaired and are not in stock at most service stations
CategoryExterior Lighting
DateOct 29, 2018
StateMA
Description
This was a rental vehicle, not my personal vehicle, but is applicable to multiple brands and models. The safety issue is due to the headlight modes. The default mode is off, yet the drl's remain on. These are bright enough that you can drive in the middle of the night and not realize that your actual headlights are off, which means that the tail lights are off. I have been seeing several vehicles every day with people driving with no lights on, even in poor visibility. The default should be for the headlights to be in auto mode or drl's must be off when you select off. I have been surprised several times this fall by drivers driving excessively slow with their lights off on the highway in the rain at night. You cannot see them till you are very close. All of them have these new led drl's on at the time. This is a universal issue that needs to be addressed. It shows a very basic lack of thought to design headlights in this way and is a serious safety issue in my opinion.
CategoryWheels
DateAug 03, 2018
StateNY
Description
Car comes with 19"rims and run flat tires (bridgestone drive guard). Since leasoing the car in november 2018, I have received 8 flat tires all from "potholes" that ripped the side wall. Consumer affairs says this tire should not be on this car in certain states in this case new york. Infiniti dealers do not offer an option and the unsuspecting consumer is left with a hazardous situation. Your eyes can leave the road as you search for even small potholes to avoid. When the tire does go flat and you are more than 25-50 miles away from a repair shop you are in danger of being stranded. I was stranded in a snowy wooded area and had to drive 25 miles in treacherous conditions with a child in the car just to find a replacement. The tire should not be on a car with a heavy front end per the tire dealer and tire repair shop. Infiniti knows this and will offer to pay for a new tire, rather than putting customer safety first and discontinuing this tire/rim in ny state. In several instances the pot hole hit was less than the width of the tire.
CategoryEngine
DateJul 24, 2018
StateAR
Description
The car caught fire under the hood and completely burned up in the parking lot as I was exiting the vehicle updated 12/4/18*jb
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJun 25, 2018
StateFL
Description
Faulty "display control units" cause bluetooth system to behave erratically, play / pause music or sounds, override user controls, and cause severe distractions while driving by having to manually turn off bluetooth from phone. Faulty dcu will override user controls in other aspects as well. Dcu will cause reverse camera to display no image / skewed image / interference. Camera has stayed on the screen while moving forward in drive. Has been an issue in these cars since 2014, some worse than others. This happens at all speeds, reverse camera is mainly at lower speeds but the issues with the bluetooth can happen at all speeds. It's most inconvenient for me when commuting on the highway because once I disconnect the phone from the vehicle the vehicle will not re-pair with the phone meaning I cannot use bluetooth the rest of the drive (unless I stop).

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.

Share your story

Does this ring a bell? Have you had a bad experience too? Sound off and share your experience with other visitors in the comment box below.

Brian Jones

About the Author:

Brian Jones spent more than 20 years working as an ASE Certified Master Tech and Parts Specialist at multiple dealerships. Brian has become an authority in the industry, traveling across the country to consult for car dealerships and contributing his expertise as a writer for several major automotive publications. In his spare time, Brian enjoys working on pickup trucks, muscle cars, Jeeps and anything related to motorsports.

See more posts from Brian Jones
1 COMMENT
  • Ali t

    Hi I have problems with my q50 2018 luxe 3.0t
    Transmission when I need slow need to stop i feel like some one pushing my cars this happen just in low speed but in normal and high not happening
    And when removing + battery 1 minutes this problem disappear one day then come back next day
    I check in computer and no leaking and temperature normal
    Need hellp
    If any one know what must do
    Best regards

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead you can to our legal team.

Please select your star rating.

Briefly describe your experience Briefly describe your experience

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? Please enter a valid phone number

Want to know if you could sue? Get a free legal evaluation Lemberg Law?

Get Your No-Obligation
Case Evaluation

Send a secure message to our legal team.

What’s your name? What’s your name?
What’s your email address? What’s your email address?
What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?
Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem
Confidentiality Guarantee: We keep your information completely confidential and will not send you spam or sell your information.