2017 Honda HR-V Problems and Top Complaints – Is Your Car A Lemon?

Electrical system, fuel system, service brakes, and vehicle speed control issues among the top complaints received by the NHTSA from vehicle owners

By Brian Jones | Updated on

By Brian Jones | Updated on

The 2017 Honda HR-V is an SUV that’s meant to be similar to the CR-V. Customers looked forward to the compact size and expected it to be reliable. Honda boasted about the newer models by saying it offers
“innovation meets versatility.” However, the list of complaints is long, including for the electrical system, vehicle speed control, service brakes and fuel system.

Click on other model year to view more problems: 2018   2019   2020   2021   2022

Don’t be stuck with a lemon. You have legal rights to cash, return or buyback.

The law makes Honda pay legal fees.

We've fixed thousands of lemon problems. Message or call 877-795-3666 today.

NHTSA Complaints for the 2017 Honda HR-V

Complaint CategoryNumber of Complaints
Electrical System
15
Unknown Or Other
13
Service Brakes
10
Structure:body
9
Fuel/propulsion System
8
Vehicle Speed Control
8
Engine
7
Power Train
6
Air Bags
6
Steering
3

Problems with the Electrical System

With modern electrical systems in place, cars today are meant to run smoother than ever before. That is, unless the electrical systems fail, such as seen with the Honda HR-V.

One Edmunds review states, “For the past year I have been telling the Valley Honda dealership about the continuous door locking and unlocking, which they say they never here and always send me on my way with a different reason it could be saying they have never heard of this issue with any vehicle. Another time my hatch would not open, had to take to shop, no clear reason was given to the cause. Another time key fob locked in car and doors would not open. When I was out of town battery went dead when door locks would not quit continuously locking and unlocking.”

Honda is fully aware that the electrical systems on these vehicles are junk. Even Service Bulletin #A19-070 talks about how the Bluetooth HandsFreeLink will freeze when a phone call is over and also lose the stored voice tags. It leaves customers asking, “Can you hear me now?”

Problems with the Fuel System

Acceleration and fuel delivery seems to also be a problem with the 2017 Honda HR-V.

Here’s another Edmunds review to read. “The acceleration is so bad that I feel I can’t get out on the highway safely.”

The problems get even larger than this. Service Bulletin #APaS03102021908 states that some vehicles have inaccurate fuel gauge readings, where less is in the tank than what is shown. At least if this malfunction were going to happen, it would be preferable that it tells the owner there is less fuel than what is really there. At least there would be a buffer. For now, owners have to count miles and figure out when they might run out of fuel. That doesn’t sound very “innovated.”

Problems with the Service Brakes

Stopping a vehicle is priority number one if someone wants to remain safe on the road, yet the HR-V seems to struggle in this arena too.

One NHTSA complaint says, “Brakes are soft when braking. Also when stopping over small bumps or uneven road the brakes start to grind and clunk causing it to have problems stopping. This is going less than 20 mph. If I were to have a car in front of me which many times I do, I have to swerve so I do not hit them. Honda should look into this. The roads are clear no rain or anything for it to have such bad breaking. I can literally feel my brake pedal moving while the clunking and grinding is happening and the car does actually not slow down. It’s like the brake’s pedal loses its function.”

This is one area that Honda doesn’t feel the need to address. Of all the service bulletins, there is nothing about the brakes listed. It’s as if the system is perfect and there’s nothing to discuss with technicians. Maybe if the automaker continues to pretend nothing wrong, owners can continue to be the victim of gaslighting.

Problems with the Vehicle Speed Control

Ensuring a vehicle operates within certain parameters is the automaker’s responsibility, yet Honda failed on this front.

One more NHTSA complaint states, “The contact owns a 2017 Honda HR-V. While pulling into a parking spot, the vehicle accelerated excessively and crashed into a wall. The air bags did not deploy. A police report was filed. The vehicle was towed to [dealer] but was not diagnosed or repaired. The body damage was repaired. The failure recurred and the contact crashed into another vehicle. The air bags did not deploy. There were no injuries. A police report was filed. The vehicle was towed back to the dealer, but was not diagnosed or repaired.”

Sounds like a broken road or merry-go-round, continuing the same cycle over again. There are other vehicle speed control concerns though. Service Bulletin #A19-021 says that while traveling at speeds between 20 and 55 mph, there might be a rattle or metallic buzz occurring under the accelerator pedal. Maybe this sound can serve as a reminder to owners never to drive an HR-V again.

Your Lemon Law Legal Rights

Think you have a lemon? Sit back and let the experts work out your lemon case at no cost to you. The law makes Honda pay legal fees. You may be able to get your lemon out of your life. Every year, auto manufacturers buy back, replace or pay cash settlements to thousands of ‘lemon’ owners like you.

Complaint Data

CategoryFuel/propulsion System
DateOct 27, 2022
StateHI
Description
Car stalled at an intersection with no warning. Tried to restart and engine would start but when gas pedal pushed there was no acceleration. I was stuck in the middle of a busy intersection putting myself and others in at risk of an accident or injury. Had the car towed to honda dealership and was told the problem is the fuel pump. They have had the car for a week and are still waiting for the part to be delivered according to the service department that I spoke to today. My car is only 5 years old with less than 24k miles.
CategoryElectrical System:ignition, Engine
DateOct 07, 2022
StateID
Description
The contact owns a 2017 honda hr-v. The contact stated that on several occasions while driving at various speeds, the start/stop ignition switch light intermittently illuminated, and the vehicle stalled. The contact stated that several unknown warning lights were illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The dealer nor the manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 71,000.
CategoryVehicle Speed Control
DateMay 20, 2022
StateMA
Description
The contact owned a 2017 honda hr-v. The contact stated that after starting the vehicle and switching to the reverse position while very slowly releasing the brake pedal the vehicle suddenly experienced unintended acceleration causing the vehicle to drive in reverse and crash into a tree. During the incident, the vehicle was destroyed. No injuries were reported and no police report was taken. The cause of the failure was not determined. The local dealer and manufacturer were notified of the failure. The vin was not available. The failure mileage was 40,000.
CategoryEngine, Power Train
DateJan 10, 2022
StateCA
Description
On friday, dec 31, 2021 the car (2017 honda hr-v), without any warning, suddenly stalled in the middle of our residential street. Prior to this incident, I did not experience any indications that there was a problem with the car. The car was towed to a local honda service center and upon inspection by one of their technicians it was determined that the car had a "broken flywheel" (the car is an automatic so this is not the correct term). Once repairs began I was contacted and informed that the broken flywheel had caused additional damage and the car now requires an entirely new engine. I purchased the car brand new in july 2017. In july 2020 I received a recall notification from honda indicating that there were problems with the transmission and an entirely new transmission was installed with all costs covered by the manufacturer. Now six months later and only three years after purchasing the car, I am being told I need an entirely new engine. The car is currently at the service center and should be available for inspection. I have not authorized any work related to the engine because I am collecting information on my rights as a consumer and my options in regards to repair of the car. I strongly believe that the flywheel and engine repairs are manufacturer defects and need to be addressed and costs covered by honda.
CategoryStructure:body
DateNov 14, 2021
StateNY
Description
Front passenger water on the floor after rain. Seems to be the same problem described by complaint no. 10979667.
CategoryStructure:body, Unknown Or Other
DateAug 29, 2021
StateMD
Description
My name is [xxx] - currently own honda hrv. The honda hrv was purchased late 2017. Recently after service recall by honda my car was repaired for service recall by honda dealer dealer - 2 days after rain the front passenger floor area next to driver was flooded with water - I immediately took car back to dealer and told them to look at what was wrong as we never had this problem earlier- the service manager told me that there will be charges to even look at it - which I refused to pay as the car I handed before service recall never had this issue. Now with the rains the passenger area next to driver gets flooded every time and after calling honda they have not responded so far other than informing that they will look up in to it and call me - this has been frustrating experience as it is raining every day for last few days - so please help asap. Also checked on internet as one of my friends who has repair garage told me that had similar issue, so inspite of the fact that several of honda cars have similar problem and it is all over internet ; how come honda is not aware of this manufacturing defect. This is an serious issue if water remains inside the car will have mold and the car will not be usable - please inform what should a customer do the car is only 3 to 4 years old with just 33,000 miles on it. Honda issued a case number [xxx]. Information redacted pursuant to the freedom of information act (foia), 5 u. S. C. 552(b)(6).
CategoryService Brakes, Air:antilock:abs Warning Light
DateJul 26, 2021
StateVT
Description
Warning lights came on for abs system which triggered other lights on dashboard as well. Went to the shop to get it fixed and it is an unclear problem. Abs sensors were replaced, then wheel bearings. Still unclear what the issue is. Lights remain on, car sometimes engages abs brakes while driving.
CategoryPower Train
DateJul 19, 2021
StateOK
Description
My transmission in my 2017 honda hrv awd failed last week when it was just over 52k miles (july 2021). Unfortunately this situation occurred in a very dangerous location as I was about to enter onto a highway. As my car began to drive slower and slower, I was able to pull into a turning area where the car wouldn't drive any further. I was stuck in a high traffic location having to waive cars around me and no ability for a tow truck to get in and pick up the car. My location also left other drivers in danger as the people exiting the highway were also flying around a corner and past us at speeds of 45-60 mph. I had to call 911 to send out police to block off the highway exit and then push my car across this very busy road with me inside steering. It was a very tense and scary situation. Upon making it to a safe location, I had the car towed to my dealership where I found out the following day that the transmission problem was due to some sort of factory defect which of course wasn't communicated to customers ahead of time and there were no recalls in place. I do not believe honda should be allowed to just ignore this problem until a customer's vehicle breaks down, possibly in a very dangerous, high-speed location, and then fix the problem like the customer should be thankful for the service. Certainly this is a situation where honda should have done something ahead of time to correct the issue when they evidently knew it was a problem. Thank you.
CategoryElectrical System, Forward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Fuel/propulsion System
DateMay 07, 2021
StateTX
Description
On the highway and car completely came to a decreased speed of 60 from 75. Heavily revving. Rpm jumped continuously. From 60 to 20mph for a hood 15min constantly pulling over with hazards to let energy build while engine cooled. Leak huge leak under car out of no where 95000 +
CategoryService Brakes, Structure:body
DateApr 18, 2021
StateIN
Description
A total brake failure caused an accident. When pressing the brake pedal, it was rock solid and would not budge. My wife was driving getting off a highway exit when the brakes failed and rear ended an suv stopped at a stop sign. The accident caused her back injury which still bothers her to this day. The crash wasn't bad enough to deploy the airbags, but car damage was over 00. This problem also happened to me once and happened once again to her. Thankfully, no accident these other two times. Releasing and attempting to press the brake pedal a few time eventually made the brakes work normally. This was when we finally decided to give up the lease because my wife and I did not feel safe driving the car anymore. The car was only 2 years old and had approximately 10000 miles on it. I as a master auto technician b would guess the problem was likely be caused by something jamming up in the brake booster or master cylinder, but the dealer was never able to duplicate the problem and never replaced anything.
CategoryStructure:body
DateApr 03, 2021
StateOR
Description
The paint on the roof has started peeling severely. It's flaking in several spots from the initial defect. There is evidence of prior repair or damage that was not documented or brought by the dealership. This is a known issue with this make and model of the paint bubbling, peeling and braking off. It is consistently deteriorating. This car is only 4 years old this is a huge concern and problem. Reports have been submitted to honda. Com and honda of salem located at 1101 van ness ave ne salem or 97301
CategoryEngine, Power Train, Vehicle Speed Control
DateFeb 09, 2021
StateTX
Description
Last night at 12:58am, I was traveling in my 2017 honda hr-v on the expressway toll (limit of 75 mph), going approximately 80-85 mph on cruise. Suddenly, my vehicle quit accelerating, all the lights on my dash lit up, and pressing the gas did nothing (no jerking or sound). It was extremely frightening because there was no shoulder, a single lane very high up, with no other vehicles in sight behind me to anticipate my stop. Luckily, I came upon a hill to coast down and I pulled over as the shoulder opened up. I had all power, radio, lights, car running like normal. . . I put the car in park and then back into drive and it did not move. After putting it back in park, I shut off the car and almost immediately turned it back on. All the lights turned back on in the dash (engine, car sliding, p with a circle around it with !, parking break "park", etc). . . Putting the car in drive it accelerated and drove pretty much normal. This morning when I got back into car only the engine and p with circle around it lights were on. It drove normal but I do feel there is a lack of acceleration as I am pressing the gas, it doesn't seem to be the same (having to apply more pressure to gas). The mechanic shop ran a diagnostic test and advised me to it to the dealership because a speed sensor code in the transmission came back. I was advised there are many vehicle make and models with recalls on the cvt transmissions. Upon calling the dealership, they informed me there is no recall on my car and manufacture warranty is up to 36k miles, and well I have 85k. I have gotten the regular required oil changes, filters, etc and never once have I ran into any issues with my car up until now. The whole transmission.
CategoryPower Train
DateJan 14, 2021
StateRI
Description
Information pertains to a 2017 honda hrv with 89k miles, serviced at honda dealerships only. While on interstate I-95n on 1/13/21 noticed a grinding noise that seemed to originate from the front driver's side of the car only under acceleration. Several minutes later, engine revs suddenly skyrocketed and the car lost all ability to accelerate. This was a particularly dangerous and harrowing situation as we were travelling at highway speeds (55-65mph). Able to "coast" the vehicle over 5 lanes to the highway shoulder. The car was unable to move under its own power regardless of gear selection, called aaa for a tow to the nearest honda dealer. The car was towed to balise honda in warwick, ri, we were later informed by a service advisor that the car's transmission had completely failed. Metal fragments were observed throughout the transmission case and in fluids. As vehicle was out of warranty we were quoted between 00-4000 to repair the transmission. We were informed by the dealership that until this is repaired the car holds virtually no value, making a trade-in fruitless.
CategoryElectrical System
DateJan 07, 2021
StateMD
Description
When the weather got colder, the third dash panel started going out (fuel gauge, odometer, etc.). When I turn the car on in the morning, the dash panel is black. Occasionally, as I drive, it flickers all the numbers. Sometimes, in the afternoon when I leave work, it comes on just fine. Other times, I have the same issue driving home where the dash panel is black or flickering. So at least 50% of the time while driving I cannot tell how much gas is in my car. It does not appear to be affected by speed, turns, bumps, or changes in the road. Temperature is really the only factor I can seem to attribute.
CategoryAir Bags
DateNov 27, 2020
StateFL
Description
In november 2018, while waiting in traffic, when it was my turn to turn left, I was t-boned by a car that was driving illegally on the wrong side of the road. My head hit the driver's window very hard and the lateral airbag on the driver"s side never deployed. At that time, I have been told by honda, that if you are driving less than 30 miles per hour... Airbag does not deploy. Recently, I discover that the accident damaged really bad my left eye, the side I hit my head on the window. Last month, I needed 3 procedures and surgery and I have now an implant in my left eye. All specialists I consulted are unanimous that only a very important impact could have caused that much damages, damages that could have been avoided if the airbag would have deployed.
CategoryService Brakes
DateOct 30, 2020
StateNJ
Description
Brakes are soft when breaking. Also when stopping over small bumps or uneven road the brakes starts to grind and clunk causing it to have problems stopping. This is going less than 20 mph. If I where to have a car in front of me which many times I do I have to swerve so I do not hit them. Honda should look into this. The roads are clear no rain or anything for it to have such bad breaking. I can literally feel my brake pedal moving while the clunking and grinding is happening and the car does actually not slow down. It's like the brakes pedal looses its function.
CategoryElectrical System
DateOct 29, 2020
StateOR
Description
Key fob works on keyless entry but inconsistently does not allow starting when brake depressed and start button pressed. Sometimes the key warning light is lit, but sometimes no warning light is displayed. Sometimes the car is hesitant to turn off as well. Key fob battery battery was replaced but continued to experience same inconsistencies. Car was always in park at the point of starting or stopping. Taken to dealership - replaced 35881-t4n - 703 start switch. I note in forums the issue is on accord, hrv, crv.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateOct 14, 2020
StateNY
Description
While washing car, paint peeling off in chunks, down to greenish primer.
CategoryStructure:body
DateSep 07, 2020
StateMA
Description
The paint on the roof of the vehicle has started to peel without a reason. The car was parked and I came out to find a good size paint chip to the top of the windshield. Nothing has hit the roof and there is no dent from the paint being hit.
CategoryStructure, Unknown Or Other
DateJul 13, 2020
StatePA
Description
Bought a certified white honda hrv with approx 23,000 miles. 5 days after bringing home work up to the paint peeling on the roof. It is between the sunroof and front windshield. Returned to honda to paint. Concern is that seems to be a problem with white paint and the hrv model.
CategoryPower Train, Service Brakes, Vehicle Speed Control
DateJun 23, 2020
StateMD
Description
I was pulling into a parking space. While slowing down and braking to a stop the car suddenly surged forward, jumped a curb and ran into a rock retaining wall. I pressed the brake pedal to the floor, it gave no resistance and did not stop the car. The engine was revving at a high rate, even while it hit the wall. The repairs were over 00 for damage to the front end, lights, air conditioner and radiator support. The airbags did not deploy. The car was about 8-10 feet from the wall when it accelerated. I had the car repaired. I took it to a honda dealer and also contacted american honda. Both the technicians at the dealership and an american honda inspector checked the vehicle. I was told that other than a failure of the battery due to low voltage they could not find any problems that could have caused the accident. *tr
CategoryElectrical System
DateJun 01, 2020
StateFL
Description
Service ticket created 4/25/2020: ignition - start / stop switch: b12c5 start/stop switch internal failure. My 2017 honda hrv fails to start or stop when pressing the ignition button once. May take several presses, gradually getting worse to the point where it may not work at all. The honda service department told me a previous customer could not get her vehicle to even stop. Therefore this is not an isolated case, and checking online I found it affects other honda vehicles of other model years as well. The honda service department wants to charge me 0. 44 since I am just out of warranty. And they are unable to give me an exact date for when the part will arrive as it is on back order nationwide, which also shows this is not an isolated incident. *tr
CategoryElectrical System, Latches/locks/linkages
DateMay 22, 2020
StateOH
Description
2017 honda hr-v door & hatchback lock and unlock systems are not working. Currently the passenger backseat door does not lock or unlock when you press the button in the vehicle or on the key fob. The hatchback is permanently locked and will not release to open it. *tr
CategoryAir Bags
DateApr 13, 2020
StateTX
Description
I was just driving up the highway I did not have an accident and my airbags blewall the bags on the left side of the car and the driver seat bag they all blew for no reason honda is saying they are not responsible I really need help
CategoryService Brakes
DateJan 22, 2020
StateFL
Description
Recently when the car is in park you cannot get the gear shirt to go into reverse. It stays stuck for at least 10 minutes before it disengages and you are able put the vehicle in reverse. Vehicle is stationary in the park mode in whatever location that you just parked it in. It can be at home in the garage or out shopping.
CategoryAir Bags, Service Brakes, Steering
DateDec 26, 2019
StateMD
Description
My dad had a terrible accident last night. He said there seems to have a problem with brake. While he applied the brake to slow down before taking the exit 9 on I-395, the brake was slipped and steering was locked. As a result, he hit a guard rail pretty strong and the front of the car was damaged badly. Liquid were leaking and the car was towed, but air bag didn't deploy. He also mentioned that there was a few times the car doesn't start while pressing the brake, so he had to press the brake harder, and sometimes the brake slipped while driving.
CategoryPower Train, Unknown Or Other
DateNov 14, 2019
StateCA
Description
2017 honda hr-v metal shavings in the transmission at 81,000 miles
CategoryElectrical System, Fuel/propulsion System, Unknown Or Other
DateOct 18, 2019
StateWI
Description
I was driving my 2017 honda hrv when all the sudden the power to the car shut off and the car was in the street without power, I was able to move to the side of the street. The battery light came on followed by the engine light and the car completely died
CategoryVehicle Speed Control
DateOct 18, 2019
StateCA
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2017 honda hr-v. While pulling into a parking spot, the vehicle accelerated excessively and crashed into a wall. The air bags did not deploy. A police report was filed. The vehicle was towed to honda world westminster (13600 beach blvd, westminster, ca 92683, (714) 890-8900), but was not diagnosed or repaired. The body damage was repaired. The failure recurred and the contact crashed into another vehicle. The air bags did not deploy. There were no injuries. A police report was filed. The vehicle was towed back to the dealer, but was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateSep 17, 2019
StateRI
Description
Problems of bad smell of the air conditioning and heating, the technical service of honda does not give me solution. I bought a new car and I am in the warranty period.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateSep 12, 2019
StateOK
Description
The sunroof exploded outward while driving down a mountain in washington state on I-84. An explosion, like a rifle shot, occurred while driving at 70mph; light rain, 70 degrees, 5 pm on 8 september 2019. A thule was in place over the skylight, protecting it, and the cabin slide was closed. No shattered glass entered the cabin. The a/c was on vent, which should have allowed the pressure change of descending the mountain to equalize.
CategoryStructure:body
DateAug 20, 2019
StateSC
Description
Paint is peeling off top of 2017 honda hrv. Was told this is not covered under warranty. This is not an expense I should have to pay out of my pocket. I paid car in full at the time of purchase. I have researched this. And it is problem many honda's are having. They should stand behind their product and do the right thing.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateAug 14, 2019
StateFL
Description
I was driving home from work and hear a large boom sound and thought I was hit by something. I pulled over to check out my car and my sunroof looked like a vocano in the center. The sunroof exploded. Luckily I had it closed inside. I do not use it. The glass continued to fall. The picture is from when I got home so some glass had fallen in.
CategoryElectrical System
DateJul 18, 2019
StateMI
Description
Keyless door entry system fails to recognize commands from key fob in hot temperatures, thus potentially locking driver out of the vehicle if valet key in not available. Condition: night time, car stationary in driveway, engine off, doors locked
CategoryElectrical System, Vehicle Speed Control
DateJun 21, 2019
StateHI
Description
I was driving at ~25 mph and stopped at a stop sign, then suddenly the car just shut off and I had to restart it a couple of times. Another time, I was pulling out of a parking lot at 5 mph and then the car suddenly stopped and shut off. Online research shows that this occurred to other hr-v owners as well and had their throttle body replaced. Honda is refusing to replace my throttle body.
CategoryEngine, Fuel/propulsion System, Unknown Or Other
DateJun 09, 2019
StateCA
Description
Car will not shift gear to drive or reverse while car I on. Car stays still car dose not move.
CategoryService Brakes
DateMar 25, 2019
StateNY
Description
Had accident when brakes failed about 5 months ago. Honda never accepted responsibility. Cited driver error. Got car back. Drive about 4 months. Brakes failed again march 19, 2019. Same exact circumstances. This time I kept my food on pedal I depressed until car hit parked car. My foot was on brake pedal. So far hrv's from 2016, 18 and 19 have been recalled for brake problems.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateFeb 07, 2019
StateMD
Description
While driving on the interstate, a very loud noise(like a gun shot) happened. The sun roof glass exploded. No visible object was noticed to make this happen
CategoryElectrical System, Suspension, Visibility/wiper
DateJan 24, 2019
StateNJ
Description
1,front windshield wiper suddenly stops working while driving in the rain. This thing happening since last two months 2,rear, right hand side suspension makes noise while driving, seams like something is loose and making pounding noise. This thing happening since last three months. 3,rain water leaks in from driver side where the gas and front hood latches are. For this I have already bring to dealer twice, still the problem persist.
CategoryElectrical System
DateDec 29, 2018
StateMA
Description
The fuses for the cigarette lighter, which I commonly use to charge my cell phone goes bad a week after it's fixed at the dealership. Then when I start to use the usb port to charge my cell phone, that fuse malfunctions as well. The honda tech who worked on my car the first time told me that this is a common problem. If the vehicles are in relatively new to brand new condition why are customers having to pay to fix these fuses every few weeks? The othe is is that this honda model has so many fuse boxes, some which are hard to access. For this problem, I have to bring it in to the dealership, which they in turn charge me to fix this problem.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine, Fuel/propulsion System
DateDec 21, 2018
StateIL
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2017 honda hr-v. After the vehicle was serviced, the contact stated that the heating and cooling unit and electrical system malfunctioned. An independent mechanic also stated that fuel was mixing with the engine oil. The message "front collision" appeared on the instrument panel. The vehicle was taken to valley honda (4173 ogden ave, aurora, il 60504, (630) 851-5700) and received a software update, but was not fully repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and did not assist. The failure mileage was 27,815.
CategoryElectrical System, Service Brakes, Unknown Or Other
DateNov 23, 2018
StateWA
Description
The vehicle would not turn on and started to have an electronic malfunction. All of the lights started flashing on the dash and the vehicles starter made a really weird noise. It vehicle would not turn on for about 30 min. After that, the vehicle finally started but all of the lights on the dash were stuck on, including the emergency brake. The brake would not turn off and the vehicle wouldn't move. After turning the car on and off about 4 times I was finally able to get the car moving, but all lights on dash stayed on. After about 45 minutes I was finally able to leave the parking lot.
CategoryEngine
DateNov 06, 2018
StateMS
Description
My air conditioning stopped working one day to another. The vehicle was stationary, I got into it one morning and the ac was not working and blowing hot air, when the day before it was cold. I took it to honda services. They said it would be covered by the warranty, since it is a 2017 lease, and has less than 36 months and less than 36,000 miles. Three hours later, they called to tell me that I had to pay 0. They said that road debris hit the front of the car and that is what cause the condenser to get a crack in it. The car hasn't even left the small city I live in for months, so hasn't even been going over 45mph. This isn't fair that it's not covered by the warranty, it is a design defect. The internet shows dozens and dozens of the same complaints, and a class action settlement has even been reached for other models of honda, but not mine, the hrv. Here is the settlement agreement: https://topclassactions. Com/lawsuit-settlements/lawsuit-news/1894-honda-air-conditioningcompressor-class-action-settlement/comment-page-17/#comments. With a flashlight they showed me the front of the car where supposedly a debris hit and caused the condenser to crack. Below is a picture of what they showed me. There were other little dents of the same size all around, but they said only the one was what supposedly damaged the condenser. How is it that I am responsible for a pebble damaging the engine when the car is under warranty? This is a design defect.
CategoryVehicle Speed Control
DateAug 02, 2018
StateCA
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2017 honda hr-v. While parking, the vehicle accelerated suddenly and crashed through a chain link fence. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic and repaired. There were no injuries. The contact did not know the diagnosis. The vehicle was not taken to a dealer for diagnostic testing. The manufacturer was notified by email and a case was opened. The vin was not available. The failure mileage was 2,500.
CategorySeats
DateMay 30, 2018
StateKS
Description
Honda hr-v has the most uncomfortable seats. A couple of days after purchasing this brand new car, I started experiencing pain in my lower back and tailbone area. No matter how I adjusted the seat, the pain was still there. I contacted the dealer about it, they suggested trying out some cushions. I tried several different cushions and lumbar supports, but nothing helps. My tailbone always hurts while driving this car. It doesn't happen in any other vehicle. When I called the dealer back asking if they could swap out the drivers seat with another seat, they said they don't do anything like that. I feel the dealership has been very unhelpful and now I'm stuck paying for the car that is literally a pain in the rear to drive.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine
DateApr 23, 2018
StateMS
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2017 honda hr-v. The contact stated that he parked the vehicle, depressed the lock button, and walked away with the key fob. However, the engine stayed on for hours until a security guard noticed that the vehicle was on and turned off the engine. There were no warning indicators illuminated. The vehicle was taken to paul moak honda (802 harding st, jackson, ms 39202, 601-355-8100) where the dealer checked the vehicle and found no failures. The manufacturer was notified and did not assist. The failure did not recur. The failure mileage was approximately 10,000.
CategoryAir Bags, Seat Belts
DateMar 19, 2018
StateTX
Description
I was waiting on the light to make a left on a city street when a vehicle lost control of the vehicle and hit me head on and hit the front of my car. The impact was so great that it bend the frame, the hood, lights and other components of my car. The insurance company declared the car a total loss. None of the air bags deployed and as a result I was injured by the seat belt in the lower abdomen, have back pain, feel dizzy and I am afraid to drive.
CategoryFuel/propulsion System, Unknown Or Other
DateFeb 15, 2018
StateNY
Description
When ever driving the car starts to smell like smoke and I'm scared it's gonna catch fire or blow up
CategoryElectrical System
DateFeb 06, 2018
StateCA
Description
After pulling the button lever to make the driver side window go up, it will do all the way up then immediately come back down. Also, the screen will turn off and reset coming back on moments later without warning. These have started happening in the last month, the last time for the window issue was a few days ago, the screen turning off was about a week ago.
CategoryAir Bags
DateDec 09, 2017
StateCT
Description
Takata recall I received a notice
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateSep 21, 2017
StateNY
Description
I need hand controls and spinner knob for my new car. You allow up to one thousand dollars for this. It's been many years at this price and it was fine. The cost now for hand controls is 50. 00. I think it's time to reevaluate how much things are these days and make adjustments to your policies.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateSep 09, 2017
StateGA
Description
While driving at night during my very first heavy rain storm after purchasing the honda hrv. I had zero visibility, even after increasing the wiper blade speed to it's maximum speed I still had zero visibility. I felt extremely unsafe in my new vehicle and had to pull off the road. I took my car to the dealership and was told my wiper blades might be dry rotted from sitting on the car lot. I didn't believe this to be the issue but purchased new blade inserts in order to rule it out. The very next heavy rain, the result were the same. There is not even a second of visibility in heavy rain regardless of how fast the wiper blades are moving especially at night. It seems as though the windshield is designed poorly.
CategorySteering
DateAug 21, 2017
StateOR
Description
Bought vehicle brand new in may 2017. Around 1000 miles it started pulling to the left no matter what road I was on. Took to honda dealer twice and they performed two alignments and realigned the steering wheel - they said the alignment is within honda's requirements. Vehicle still pulls to the left. If I let go of the wheel at all it jerks to the left. Talked to service manager at dealer and am bringing the car back for a test drive.
CategoryAir Bags, Service Brakes, Structure:body
DateJul 30, 2017
StateNY
Description
I was rear-ended as I was stationary waiting to make a left hand turn on a highway none of my airbags deployed my car is a total loss. Fault the 17 year was tailgating a tractor and slammed into my car. Police came I was transported to a local hospital
CategorySteering
DateJul 12, 2017
StateMI
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2017 honda hr-v. Ever since the vehicle was purchased, there had been an alignment issue. The contact stated that it was difficult to keep the vehicle driving in the same lane. The contact also stated that if the steering wheel was not securely held, the vehicle would pull to the left or the right. The vehicle was taken to victory honda (located at 1605 n. Monroe street, monroe, mi 48162, tel: (888)714-7803) to be diagnosed. The contact was informed that the vehicle operated as intended. The vehicle was also taken to two independent mechanics who performed alignments, but the failure recurred. The manufacturer stated that based on the diagnostic testing from victory honda, the vehicle was operating as intended. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 1,106. .. Updated 07/31/17 *bf *js *tr
CategorySeats
DateJul 11, 2017
StateIL
Description
The seats in my 2017 honda h-rv were so uncomfortable I had to trade it in after having only put 250 miles on the car. No matter which way I adjusted the seats, it was no better. When I went to the doctor she told me everything below my waist was spasming. The seats were very hard, narrow and the drivers seat belt was pressed right up against your hip and you couldn't move it. I lost 00 dollars when I traded that car in and I know from all the articles I've read that honda has been aware of this problem for some time. But they keep ripping off the customers. The test drive is not long enough to detect the problem and I believe anyone who has to trade in their car for this problem should be compensated. I notified the dealer when I had only 25 miles on the car and they would not take it back.
CategoryFuel/propulsion System, Service Brakes
DateJun 26, 2017
StateWV
Description
This is an amended complaint no. 10995808. I may have gotten a digit wrong in my earlier submission. From my wv registration, my vin is [xxx]. I had two near-collisions in heavy traffic because the brake pedal is too close to the gas-feed pedal. I complained to the dealer suggesting the pedals need more separation. That failing, I suggested the dealer take the vehicle back. He refused both remedies. I left the car there and walked home. I refuse to drive a dangerous car. I have no photos to offer. The dealer has possession of it. I suppose the brake/accelerator alignment is per design. I admit I wear a size 15 shoe but the space for feet of moderate size is quite small. I was willing to live with the restricted space - I drive an older cr-v and am very happy with it. I almost crashed in heavy traffic because the brake pedal overlaps the gas pedal space. *js information redacted pursuant to the freedom of information act (foia), 5 u. S. C. 552(b)(6). *tr
CategoryStructure:body
DateJun 22, 2017
StateIL
Description
Upon exiting vehicle, driver's door does not consistently latch completely.
CategoryFuel/propulsion System, Service Brakes
DateJun 19, 2017
StateWV
Description
I bought this vehicle 05/27/2017. A test drive didn't reveal a brake/accelerator cross-over problem (a test drive around the block isn't meant to failure-test it). The next week my wife and I traveled from our home in wv to visit a daughter in mi. Driving on I-70 through columbus I got caught in heavy traffic; the driver ahead of us decelerated quickly and I had to jump on my brake to avoid a collision. U wittingly, my right foot also depressed the accelerator. Before impact the engine paused - yielding to the brake ( learned late that is a safety over-ride function) we were scared! I pulled out of the traffic as soon as possible to try to understand what had happened. With the engine stopped I repeated the scary operation and discovered that the fully depressed brake pad was level with the gas pedal. I corrected the potential repeat near disaster by braking with my left foot. On the way home (again in heavy traffic on I-70 I had another close call, with right foot hovering over the gas pedal I mashed on the brake with my left foot. My right foot was under the brake pedal. My left foot now forced my right foot to depress the gas pedal. The brake over-ride function saved us again . . . Barely! At home I compared the hr-v with my 2000 model cr-v. The cr-v has more total foot space and the pedals are separated such as to permit braking with my right foot. And when fully depressed the brake pedal is more than a half inch above the gas pedal. Believing there is a design flaw in the hr-v on saturday, june 10 I returned the hr-v to the dealer complaining that I am afraid of it; he could modify the brake or, that failing, they should take the dangerous vehicle back today, monday, june 19 the dealer possesses the hr-v that I fear and refuse to drive.
CategoryVehicle Speed Control
DateJun 19, 2017
StateVA
Description
I was pulling into a parking space and the car suddenly accelerated and crashed into a sign, flattening it. It moved with great speed.
CategoryVehicle Speed Control
DateMay 03, 2017
StateCA
Description
Tl* the contact owned a 2017 honda hr-v. While reversing at an unknown speed, the vehicle accelerated independently onto a pedestrian walkway without warning and collided with three vehicles. There were no injuries and a police report was not filed. The vehicle was later towed to a dealer to have the data box information removed, but the dealer refused since the vehicle was deemed a total loss. The manufacturer later authorized the dealer to comply with the data removal. The failure mileage was 2,342.
CategoryStructure:body
DateApr 20, 2017
StateMI
Description
Found water leaking inside driver side on the floor. Took the vehicle to victory honda of plymouth dealership. They found 0tfrt 841199 lower apillar inner body plug missing. Replaced plug. Seems to be common issue with honda vehicles. Somebody needs to investigate due to being so close to the fuse box. Can be safety concern.
CategoryElectrical System, Electronic Stability Control, Exterior Lighting
DateMar 20, 2017
StateFL
Description
Just bought my 2017 hr-v and already had it towed after parking it at my works parking garage for just 4 hrs. The check engine, and parking lights came on and the vehicle started moving rapidly back and forth up and down and just stopped right in the drive way almost across blocking traffic. My ins company.. Thank god paid over 0. 00 this time because I was told some kind of animal.. Rodent maybe chewed on some of my wires. On top of it, I sighted up for car rental under the extended pro tech services, so I removed the coverage from my insurance. So I ended up sharing my daughter's car for three days. Very inconvenient. !!! Very dissatisfied.. And disappointed. Ps. I also asked, if there is something they can put on there to avoid this from happening. I was told "no". Just read.. There is a tape made by honda that they to avoid that. Guess, better for them... If the rodents keep their business coming in!!!! If needed my inc company can provide any picture. A inspector assessed the damages. Thank you for taking the time.

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.

Share your story

Does this ring a bell? Have you had a bad experience too? Sound off and share your experience with other visitors in the comment box below.

Brian Jones

About the Author:

Brian Jones spent more than 20 years working as an ASE Certified Master Tech and Parts Specialist at multiple dealerships. Brian has become an authority in the industry, traveling across the country to consult for car dealerships and contributing his expertise as a writer for several major automotive publications. In his spare time, Brian enjoys working on pickup trucks, muscle cars, Jeeps and anything related to motorsports.

See more posts from Brian Jones
BE THE FIRST TO COMMENT

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead you can to our legal team.

Please select your star rating.

Briefly describe your experience Briefly describe your experience

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? Please enter a valid phone number

Want to know if you could sue? Get a free legal evaluation Lemberg Law?

Get Your No-Obligation
Case Evaluation

Send a secure message to our legal team.

What’s your name? What’s your name?
What’s your email address? What’s your email address?
What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?
Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem
Confidentiality Guarantee: We keep your information completely confidential and will not send you spam or sell your information.