Free Help to Stop Jefferson Capital Systems Collections Harassment

How To Put An End to Unwanted Calls and Debt Collector Abuse and Threats.

CALL US NOW FOR >> FREE LEGAL HELP

Jefferson Capital Systems or JCS is a debt collection agency, which receives a lot of consumer complaints to our law firm for debt harassment. Find out who they are, why they might be calling, and how you can stop them.

December 10, 2020

Quick links:

What is Jefferson Capital Systems?

Jefferson Capital Systems, LLC (JCS) is a debt purchaser and third-party collection agency based in Minnesota. JCS has received consumer complaints alleging violations of the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act (FDCPA), such as failing to provide written verification of debts and attempting to collect debts not owed. If JCS has contacted you about past due financial obligations, make sure you know your rights before you respond.

Have questions? Call us now at 475-277-1600 for a Free Case Evaluation.

Our services are absolutely FREE to you.

The harassing company pays our fees.

Is Jefferson Capital Systems a scam?

They’re legit. According to the Better Business Bureau (BBB), Jefferson Capital Systems, LLC was founded in 1999 and incorporated in 2002.The BBB established a profile page for JCS in 2004, and JCS has been a BBB-accredited business since 2005. The BBB lists JCS as a collection agency. Buzzfile estimates Jefferson Capital Systems’ annual revenue at $31.2 million and the size of its headquarters staff at 250 employees.

Who does Jefferson Capital Systems collect for?

According to its website, Jefferson Capital Systems “is an established debt buyer and debt collector.” The JCS website does not provide a lot of detailed information about its business practices or the types of industries for whom they collect debts. Their BBB profile page states that they are “a leader in the receivables management industry” and consider “customer satisfaction to be very important.”

Most of JCS’s website consists of information provided in Frequently Asked Question (FAQ) format. Their FAQ page provides information aimed at consumers, explaining that JCS is a debt purchaser that “utilizes third-party collection agencies and other vendors to service some of the accounts” they have bought from original creditors. They also provide information about their credit reporting polices and what consumers should do if they have filed bankruptcy or are victims of identity theft.

JCS’s Credit Reporting FAQ page provides information about their policies regarding the reporting of delinquent debts to the credit reporting agencies. Their home page provides contact information and a statement that their “website will allow site visitors to make payments and view… account information.”

As for regulatory compliance policies, their home page includes an Information and Tools for Consumers link that leads to the Consumers page of the Receivables Management Association (RMA) website. In addition, their RMA Certification page provides details about their certification as an official, RMA-backed debt purchasing agency.

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of collection harassment and abuse. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. We’ve helped more than 15,000 consumers stop harassment and recover money from debt collectors. Harassed? Abused? Misled by a collector? Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.

How many complaints are there against Jefferson Capital Systems?

As of October 2019, the BBB has closed 1,395 complaints against Jefferson Capital Systems in the preceding 3 years, with 430 complaints closed in the previous 12 months. Most of those complaints alleged problems with billing and collections, although 53 complaints also cited problems with customer service. As of July 2013, the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau (CFPB) has closed only 8 complaints involving JCS, all of them attributed to a company called CL Holdings, LLC. Justia lists at least 20 cases of civil litigation involving JCS.

Contact Information

Jefferson Capital Systems
16 McLeland Road
St. Cloud, MN 56303
Phone Number: 800-281-2793
Website: http://www.jeffersoncapitalsystemsllc.com/

Can Jefferson Capital Systems Sue Me or Garnish My Wages?

It is illegal for a debt collector to make empty threats to sue you or garnish your wages. It is also unlikely JCS would sue you for a debt you may not owe or they cannot validate. However, debt collection agencies are known to have summoned debtors to court and garnish wages after a default judgement. Contacting an attorney BEFORE this could possibly happen would be a smart move. We’ve helped thousands of consumers fight back against unscrupulous debt collection harassers. Find out if we can help you too today!

Get Free BBB A+ Attorney. Call 475-277-1600 NOW

Unlawful Debt Harassment? Learn the Law & Sue the Collector.

Can you help me file a No Fee Lawsuit against Jefferson Capital Systems?

Absolutely.  You can sue a debt collector. Here are some Sample Cases Filed in Federal Court

In January 2019, in United States District Court for the Western District of Wisconsin, a judge issued a decision in a case alleging Jefferson Capital Systems had violated three sections of the FDCPA and the Wisconsin Consumer Act (WCA). In this case, the plaintiff incurred debt as a result of opening a “consumer credit card account with the original creditor. In 2015, she fell behind on payments.” Her final billing statement “indicated that the account was past due, that she had been charged a $26.00 late fee, and that she needed to pay $150.00 by February…2015 to ‘keep her account in good standing.’” The original creditor sent 3 additional letters,“alerting her that her account was past due and requesting payment.” The plaintiff mailed a payment to the original creditor for the past due amount, but there was still an outstanding balance of $1,400. She made additional payments over the next several months but was unable to continue after she lost her job in July 2015. Subsequently, she stopped communicating with the original creditor. They continued to send her delinquency notices, but by the end of the year they charged her account off with a remaining balance of almost $1,800.00. Immediately after the original creditor charged the debt off, JCS purchased it and obtained a substantial amount of information about her through the original creditor’s account information. JCS referred the debt to a series of collection agencies who were unable to collect the debt, and eventually hired the debt collection law firm, Messerli & Kramer (M&K). M&K sent the plaintiff a letter, but the plaintiff did not respond. Two years later, in January 2017, the plaintiff “received a summons and small claims complaint notifying her that she was being sued… by JCS…for $1,800.00 in credit  card  debt.” The plaintiff hired an attorney, and JCS, through M&K, “sent a proposed order voluntarily dismissing the state-court collection action with prejudice,” citing “the heavy cost anticipated in litigating the small claims case.” The plaintiff filed a lawsuit claiming JCS’s collection efforts had resulted in “stress and  humiliation…that  caused  her  to  lose  sleep,  drink  alcohol  excessively,  and  feel suicidal, among other things.”

The plaintiff’s argument made 3 claims. First, Jefferson Capital Systems violated FDCPA Section 1692e, which prohibits using “any  false,  deceptive, or misleading representation or means in connection with the collection of any debt.” She argued that by “filing a debt  collection  lawsuit, JCS  represented  that  they  had  the right to sue her,” but the WCA requires that JCS first send her a notice advising her of her rights. The second argument was similar but cited a state law rather than a federal law. The third argument was that JCS had violated FDCPA Section 1692e(3), which prohibits “the false representation or implication that any individual is an attorney or that  any communication is from an  attorney.” Attorneys for JCS argued that the plaintiff was not entitled to receive the notice she claimed, and that regardless, they had sent her a letter that complied with legal requirements. They also argued that they were not in a position to be aware of the alleged legal violation she had stated in her complaint. The court found that plaintiff had stated a valid objection in her complaint, that both JCS and M&K should have been ware of the state law requiring them to send a notice of intent to sue, and that their misrepresentation to the contrary were sufficient to establish a sustainable complaint that they had violated both state and federal debt collection laws. Their request to dismiss the complaint was denied, and the plaintiff was allowed to proceed with a jury trial.

Jefferson Capital Systems Calling You?

Federal laws protect you. The Fair Debt Collections Practices Act (FDCPA) regulates the behavior of collection agencies by prohibiting actions such as the use of abusive or threatening language; harassment; or the use of false or misleading information to collect a debt. The FCRA regulates how collection agencies and creditors report delinquent debts to credit reporting agencies. Additional consumer protection laws include the Telephone Consumer Protection Act (TCPA) and the Consumer Financial Protection Act (CFPA).

Can I sue Jefferson Capital Systems for harassment?

Yes. If you want to enforce your rights, or recover money for violations — you need to sue. Federal laws provide individuals like you with a means to seek monetary damages in court. For example, the FDCPA allows consumers who have been violated to recover damages of up to $1,000, plus attorney fees and court costs.

Consumers have reported this agency harassing them from the following numbers:

  • 800-542-6516
  • 800-928-6614
  • 866-805-9214
  • 877-262-0002
  • 800-348-3381
  • 320-300-4492
  • 800-874-4599
  • 800-268-0623
  • 800-281-2793
  • 800-541-0824

Want to Stop Debt Collection Harassment Now?

You may have a case, if…

  • You are receiving multiple calls per week from third party collection agencies.
  • You are receiving early morning or late night calls from debt collectors
  • You are receiving calls at work from a debt collection agency
  • Debt collectors are calling your family, friends, neighbors, or coworkers
  • Collectors are threatening you with violence, lawsuit, or arrest
  • A debt collector attempts to collect more than you owe
  • You are being threatened with negative credit reporting
  • A debt collector attempts to intimidate you
  • Criminal accusations are being made towards you
  • Use of obscene language during an attempt to collect
  • Automated robocalls are being made to your phone in an attempt to collect

What Our Clients are Saying

“Thanks again for your assistance in bringing this case to an amicable close. You were quick, efficient, and so professional. The last time I had to have an attorney for a civil matter, it was not a pleasant experience, so I truly appreciated you! I will definitely refer your name should I be asked.”

“THANK YOU SO VERY VERY MUCH for everything you guys did for us…. This was our first time dealing with a situation like this and you guys made it so easy. Thank you!””

“My attorney was able to reach a settlement and dismissal for me today in this case. This settlement was at my request, and I am very pleased that she was able to help me in resolving this issue. She has been great to work with, very professional at all times, and has the ability to present options in a straightforward manner that I could understand. Words cannot express how much I appreciate the help I received from her in this confusing and frustrating case.”

Can You Help Me Delete Jefferson Capital Systems from My Credit Report?

Chances are, we can. Call us to find out how we can help.

Sound Off!

Have you had a bad experience with this agency’s debt collectors? Sound off and share your experience with other visitors in the comment box below.

Share your story

Have you had a bad experience with this agency’s debt collectors? Sound off and share your experience with other visitors in the comment box below.

19 COMMENTS
  • Joseph I

    I live in Florida. Jefferson Capital is attempting to collect on a debt that is 17 years old. Statute of limitations for contract debt is 3 years , however some cases that can extend to 7 years. I have not made any payments within the past 17 years . How would you handle this in order for them to stop sending me offers to reconcile .

  • Maggie H

    Jefferson capital system posted false collections on my credit report and I have been receiving harassing text messages including robo calls. These harassment are from early mornings approximately 6am to late nights 10pm.

  • Teresa M

    JCS was showing on my credit report (Fingerhut). I handled this account years ago as a result of identity theft. 4.5 years later, it is still on credit report after I discovered that my credit report dropped 64 points in one day!!! I sent certified mail for validation of the debt. They ignored. I contacted them via telephone – they had no information! I have attempted to call since and they are only available for online communication! They have reported my account closed one month and re-reported the next! Sue them for all you want – keep the money – JUST GET THIS OFF MY CREDIT REPORT!! They have no right to do this!!!

  • nickie h

    Jefferson Capital sued me in court for a collection they just sent me last week. i kept all my bank statements showing my payments and my credit history with Fingerhut.

  • Dan

    Jefferson Capital just called my work looking for me. They cannot validate a debt in my name and continue to call numerous times. When I ask repeatedly for proof of debt they refuse to provide anything. Now they’re calling my work and my home multiple times a week from 1-866-677-2706

  • cheryl

    I have been harassed by Jefferson Capital by phone and now someone sending someone to my home stating I have to be in court for them sueing me. The amount is incorrect .

  • Emerald B

    This company is coming after me for a debt that has already been collected i don’t understand why I would have to pay them when this debt was already settled

  • Julie

    I received a call on my cell phone from these guys. The asked for Sandra Bxxx (which is my mother). I replied that I was her daughter. Then he asked to speak to her. I responded with “Well, you called my cell phone, my mother lives in another town. And how did you get my number and how is she associated with my cell number?” He completely avoided the question and said that he couldn’t discuss my moms personal business with me and asked for her number. I told him that I was not giving our her phone number, but would take his and give it to her. Which I am not, I just got it to report it. I knew it was a scam because my mother has never used my phone number as hers. So here is the number
    844-890-9217. His name was Barruk. They have called several times

  • Ronald B

    If you get a call from a debt collector like Jefferson Capital, it’s a good idea to answer it. If you don’t answer they will just sue you for the money owed anyway, and they will eventually get what’s owed whether you answer the phone or not. If you talk to them and explain your circumstances, you can enter into a payment agreement where you agree to pay off your debt at $10 or $20 per month for however long it takes to pay it off, which might be 20 years!

    If you constantly just refuse to pay, hang up the phone, ignore letters etc, then they will add fees and charges to what you owe, and the debt will just keep getting bigger and bigger, until it’s worth their time to sue you for it or go to a judge for a garnish of your salary etc. If you just agree to pay, then they have to freeze the amount you owe and can’t add anything else to it, even if you’re paying $5 a month toward a $2000 debt.

    Yelling at them and disputing what you owe won’t get you anywhere. They have a legal obligation to prove you owe the money. Calmly ask for it to be mailed to you. If it never arrives, forget about it. You don’t owe them squat. The burden of proof is on the owner of the debt. No proof, no debt.

    However, most debt purchasers don’t purchase debts without proof. Chances are that most of the time they will have proof that this is what you owe, be it a credit agreement, an account statement or other documentation. If this arrives, you need to accept that you owe the debt, agree that you want to pay it in instalments, and offer what you can afford to pay.

    Once you set up an instalment plan with a debt collector, whatever you do make sure that it gets paid every single month. As soon as you default on it, they will come after you with more fees and charges, and probably sue you.

    Don’t try to pretend that you can’t afford anything at all, they’ve heard that one before and that will just make them come after you for the full amount. The courts won’t go as easy on you as a debt collector will, and your credit score is basically ruined for 6 years if they rule against you.

    When you apply for credit of any kind, whether that’s a Verizon contract, a car loan or a mail order company with a credit plan or whatever, then the terms of the credit agreement you signed will state that the debt (and your information) can be sold to a third party if you fail to keep up your payments for any reason. So don’t think you can just ignore these guys just because you didn’t give them authorisation to purchase your debt. Yes you did, it’s in the terms and conditions of the credit agreement you signed. If you don’t keep up the payments you agreed to with the original company that gave you the credit, the they can sell your debt – without your permission – to anyone they want. It’s fully legal. If they have served notice on you over this, and you think you can fight it because you never gave permission for your debt to be sold, you are going to lose.

    If you buy a car on credit, drive it back to the dealership and dump the keys on them, that doesn’t clear your car loan, sorry. The dealership has no obligation to take the car back unless it’s covered under warranty, and no obligation to cancel your loan. Even if they wanted to cancel your loan, they almost certainly can’t, because they will have used a 3rd party loan company. Don’t ever do this. If you do want to take your car back to the dealership, they must first agree IN WRITING that they accept the car back from you. If you don’t have that agreement in writing, you still owe the money for the car, regardless of whether you still have the car or not, regardless of what’s wrong with it.

    Hopefully this advice helps someone and stops them getting into even more financial trouble by thinking they can refuse to pay debts that they do actually owe.

  • larry h

    I am trying to get Jefferson capital to remove it from my credit report. It was paid in full. Now after I paid it off they sent it in to the credit department as being disputed. and it is paid in full. Now I have paid it twice. I called them and they told me to quit calling back or it will get worst. This is a depth from 2004 . They refused to send me the original contract date. Now it is back on my credit again and I paid it off 3 weeks ago. Now they are trying to get me to pay more to make it go away.

  • larry h

    I signed a contract with Verizon and paid it in full . Found out that the store salesman but the cash in his pocket and did not apply it to my account $188. dollars. It went to collections ant the original contract was signed on 2004. Found out that they put it on my credit as collections. I called them and paid it off. Now they went in on my credit report and put notes saying I disputed it. Now I am having trouble getting a home loan because it say dispute on it. I am a disable veteran and thinking if I paid it off it would go away. It is pass the 7 year that I signed the contract. They refuse to remove it and told me if I call back it will get much worst. All of this because Verizon employee keep my cash and did not apply it. Now they atre trying to destroy my credit.

  • Jodi

    This company shows up as a recently dated debt with a very old Verizon cell account they purchased. My issue is I never got any mail from them validating and if they called with one of those robo calls i would of hung up instantly. I did read that there is a Federal statute of limitations of two years on cell phone debt. Knowing this, I took a first step and submitted a dispute to all three credit bureaus that I never received any mail and the date was wrong along with being past the federal statute. I suppose I’ll wait and see. Curious if anyone knew about this statute.

  • Renee

    Jefferson Capital Systems summons me to court and tried to sue me for debt that they couldn’t validate. This caused extreme distress for me because this company had no grounds to sue me. If anyone is reading this in distressed of this terrible debt buyer DO NOT SETTLE! Fight them! Don’t ignore there summons because if you do they will win!

    They are scammers and this company should not have a rating of B according to the Better Business Bureau! They can ruin lifes and cause distressed to people. They didn’t win the settlement of their claim against me due to inadequate information! So, their claim was dismissed on my behalf. This company should not be in business!

  • Lori T

    Jefferson Capital System trying to get me to pay a debt and threating. to file a lawsuit

  • Olin

    I received a letter from Jefferson capital on a charge off and I was planning on making payments to pay off the debit I haven’t received a billing or anything so I can do so and now they are threatening to place judgement on me a d I been out of work for awhile and trying to take care of my son and this is putting stress on me and everything else.

  • Troy L

    Jefferson capital systems llc just had me served at 4:00 pm today 12/13/18 . for a debt i have with finger hut . i did not authorize finger hut to sell my information . i also did not authorize Jefferson capital systems llc to puchace my information nor have i done any business in any way shape or form with them .and i will not do bussiness with them .

  • Tunya W

    Jefferson capital system LLC is harrassing me all times of the day threating to sue me if I didn’t pay them and I know nothing of this company. I owned a car and I had so many problem with the car it stayed broke down more than I drove it. But I took the car back to drive time on the lot where I bought it from and put the keys in there hands. THey know I had so many problem with this car. I lost money putting it in different shops. Drive time never called cause they knew the problems I was having and it was my only vehicle I had. But I couldn’t keep spending money on something I I couldn’t enjoy.

  • Cara W

    Jefferson Capital Systems has called me from numerous phone numbers over the last year and each time I block one, they call from another. They have bought a charged off account from another debt collector that bought it from a different debt collector because I refuse to pay the debt, I did not incur the debt and have made numerous attempts to prove that. I have actually answered their call twice trying to explain to them that I was not the person that incurred the debt, that it was impossible for me as the town that the account was opened was 500 miles from my residence at that time (this is at least an 8 year old debt by the way). Each time I try to explain anything to the person I’m speaking with, they talk over me, call me a liar and a fraud, tell me I’m an ignorant fool and when I ask them to send me documents pertaining to the debt, they hang up on me. This debt is still on my credit report and needs to be removed, it is well past the statute of limitations. They have the account as being opened last year; that may be the time they bought it but they told me it was opened some time in 2010. They will not send me anything proving that it was me that opened the account, much less any type of correspondence whatsoever, they just continue to call me and harass me. I sent a cease and desist letter several months ago but the calls keep coming in, at all hours of the day and night including weekends. But when I try to call them…..during the week……anywhere between 9am and 5pm, “this office is closed, you need to call back tomorrow during business hours”……which are not mentioned so I have no idea at exactly what time I need to call. I’m over it and it needs to be stopped. Thank You!

  • Sharon U

    Jefferson Capitol is continually harrassing me with phone calls every few minutes from different phone numbers, at least I think it is them. I will not answer my phone and the calls are coming to my cellphone, and I have already received a call from them on m landline and the caller was very rude…

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead you can to our legal team.
Email is required to block spam, but will not be published.

Please select your star rating.

Briefly describe your experience Briefly describe your experience

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? Please enter a valid phone number

Want to know if you could sue? Get free legal evaluation Lemberg Law?

Get Your No-Obligation
Case Evaluation

Send a secure message to our legal team.

What’s your name? What’s your name?
What’s your email address? What’s your email address?
What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?
Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem
Confidentiality Guarantee: We keep your information completely confidential and will not send you spam or sell your information.