We Help Stop First Point Collection Resources Harassment

How To Put An End to Unwanted Calls and Debt Collector Abuse and Threats.

CALL US NOW FOR >> FREE LEGAL HELP

FirstPoint Inc is a debt collection agency which receives a lot of consumer complaints to our law firm for debt harassment. Find out who they are, why they might be calling, and how you can stop them.

Quick links:

What is FirstPoint Collection Resources?

FirstPoint Collection Resources, Inc. is a third-party collection agency based in North Carolina. FirstPoint has received consumer complaints alleging violations of the Fair Debt Collections Practices Act (FDCPA), such as attempting to collect debts not owed and making false statements. If you have been contacted by FirstPoint, make sure you understand your rights before taking action.

Have questions? Call us now at 475-277-1600 for a Free Case Evaluation.

Our services are absolutely FREE to you.

The harassing company pays our fees.

Is FirstPoint Collection Resources a scam?

They’re legit. According to the Better Business Bureau (BBB), FirstPoint Collection Resources, Inc. is a legitimate collection agency founded and incorporated in North Carolina in 2000.The BBB opened its file at the same time. FirstPoint is listed as a corporation; collection agency; consumer finance and loan company; and background and employment screening service. FirstPoint “offers background screening, accounts receivable management and collections, Equifax credit and mortgage solutions, business credit reports and mystery shopping.” FirstPoint uses the alternate names FirstPoint Collection Resources, Inc.; FirstPoint Information Resources; FirstPoint Mortgage Resources; Insight; Mosaic Revenue Solutions; Consumer 1st; and Mosaic Finance Solutions.

According to its website, FirstPoint “is a leading national provider of information and operation services, offering Equifax credit solutions, revenue cycle management, decision data and organizational management.” FirstPoint’s mission “is to provide the highest level of solutions with a focus on compliance, integrity, innovation, and a stellar customer experience.”

In addition to collection services, FirstPoint offers background screening, management resources, and acts as an Equifax sales agent. FirstPoint’s collection services “include bad debt collections, extended business office services, flexible patient finance plans, early delinquency programs and call center management.”

Who does FirstPoint Collection Resources collect for?

FirstPoint Collection Resources offers third party collection services to public utility agencies; education lenders; financial services companies; healthcare providers; and local, state, and federal government agencies. Their collection division also offers extended business office and call center management.

FirstPoint’s website is entirely client-facing and does not contain links or references to consumer resources or information about compliance with consumer protection laws such as the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act (FDCPA) or the Fair Credit Reporting Act (FCRA).

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of collection harassment and abuse. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. We’ve helped more than 15,000 consumers stop harassment and recover money from debt collectors. Harassed? Abused? Misled by a collector? Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.

How many complaints are there against FirstPoint Collection Resources?

In the past three years, the BBB has closed 52 complaints against FirstPoint, with 13 closed in the past twelve months.Most of the complaints alleged problems with advertising and sales, with a large number of complaints also focused on billing and collections issues. Since April 2015, the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau (CFPB) has closed 38 complaints against FirstPoint, and Justia lists at least 2 cases of civil litigation naming FirstPoint as a defendant.

Contact Information

FirstPoint, Inc.
225 Commerce Place
Greensboro, NC 27401
Telephone:(336) 378-6300
Website: http://www.firstpointresources.com/

Can FirstPoint Collection Resources Sue Me or Garnish My Wages?

It is illegal for a debt collector to make empty threats to sue you or garnish your wages. It is also unlikely  FirstPoint would sue you for a debt you may not owe or they cannot validate. However, debt collection agencies are known to have summoned debtors to court and garnish wages after a default judgement. Contacting an attorney BEFORE this could possibly happen would be a smart move. We’ve helped thousands of consumers fight back against unscrupulous debt collection harassers. Find out if we can help you too today!

Get Free BBB A+ Attorney. Call 475-277-1600 NOW

Unlawful Debt Harassment? Learn the Law & Sue the Collector.

Can you help me file a No Fee Lawsuit against FirstPoint Inc?

Absolutely. You can sue a debt collector. Here are some Sample Complaints

In May 2017, in the United States District Court for the Middle District of North Carolina, a judge issued a Memorandum and Order in a case alleging violations by FirstPoint Collection Resources of federal and state debt collection laws. The plaintiff filed a class action suit against FirstPoint for its violation of provisions of the FDCPA and the North Carolina Collection Agency Act (NCCAA). In this case, the plaintiff had discharged a debt via a Chapter 7 bankruptcy in October 2014. In March 2015, FirstPoint representatives contacted the plaintiff in an attempt to collect the discharged debt. The plaintiff filed the complaint in this case in October 2015 alleging violations of the FDCPA, the NCCAA, and asking for temporary and permanent injunctive relief. FirstPoint argued for dismissal of all charges “for lack of subject matter jurisdiction and…for failure to state a claim.” The central issue in this case was FirstPoint’s insistence that neither the FDCPA nor the NCCAA applied because the complaint referred to a debt discharged in bankruptcy, and that therefore U.S. Bankruptcy Code had jurisdiction. However, the plaintiff claimed that because the debt had been discharged in bankruptcy, it was no longer eligible for collection activity. As a result, FirstPoint violated the FDCPA and the NCCAA by attempting to collect ineligible debts; whether the debt was rendered ineligible for collection via bankruptcy, payment, or statute of limitations expiration is irrelevant. The court agreed and in both cases, FirstPoint’s move to dismiss charges was denied.

FirstPoint also attempted to argue for dismissal by claiming that because they do not hold a license to collect debts with the North Carolina Department of Insurance, they are not technically a debt collector; therefore, the FDCPA and the NCCAA are not applicable to their conduct. The court disagreed citing the absence of any provision in the FDCPA requiring licensure as a requirement to be legally considered a debt collector. Furthermore, the fact that they did not have a license to collect debts in North Carolina may indicate a violation of the NCCAA. The court also dismissed FirstPoint’s argument that the plaintiff did not suffer an “injury-in-fact,” citing FirstPoint’s threats of damage to the plaintiff’s credit rating and her subsequent stress, emotional and psychological anguish, and a need to file a lawsuit. However, the court dismissed the plaintiff’s request for temporary and injunctive relief, indicating they are not available as an individual cause of action in the context of the current case, but may be included in her Prayer for Relief in subsequent proceedings.

FirstPoint Inc Calling You?

Federal laws protect you. The Fair Debt Collections Practices Act (FDCPA) regulates the behavior of collection agencies by prohibiting actions such as the use of abusive or threatening language; harassment; or the use of false or misleading information to collect a debt. The FCRA regulates how collection agencies and creditors report delinquent debts to credit reporting agencies. Additional consumer protection laws include the Telephone Consumer Protection Act (TCPA) and the Consumer Financial Protection Act (CFPA).

Can I sue FirstPoint for harassment?

Yes. If you want to enforce your rights, or recover money for violations — you need to sue. Federal laws provide individuals like you with a means to seek monetary damages in court. For example, the FDCPA allows consumers who have been violated to recover damages of up to $1,000, plus attorney fees and court costs.

Stop Debt Collection Harassment

You may have a case, if…

  • You are receiving multiple calls per week from third party collection agencies.
  • You are receiving early morning or late night calls from debt collectors
  • You are receiving calls at work from a debt collection agency
  • Debt collectors are calling your family, friends, neighbors, or coworkers
  • Collectors are threatening you with violence, lawsuit, or arrest
  • A debt collector attempts to collect more than you owe
  • You are being threatened with negative credit reporting
  • A debt collector attempts to intimidate you
  • Criminal accusations are being made towards you
  • Use of obscene language during an attempt to collect
  • Automated robocalls are being made to your phone in an attempt to collect

What Our Clients are Saying

“We realize that ours is just one small case among many – and many more serious – but are heartened by the fact that you accepted it and represented us with a professionalism that belied the small dollar amount.”

“If you are unsure about this company…DONT BE!!! They are for real when they say they are here to help you. It only takes a few short minutes of your time to talk to a rep. I was a skeptic, but you did everything you said you would! I can’t say thank you enough!”

”Lemberg Law has saved me from the endless calls, and harassing voicemails. They really do go to bat for you. I didn’t know that debt collection agencies can end up paying your legal bill. What a surprise, to receive free legal help. I’m very grateful for all the hard work they did to finally give me my life back.”

Can You Help Me Delete FirstPoint Inc from My Credit Report?

Chances are good that we can help.  Call us today and we’ll explain.

Share your story

Have you had a bad experience with this agency’s debt collectors? Sound off and share your experience with other visitors in the comment box below.

6 COMMENTS
  • Michael D

    I received a phone call from a Chris Gold on February 5th 2021. He said he worked for FirstPoint Collections Agency and he was calling in an attempt to collect a debt for blood work that was done in October of 2019. I have never received anything in the mail saying we owed money nor received any phone calls about a debt of any kind concerning a bill about blood work. I told him I had to look into it and he immediately said that this was my final notice. I still didn’t feel comfortable about giving a stranger any information on the phone. He then proceeded to give me discounts so I’d settle for a lower amount. He said he can only accept a debit card or a personal check that had to be sent via certified mail. I offered to pay with a credit card and he said it was not allowed. All of this seemed very shady. I called all parties involved that pertained to this bill. Between my insurance, the blood lab, the 3rd party (US Diagnostics) and even FirstPoint themselves (Chris Gold’s employer) there was nothing in the records saying I owed a debt. He called from a California area code (805), gave a PO Box in Florida to send the check to and said he worked for a company (FirstPoint) that’s bases out of North Carolina. Be careful and Beware. I’m not saying its definitely a scam at this point but things look that way as of right now. He left a number (805)- 506-3411. He gave an extension too but when I called back the person who answered said they don’t have extensions to be dialed but he’ll give Chris the message. Chris did call me back. I told him everything I did to try and confirm his phone call. All he could say is that he didn’t know anything about it and he’s just a collector.

  • Steve T

    Chris Gold from First Point called me on January 26, 2021 and said I owed $392.30 (but reduced the amount to $365 – I guess cause I am special – LOL) for some lab tests performed by a third party lab done in December 2019. I did have lab work for qualification for a new life insurance policy in November 2019, so I figured it was for that. He said I could pay either by debit card or personal check, but they had to receive payment within 96 hours or the case would wind up in small claims court. The address they gave was PO Box 3207 in St. Augustine FL, but the phone number that appeared on Caller ID was 805-506-3411 California. I tried calling the number back several times; however, I was either put on long holds or put into a “black hole” voice mailbox Not sure if this is a scam or not. The company itself does exist, but why would payment go to a PO Box – sounds fishy.

  • Anthony D

    They called me and said I owed $384.63 for some lab tests performed by a third party lab over 2 years ago. They said I could pay either by debit card or personal check, but they had to receive payment within 96 hours or my credit report would be negatively impacted. The address they gave was PO Box 3207 in St. Augustine FL, but the phone number that appeared on Caller ID was 805-399-3207 in San Miguel CA. I told them I knew this was a scam and that I wouldn’t pay.

  • Anthony M

    They try to collect from dead people even if they have been notified of that person’s death several times

  • JennE

    Recently received two voice mails at work from FirstPoint. I work for state government and all of our phone records are public records under FOIA. I’ve never given this company permission to call me at work. This guy stated that if the person listening to the message was not me, they should call FirstPoint to have the number removed. He then said that if the person was not me, to hang up. He then paused a few seconds and then continued to say that it was a call from a debt collector and gave a reference number, contact number and hours of operation. I recorded the message with my cell phone and have saved it on my work phone. This seems to be more than what should be stated considering that my work phone is essentially public record. I would like to know if this is a violation of my rights and privacy.

  • H.G.

    First Point Collections reached out to me trying to collect a debt that I had paid off already from the original creditor. I contacting them to notify them of this and emailed proof that I had paid the original creditor and called the original creditor to verify and contact FirstPoint. This all occurred meanwhile it’s being reported on my credit report false information including start of deliquency, which on my credit report it states first date is 08/01/2018, but my account was still active and I didnt receive a final bill until August 17/18. The amounts were wrong as well of course because I had paid the original creditor. I disputed the information via equifax and they just updated the account as paid and didnt remove the account altogether. The account was paid with the original creditor and never truly became a collection account and shouldnt be reported as such. They stated that they were going to remove it and didnt so I want to seek the next step in legal action to resolve this, because I tried to civily. I just wanted them to do the right thing by removing the account off my credit report and they couldnt even do that.

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead you can to our legal team.
Email is required to block spam, but will not be published.

Please select your star rating.

Briefly describe your experience Briefly describe your experience

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? Please enter a valid phone number

Want to know if you could sue? Get free legal evaluation Lemberg Law?

Get Your No-Obligation
Case Evaluation

Send a secure message to our legal team.

What’s your name? What’s your name?
What’s your email address? What’s your email address?
What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?
Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem
Confidentiality Guarantee: We keep your information completely confidential and will not send you spam or sell your information.