The minimum wage in Connecticut is $10.10 per hour. This applies to everyone except:
- Minors; those working in agriculture or government make 85% of minimum wage; those working in other industries earn 85% of minimum wage for the first 200 hours
- Food servers who receive tips earn $6.38 per hour
- Bartenders who receive tips earn $8.23 per hour
Connecticut Meal Breaks
Connecticut law states that those who work for 7-1/2 hours are entitled to a 30-minute meal break scheduled after the first two hours of work and before the last two hours of work. This does not apply to employers who have fewer than five employees on that shift at that business location, if the duties can only be performed by one employee, if a break would endanger public safety, or if the employer pays the employee for the meal period and the job requires that employees be available to respond to urgencies.
Connecticut Pay Days
Connecticut law mandates that employees be paid weekly, within eight days of the end of the pay period. If payday is on a non-work day, the employer must pay employees on the preceding workday.
Connecticut Employer Penalties
According to Connecticut law, employers who do not follow the law in paying their employees can face stiff fines or even jail time:
- Unpaid wages of $500 or less – Fined $200 to $500 dollars or imprisoned up to three months or both
- Unpaid wages of $500 to $1,000 – Fined $500 to $1,000 or imprisoned up to six months or both
- Unpaid wages of $1,000 to $2,000 – Fined $1,000 to $2,000 or imprisoned up to one year or both
- Unpaid wages of $2,000 or more – Fined $2,000 to $5,000 or imprisoned up to five years or both
If you’ve been denied minimum wage or meal breaks in Connecticut, call Lemberg Law at 475-277-2200. Our employment lawyers will review your case and give you no-nonsense answers to your questions.