If you’re an employee working more than 40 hours in a single workweek, then you need to make sure that your employer provides you with overtime pay if you qualify for it. The laws aren’t easy to understand as there are exceptions and exemptions based on the types of employees. However, it pays to understand wage laws to make sure you’re being compensated fully for your hard work.
Summary of Arizona Overtime Law
The table below provides an overview of overtime laws in Arizona.
|Methods for Overtime Calculation||Hourly Employees: Receive time and a half pay (1.5 x Regular Pay Rate) for hours worked using the following parameters. The highest paying result dictates which method to select:
Hourly Plus Bonus and/or Commission Employees:
Figure out the regular rate by multiplying the hourly rate by the total hours worked in the workweek, then add the weekly bonus/commission, then divide by the hours worked in the workweek. Finally, half that total rate for every hour of overtime worked.
Salary Employees: Figure out the regular rate by starting with the salary and dividing that by the number of hours the salary is supposed to cover.
|Overtime Rules in Arizona||
|Wage Complaint Filing Process||
Note: New legislation, high court rulings (federal court decisions included), ballot initiatives, and other influences can change state laws. Please refer to a qualified Arizona attorney or complete your own research to verify the laws to ensure accuracy.
Overtime Laws in Arizona
Arizona follows the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA). It does not have its own state overtime laws. The FLSA requires employers to pay non-exempt employees a rate of 1.5x their standard rate of pay for any hours worked over 40 in a single workweek. For example, if you are an employee that earns $10 per hour, once you reach 40 hours in a work week, your pay increases to $15 per hour. This usually covers salaried employees who earn less than $455 per week as well as hourly employees.
Does Working Nights and Weekends Count as Overtime Pay?
Employers in Arizona do not have to pay employees who work weekends and evenings overtime pay. They can, however, offer an increase in pay as an agreement between the employee and the employer.
When Can Comp Time Serve as a Substitute for Overtime Pay?
Comp time as a substitute for overtime pay may only be offered to government employees. Comp time is when an employer provides paid time off in exchange for hours worked over 40 as an alternative to paying overtime rates for non-exempt employees. While states and county employees may be allowed comp time, it is an FLSA violation to offer private employees comp time. It is also important to note that after 180 days, employees lose any unused comp time.
What Kinds of Employees Are Exempt from Federal Overtime?
If a business does not earn a minimum of $500,000, the FLSA does not apply. However, employees involved in interstate commerce, specifically, mail processing and credit cards, is an exception. These employees do qualify for overtime, regardless of the size of the business.
If an employee meets certain requirements based on job duties and salary, they can qualify as exempt. They must meet the U.S. Department of Labor’s requirements. Here are a few examples of these types of jobs:
- “Learned Professionals”
- Commissioned Retail Employees (some types)
- Executive Employees
- Outside Salespeople
- Taxi Drivers
Do You Think You Have a Case? Contact Lemberg Law for Counsel
If you feel that an employer has taken advantage of you or someone you care about, please get in touch with the Lemberg Law legal team. Complete our form for a FREE case evaluation, or call 475-277-2200 NOW. You may be entitled to compensation for damages, injuries, or lost wages for Federal and state wage law violations.