2022 Infiniti QX60 Problems and Top Issues – Is Your Car A Lemon?

Electrical system issues are among the top complaints received by the NHTSA from vehicle owners

By Brian Jones | Updated on

By Brian Jones | Updated on

Owners looking at the 2022 INFINITI QX60 are normally spellbound by the beautiful design and potent powertrain. The automaker even claims it provides the “re-imagination of luxury.” However, the defective electrical system is leading to more than one issue.

Click on other model year to view more problems:  2020   2019   2018

Don’t be stuck with a lemon. You have legal rights to cash, return or buyback.

The law makes Infiniti pay legal fees.

We've fixed thousands of lemon problems. Message or call 877-795-3666 today.

NHTSA Complaints for the 2022 Infiniti QX60

Complaint CategoryNumber of Complaints
Electrical System
2
Visibility
1
Visibility:rearview Mirrors/devices
1
Exterior Lighting:headlights
1
Service Brakes
1
Power Train
1
Unknown Or Other
1

Problems with the Electrical System

As a luxury model, everything should be in place before the 2022 Infiniti QX60 rolled off of the assembly line, but that’s not the case.

Take a look at this NHTSA review that points out serious issues:

“The car does not start once it is parked, ignition is turned off and car is locked. The car requires a jump in order for it to start. Once it is jumped, the car has malfunction alerts, the battery light is lit in the vehicle and some features of the car do not work (i.e. lane assist, auto feature light is flashing, but when pressed nothing happens).

My safety has been put at risk because the car could possibly shut off while I am driving, I could be stranded somewhere with my two young sons due to the car not starting. Once the car is shut off and locked, it does not restart. Luckily I have AAA and I have been able to get jumps 4 separate times over the past 2 weeks, but some are not that fortunate. I picked up the vehicle on February 14, 2022, so this should not be happening.

I leased the vehicle from Kings Infiniti and have taken the car to them to get serviced every single time. The 1st time, the battery was changed because they thought that was the issue. The 2nd time, the telematics control unit was changed because they believed that was issue. The 3rd time, the battery was changed because they discovered the connection to the negative terminal in the battery would pop out causing the battery to discharge and the car would not start. Today, was the 4th time I took to vehicle in to Kings Infiniti and they kept it because they want to determine what is wrong.

Also, when I brought my car in this morning, there was another person with the same 2022 Infiniti QX60 experiencing the same problems as me and he purchased his car on Monday. Since I now know this problem is not solely my car, I want to inform you so Infiniti can be made aware of this major issue. No one should require a jump to start a brand new car. Something is happening once the car is turned off, locked and then attempted to re-start. In addition, when this happens, you need to press the ‘open door’ button on the key to open the car because you are unable to open the door by simply touching the handle.”

Additional Complaints

However, this isn’t the only electrical problem. Here’s another Edmunds review to consider, “There are a couple of gripes that I do have though. One is with the infotainment system, Twice so far It’s frozen completely, both times the only way to resolved it was by forcing a reboot(Holding power button for 3-5 seconds). The other is the auto stop start is not as smooth as other cars I’ve driven. Very noticeable when the engine restart from a stop. I usually just turn that off when I hop in the car. As a Software Engineer myself, I understand the glitches with the infotainment system will most likely be resolved with an update.”

It probably won’t be long before there are recalls for some of these defects. In the meantime, NHTSA Campaign Number 22V111000, that shows INFINITI forgot to put a mounting bolt on the second-row seat track of affected vehicles. Because of this oversight, the seat track can move if a crash occurs, leading to major danger. It gives new meaning to the saying, “hold onto your seats.”

Your Lemon Law Legal Rights

Think you have a lemon? Sit back and let the experts work out your lemon case at no cost to you. The law makes Infiniti pay legal fees. You may be able to get your lemon out of your life. Every year, auto manufacturers buy back, replace or pay cash settlements to thousands of ‘lemon’ owners like you.

Complaint Data

CategoryVisibility, Visibility:rearview Mirrors/devices
DateDec 28, 2022
StateNY
Description
The contact owns a 2022 infiniti qx60. The contact stated that while driving above 60 mph, the driver's side mirror would vibrate, impairing visibility of surrounding vehicles. Additionally, the contact stated that the failure also occurred while driving on rough or bumpy road surfaces. The vehicle was taken to the local dealer however, the failure could not be duplicated. The contact notified a second dealer, ramsey infinity (535 nj-17 s, ramsey, nj 07446), who advised that it was a known failure; however, they could not assist. The vehicle was then taken to a third dealer, edison infiniti (842 us-1, edison, nj 08817), where the mirror and the mirror housing where replaced; however, the failure persisted. The third dealer informed the contact that he needed to wait until the manufacturer had developed a remedy for the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and confirmed awareness of the failure. The contact was informed that he would be notified whenever a remedy was made available. The failure mileage was approximately 13,000.
CategoryElectrical System
DateNov 21, 2022
StateNY
Description
The vehicle does start after being parked overnight. This has happened on over 15+ occasions and counting. Once jump started, warning lights appear on the dash display. Already brought it in for service 2x, battery changed 1x and the battery change solution is not working. The problem is still repeating. Vehicle is being driven sufficiently daily to charge the battery, therefore this should not be happening on a new vehicle. I noticed there has been another complaint.
CategoryExterior Lighting:headlights
DateSep 20, 2022
StateVA
Description
No incidents. Headlight has a blackout area in the left headlight. Dealership service department could not fix.
CategoryService Brakes
DateMay 31, 2022
StatePA
Description
When I'm pressing the brakes on the car at all speeds (more noticeable at slower speeds) the car jerks before it comes to a complete stop. When the car is first turned on, the cars brakes smoothly. Unfortunately, after a few times braking, the car will jerk before the car fully stops. At times , the jerk is minimal, where only I feel it. Other times, my passengers feel it and the whole car moves. Another issue I'm having with the vehicle is when pressing the brakes, the car takes a while to slow down, causing me to have to push the brakes with more force than usual, which is a problem especially driving in city streets. I took the car to the service department and they said they didn't feel what I described when they took the vehicle for a test drive. They did suggest I bring the car back if the problem continues. I'm concerned because I had major electrical problems with this vehicle already and I've only had this car for 3 1/2 months. Please help get these issues addressed. Thank you.
CategoryPower Train
DateMay 19, 2022
StateNY
Description
I was moving down a small slope behind other vehicles at a speed of 40-50 mph. In order to slow down a bit, I decided to manually downshift gear, I pressed the left switch and expected that after changing gear the speed it would begin to decline. But instead of slowing down, I felt a push in my back and for a second the car began to accelerate and only then began to slow down. I had to urgently apply the brakes so as not to crash into the car in front. I tried again to shift down and each time before changing the gear the car accelerated, although I did not press the accelerator pedal. To test why this is happening, I connected an obd 2 device to record time, speed, absolute throttle position, accelerator pedal position and engine rpm. I have reproduced the situation on the track and it appears that the car's software actually increases throttle during manual downshifts. This is very dangerous and can lead to an accident, because the driver expects a decrease in speed, and instead of this, the car accelerates itself. I tried to contact the manufacturer, but they didn't even listen and sent it to the dealer. The dealer said that there was no new software and did not even check the dangerous behavior of the machine.
CategoryElectrical System
DateMar 11, 2022
StatePA
Description
The car does not start once it is parked, ignition is turned off and car is locked. The car requires a jump in order for it to start. Once it is jumped, the car has malfunction alerts, the battery light is lit in the vehicle and some features of the car do not work (I. E. Lane assist, auto feature light is flashing, but when pressed nothing happens). My safety has been put at risk because the car could possibly shut off while I am driving, I could be stranded somewhere with my two young sons due to the car not starting. Once the car is shut off and locked, it does not restart. Luckily I have aaa and I have been able to get jumps 4 separate times over the past 2 weeks, but some are not that fortunate. I picked up the vehicle on february 14, 2022, so this should not be happening. I leased the vehicle from kings infiniti and have taken the car to them to get serviced every single time. The 1st time, the battery was changed because they thought that was the issue. The 2nd time, the telematics control unit was changed because they believed that was issue. The 3rd time, the battery was changed because they discovered the connection to the negative terminal in the battery would pop out causing the battery to discharge and the car would not start. Today, was the 4th time I took to vehicle in to kings infiniti and they kept it because they want to determine what is wrong. Also,when I brought my car in this morning, there was another person with the same 2022 qx60 experiencing the same problems as me and he purchased his car on monday. Since I now know this problem is not solely my car, I want to inform you so infiniti can be made aware of this major issue. No one should require a jump to start a brand new car. Something is happening once the car is turned off, locked and then attempted to re-start. In addition, when this happens, you need to press the "open door" button on the key to open the car because you are unable to open the door by simply touching the handle.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateDec 29, 2021
StateTN
Description
Qx60 2022 did not pass a nhtsa crash test. Is it safe to drive? Thank you

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.

Share your story

Does this ring a bell? Have you had a bad experience too? Sound off and share your experience with other visitors in the comment box below.

Brian Jones

About the Author:

Brian Jones spent more than 20 years working as an ASE Certified Master Tech and Parts Specialist at multiple dealerships. Brian has become an authority in the industry, traveling across the country to consult for car dealerships and contributing his expertise as a writer for several major automotive publications. In his spare time, Brian enjoys working on pickup trucks, muscle cars, Jeeps and anything related to motorsports.

See more posts from Brian Jones
7 COMMENTS
  • Barney M

    2022 QX60 info screen freezes , no volume radio, GPS. Hard reset doesn’t resolve. POS!

  • Ravi S

    2022 Qx60 tilt steering keep getting stuck sometimes I can adjust all the way down and sometimes it will only tilt just a bit this happens every week

  • Victoria

    I just purchased a new 2023 QX60 Luxe. It has three times in two days, lurched forward after being put into park and the door is opened. I can completely duplicate it by having the auto start/stop on and then put the car int park and open the door. This is a huge safety issue. Infiniti says that right now they can’t disable the auto idle start/stop because it is auto set to ON. This needs to be changed before someone is hurt! Anyone else with this problem?

    Apple air play keeps disconnecting, screen stops responding to touch. Can’t see my map.

    Otherwise I love this car! Great drive, comfort and responsive.

  • Klock

    2022 had in shop 3x bought QX60 on May. Two weeks after the purchase we noticed the back end swaying.
    After several visits they acknowledge the problem but have no idea how to fix the problem. Does anyone else have this problem ?

  • V M

    I’ve had my 2022 qx60 for about 4 months now I’m having electrical problems with mine. I told my husband that the car was accelerating on it’s own but he thought it was just me but I knew better so I would ask him to drive it . It only did it sometimes so a few days ago he took it to get something to eat and my 2022 qx60 accelerated and the steering went crazy and he ended up in a pond of water the whole front end was under water he could have died or even a head on collision with another car these cars are not safe at least the one I have isn’t, it’s currently in the shop now, the infotainment keep blinking on and off, area where a/c is lights up some of the time, driver side mirror was stuck and wouldn’t fold in and when I got it to fold in it kept clicking until I pushed it to get it to start back working, also the driver assist and lane departure don’t always work all these problems was before the acceleration issue. I’ve taken my car into Infiniti for the electrical issues and they just tell me they can’t find out what’s wrong with it and the vehicle is too new to diagnose the problems but they have had other complaints about the same problems so I’m gonna have to wait for a recall on it and updates. I was so excited when I got it being it’s the new body style and everything but now I’m really regretting buying this especially after my husband experiencing the accelerating issue he could’ve died.

  • Court

    I bought a 2022 qx60 june 2nd. Since then it had the check engine light on 3 times. It was in service for 2 weeks for some cvt issue. I picked it up and tire pressure warning came on for one tire. Had checked and all were fine. About 2 hours later another tire said low so now 2 tires. Went to have fixed at dealership. Left and it came back on 4 hours later. My screen keeps resetting and when I get gas it keeps stopping the pump ever 10 seconds at every gas station I’ve used. They want the car back in service today. I’ve had it a month it’s been in service more than half that time. I’m glad to see it’s not a me issue it’s the qx60 and something needs to be done. We shouldn’t be buying a new car and have any issues.

  • Dea. W

    Yeap, I agree! Brand New (6miles) on QX60 LUXE model, at first I knew I did not know how to operate the car but after doing some YouTube and reading the manual I found these issues were just WRONG: a) The courtesy light, sometimes it works and other times it does not. b) my seat belt indicator has worked once, now its always RED rather I have my seatbelt on or off. c)Tire sensors kept telling me that I have low tire pressure, had tire shop deflate and reflate the tire that worked about 2 days then alerts started coming back. d) the sensors for the cameras, I nearly have to right up on the curb before the cameras come of if they come on at all (what is the point of coming on when I have gotten that close already) e) oh i love this one, while connected to carplay with the radio off, i get a call after i end the call the radio turns on the FM (i dont listen to FM and who told it to turn the radio on anyway). f) wipes come on at random when it has not rained in 3 days. that is just to name a few

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead you can to our legal team.

Please select your star rating.

Briefly describe your experience Briefly describe your experience

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? Please enter a valid phone number

Want to know if you could sue? Get a free legal evaluation Lemberg Law?

Get Your No-Obligation
Case Evaluation

Send a secure message to our legal team.

What’s your name? What’s your name?
What’s your email address? What’s your email address?
What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?
Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem
Confidentiality Guarantee: We keep your information completely confidential and will not send you spam or sell your information.