2021 Ford Escape Problems and Top Complaints – Is Your Car A Lemon?

Powertrain, structure and engine issues among the top complaints received by the NHTSA from vehicle owners

By Brian Jones | Updated on

By Brian Jones | Updated on

The 2021 Ford Escape is meant to offer a fun ride for the family, with the automaker claiming it will help owners “stand out in the crowd.” However, there’s only one reason this SUV stands out and it’s due to the defects. The new Escape has a defective engine, malfunctioning fuel system, bad powertrain and a terrible structure design. .

Click on other model year to view more problems:  2017  2018  2019  2020  2022

Don’t be stuck with a lemon. You have legal rights to cash, return or buyback.

The law makes Ford pay legal fees.

We've fixed thousands of lemon problems. Message or call 877-795-3666 today.

NHTSA Complaints for the 2021 Ford Escape

Complaint CategoryNumber of Complaints
Service Brakes
24
Unknown Or Other
14
Electrical System
8
Engine
6
Service Brakes, Hydraulic
5
Power Train
5
Fuel/propulsion System
5
Air Bags
2
Visibility/wiper
2
Structure:body
2

Problems with the Engine

The Ford Escape has been plagued with engine problems and the 2021 model is no exception. It seems the automaker has learned nothing about building an SUV with a reliable motor.

One NHTSA complaint states, “The contact’s daughter owned a 2021 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while her daughter was driving at an unknown speed, the coolant warning light illuminated. As the contact’s daughter began to pull over, she began to lose control of the vehicle as a black smoke started coming from the engine. The vehicle caught on fire once the contact’s daughter had exited the vehicle. The fire department arrived at the scene and was able to extinguish the fire. A fire report was filed. There was no injury reported. Due to the failure, the vehicle was initially towed to a tow yard however, the current location of the vehicle was unknown. The contact’s daughter notified the dealer of the failure and a week later and she was informed that an investigation would be started. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The vehicle was destroyed. The failure mileage was unknown.”

Just recently, the Ford Motor Company was hit with class-action lawsuits because of the same problem with the 2013-2019 Escape engines. In those models, coolant leaked into the engine cylinders, causing a fire. It’s unclear whether Ford doesn’t care about customers’ safety or if the company is just ignorant, but it’s obvious that the SUV isn’t going to protect anyone. However, owners will be able to “stand out in a crowd” because they will have the only SUV that’s on fire.

Problems with the Fuel System

There are multiple reasons for car fires in the 2021 Escape. Another issue appears to be caused by the faulty fuel system.

Here’s another NHTSA complaint worth reading. “Vehicle was being driven down the road. Vehicle stalled. Check engine light came on. Attempted to restart vehicle but vehicle stalled again. Smelled fuel. Heard a boom then fire ignited. Fire came from the underside of vehicle and flames were rising on driver side of vehicle with black smoke. Attempted to exit vehicle from driver side door but was unable to do so due to flames. Crawled over to passenger side of vehicle and exited the vehicle. Fire department extinguished the fire with water. Fire reignited and fire department extinguished fire again. Insurance company inspected the vehicle but was unable to determine root cause of fire.”

Ford isn’t attempting to hide any problems and has even issued a recall. NHTSA Campaign Number 21V625000 states that affected SUVs have a fuel delivery module that leaks into the fuel tank, leading to low pressure and a stalling engine. Whenever fuel leaks, there’s also the chance of a fire. It seems that Ford was so concerned the Escape wouldn’t stand out enough that the company made sure there would be a higher chance of car fires than usual.

Problems with the Powertrain

The powertrain in the Escape is just as faulty as the engine and fuel system. In fact, these three major systems together are creating the majority of the complaints.

Here is a complaint left on the Edmunds website. “Two weeks after I picked it up, the check engine light came on and I could no longer drive the car in Reverse. I could go forward if I wanted to, but silly me, I thought I was going to have a car that could do both. Took it to the dealership, but by the time they saw the car, the check engine light went out and it could go in Reverse so they could not fix what they could not see. Today once again the check engine light came on and once again, the car would not go in Reverse. Another trip to the dealer and a wasted five hours (getting a ride home took up the majority of that time) of my time before they determined that a part needed to be over-nighted. So here I sit at home waiting for an overnight part delivery. I do not have a vehicle to get to work tomorrow and who knows when I will have transportation again. I do, however, have a really nice lease payment to make, so there is that.”

Service Bulletin #TSB 21-2268 also discusses the MIL illuminated with trouble codes and the inability to move in Reverse. The problem stems from a contaminated main control valve body separator plate orifice, requiring the technicians to clean off the debris. Without a fix, owners could simply drive forward at all times, ensuring that there’s never a need to go backward, because that’s what people pay good money to do in Ford’s eyes.

Problems with the Structure

When it comes to engineering a good SUV, it’s become evident that Ford can’t be trusted. Even the structure of this vehicle is in bad shape.

A final Edmunds review reveals this complaint, “I was really disappointed when my headlights fogged up in 7 months due to the supposed air flow and Ford said that it is normal and they won’t replace them. My new car now looks years old.”

Does Ford even know how to build vehicles? At this point, one should question the automaker’s ability. Service Bulletin #TSB 21-2236 even acknowledges that the seats weren’t properly installed on many vehicles from the Blue Oval. The seat might be loose, move or cause clunking noises during turns. To repair it, the dealerships need to install a reinforcement. If nothing else, these issues should “reinforce” that it’s time for owners to switch to another car brand before something terrible occurs.

Your Lemon Law Legal Rights

Think you have a lemon? Sit back and let the experts work out your lemon case at no cost to you. The law makes Ford pay legal fees. You may be able to get your lemon out of your life. Every year, auto manufacturers buy back, replace or pay cash settlements to thousands of ‘lemon’ owners like you.

Complaint Data

CategoryService Brakes
DateJan 23, 2023
StateWV
Description
When braking in reverse, especially in the mornings, there's a horrible grinding noise. It acts as if it doesn't want to stop. Have contacted the dealership multiple times and they claim they've addressed the recall issue but it just continues. They've gotten to the point that they won't return my calls to address the issue.
CategoryElectrical System:seat Heater:wiring Harness
DateJan 18, 2023
StateMD
Description
The contact owns a 2021 ford escape. The contact stated that after driving for an hour and parking the vehicle, after picking up her coat from the passenger's side seat she saw a burn mark on the seat with smoke coming from the seat. Additionally, the contact had burning sensation in her eyes due to the strong chemical burning odor coming from the passenger's seat. The contact did not seek medical assistance. There was no warning light illuminated. The dealer was notified of the failure and an appointment was scheduled for a diagnostic test. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and referred the contact to the nhtsa hotline. The failure mileage was approximately 37,600.
CategoryFuel System, Gasoline
DateJan 13, 2023
StateOH
Description
The contact owns a 2021 ford escape. The contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 22v859000 (fuel system, gasoline) however, the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.
CategoryStructure:body
DateJan 10, 2023
StateNJ
Description
The contact owns a 2021 ford escape. The contact stated that when she opened the front driver's side door, she heard a popping sound. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the front driver's side door spot welds failed and needed to be rewelded. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and the contact was advised to call the nhtsa hotline. The failure mileage was approximately 30,000.
CategoryFuel/propulsion System, Service Brakes
DateJan 08, 2023
StateDE
Description
2 current recall problems with vehicle. Brake recall has been an issue since november 2021. The brakes were supposedly fixed. Then there came a horrific squealing noise when vehicle in reverse. And driving. Also when braking when vehicle in motion. Horrible grinding sound. Contacted dealer. Said back order on parts to fix squealing. Apparent issues with bushing. Per the dealership. Has been going on for months. Still have no been contacted for repair. There is no solution regarding the november 2022 recall about the fuel injector. There is currently 7 very serious recalls involving this vehicle. I'm afraid to drive my vehicle. But continue to pay for a death trap.
CategoryPower Train
DateJan 08, 2023
StateFL
Description
2021 ford escape titanium hybrid with over 11,000 miles. Received following text message from ford: service engine soon - the powertrain control system has detected a fault with the high voltage battery coolant pump. The check engine light on the instrument cluster illuminated. Could see or feel no effects on the vehicle and no safety messages appeared on any displays. Worried of overheating high voltage battery, which could lead to battery fire or vehicle stoppage while in highway traffic.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Sensing System: Camera, Service Brakes
DateDec 30, 2022
StateTX
Description
The contact leased a 2021 ford escape. The contact stated while reversing and depressing the brake pedal, the brakes emitted an abnormal squealing sound. The contact stated that the failure mainly occurred while reversing. Additionally, a message indicating that the forward collision avoidance camera had failed and needed to be repaired was displayed. The dealer and the manufacturer were not notified of the failure. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The failure mileage was 48,971.
CategoryFuel/propulsion System, Service Brakes
DateDec 23, 2022
StateAZ
Description
Received a notice that a recall was necessary to correct fuel vapor issues which might result in a fire. Simultaneously notified the dealer that the brake booster was defective. They agreed and both assured me the part had been delivered and subsequently informed me that the part for the brakes was defective. I was told that the fuel vapor issue had been addressed and resolved however according to your records it has not. I have been waiting for a call that the parts were available for the warranty repairs since december 19.
CategorySeats
DateNov 28, 2022
StateAL
Description
The contact owns a 2021 ford escape. The contact stated that there was a metal piece inside the front driver's seat that was poking him while driving. The contact stated that the failure was distracting while driving as he would manually attempt to move the part while driving. The vehicle was taken to the dealer on three separate occasions and the dealer installed a pad that stopped the failure from reoccurring for two months. The dealer informed the contact that upon evaluating the seat comfort level no issues were found. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure but did not provide any assistance. The failure mileage was approximately 2,000.
CategoryAir Bags, Electrical System, Service Brakes, Hydraulic
DateNov 15, 2022
StateMI
Description
The contact owns a 2021 ford escape. The contact stated that while in the reverse(r) position, the vehicle independently increased in speed without warning. The contact made multiple attempts to stop the vehicle by depressing the brake pedal; however, the brakes failed to operate as needed. The contact crashed into a fire hydrant but the air bags did not deploy upon impact. The contact suffered pain in her stomach and neck but did not seek immediate medical attention. The fire hydrant was damaged as a result of the failure. A police report was filed. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic where it was repaired. Since the repair, the contact stated that the vehicle would shake when driving over 30 mph without warning. She also mentioned that a loud, squeaking noise would emit from the vehicle while in reverse. The contact took the vehicle to a dealer where they were unable to diagnose the failure. The manufacturer had been notified of the failure but offered no assistance. The vehicle had yet to be repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 3,000.
CategoryService Brakes
DateOct 20, 2022
StateKY
Description
The contact owns a 2021 ford escape. The contact stated that while reversing and depressing the brake pedal, an abnormally loud rattling was coming from underneath the vehicle. The contact indicated that the failure was intermittent but mainly occurred in the mornings after the vehicle had been parked overnight. The local dealer was notified of the failure and the contact was informed they were aware of the failure; however, the cause of the failure was unknown. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 7.
CategoryService Brakes, Visibility/wiper
DateSep 30, 2022
StateVA
Description
Brakes are squealing very badly when in reverse, (going down a hill or when have not been used in a few days or after a rain storm). Windshield sub-stained a splintered crack after only 2 months, quality of windshield seems weak.
CategoryEngine
DateSep 29, 2022
StateNV
Description
The contact owns a 2021 ford escape hybrid. The contact noticed that a loose wire hanging from underneath the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where the mechanic informed him that the heat exchange wire was designed longer than needed which resulted in the defect. The dealer cautioned him that extensive driving with that wiring hanging could lead to engine damage. The contact was able to purchase the wire kit at bates ford (1673 w main st, lebanon, tn 37087) however, the dealer could not service the vehicle. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and informed him that the vehicle was not under warranty. The vehicle had yet to be repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 14,500.
CategorySeat Belts
DateSep 27, 2022
StateTX
Description
Passenger side seatbelt pretension and retractor assembly internally faulted: this caused the seat belt light to be illuminated. This was repaired free of charge by the dealership.
CategoryPower Train
DateSep 26, 2022
StateTX
Description
The contact owns a 2021 ford escape. The contact stated that while driving at an undisclosed speed, she heard squeaking and grinding sound coming from the brake pedal. The contact also stated that she smelled a burning odor throughout the vehicle and the vehicle hesitated and was pulling to the right. Additionally, the contact stated that the vehicle was taken to the dealer where she received a manufacturer recall regarding the transmission fluid overflow. The vehicle was diagnosed and the contact was informed the transmission was two and a half quarts over the specifications. The contact stated that the dealer drained the two and a half quarts of oil however, the contact stated that she was advised not to drive the vehicle. The contact was concerned that due to the burning odor, the vehicle could possibly explode. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer where the failure could not be determined. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and the contact was provided a case number and a loaner vehicle. The failure mileage was approximately 10,000.
CategoryService Brakes
DateSep 15, 2022
StateMI
Description
The contact owns a 2021 ford escape. The contact stated that while reversing, the brake pedal was depressed and there was an abnormal screeching noise detected. There were no warning lights illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the local dealer who informed him the failure was due to the weather. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was contacted and referred the contact to the nhtsa hotline. The approximate failure mileage was 6,000.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateSep 14, 2022
StateUT
Description
A sample owner letter is not available online for nhtsa-id 22v191
CategoryFuel/propulsion System
DateAug 23, 2022
StateAL
Description
The car smells like gas on the inside. Ford says no codes so no issue. Started when 15000 miles on ur and ur still smells like gas with 21000 miles on it. Ford can't seem to find the issue after being in shop 3 weeks.
CategoryStructure:body
DateAug 05, 2022
StateMI
Description
Driver side door - black door support assembly which opens and closes door - welds broke.
CategoryElectrical System:propulsion System, Forward Collision Avoidance
DateAug 02, 2022
StateFL
Description
The contact owns a 2021 ford escape hybrid. The contact stated that on several occasions, the electrical system had malfunctioned causing the vehicle to inadvertently shut off. The vehicle was taken to the local dealer who diagnosed that the 12-volt battery was faulty. The contact was informed that the vehicle was not included in the nhtsa campaign number: 21v869000 (electrical system, hybrid propulsion system). The contact stated that the vehicle had experienced the failure listed in the recall. Additionally, while operating the vehicle, the forward collision avoidance system activated; however, there was no vehicle or object nearby. The vehicle was taken to the local dealer who changed the forward collision avoidance system sensitivity however the failure continued. The manufacturer was notified of the failure but no assistance was offered. The failure mileage was 500.
CategoryElectrical System
DateAug 01, 2022
StateMN
Description
Speed is telling me the limit is 80 when there is no speed limit like that in the area and the speed limit actually is 45. Steering wheel keeps telling me to put my hands on the wheel when both hands are on the wheel.
CategoryService Brakes
DateAug 01, 2022
StateMN
Description
Breaks make a grinding sound when backing out
CategoryService Brakes, Unknown Or Other
DateJul 17, 2022
StateDE
Description
My time time has almost caused me to pass various stop signs and red lights as well as rear end vehicles in front of me who stop abruptly due to increase traffic in my area for summer. The brakes also squeak terribly. I need this repaired asap before I cause an accident and ford still has yet to provide the parts to complete the repairs and this is my only vehicle. I have had the vehicle less then a year
CategoryElectrical System
DateJul 11, 2022
StateMO
Description
The contact owns a 2021 ford escape. The contact stated while attempting to enter the vehicle there was unknown noise coming from the engine. The vehicle was unable to start and was only accessible using the key fob. There was no warning light illuminated. The contact was unable to start the vehicle. The vehicle was towed to the dealer. The vehicle was diagnosed with no failure; however, the dealer jumpstarted the vehicle. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 1,860.
CategoryEngine, Unknown Or Other
DateJul 11, 2022
StateAZ
Description
I was driving down the road and the car stated to stall. I noticed white smoke in my review mirror. I started to pull over and I got a warning message that said I had zero oil pressure and the engine shut down. I costed off the road into a pull off. When we got out of the car there was a fire in the engine compartment. As we were out in the middle of no where it took the local voulunteer fire depart 25 minutes to respond. In that time the car was a total loss. I did not hit anything in the road and I was drive around 60 mph at the time this started.
CategoryElectrical System, Forward Collision Avoidance: Warnings, Lane Departure: Assist
DateJul 08, 2022
StateMN
Description
I just had it in the shop. The car acts like there is going to be a collision when nothing is in front of it. Also try's to pull me off the road. Been computer and electrical issues since I bought the vehicle.
CategoryPower Train:automatic Transmission
DateJul 05, 2022
StateMI
Description
The contact owns a 2021 ford escape. The contact stated while reversing down her driveway, that as soon as she had placed the vehicle in reverse, it independently accelerated to approximately 20 mph. The contact attempted to depress the brake pedal and did not have any brake function. The contact stated she did not notice any warning light being illuminated. The contact stated she began to drive backward with the vehicle turning in circles, and crashed into a fire hydrant. The vehicle crashed into the hydrant on the passenger rear bumper side which was crushed. The contact stated that the engine was still running but that the vehicle had been stopped by the hydrant. The police arrived on the scene and filed a report. The contact had injured her back on impact with the hydrant, however, she did not seek medical attention until later. She went to a chiropractor and not a doctor. The vehicle was taken to a body repair shop and the damage was repaired, however the vehicle had not been taken to a dealer to be diagnosed. The reverse and brake failure had not been diagnosed. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer had been informed of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 250.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJul 04, 2022
StatePA
Description
While driving phev with a nearly full charge and a full tank of gas in ev mode, when I came to a stop at stop signs and traffic lights, the car would buck once like a horse, like an engine misfiring, and would indicate drivetrain issue and oput itsself in accessory mode, and flash battery indicator light. I was unabble to shift or restart driving until about 3 minutes later and after multiple times turning the car off and back on. It kept asking if the car was currently being charged, it was not as I was about 10 minutes and 5 miles into my 75 min/ 50 mine journey. It seems odd that while driving in ev mode, electric motor only in use, that the car would buck/jerk while shutting off. This also happened nearly exactly 7 months ago.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJul 03, 2022
StateFL
Description
* I was about to park in my drive way on 6/7/2022 when the vehicle suddenly accelerated by itself, breaking my closed garage door, destroyed every garden equipment and everything else found on its passage in the garage and entered my granddaughter's bedroom causing major structural damages to the house. * my son had just left the garage and could have been run over and myself severely injured if all the equipment and the bedroom wall did not stop the car. * unfortunately, the dealership minimized the problem because they did not see the damages, only the superficial scratch of the car *yes, it has been inspected by all parties *no, no warning signs of sensors warned this major accident at all that day. *I told ford that I am scared to drive the car after that accident and they do not seem to care and claim it is a lease car and because they found nothing wrong with him. They cannot do anything about it. *so far, the first estimate from the homeowners insurance found damages that are over ,000 - 40,000 dollars and are still sending other expects to check the structural damages of the house and that does not include the loss of the equipment and other goods destroyed. *I was told that they found nothing wrong with the car and I am positive something major happened that day that could have killed me, has it not been those equipment and also injured my 35 year old son and my 10 year granddaughter has she been in her closet.
CategoryService Brakes
DateJul 02, 2022
StateGA
Description
The brakes seem to fail randomly, which requires me to pump the brakes and have more distance in order to avoid hitting the car in front of me. I first noticed this when going down a hill leading into a red light near my house, as it would happen every few weeks, where I would press down on the breaks, and it would make a clicking sound, and the pedal would go all the way down without engaging the brakes. I adapted to this problem by starting to brake earlier on this hill for the once every 20 times that it happened. Recently, it's started happening in other locations, and one time, I just barely avoided hitting the car in front of me by swerving to the side. It's a big safety issue, and I'm planning to bring it into the dealership to see if they notice something is wrong. I've had the car for else than a year, and it's under 15,000 miles, so it has to be some sort of factory error within the warranty...
CategoryService Brakes, Hydraulic
DateJul 01, 2022
StateWI
Description
The contact owns a 2021 ford escape. The contact stated that while driving in reverse, a loud grinding sound was present while depressing the brake pedal without warning. The vehicle was taken to the local dealer to have the brake rotors, brake pads, and brake calipers replaced; however, the parts for the repair remained unavailable. The contact also stated that while driving approximately 25 mph, an abnormal rattling sound was coming from the engine. There was no warning light illuminated. The manufacturer was notified of the failure but offered no assistance. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 4,000.
CategoryService Brakes
DateJun 10, 2022
StateGA
Description
Rear brakes consistently make groaning sound while reversing when the car sits for any more than an hour. Even on hot sunny days with low humidity. Many owners have same issues: https://www. Fordescape. Org/threads/break-noise-in-reverse. 119862/
CategoryService Brakes, Hydraulic
DateJun 08, 2022
StateNY
Description
The contact owns a 2021 ford escape. The contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 21v922000 (service brakes, hydraulic) however, the part to do the recall repair was not yet available. The local dealer was contacted and it was confirmed that the part was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJun 08, 2022
StateNY
Description
When I back up my car makes a squealing/groaning noise. I was told my ford it has nothing to do with the brakes and it's safe to drive. Every time I back up it makes this noise whether when my foot is on or off the brake. It's very frustrating that there isn't apparently a fix for it.
CategoryService Brakes
DateJun 06, 2022
StateIL
Description
The contact owns a 2021 ford escape. The contact stated while driving approximately 40 mph, the vehicle was vibrating and the brakes were getting extremely hot. There were no warning lights illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer but no failure was found. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 30,000.
CategoryStructure:body:hood
DateMay 23, 2022
StateCA
Description
The contact owns a 2021 ford escape hybrid. The contact stated while driving approximately 65 mph, a loud noise came from the hood with the hood vibrating. The contact stated he had opened and closed the hood several times however, the vibration and the loud noise continued. The contact stated that no warning lights were illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and the mechanic tightened the adjustable hood bumpers however, the failure persisted. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer and the president of the dealer test drove the vehicle and verified that there was a failure. The dealer president informed the contact that the dealer could not correct the failure. The contact stated that he was also informed that he could take the vehicle to 3 other dealers to diagnose the vehicle under the lemon law provision. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and a case was opened. The approximate failure mileage was 60.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateMay 09, 2022
StateCA
Description
We have a 2021 ford escape hybrid purchased from corwin ford in reno, nv. That when driven at high speed the front hood vibrates and the hood makes a very loud flutter sound. I have informed the salesperson finn orwig of this situation over the last 7-8 months. His service department tightened the hood rubber closing stops to no avail. I went online and plugged in 2021 ford escape hood noise and was directed to several online ford forums where many others are stating the same issue. (see reddit & ford escape hood troubles). I continued to contact corwin ford customer relationship center of this issue and filed a complaint on october, 16, 2021. I never heard back until I reached back to them on february, 23,2022. Peyton gave me an address to send a letter. Dissatisfied that I could not speak to a representative who I could discuss issue with. So I then set up a meeting to drive with a rep from corwin so they could witness the issue first hand. Before this meeting I sent a letter dated april 11, 22 to both corwin ford and ford customer relations center. Then on mon., april 25,22, president of corwin took drive in vehicle and he agreed with issue but said he could do nothing that it's a ford manufacturer issue(talk about customer service). Once again called ford customer service who verified they received my letter and was assured I'd get a return call back. I'm concerned with such dynamic pressures that hood may fail and cause an accident besides the absurd noise. My next move is to take it to different dealership since still under warranty. I believe it's a aero dynamic manufacturer defect. Other owners have same issues. Hood is component. Besides noise & vibration hood failure is concern. Vibration & noise confirmed by corwin ford president justin russell. Corwin ford looked at hood and just adjusted hood latch bumpers. I'm planning a visit different ford dealership. No warning indicator. Issue started as soon s I purchased vehicle on first day. Help
CategoryElectrical System, Service Brakes
DateMay 07, 2022
StateKY
Description
In september 2021 the car had 2 incidents of not being able to stop with the brakes while backing down my drive. The auto stop shut down was on. In the first instant I almost hit a senior with a walker. He fell but only scraped his hand and was not hit by the car. The second time, may 2022, the car crashed into the neighbor's front porch and took down a fence, I got out of the car and then fell in the street and broke my pelvis. The third time I was going down the steep drive and was able to steer the car until it stopped. The 4th time
CategoryService Brakes
DateMay 06, 2022
StateWI
Description
My 21 escape hybrid started making sounds like rear brakes hanging up when put in reverse. I initially thought it just might be moisture but the noise is consistent. I took it to a ford dealer and the service manager said that they have had a similar problem with another escape hybrid. Today I had to replace a rear tire due to picking up a nail near the outer edge. The vehicle has about 3,500 miles on it. My mechanic remarked at how scored the rear brake drums were. The fronts were both shiney and smooth. Both rears were pitted and did look like they should after so few miles.
CategoryService Brakes, Unknown Or Other
DateApr 28, 2022
StateMO
Description
The contact owns a 2021 ford escape. The contact stated that while reversing and pressing the brake pedal, there was a loud screeching sound coming from the rear brakes. The vehicle was taken to the local dealer who serviced the rear brake calipers and rotors but the failure continued to occur. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 1,500.
CategoryElectrical System:ignition
DateApr 26, 2022
StateKY
Description
The contact owns a 2021 ford escape. The contact stated while driving approximately 15 mph to enter the freeway, the auto start/stop feature inadvertently stopped the vehicle. There were no warning lights on the instrument panel. The vehicle had to be manually disabled. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who was unable to determine the cause of the failure. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 7,000.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateApr 12, 2022
StateOR
Description
My vehicle 2021 ford escape caught fire
CategoryElectrical System, Hybrid Propulsion System
DateMar 30, 2022
StateVT
Description
The contact owns a 2021 ford escape. The contact stated while driving approximately 5 mph and coming to a complete stop, the vehicle lost motive power and stalled. The failure recurred several times. The battery warning light was illuminated on the instrument panel. The vehicle was not taken to be diagnosed or repaired. The contact related the failure to nhtsa campaign number: 22v149000 (electrical system, hybrid propulsion system) however, the vin was not included. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 4,600.
CategoryService Brakes
DateMar 29, 2022
StateWI
Description
While applying the brakes, it's as if the brakes let go for a split second and then kicks back in again. It's long enough to make your heart jump and think: what the heck? Then it's back to normal. I first noticed it about 3 months into our lease, and it happens about once or twice every week or so. We brought the car in for service yesterday, and they could not find a problem. No warning messages are displayed when this happens. Safety was not compromised, but it is worrisome to have even that brief failure.
CategoryBack Over Prevention: Sensing System: Camera
DateMar 24, 2022
StateNJ
Description
The contact owns a 2021 ford escape. The contact stated that while attempting to reverse, he became aware that the back over protection camera was inoperable. There was no warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the local dealer however, the mechanic was unable to replicate the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 5,618. The contact has stated that when a pedestrian or a vehicle is in view of the back up camera, there is no warning signal to alert them.
CategoryVehicle Speed Control
DateMar 15, 2022
StateMN
Description
When driving with the automatic cruise control engaged it sometimes reads country road signs as speed limit signs. When I turn onto dakota county road 85,as an example, it reads it as 85mph and accelerates to 85mph. I have to cancel the cruise to stop it. The speed limit that is shown on the instrument panel also changes to 85mph. The actual speed limit is 55mph. This has happened several times and on other roads.
CategoryAir Bags
DateMar 13, 2022
StatePA
Description
On dec. 26, 2021, I was in a collision with another vehicle and the driver side airbag failed to activate. I suffered a fractured sternum as a result. The car was a total loss, sent to a yard and sold. I don't know if it is available for inspection. The police report states the air bags were deployed, but only the bottom one was and not the top one. I have a photo of the steering wheel which says “airbag” and shows it did not activate. My insurance company is allstate and deemed the car a total loss.
CategoryPower Train
DateMar 09, 2022
StateVA
Description
The transmission issues has made me stuck at gas stations and other random places at night leaving me with no help
CategoryStructure:body:bumpers:active Shutters/grill
DateMar 07, 2022
StateAZ
Description
The contact owns a 2021 ford escape. The contact stated that while driving at 70 mph, there was an abnormal noise coming from the front end of the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed a floorboard failure. The contact continued to drive the vehicle and the failure persisted. The vehicle was taken to numerous dealers where the failure was unable to be detected. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 5,000.
CategorySteering
DateFeb 26, 2022
StateCT
Description
We bought a new 2021 ford escape and within 2 weeks I noticed the steering would occasionally lock up for a few seconds when making a turn. It got worse over the week and at one turn I had to force the wheel back by using both hands on one side of the wheel causing a grinding sound. I would have driven up onto the sidewalk if I couldn't get it to come back. Brought it to the dealer's service center and was told by the service manager "this is a known issue (something in the steering column disintegrating) and they had fixed this same issue plenty of times before. The have changed the design of the steering column, but did not know if this car had one of the old steering columns or the new ones." there was no warning what-so-ever. I question if this was a known issue, why was there no recall and why wasn't this checked before the car was sold. Someone could have been seriously injured or killed.
CategoryService Brakes
DateFeb 22, 2022
StateFL
Description
The brakes are extremely loud when backing in the morning. I also notice what I would consider a longer breaking time thar I thought was related to the regenerative breaking system. I brought it in once to be looked at and ford tallahassee said its fine. It is not.
CategoryService Brakes, Unknown Or Other
DateFeb 21, 2022
StateTX
Description
Brakes failed and vehicle was totaled
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateFeb 20, 2022
StateMI
Description
It was a four month old car. I was driving and the engine coolant light came on. I traveled an additional 1/4 of a mile and another driver pulled up next to me and said that my car was on fire. I pulled off to the side of the road, and within about a minute, the entire car was engulfed in flames. I was fortunate to get out of the vehicle uninjured, and I promptly notified the deal of what had happened.
CategoryService Brakes
DateFeb 17, 2022
StateMI
Description
1) flapping noise from left front brake. New car with less than 3,300 miles on it. Taken to dealer. Found to have both front brake rotors warped. 2) dealer still has not contacted us about parts availability for recall on brakes (nov 2021) please note that this is the 3rd complaint filed on the same vehicle. Other complaint numbers are 11452046 and 11452039.
CategorySuspension, Wheels
DateFeb 15, 2022
StateMI
Description
Felt sudden, hard bang under left foot while driving approx. 40 mph. Car then lost control. Driver steered to right to get off road, hitting a curb in the process. Found broken left front axle when finally able to stop the car. There were no obstacles or potholes to cause this accident (photos).
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateFeb 15, 2022
StateMI
Description
Passenger wiper arm comes loose and does not maintain position, causing wiper to either not work at all or misalign and cross the driver side wiper. Result is impaired visibility. Both episodes occurred in winter weather. Have had two episodes so far (1/12/22, 2/11/22) both requiring dealer service to re-align wipers to factory spec and tighten. On 2/11/22 both wipers became entangled during freeway driving, destroying both wiper blades and causing dangerous driving conditions due to poor visibility in rainy conditions. On 1/12/12 the dealer's service adviser showed owner location of the screw that holds wiper, and advised that when it comes loose, here's how to tighten it then come to dealer for it to be returned to factory spec. On 2/11/22 the dealer's service tech blamed driver for using windshield wipers "with powerful motors" when it is rainy/icy outside.
CategoryService Brakes
DateJan 26, 2022
StateAR
Description
I was coming to a stop at a red light when my brakes began to get hard to the point to where I couldn't press them down. I then rear ended another vehicle. It seems to me that the power brakes might have failed. After crashing my brakes seem to go back to normal but still felt abnormally stiff. There was no injuries in the accident. The car is under an open recall stating this exact problem. I contacted our local dealer the day I found out about the recall and they told me that the car was to drive and parts would not be available until the 2nd quarter of 2022. The recall also states that it only happened under certain circumstances. I will not be driving the vehicle until after recall is fixed because it is an unsafe vehicle to drive due to not knowing when the brakes might fail again.
CategoryElectrical System, Seat Belts
DateJan 24, 2022
StateCA
Description
I rented this ford escape from avis this month and ran into what could have been an incredibly dangerous safety issue due to a massive oversight in the car's design. I installed a small booster seat in the passenger side back seat for my 10 year-old son. He got in the seat and attached his seat belt, which he has done hundreds of times before in our own car. About 1 hour into a 2-hour freeway trip, a notification went off on the dashboard, telling me that a seat belt in the back had come undone. My son tried frantically to reattach the buckle but was unable. I had to exit the freeway and park on the side of the road. When I tried to reattach the buckle, I saw why there was a problem: he had inserted the buckle into the center receptacle, not the passenger-side one. The receptacle didn't click, as it was probably designed not to do, but because the metal of the buckle has a slight angle to it, there was enough tension for it to temporarily hold. However even a minor accident could have been fatal because my son wasn't property strapped in. There are several issues here. First, the dash indicator should have been designed to tell me that there was weight on the right rear seat but no buckle was attached to that receptacle. Second, the center receptacle did not immediately reject the right-most buckle; instead, the bent angle of the buckle's metal temporarily held it in place and made my 10 year-old believe he was strapped in. Finally, the receptacles themselves have no play from side-to-side. This, plus the angle of the buckle's metal, means that when a booster seat is installed, there is not enough room to fully attach the buckle into the receptacle without exerting a lot of force to push the receptacle to the left. I can't imagine the buckle can be attached at all with a larger child seat. The image I attached shows why this is; attaching a car seat requires exerting enough force to bend the metal holding the receptacle in order to attach the buckle.
CategoryService Brakes, Hydraulic, Service Brakes, Hydraulic
DateJan 18, 2022
StateUT
Description
The contact owns a 2021 ford escape. The contact received a recall notification for nhtsa campaign number: 21v922000 (service brakes, hydraulic) however, the part to do the recall repair was not yet available. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Vin tool confirms parts not available.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Warnings, Service Brakes
DateJan 13, 2022
StateMI
Description
My daughter was coasting and the person in front of her slammed on their brakes causing her to slam on hers. Her collision warning did not go off until after she hit the car in front of her so she had didn't have enough time to stop. We pulled off into a parking lot and called the police to inspect the cars. Two weeks later there was a recall on the back brake pads. She ended up getting a ticket for impeding traffic which ended up costing 0. 00 plus . 50 for fees. I also have damage to the grille and bumper on my car that needs to get fixed.
CategoryEngine, Fuel/propulsion System, Unknown Or Other
DateJan 12, 2022
StateMI
Description
While driving on the interstate a fire started under the hood and shortly after smoke entered the driver cabin. Luckily I was able to pull over and get out of the vehicle before the fire reached the driver cabin. It is going to be investigated by a company hired by aaa, the appraiser from the insurance company was not able to find a cause due to the fire damage being too bad. The first warning message was engine coolant overtemperature and a couple of others followed.
CategoryEngine
DateJan 03, 2022
StateCA
Description
The electric motor cooling pump failed and shut down the engine without warning. It occurred the first time on route 1 at night and about two weeks later it occurred three consecutive times as I was driving on a local street. I was able to restart the car but was told by the dealership to have it towed to them, where it remains now while waiting for the part to arrive (which is on national back order). My safety and the safety of others was put at risk when I lost all power and only through sheer luck was I able to pull over safely. This problem was diagnosed at the dealership.
CategoryService Brakes
DateDec 28, 2021
StateNJ
Description
The contact owns a 2021 ford escape. The contact stated that while driving in reverse, a loud grinding sound was present while depressing the brake pedal. The contact indicated that the failure mainly occurred after the vehicle was not used for an overnight period. The vehicle was taken to the local dealer who replaced the brake rotors, but the sound continued to occur. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 1,000.
CategoryService Brakes
DateDec 17, 2021
StateOH
Description
Wife was driving vehicle. Came to intersection at end of our street. Applied brakes. Brakes did not work. Went through intersection crashed into tree. Injured, taken to hospital, vehicle towed, police report made. Vehicle is available for inspection. Would like to have vehicle inspected! Not yet inspected by anyone. No warning of problem. Vehicle has about 250 miles on it. Just leased on dec 2, 2021.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateDec 13, 2021
StateAL
Description
Stopped at a red light on 3 lane highway, in middle lane. When light turned green, I tried to accelerate as usual, but the car (hybrid) would not go. Message on dashboard was "stop safely now". Car was coasting about 5 mph. I was able to get barely off the road. I could turn the car on/off but could not get out of park and continued to receive this message. This vehicle is new, purchased less than a month ago now has 140 miles. Had to be towed to dealership. Since this occurred I have found a recall on a few other escape hybrids with the same issue. Recall 21s31. The diagnostics of the car indicate same situation occurred on 11/29 but must have self-corrected.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateDec 12, 2021
StateAL
Description
Stopped in the middle of three lanes at a red light, when light turned green car, which is a hybrid did not power back up. I could not accelerate. Message on dashboard was stop now with red triangle symbol. I was on a state highway in heavy traffic. 55 mph speed limit. Going about 8 mph with flashers on I eventually got to right side of road. Car was then locked into park. , would start but immediately received same message. Vehicle has 130 miles on it. Was towed to dealer.
CategoryService Brakes
DateDec 06, 2021
StateIL
Description
The contact owns a 2021 ford escape. The contact stated that while the vehicle was in reverse, an abnormally loud humming noise would emit from the vehicle upon depression of the brake pedal without warning. The contact had taken the vehicle to the dealer on numerous occasions and on the latest visit, she had the brake pads replaced; however, the failure persisted. The manufacturer had been notified of the failure and a case was filed. The vehicle had yet to be repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 2,000.
CategoryEngine
DateNov 18, 2021
StateMI
Description
The contact owns a 2021 ford escape. The contact stated while driving 65 mph, the vehicle began vibrating and the contact heard an abnormal noise. The contact stated no warning light was illuminated. The contact was able to drive to his destination. The contact took the vehicle to local dealer and was informed that there was no remedy for the failure. The vehicle was not repaired but was pending repairs. The manufacturer had been informed of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 700.
CategoryVehicle Speed Control:accelerator Pedal
DateNov 05, 2021
StateMI
Description
The contact owns a 2021 ford escape. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, her foot would repeatedly slip off the accelerator pedal and go underneath the brake pedal. The contact stated that this could lead to a potential failure while driving at high speeds. The contact also noted that the accelerator pedal was too small for normal operation. The contact had taken the vehicle to the dealer where they acknowledged a potential failure with the small accelerator pedal and the contact was referred to the manufacturer for assistance. The manufacturer was notified, and the contact was given a claim number. She was then referred to nhtsa for further assistance. The vehicle had yet to be repaired. The failure mileage was 0.
CategoryFuel/propulsion System
DateJul 27, 2021
StateMI
Description
Vehicle was being driven down the road. Vehicle stalled. Check engine light came on. Attempted to restart vehicle but vehicle stalled again. Smelled fuel. Heard a boom then fire ignited. Fire came from the underside of vehicle and flames were rising on driver side of vehicle with black smoke. Attempted to exit vehicle from driver side door but was unable to do so due to flames. Crawled over to passenger side of vehicle and exited the vehicle. Fire department extinguished the fire with water. Fire reignited and fire department extinguished fire again. Insurance company inspected the vehicle but was unable to determine root cause of fire.
CategoryPower Train
DateJul 20, 2021
StateSC
Description
The transmission automatically went into park in the middle of an intersection and was inoperable from that time and had to be towed from the intersection.
CategoryEngine
DateJul 19, 2021
StateOH
Description
The contact's daughter owned a 2021 ford escape. The contact stated that while her daughter was driving at an unknown speed, the coolant warning light illuminated. As the contact's daughter began to pull over, she began to lose control of the vehicle as a black smoke started coming from the engine. The vehicle caught on fire once the contact's daughter had exited the vehicle. The fire department arrived at the scene and was able to extinguish the fire. A fire report was filed. There was no injury reported. Due to the failure, the vehicle was initially towed to a tow yard however, the current location of the vehicle was unknown. The contact's daughter notified the dealer of the failure and a week later and she was informed that an investigation would be started. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The vehicle was destroyed. The failure mileage was unknown.
CategoryStructure:body:hatchback/liftgate
DateJun 23, 2021
StateTN
Description
2021 ford escape phev power liftgate. First three weeks (320 miles) of ownership the power liftgate opened or closed spontaneously 5-6. On each occasion the engine/electric was off, the car was in park and the parking brake on. While still in the cabin the liftgate opened spontaneously opened. On three occasions the liftgate closed spontaneously. My foot was not near the foot-activated mechanism. On the last occasion, I was unloading 50# bags from the cargo area and the gate came down, no injury. On one occasion the liftgate opened and hit the control arm of my garage door creasing the sheet metal and causing 0. 00 of damage. The car has been examined by the dealer, the problem did not duplicate due to its random nature. No repair and no advice. Ford notified and case number started.
CategoryElectrical System, Power Train
DateJun 02, 2021
StateCA
Description
High voltage battery warning occurs and gives possibility of shutting the car down

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.

Share your story

Does this ring a bell? Have you had a bad experience too? Sound off and share your experience with other visitors in the comment box below.

Brian Jones

About the Author:

Brian Jones spent more than 20 years working as an ASE Certified Master Tech and Parts Specialist at multiple dealerships. Brian has become an authority in the industry, traveling across the country to consult for car dealerships and contributing his expertise as a writer for several major automotive publications. In his spare time, Brian enjoys working on pickup trucks, muscle cars, Jeeps and anything related to motorsports.

See more posts from Brian Jones
4 COMMENTS
  • Rich

    I leased a 2021 Ford Escape SE I took the vehicle in for two recalls, the brakes and the oil separator. The vehicle was also in twice for air seal leaks. They repaired the leaks but caused an interior rattle by performing the work. The brakes now coat the rims with thick black brake dust and make loud creaking noises. They would not fix the issue so I had to buy myself out of the lease.

  • Rod T

    I just traded my 2019 F150 for a ’21 Escape. The F150 4-wheel drive system has gone out twice in a year and a half! Same thing both times! No more F150’s in my life! Now I read about these Escape problems and I was just bent over the table for one!!! THAT’S JUST GREAT!

  • Lee G

    I am so happy to read this article. My name is Lee I purchased my 2013 Ford Escape May 2019. From the moment I drove it off the lot the truck started jerking. I had to return the vehicle over 20 times since then. The existing problem is while I’m driving the gauge goes to H…high a message pops up saying Engine to hot slowing down for safety. Then stalls. I’ve been stuck in remote places up to 8 hours one time. After getting towed Consistently to the funding company I was told my warranty is expired because I had to many miles. I’ve been paying for repairs and making difficult car note payments. Please help me. I recently just paid 500 yesterday and 300 last week to the funding company. I alerted them of a recall. I need legal help as I have 5 grandbabies who rides in this vehicle and I’m scared to death they wi get stuck with me someday.

  • Nancy R

    I own a 2018 Escape, 34,500 miles on it. As I write this, my car is in the shop at the Ford Dealership getting it’s THIRD engine!! Not a happy camper!!

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead you can to our legal team.

Please select your star rating.

Briefly describe your experience Briefly describe your experience

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? Please enter a valid phone number

Want to know if you could sue? Get a free legal evaluation Lemberg Law?

Get Your No-Obligation
Case Evaluation

Send a secure message to our legal team.

What’s your name? What’s your name?
What’s your email address? What’s your email address?
What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?
Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem
Confidentiality Guarantee: We keep your information completely confidential and will not send you spam or sell your information.