2018 Kia Sportage Problems and Top Complaints – Is Your Car A Lemon?

Brakes, electrical, engine and powertrain issues among the top complaints received by the NHTSA from vehicle owners

By Brian Jones | Updated on

By Brian Jones | Updated on

While there are plenty of compact SUVs on the market, the unique style of the 2018 Kia Sportage helped it to stand out among others. Even the automaker claims that the newer models “command the road.” The trouble is that most owners agree that it is commanding, but in terms of unending problems. It continues to face trouble with the engine, powertrain, electrical system and service brakes until drivers simply have had enough and demand action.

Click on other model year to view more problems: 2017   2019   2020   2021   2022   2023

Don’t be stuck with a lemon. You have legal rights to cash, return or buyback.

The law makes Kia pay legal fees.

We've fixed thousands of lemon problems. Message or call 877-795-3666 today.

NHTSA Complaints for the 2018 Kia Sportage

Complaint CategoryNumber of Complaints
Engine
32
Electrical System
16
Unknown Or Other
10
Steering
9
Power Train
9
Fuel/propulsion System
4
Vehicle Speed Control
4
Service Brakes, Hydraulic
4
Visibility/wiper
4
Service Brakes
3

Problems with the Engine

Engines are one of the most vital components in any new vehicle. With the right amount of power and durability, consumers couldn’t be happier and more satisfied. Yet, the 2018 Kia Sportage has provided nothing but complaints.

Just look at this NHTSA review. “Vehicle suddenly decelerated to 20 mph on one way highway in a passing zone. Problem then diagnosed as engine failure. 5 weeks later, with vehicle still out of service, diagnosed instead as wiring harness problem. Wiring harness replaced. Brand new car, 11 months old, 5,925 miles, service with first oil change 5 days before problem occurred. Kia Roadside Assistance had no regard for my safety on the side of a dangerous freeway and had to be resolved two hours later with AAA Service Towing. Still no reimbursement from Kia.”

It’s possible that this issue isn’t getting the recognition it deserves because of a massive recall affecting Kia engines. It turns out that a high-pressure fuel pipe might leak, which can lead to a fire. NHTSA Campaign Number 18V907000 talks about a defect with the engine or Knock Sensor Detection System installed in nearly 70,000 vehicles. More about that sensor in a minute! Either way, these SUVs can’t possibly command the road, when they can’t even operate.

Here are some actual complaints logged with the NHTSA about the 2018 Kia Sportage Engine Problems:

I HAD A TOTAL ENGINE FAILURE ON I-75 WITH MY 2018 KIA SPORTAGE WITH JUST OVER 18,000 MILES. MY INSURANCE CARRIER (USAA) PERSON I SPOKE WITH SAID I WAS THE THIRD PERSON SHE HAS SPOKEN WITH IN THE LAST WEEK THAT HAD THE SAME MAKE & MODEL NUMBER THAT THE ENGINE FAILED. SHE SAID ONE PERSON WAS TOLD BY HER DEALER IT COULD BE SIX MONTHS BEFORE THEY CAN GET HER AN ENGINE. I AM IN NAPLES FLORIDA AND DEAL WITH AIRPORT KIA IN NAPLES, FL.

AFTER ECU UPGRADED UNDER “PRODUCT IMPROVEMENT CAMPAIGN”, ENGINE SUFFERED SEVERE LOSS OF POWER WHILE TRAVELING AT HIGHWAY SPEED, LEADING TO RAPID LOSS OF SPEED. LESS THAN 9K MILES ON VEHICLE.

ENGINE FAILED TO RUN AT SPEED, DROPPED TO 20 MPH AND WOULD NOT MOVE ANY FASTER.

ENGINE WAS UPDATED REGARDING SOFTWARE , BUT ENGINE SHUT DOWN WHILE IN HWY OPERATION AT ACCELERATING SPEEDS AND IMMEDIATELY SHUT DOWN REDUCING SPEED TO 20 MPH MAY CAUSE FATAL ACCIDENT IF TRATOR TRAILER REAR ENDS YOU DURING THIS OCCURACE SINCE ONE WAS COMING UP OR TRAFFIC IN GENERAL CONSIDERING PEOPLE DON’T REACT ANYMORE.DEALERS SEEM RELUCTANT TO REPORTS THESE OCCURANCES.

Problems with the Transmission

What about the powertrain? Is it as defective as the engines are in these Sportage models?

Let’s see what an NHTSA complaint has to say. “I’ve been experiencing a transmission issue. I’ll be driving along, steadily with speed control set at 70 and all of a sudden my engine and RPM gauge will rev up down shift and then go back to normal. My speed doesn’t change, no lights go on, just the rev-ing sound and the gauge goes up it also happening at low speeds as well, it’s vey alarming to me. I’ve checked with Kia and they’re aware of the issue but state that there is currently no recall or alert as to what exactly the problem is, it also intermittently will have acceleration on take off. Has been back to the Kia dealer twice, the last time was told by general manager and service manager and they have no clue, and general manager was very rude and tried to just sale me another vehicle. When I declined he got very unprofessional and seemed he was not concerned of the warranty and to take it back to dealer that sold it to me 600 miles away.”

With Service Bulletin #TSBTRA076, it is made clear that there are transmission issues that result in an intermittent shift flare concern. To repair this, the technicians must update the TCU. In the meantime, the Sportage acts as if it doesn’t know how to shift. It must be difficult to command the road when the vehicle is bucking all around.

Here are some actual complaints logged with the NHTSA about the 2018 Kia Sportage Transmission Problems:

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2018 KIA SPORTAGE. WHEN THE CONTACT ATTEMPTED TO ACCELERATE FROM A STOP OR LOW SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE FAILED TO ACCELERATE IN A TIMELY MANNER. THE FAILURE WAS EXPERIENCED SEVERAL TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN UNKNOWN DEALER FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING, BUT A FAILURE CODE WAS NOT LOCATED. THE DEALER ALSO TEST DROVE THE VEHICLE AND WAS UNABLE TO DUPLICATE THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

2018 KIA SPORTAGE 4D 4X4 WHILE IN “PARK” ROLLED DOWN HOME DRIVEWAY. VEHICLE ROLLED INTO STREET, WHILE WIFE HOLDING ONE YEAR OLD SON DODGED VEHICLE TO AVOID GETTING CRUSHED.

Problems with the Electrical System

With the electrical components, there is just so much that can go wrong. Without highly qualified engineers, the vehicle can quickly turn into one big headache, which is exactly what we see with this Sportage model.

One NHTSA review says, “High pitched whirring sound lasting 10 to 15 seconds when car is parked a day or more after driving. Has happened 4 times we have heard it. Vehicle has 1200 miles on it. Occurs intermittently. It sounds to me like the starter motor running.”

Electrical problems can range from minor nuisances, such as noise to extreme dangers. For example, with Service Bulletin #VPI1802_TSB_R5, it is stated that the ECU requires a software update and the techs must install a Knock Sensor Detection System to protect the engine from excessive connecting rod bearing damage. If you remember, this is the same sensor that sparked the recall from earlier. So, Kia installed a sensor to prevent damage but ended up creating more problems. Clearly, anyone that wants to command the road should get into another vehicle.

Here are some actual complaints logged with the NHTSA about the 2018 Kia Sportage Electrical Problems:

ALL OF THE LIGHTS ON MY DASHBOARD COME ON AND WHEN THIS HAPPENS IT’S GENERALLY NIGHT TIME. I CAN’T DRIVE MY CAR WITH THE HEADLIGHTS ON BECAUSE IF I CUT THEM ON MY CAR WON’T MOVE AND MY REAR VIEW CAMERA WILL NOT WORK. THE FIRST TIME THIS HAPPENED IT WAS 05/18/2019. I WAS DRIVING IN THE EVENING HOURS TO PICK MY SON UP FROM WORK I NOTICED THAT THE CAR STARTED TO SLOW DOWN AS I HAD MY FOOT ON THE ACCELERATOR, I PULLED THE CAR TO THE SIDE BEFORE IT STOPPED AND TURNED EVERYTHING OFF. I WAITED A FEW MINUTES CUT IT BACK ON AND EVERY LIGHT ON THE DASHBOARD WAS ON. I COULDN’T MOVE MY CAR I CUT THE HEADLINE OFF AND IT PROCEEDED TO MOVE. HOWEVER AT THAT TIME OF NIGHT I NEED LIGHTS. THE NEXT MORNING I TOOK THE CAR TO BERWYN KIA IN BERWYN ILLINOIS AND WAS TOLD THAT A SOFTWARE UPDATE WAS NEEDED, TOOK 30 MINUTES AND I WAS GONE. A WEEK OR TWO LATER I WAS RIGHT BACK WITH EXACT SAME ISSUE AND WAS TOLD IT WAS A HARNESS PROBLEM AND HEY WOULD GET IT FIXED. MY CAR WAS HERE FOR A MONTH. I PICKED MY CAR UP AND 07/03/2019 IT HAPPENED AGAIN AND I HAVE VIDEO FOOTAGE FOR EACH INCIDENT. I CALLED KIA CUSTOMER SERVICE AND SPOKE WITH THEM AND I AM NOW BEING THE CAR BACK AGAIN ON 07/17/2019 BECAUSE ALL OF THE ISSUES HAVE HAPPENED AGAIN!!

Problems with the Brakes

When it comes to brakes, no one wants to hear that this system is malfunctioning. Yet, that’s precisely what Sportage owners face daily.

One NHTSA complaint says, “I purchased my 2018 Kia Sportage EX brand new 6-18-18. Less than 100 miles on the car and the dashboard instrument lights went dark while driving on the highway in the dark. I brought it back to the dealer, they had to order a new gauge dimmer cluster because the original failed. Several weeks later the brakes began violently shaking the car when braking on the highway. Again, I brought it back to the dealer and they resurfaced the brake rotors due to warping. Several months later, on 1-28-19, the engine died on the highway placing the vehicle into Limp Home Mode. I almost got hit by a tractor trailer trying to get to the breakdown lane without ample engine power. I immediately drove it to the dealer and it has been there ever since. I got the BBB involved now and I am trying to get the Lemon Law in place. I am currently in a rental.”

It’s evident that this owner dealt with multiple Sportage issues, which must have been frustrating. While we don’t see any communication about the brakes, we do see plenty of others showcasing how poorly these vehicles were constructed. Service Bulletin #PS610 is one example because it talks about how the seat belts are mismatched and won’t work properly. How does something like that even occur? Were the engineers so interested in finding ways to command the road that they forgot to strap people in? It seems that the Sportage engineers failed on so many levels.

Here are some actual complaints logged with the NHTSA about the 2018 Kia Sportage Brake Problems:

ALL ELECTRICAL MALFUNCTION AND LOSS OF STEERING AND BRAKES RESULTING IN HEADING CRASH

Your Lemon Law Legal Rights

Think you have a lemon? Sit back and let the experts work out your lemon case at no cost to you. The law makes Kia pay legal fees. You may be able to get your lemon out of your life. Every year, auto manufacturers buy back, replace or pay cash settlements to thousands of ‘lemon’ owners like you.

Complaint Data

CategoryEngine
DateDec 02, 2022
StateIL
Description
The rpm randomly goes up and down frequently. When I took it in to the dealer they test drove it and said didn't do it and blew me off.
CategoryTrailer Hitches
DateNov 29, 2022
StateCT
Description
The contact owns a 2018 kia sportage. The contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 22v703000 (trailer hitches) however, the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that he called the dealer and was advised to contact the manufacturer to confirm parts availability. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue and a case was opened. The contact was concerned about parking the vehicle outside the garage. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.
CategoryElectrical System, Steering
DateOct 17, 2022
StateCO
Description
My car was stolen from the kia challenge
CategoryPower Train
DateOct 08, 2022
StateTX
Description
Driving at highway speeds the rpm would suddenly rev up very fast and the car would appear to be in neutral then soon go back to normal. On another occasion, taking a turn at 15 mph the car became as if in neutral, rpm would go very high, then shortly the rpm would drop and the car would be back in drive. The car was taken to the dealership, they checked it, noted that they could not duplicate the problem, and will not take any further action unless it repeats. The danger is if this occurs when driving into traffic, turning into traffic, driving on a freeway and the engine slips into the neutral mode, a collision can occur , risking injury, life and property. The only warning was the rpm going up very fast, and the car not reacting to pushing on the gas pedal. Attached is a pdf file that includes some summaries summaries of issues from web sites relating transmission problems of slipping into neutral.
CategoryPower Train, Unknown Or Other
DateSep 26, 2022
StateIL
Description
While the 2018 kia sportage is in drive proceeding forward I have noticed on numerous occasions the transmission just dies out. When stepping on the gas, you can hear the engine rev but for a few seconds, there is no reaction by the transmission and the vehicle doesn't increase in speed; the vehicle just coasts. This occurs intermittently. While on highway travel this possesses a danger as other vehicles can approach your vehicle quickly and they might not notice you're having a mechanical malfunction. I tried to make appointments with the kia dealership. The vehicle is a 2018 and has 25,000 miles. They threaten me with big bills if the vehicle is not covered under warranty. I finally made the appointment and when I dropped the vehicle off they said it would take more than a week to diagnose the vehicle. There are no warning lamps, bells, buzzers, or any notice being given to the driver that a mechanical malfunction is occurring.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateSep 24, 2022
StateWV
Description
Windshield cracking for no reason. No chips to signify it was hit. Noticed a zigzag on friday 9/23 approximately 12" and this evening 9/24 has gone laterally an additional 6-8"
CategoryEngine
DateSep 21, 2022
StateIL
Description
9/15 car goes in limp mode on expressway. Get to towed to dealership. Get the car back on 9/17. Only make it about 20 miles, and the same thing happens again. I'm able to make it back to the dealership the same day. On my way home. Pick up the car on 9/19. Happens again on 9/20. Now I am being told I need a full engine replacement. The dealership has no loaners to give out. They are expecting me to pay for a rental in hopes of getting reimbursed. I am a single mom. I work in sales and drive in my territory every single day I do not have the money to put out for the rental and now after researching, it could be months before I get the car back.
CategoryEngine
DateAug 19, 2022
StateTX
Description
I was driving and the car and it just stopped. The oil light and engine light came on and now it's making a clicking noise, now. I am not driving the car but I was told that my car had no oil in it and investigation was conducted by a shop that confirmed that the last oil change was conducted as expected, on july 30, 2022. A professional mechanic advised me to contact you all and inform you all of what happen and that you all have made consumers aware of the possible issues that could occur and actually happened.
CategoryEngine
DateAug 12, 2022
StateWV
Description
My check engine light came on. I had the code diagnosis done and it came back p200a. When I try to accelerate, my car will not accelerate up hills or on the interstate. I've noticed this happening occasionally before the check engine light came on but the car wouldn't do it when I took it to the dealer when it was still under warranty and since the check engine light wasn't on at the time, they said there was nothing they could do. I've also noticed on occasion the car dashboard and radio will randomly flash when I am driving.
CategoryElectrical System
DateAug 03, 2022
StateCA
Description
Electrical system keeps on shortening out the brake lights.
CategoryStructure:body
DateJul 21, 2022
StateNC
Description
White pearl paint chipping off on front bumper and hood.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateJul 20, 2022
StateCA
Description
Driving on the freeway when the glass on the driver side passenger door suddenlty shattered into little pieces. The only portion of the window that remains is a small part on the bottom edge. The window was not hit with an object. The window was intact prior to this happening (no problem with the door either).
CategoryEngine
DateJul 19, 2022
StateCA
Description
My car engine failed due to extreme oil consumption. It ran out of oil completely after 2k miles from my last synthetic oil change and damaged my 3rd cylinder. I have maintained the car perfectly and done all recommended repairs. My car only has 66k miles and already needs a new engine.
CategoryStructure:body
DateJul 09, 2022
StateTX
Description
The clear coat on my 2018 kia sportage has started to peel on side mirrors and roof.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJun 17, 2022
StateFL
Description
Kia motors is at it again, my disabled husband took car in twice to dealer, who is licensed to sell and fix your vehicles , promised loaner car, on fixed income, fighting cancer, see attached documents, emails from kia, been going on 7 years, first soul now sportage. Courtesy kia of brandon , months back came to our home and allegedly did the latest recall on fuses, thought that was done, courtesy kia of brandon told my husband no outstanding recalls, now kia writes and states needs to be done? Who is keeping records. We had kids put on couple years ago, then car went into limp mode almost got my husband killed. Kia had our car towed, brought loaner. We cannot afford rental. That was halfway repair with ext on wiring harness???, now lights on dash going on and off. See attached, kia could care less and now, we were lied to? The person they sent didn't repair the fuses? Kia paid the government a fortune in fines but the defective car owners are always in danger and always getting the run around. [xxx], mr. [xxx], plz excuse spelling. Even [xxx] from safety organization says these cars need to be off the road. Our car is malfunctioning, and we were blatantly lied to is recall on fuses? Repair. Senator [xxx] helped with this, we need someone to step up. [xxx] and [xxx], see all documents going back to 2015. Information redacted pursuant to the freedom of information act (foia), 5 u. S. C. 552(b)(6).
CategorySteering, Unknown Or Other
DateJan 26, 2022
StateWI
Description
This kia sportage's alarm system does not go off when the passenger front window is broken. My car was broken into and the youth stripped the steering column and was able to start my car without needing the key nor having the key within the vehicle. This is a security issue and allows the vehicles to be easily stolen. These safety issues should be address and fixed immediately by kia. The federal government should also hold kia responsible for the spike in stolen vehicles across the u. S. Seeing they know about the issue but have done nothing to fix it. The vehicle was then crashed and left running by the youth. I have included the estimate from progressive to get it fixed.
CategoryEngine
DateJan 24, 2022
StateCT
Description
The contact owns a 2018 kia sportage. The contact stated that while driving a knocking noise was suddenly present coming from the engine and warning messages were present on the dashboard display before the vehicle stalled. Later while attempting the start the engine a burning odor and smoke were present coming from the engine compartment. The engine was turned off and the smoke dissipated. The cause of the failures was not determined. The local dealer and manufacturer were notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 86,000.
CategoryPower Train
DateNov 23, 2021
StateCA
Description
Intermittently, the car's transmission slips out of gear completely, around 30-40 mph. It gets back into gear after a few seconds. At times, it has presented a safety risk especially when attempting to merge on a highway in a short merge lane. When the slipping occurs in this situation, the car no longer accelerates and merging into traffic becomes very problematic and increases the risk of a rear end collision, putting me and my passengers at risk as well as a risk to others the problem has not been reproduced or confirmed by the dealer. It started occurring immediately after I purchased the car used while still under the manufacturers warranty. Because the dealer service department could not replicate the issue, no further attempt to diagnose the issue has been conducted, such as a transmission tear down. I've taken it to the dealer at least 3 times for this issue and have documentation. I elevated the issue to the manufacturer but they have offered no solution to the issue because it cannot be replicated by the dealer and there is no recall or other service issue with the model. Melissa from the kia escalation department contacted me today offered no resolution to the matter. There were no warning lamps or other messages which indicated a problem. The kia forum website reveals that I am not the only one with this issue. Https://www. Kia-forums. Com/threads/transmission-slipping. 288137/page-5
CategoryEngine
DateNov 22, 2021
StateMA
Description
Vehicle engine accelerated and raced without warning with foot on brake. Has occurred on several occasions with different household operators. Vehicle has about 18,000 miles.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine, Steering
DateNov 19, 2021
StateIN
Description
I was driving and the radio went out along with navigation screen, then power steering went out along with headlights, tail lights. Engine was still running but would not rev up. All kinds of warning lights went off, had a harder time steering vehicle out of the road way. Engine eventually shut off. My dealer said my starter had a continuous draw on my battery and drained it. This was on 11/10/21. They replaced the starter and the battery. Got vehicle back on 11/10. Last night 11/18/21 I was driving my vehicle again at night and the same thing happened again, no lights, no power steering, no electronics in the vehicle worked. Got someone to jump my vehicle, we let it charge from the jumper and got the vehicle started again. Drove 4 miles down the road, same thing again. Had my wife come there and we again put jumper cables on for 20 minutes, was able to drive the vehicle home, did notice this time I had a check engine light. Have scheduled an appointment with my dealer again. I feel that on a dark country road with limited areas to pull over with no headlights or tail lights or 4 way flashers I could have easily been rear ended. I did have cars pass me and blow their horn at me, did finally make it to a cross road with a street light and got off the main road. The dealer has not set an appointment yet, vehicle would be available for inspection, if needed.
CategoryEngine And Engine Cooling:engine, Service Brakes, Hydraulic
DateOct 18, 2021
StateAL
Description
The contact owns a 2018 kia sportage. The contact stated while driving 25 mph, the contact noticed a strong odor of gasoline in the interior of the vehicle. Additionally, the check engine warning light was illuminated. The contact took the vehicle to a local dealer who inspected the vehicle but was unable to determine the cause of the failure. The contact later received notification for nhtsa campaign number: 21v137000 (service brakes, hydraulic). The contact took the vehicle to the local dealer for the recall repair however, the vehicle was not repaired. The contact was informed to pick up the vehicle. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 16,147.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine
DateAug 30, 2021
StateTX
Description
Kia knowing that they are selling nothing but junk to consumers are refusing to provide any assistance to customers whom pay 25+k for their trash called vechicles. Kia has recalled my vechicle 2× now for motor and ecu problems and now my vechicle is having electrical problems and had to be towed to a dealership to be looked at. This dealership is not looking to find out where the electrician problem is coming from and when I contact kia america they are refusing any assistance to help me get their 25k piece of trash back on the road. When is the nthsa going to do something and hold these car companies responsible for the junk they are selling!!!
CategoryElectrical System, Structure:interior Panels:dashboard
DateJul 29, 2021
StateCA
Description
Car dash lights will go dim and when I drive I feel like I'm not getting enough power and when I drive my car will pull
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJun 16, 2021
StateIL
Description
I was driving to work, sitting at a stoplight when my car started releasing smoke from under the hood. All warning lights lit up, the car stalled, and the smoke got darker and more intense. Within a minute, flames started appearing under the front of the vehicle and began spreading towards the back of the car
CategoryElectrical System, Engine
DateJun 07, 2021
StateMI
Description
When you turn off the car via push button the car engine won't shut off. The computer system shuts down but the engine continues to run. I've taken to the dealership three times to repair and it is still an issue. Engine isn't diesel'ing as the gas pedal still works with the car off. When this happens the vehicles computer system itself is fully off. Kia roadside won't dispatch in this situation as they say “they aren't mechanics”. The only thing you can do to shut the car off no matter how many times you attempt to restart is to go inside the engine compartment and pull the fuel pump fuse and starve the engine. There is no difference in engine sound between the on and off computer state, car is quiet so it could be easily missed by someone not paying attention. The car doors will not lock in this situation. Originally when this happened the car would throw tons of codes (I have it on video) now after the supposed fix (aka the computer update for the recall that was supposed to fix my issue) it no longer throws any codes. Now when the issue happens the vehicle appears to actually shut down fully except you can hear the engine not shutting down but not a single code registers. Shifter is completely locked out in this situation and will not re-engage until the engine has been choked out.
CategoryService Brakes, Hydraulic
DateMay 18, 2021
StateNJ
Description
The contact owns a 2018 kia sportage. The contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 21v137000 (service brakes, hydraulic) however, the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact contacted two dealers who both confirmed that the parts were not yet available and would take approximately 1- 2 months to be received from the manufacturer. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced failure. Parts distribution disconnect.
CategoryService Brakes, Hydraulic
DateMay 18, 2021
StateCA
Description
The contact owns a 2018 kia sportage. The contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 21v137000 (service brakes, hydraulic) however, the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The vehicle was taken to the kia dealer where it was confirmed that the part was not yet available. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.
CategoryService Brakes, Hydraulic
DateMay 17, 2021
StateCA
Description
The contact owns a 2018 kia sportage. The contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 21v137000 (service brakes, hydraulic) however, the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact called the local dealer an it was confirmed that the part was not yet available. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.
CategoryElectrical System, Power Train, Steering
DateMay 14, 2021
StateTX
Description
Initially, I attempted to crank the vehicle by pressing the starter button. I heard a click and noticed quick flashing lights from the dash, then nothing happened except clicks, noises and minimal light as if the battery was down. There was nothing on inside the car to cause battery failure. The brake was hard to press down to restart the vehicle. Therefore, I opted to jump-start the car and it immediately powered up. All of the lights on the dashboard flashed on a few times then the letters afls appeared on the dashboard. The radio/gps display continued to flicker and flash on and off nonstop as I continued to drive. I allowed the car to run for 5 minutes at home then proceeded to drive. After driving for 25 minutes on the highway, I turned to park, the steering wheel locked then unlocked in the process. I stopped to check to make sure that I was in the proper gear, still in disbelief that this steering wheel locking was occurring. I proceeded to back up the vehicle when the wheel locked again. I checked to see if the car was still running after that harder lock/jerk in the parking lot. I stopped the car, placed it in park without turning off the engine to gather myself because this was a very frightening and alarming experience to say the least. I didn't turn off the engine because I was uncertain if it would restart considering what occurred earlier with jump-starting the car. I drove back home making a concerted effort to drive slowly on the street. I then entered the open ramp onto the highway. I took extreme precautions and hoping that the steering wheel would not lock again which may have further caused my family and I to be placed into harm's way, not to mention the other drivers to be in danger on the road. I hope that immediate attention will be given to this matter to avoid further terror and trepidation, any injuries and/or loss of life.
CategoryEngine, Fuel/propulsion System
DateApr 13, 2021
StateFL
Description
Addendum to complaint on kia motors,kia america, citrus kia , their sell of first a brand new 2015 kia soul,now recalled 5 yrs later after we begged for help. We are 2 disabled person s who were duped by kia and citrus, traded in going into further debt after getting no where with nhtsa, kia etc. Kia motors traded and financed a brand new 2018 kia sportage only to have dangerous problems with it. Kia knowingly sold us 2 dangerous vehicle s, we had the knock sensor installed per the "upgrade", farce, should be recall. The car stalled in traffic and another dealership put in a wiring harness extension. We only have 13,000 miles on this car because we do not feel safe. The dealership did an oil change last year and day before yesterday. I received a text that our fuel needed additive. It is in " fair condition", recommend with every oil change. Not true, never recommended before and 13,000 miles. It should not need additive anywhere. See attached screenshot. I fully believe they are covering up even more as it relates to the problem ie settlement? Seriously. Our car is worth nothing. I implore our new head of transportation to look into our complaints since 2015 to include the inquiry by senator marco rubio. Joseph and julie mraz ♿ kia soul 2015 to kia sportage 2018. Black book value, resale value, insurance premium increase, how many times will kia be allowed to steal from us ?. This is dangerous on and off the road.
CategoryElectrical System
DateApr 12, 2021
StateCA
Description
According to kia which they posted at their website, electrical circuit within hecu may experience excessive current, thereby increasing the risk of an engine compartment fire. Took the car to dealer, had no parts, as of 4/12/21 no kia dealer has this part. Called kia, they supposedly going to ship parts end of april. They have no concern about public safety, despite I told them I can rent a car but you have to pay for it, that declined. Question is, why they haven't informed public and send the hecu parts to their dealers sooner? Taking risk to drive a car which has potential to cut fire seems not safe and displays kia negligence.
CategoryEngine, Fuel/propulsion System, Power Train
DateNov 04, 2020
StateMT
Description
I bought this car in may of 2020 with 44k on the odometer. Three days later I was on a 3400 mile road trip on the highway when I started hearing knocking from the engine bay. I took it in and had them listen. They told me it was completely normal. The knock went away for about 400 miles then came back. I took it in to 4 different dealerships. I got told there had been a recall on the motor but that it had been fixed already. The day after I got home the car died at 30 mph on the way home from work and left me in the middle of a very busy intersection almost causing me to get hit. Took it in and it took them 4 days to find a bad fuse. The car over the next 3 months popped 12 fuses and kept dyeing on the road. Then I started having problems with it not turning over. Took it to a different dealership and they found a bad fuel pump and starter as well as a battery drain thats killed three batteries. Took the car to kia 9 different times to get looked at. 7 of those times they said there was nothing wrong with it. They said they knew about the drain but couldnt find it. Then they finally figured out the fuel pump was shorting out and causing the fuse to pop. They supposedly replaced the fuel pump in september of 2020 along with the injection pump. I was 50 miles from end of warranty the day after I get the car out of the shop it wont run for longer then 15 seconds. Not getting fuel. Left me stranded on the side of the road 45 miles out of town. Im back to square 1 because half the time my car wont start. The motor is still knocking and has no power with my fuel mileage dropping down to 11mpg it started revving up and speed not changing,not shifting correctly or just not shifting. My new shop discovered the transmission is failing fast. Ive had this car 6 months and am still paying for it and I cant even drive it safely. Complete transmission failure at 64,456 miles.
CategoryElectrical System
DateSep 21, 2020
StateFL
Description
While driving at low speed the engine cuts off. Also while trying to start the engine nothing happens . Totally dead,no warning ligths come on . Have battery check,no problem found,jump start every thing seems to be normal. This happen in several occasions.
CategoryEngine
DateSep 14, 2020
StateTN
Description
Tl* the contact owned a 2018 kia sportage. The contact stated that while approaching a school zone and entering the school lot at about 5 mph, there was grey smoke coming from under the hood. The contact exit his child from the vehicle and parked the vehicle to inspect it that was when the hood was opened. The contact discovered that the vehicle had caught fire. The fire department was contacted. A police report was filed. No injuries were sustained. The fire department extinguished the flames. The vehicle was a total loss. The vehicle was towed to an impound lot. A dealer was not contacted. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The contact mentioned nhtsa campaign number: 18v907000 (fuel system, gasoline, engine) as a possible solution to the failure however the vin was not included in the recall. The failure mileage was approximately 60,000.
CategoryEngine
DateJul 24, 2020
StateMA
Description
While merging (accelerating) onto the interstate highway the engine abruptly shut off and my 2018 kia sportage 2. 4l rolled to a stop in the merge lane. I restarted the vehicle to move it to off the road to a safer location and the engine seemed to be limiting the vehicle power. The check engine light flashed. I later found out that the engine was putting out a trouble code p1326 which I understand from a code search may be related to excessive engine vibration issues. I am taking the vehicle to the kia dealer for analysis. My understanding is that (hyundai motor group) who are the parent company of kia motors have a recall for replacement of the 2018 2. 4l hyundai engines but not yet for the kia engines, though these engines are manufactured nearly identically.
CategoryVisibility:sun/moon Roof Assembly
DateJun 03, 2020
StateCO
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2018 kia sportage. The contact stated that while driving at an undisclosed speed, there was an abnormal rumbling sound coming from the roof of the vehicle. The contact then heard a loud explosion. The contact pulled over to inspect the vehicle and became aware that the sunroof had exploded. A glass replacement company was called out to replace the sunroof but was unable to do so due to the misalignment of the tracks. The contact was informed to contact the local dealer for assistance. Peak kia north (1111 southgate dr, windsor, co 80550 970-576-3100) was contacted and informed of the failure. The contact was provided an estimate of text="Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm" smalltext="Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win." img="balance" color="green",700 to have the vehicle repaired. The manufacturer was not informed of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 15,000. The vin was not available.
CategoryEngine
DateFeb 07, 2020
StateAZ
Description
For the past year or so, I've been experiencing an unknown issue. I'll be driving along, steadily and all of a sudden my engine and rpm gauge will rev up and then go back to normal. My speed doesn't change, no lights go on, just the rev-ing sound and the gauge goes up. It's very alarming to me. I've checked with kia and they're aware of the issue but state that there is currently no recall or alert as to what exactly the problem is or how to solve it. Dealer said they had never had any other complaints about this. Also reported accelerates slowly when setting at a stop light. They cannot find anything wrong,
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJan 18, 2020
StateVA
Description
I have a 2018 kia sportage that has air vents peeling. I went to the kia dealership and was hoping that the warranty would cover this fix, but that was not the case. The kia dealership told me the vents peeling is because of the chemical reaction with the product that I was using. I have detailed my cars since the beginning of time... And have sworn by meguiar's supreme shine. I still do, and I am certain it is crappy vent material that kia has. I contacted meguiar's and their customer service said that all their products are water based and it is impossible for this to happen. I have used the supreme shine on all the rubber/plastic material and nothing happened to the rest of the interior, except the air vents. So, I called kia consumer assistance center and lisa answered... Hoping to see if they will stand behind their product and find the solution. Lisa said for me to go to other dealerships and hopefully get them to find a solution in my favor. The worst customer service and the worst product on the market. The warranty they offer is fake and unworthy.
CategoryElectrical System
DateJan 09, 2020
StateWA
Description
My 2018 kia sport age at about 26,000 miles would not start. This problem started in september of 2019. I thought it might be the battery. However, kia dealership testing it shows the battery is perfect. Now I'm at 34,000 miles and my car hass to be jumped to start it about six times a week. I have had my battery tested several times. I keep being told the battery's fine. At first it would just go click click click but wouldn't start. Now it's completely dead no noise clicking when I try to start it. The check engine light comes on and then goes off. This is frustrating that I bought for the first time in my life a brand new car drove it off the lot with 11 miles and I have the most unreliable vehicle I've ever had in my lifetime. Whenever I go somewhere I have to make sure I have an electrical outlet so that I can plug my jumper box into just in case. I have missed appointments because of this, I have missed work because of this. I'm ready to leave it at the dealership and let the finance company have it. Clearly there is something wrong with this car and nobody can seem to figure it out. Something is drawing power or the alternator is not working like it's supposed to and possible frayed wire or something there. The car is completely stock and there have been no changes made to this vehicle since it was purchased. And I have maintained all the routine maintenance that should be done on a car. Someone needs to help me figure out why I have a brand new vehicle that won't start and that is unreliable.
CategorySteering, Unknown Or Other, Wheels
DateJan 07, 2020
StateMD
Description
My kia sportage needed a steering column replacement and after it was replaced the car started pulling to the left and it's hard to keep straight, I have informed the dealer and tire rotation and alignment was done to the car but never changed the condition
CategoryEngine
DateDec 15, 2019
StateNY
Description
Car shifts to low mode from 50-20mph on its own slow deceleration when stopping slow acceleration when stationary
CategoryElectrical System
DateDec 13, 2019
StateCA
Description
The entire car caught fire. All electric wires caught fire and the car it was park in my house .
CategoryPower Train
DateSep 16, 2019
StateGA
Description
I've been experiencing an transmission issue. I'll be driving along, steadily with speed control set at 70 and all of a sudden my engine and rpm gauge will rev up down shift and then go back to normal. My speed doesn't change, no lights go on, just the rev-ing sound and the gauge goes up it also happening at low speeds as well, it's very alarming to me. I've checked with kia and they're aware of the issue but state that there is currently no recall or alert as to what exactly the problem is, it also entermitting will have no acceleration on take off. Has been back to the kia dealer twice , the last time was told by general manager and service manager and they have no clue , and general manager was very rude and tried to just sale me another vehicle when I decline he got very unprofessional and seemed he was not concerned of the warranty and to take it back to dealer that sold it to me 600 miles away please help
CategoryElectrical System, Service Brakes, Steering
DateSep 12, 2019
StateAL
Description
All electrical malfunction and loss of steering and brakes resulting in heading crash
CategorySteering
DateSep 09, 2019
StateNY
Description
While driving the wheel blocks for a while and can't control the car. Brought to the dealers and claims nothing wrong. Now happens very often and the car is not drivable. Wrote 3 times to costumer service , no answer. Should a fatal accident must occurring to take action? This happens while turning.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine, Unknown Or Other
DateAug 13, 2019
StateFL
Description
Addendum # 2 from original complaint and response through senator marco rubio office. 1st addendum dated august 9 2019. Husband arrived at courtesy kia and as expected, no loaner vehicle. Finally I reached the sales manager and explained how disgusting it would be for a disabled man who is paying for a defective car and promised a loaner to have to call uber. He agreed to loan one under "test drive" guise. Friday 9,2019 heard nothing about our car. We called at 4:30. Fernando stated that they had it in back and did not know what was wrong with it. Saturday 10,2019.. 1:45, jenny the service advisor called and stated that our car was ready " we put a ksds wiring harness". No further explanation. Not even via email. The service ticket on states... Engine noise pass, put wiring harness jumper. I looked at the protocol on nhtsa site. It states clearly. The car must be hooked up to internet everyday and a 21 step procedure to check for engine noise. On the service ticket, mileage was identical in and out. How do you really test a car without driving it. This was a rush job on their part... Employees pretending to not know about this massive defect. The 26 page document attached speaks volumes. We asked for a photo of the wiring harness that was damaged. They refused, they also stated that it is being sent back to the manufacturer. Meanwhile... Two disabled persons get to drive in fear, live in fear and pay for a defective engine/car and was scammed by citrus kia, kia motors, kia america. Attorneys general, states attorneys, senators, please hold kia accountable. Please make them actually show up in front of congress ♿ plant city.... Per the document. Everyday doesn't mean , day and half.
CategorySeats
DateAug 13, 2019
StateFL
Description
Passanger seat had a l sheap burn apear after turnning on the seat warmer.
CategoryEngine, Unknown Or Other, Vehicle Speed Control
DateAug 08, 2019
StateFL
Description
Addendum to the complaint dated january through senator marco rubio office. I received a letter from nhtsa dot that the investigation is open as to the "software upgrade", should be labeled recall and into the "theta engine", see attached. As I write this, my disabled husband is in a tow truck with the driver because he went to the dollar general store, turned the corner onto a busy highway and the car limp mode light came on, car shut down dangerously slow. Luckily he was not rear-ended. This is pathetic for kia motors, kia america to get away with this. These vehicles need to be bought back. They have no clue what is really happening. We took our car in a couple of months ago to courtesy kia for an oil change. They said all was good. Clearly it is not ! Kia did us, two disabled americans wrong. Soul 1st, scammed into going more in depth because soul was bad... Knowing there is a major defect. That is deceptive trade practice. Plain and simple and dealer's are complicit. Please get these cars off of the rode. It has been noted on forums that kia is putting used motors. Please do something. We are not safe, our grandchildren are not safe. States attorneys, attorney general's, senators, etc. Help all of us. We lost our home to toxic drywall , now this. Plant city. ♿
CategoryElectrical System, Steering, Vehicle Speed Control
DateJul 17, 2019
StateIL
Description
All of the lights on my dashboard come on and when this happens it's generally night time. I can't drive my car with the headlights on because if I cut them on my car won't move and my rear view camera will not work. The first time this happened it was 05/18/2019. I was driving in the evening hours to pick my son up from work I noticed that the car started to slow down as I had my foot on the accelerator, I pulled the car to the side before it stopped and turned everything off. I waited a few minutes cut it back on and every light on the dashboard was on. I couldn't move my car I cut the headline off and it proceeded to move. However at that time of night I need lights. The next morning I took the car to berwyn kia in berwyn illinois and was told that a software update was needed, took 30 minutes and I was gone. A week or two later I was right back with exact same issue and was told it was a harness problem and hey would get it fixed. My car was here for a month. I picked my car up and 07/03/2019 it happened again and I have video footage for each incident. I called kia customer service and spoke with them and I am now being the car back again on 07/17/2019 because all of the issues have happened again!!
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateJul 08, 2019
StateWI
Description
While driving down the highway about 65 mph, the sunroof exploded sending glass throughout the interior of the car. Nothing hit the car, no cars in front of the vehicle, didn't go under any overpass or signs, and there was no previous damage to the car. The temperature was in the 70's and a clear sunny day. The center of the sunroof has a large jagged hole in it, it appears the glass is bent upward as if it blown out, not in. Very fortunate there were no passengers in the back seat which was covered in glass and glass dust. Researching online, it appears this type of incident has been report numerous times. Fortunately control of the car was maintained and there were no serious injuries. I do have numerous photos of the roof.
CategoryEngine, Unknown Or Other
DateJun 19, 2019
StateFL
Description
Driving my kia sportage (gt line) at about 30-40 miles/hour, descending red hills (jamaica) and without warning the car went dead, all the light comes on the dash and the speed cut drastically. It was scary and I can only imagine if it was on the highway. Afraid to drive it. *tr
CategoryEngine
DateJun 17, 2019
StateCA
Description
Sometimes when I turn on my car the engine starts to shake
CategoryElectronic Stability Control, Engine, Fuel/propulsion System
DateMay 20, 2019
StateNC
Description
In motion ; vehicle does not accelerate properly, no pickup my life in danger several times. Kia has sent letter in which I followed instructions. Dealership updated system. Now my diagnostic system is not working putting me at even greater risk no warning light indicate engine trouble. According to kia , the recall I received in the mail was specifically done so I would have warning light take asap to dealership.., cleaning out all my bank accounts- kia finance never sent right title in my legal name after I faxed front and back end ,with docs they requested. Called weekly & because of there mistake he has stolen 1000s of dollars from my accounts . He is not a citizen so he doesn't care about our laws. He con cpa to forge taxes now ihavetohelp irs straighten it out. The cpa 'died I was told' I having medical issues from stress anxiety. I never wanted new kia ... But he sold it behind my back. Then bought most expensive car leaving me with -17;000 equity. On a car he ragged to hell and wrecked. Then canceled all extras including disabilty leaving me with no other choice but to trust owner. At the time ; my credit was 780; never missed a payment but had no work history due to tax fraud. The car has never ran correct I knew from day 1 it was pulling I realized kia had put a 4 cylinder in a suv that should be a 6 . Now the recalls ironically timed when you came out with same car but a 6 cylinder changed the name. I paid 8;000 total traded 2 cars. Kia finance stated I never missed a payment until now. Due to continued abuse from my ex spouse. Transunion has frozen my credit reports, labeled me a true victim of stolen identity. And financial fraud. Kia to buy my car back so I can buy the car I want . Transunion, police, lifelock, wells fargo, criminal investigation , emergency hearing for protective order and state farm's have protected me.
CategoryExterior Lighting
DateMay 02, 2019
StateCO
Description
Headlights and navigation system flicker and go out while driving at night. Lights went out while driving down the interstate. Came back on after about 20 seconds and continued to flicker. Afls appeared on the display, the owners manual said to turn off the car and restart it, this turned off the afls light but the lights and navigation system continue to flicker occasionally. Scared to drive at night.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine
DateApr 23, 2019
StateCA
Description
Vehicle suddenly decelerated to 20 mph on one way highway in a passing zone. Problem then diagnosed as engine failure. 5 weeks later, with vehicle still out of service, diagnosed instead as wiring harness problem. Wiring harness replaced. Brand new car, 11 months old , 5,925 miles, serviced with first oil change 5 days before problem occurred. Kia roadside assistance had no regard for my safety on the side of a dangerous freeway and had to be resolved two hours later with aaa service towing. Still no reimbursement from kia.
CategoryEngine
DateApr 22, 2019
StateNY
Description
2018 kia sportage. Consumer writes in regards to engine failure. *ld consumer sent additional correspondence. *ld the consumer stated the dealer denied assistance with the failure due to an after market oil plug being installed in the vehicle. The dealer advised that the 3rd party who changed the oil should be held responsible for the failure. The engine failed and needed to be replaced. Metal shavings were found in the oil. *js
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateApr 22, 2019
StateLA
Description
I was driving down the highway and the sunroof exploded.
CategoryEngine
DateMar 23, 2019
StateFL
Description
I had a total engine failure on I-75 with my 2018 kia sportage with just over 18,000 miles. My insurance carrier (usaa) person I spoke with said I was the third person she has spoken with in the last week that had the same make & model number that the engine failed. She said one person was told by her dealer it could be six months before they can get her an engine. I am in naples florida and deal with airport kia in naples, fl.
CategoryEngine
DateMar 22, 2019
StateWI
Description
After ecu upgraded under "product improvement campaign", engine suffered severe loss of power while traveling at highway speed, leading to rapid loss of speed. Less than 9k miles on vehicle.
CategoryEngine, Power Train
DateMar 21, 2019
StateMA
Description
For the past 6 months or so, I've been experiencing an unknown issue. I'll be driving along, steadily and all of a sudden my engine and rpm gauge will rev up and then go back to normal. My speed doesn't change, no lights go on, just the rev-ing sound and the gauge goes up. It's very alarming to me. I've checked with kia and they're aware of the issue but state that there is currently no recall or alert as to what exactly the problem is or how to solve it.
CategoryEngine
DateMar 15, 2019
StateUT
Description
Engine failed to run at speed, dropped to 20 mph and would not move any faster.
CategoryEngine, Exterior Lighting, Service Brakes
DateFeb 02, 2019
StateCT
Description
I purchased my 2018 kia sportage ex brand new 6-8-18. Less than 100 miles on the car and the dashboard instrument lights went dark while driving on the highway in the dark. I brought it back to dealer, they had to order a new gauge dimmer cluster because the original failed. Several weeks later the brakes began violently shaking the car when braking on the highway. Again, I brought it back to the dealer and they resurfaced the brake rotors due to warping. Several months later on 1-28-19 the engine died on the highway placing the vehicle into limp home mode. I almost got hit by a tractor trailer trying to get to the breakdown lane without ample engine power. I immediately drove it to the dealer and it has been there ever since. I got the bbb involved now and I am trying to get the lemon law in place. I am currently in a rental.
CategoryEngine, Power Train, Steering
DateJan 31, 2019
StateFL
Description
After 2 attempts to try and have the soul repaired properly as to steering and at least 30 emails and begging for help, and finding myself the reason there was a recall on a recall... We contacted senator marco rubio who in turn contacted nhtsa, a congressional aide etc. No help came for two disabled persons. I even wrote about the souls catching fire and [xxx] witnessed a soul crash due to steering. We begged citrus kia, kia motors,kia america to refund our money. We lost our home built for our disabilities to toxic drywall, we were in propublica, huff post and tampa bay times. No recovery, we slept in our kia optima which is why we purchased the soul. Two weeks later, the first recall. 2 yrs no one did a thing. In december at christmas, kia america " challenge " the dealerships. To sell everything. We were once again duped. Citrus kia called numerous times , what they did was brought us in under false pretense, they financed thru kia, the 2018 sportage. Now, we are in further debt with a car they all knew was defective. "software upgrade", oh and by the way", keep this letter in your glove box for ever "in case" the engine failes and if you, the customer who bought in good faith that it was safer than the soul, if you do not get it to dealer if and when light comes on. You will be considered "abusing the car" the consumer is supposed to drive and live in fear? Nhtsa had not approved this bandaid. The 1000 sportages need to be traded for 2019. This is a sad day when a gai , we have to live and drive in fear and pay money . I have read the news articles, the whistleblower. This "software upgrade" is not right. The fires are horrific. One person stated her car still had issues. This is criminal as to what kia motors, kia america, citrus kia has and is still doing to two disabled persons. We need some help. Our auto insurance premium. Increased.[xxx] information redacted pursuant to the freedom of information act (foia), 5 u. S. C. 552(b)(6). *tr
CategoryEngine
DateJan 20, 2019
StateNJ
Description
Engine was updated regarding software , but engine shut down while in hwy operation at accelerating speeds and immediatly shut down reducing speed to 20 mph may cause fatal accident if trator trailer rear ends you during this occurace since one was coming up or traffic in general considering people don't react anymore. Dealers seam reluctant to reports these occurances.
CategoryVehicle Speed Control
DateJan 03, 2019
StateMN
Description
Driver experienced initial bogging down on acceleration before normal acceleration occurred. There have been two occurances thus far. Happened while one foot on brake and the other on accelerator in order to get rapid response changing lanes in traffic and other while making left turn through traffic. Very dangerous to experience bogging instead of acceleration. This was a recall problem with my 2011 jeep gc. Replaced an internal fuel pump relay in the tipm that cured the problem. Suspect kia has the same problem. I own a 2018 kia sportage fe fwd w/ approx. 6500 miles.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateDec 11, 2018
StateAZ
Description
I had my kia sportage oil changed, was told my a/c compressor hose at the compressor was leaking, crimp fit, factory defect is what he said
CategorySeats
DateDec 06, 2018
StateFL
Description
Heating coil that warm the seat cause seat to melt and l shape. Pattern on the passenger side. It's location is to there rear of the bottom where the right side of your butt with rest. The out side temperature was 42 degrees. The car was setting in the driveway of house. We had the seat set to it highest setting of there dotted lines.
CategoryPower Train, Vehicle Speed Control
DateOct 23, 2018
StateCA
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2018 kia sportage. When the contact attempted to accelerate from a stop or low speeds, the vehicle failed to accelerate in a timely manner. The failure was experienced several times. The vehicle was taken to an unknown dealer for diagnostic testing, but a failure code was not located. The dealer also test drove the vehicle and was unable to duplicate the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not contacted. The failure mileage was not available.
CategoryEngine
DateOct 06, 2018
StatePA
Description
Knocking on the engine upon starting. No longer running the vehicle because of noise.
CategoryEngine, Fuel/propulsion System
DateSep 13, 2018
StateMI
Description
I picked up a brand new kia sportage sx turbo awd with 34 miles on it today. It was driving kind of hesitantly, seeming like it was misfiring. About 30 miles later, the check engine light turned on. I immediately called kia customer service as I have an established relationship with them. They advised to take it to the nearest dealership. I took my car to summit place kia in auburn hills where the initial diagnosis based on a check engine light reading was an improper fuel/air mixture in cylinder 2. I am not sure what protocol will be followed from this point or what actions will be needed to rectify this issue. However, it is apparent that there is an issue with kia's gdi turbo engines.
CategoryElectrical System
DateAug 26, 2018
StateFL
Description
High pitched whirring sound lasting 10 to 15 seconds when car is parked a day or more after driving. Has happened 4 times we have heard it. Vehicle has 1200 miles on it. Occurs intermittently. It sounds to me like starter motor running.
CategoryService Brakes
DateJul 24, 2018
StateNJ
Description
2018 kia sportage 4d 4x4 while in 'park' rolled down home driveway. Vehicle rolled into street, while wife holding one year old son dodged vehicle to avoid getting crushed.
CategoryExterior Lighting
DateMay 24, 2018
StateCO
Description
Rear turn signals and reversed lights are not integrated with back brake lights. They are too low and placed under the bumper and on the side of the car. The turn signals are not visible to cars behind. Have owned the vehicle for 6 weeks and have had a few very close incidents especially during the day in traffic. Cars do not slow down when I indicate and I have had two incidents where motorists have told me I had failed to signal and many instances of motorists honking. Very dangerous when changing lanes and merging. Reverse lights cannot be seen. Very thin, not integrated with other back lights and placed too low down. They look like reflectors and on a white car cannot be seen. I purchased two sportages. My daughter drives one and has the same problems. I owned a sorento and forte which I traded in to get awd vehicles which I thought were safer for colorado driving. Sportage is the only car with this issue. Kia won't integrate the turn signal with the brakes. Major safety issue.

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.


Share your story

Does this ring a bell? Have you had a bad experience too? Sound off and share your experience with other visitors in the comment box below.

Brian Jones

About the Author:

Brian Jones spent more than 20 years working as an ASE Certified Master Tech and Parts Specialist at multiple dealerships. Brian has become an authority in the industry, traveling across the country to consult for car dealerships and contributing his expertise as a writer for several major automotive publications. In his spare time, Brian enjoys working on pickup trucks, muscle cars, Jeeps and anything related to motorsports.

See more posts from Brian Jones
2 COMMENTS
  • Kristin S

    I bought my 2018 KIA Sportage used with 20,000 miles. It was a great car for about 3 years, but now the problems are nonstop. The car often will not start (leaving me stranded) and I cannot lock the door – although the battery is fine. The head lights go on and off which is dangerous driving home at night. The radio and phone cycle over and over and over especially when trying to use the cruise control. It is in the shop of the dealership where I bought it since the KIA dealership cannot get to until next week. I am likely going to buy a Toyota.

  • Anita T

    Just purchased a Kia Shortage 2018 two weeks ago. And her in GA had rain. When I returned home water was on my floor boards front on both sides. I Will be take it to a dealer ship purchased the car from Carvana should I let them know. That I had this problem. I didn’t purchase their warrantee. Anita Tyrus nitatyrus21@gmail.com

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead you can to our legal team.

Please select your star rating.

Briefly describe your experience Briefly describe your experience

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? Please enter a valid phone number

Want to know if you could sue? Get a free legal evaluation Lemberg Law?

Get Your No-Obligation
Case Evaluation

Send a secure message to our legal team.

What’s your name? What’s your name?
What’s your email address? What’s your email address?
What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?
Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem
Confidentiality Guarantee: We keep your information completely confidential and will not send you spam or sell your information.