2018 Dodge Durango Problems and Top Complaints – Is Your Car A Lemon?

Electrical, airbags, brake and powertrain issues among the top complaints received by the NHTSA from vehicle owners

By Brian Jones | Updated on

By Brian Jones | Updated on

When it comes to driving a family-friendly SUV, soccer moms everywhere flock to the 2018 Dodge Durango. Aside from maximum space and high-tech amenities, the manufacturer claims that the new models are the “King of SUVs.” Research shows that these models top the charts, but more for defective parts. The service brakes, electrical system, powertrain and air bags all experience unwelcome problems that put owners in danger.

Click on other model year to view more problems: 2019   2020   2021

Don’t be stuck with a lemon. You have legal rights to cash, return or buyback.

The law makes Dodge pay legal fees.

We've fixed thousands of lemon problems. Message or call 877-795-3666 today.

NHTSA Complaints for the 2018 Dodge Durango

Complaint CategoryNumber of Complaints
Electrical System
53
Unknown Or Other
22
Exterior Lighting
22
Engine
12
Service Brakes
9
Fuel/propulsion System
9
Seats
8
Power Train
7
Suspension
5
Air Bags
5

Problems with the Brakes

When it comes to stopping, an SUV must be equipped with properly working brakes. This is even more vital when driving around town with a car full of children, yet the Durango isn’t reliable for braking power at all.

Here is one NHTSA complaint that illustrates the annoyance these brakes cause. “My vehicle only has 17,500 miles on it and the brakes are constantly squeaking. I’ve cleaned the rotors, but it still makes this God awful squeak. The brakes should be good for another 25,000 miles, but I don’t think it’s going to make it.”

One of the ways to tell when brakes are bad is to listen for a squeaking sound. If the system is always producing this sound, it becomes difficult to tell when something is wrong, which puts owners in danger. Sadly, Dodge has nothing to say about these problems and has chosen to remain quiet instead. In its silence, it proves that the Durango isn’t worthy of being treated like royalty.

Here are some actual complaints logged with the NHTSA about the 2018 Dodge Durango Brake Problems:

“BREMBO BREAK PADS” I PURCHASED MY VEHICLE IN OCTOBER OF 2018, I WAS QUOTED FOR NEW BRAKE PADS ALL AROUND AT 9000 MILES IN JUNE OF 2019. AFTER FINDING OUT ABOUT THE MANUFACTURE WARRANTY, I WAS TOLD THAT I ONLY NEED REAR BRAKE PADS REPLACED NOW. (NOTE: THERE IS LESS THEN 1MM ON REAR PADS CURRENTLY AND 4MM ON THE FRONT PADS) , I TOLD THE MANAGER AT RYDELL THAT, I BELIEVE THE BRAKING SYSTEM IS DEFECTIVE. I HAVE NEVER HERD OF REPLACING THE BRAKE PADS ON A BRAND NEW VEHICLE THIS SOON. I CALLED THREE DIFFERENT DEALERS AND THEY FIND IT WEIRD THAT I HAVE TO CHANGE THE BRAKES ALREADY WITH ONLY 9000 MILES ON THE CAR. MIND YOU, I AM THE FIRST OWNER OF THIS VEHICLE AND WHEN I PURCHASED IT, IT HAD 300 MILES ON THE CAR ALREADY. THE MANAGER, RICK GUZMAN AT RYDELL IN SAN FERNANDO EVEN WENT AS FAR AS TO ACCUSE ME OF RACING MY VEHICLE. HOWEVER, SHOULDN’T BALDING TIRES COINCIDE WITH THAT ACCUSATION? EVERYTHING ON MY VEHICLE IS THE SAME AS IT WAS WHEN I DROVE OF THEIR LOT IN OCTOBER OF 2018. THERE IS NO WAY, AFTER PUTTING 8,700 MILES ON MY OWN, THAT I SHOULD NEED TO CHANGE ALL FOUR BRAKE PADS ON A BRAND NEW VEHICLE. AND THE DEALER IS NOW FIGHTING ME TO ONLY CHANGE THE BRAKES IN THE REAR. I BELIEVE ALL FOUR PADS SHOULD BE CHANGED OUT. WITH THE REAR PADS AT 1MM AND THE FRONT PADS AT 4MM, SOMETHING SOUNDS REALLY WRONG. THE VEHICLE IS NOT EVEN A YEAR OLD YET !

OUR DODGE DURANGO GT, HAS DEVELOPED A LOUD POP SOUND WHEN COMING TO A FULL STOP. I TOOK IT TO ANCIRA DODGE IN SAN ANTONIO, THEY ADVISED ME THE CALIPERS ARE HITTING BRAKE PADS AND THERE IS NOTHING THEY CAN DO. I FEEL THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE AND DODGE AGAIN DOES NOT WANT TO HELP. OUR TRUCK HAS BARELY 21,787 MILES AND I?M HAVING SO MANY ISSUES WITH THIS DEFECTIVE VEHICLE.

Problems with the Electrical System

There are just as many problems occurring with the electrical system. With these components in charge of providing power to nearly every part, the electrical system needs to work correctly, but it doesn’t.

Here is an Edmunds review that highlights the troubles. “Glitch in the touchscreen/radio where it shuts down and restarts randomly and repeatedly.  This also means you can’t have a hands free phone call as it drops the call when the system restarts.  Started on the drive home but here I am 60 days later and no repair date in sight.  The dealership just keeps telling me that all the 2018’s have this issue and it will be fixed next week but next week still hasn’t come.  I know new products can have issues but not getting the truth has me frustrated and unhappy with this purchase.  If I could get my money back I would return the vehicle and not buy from this dealer nor Dodge again.”

What’s scarier is NHTSA Campaign Number 18V332000, which talks about a massive recall involving the cruise control. It turns out nearly five million vehicles have cruise control systems that might not cancel. The root cause is a short circuit in the wiring system. There’s even the possibility that the system will accelerate even further instead of turning off. What a scary situation for today’s families. This defect in itself is enough to overthrow the king from its throne and put another model in its place.

Here are some actual complaints logged with the NHTSA about the 2018 Dodge Durango Electrical Problems:

UCONNECT RADIO CONTINUOUSLY HAS WEATHER ALERT POP-UPS THAT ARE A BIG DISTRACTION WHILE DRIVING. A WEATHER ALERT THAT IS PERTINENT TO THE AREA THAT YOU ARE IN WOULD BE ACCEPTABLE, BUT ALERTS FOR COUNTIES THAT ARE 100-400 MILES AWAY CAUSES CONTINUAL SPAMMING OF THE RADIO, WHICH IS A HUGE DISTRACTION TO A DRIVER. CONTACT TO BOTH SIRIUS XM AND FCA HAVE YIELDED NO RESULTS. THERE IS NO WAY IN THE OPTIONS TO DISABLE THIS FEATURE AND NO UPDATE HAS BEEN PROVIDED FROM THE MANUFACTURER.

THE REAR TAIL-LIGHT SYSTEM (COVERS ENTIRE REAR OF CAR) ON MY DODGE DURANGO STARTED TO LEAK DUE TO AN INADEQUATE SEAL AND THE TAILLIGHT SYSTEM BURNED OUT IN VARIOUS SPOTS. ONCE OUT IT BECOMES MUCH HARDER TO SEE THE REAR OF THE VEHICLE AND CREATES A VERY HAZARDOUS SITUATION. THIS HAPPENED IN THE FIRST YEAR OF OWNERSHIP. DODGE WILL NOT COVER THIS AND WANTS JUST UNDER $1,000 TO REPLACE IT. I BELIEVE THIS SHOULD BE CHECKED INTO AS THE DECREASED TAIL LIGHT CAN BE HARD TO SEE ESPECIALLY IN THE SNOWY CLIMATE WE HAVE HERE IN WISCONSIN.

THE VEHICLE AFTER BEING STARTED AND DRIVEN WILL NOT SHUT OFF. THE ENGINE WILL EVENTUALLY TURN OFF BUT THE CAR REMAINS IN ACCESSORY MODE UNTIL COMPLETELY DRAINING THE BATTERY. THE VEHICLE THEN HAS TO HAVE THE BATTERY POWERED UP SEPARATELY AND RESTARTED.

THE ENTIRE 8.4″ SCREEN ON THE DASHBOARD FLASHES ON AND OFF CONTINUALLY WHETHER THE VEHICLE IS RUNNING OR NOT. SEEMS LIKE THERE IS A MAJOR SHORT IN THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM. WHILE THIS ISSUE IS HAPPENING YOU HAVE NO CONTROL OVER HEATING, VENTILATION, RADIO, NAVIGATION, APPS OR APPLE CAR PLAY. ALSO, WHILE DRIVING AT NIGHT THE FLASHING SCREEN CAUSES A HAZARDOUS DISTRACTION IN AN OTHERWISE DARK VEHICLE.

Problems with the Transmission

When it comes to the powertrain of the Durango, multiple parts must work in harmony for a smooth-shifting and enjoyable drive. But, yet again, it is evident that Dodge didn’t manufacture this SUV the right way at all.

Another Edmunds review states, “The transmission froze in neutral but all four wheels were locked. We tried everything we could think of to put it in Drive to no avail. I had it towed in to the [dealer] where I bought it.They had it one week and when I went to pick it up told me they had replaced the valve body on the transmission and re-flashed the transmission control module. But they told me it was ready. I picked it up and I immediately noticed the quite erratic shifting of the transmission. I took it back to the dealership. They advised me that the valve body would take about one to two weeks to resume normal shifting. So I took it home.  About a week later, I was on my way to the grocery store when I noticed the transmission had frozen on 5th gear and the Active Cruise Control service light had momentarily flashed on. I headed for the dealership, about 35 miles away. As I approached the last red light in Benbrook headed towards Granbury on US 377, the vehicle shifted to neutral on its own and the shifter could not be moved. I let it coast to the side of the road. I turned off the engine, waited a few seconds, and turned it back on. The vehicle began normal operations but the erratic shifting continued. I left it at the dealership. After one week with the vehicle, they had no idea what the problem was. I, in the meantime, had lost total confidence in the vehicle and asked the dealership to buy it back from me. They bought it back from me at a significant loss to me. In short, what I thought was the perfect vehicle for the first 9 months of trouble free ownership, turned out to be the worst vehicle I have ever owned, and I have owned a considerable number of vehicles in my 71 years of living.”

If that’s not enough, take a look at NHTSA Campaign Number 18V280000. This recall describes how some vehicles have the wrong transmission park lock rod installed, which means the Durango might fail to engage in Park. This leaves the SUV susceptible to rolling away. At this point, there are probably tons of owners that wish the Durango would simply roll away so they can purchase a vehicle that works correctly instead.

Here are some actual complaints logged with the NHTSA about the 2018 Dodge Durango Transmission Problems:

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2018 DODGE DURANGO. WHILE ATTEMPTING TO PARK THE VEHICLE, THE GEAR SHIFT BECAME STUCK IN THE NEUTRAL POSITION. THERE WERE NO WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED PRIOR TO THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT MADE MULTIPLE ATTEMPTS TO SHIFT THE VEHICLE OUT OF NEUTRAL, BUT WAS UNSUCCESSFUL. THE CONTACT ASSOCIATED THE FAILURE WITH NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 18V280000 (POWER TRAIN), BUT THE VIN WAS EXCLUDED FROM THE RECALL. HELFMAN DODGE WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL. THE CONTACT WAS REFERRED TO NHTSA TO HAVE THE VEHICLE ADDED TO THE RECALL. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER HAD NOT BEEN NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 29,080.. 

WITH LESS THAN 4000 MILES ON MY BRAND NEW CAR, THE TRANSMISSION DROPS FROM 8TH GEAR TO NEUTRAL (AND WOULD GO FROM REVERSE TO NEUTRAL) AND LOSE ALL POWER WHILE DRIVING. THE ENGINE WILL REV AND NOTHING HAPPENS. YOU HAVE TO PLACE THE VEHICLE IN PARK, TURN THE CAR OFF AND BACK ON TO GET IT TO WORK AGAIN. IT HAPPENED WHILE MAKING TURNS (LEFT AND RIGHT), DRIVING DOWN THE INTERSTATE, REVERSING, PULLING OUT OF PARKING SPACES, ON CITY STREETS, HIGHWAYS AND INTERSTATES, AND WHILE STATIONARY. THIS IS A SERIOUS SAFETY ISSUE. THIS HAPPENED SEVERAL TIMES (AFTER BEING SERVICED) AND NEARLY CAUSING ACCIDENTS. AT ONE POINT, I WAS DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 80MPH ON THE HIGHWAY, IN TRAFFIC, AND THE TRANSMISSION DROPPED TO NEUTRAL WITH THE ENGINE LIGHT COMING ON. THE ENGINE LIGHT DOES NOT STAY ON. I HAVE DONE A LITTLE RESEARCH AND HAVE FOUND WHERE THIS HAS HAPPENED TO MULTIPLE NEW DODGE DURANGO OWNERS.

WHEN COMING TO A SLOW STOP IN A DRIVEWAY AND SHIFTING CAR INTO PARK CAR WILL NOT STAY IN PARK AND SHIFT BACK INTO DRIVE.

A FEW DAYS AFTER THE PURCHASE THE CAR FELT A STRONG BLOW IN THE TRANSMISSION WHEN GOING FROM PARKING TO D OR FROM THE PARKING TO R. I TOOK IT TO THE DEALER WHERE I BOUGHT IT AND AFTER A SIMPLE INSPECTION THEY SAID THEY DID NOT FIND ANYTHING I THINK I’LL TAKE IT WHEN I HAVE THE FIRST MAINTENANCE AND TELL THEM TO GO BACK TO REVIEW SINCE IT IS DOING IT MORE AND MORE FREQUENTLY.

Problems with the Airbags

One of the most essential safety systems on a modern vehicle is the air bags. Again, it is clear that Dodge didn’t know what it was doing while producing this SUV, because even this basic function doesn’t work the way it should.

One NHTSA complaint showcases the problem by saying, “The contact owns a 2018 Dodge Durango. While driving 43 mph over an icy patch in the road, the vehicle crashed into a guardrail, three telephone poles and a tree. The air bags failed to deploy. The contact sustained a shoulder injury and medical attention was provided. A police report was filed. The vehicle was towed to an independent lot. The local dealer was not contacted. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was contacted. A special inspector collected the event date recorded and informed the contact that the front passenger side impact would not cause the air bags to deploy. The failure mileage was 5,000.”

Clearly there is an issue with the air bags if a special inspector got involved in the complaint. Otherwise, there would have been no reason to look into it any further. Again, we see the quality of Dodge isn’t what it is meant to be, and the automaker has nothing further to say about air bags failures. In the meantime, owners around the country are overthrowing the king and making other arrangements to protect their families on the road.

Here are some actual complaints logged with the NHTSA about the 2018 Dodge Durango Airbag Problems:

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2018 DODGE DURANGO. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 65 MPH, THE CONTACT’S VEHICLE WAS REAR ENDED BY ANOTHER VEHICLE. THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY AND NO ALARM SOUNDED. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THERE WERE NO INJURIES. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TOWED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO DEALER AND REPAIRED, BUT THE REPAIR SPECIFICS WERE NOT DISCLOSED. AFTER THE VEHICLE WAS RETRIEVED, THE SEAT BELT BECAME INOPERABLE AND WOULD NOT RETRACT OR UNLATCH. THE CONTACT WAS NOT PROVIDED ANY FURTHER EXPLANATION. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND DID NOT ASSIST. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 6,000.

Your Lemon Law Legal Rights

Think you have a lemon? Sit back and let the experts work out your lemon case at no cost to you. The law makes Dodge pay legal fees. You may be able to get your lemon out of your life. Every year, auto manufacturers buy back, replace or pay cash settlements to thousands of ‘lemon’ owners like you.

Complaint Data

CategoryBack Over Prevention:display Function
DateOct 27, 2022
StateOH
Description
The contact owns a 2018 dodge durango. The contact stated while driving 55 mph, the rear camera activated independently, without warning. The vehicle was not taken to be diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not contacted or notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 20,000.
CategoryBack Over Prevention: Warnings, Electrical System, Forward Collision Avoidance: Warnings
DateOct 13, 2022
StateOK
Description
The lcd screen for my computer has an awkward spot in the top right corner when I bought my vehicle (which only had a very few miles on it). I thought it was just cosmetic and didn't worry much about it. Eventually, the awkward spot spread into a crack across the top of the screen. I have read online that this is a known problem that occurs on many of the vehicles of the same year and make. The screen began to perform on its own, it pushes multiple buttons constantly. This is more than an irritation it is a safety hazard for my family. The screen controls my heat and air, it turns the heat up and down, from hot to cold and hot again. I cannot defrost my windshield, as the air flow continues to switch from blower to blower. The seat warmers turn on and off. I am unable to control them, and my passengers can be burned. My backup camera does not function properly effecting the safety of everyone around us. The screen has pushed emergency call more than once. And totally controls my phone making calls and randomly hanging up on calls as well as muting or turning on and off apps. This is very dangerous for me, as the driver, trying to grab my phone and stop the emergency calls and other things. I cannot start my car using the auto start to warm up and defrost because the vehicle will not stay on defrost it will continuously switch around. The uconnect usually warns me of traffic hazards and storms in my area, as well as posting the speed limit and directions on the screen. Without these items, I put myself and my passengers at risk each time we are in the car. According to many dodge, durango, and general safety forums and blogs I have read, this is a common problem in this vehicle. This should be a safety recall for many reasons. How can I make a claim to get this replaced at no cost.
CategoryService Brakes, Hydraulic
DateOct 06, 2022
StateCA
Description
The contact owns a 2018 dodge durango. The contact stated while driving at 25 mph, the vehicle that was 20 feet away from his vehicle stopped. The contact depressed the brake pedal but it failed to respond, causing the vehicle to crash into the rear of the other vehicle. The air bags deployed. There was no warning light illuminated. The contact did not sustain any injuries. The other driver did not sustain any injuries. A police report was filed. The vehicle was towed to a tow lot, where it remained. The dealer was notified of the failure but provided no assistance. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact later became aware that his vin was included in nhtsa campaign number: 22v426000 (service brakes, hydraulic), which he associated with the failure. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 24,000.
CategorySeats:front Assembly:head Restraint
DateSep 30, 2022
StateTN
Description
The contact's wife owns a 2018 dodge durango. The contact stated while driving 40 mph, the headrest deployed inadvertently and struck the contact in the back of the head. There was no warning light illuminated. The contact veered to the side of the road for a moment. There was no injury sustained. The dealer was notified of the failure and referred the contact to the manufacturer for assistance. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and advised the contact that they could not assist since the vin was not included in an unknown recall and the vehicle was no longer under warranty. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 76,050.
CategoryElectrical System
DateSep 29, 2022
StateMO
Description
The radio is started to ghost touch which means that it is randomly choosing anything on the screen. Because it controls many of the cars features, it can cause things to get out of control while trying to drive. I have video which I couldn't upload.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateSep 28, 2022
StateKS
Description
The 8. 4 inch uconnect system will malfunction causing it to randomly press things on the screen. This can cause it to raise the temperature to high with you unable to turn it off. In doing so can be detrimental to the driver because they then become distracted from the road due to the incredibly high temperatures. This is happening for all 8. 4 uconnect systems across all models.
CategoryElectrical System, Seats, Unknown Or Other
DateSep 13, 2022
StateSC
Description
The vehicle 8. 4 inch display has become delaminated. It constantly changes comfort, radio, navigation, and wi-fi setting while the vehicle is in motion. This is a serious distraction to the driver and a serious safety issue.
CategoryElectrical System
DateSep 11, 2022
StateMN
Description
On multiple occasions, my touchscreen pops up asking if I want to update the clock settings. There is actually nothing wrong with my clock. This message continues to repopulate regardless if I hit yes or no. This message deactivates everything else on the touchscreen (radio, navigation, etc) and causes a major distraction while driving. This has happened multiple times over the last month and the only way it ends is when I turn the engine off.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateSep 11, 2022
StateMN
Description
On multiple occasions and at multiple gas stations, whenever I insert the nozzle and fully engage the trigger, the pump shuts off. My options are to either partially depress the trigger and run the pump at about 1/4 speed or turn the nozzle counterclockwise over 90-degrees. After posting this matter, I've learned that this is a very common defect with the dodge durango that has yet to be addressed with a factory recall. My concern is that this could create a longer term safety issue if it not taken care of. My concern is that something may be wrong internally with my tank that could lead to possible leak down the road that I would never know about until its too late.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Service Brakes
DateAug 29, 2022
StateGA
Description
The hydraulic control unit antilock break system module in vehicle system reads falsely for pressure in primary circuit. I use car for rental service but can no longer use it until it is fixed
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateAug 12, 2022
StateNY
Description
Rear taillights. The outter section that is lit around, one small section of leds are not working, very common on all the durangos. Dodge dealership won't pass my inspection. It has nothing to do with brake lights. This should be a recall
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Service Brakes, Suspension
DateAug 05, 2022
StateFL
Description
I was driving on i75 north in florida near ocala (exit 358) traveling about 70mph when I approached slowing traffic. I attempted a slow and steady stop without slamming on the brakes. The emergency braking system engaged but the vehicle failed to stop and I was not able to completely floor the brakes. In an effort to avoid hitting the vehicle in front of me and causing a multiple car collision I swerved onto the grassy side of the road. Because the car would not stop completely my passenger front wheel made contact with a concrete ditch and my vehicle flipped over resulting in a total loss.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine
DateAug 01, 2022
StateOR
Description
The contact owns a 2018 dodge durango. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the vehicle lost motive power and stalled. The contact stated that the vehicle lost power steering and braking functionality. During the failure, the vehicle had not lost electrical power with the interior lights and instrument cluster illuminated. The vehicle was towed to the local dealer on multiple occasions for the same failure and the power train control module, engine mounts, and an unknown wiring harness were replaced; however, the failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified of the failure but offered no assistance. The contact was informed that the vehicle was not included in the nhtsa campaign number: 18v524000 (electrical system). The contact indicated that the vehicle had experienced the failure listed in the recall. The failure mileage was 50,000.
CategorySeats
DateJul 30, 2022
StateTX
Description
Unknown. My son hit the front passenger headrest with a toy and the headrest deployed. I was in the front passenger seat at the time this happened but it did not hit the back of my head.
CategoryBack Over Prevention: Warnings, Electrical System
DateJul 26, 2022
StateTN
Description
Started today - the car no longer will turn off. The car just dings and does not stop. You can not turn off it won't do it. Claims its not in park and stays running.
CategorySeats
DateJul 26, 2022
StateFL
Description
Suv was parked not and overnight my passenger seat headrest "active head restraint" activated and opened up. I contacted dodge/chrysler headquaters and they stated a recall was found for this safety feature but my vehicle vin was not part of the recall. I should not be responsible for repairs. I know first hand how important safety features are needed on vehicle and how they save lives when working/used properly. I'm an fars fl analyst currently contracted with nhtsa
CategoryElectrical System, Service Brakes
DateJul 25, 2022
StateTN
Description
This is occurring frequent the system freaked abs system came on doing 38 miles an hour. Than system freaked out and brake light came on empty tank showed. Check engine than for 2 miles horn blasted on its own . After the temperature gauge stopped working and now it continues to state it's not in park when it is .
CategoryElectrical System, Engine, Power Train
DateJul 25, 2022
StateTN
Description
Throwing codes of of lost communication of body control module and cylinder 3 misfire.
CategorySeats
DateJul 17, 2022
StateDE
Description
Headrest deployed while driving
CategoryElectrical System, Forward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Service Brakes
DateJul 07, 2022
StateTN
Description
This is the 4th time in 2 weeks that the abs system freaked. I was driving and reached 70mph and it randomly will start slowing kick on the check engine light. Blinks and then throws on the abs warning light. This has happened in summer and the 1 time it has rained day before. The system than alerted me to start/stop engine turn off and turn back on. I did do this. This happens though when I am driving. The sensors go off, a few days later. It will happen again. This is extremely dangerous ! I made a video of it this past time
CategoryEngine, Fuel/propulsion System
DateJul 07, 2022
StateTN
Description
Had to replace fuel canister and sensor. Had to redo fuel system . The evap sensor appeared while driving, engine light came on and car started driving really weird and shaking. It was freaking out did not drive right.
CategoryExterior Lighting
DateJun 30, 2022
StateMI
Description
Not just mine but many durangos from 2014-2022 has a defect in which the rear light bar which has no seal gets wet and burns the led light out, this needs to be addressed and recalled asap, I also have pictures of random durangos I've seen at night with the light out in the same spots.
CategoryElectrical System
DateJun 23, 2022
StatePA
Description
Radio/nav system change radio stations on its own. The display goes off/on by itself. The nav system suggested wrong location after an address is typed in. It makes the headlight beams goes on and off. The nav does not retain the settings anymore. I called dodge and the nav/rad system was replaced at no cost to me. Problem resolved.
CategoryExterior Lighting
DateMay 27, 2022
StateIL
Description
Track lighting starting to fail. Water accumulation inside the bottom passenger side of track light. 44,000 miles on vehicle. No damage. Presents safety issue with rear visibility. Can cause short in wiring, causing potential fire.
CategoryVehicle Speed Control
DateMay 18, 2022
StateCA
Description
On may13th I was slowly pulling into my garage : as I was slowly easing my foot off the brake (but still in contact with the brake pedal), the car suddenly accelerated. I pressed my foot hard on the brake but was unable to stop the car. It was traveling very slowly with only about 5 feet to go when it suddenly accelerated. It struck the water heater which is situated against the rear wall of the garage with enough force to make my neck and shoulders hurt. There was a rubber trash can in front of the heater that may have absorbed some impact. There was a dent in the bumper. Inside the house, on the other side of the wall, the paint and plaster were cracked and somewhat displaced and a bureau pushed away from the wall. This acceleration happened without any warning. This also happened to my 2015 dodge durango in feb 2019. The situation was almost identical; I was almost done pulling into the garage with my foot lightly on the brake when the car suddenly accelerated and struck the water heater, denting it and causing mor extensive damage to 2 walls inside the house. I had my own mechanic and the dealer evaluate that car and they couldn't find anything wrong. I did see reports of this happening to other 2015 durangos at low speed. We traded in the 2015 durango to the dealer because of the accident and their assurance that they'd never seen this happen (at the time it wasn't reported in any 2018 durangos) and we bought the 2018 durango that was involved in the may 13 acceleration. I plan to call the dealer but am not sure how to remedy the problem
CategorySeats
DateMay 17, 2022
StateTX
Description
The active headrest restraint deployed in the vehicle with no collision. It deployed randomly. It looks like there is a broken part inside the headrest. I just bought the car. I have complained to the dealer because it wasn't like that when I test drove it but I saw it after I bought it and was driving it home. Could have happened during the final detailing.
CategoryEngine, Steering
DateMay 14, 2022
StateTX
Description
My engine is not cooling while my vehicle drives more will the transmission cool down now my transmission won't work the correct way
CategoryElectrical System
DateApr 28, 2022
StateTX
Description
Radio and navigation screen, is ghost touching. Just changes settings randomly and often.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateApr 19, 2022
StatePA
Description
The touchscreen continuously freezes and displays a prompt about adjusting the clock settings. The screen pops up repeatedly and beeps making the rest of the touchscreen functions unusable.
CategoryAir Bags
DateApr 12, 2022
StateUT
Description
The driver side headrest deployed on its own
CategoryElectrical System
DateMar 12, 2022
StateCA
Description
Electrical system wiring failure/error front under hood.
CategoryExterior Lighting
DateMar 09, 2022
StatePA
Description
Unknown. I have a dodge durango that the racetrack lights on the tailgate not all are working and I've seen some with all the lights out causing a safety hazard.
CategoryEngine
DateMar 05, 2022
StateNY
Description
2018 durango gt purchased at 30k miles and the oil pan gasket was already worn and leaking oil. Tensioner and pulley also failed. Seems like mopar utilize low quality parts in general, as minor as they may seem they are vital for me to operate my vehicle safely.
CategoryElectrical System
DateFeb 07, 2022
StateNC
Description
I have a 2018 dd, and my radio screen is doing the same thing. The screen looks like it has a huge bubble, the "adjust clock " notification constantly pops up, the screen freezes up; where I can't use any of the functions (no radio, no back up camera, no control over the thermostat, no navigation, cant answer the phone etc). I have to disconnect my battery just to get the screen to go off because it wont shut off after the vehicle is turned off.
CategoryElectrical System, Exterior Lighting, Unknown Or Other
DateJan 21, 2022
StateME
Description
I noticed an air bubble looking thing on my radio screen. You can see it in the attached video which is just one example from recent. Then my screen starting doing things on it's own. Changing from on thing to the next on it's own. I spoke with my mechanic who was having similar issues and told me about a group he is part of because there are so many people with this same issue. The screen is delaminating and causing what people are referring to as ghost touches. I think this is a safety hazard because it is distracting to have your screen changing constantly. It will make phone calls on it's own, change from heat to ac and turn the fan from high to low. Having your ac blasting in the middle of winter is no treat. Having your heat blasting summer won't be great either. This is a safety issue as well. This is all controlled by the screen. Imagine someone has epilepsy and this crazy screen causes a seizure? I have contacted dodge and my local dodge dealer. Nobody wants to acknowledge the issue because I am out of warranty. Warranty or not it's a safety issue that needs addressed before it causes someone to go off the road due to distractions of the radio doing whatever it wants and controlling all kinds of things in your vehicle. I know I am not the first person to reach out or report this issue. I really hope there is something that can be done before someone gets hurt. Thank you for your time and consideration. I wasn't able to get the filed uploaded for the video but when I hear from someone I will try again.
CategoryElectrical System, Unknown Or Other
DateJan 20, 2022
StateVA
Description
My 2018 dodge durango radio screen is delaminating from the top of the screen working its way down the screen. The screen also freezes up. To the point where the screen is stuck on even when the vehicle is off. When the screen is stuck I can't control any settings, radio, navigation, back up camera won't show, I can't answer the phone hands free. I'm afraid is draining my battery when it stays on like that, I have to disconnect the battery just for the screen to shut off. The adjust the clock notification constantly pops up on the screen. Its unsafe to have to keep disconnecting the battery in an effort to save my battery. It's unsafe to have to take my eyes off the road, to press the button to close out the adjust clock notification. It's unsafe to not have access to my back up camera to check my surroundings. It's not safe when you have no control over your thermostat. It's not safe to not have access to handsfree function when answering a call. The problem has been diagnosed by the dealership, and they say I need to replace the whole radio. The first appearance of the problem was around january of 2021, that's when the screen started pealing, then the adjust the clock notification started popping up during the summer of 2021 and the screen freezing and won't shut off started january 2022.
CategoryExterior Lighting
DateJan 15, 2022
StateNY
Description
Water intrusion caused rear lift gate "racetrack light" tail lights including license plate lights to become inoperable. This poses an obvious risk to safety as the lighting is relied upon by drivers, in dark conditions, to detect the rear of my vehicle. If a driver behind me were to fail to detect the rear of my vehicle, in dark conditions, they could easily collide with the rear of my vehicle. If this were to happen, there is a great possibility that persons in either vehicle could be seriously injured or killed. A simple google search of this issue would reveal that there are hundreds if not thousands of complaints on the same issue. So far dodge has refused to acknowledge this manufacturer's defect or the possible safety implications it can cause.
CategoryExterior Lighting
DateJan 11, 2022
StateNY
Description
The contact owns a 2018 dodge durango. The contact stated that the taillights failed to operate as needed. The vehicle was taken to a local dealer where it was diagnosed with needing the taillights to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was informed of the failure and was awaiting a response. The failure mileage was approximately 55,000.
CategorySuspension
DateDec 21, 2021
StateSC
Description
The 2018 dodge durango has a blown rear shock. I have wore shocks out but never seen blown seals. The car barely has 50k and is not covered under warranty, or my extended warranty. They are on backorder and apparently this is not a new problem. The soonest I can get a shock is the 23rd of next month. It is not safe to drive.
CategoryEngine
DateDec 03, 2021
StateWV
Description
Doing some checking problems with this particular vehicle it seems that the water pump/ radiator has problems. My vehicle has a anti-freeze leak when at idle leaving a stream in the driveway. Thus causing a problem for pets and wildlife. The engine warning light has come on. The a/c compressor makes a noise also. Fyi.
CategoryElectrical System
DateDec 02, 2021
StateTX
Description
The uconnect radio has started to delaminate and causes the system to randomly change between radio, satellite radio, navigation, clock, etc. This fully integrated system also controls a/c, heat, rear backup camera, all adjustable functions in the vehicle, and is unsafe when this happens. Dealership offers to update the radio but it has nothing to do with the software it's the touchscreen. Diagnosis and repair is around 00. 00 to 00. 00 not covered under warranty. This issue is with all models of dodge chrysler with 8. 4" uconnet radios as seen in the online forums.
CategoryEngine
DateNov 05, 2021
StatePR
Description
My car is a dodge durango srt8, year 2018 , vin# [xxx], with only 20,000 miles and the engine transmission broke. It is under guarantee and the dealer has being compliant. I am affraid that in the web media more owners with the same engine are experiencing the same issue as me. There is a notification that the engine had a factory error in the manufacturing, they mention a park lock rod causing problems with the transmission. I am searching if there is any recall, but it seems that the problem is beginning to flourish. Please I will appreciate more information and suggestion from you of what should I do. Thanks. Information redacted pursuant to the freedom of information act (foia), 5 u. S. C. 552(b)(6).
CategoryElectrical System
DateSep 30, 2021
StateMD
Description
My radio screen cover is separating and looks like a big air bubble which causes the radio system to change stations and the system is not usable. So when you're using the navigation system it cuts off the navigation system and the whole system starts to reboot. I was backing up in a reboot and he couldn't and it affected the back up camera. I went to the dealer in waldorf maryland, and they told me that they had several people who complained about this the attendant said they had at least one a day they came here for that problem.
CategoryElectrical System, Unknown Or Other
DateSep 16, 2021
StateVA
Description
The display screen seems to be separating from the internal screen. The this separation is causing touch input that is not done by me. It causes random changes including the display of the back up camera while driving in a forward motion. This can be alarming to the driver as it makes you think your vehicle has come out of gear into reverse as well as serve as a general distraction. The first few times it happened to me, I slammed on breaks in traffic almost causing an accident. The dash/console also randomly reset itself.
CategoryElectrical System, Exterior Lighting
DateSep 05, 2021
StateNJ
Description
The racetrack light strip on the trunk isn't water tight. Rain water, melting snow, car washes, etc, cause water and condensation to build up inside the light. This builds up and fries the leds in the rear taillights. This then caused an electrical problem that caused a headlight to malfunction. Dodge/chrysler refused to help me with this. I had to replace it out of pocket and 2 months later my new one had the same problem. I see tons of durango's on the road with burnt out taillights due to this issue. The part is over

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.

,000 and is always on back order because of how often it fails. My car has less than 30k miles and has never been in an accident. This is a safety issues as my taillights are less visible and it causes other lights, such as my headlight to fail as well. They will not issue a recall, this is ridiculous. An over ,000 car that isn't waterproof and the manufacturer won't remedy the problem.
CategoryElectrical System, Unknown Or Other
DateAug 12, 2021
StateNC
Description
Since the latest update the radio will intermittently without notification reboot which will also occur when using navigation. It also has caused the vehicle to display a blue screen when in reverse. With the blue screen displayed the driver is unable to see objects, pedestrians, or vehicles that maybe in their path of reverse travel. Rebooting while driving causes an unnecessary distraction to the driver especially if the driver was relying on navigation while traveling in an unknown area. This happened in a previous radio and was subsequently replaced.
CategoryElectrical System
DateAug 12, 2021
StateNC
Description
The 8. 4 inch uconnect screen has a well know delamination issue. It usually starts at the top of the screen and the delamination rapidly spreads. As it spreads, the touch screen can intermittently press buttons on the screen by itself. It can select any setting/function on the screen and can even go through setting menus all by itself. This issue has caused me to almost get into an accident several times. The first time it happened the uconnect started going through settings while I was driving and caused me to swerve while trying to regain control of what it was doing. Another time it almost caused me to crash what when I was driving through a town in the rain while using the gps on the uconnect. When I was trying to find my turn the gps started randomly going through settings and I swerved while I was trying to take control and figure out where I was supposed to turn. Additionally, the delamination effects the visibility of the back up camera. I would be extremely surprised if this issue hasn't caused an accident. Groups on facebook have users report this issue on almost a daily basis and dodge is aware of the delamination issue. They have looked at mine and told me it's something they see all the time.
CategoryElectrical System, Exterior Lighting
DateAug 11, 2021
StateIN
Description
The tail light and license plate lights on my 2018 dodge durango have shorted out. This issue is happening on models of earlier and later years of the dodge durango and there are many forums all over the internet discussing this issue. The light accumulates water in it and shorts out. I have not found any evidence of water in my lights as the thousands of other owners have but the same symptoms of this issue are happening to my durango even though I keep it in the garage. My lights just went out today and there are less than 45,000 miles on the vehicle. The lights are leds so they should last quite awhile. I know the lights are not burnt out because I replaced the license plate lights with new oem ones a few months ago and they are already out again. The tail light on the durnago is split into three sections, left, center, and right. The center part which is the largest, provides the most visibility for my vehicle while on the road is the section that commonly burns out for the dodge durangos as it has with mine. Owners are reporting this issue with less than 7,000 miles on the vehicles. A short can cause a fire. My durango is garage kept so if that vehicle sets fire, my house, myself, my wife, and my 3 children will all be burned alive. The fact that it is garage kept also makes this issue very ridiculous because it is hardly out in the weather. Especially since I work from home and my wife is a stay at home mother. We hardly go anywhere, especially if it is raining. Another safety issue this may cause is if the tail light is blinking or suddenly begins to blink, drivers behind me may think I am slamming on my breaks and this could cause a pile up on the highway. Pile ups can kill numerous people on the road. While the light is not shinning at all, other vehicles on the road lose visibility of my vehicle. This is especially the case in foggy weather or at night. If people cannot see me, they may hit me possible killing my family or their own.
CategorySeats:front Assembly:head Restraint
DateAug 02, 2021
StateFL
Description
The contact owns a 2018 dodge durango. The contact stated while the vehicle was stopped at a red light the front passenger's seat headrest air bag inadvertently deployed. The vehicle was not involved in a collision. There was no warning light illuminated. The contact was able to continue driving to her residence. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired by a dealer or independent mechanic. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximate 21,000.
CategoryElectrical System
DateJul 26, 2021
StateAZ
Description
Uconnect 8. 4 screen is delaminating which causes it to press random buttons and display reverse camera when vehicle is in drive.
CategoryElectrical System
DateJul 04, 2021
StateTX
Description
The adhesive on the uconnect infotainment center is coming undone. This appears to be due to the screen component is not rated to be stored in conditions higher than 90c. The glue holding the screen and digitizer is melting leaving gaps on the screen. This causes 'ghost touches' where the affected area rapidly changes inputs. Since the infotainment is tied to many functions in the car they can be inadvertently toggled while driving. Owners living in southern states who leave their car outside may experience the inside of the car exceeding the storage temp of the screen and causing this failure.
CategoryExterior Lighting
DateJun 28, 2021
StateWA
Description
Rear center track light gaskets/seals leak causing lighting failure. This is commonly known, particularly among late model dodge durango community. So many can't be wrong.
CategorySeats
DateMay 19, 2021
StateAZ
Description
On may 18, 2021, I got in my vehicle and was securing my seatbelt when I heard a really loud noise and felt something brush my head. I got out of the vehicle, walked around and inspected as I was not certain what it was. When I opened the rear passenger door, I noticed the headrest had deployed on the driver's side seat. The car was not in motion - it was not even on. This is a known defect, however, according to fisher chrysler dodge jeep ram, our vehicle is not one of the ones affected, yet this still happened. It is at the dealership to be repaired. Dodge has been advised of this incident.
CategoryElectrical System, Exterior Lighting
DateApr 28, 2021
StateNJ
Description
Rain water leaks into the brake lights and ruins it all. The dealership said it costs

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.

,400 because they have to replace everything. Everywhere I called is back ordered on the parts because this happens so frequently. The car barely has 20k miles on it.
CategoryExterior Lighting
DateApr 22, 2021
StateWV
Description
Water leaking into rear liftgate lamp(racetrack light) shorted out about 6 inches of the led lower left side. Removed water through mounting screw hole. Vehicle was stationary however water entered while driving in rain also
CategoryElectrical System, Fuel/propulsion System
DateApr 14, 2021
StateNY
Description
I purchased a 2018 dodge durango on march 9, 2021. A month after barely driving it, I noticed that I can't fill up all the way as far as gas. Second time trying to fill up. Looks like it a 'filler neck' issue. Also, the button to lock all passenger windows does not work. It won't lock the windows. The button just locks up or down but won't lock the passenger windows. I pick up my children from work and I'm afraid they may play with the windows.
CategoryExterior Lighting
DateApr 01, 2021
StateNC
Description
The racetrack light bar (attached to the deck lid) has gotten water inside it, (it was this way when I bought it) and now the light is no longer working. This is a common problem on the dodge durango, as I have seen multiple people who are having this problem.
CategorySuspension
DateMar 29, 2021
StateIN
Description
At 20,00 mi the shocks starting knocking and dealer said not covered under warranty. At 50,000 mi they are complettly shot no shock action at all and dealer says 0. 00 per shock and 0. 00 labor per shock
CategoryExterior Lighting
DateMar 28, 2021
StateWV
Description
Liftgate lamp has water infiltration and damages the led lights part number 68156575ag this housing also incorporates the reverse lamps and reverse camera system
CategoryFuel/propulsion System
DateMar 26, 2021
StateIL
Description
Issues filling all the time - the gas pump keeps shutting off like it's full but it's not. Some places like every 1. 00 got to reset the pump - some places do not work at all.
CategoryElectrical System
DateMar 22, 2021
StateTX
Description
Uconnect 8. 4c nav radio screen continually resets and or stays blank. Multiple trips to dealer and two screen replacements with no avail. Safety concern, very distracting and no back up camera use when it goes out, has stayed off for multiple days. No climate control, radio or camera.. Occurs primarily in motion, very randomly.
CategoryExterior Lighting, Structure:body
DateMar 14, 2021
StateNY
Description
2018 dodge durango with 48,000 miles. Rear taillights fill with water. (also known as the racetrack light). The taillight assemblly will fill with water from rain water or a simple car wash. This causes the rear taillight to flicker on and off or burn out completely. This is an on going issue with the 2014 and newer durango. This is a design flaw from dodge and they will not cover it and make it right. Dodge has also not updated this design to improve it either. After replacement it will only be a matter of time before it will do it again. This is a big safety issue and there should be a recall on this poorly designed part. Then on top of it, the local dodge dealer will charge you 00 for a new one. I attached some pictures. I also took video of the water draining out of the tailgate and taillights flickering on and off but couldn't upload them.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateMar 03, 2021
StateNJ
Description
Gps location is off by 50 miles or so and vehicle compass indicates wrong or opposite heading.
CategoryElectrical System, Visibility/wiper
DateFeb 26, 2021
StateNJ
Description
Suv only has 42k miles and the motor that controls the window fluid just stop working. The wipers work but when you push the button for the wipes to spray the widows the motor stop sound and will not spray
CategoryExterior Lighting
DateFeb 07, 2021
StateCO
Description
2018 dodge durango lamp liftgate fills with water and cause the light to fail.
CategoryFuel/propulsion System
DateJan 25, 2021
StateFL
Description
I was unable to add fuel to the vehicle within a reasonable amount of time until dodge replaced the fuel filler neck assembly. The fuel would pour out onto the ground or the pump would keep shutting off before the tank was full.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine
DateJan 16, 2021
StateWV
Description
Vehicle would not start after sitting 45 minutes. Started after jump and died again next day. Recharged battery and it worked scan tool had three codes dead battery fog light switch and drivers door switch second issue is oil in the air box which the dealer is trying to resolve with a pcv valve. However this vehicle only has 39 k miles
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJan 07, 2021
StateMD
Description
Rear hatch windows just shattered for no reason
CategoryExterior Lighting
DateJan 04, 2021
StateIL
Description
The track lighting (tail light) on the hatch has water in it along with condensation. I only have 24k miles on my durango.
CategoryElectrical System
DateDec 30, 2020
StateWV
Description
Parasitic draw on battery battery died suddenly and stays charged one or two days first time it was shut off for 30 minutes in park was jump started and operating second time sit overnight and battery was completely drained failed to jumpstart applied charger overnight and vehicle started this has been repeated 3 times automatic start system has not functioned since purchased 3 months ago
CategoryExterior Lighting
DateDec 07, 2020
StateNY
Description
Just bought this car in august. I didn't notice the entire rear red lights weren't working until I got pulled over. I'm guessing they didn't work at all and I just didn't notice it.
CategoryStructure:body
DateNov 24, 2020
StateIL
Description
I was driving down the highway when I heard a loud noise. I looked in my mirrors and saw a piece of my car in the mirror. It was the plastic piece off my door. I couldn't stop being on the highway lucky that it didn't hit another vehicle. I took it to the dealership, sam leman in morton illinois where I was told this happens with durangos, being blowed off. To me this is a safety hazard to other vehicles, especially if a motorcycle was behind me. I have had issues with lack of care from the dealership, but other than that, this should be recalled from dodge as it could have caused an accident.
CategoryElectrical System
DateOct 13, 2020
StateGA
Description
My vehicles entertainment system screen shuts down to the display showing dodge. It will stay there until it decides to restart. The only two items working are vehicle temperatures, air flow speed and shut off or turn on. Nothing else is available to select or operate with in the entertainment system. This includes the lost of uconnect if I was displaying maps for navigation. I have noticed a strange odor like a battery or wires over heat smell as I'm driving as this occurs. This is happening more frequently leaving me without the comforts we expect and paid for, not to mention the concern of is there a major issue going on? There are many forms on line stating this has been a reoccurring issue since 2016 pointing the blame between the fca and the uconnect pushing updates. I would like to see dodge fix their product. It does not matter if the vehicle is stationary, moving, on a city street, out on a county highway or interstate. Dealer states they no nothing about it. I asked them to research it. They state bring it in for a diagnostic. Dodge stop giving the consumer a run around and fix it. I assume that is why you have engineers this could be a hazard to the public. This is an on going issue
CategoryElectrical System, Suspension, Wheels
DateOct 12, 2020
StateWA
Description
There is a rubbing/grinding sound from the front right tire going 55+mph. The heating & cooling is shutting off and not turning back on. Radio screen is hot to the touch
CategoryElectrical System, Exterior Lighting
DateSep 10, 2020
StatePA
Description
I was pulled over at night by a police officer for not having any rear lights. The officer informed me that he is always pulling dodge durango's over because this is a common problem that the lights fill up with water and the electrical components corrode and no longer function. This is a 2018 that did not pass a pa safety inspection in 2020 without paying

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.

,888. 51 to replace the damaged parts. The gasket and sealant on this product breaks down in a short period of time allowing rain water to fill up inside the tail light racetrack assembly that is one part containing the license plate lights, backup camera and rear backup lights. I called fca customer care and they refused to provide any assistance and were well aware of the problem. This problem has been ongoing since the 2014 models and dodge is not willing to elevate or solve the problem and the consumer is unknowingly driving without lights until being pulled over by the police or the vehicle does not pass a safety inspection. This isn't a 0 expense that is being ignored but a

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.

,900 expense. This vehicle could have only 1,000 miles or 500,000 miles but shouldn't be breaking down in less than 3 years. This is not neglect or wrongdoing on the part of the consumer and is clearly a quality control breakdown that is being ignored. How can we request the government to investigate and issue a safety recall on this defect to guarantee that the vendors and manufacturers of the defective product are the ones paying for the repairs and not the customers who are the victims during this pandemic when I am out of work and don't have text="Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm" smalltext="Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win." img="balance" color="green",000 just sitting around and I'm struggling to pay the bills and put food on the table for my family?
CategoryAir Bags, Structure:body
DateSep 09, 2020
StateMI
Description
I was in a collision, going 70*mph on the expressway. Guy in front of me slammed on his breaks with no one in front of him. I had no time to stop, slammed into the back of his car. Not a single airbag deployed inside the vehicle, the whole front end was smashed in.
CategoryExterior Lighting, Fuel/propulsion System, Wheels
DateAug 20, 2020
StateTN
Description
69000 miles, check engine light came on. Codes p0440 was thrown 2x. I already replaced purge valve at my own cost. I also informed dodge. They won't fix it unless I pay for diagnosis. Which I already had one done. Also headlight bulb dropped at 38k miles and I informed dodge and mechanic. She said I didn't have the warranty on it and they wouldn't replace unless I paid full cost
CategoryElectrical System
DateJul 15, 2020
StateFL
Description
The vehicle has severe radio issues to the point where it is distracting to drive. It started with weather alerts from counties over 100 miles away. Now it constantly switched between the time settings, radio, and ac which is a huge distraction when driving. If I attempt to shut off the ac settings will move up and down on their own. This happens while the vehicle is stationary or in motion.
CategoryElectrical System, Unknown Or Other
DateJun 22, 2020
StateTX
Description
This has happened multiple times to me and has recently become a daily struggle. I seem to believe the electrical panel behind the dash may have a shortage of some sort. I can be stationed at a light or moving and my screen displaying the odometer will completely turn white. Some times it slowly fades away and other times just completely goes white. This happens while I'm in motion and I literally have no way to monitor my speed, other than rely on my rpm's. Today, 6/22/2020, I was traveling through my neighborhood and the dash was displaying fine. I come to a stop to turn and my display begins to fade. I am not going faster than 34 mph. Eventually, the display turns completely white and my screen for the radio reboots. I purchased this vehicle used with 10k miles on it. Now I wonder why it was traded in so early. *tr
CategoryEquipment:electrical, Unknown Or Other
DateJun 22, 2020
StateID
Description
The display screen went completely off as if I was just turning on the car. You can't see anything in the display screen except for dodge and also the volume button would not work. When this happens, I used have to turn of the vehicle and turn back on . Sometimes it works within the first try other times it takes several attempts. *tr
CategoryElectrical System, Engine
DateMay 11, 2020
StateWV
Description
I stopped at a stoplight, and when I tried to accelerate the car stalled engine light was blinking, drive light on the drive stick was blinking even though it is already on drive. Tried to shift it to park and drive again but the drive stick is locked and the break pads were also locked in place. Turned off the auto start/stop and pushed the start button with the key fob and the car started again. Good thing it was a red light, but I don't want to happen again especially if I'm driving with my family. *tr
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateMar 12, 2020
StateTN
Description
The travel link weather alerts are a dangerous and incredibly annoying feature. It forces you to take your eyes off the road and tend to it or it won't unblock your screen. I dont care if it's windy 3 counties over. I dont want my navigation screen blocked while I'm trying to get somewhere. I have been through the ringer getting the sxm trial deactivated but the weather alerts have not stopped. I've been to the dealer and done my fair share of research just to find out there is no way to stop them. Sirius is no help at all.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateFeb 24, 2020
StateNV
Description
I bought a 2018 durango from dodge in april or may 2019 supposedly "new". Its had 2995 miles on it from them joyriding in it through town. It has been in an accident and they didn't disclose it but charged me brand new price. 6 months after purchasing the windshield starts cracking on the side where it gets glued on to the vehicle due to weather change. Of course since the dealership changed hands magically there is nothing they will do and I contacted dodge and they refuse to help me. This crack is not due from a rock or anything I did it showed up over night.
CategoryExterior Lighting
DateJan 20, 2020
StateKY
Description
Rear 'racetrack' lighting and license plate lighting shorts out and does not function. This is caused by water leaking into and being retained in the assembly. This issue is thoroughly documented in a variety of online forums. When the lights are inoperative, the rear of the vehicle is very dark and posses a safety issue by increasing the chances of a rear end collision.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine, Service Brakes
DateJan 12, 2020
StateTX
Description
This letter is a written notice to dodge/chrysler corporation that I am tired of the way they are treating me. I purchased a 2018 dodge dealer gt, with only 2,800 miles. It was a dealer demo and it has been nothing but problems. Starting from inside of interior falling apart, which was fixed by dealer. However, at 8,000 miles or so the engine started developing an intermittent rattle, that has gotten worse over time. I have tried communicating with dodge with very little help. Right now I have an open case with dodge but so far my case manager has not been any help. My engine is getting damaged, and last time I took truck to dealer for service the service advisor told me they would not open engine to look into engine without engine light. Dodge is treating me bad. The truck even turned of while driving but that was only once, who knows of later it will happen again. I feel this truck is a big safety issue that dodge is simply just ignoring.
CategoryElectrical System
DateJan 12, 2020
StateTX
Description
Our 2018 dodge durango gt, has electrical ongoing issues. The paddle shifters on steering wheel are controlled through radio settings. Every time I turn paddle shifters off, they just reset and turn back on. This is dangerous because coming out into a busy intersection I need to pull safely into road and the truck has the paddle shifters engaged making it dangerous. I then have to manually disengage them through steering wheel so that truck can drove again normal. Dodge acknowledges problem but refuses to fix it. Have documented this, please help.
CategoryService Brakes
DateJan 12, 2020
StateTX
Description
Our dodge durango gt, has developed a loud pop sound when coming to a full stop. I took it to ancira dodge in san antonio, they advised me the calipers are hitting brake pads and there is nothing they can do. I feel this is a safety issue and dodge again does not want to help. Our truck has barely 21,787 miles and I'm having so many issues with this defective vehicle.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateDec 10, 2019
StateMI
Description
November 30, 2019, my husband and I were driving on the interstate, it was 34 degrees outside and we had the defrost and heat on low setting {1}. Then a sound like a gunshot, then cold air coming from the roof and could hear glass bouncing around. We pulled over. Saw what had happened and couldn't figure out how. No one was even around us when it happened so nothing hit it. Then looking closer, could see that the glass was raised a bit and the seals surrounding it were lifted in a few places. The sunroof exploded outward.
CategoryElectrical System
DateNov 11, 2019
StateWI
Description
The rear tail-light system (covers entire rear of car) on my dodge durango started to leak due to an inadequate seal and the taillight system burned out in various spots. Once out it becomes much harder to see the rear of the vehicle and creates a very hazardous situation. This happened in the first year of ownership. Dodge will not cover this and wants just under

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.

,000 to replace it. I believe this should be checked into as the decreased tail light can be hard to see especially in the snowy climate we have here in wisconsin.
CategoryFuel/propulsion System, Vehicle Speed Control
DateNov 07, 2019
StateIN
Description
I got the car with 100 miles on it and these problems continue.... Kroger's and many other gas station pumps kick off while fueling. I have tried pulling the nozzle out some, squeezing the trigger less, etc & they still kick the pump off. It literally takes 10 mins to pump worth of gas. Also, I have a slight delay when pressing the gas pedal from a stop sign, etc. Its like a second delay then its like it decides to go ahead & go. Radio/control screen has already been replaced due to it going to a full black screen & full blue screen, shutting off, etc. However, even the new radio still loses the programmed station settings.
CategoryElectrical System, Electronic Stability Control, Fuel/propulsion System
DateOct 31, 2019
StateNY
Description
Car stalls while driving, doesn't start. If it sit for a bit, it will start with check engine light on. Light turns off after a while until it stalls again
CategoryPower Train
DateOct 25, 2019
StateTX
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2018 dodge durango. While attempting to park the vehicle, the gear shift became stuck in the neutral position. There were no warning indicators illuminated prior to the failure. The contact made multiple attempts to shift the vehicle out of neutral, but was unsuccessful. The contact associated the failure with nhtsa campaign number: 18v280000(power train), but the vin was excluded from the recall. Helfman dodge chrysler jeep ram fiat (7720 katy fwy, suite a, houston, tx 77024, (713) 533-6100) was notified of the failure and informed the contact that the vehicle was not included in the recall. The contact was referred to nhtsa to have the vehicle added to the recall. The vehicle had not been repaired. The manufacturer had not been notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 29,080.
CategoryElectrical System, Steering
DateOct 04, 2019
StateNC
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2018 dodge durango. While operating the vehicle and making a right turn, the vehicle would not immediately turn and would continue to drive straight. The vehicle was taken to hendrick dodge (81 mackenan dr, cary, nc) where the steering was recalibrated, but the failure continued intermittently. Also, while operating the vehicle, the voltage meter continuously fluctuated. The alternator, battery, and battery terminals were replaced, but the failure continued. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 10,000. The vin was unknown.
CategoryElectrical System
DateSep 23, 2019
StateNY
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2018 dodge durango. When the contact started the vehicle, opened the door, or drove in reverse, the parking and driving assistance indicators illuminated. The vehicle was taken to chrysler dodge jeep ram fiat of bay ridge (8635 18th ave, brooklyn, ny 11214, (888) 578-2533) where it was diagnosed that the driving assistance and parking sensor failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired; however, the failure recurred. The vehicle was not taken back to the dealer and was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 24,667.
CategoryService Brakes
DateSep 12, 2019
StateNV
Description
My vehicle only has 17,500 miles on it and the brakes are constantly squeaking. I've cleaned the rotors, but it still makes this god awful squeak. The brakes should be good for another 25,000 miles, but I don't think it's going to make it.
CategoryElectrical System
DateSep 08, 2019
StateNC
Description
The vehicle's travel link system gives weather warnings that pop up on the radio/navigation screen, while the vehicle is in motion. The current weather warnings are from counties that are 100's of miles from my area, and even in another state. Once these pop ups occur, you take your eyes off the road to ensure they are not of importance for your area. I was told by sirius xm that there was no way to disable this feature or correct the issue of the pop ups being for a storm that occurred last week, and there are currently no active weather warnings.
CategoryElectronic Stability Control, Unknown Or Other
DateAug 31, 2019
StateTX
Description
I was in a drive thru restaurant and once I finished my ordered I was going to pull forward, but when I pushed the gas my car wouldn't move forward. So I looked down at my gearshift and it was blinky on drive mode, then I put my car on park turned it off my car then turned it back on and I was able to move forward. And also my check light engine light came on as well when that incident happened.
CategoryService Brakes
DateAug 12, 2019
StateCA
Description
Brembo break pads I purchased my vehicle in october of 2018, I was quoted for new brake pads all around at 9000 miles in june of 2019. After finding out about the manufacture warranty, I was told that I only need rear brake pads replaced now. (note: there is less then 1mm on rear pads currently and 4mm on the front pads) , I told the manager at rydell that, I believe the braking system is defective. I have never herd of replacing the brake pads on a brand new vehicle this soon. I called three different dealers and they find it weird that I have to change the brakes already with only 9000 miles on the car. Mind you, I am the first owner of this vehicle and when I purchased it, it had 300 miles on the car already. The manager, rick guzman at rydell in san fernando even went as far as to accuse me of racing my vehicle. However, shouldn't balding tires coincide with that accusation? Everything on my vehicle is the same as it was when I drove of their lot in october of 2018. There is no way, after putting 8,700 miles on my own, that I should need to change all four brake pads on a brand new vehicle. And the dealer is now fighting me to only change the brakes in the rear. I believe all four pads should be changed out. With the rear pads at 1mm and the front pads at 4mm, something sounds really wrong. The vehicle is not even a year old yet !
CategoryElectrical System
DateJul 31, 2019
StateCA
Description
The vehicle after being started and driven will not shut off. The engine will eventually turn off but the car remains in accessory mode until completely draining the battery. The vehicle then has to have the battery powered up separately and restarted.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJul 22, 2019
StateAL
Description
With this incident my dodge durango srt was towed to the dealership on friday the 19th and it still hasn't been seen nor diagnosed. My husband and I have been calling all day with no answer then was told it was in the shop but now they are telling us that is hasn't been in the shop and it might be tomorrow which is tuesday. Every time I deal with them it's a problem
CategoryAir Bags, Electrical System
DateJul 02, 2019
StateGA
Description
Air bag warning light came on in my vehicle. I placed a service request to get it checked out on 03/29/19. Landmark dodge inspected the vehicle, but was told that a special part needed to be ordered. When the special part was delivered, I then had to make another service appointment to get the part changed/fixed. Unfortunately the next availability wasn't till 05/23/19. I came in on this date to get my vehicle service. After inspection, I was told that another part had to be ordered to fix the air bag warning. I was told that I'd be contacted once that part came in. It's 07/02/19 and I haven't heard anything from the dealership. Another issue I found later, while driving was that my horn does not work. It is believed to have been disconnected. I believe this to be very dangerous to operate vehicle without horn, and without my airbag system functioning properly.
CategoryPower Train, Unknown Or Other
DateJul 01, 2019
StateCA
Description
When coming to a slow stop in a driveway and shifting car into park car will not stay in park and shift back into drive.
CategoryExterior Lighting
DateJun 22, 2019
StateIL
Description
Water pooling inside race track taillight causing outages in parts of taillight
CategoryWheels
DateJun 19, 2019
StateCA
Description
I purchased a vehicle from stg auto group in garden grove and noticed a week later while my car was parked in my driveway, that there was a large slash on the front passenger tire on the wheel wall with an orange painted circle around it. I was told by a professional that the dealership noticed it, and circled the slash because was meant for it to to be changed to pass the safety inspection to be sold. The service department did not replace the tire before selling and now is a safety hazard. The dealer is refusing to replace the tire.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJun 09, 2019
StateTX
Description
I was driving down the freeway at approximately 55 mph and heard a loud boom. There was nothing that flew into my car or impacted it in anyway. I was unsure of what it was and continue driving. When I stopped at the house I looked around the vehicle and there was no visible signs of damage so I did not think anything of it. The next day when I was driving, I went to open my sunroof and saw that it had shattered. I inspected the glass and could not see any impact. I did have window tent on my glass, which is a good thing. That means that there was no glass that flew into my car
CategoryService Brakes, Vehicle Speed Control
DateJun 02, 2019
StateKY
Description
I went through cheetah car wash with my 2018 dodge durango and upon exiting the car wash and receiving green signal to drive I shifted from "n" to "d" and started slowly driving toward the vacuum cleaning area. As I was slowly pulling into the parking lot, the vehicle suddenly accelerated and hit the post and building, causing it to stop. I called the police to the scene and they had the vehicle towed to basham towing service in bowling green, ky. Please investigate this vehicle for mechanical failure, because if this had happened on interstate, this could have ended way worse. I found information online that dodge durango has been having a number of similar issues. Http://www. Carproblemzoo. Com/dodge/durango/car-accelerates-on-its-own-problems. Php
CategoryTires
DateMay 14, 2019
StateMI
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2018 dodge durango, equipped with bridge stone tires, tire line: ecopia, tire size:265-50r-20 n/a, and dot 7xumec13017. The tires were the original tires. The contact stated that while driving about 55 mph, the tire belts on the rear driver's and the rear passenger's side tires fractured and and caused the tires to vibrate. The dealer was not called and the manufacturer was not made aware of the failures. The contact took the vehicle to an independent tire shop and replaced the two tires. The vehicle and the tire failure mileages were approximately 25,000.
CategorySuspension
DateMay 13, 2019
StateOH
Description
Durango r/t hemi awd towing package. Noticed rattle,clunking on rear passenger side, as well as increased body roll and rear end sway/road walk on road patches, road surface to bridge transitions, etc. Leading to a steering correction on steering wheel. Very noticeable at highway speeds. Made appt. For dealer inspection/repair. Dealer diagnosed as bad rear strut, ordered new struts for both rear sides and sent me home. I have been waiting almost 4 weeks now, dealer just tells me "138+ struts are on back order, no eta for the parts. Opened an incident with fca customer service over a week ago, all they are doing is sending me a daily email or vmail saying they are working on getting me the part, no eta. Meanwhile the ride continues to deteriorate.
CategoryElectrical System, Structure:body:door
DateMay 06, 2019
StateOH
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2018 dodge durango. The contact stated that there was an internal fault and the door ajar warning indicator illuminated for the rear passenger side. The dealer (deacon's chrysler dodge jeep ram, 835 som center rd, mayfield, oh 44143, (440) 442-0424) was unable to determine the cause of the failure during the initial visit. During the second visit to the same dealer, the rear passenger side door latch was replaced, but the failure continued. The contact planned on taking the vehicle back to the dealer a third time. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was not available.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine, Unknown Or Other
DateApr 01, 2019
StateNV
Description
While drive my 2018 dodge durango on the fwy around 65+ the engine just turn off. With kids in the car we were stuck in the slow lane of the fwy unable to move the car. I tried restarting it with no luck. The car still had power(lights were on). The car wouldn't go into neutral .. The car had to be pulled off the road by a tow truck. After about an hour( car was towed) when we got it home we tried again to start the car it started! No check light came on during anytime. A very scary experience.
CategoryAir Bags
DateFeb 26, 2019
StateNY
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2018 dodge durango. While driving 43 mph over an icy patch in the road, the vehicle crashed into a guardrail, three telephone poles, and a tree. The air bags failed to deploy. The contact sustained a shoulder injury and medical attention was provided. A police report was filed. The vehicle was towed to an independent lot. The local dealer was not contacted. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was contacted. A special inspector collected the event data recorder and informed the contact that the front passenger side impact would not cause the air bags to deploy. The failure mileage was 5,000. The vin was not available. *dt*jb
CategoryFuel/propulsion System
DateFeb 22, 2019
StateID
Description
Most pumps do not work only costco cannot fill the tank with more than

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.

- text="Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm" smalltext="Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win." img="balance" color="green" worth of gas without the pump clicking off. I have tried several gas stations and I have the same problem everywhere. I have to hold the nozzle almost upside down in order to pump gas. I have only had the car 2 months and I am ready to get rid of it solely because of this problem.
CategoryElectrical System
DateFeb 07, 2019
StateMI
Description
Uconnect radio continuously has weather alert pop-ups that are a big distraction while driving. A weather alert that is pertinent to the area that you are in would be acceptable, but alerts for counties that are 100-400 miles away causes continual spamming of the radio, which is a huge distraction to a driver. Contact to both sirius xm and fca have yielded no results. There is no way in the options to disable this feature and no update has been provided from the manufacturer.
CategoryElectronic Stability Control, Unknown Or Other, Vehicle Speed Control
DateFeb 04, 2019
StateSC
Description
I was coming threw the wv area coming down a hill moving toward the car tunnels. Just as I was coming down the hill the car incressined the speeds from 70 to 75 and then from there to 80. (adaptive cruise control)I tried to contact the car owners that I rented from and they wouldn't provide any information are contact me back to make the report on the vehicle .
CategoryElectrical System
DateJan 21, 2019
StateMD
Description
Problem with both usb outlets. Power goes in and out while driving. Purchased the vehicle brand new on 09/19/2018. They replaced the radio and still having the same problem. Took vehicle back on this date 01/21/2019.
CategoryPower Train
DateJan 11, 2019
StateFL
Description
A few days after the purchase the car felt a strong blow in the transmission when going from parking to d or from the parking to r. I took it to the dealer where I bought it and after a simple inspection they said they did not find anything I think I'll take it when I have the first maintenance and tell them to go back to review since it is doing it more and more frequently.
CategorySeats
DateDec 14, 2018
StateCA
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2018 dodge durango. While driving 35 mph, the front driver's seat independently reclined backwards. The contact coasted the vehicle to the side of the road and attempted to recline the seat forward, but the handle failed. In addition, the contact stated that the seat failed to slide forward. The vehicle was taken to stevens creek dodge chrysler jeep dodge ram (located at 4100 stevens creek blvd, san jose, ca 95129, (408) 248-1800) where it was diagnosed that the seat was forcefully pushed and caused the cable to detach. The cable needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified and provided a case number. The approximate failure mileage was 2,347. The vin was not available.
CategoryAir Bags, Seat Belts
DateOct 10, 2018
StateNY
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2018 dodge durango. While driving approximately 65 mph, the contact's vehicle was rear ended by another vehicle. The air bags did not deploy and no alarm sounded. A police report was filed. There were no injuries. The vehicle was not towed. The vehicle was taken to mike smith chrysler jeep dodge ram (409-840-3560, located at 1945 I-10, beaumont, tx 77701) and repaired, but the repair specifics were not disclosed. After the vehicle was retrieved, the seat belt became inoperable and would not retract or unlatch. The vehicle was taken to island chrysler dodge jeep ram (844-673-0276, located at 1239 hylan blvd, staten island, ny 10305) where it was stated that the seat belt was used incorrectly. The contact was not provided any further explanation. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and did not assist. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 6,000.
CategoryElectrical System, Exterior Lighting, Power Train
DateOct 08, 2018
StatePA
Description
Since approximately 4,000 miles we have experience numerous electrical issues. Our back-up camera, navigation, radio, and a/c work intermittently. The dealer initially felt the battery was backfeeding the system causing a short. That was quickly changed and we are still just waiting for an answer. While parked overnight, one of the map lights came on and could not be turned off. The overhead control panel was replaced due to an open circuit. Most recently, when shifted into reverse, the "r" indicator on the shifter and display would blink and the car acted as though it was in neutral. The engine would rev, but the vehicle won't reverse. This has occurred on both a flat surface while trying to back out of a driveway and once on a hill while backing out of a parking spot. While on the hill, the car rolled forward while engaged in reverse. We do have a video but are unable to upload.
CategoryPower Train
DateSep 24, 2018
StateAE
Description
With less than 4000 miles on my brand new car, the transmission drops from 8th gear to neutral (and would go from reverse to neutral) and lose all power while driving. The engine will rev and nothing happens. You have to place the vehicle in park, turn the car off and back on to get it to work again. It happened while making turns (left and right), driving down the interstate, reversing, pulling out of parking spaces, on city streets, highways and interstates, and while stationary. This is a serious safety issue. This happened several times (after being serviced) and nearly causing accidents. At one point, I was driving at approximately 80mph on the highway, in traffic, and the transmission dropped to neutral with the engine light coming on. The engine light does not stay on. I have done a little research and have found where this has happened to multiple new dodge durango owners. I can get copies of the service records if needed. *dt *js *dt consumer stated entire transmission was replaced. Updated 11/7/18*jb
CategoryVisibility:windshield
DateSep 10, 2018
StatePA
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2018 dodge durango. While driving in the rain, the sun roof and windshield leaked. The leaks caused the vehicle to shut off in the middle of a parking lot since the star connector was affected. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic and repaired, but the parts that were replaced were unknown. The contact stated that the failure recurred and the vehicle was taken back to the independent mechanic. Sealant was placed in the leak areas; however, after heavy rain, the vehicle shut off again due to water entering the vehicle. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired for the most recent failure. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and a case was opened, which was assigned to a case manger. An unknown local dealer called the contact and stated that, per the manufacturer, the windshield needed to be replaced in order to repair the vehicle. A loaner vehicle was to be provided during the contact's visit to the dealer. The failure mileage was 11,200.
CategoryFuel/propulsion System
DateAug 27, 2018
StateMA
Description
Cannot fill fuel tank properly. Without messing with how far to put fuel nozzle in or flip entirely upside down. It will not fill the fuel tank. It has been happening for the 22000 miles I have owned this brand new durango. But today I have had enough
CategorySeats
DateJun 12, 2018
StateVT
Description
Dogs in vehicle in front passenger side and rear passenger side. Dog in front may have come in contact with switch or control back\lombar seat rest opened to fold open to rear ( sleep position ) front back rest trapped and crushed dog sleeping on rear passenger side, required emergency stop on highway to attempt to locate seat switch in order to release dog from position. Dog ( 48 pounds ) suffered major injuries, internal bleeding and liver damage due to rat trap like setup or front seat violent motion towards rear and no safety restraint mechanism to prevent seat from pinning rear passengers in place. Will submit civil court case to recover losses and medical fees for injured pet. This vehicle presents a major safety hazard considering there are no safety mechanisms preventing the front seat from opening in such a manner. Have owned lots of cars and have been driving with dogs for 25 years now and never come across something like this before, will get rid of this vehicle asap
CategoryElectrical System, Engine
DateJun 10, 2018
StateCA
Description
I have 3 major issues. 1 while driving the entire center console electrical system has locked completely up, turning the air off and not allowing any change to the system until the vehicle is pulled over and shut off, continuing with electrical 2x's I've shut the car off and the radio would not turn off, until the battery was disconnected which reset the entire system. My second issue is when starting the vehicle there is almost a grinding noise associated with the start up. Third the car seemed to be stuck on cruise control but with enough time to push enough buttons and shift to neutral it came out of cruise, the car has 3000 miles on it and I pay? D almost 50 grand for a brand new vehicle and it continually has issues, is there/will there be a technology fix? *tr
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateMay 31, 2018
StateMI
Description
Cannot disable weather pop-ups from siriusxm travel link service or from uconnect navigation screen. These pop-ups take up the entire screen, and require you to touch 1 of 2 buttons on the screen to make is disappear. These alerts can be for high wind, hot/humid weather, etc and may not be relevant to your physical location. They can pop up while the vehicle is in motion or stationary. The alerts happen on a daily basis, and you will get the same alerts multiple times if starting/stopping your vehicle in the same day. It is dangerous to have to press a button on the screen to be able to see your navigation directions, especially when in a populated area with traffic signals and a dense poplulation of vehicles.
CategoryPower Train
DateMar 30, 2018
StatePA
Description
We purchased our 2018 dodge durango srt in 02/2018. After 300 miles, all dash lights lit up and a trouble code of esc was displayed. We brought it to the dealer who advised there was water penetration of a wiring harness connector which lead to the axle actuator shorting out. It was repaired by cleaning the connector and replacing the actuator. We picked up our durango 4 days later and drove it an additional 990 miles at which time the same issue happened - lights, esc message. We dropped it off at the dealer on march 26, 2018 and they advised the same issue occurred, water penetrated the harness connector and shorted out the axle actuator. Parts are not readily available at this time as the dealer indicated all the awd durangos are having this issue. The harness is on back order through the middle of april. I've contacted fiat/chrysler and on the first repair, they covered an extended warranty to 85 months for us. In my second contact with them, I was advised this will be an ongoing issue as they have no fix for the harness connector issue and actuator problem. The dealership advised once repaired the second time, the issue will recur once driven in wet weather. Both issues occurred as my wife and I were driving, which resulted in the loss of awd, cruise, and other safety functions of the vehicle. Both times is happened, we were driving in wet and/or snowy weather. *tt *cn *js *tt
CategoryElectrical System, Electronic Stability Control, Unknown Or Other
DateFeb 15, 2018
StateNY
Description
I leased my car 2018 dodge durango , I had it for a week and a half and then it started to malfunction. The screen on my car has been rebooting for about a week now leaving me with no radio, gps, back up camera, and all other emergency funxtions that come with with system. I got the car because of its radio and system. Now I have a ,000 car and I cant drive it but I still have to pay at the end of the month. That is not right and I need some sort of compensation. This is ridiculous.
CategoryElectrical System
DateFeb 12, 2018
StateNJ
Description
The entire 8. 4" screen on the dashboard flashes on and off continually whether the vehicle is running or not. Seems like there is a major short in the electrical system. While this issue is happening you have no control over heating, ventilation, radio, navigation, apps or apple car play. Also, while driving at night the flashing screen causes a hazardous distraction in an otherwise dark vehicle.

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.

Share your story

Does this ring a bell? Have you had a bad experience too? Sound off and share your experience with other visitors in the comment box below.

Brian Jones

About the Author:

Brian Jones spent more than 20 years working as an ASE Certified Master Tech and Parts Specialist at multiple dealerships. Brian has become an authority in the industry, traveling across the country to consult for car dealerships and contributing his expertise as a writer for several major automotive publications. In his spare time, Brian enjoys working on pickup trucks, muscle cars, Jeeps and anything related to motorsports.

See more posts from Brian Jones
BE THE FIRST TO COMMENT

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead you can to our legal team.

Please select your star rating.

Briefly describe your experience Briefly describe your experience

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? Please enter a valid phone number

Want to know if you could sue? Get a free legal evaluation Lemberg Law?

Get Your No-Obligation
Case Evaluation

Send a secure message to our legal team.

What’s your name? What’s your name?
What’s your email address? What’s your email address?
What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?
Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem
Confidentiality Guarantee: We keep your information completely confidential and will not send you spam or sell your information.