mobile-banner desktop-banner

2020 Land Rover Range Rover Velar Problems and Top Complaints – Is Your Car A Lemon?

Engine and fuel system issues among the top complaints received by the NHTSA from vehicle owners


Luxury SUVs of other makes simply can’t compete with the class and style of a 2020 Land Rover Range Rover Velar. Even the automaker calls this model “the avant-garde Range Rover.” However, customers have taken to the internet to complain about the engine and the fuel system, two of the most critical components of any vehicle.

 

Don’t be stuck with a lemon. You have legal rights to cash, return or buyback.

The law makes Land Rover pay legal fees.

We've fixed thousands of lemon problems. Message or call 877-795-3666 today.

Problems with the Engine

Powering the luxury SUV is an engine that is supposed to be powerful and reliable, but that’s not the case.

One NHTSA complaint states, “The Land Rover Velar was purchased on January 25, 2020 from [dealership}. When it reached 1600 miles, I found that the vehicle had the oil leakage phenomenon. There is a lot of oil at the bottom of the vehicle. I suspected that there was a leakage problem when the vehicle was purchased. I contacted the dealer repair service on March 18, 2020 and sent the vehicle back. On April 1, 2020, I was notified that the repair was completed. They test drove it for 40 miles. On April 3, the vehicle was at 1,745 miles. I laid down underneath to examine the bottom of my vehicle again to examine. The oil was still leaking even more serious than before the previous repair.

The Complainant Continues…

On April 21, 2020, the repair was completed. On April 23, there was still oil at the bottom of the vehicle. The maintenance staff stated that there was residual oil at the bottom of the car. So he cleaned it up and advised us to drive it more than 400 miles for the residual oil to be disappeared. On May 19, 2020, I came to the repair services of dealership for the fourth time. The vehicle was at 2,648 miles. Repair staff was not sure whether there was a leak. He let us leave the vehicle at the dealership service department for more inspection. And no loaner vehicle was provided, which makes us very inconvenient. On June 4, I went to the dealership again. They lent me a Jaguar to use, but my Velar was still in the service until current.”

Land Rover understands that there are other problems with this engine. Service Bulletin #SFCC Jul20_20 also discusses noises coming from the engine due to a malfunctioning idler pulley or tensioner. At this point, after examining all of the problems, it might be that Range Rover used the term “avant-garde” with a negative tone instead. Considering part of the definition means “unusual ideas,” it could be that Range Rover was simply warning consumers that this SUV has nothing usual or reliable about it. Instead, customers never know what they are going to find.

Problems with the Fuel System

Working in conjunction with any reliable engine is a dependable fuel system. After all, without this system, the fuel can’t make its way to the engine. Yet, Range Rover is struggling to get this system right as well. 

Here’s another NHTSA review. “The car basically shut down while running. It started to shake and then just powered down, twice. According to the dealership there is an issue with the ‘purge system’ they told me the vehicle was released to early. There is an issue with the software and management system. The car is unsafe to drive. When the car powered down I was at a red light inching forward, the car started to shake and the red battery light came on.

The Complainant Continues…

I turned everything off and was able to move forward but only slightly and the car powered down again (I also caused a small accident behind me). The car always felt like I was working hard to accelerate and felt like it was ‘sticking.’ In speaking with the service team at Range Rover the Velar in general has had issues and the service department can’t keep up. The car isn’t safe and I’ve been told it may need to go back in even after the repair.”

Again, Range Rover has spoken up about fuel system concerns. Service Bulletin #SFCC_OCT19_25 talks again about a noise coming from the engine. This problem also causes the Check Engine Light to come on but is related to a defective fuel pump. So far, the only difference noticed with this Land Rover SUV is the level of defects and the time people have to spend at the dealership. It’s certainly not worth spending extra money for; maybe customers should go with something less “avant-garde” and choose something more practical instead. At least, it might run better and keep owners out of the service department. 

Your Lemon Law Legal Rights

Think you have a lemon? Sit back and let the experts work aid your lemon at no cost to you. The law makes Land Rover pay legal fees. You may be able to get your lemon out of your life. Every year, auto manufacturers buy back, replace or pay cash settlements to thousands of ‘lemon’ owners like you.

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.

Share your story

Does this ring a bell? Have you had a bad experience too? Sound off and share your experience with other visitors in the comment box below.

About the Author:

Brian Jones spent more than 20 years working as an ASE Certified Master Tech and Parts Specialist at multiple dealerships. Brian has become an authority in the industry, traveling across the country to consult for car dealerships and contributing his expertise as a writer for several major automotive publications. In his spare time, Brian enjoys working on pickup trucks, muscle cars, Jeeps and anything related to motorsports.

See more posts from Brian Jones
1 COMMENT
  • Carly

    May 20 2020:
    Bought my 2019 Range Rover Velar from Land Rover Princeton. It was in mint condition and had only 6700 miles on it, was told this was because it was used as a loaner car. Being a 2019 with 6700 miles, it was still under manufacturers warranty.

    Oct 26 2020:
    Vehicle began having issues accelerating on a state road at night, going 55mph. Started shaking, warning lights flashed and car powered down 3/4 in the road on a blind corner with no cellphone service. Would not turn back on for 15 minutes, wouldn’t even turn over. After 15 minutes the vehicle turned back on and I was able to drive 2 miles home. Called the local Land Rover Dealership (Albany) who sent a tow truck. This issue was completely out of the blue, there was absolutely no indication prior that there was a problem with the vehicle.

    The service department initially told me it was not at all related to the fuel pump. Told me it was simply out of gas when it was not on the first day it was in the shop, did not return calls to check on it. I had to call multiple times daily. Did not return calls when voicemails were left. Lied and said they called back when they didn’t. Ended up telling me on the 4th or 5th day that the vehicle “needs a software update.” Fuel pump ended up being replaced, which I found out on the invoice I was given not from being told. I was refused a loaner car and my vehicle spent 2 weeks in the shop for this.

    When recalling the incident on 12/9/21 the service department stated “That had nothing to do with the fuel pump, it was a power train control update related to the transmission.” I tell them I kept the invoices and that the fuel pump was replaced and no one ever told me anything about the transmission system being updated. They say “I’m looking at a copy of the invoice that you got. It had nothing to do with the fuel pump” I tell them I know for a fact it says on my invoice the fuel pump was replaced in October 2020. They say “Oh you’re right it was replaced”

    February 2021:
    In a gas station parking lot the car begins shaking and having issues accelerating again, the same as it did the first time. It again shut down completely but this time wouldn’t start at all after 2 hours while awaiting a tow truck. The vehicle would not turn over, the display wouldn’t even light up.

    Again spent 2 weeks in the shop. Only given a loaner car after demanding one 5 days in. Service department dodged calls, did not make calls back when voicemails were left. They were never able to give a clear update as to what was wrong with the vehicle. Again told me that it was out of gas when the gas light wasn’t even on prior to it breaking down, it had over 1/4 of a tank. They insisted my vehicle was out of gas, that they put gas in it and it was fine and actually laughed about it on the phone because it was that simple. They then kept my vehicle for over a week without updating me as to why. They would tell me they’d have a loaner car and an update on my car for me that day and that they’d call me and never call, and then would not answer when I called. When I did get ahold of them they consistently told me “tomorrow we’ll have a loaner” without following up on it or keeping their word once, also still not being able to provide any insight as to what was wrong with my car and continued being extremely vague. When i would ask how much longer they’d have my car they’d say only a few more days. They ended up delivering a Jaguar to my work after I got upset with them on the phone, telling them I felt like I was being jerked around and I can’t keep going without a vehicle. They then made the joke “we wouldn’t want you to get upset” when they delivered the loaner car.

    Again, from the invoice I received with my vehicle I found out that after a lot of diagnostic testing they ended up removing the fuel pump and putting it back in.

    On recalling the incident on 12/9/21, was told that it was simply the fuel pressure sensor, despite originally being told “we took the fuel pump out and put it back in”

    December 2021

    Now, with only 22,500 miles on the vehicle we have the third problem that is going to be another week in the shop. The check engine light comes on 1 month after being serviced. Was not able to get an appointment to bring it in for one week- was told that there were no appointments available until after Christmas and if I want a loaner car it will be well into January before my car can even be looked at to diagnose a check engine light. After expressing that I did not want to end up broken down on the side of the road again since it’s happened twice now in this vehicle without warning, they gave me an appointment for one week out and said if I took it in in the morning I could pick it up that night. Dropped it off 12/8/21 for appt thursday 12/9/21 at 7:30am. No calls to tell what is wrong, no updates until I called at 4 pm and I was told the “DMTL pump” needs replacing and that they won’t have parts until the middle of the following week. I was told that the part was ordered at 9:00 that morning despite never being called with an update on my vehicle nor being told that it would not in fact be able to be picked up same day. This is the third time something has needed to be replaced on my vehicle after less than two years of ownership and less than 25,000 miles. Luckily it is still under manufacturers warranty.

    I am beyond frustrated at this point with the quality of my vehicle that I purchased so I WOULDN’T have to deal with issues such as these, and also with the quality of service that Land Rover provides. Absolutely horrific for a “luxury” car company. I drove a 2008 Honda Accord for 130,000 miles and never had one issue before getting rid of it for this piece of junk Range Rover. It was my dream to own a Range Rover. I wish I stuck with Honda.

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead you can to our legal team.
Email is required to block spam, but will not be published.

Please select your star rating.

Briefly describe your experience Briefly describe your experience

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? Please enter a valid phone number

Want to know if you could sue? Get free legal evaluation Lemberg Law?

Get Your No-Obligation
Case Evaluation

Send a secure message to our legal team.

What’s your name? What’s your name?
What’s your email address? What’s your email address?
What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?
Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem
Confidentiality Guarantee: We keep your information completely confidential and will not send you spam or sell your information.
Exit mobile version