2018 Nissan Kicks Problems and Top Complaints – Is Your Car A Lemon?

Electrical, braking system and engine issues among the top complaints received by the NHTSA from vehicle owners

By Brian Jones | Updated on

By Brian Jones | Updated on

Crossovers have grown in popularity over the last few years. The 2018 Nissan Kicks is a crossover that claims to please the occupants. In fact, the newest lineup states “Your Way, Right Now,” but very little is actually going the way of the driver. This crossover features a faulty electrical system, defective service brakes, a malfunctioning electronic stability control system and a poorly built engine.

Click on other model year to view more problems: 2019   2020   2021

Don’t be stuck with a lemon. You have legal rights to cash, return or buyback.

The law makes Nissan pay legal fees.

We've fixed thousands of lemon problems. Message or call 877-795-3666 today.

NHTSA Complaints for the 2018 Nissan Kicks

Complaint CategoryNumber of Complaints
Unknown Or Other
19
Electrical System
15
Electronic Stability Control
12
Service Brakes
9
Engine
5
Power Train
5
Forward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking
5
Forward Collision Avoidance: Warnings
4
Exterior Lighting
3
Vehicle Speed Control
3

Problems with the Electrical System

There’s a lot riding on a vehicle’s electrical system. From the car battery to the navigation system, everything requires power to work appropriately.

One Edmunds review shows that defects abound on the Kicks. “I purchased my 2018 Kicks SR with 20 miles on it. Initially the car was ok for getting to and from work with decent gas mileage, until it got to about 2000 miles on it. Then the problems started: 1. I had the interior lighting package installed on the vehicle, and to put it frankly it sucks you cannot tell the lights are even on even in the dark of night so approx. $500 down the drain, and the dealers suggestion was to buy an aftermarket kit that they would install for me at an additional cost. 2. Front and rear radar went out at about 2500 miles had that replaced. 3. Transmission was acting funny and kept jerking the car during acceleration, took it to dealer they managed to get that problem fixed. 4. Back to the front and rear radar sensors they went out gain at 4000 miles, so second fix. 5. Radio becomes unresponsive 4000 miles. Dealer replaces. So now everything seems to be going ok, now I’m up to about 9000 miles, in about 4 months. And the problems start again 6. Front and rear radar, dealer replaces. 7. Auto dimming rear view mirror stops functioning, dealer replaces. 8. Radio goes out again at 11,000 miles, dealer again replaces. A few months go buy nothing happens. 8 months in and the car seems to have stopped giving me problems, 20,000 miles hits and 9. Front and rear radar again.”

Sadly, there is also an electrical system-related recall issued for this vehicle. NHTSA Campaign Number 19V654000 affects more than 1,200,000 vehicles and states that the back-up camera image becomes non-existent, which leads to an increased chance of crashing. Between that and all the problems faced by the owner above, this model is clearly an electronic nightmare, something from a horror movie.

Problems with the Automatic Emergency Braking System (AEB)

The brakes in a vehicle are designed to stop before impact occurs. With the newer sophisticated systems, the vehicle can even brake for itself, when needed. Yet, this is one more part of the Kicks that is defective and causing trouble.

Another NHTSA complaint says, “I was driving my vehicle on a road with a 35 mph speed limit with no cars in front of or behind me, and my vehicle’s automatic emergency braking engaged, slowing my car down for no reason. There were no obstacles ahead of me.”

Again, Nissan has chosen to remain quiet despite the numerous complaints that say the same thing. While waiting for a response, owners of the Kicks must be concerned about specks of dirt on the road that might activate the emergency braking. If they can’t drive on a completely unobstructed road, they might not arrive at their destination in a reasonable amount of time, due to the stop and go design of the Kicks.

Problems with the Engine

One can only hope that the engine is in good shape, but based on the other evidence shown, it’s safe to assume that this critical component is just as defective.

Here’s an Edmunds review that backs up the assumption. “My engine is sludge!! I’ve been doing oil changes and now I have 44,000 miles on it and the oil is all sludge not to mention I’m having issues with my radio turning off and the air vent is coming out. Very disappointed as this was my first brand new car I purchased, never again!!!”

This time, Nissan does have something to say about the engine, but probably only because they must. Service Bulletin #NTB17-082b states that the engine can suffer a defect because of an evaporation leak at the vent control valve O-ring. At least, the company is willing to fix something under warranty, even though it’s not much. Owners who want to “Get your kicks on route sixty-six,” should consider taking any vehicle other than the Nissan Kicks. It’s just not made to make the long-distance trip and will likely leave owners stranded on the side of the road.

Your Lemon Law Legal Rights

Think you have a lemon? Sit back and let the experts work out your lemon case at no cost to you. The law makes Nissan pay legal fees. You may be able to get your lemon out of your life. Every year, auto manufacturers buy back, replace or pay cash settlements to thousands of ‘lemon’ owners like you.

Complaint Data

CategoryElectrical System, Forward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Forward Collision Avoidance: Warnings
DateNov 07, 2022
StateFL
Description
Malfunction to the automatic emergency brake, yes available for inspection. Have had that sensor replaced twice and on the the last time was never called to see if the part came in so I'm still have the malfunction. The car brakes without warning, may cause an accident while on the interstate. The sensor has been vhanged multiple times. Been inspected by nissan dealers. First appeared october of 2021 and has not stopped since.
CategoryExterior Lighting
DateOct 29, 2022
StateAL
Description
My headlights, dome lights and tail lights were flickering changed alternator. Kept doing it took it to the dealership in daphne, alabama. Had it put on the machine. They told me it was because it was a refurbished alternator. I finally found a new one in tampa fla. So I ordered it and had it put on. And it is still doing it. The danger of this is that sometimes they will go off. And you can't see anything if it's dark. There was no warning light prior to the problem. The dealership said its because the refurbished alternator was strong enough. That was the findings from them. But like I said even after the new one was put on its still doing it. This has been going on for a couple of months
CategoryElectrical System, Forward Collision Avoidance: Warnings
DateOct 18, 2022
StateCA
Description
Intermittent electrical failure that is related to the sensor systems in the vehicle. While driving the car will display sensory (ie. Front collision) and traction control lights on the dash, and then the vehicle will shut off while driving. This has happened over the course of years and happens sporadically. This is very dangerous not only for myself as the driver, but also others on the road. This issue has been reported multiple times with no resolve. After researching, it has been noted that others have experienced failures with the same make and model as well as similar vehicles in nissan's fleet.
CategoryEngine, Power Train, Unknown Or Other
DateSep 27, 2022
StateCO
Description
Here I am for a 3rd time reporting an issue with this car. After work I went to get in my car. I could not turn it on, I was not able to push the brake and a lot of lights came on. I decided it needed jumped so I got jumped. The next day I remote start the car and see it did not turn on. So I went out to start it and it once again didnt start. I jumped it again. I then decided it needed a new battery as it was the original to the car. I went to batteries plus and the guy was not even sure how I managed to jump it as it was completely drained. He mentioned something about the alternator. The one I just had replaced a year ago for my car stopping on me at speeds of 50+. He recommended me not to drive it and get it towed to a dealership. He tested my alternator and said it is not testing where is should. I had a tow truck driver follow me to south colorado springs nissan. I took it in they said the battery test (brand new battery that was only hours old) and my alternator both failed testing. They then let me car sit over the weekend and of course its acting normal now. Clearly something is triggering the alternator to fail quickly as I had just got this one replaced a year ago. That needs to be looked into more. They didn't find anything and sent me on my way. The photos attached are from the 2 years worth of problems I have had.
CategoryAir Bags
DateAug 03, 2022
StateMO
Description
The contact owns a 2018 nissan kicks. The contact stated while driving at an undisclosed speed, the airbag warning light illuminated. The dealer was made aware of the failure; however, the vehicle was not diagnosed nor repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and informed the contact that there was no recall associated with the vin. The failure mileage was 64,215.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine, Unknown Or Other
DateJul 08, 2022
StateGA
Description
This car has been shutting down without warning, everything goes haywire and shuts off. When or if it start back up, the gauges aren't working. Several times I have had to jump start the vehicle. I was almost hit by an 18-wheeler, and I cringe at the fact my dad or son could have been driving or I could had my nieces or grandchildren in the car with me. My dad purchased this car last year and it still doesn't have 45,000 miles on it. I tried to get it into a nissan services center, and I have to wait until the end of next week to have it checked out. This vehicle is a death trap.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine, Forward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking
DateMay 28, 2022
StateCO
Description
When driving my car the slip indicator will come on. My car will then struggle to stay running and then the malfunction light and car collision lights will also pop on. This happens when I am driving at any speed and if I place in park the car will completely shut down.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Forward Collision Avoidance: Warnings
DateMay 02, 2022
StateOH
Description
Front obstruction/radar malfunction warning light comes on while driving for no apparent reason.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateApr 22, 2022
StateCA
Description
Back on 2021. My children and I were in a starbucks drive through, as we were waiting in line. As the car in front of us stopped, I press on the brake petal to stop and the vehicle began to shake and I noticed the idle meter was moving up and down, then suddenly our car stalled. Everything was lighting up but the engine stop. I put the gear on park then I pressed the engine on button then the car started. After that everytime I press on the brake it does the same thing. I am afraid to drive the car far away because everytime I stopped on a stop light for certain amount of time, the car seem to show the same symptom, where first it shakes then the idle begins to move up and down again. It places me and my children at a very dangerous risk whenever the car stalls on the left lane of a stop light or any other stop signs. And it is scary if other driver doesn't see our vehicle at night. The other problem with the car is whenever I shift the gear to either park, drive or reverse. I have to firmly press on the brake for the gear to change or move also whenever the gear change we hear a loud noise underneath the vehicle.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateMar 06, 2022
StatePA
Description
Hvac unit doesn't function properly which causes a lot of distractions while driving. When set at 60 or 61 degrees with ac off car air is cool. When set at 62 or higher it blows very hot where it becomes uncomfortable. It leads to always having to play with buttons and knobs. Nissan says it's functioning properly even though there is a forum of people with same issue.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJan 18, 2022
StateFL
Description
While running errands on yesterday, car shut off several times while stopped at traffic light. Several lights appeared on dashboard, including engine oil, battery, automatic emergency braking and slip indicator lights. While stopped, had to put car in park turn the car off and then turn the car on again. My battery is in good condition. Was able to drive home, let the car sit and then approx 30 mins later, cranked the car back up and the lights went away and car was running like normal.
CategoryElectrical System, Forward Collision Avoidance: Warnings, Power Train
DateDec 06, 2021
StateHI
Description
Randomly when driving I will have a malfunction see owner manual warning pop up it. Once I clear that to see the error I am getting the traction control and the indicator that looks like two cars colliding. While this is one the car does not have the power that it did before. If I stop and let the car sit for 10 to 15 minutes it mostly goes away but keeps the check engine light on for a couple days. The. The check engine light will go away and this will happen all over again. I bought the car used in may and it is having the same issue. I have had nissan look at it as it is still under warranty but it seems to go away once I get it to the shop. They tell me nothing is wrong with the car. I have even took pictures of the indicators and they still say my kicks is 100 functional.
CategoryElectrical System, Power Train, Unknown Or Other
DateNov 09, 2021
StateCO
Description
A few weeks ago while I was driving 50mph on a completely dry hwy the slip indicator came on. I thought I accidentally hit traction control so I hit that button and then realized they we two different icons. Shortly after the slip indicator came on the screen popped up saying malfunction see owners manual. I pulled over where lights just started popping on and then my car died. After waiting 6 hours for a tow truck it was finally brought to the dealership. They did their inspection and said I needed a new alternator and they replaced that. Today 3 weeks later my car was parked. I was going to leave as my car was on and malfunction see owners manual and the slip indicator started popping on. I went to put it in reverse and could not press the peddles and gravity rolled me back. I then had to throw it into park to stop it. I turned off my car and same thing again. I turned it off again and restarted and it was fine. I took it back to the dealership and they are still trying to figure out what is going on. This is extremely dangerous especially it stopping when driving. Looks like I am not the only one having this problem.
CategorySeats
DateNov 08, 2021
StateCA
Description
I am unable to adjust the headrests. A very strong person can with difficulty move them, but I cannot. This is either a design problem, or manufacturing problem wherein tong separations do not align with channel separations. This means passengers cannot adjust headrest heights properly. I have been into the dealership 2times and gotten only a 'that is how they are built' response. I would have the headrests removed, but this is not legal.
CategoryEngine, Tires:bead, Tires:sidewall
DateOct 27, 2021
StateOK
Description
205/55/r17 I've taken the car to nissan jackie cooper in tulsa ok they've replaced the battery from running on low power. Left it there for two days & they said the computer system is failing always restarting while I'm driving backup camera doesn't work sometimes or is very very blurry. My car has stalled on me almost daily & shuts down I put it in park & it's fine but it's a ticking time bomb it has 47,000 miles always put mobil 1 full synthetic & a mobil one oil filter top of the line these things should absolutely not be happening & also the air filter that lets air into the engine accordion has been loose since I received the car from them. These recalls need to be taken care of.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Service Brakes, Unknown Or Other
DateSep 30, 2021
StateAZ
Description
Vehicle randomly brakes and shuts down. Had sensor replaced yet problem resurfaced yesterday.
CategoryElectrical System, Exterior Lighting
DateAug 21, 2021
StateMS
Description
1: the back-up camera display may suddenly go dark while you're in the middle of reversing 2: the vehicle would not start and something stalls when driving with with a boost off and had the vehicle serviced twice for this issue, but to no availability answer. The nissan dealership can't find any problems .
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateAug 07, 2021
StateSC
Description
Upon acceleration vehicle stalls and will not move forward, I had to put car in park, turn off and then restart engine to accelerate. This issue has happened many times over the last month with no idea of what the faulty issue might be. I was almost side wiped in an intersection due to the car not wanting to accelerate and it requiring to be restarted to get it to move. It only does this after driving and coming to a stop and then attempting to move forward. There has been a message thats come across the dashboard twice that says system off, however it's not causing the check engine light to come on.
CategoryElectrical System, Forward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Service Brakes
DateJan 09, 2021
StateTX
Description
Automatic emergency braking (aeb) system warning light (if so equipped) I purchased my 2018 nissan kicks in feb of 2019, and have been experiencing issues with the warning light that looks like two cars colliding randomly appearing along with a message "unavailable front radar obstruction." these warning lights can come on at any given time during the time in which the vehicle is driven, and began shortly after purchase of the vehicle. Weather conditions, etc have no effect on this issue. The warning light/message has come on when it's sunny. It can come on when changing lanes, and not even having a vehicle directly in front of you. I monitored the behavior for quite awhile in order to confirm this was an actual defect. My vehicle is garaged most of the time, and there has been no damage to it whatsoever. After further research, I checked the owners manual then realized the warning light that I have been seeing is actually the automatic emergency braking (aeb) system warning light. The message that appears on the dash indicates a front radar obstruction, or impact near the front of the car as well. These may be two separate issues, but they occur at the same time everytime. I always see the aeb light, and the front radar obstruction warning simultaneously. I have also had problems with the blind spot warning lights randomly appearing, and my back up cam glitching out/freezing in the process of backing up.
CategoryElectrical System
DateOct 27, 2020
StateCA
Description
The audio head until has tech issues connecting and playing android auto. It constantly skips 5 seconds at a time. There is also issues with the usb input staying connected. Looking online, there are hundreds of people with nissans that have the same issue.
CategoryElectronic Stability Control, Power Train, Structure:body
DateOct 26, 2020
StatePR
Description
Se me apaga corriendo , ruido en la parte frontal. Y en d no quiere ponerse en marcha.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateAug 30, 2020
StateTX
Description
Switch on driver door to rotate outside mirros does not work.
CategoryElectronic Stability Control
DateJul 03, 2020
StateMN
Description
The front sensor for coalition continuous goes off, snow. Sleet, rain, and now when its sunny out. I've had this car for less then 6 months and it had stop working 23 times.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine
DateJun 20, 2020
StateCA
Description
The vehicle has turned off 3 times on the freeway. And it won't start fast it takes from 15 minutes to half an hour. They have already repaired it 2 times and it continues with the same problem. *tr
CategoryElectronic Stability Control
DateMar 14, 2020
StateOK
Description
Front sensor for the vehical keeps stating that the sensor is obstructed. The exterior of the car has been cleaned and looked at by the dealership. However, they have not fixed the problem and refuse to do so, due to the claim that rain and bugs are the cause of setting off the sensor. The sensor has been going off since I purchased the car in august of 2018.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateFeb 19, 2020
StateDE
Description
Checked kbb today and it warned me of a recall on the back up camera that was reported in september 2019 but I was not aware of this
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateFeb 10, 2020
StateOH
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2018 nissan kicks. The contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 19v654000 (back over prevention). The vehicle was taken to mears nissan located at 4825 tuscarawas st w, canton, oh 44708, where the vehicle was repaired under the recall however, the failure persisted. The contact stated that the images from the backup camera was not clear. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer on five separate occasions however, the failure persisted. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 18,400.
CategoryElectronic Stability Control, Unknown Or Other
DateNov 24, 2019
StateWA
Description
Front radar unavailable due to obstruction. The sensor malfunctions (shows on dash) while driving on the freeway in rush hour slow traffic or normal traffic, rain or shine. It may come on while braking or driving over a manhole or pothole in the road. It has come on while slowing down or stationary. Bought my car in june 2019. It started coming on 3 days after purchase and several times since with the last time on november 22nd. Key. Car would not start even when the key was placed near the starter. Brake could not be pressed in order to start ignition. Key not detected sensor would come on. This happened on a few occasions days after purchase. Called dealer and informed them of the problem. I missed work due to car not starting. Issue resolves itself after several hours. Never was fixed at the dealer so it does happen again on any given day or time.
CategoryElectrical System, Electronic Stability Control, Unknown Or Other
DateNov 14, 2019
StateGA
Description
Purchased my 2018 nissan kicks new in february of 2019. Have had many issues starting within 3 months of purchase. My first issue was while waiting at a light the vehicle cut off and took 3 attempts to restart. Next issue was while driving the key light glowed as if the key was not in the vehicle. The car stutters and don't pick up speed. Crash light and other lights coming on without warning or reason. Have taken vehicle in after every issue and have left vehicle with nissan on several occasions and issues are still not resolved. This is a vehicle that they just can't seem to figure out what's going on with it. Today 11/14/19 is my latest visit for the vehicle cutting off and not starting immediately after cutting off. The side door buttons have fallen into the door panel and still no resolution. I left the vehicle and I just hope that this time all my issues with this vehicle wil be resolved. Very disappointed with nissan. I will never purchase another vehicle from nissan again.
CategoryElectronic Stability Control, Unknown Or Other
DateOct 24, 2019
StateAR
Description
The front collision sensor malfunctions constantly. It will come on for no reason while vehicle is in motion. This has happened quite frequently in the past few months since vehicle was purchased in june 2019. Also, the camera screen is not working properly. Sometimes it will not show anything and just recently it has started to going through everything someone is playing with, I. E. Changing from radio display to phone functions with no phone connected, starts reading out menu options, all while vehicle is in motion.
CategoryElectrical System, Fuel/propulsion System, Unknown Or Other
DateOct 18, 2019
StateNY
Description
Nissan kicks 2018 (bought july 2018) - problems with fuel gauge indicator and approximate mileage data. Problems with fuel gauge after tank refilled and during moving. Problem exists permanently and released in november 2018, just 4 months after buying. Dealership service could not realize what is wrong with fuel gauge after more then 3 investigations. Their software could not realize the reason of issue and how to solve it. Risks - driver disinformation and possibility to stuck without fuel on highway. Please see attached file: 1. Car has a gasoline and fuel gauge indicator displays it, but "approximate mileage' displayed as - - - - km 2. 0. 0 km and "approximate mileage' is 71 km. Car refilled with a gasoline > fuel gauge indicator bar is not increased after gasoline refilling. 3. Car moved 31. 7 km. "approximate mileage" decreased only by 10 km, from 71 km to 61 km. But the car moved 31. 7 km ! Fuel gauge indicator bar added 3 more bars suddenly.
CategoryService Brakes
DateOct 16, 2019
StateOH
Description
The nissan emergency braking system is giving out false warnings. The system on my car has given me hundreds of false readings and warnings while in motion, mostly on highways and expressways. Nissan refuses to say they have a problem with this. I fear that the system will malfunction and stop me for no reason on the expressway.
CategoryElectrical System, Suspension, Vehicle Speed Control
DateOct 03, 2019
StateWV
Description
Purchased 2018 nissan kicks with 1,000 miles on it on 08/16/19. Has been to dealer twice now. Clicking sound in speedometer area (started 2 days within purchase) which has been complained about 3 times and they keep telling me there is no reason as they cannot hear it (I have videoed numerous times) . Within a week of purchase the a warning sign came onto dash stating unable to detect front crash sensor and within seconds front crash light appeared. At this time I was driving 25-30 mph and there was not a car in front of me for at least 100 years. Husband took to dealer and they could not hear clicking sound but claimed it was the front sensor that could have been causing the problem and ordered new part. On 09/27/19 car was taken to dealer to replace front sensor - again clicking sound was mentioned to dealer and I was told again they could not hear it and it was probably the car waking up. Since I let the dealer my front end makes a squeaky/creaking sound, and the accelerator has been delayed multiple times while driving and after already stopped to start driving again. Very dissatisfied with this vehicle.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateSep 24, 2019
StateSC
Description
The front sensor and malfunction light on the dash came on 3 times,once on the highway,once on a city street and the third time turning onto a city street. These happened at different times,the lights went off after each time.
CategoryElectronic Stability Control, Unknown Or Other
DateSep 14, 2019
StateIL
Description
I was driving 30 mph straight and had to make a left turn. There was a car coming in the opposite direction I was driving so I had to slow down and come to a stop to let the car pass before I turned. When the car passed and I went to turn left my car would not move. My car was still on and in drive with no warning's on. I put my car in park and put it back in drive and it still wouldn't move. I had to turn my car off and back on for it to be able to move. This is a critical issue that needs to be fixed immediately because it could leave fatalities. Thank goodness no one was behind me or I could have been killed. I am now afraid to even drive because of this incident, especially on the highway.
CategoryService Brakes
DateSep 12, 2019
StateOH
Description
I was driving my vehicle on a road with a 35 mph speed limit wit no cars in front of or behind me, and my vehicles automatic emergency braking engaged, slowing my car down for no reason. There were no obstacles ahead of me
CategoryService Brakes
DateSep 11, 2019
StateAL
Description
Nissan aeb (automatic emergency braking) has a serious issue that could leave people seriously injured that could be fatal. The aeb system sometimes malfunctions on a broad range of nissans causing them to abruptly stop while stopping. This is only supposed to occur in an accident.
CategoryPower Train, Steering, Suspension
DateJul 22, 2019
StateOH
Description
Car oversteers,almost rolling over; when on incline or steep driveway, (steep driveway like my home) car rolls back several feet; when shifting from park to reverse, kicks makes grinding noise and shifts very roughly; have made numerous concerns to nissan, several near accidents
CategoryService Brakes
DateJul 17, 2019
StateWA
Description
The emergency braking system activated on its own and bring the vehicle to dead half when nothing is in front of me
CategoryElectrical System, Unknown Or Other
DateJul 15, 2019
StateAL
Description
Front collison sensor keeps malfunctioning on a broad range of newer nissans including the kicks which could cause the vehicle to stop on its own. Also, manufacturer should replace scratched up and malfunctioning touch screen radio units.
CategoryElectronic Stability Control, Vehicle Speed Control
DateJun 27, 2019
StateDC
Description
While the vehicle is stationary and/or moving, the aeb system (the front radar) does not work. No matter the weather conditions, the system will disable itself and become inactive. Multiple complaints have been made to the dealer where purchased and they refuse to fix. This problem has been ongoing since purchase of vehicle on october 29, 2018.
CategoryElectronic Stability Control
DateMay 01, 2019
StateOH
Description
Faulty radar - warning flash on dashboard indicating "front radar unavailable due to obstruction. Car is in motion and warning appears for no apparent reason. Not weather related and can warn while city street, highway at any time. Does not come on because of a bump in the road or while turning. It has come on day and night for no obvious reason. I have had this issue from the day I bought it in november 2018. Ongoing.
CategoryService Brakes
DateApr 06, 2019
StateCA
Description
Automatic emergency braking (aeb) systems malfunction. Shows a warning 'front radar unavailable due to obstruction' there were no cars or obstructions in front of vehicle.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateMar 25, 2019
StateCA
Description
Car, shuts off in reverse , transmision pulls front sensor signals falls objects when driving at the high it stops shuts off
CategoryElectronic Stability Control
DateFeb 16, 2019
StateTX
Description
Automatic emergency brake indicators would appear intermittently while driving under normal driving conditions. Vehicle indicators will go off even if there is no vehicles ahead
CategoryElectronic Stability Control, Service Brakes, Vehicle Speed Control
DateJan 04, 2019
StateNC
Description
Frequent automatic emergency braking deactivation while driving during which a warning is displayed that the system is deactivated, a warning light is displayed and cruise control is deactivated.
CategoryElectronic Stability Control, Service Brakes
DateDec 04, 2018
StateIN
Description
Within the first 300 miles the sensors started to malfunction. The dealer replaced the side sensors. The the front sensor relating to the aeb started to malfunction. I now have 6000 miles on the car it has been in and out of shop with no clear solution to the problem. They replaced the front sensor, but within 24 hours it was malfunctioning again. I was involved in an accident 6 days ago, the aeb did not engage, the sensors did not engage. When this first started (2 days after purchase) it was drizzling, but I was stationary when sensor malfunctioned. It would also malfunction on a dry sunny day in a parking lot. There was no rhyme or reason to the sensor going off or on.
CategoryElectrical System, Exterior Lighting, Steering
DateOct 13, 2018
StateIL
Description
At random times when the car is started the engine starts but none of the instruments in the dashboard (digital gauge, sensors, etc...) including the stereo would turn on. In addition power steering is not functional. It takes several tries of restarting the car in order to get all the gauges, sensors, stereo and power steering to function. This issur can happen when the car is completely off and it is turned on. I even took a video showing the issue.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateAug 31, 2018
StateCA
Description
My uncle, [xxx], purchased a brand new 2018 nissan kick, from stevens creek nissan, in santa clara, california, last week. They own a total of five nissan's now, one for each daughter and one for [xxx], they have never had a problem with any of their other nissans. [xxx] has bought five vehicles over a ten-year time span, he has placed a considerable amount of money and faith into nissan. On august 27th, the car completely shut down on the freeway, the check engine light went on and the car was towed to nissan of serramonte, in colma, california. The car is still in nissan of serramonte's repair shop, with no estimated finish date. An engineer from nissan corporation, [xxx], went to nissan in colma, yesterday to diagnose the [xxx] vehicle. After speaking with the service departments manager this morning, there is still not an estimated time of finishing the repairs. The service department said that it may be a wiring harness problem and they are trying to order the harness. Information redacted pursuant to the freedom of information act (foia), 5 u. S. C. 552(b)(6).*tt *cc *tr

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.

 

Share your story

Does this ring a bell? Have you had a bad experience too? Sound off and share your experience with other visitors in the comment box below.

Brian Jones

About the Author:

Brian Jones spent more than 20 years working as an ASE Certified Master Tech and Parts Specialist at multiple dealerships. Brian has become an authority in the industry, traveling across the country to consult for car dealerships and contributing his expertise as a writer for several major automotive publications. In his spare time, Brian enjoys working on pickup trucks, muscle cars, Jeeps and anything related to motorsports.

See more posts from Brian Jones
3 COMMENTS
  • Kevin

    The 2018 is such a stupid P.O.S, even the arrow indicating the side the gas door is on points the wrong way.
    I absolutely regret ever buying one of these piles of rolling garbage.
    Sensors failed. Unwanted emergency brake engagements. Poorly designed interior. 1992 quality software for the radio. Weak engine. Back hatch door light only turns off if the latch locks. Bad back up camera. Uncomfortable seats. I don’t even know how to put to words the joke that they call folding seats, the cargo area, and every single instance of incompetent ergonomics.
    I could talk for days about all of the things I hate about this car.
    Truth is, absolutely DO NOT buy one.
    They got rid of the Juke for this thing, and both are ugly, stupid, poorly designed trash.

  • Nancy N

    I have a Nissan Kick 2018. It has completely shut down 3x. Nissan stated there is nothing wrong with the car or the battery. I spoke with the manager Randy Bennett and still no resolution and they won’t talk about getting me a rental until it is fixed. Currently waiting for towing to pick up the car to transport it to Nissan Indianapolis In 4302 Lafayette Rd. The car keeps stating malfunction and the brake has no give for the push start. The dash lights up but the brake and the push start are not working at all

  • tarah

    Initially I had a great car buying experience from Sandy Sansing Chevrolet in Pensacola, however it quickly turned into a nightmare.
    I have not had the vehicle for even a month yet and have not even made my first car payment. I reached out to the sales guy (Josh)
    whom I bought the vehicle from and while he was very helpful with getting the initial issue addressed they could not
    fix it at Sandy Sansing Chevrolet. The car (2018 Nissan Kicks) was rough idling and the sensor for the Unavailable
    front radar obstruction keeps coming on. I was referred to Sandy Sansing Nissan. Nissan has looked at my vehicle 4
    times and the issue is still not resolved. This past Saturday I went to put my car in reverse and the car was making
    a grinding noise (metal on metal). If it did not do that then when taking it from park to reverse the car would literally
    jerk from gear to gear. I took video of all that is going on with the car and showed it to the service advisor at Nissan.
    He said that the vehicle definitely should not be having theses issues and it is still under warranty. I should not be
    dealing with these types of issues. I even asked one of the managers at Sandy Sansing Chevrolet if they would be willing to put me in
    another vehicle and they refused. He said once I have had the vehicle for a while they would look at a trade in but it would make my payment
    increase. He was not very understanding about the issues I have been having and I found him to be rude. He stated that he would reach
    out to the service advisor at Sandy Sansing Nissan and talk to him about the issues and would give me a call on 3/8/21 but I have yet
    to hear from him. So at this point I have reached out to Nissan Corporate to see if they would buy my vehicle back and they refused.

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead you can to our legal team.

Please select your star rating.

Briefly describe your experience Briefly describe your experience

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? Please enter a valid phone number

Want to know if you could sue? Get a free legal evaluation Lemberg Law?

Get Your No-Obligation
Case Evaluation

Send a secure message to our legal team.

What’s your name? What’s your name?
What’s your email address? What’s your email address?
What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?
Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem
Confidentiality Guarantee: We keep your information completely confidential and will not send you spam or sell your information.