2018 Dodge Charger Problems and Top Complaints – Is Your Car A Lemon?

Electrical, suspension, engine and powertrain issues among the top complaints received by the NHTSA from vehicle owners

By Brian Jones | Updated on

By Brian Jones | Updated on

When it comes to powerful cars, the 2018 Dodge Charger is the one to beat. In fact, police forces around the country have driven this car, strictly for speed. With the newer models, the automaker claims that driving one gives the owner “bragging rights,” but research shows there is nothing to brag about. This muscle car is equipped with a defective engine, faulty electrical systems, a malfunctioning powertrain and a rust prone suspension.

Don’t be stuck with a lemon. You have legal rights to cash, return or buyback.

The law makes Dodge pay legal fees.

We've fixed thousands of lemon problems. Message or call 877-795-3666 today.

NHTSA Complaints for the 2018 Dodge Charger

Complaint CategoryNumber of Complaints
Electrical System
33
Unknown Or Other
25
Structure:body
12
Engine
9
Structure:interior Panels:door
5
Power Train
5
Service Brakes
5
Suspension
4
Wheels
3
Air Bags
3

Problems with the Engine

Since the engine is the most prominent feature of this car, it would only make sense that it would be a reliable component. Sadly, that is not the case.

Just look at this NHTSA complaint. “The contact owns a 2018 Dodge Charger. While driving 70 mph, the vehicle shook and shut off. The vehicle was pulled over to the shoulder and towed to [dealer]. The dealer was unable to find any failures and stated that the vehicle was fine. The contact stated that the failure recurred while driving on the highway and the Check Engine Indicator illuminated. The contact waited twenty minutes before restarting the vehicle and then drove to [dealer]. The second dealer also found no failures with the vehicle. The contact called the warranty department with the manufacturer and was informed to take the vehicle back to the [first dealer]. The manufacturer also promised to try to get an extended warranty. The failure mileage was 5,000.”

Surely the automaker isn’t interested in anyone finding out that there are engine issues with this model. That’s why it’s difficult to find a single service bulletin related to power concerns. Instead, everything is kept extremely quiet in hopes that customers will find out aspects that give them “bragging rights.” The company’s plan is only backfiring as people take to the internet, attempting to figure out what’s wrong with this muscle car. It would have been far better for the reputation of the Charger if Dodge had taken care of the problems promptly.

Here are some actual complaints logged with the NHTSA about the 2018 Dodge Charger Steering Problems:

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2018 DODGE CHARGER. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS ON DIFFERENT OCCASIONS, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE VEHICLE NEEDED TO BE SHIFTED INTO PARK AND THEN RESTARTED AFTER SEVERAL ATTEMPTS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO DEALER, BUT NO FAILURE CODES WERE FOUND DURING THE DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 15,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. 

MY DODGE HAS SHUT OFF ON ME WHILE DRIVING TWICE AND EACH TIME WE TAKE IT TO THE DEALERSHIP THEY SAY THEY CANNOT FIND ANYTHING WRONG WITH IT.

Problems with the Electrical System

Part of what was causing the engine malfunction could have been related to the electrical system. That’s because this system is responsible for running just about everything in a vehicle. Plus, these critical components seem to have their own set of problems.

One NHTSA user illustrates this by stating, “Dodge Chrysler (and other auto manufacturers) have soy-based wiring installed in the newer cars. This is a safety issue as the soybean-based covering on the wires is also a rodent attractant meaning rodents are eating the wiring that connects the ABS brake system, fuel pressure system and other sensitive systems. Once the rodents chew completely through the wires the gas will shut off or the brakes will fail thus this will definitely cause an accident of some sort. Can we, the consumers live with this? No it costs us more money in the long run to repair the wiring issue that was caused by the auto manufacturer!”

This isn’t the only electrical problem that Dodge is dealing with. NHTSA Campaign Number 18V332000 documents a massive recall involving cruise control systems that cannot be disengaged. The problem stems from a short circuit in the wiring system and can easily result in an accident. It seems drivers have to either put up with rodents eating the Charger, or excessive speeds that can’t be turned off. Neither of these situations appears to be brag-worthy at all.

Here are some actual complaints logged with the NHTSA about the 2018 Dodge Charger Electrical Problems:

DODGE CHRYSLER (AND OTHER AUTO MANUFACTURERS) HAVE SOY BASED WIRING INSTALLED IN THE NEWER CARS. THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE AS THE SOYBEAN BASED COVERING ON THE WIRES IS ALSO A RODENT ATTRACTANT MEANING RODENTS ARE EATING THE WIRING THAT CONNECTS THE ABS BRAKE SYSTEM, FUEL PRESSURE SYSTEM AND OTHER SENSITIVE SYSTEMS. ONCE THE RODENTS CHEW COMPLETELY THROUGH THE WIRES THE GAS WILL SHUT OFF OR THE BRAKES WILL FAIL THUS THIS WILL DEFINITELY CAUSE AN ACCIDENT OF SOME SORT. CAN WE, THE CONSUMERS LIVE WITH THIS? NO IT COSTS US MORE MONEY IN THE LONG RUN TO REPAIR THE WIRING ISSUE THAT WAS CAUSED BY THE AUTO MANUFACTURER!!!! WHAT RECOURSE DOES THE CONSUMER HAVE???

THE BACK CAMERA LAGS AFTER THE CAR SITS FOR A FEW HOURS. IT HAS MAJOR LAGS AND DISRUPTIONS. TOOK IT TO THE DEALERSHIP, THEY SAID THAT DODGE IS AWARE OF THE ISSUE BUT HASN’T DONE ANYTHING ABOUT IT YET

UCONNECT UNIT FAILURE ON NEW VEHICLE 16 DAYS AFTER PURCHASING. UCONNECT SPORADIC REBOOTING OF CENTER CONSOLE INCLUDING CLIMATE, RADIO, BACKUP CAMERA, PERFORMANCE GAUGES, AND REMOTE VEHICLE SERVICES. HAPPENS WHEN VEHICLE IS STATIONARY OR IN MOTION.

Problems with the Transmission

Again, we see massive defects with the powertrain on the Dodge Charger. Because multiple components make up the system, everything must work correctly to achieve the driving experience owners deserve. Because of the issues, drivers don’t receive what they paid for.

An Edmunds reviewer gives more insight by saying, “Car developed a problem at 100 miles and two days into owning it. Dealer – on Chrysler’s so so – has replaced a sensor, two oil pumps, a cam chain tensioner, a PCM, a radiator, and an engine wiring harness. Still not fixed. Car has been at dealer over a month now. Chrysler expects me to continue waiting. No other option. Just terrible customer service!”

While not all of these parts are included in the powertrain, it gets the point across. It’s clear to see the level of quality that the 2018 Dodge Charger was built with. Just look at NHTSA Campaign Number 18V281000, which illustrates another recall for the company. It appears that more than 14,000 police vehicles with all-wheel-drive and a V8 engine have a front driveshaft universal joint that could fracture and detach from the vehicle. Imagine being in a high-speed chase when this occurs. What a nightmare! It’s unlikely that any cops are bragging about their Chargers right now.

Here are some actual complaints logged with the NHTSA about the 2018 Dodge Charger Transmission Problems:

THE VEHICLE TRY TO CUT OFF WHILE I WAS DRIVING ON THE EXPRESSWAY IT GOT STUCK IN DRIVE AND ONCE I GOT IT HOME WE HAD TO TAKE CABLES OFF BATTERY TO PUT CAR IN PARK THE CAR WILL NOT CRANK UP AND ALSO THE GEAR IS FLASHING WANT GO IN DRIVE

 IT TO THE DEALER LIKE FOUR TIMES AND THEY REPLACE A TRANSMISSION BUT IT STILL KEEPS DOING THE SAME NOISE, I DON’T FEEL SAFE TO DRIVE IT AND THE DEALERSHIP THEY TOLD ME IT WAS A NORMAL SOUND BUT I TOOK IT TOY SHOP AND THEY TOLD ME AND WAS NOT NORMAL THEY DON’T WANT TO DO NOTHING TO FIX IT AND I DON’T FEEL SAFE TO DRIVE

Problems with the Suspension

Since the 2018 Dodge Charger is set up for maximum speed, it only makes sense that it should have a stable and reliable suspension. Yet again, just because that’s what should happen, doesn’t mean it is true.

Another NHTSA complaint states, “The contact owns a 2018 Dodge Charger. The contact stated that the suspension and most of the nuts and bolts on both front wheels were rusted. The vehicle was taken to [dealer] where it was confirmed that the parts were corroded. The technician stated that a claim would be filed. The contact was not called back. The contact was not sure whether the manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 40.”

If it had only been one person that stated this information, it might be a fluke, but that’s not the case. Various boards are riddled with comments stating the same situations around the country. Again, Dodge has nothing to say about this, but there is one statement that has been made that shows the level of care put into the construction of the Charger. Service Bulletin #23-041-17 asserts that the wrong Hellcat emblems were installed on front fenders. If an automaker can’t get something as simple as this correct, there is certainly nothing worth bragging about. In fact, Dodge should be hiding right now because it is an embarrassment.

Here are some actual complaints logged with the NHTSA about the 2018 Dodge Charger Suspension Problems:

FRONT SUSPENSION HAS EXCESSIVE RUST. RUST IS EATING OUT THE MATERIAL, CAN POSSIBLY BREAK AND CAUSE AND ACCIDENT. DEALER REFUSED TO REPLACE PART.

TO WHOM IT MAY CONCERN, MY BRAND NEW 2018 DODGE CHARGER HAS SUSPENSION RUSTING ISSUES. PRETTY UPSET HOW A BRAND NEW CAR CAN HAVE THIS TYPE OF ISSUE. IT HAS BEEN MY DREAM CAR TO OWN SUCH VEHICLE AND TO SEE THIS ISSUE MAKES ME THINK TWICE ABOUT DODGE. IT ONLY HAD 1,200 MILES ON THIS VEHICLE WHEN THE ISSUE WAS NOTICED.

Your Lemon Law Legal Rights

Think you have a lemon? Sit back and let the experts work out your lemon case at no cost to you. The law makes Dodge pay legal fees. You may be able to get your lemon out of your life. Every year, auto manufacturers buy back, replace or pay cash settlements to thousands of ‘lemon’ owners like you.

Complaint Data

CategoryBack Over Prevention: Warnings, Electrical System, Unknown Or Other
DateNov 08, 2022
StateNC
Description
The screen cover separates from the touch screen on the radio. This makes the radio not function but more importantly other vehicle operational features are inaccessible. Apparently the screen feels random touches so even when I power it down it turns itself back on constantly beeping changinging stations, adjusting the heating/cooling controls, the clock etc. This is very distracting to a driver and I did nothing unusual to this device. I contacted the dealership and just the screen alone is over 00. Before I pay this I wonder if anyone else has had similar issues or if its been previously addressed.
CategoryStructure:interior Panels:door
DateSep 19, 2022
StateFL
Description
The contact owns a 2018 dodge charger. The contact stated she notice that the interior driver's side door panel vinyl and the window strip was warped and was separating from the door frame. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and the contact was informed that the vin was not under recall and also that the warranty would not cover the repair. The manufacturer was not contacted. The failure mileage was 27,500.
CategoryStructure:body
DateSep 15, 2022
StateCA
Description
Door panel interior peeling off from door panel, causing issues with controls on the door.
CategoryElectrical System
DateSep 07, 2022
StateOH
Description
Experiencing delamination of uconnect touchscreen on my 18 dodge charger. This is causing a bubble to form under the screen. This causes “ ghost touches” to the screen. This causes quite a bit of distraction while driving as the the system will register touches on its own and go into the various controls that are controlled through the touch screen such and radio, hands free calling, navigation and the various performance “tunes”, traction controls and other performance monitors that are controlled through the touch screen. Through my research I see that this is a common issue that affects dodge, jeep, chrysler vehicles. Dodge has advised me that they will not repair this issue outside of the 3 year warranty. Another issue I have found in my research is that as the gel that is between the screen and monitor delaminates it's oozes out the bottom of the screen potentially affecting or damaging other electronic components below it.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateAug 23, 2022
StateCA
Description
Hello, I am not sure if this is the correct place to report the issues that are plaguing 2014 and up dodge charger and challenger owners. The door panels and center counsel on our cars are coming apart it is a manufacturing defect that exposes the electronic systems on our doors including the locking mechanisms and window regulators to moisture and heat. This is the second time this has occurred the first time my car was under warranty now it is not and dodge does not want to repair the panels they said because there is not a recall on it they do not have to even though it is a widespread issue. Thank you for your time. Thank you,
CategoryElectrical System, Unknown Or Other
DateAug 19, 2022
StateCA
Description
I have a dodge 2018 charger, recently I am seeing the uconnect touchsceen began delaminating and the buttons are being ghost pushed randomly, sometime the clock setting pops up and suddenly the volume goes to 100% and sometimes it randomly does sos dial or dial's someone else, this is a safety hazard on driver's attention as when you are driving down a freeway it freaks you out if the volume suddenly rises to 100% for the music or it randomly dials something when you are on a emergency call maybe and wont let you talk while on 911 call, clearly this issue is seen on all models after 2017 (details can be found on the internet). A lot of accident's can happen because of this as the driver is taken in awe by suden changes in the cabin.
CategoryElectrical System
DateJul 18, 2022
StateGA
Description
The touch screen will intermittently ask me if I want to change the clock settings and beep. It will keep beeping until I select the x on the touchscreen. Then when I touch the x the same message will pop up again and the beeping will continue. It will continue doing this until I shut the car off and then may or may not be present again when I start the car back up. It is random when this issue starts. Sometimes right when I start the car up and sometimes when I am already traveling down the highway. This is very distracting while I am trying to drive since it is beeping and I have to keep taking my eyes off the road to get rid of it. The screen is also useless for navigation or anything else while this is going on. It happens on a fairly consistent basis (about every other time I drive the car. Dodge seems uninterested in helping with the issue unless I pay thousands to get the radio replaced.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJul 12, 2022
StateNY
Description
The screen in my 2018 charger is melting. At first it just started to delaminate, a very common issue I wasn't worried about. But now the screen becomes very hot to the touch, to the point where you wouldn't want to keep your hand on it very long. Just recently and why I'm making this report is because there are now what appear to be visible drips inside the screen that look as though something is now actually melting. I believe this is a safety concern because this seems like a fire hazard if this continues to heat up and melt.
CategoryFuel/propulsion System
DateJun 15, 2022
StateCA
Description
I am tasked with maintaining a fleet of dodge charger police vehicles. I have a constant and concerning problem that needs to be addressed. On nearly all of the vehicles in service, the fuel pumps crack and leak raw fuel onto the ground, hot exhaust. Aside from the toxic fumes trapped in the vehicle, this presents a major safety issue as the raw fuel could be ignited by the exhaust system. I have video of raw fuel leaking onto the ground after filling the fuel tank. When posted on social media, followers complained that their vehicles also did this with as little as 30k miles. Dodge has yet to address this issue and if the warranty is expired, they charge full amount to replace the fuel pump.
CategoryElectrical System
DateApr 17, 2022
StateOH
Description
Video display began prompting me to set my clock settings (daylight savings time). This occurred while I was driving! Pressing any or all buttons had no effect. I had to turn the radio off, which meant I could no longer take hands free phone calls. This is a serious safety issue. I have found forums where this issue has been discussed. See https://www. Jeepgarage. Org/threads/uconnect-issues. 229602/#post-2021329920. Now, my key fobs are acting up. Perhaps releated? Could not start my car or unlock remotely. When I used the key, the panic alarm began going off. I could only turn it off by using my second key fob, which is also acting up. I've had issues with the back-up camera not turning on as well. Or the radio not working. There is major issues with the electrical/display panel on these cars and trucks! It seems intermitant, but the clock display issue has been pretty consistent, though off and on. I have a video of the issue if you want it. I will attach an image.
CategoryElectrical System, Fuel/propulsion System, Visibility/wiper
DateMar 15, 2022
StateAR
Description
I viewed the recalls and it's still having the same issues like it's never been fixed, first off when I start the car it has a foul gas odor and the dealership said it was okay but I'm more than positive it's an exhaust leak, also when I first got the car the heated seats wouldn't turn off because of the radio malfunction I've actually took it to where I bought the car(john gibson autosales) to get it fixed but all they did was inserted a new radio screen for me and it made my problems even worse I asked them to fix it and they said I'd have to pay for any other work they did in the car.. It's having multiple electrical issues and in my opinion I don't believe the car is safe to drive at all with the heated seats turning on by themselves and having no control over it.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateFeb 14, 2022
StateTX
Description
Interior door panel warping and coming undone on passenger side door close to window
CategoryElectrical System
DateFeb 09, 2022
StateCA
Description
The touchscreen is delaminating and causing ghost touches which then causes a message to keep popping up asking: do you want to adjust your clock settings? This message comes with a beeping noise and does not go away. It is very annoying and interferes with listening to music or even trying to touch anything on the screen. Sometimes I cant even adjust climate settings.
CategoryPower Train:driveline:driveshaft, Suspension
DateDec 13, 2021
StateWA
Description
The contact's wife leased a 2018 dodge charger. The contact stated that while driving at 60-62 mph, she heard abnormal clinking sounds and the vehicle lost suspension and inadvertently turned to the right. The contact stated that as she quickly steered the steering wheel to the left, the vehicle spun out three times. The contact was able to veer to the side of the road and exited the vehicle to determine the cause of the failure. The contact noticed that the passenger's side front tire had detached, and the passenger's side rear tire was damaged. The contact also noticed a burning odor. The vehicle was towed the independent mechanic who diagnosed that the driveshaft bolt had fractured causing the control arm to go into the rotors. The contact referenced nhtsa campaign number: 18v281000 (power train). The dealer and the manufacturer were not notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 50,000.
CategoryStructure:interior Panels:door
DateDec 07, 2021
StateMO
Description
The contact owns a 2018 dodge charger. The contact stated that while entering the vehicle, he noticed that the front passenger's side door panel had detached from the door frame. The local dealer was contacted about having the vehicle inspected. The contact was informed that the vehicle was out of warranty and that there would be a cost assessed for the inspection. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 75,000.
CategoryElectrical System
DateNov 23, 2021
StateVA
Description
The 8. 4 u connect is delaminating and continue,s to beep and ask do you want to reset the clock . It has become distracting also other functions of the 8. 4 u connect do not respond
CategoryWheels
DateNov 09, 2021
StateCA
Description
Manufacturer claim that the wheels on the dodge charger are fully powder-coated, which they are not (vin: [xxx]). Therefore, since the wheels are not fully powder coated, the poorly painted wheel tends to fail to adhere to the tire, causing slow undetectable leaks and fast wear on the tires. About a year ago I have purchased brand new tires and had the vehicle aligned to prolong the tire's life. Now the problem seems to get worse as the days go on and I am looking to replace my wheels for that reason. I would like for dodge to at least re-powder coat my wheels entirely since I was sold partially painted wheels. Information redacted pursuant to the freedom of information act (foia), 5 u. S. C. 552(b)(6).
CategoryElectrical System
DateOct 05, 2021
StateLA
Description
U-connect bluetooth radio changes stations on its own radio makes awful beeping sounds display asking do I want to adjust clock settings sometimes back up camera disables itself
CategoryElectrical System
DateSep 21, 2021
StateSC
Description
The uconnect 8. 4 lcd screen is delaminating which is causing severe ghost touch issues. When using navigation, the map starts shaking to the point of distraction. You can't turn off the screen because the ghost-click turns it back on. We have to keep it on the phone favorites screen without favorite numbers saved so it can't ghost click anything. Dodge and uconnect are refusing to pay for replacement screen because the warranty is expired, even though the issue was documented before the warranty expired. We did not feel comfortable going to the dealership for service before warranty expired because of covid.
CategoryStructure:interior Panels:door
DateSep 10, 2021
StateGA
Description
The contact owns a 2018 dodge charger. The contact stated that the interior door panels on each door were not secured and had detached from the door frame. The failure on the driver's side door panel created a visual obstruction when the driver looked over the shoulder to view oncoming vehicles. The cause of the failure was not determined. The local dealer and manufacturer were contacted regarding the failure, but no assistance was offered. The failure mileage was approximately 55,000.
CategoryStructure:interior Panels:door
DateAug 25, 2021
StateAR
Description
The contact owns a 2018 dodge charger. The contact stated while attempting to roll down the front passenger's side window, she noticed that the door panel had separated from the door frame. The dealer and bayird dodge chrysler jeep ram of paragould (6340 us 49, paragould, ar 72450) were made aware of the failure on two separate occasions. The vehicle was not diagnosed nor repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and opened a case and referred the contact back to bayird dodge chrysler jeep ram of paragould. The failure mileage was approximately 36,300.
CategoryStructure:body
DateAug 17, 2021
StatePA
Description
Door panel lifting away could cause vent to not work, door lock to not work and maybe airbag to not deploy properly. Foam is exposed
CategoryElectrical System
DateAug 16, 2021
StateCA
Description
Delaminated touch screen creates errant touches.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateAug 14, 2021
StateOK
Description
What started as a bubble on the left side of my touch screen has expanded to the entire top portion of the touch screen. Because of this, random buttons are selected on the radio temperature controls and phone pairing screen. It is a safety issue because this happens while the car is in motion. It causes a huge distraction unless the entire system is turned off. My understanding is that this is a very common problem with this model of dodge charger. Another common problem, is the door panels are warping and separating from the frame of the door.
CategoryStructure:body
DateAug 09, 2021
StateNY
Description
Interior door panels are peeling apart, causing the inside of the door to be shown. This looks to be a manufacturing issue. The remedy should be to repair the panels or replace them. This is a known issue within the community of owners so I feel that this should be recalled. The problem is present on all 4 door panels.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJul 30, 2021
StateOH
Description
Uconnect screen is delaminated and acts like it is being pressed and this causes the back up camera to flicker in/out while backing up
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJul 29, 2021
StateGA
Description
2018 dodge charger r/t uconnect system has a well-documented history of delaminating causing a series of hazardous conditions. The screen will jump from menu item to menu item, from one control to another, will disconnect phone calls, will prevent phone calls from being made, will exit out of navigation screens while driving, will distract drivers with constant beeping at loud volumes, will cause backup camera systems to cease functioning, will prevent users being able to access security features, and will generally have a negative impact on the mental state of drivers while driving down the road. These are dangerous conditions and the product should be recalled regardless of warranty status. Nhtsa is charged with protecting the human lives while driving down the road and should act by instituting a recall.
CategoryElectrical System:adas:video Monitor/screen
DateJul 21, 2021
StateTX
Description
The contact owns a 2018 dodge charger. The contact stated while operating the vehicle the touch screen display had delaminated and dethatched causing the back-up camera to become inoperable. The cause of the failure was not yet determined, and the vehicle was not yet repaired. The local dealer was contacted regarding the failure and the owner was informed that the display screen needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was also notified of the failure, but no assistance was offered. The failure mileage was 47,000.
CategoryStructure:interior Panels:door
DateJun 24, 2021
StateCA
Description
the contact owns a 2018 dodge charger. The contact stated that while entering their vehicle, they noticed that both the front driver and passenger interior door panel were becoming unglued, showing electrical wiring inside the door panels. The contact reached out to the local dealer about the failure but was told the failure would not be covered under the warranty. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 21,000.
CategoryStructure:body
DateJun 07, 2021
StateFL
Description
Inside door panels started to separate from the door, this is causing my power locks malfunction on the driver side (the separation is causing a lock button to misalign with the hole in the door panel). This started approximately 2 weeks ago. This problem started with the driver side door and has now affected 3 of the for doors in the car. Of course it happened about 4 months past the 3 year dodge warranty period.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateMay 26, 2021
StateOK
Description
On 07/30/2019, your staff made an error on the mileage. It was reported 111,000 miles which would mean someone drove over 100,000 miles in a year? Which I'm not real sure if that is even possible... The mileage should of been reported as 11,100. The car currently has 27,073 miles. Please assist me on getting this corrected. Thank you. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the freedom of information act (foia), 5 u. S. C. 552(b)(6).
CategoryElectrical System
DateMay 22, 2021
StateNC
Description
2018 dodge charger with only 6900 miles. Issue began in fall 2020 at about 6700 miles, shortly after the 3 year bumper to bumper warranty ended. U-connect 8. 4 system malfunctions as often as twice per second and perhaps 30 times per minute, causing unsafe distractions (multiple beeps) and possibly more. Sometimes it is the radio switching channels, with an annoying beep each time. Sometimes it is a clock setting display which pops up with a beep asking "do you want to change clock settings?" when these thing happen, other electronics act up - map and navigation goes crazy, phone bluetooth interface goes crazy. When u-connect is acting up badly, the rearview backup camera sometimes does not work when transmission is shifted into reverse. The u-connect can be used to adjust drive-train performance thus representing the possibility of an additional safety hazard. Disconnecting the battery and reconnecting it seems to reset it but only helps for a little while; from 1 minute to a day before it starts acting crazy again.
CategoryStructure:body
DateApr 28, 2021
StateLA
Description
This at about 5:30 am when I was getting in my car to go to work I noticed the panel on my driver side door was beginning to lift up. My car is rarely parked in the sun light because I park it in my garage at home and a shaded area at work.
CategoryElectrical System
DateApr 15, 2021
StateSC
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2018 dodge charger. The contact stated while driving at an undisclosed speed, the radio would inadvertently turn on and off and change radio stations independently. Additionally, the bluetooth function would independently activate, dial a number and then hang up the call. The contact took the vehicle to griffin chrysler dodge jeep ram (961 e us 74 hwy, hamlet, nc 28345) to be inspected. The contact was informed that the radio console needed to be replaced due to an unstated electrical failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 52,000.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateApr 15, 2021
StateOH
Description
Uconnect navigation inaccurately shows location. Randomly, without explanation or action the gps location will be off set and never return correctly. System will also freeze while driving or will not turn off when the car is stopped and door is opened. This affects all uconnect features (phone, back up cam, radio). The incidents occur while the vehicle is both stationery and in motion. According to uconnect representatives, the only sure way to fix the issue is to totally replace the radio. System is supposed to assist in emergency situations to alert safety personnel; assist with road information for safe driving and arrival, and provide accurate storm information, but cannot as it is inaccurate without a fix besides replacement. The dealerships blame uconnect and refuse to perform work. However, uconnect refers customers to the dealerships as they cannot fix anything.
CategoryFuel/propulsion System
DateApr 13, 2021
StateTX
Description
While stopping into a gas station fueling up my car and setting house in automatic stop when fuel turn the car on to start heading home before arriving to my home car starting turning off on me made it to my drive way and then started pouring fuel from the rear passenger right side by the tire
CategoryElectrical System
DateApr 08, 2021
StateNC
Description
The navigation is reporting I'm in another state, also the entire radio screen and functions stop working and switch back and forth without touching it.
CategoryService Brakes, Unknown Or Other, Wheels
DateMar 21, 2021
StateOK
Description
My dodge charger shakes when I push the brakes on a down hill or when driving in speed . There is no avs light system on . The brakes have been replaced and so have the routers . Have taken my car to several mechanical shops and everyone says there is no issue yet my car shakes when braked down hill or in fast speed. This is dangerous
CategoryElectrical System, Forward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Forward Collision Avoidance: Warnings
DateFeb 12, 2021
StateGA
Description
I dont know but I have gotten close to things in the front of the vehicle and never heard no warning alerts but my main concern is the uconnect screen it flickers real bad it jumps from bluetooth to aux to usb jack to settings to even turning on and off the heat and air it calls people and hangs up and if you make a call or happen to receive one it puts them on hold rapidly flickering over and over then it hangs up calls back repeating this over and over nothing can be set because it jumps from setting to setting and I notice that the top of the screen from left to right has a bubble the largest of it is to the right and to night now the odometer switched from miles to km and all my tires say 2. 1 2. 3 2. 1 and 2. 4 it become real frustrating and works my last nerve if I turn it off it comes back on like it has a mind of it"s own and it all started while just sitting stationary and now every time I crank it weather I'm stationary in motion on a city street or highway etc it turn the music on and up loud while going through a road block and I stated I have no control over it and had to show the officers and they stated that I see dodge asap please help me with this its been like this since 11/2019 and it was just a jump every other month which I never knew it would be like this but I've read up on it and searched it and I see it happens alot with all models
CategoryService Brakes
DateFeb 09, 2021
StatePA
Description
I rear ended another vehicle because my brakes failed. I had both feet pushing on the brake pedal and my brakes failed to stop my vehicle. They did not lock up or anything I rolled right into another vehicle. I see a lot of chargers that are crashed in the front just like mine. I really think these brake should be looked into or issue a recall.*dt consumer stated vehicle was not repaired and manufacture was not contacted.*jb
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJan 26, 2021
StateTX
Description
The radio on my vehicle has been randomly pushing buttons on its own, turning on the heated seats calling people and keeps changing routes while I'm using the gps part. I have done some research and I see that I'm not the only one having these problems with the same uconnect 8. 4. I had this car for over a year now and the cost of the radios to get it replaced the cheapest I seen was a little under 0, a bit pricey for a radio in a 2018 to go out in 2020. The dealership was trying to charge me 0 to tell me a obvious problem because you can see the screen is like peeling on the inside so it looks like it got air bubbling going on.
CategoryElectrical System
DateJan 22, 2021
StateSC
Description
The u connect touch screen is defective. This is a problem where the touch screen buttons activate on their own randomly, constantly across all screen control systems. This defect is activating multiple car systems including seat heaters, radio, bluetooth, environmental controls, odometer units, and 911 calling, the car has become unsafe due to activation of multiple systems while driving. The problem is very prevalent among dodge chrysler vehicles. I contacted dodge customer service and they will not replace it for free. I want me to come out the pocket and pay for the full service and they refused to recall this uconnect control system.
CategoryElectrical System, Equipment:electrical:infotainment:video (touch)screen/monitor/unit
DateJan 22, 2021
StateFL
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2018 dodge charger. The contact stated that the u-connect 8. 4 screen was delaminating with a ghosting affect to the infotainment system and all aspect of the vehicle controls. The vehicle was not taken to a dealer due the repair cost. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and referred the contact to a dealer. The contact mentioned that the manufacturer had provided a low-key reset procedure however, the failure recurred. The failure mileage was approximately 43,000.
CategoryElectrical System, Steering
DateJan 03, 2021
StateDC
Description
The vehicle screen will freeze and be stuck. This happens when I start the car up also as I'm driving. Also I believe whatever happening it affecting my headlights as well and my back up camera goes out as well
CategoryPower Train
DateDec 09, 2020
StateCA
Description
While driving & the car is in motion, I would be attempting to upshift using the paddles on the steering wheel and the transmission would instead downshift. It's been occurring since I purchased the vehicle in 2018. It unpredictability occurs at various speeds, gears, and time of day. I notified the service tech at redlands dodge, where purchased, when I brought the car in for its 1st oil change @ just prior to 6k miles in 2018 and again in 2019. The response was always the same, they must drive & duplicate the problem. I have videp that will show the worst its ever been from last month nov ' 2020 in which it shows the transmission, constantly or every time, downshifting when pressing the upshift paddle. How do I send this video to you?
CategoryElectrical System
DateNov 24, 2020
StateFL
Description
The u-connect touch screen is defective. This a "ghosting" problem where the touch screen buttons activate on their own, randomly, constantly across all screen control systems. This defect is activating multiple car systems including seat heaters, radio, bluetooth, environmental controls, odometer units, and 911 calling. The car has become unsafe due to activation of multiple systems while driving. The problem is very prevalent among dodge chrysler vehicles. I contacted dodge customer service and they refused to repair or recall this u-connect control system.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateNov 24, 2020
StateAL
Description
Dodge charger scatpack 2018 has a issue with the radio where it's constantly pressing buttons because of the screen having air bubbles/ delamination. It turns on the heated seats, heated steeeing wheel and messes with my sports mode where it's changing my steering from norm to sport. It is a distraction while driving because you have to constantly click the x button. This is a serious issue that could cause many accidents.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateNov 16, 2020
StateAL
Description
Lcd screen detaching from the glass which causes the heating and air to not work properly, the stereo, gps, heated and cooling seats contraction control, pretty much all inside functions.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateOct 19, 2020
StateTX
Description
All interior door panels on my charger is lifting and exposing interior of door plastics and electronics.
CategoryElectrical System, Unknown Or Other
DateOct 13, 2020
StateTX
Description
The uconnect radio is delaminating and there causing to jump from station or it will jump to resetting the clock causing me to look away from the road which is a distraction and I also believe that it controls more thrn just the radio. I called chrysler customer care and was told it is my expense. But when I took it to a chrysler dealership u was told by the tech on duty it was s known problem.
CategoryTires
DateSep 11, 2020
StateNC
Description
Tires have virtually no wet traction. Even light rain results in vehicle being difficult to control. Bought as replacement tires to the michelin tires the vehicle came with. Even though they were worn to the point of needing to be replaced, they had better wet traction than these tires. Either the tread doesn't shed any water, or the material the tire is made from is too hard resulting in no contact on even slightly wet roads. Contacted manufacturer of tires, and they offered no resolution.
CategoryStructure:body
DateSep 05, 2020
StateNJ
Description
Interior, I believe the sun or heat warps the door trim inside and it pops out revealing the inside of the door, near the windows. It's happened to my passenger door and recently to my driver door.
CategoryAir Bags
DateJul 23, 2020
StateTN
Description
Passenger door panel worked while vehicle was parked. This caused the upper part to pull away from its mounts and is exposing the side airbag leaving it exposed to additional heat and elements. It is my concern that the additional exposure may cause the airbag to discharge
CategoryStructure:body
DateJul 09, 2020
StateLA
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2018 dodge charger. The contact stated that the inner door panel detached from the door frame. The contact was concerned that a child may stick their fingers in between the door panel and the door frame and hurt themselves. The dealer was not called. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 60,000.
CategoryElectrical System, Unknown Or Other
DateJul 08, 2020
StateFL
Description
The touch screen uconnect stereo is delaminating which makes the display hard to see which also allows humidity to enter the gap and makes the stereo flip between settings (radio, nav, seat heating controls, climate control) and proceeds to randomly click the touchscreen interface buttons. This causes distractions and has resulted in a frozen touch screen while driving (which renders the climate controls dead as well as backup camera, navigation and the stereo). After taking this to the dealer I was told that I was past my warranty which means this is an out of pocket fix.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJul 02, 2020
StateMS
Description
While driving the radio breaks up and just shuts off completely. It takes a few minutes before you can turn it back on with the power button. This has to be an electronic problem?? This only happens while in motion it is factory radio it as never been messed with.
CategoryStructure:body
DateJun 30, 2020
StateMS
Description
Went to get in the vehicle one morning and the door handle on the driver side will not open from the outside but will open from the inside, I believe the screw had come out, and went to get in the vehicle this morning and notice the panel on the passenger side door panel peel up from the top of the door where the lock is. *tr
CategoryEngine, Power Train
DateJun 08, 2020
StateTN
Description
During my time driving the vehicle it has been running great but recently after reaching 23,500 miles it started acting funny as in. Slowing to a complete stop and accelerating it would loose rpm then go up then it hard shift up until the 4 gear. Putting in reverse it would make a rocking noise under the hood. To stop it I would have to put it in park. This happened 4 times. I brought it up to mechanics they could not figure out the problem. *tr
CategoryElectrical System, Unknown Or Other
DateJun 02, 2020
StateNY
Description
I have a 2018 gt and whenever I try to use launch control it's stuck at 1000 rpm and the scroll bar move but it doesn't change the rpm. *tr
CategoryElectrical System, Electronic Stability Control, Service Brakes
DateMay 09, 2020
StateTX
Description
Problem 1) I have 2018 charger. Couple of thing have happen where the rear passenger tail light come on and goes off randomly . I have change the fuses in the fuse box. Have purchase a additional tail light and doesn't not function properly. It? S a serious electrical issue or improper grounding somewhere in the car harness or wiring. Problem 2) the abs & traction control light comes on and off while driving. The brake pedal will tighten up some times. I change my brakes , keep my wheel balance and rotated. Still having issue. Again speed sensors have been replace. Problem 3 ) uconnect radio something it will freezes up and wont play any sound , wont connect to the phone. It? S blank out and I have go to the back fuse box in the trunk and hard reset it by pulling the fuse. *tr
CategoryElectrical System, Unknown Or Other
DateMar 26, 2020
StateFL
Description
The video display has a bubble forming within the screen and is increasing in size. The warping does not go away when the video display is turned on. It is present in all driving conditions (I. E. Driving, parked, and reverse.).
CategoryElectrical System, Engine
DateMar 13, 2020
StateKY
Description
My car often times won't register the fob. Making it difficult to unlock or start my car. I have both factory fobs with new batteries, sometimes the car registers them and sometimes it doesn't. This has been happening for months.
CategoryAir Bags
DateMar 09, 2020
StateNV
Description
I was involved in a single vehicle car accident. I was traveling westbound on hwy 80 in truckee, ca in rain/snow weather conditions. The car began to slide and turned sideways going down an incline. The front of my car hit a guard rail almost head on at 60+ mph. The hit then cause my vehicle to roll three times. The pictures I have provided show how the vehicle landed and the damage. The pictures also show that the steering wheel airbag and the airbag underneath the steering wheel did not deploy.
CategoryElectrical System, Exterior Lighting
DateJan 29, 2020
StateTX
Description
The dodge charger 2018 sxt back taillight going in and out and has a short in wire harness and acting like its not getting any power to it. Its goes in and out every other day. I have replace the whole light. Its cost me 0 to replace. I barley had this vechile for a year. Under 50k miles.
CategoryService Brakes
DateJan 22, 2020
StateCA
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2018 dodge charger. The contact stated that while his wife was driving the vehicle at various speeds, the automatic braking system activated independently. The vehicle was taken to (victorville motors 14617 civic dr, victorville, ca 92394) to be diagnosed. The result of the diagnosis was inconclusive. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 15,000. The vin was not available.
CategoryStructure:body
DateJan 22, 2020
StateSC
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2018 dodge charger. The contact stated that upon inspection it was discovered that the front driver side interior door panel was not secured and came off the frame of the door. The cause of the failure was not determined. The local dealer mckinney dodge (4574 calhoun memorial hwy, easly sc.) and the manufacturer were notified of the failure but no assistance was offered. The failure mileage was 30,000.
CategoryElectrical System
DateJan 09, 2020
StateWA
Description
The back camera lags after the car sits for a few hours. It has major lags and disruptions. Took it to the dealership, they said that dodge is aware of the issue but hasn't done anything about it yet
CategoryAir Bags, Structure:body, Vehicle Speed Control
DateDec 11, 2019
StateMO
Description
My daughter could not get the car to stop, as she was engaging the break to the floor. She is unsure if when she turned cruise control was set, but either way the brake should have turned it off. Then when the pole was hit, all the airbags went off except the passenger lower airbag. I was the passenger and I have a hurt ankle, knee, and hip. Why would all airbags go off except one if the impact was directly in the front of the car? The vehicle was turning when she noticed it would not slow down.
CategorySteering
DateOct 08, 2019
StateCA
Description
Today when getting in my car my power steering service light came on. I took my vehicle in to be serviced for a u60 14-18my la/lx/ld can bus as pe recall (reprogram). I told them about my concern with my power steering. When I wen to pick up my vehicle I was told the unit had to be replaced. I have no clue what caused my power steering to go out. But it has been an extreme hassle for my to turn my vehicle.
CategoryEngine
DateJul 19, 2019
StateDE
Description
Engine fire: total loss
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJul 16, 2019
StateIN
Description
Water pump fan
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateJul 16, 2019
StateGA
Description
I was driving on the highway and out of no where my sunroof exploded. I was going the speed limit and to my knowledge nothing hit me. Thank god my sunroof shade was pulled forward or else glass would've been coming at my infant daughter and myself at 70 mph. I called my insurance and even though this was a freak event that happened, I had to pay 0 to get it fixed. I was reading that this isn't the first time a sunroof from my make, model, and year has exploded.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine
DateJun 03, 2019
StateFL
Description
We have 12 different dodge chargers that are stalling out while the officer is driving. *bf vehicle would periodically (3 times a week, about 3-4 times a day) hesitates when it's in the process of switching gears. When quickly accelerating and braking running (code 3) on 4 occasions to date while cruising regularly (patrol speed) vehicle. 'parts of this document have been redacted to protect personally identifiable information pursuant to the freedom of information act (foia), 5 u. S. C. 552(b)(6).'*jb
CategorySuspension, Wheels:lugs/nuts/bolts
DateJun 03, 2019
StateHI
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2018 dodge charger. The contact stated that the suspension and most of the nuts and bolts on both front wheels were rusted. The vehicle was taken to cutter chrysler jeep dodge of pearl city (808-564-9640, located at 905 kamehameha hwy, pearl city, hi 96782) where it was confirmed that the parts were corroded. The technician stated that a claim would be filed. The contact was not called back. The contact was not sure whether the manufacture was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 40. *bf *tr
CategoryElectrical System, Electronic Stability Control, Engine
DateMay 16, 2019
StateMI
Description
This problem has occurred 3 times in less than a month. Vehicle is parked. One head light out, depending which time this has happened. Vehicle will not turn over but all electrical comes on and stays on. Dash board messages include: "service transmission continue in d. Do not shift or turn engine off", 'until you reach a desired location you may not be able to shift again until serviced','service stabilitrack' or something along those lines, and "key fob not found" even though key fob is in car. Shifter continuously blinks and a constant dinging as if a key was left in an ignition. You cannot move shifter out of park. All electrical components stay on and will not shut off. Car has acted like it doesn't want to start but ends up turning over slowly, a few times before these problems started. This issue started at around 5250 miles (but restarted after 15 mins), then again two days later at 5300 miles (got it to restart after at least 30 mins) took into dealership and that's when dodge replaced the shifter after having the car for a week. Again the issue has occurred at 5857 miles. Moved car out of garage, noticed one head light out, and I knew I had to try and restart it from previous issues. Sure enough, it would not turn over but all electrical came on and stayed on. Had to have the vehicle towed back to dealership with malfunctioning electrical still on. Battery had died by the time the dealership service team looked at it.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine, Vehicle Speed Control
DateMay 01, 2019
StateGA
Description
When at a stop when going to accelerate to cross an intersection the car goes but suddenly feels as if it looses power really quick and slows down as if my foot is not on the gas and then there's a hard kick (or jerk) that the car does and it revs up as if it didn't slow down on its own and it goes. This has happened when trying to accelerate from a complete stop and while trying to gain speed on the highway.
CategoryPower Train
DateMar 13, 2019
StateGA
Description
The vehicle try to cut off while I was driving on the expressway it got stuck in drive and once I got it home we had to take cables off battery to put car in park the car will not crank up and also the gear is flashing want go in drive
CategoryStructure:body
DateJan 14, 2019
StateCA
Description
While driving on a freeway doing about 65 mph, the sunroof spontaneously shattered upward, as if it was hit from the inside, sending glass flying down the back of the car hitting other vehicles behind me. Thankfully the internal sunroof cover was closed so glass didn't rain down on us when this happened. I had to pull over on the side of the freeway and clean up as much of the glass as possible so it wouldn't continue flying off and hitting vehicles behind me. Definitely a safety concern, even though it's tempered glass, it's still sharp. If the internal sunroof cover was slid open it would have been much worse than the few cuts I got on my hands from cleaning up the glass.
CategoryPower Train
DateJan 05, 2019
StateCA
Description
We purchase a car and august 15th 2018 and has a weird sound and the transmission I took it to the dealer like four times and they replace a transmission but it still keeps doing the same noise, I don't feel safe to drive it and the dealership they told me it was a normal sound but I took it toy shop and they told me and was not normal they don't want to do nothing to fix it and I don't feel safe to drive
CategoryElectrical System
DateOct 05, 2018
StateOK
Description
Dodge chrysler (and other auto manufacturers) have soybased wiring installed in the newer cars. This is a safety issue as the soybean based covering on the wires is also a rodent attractant meaning rodents are eating the wiring that connects the abs brake system, fuel pressure system and other sensitive systems. Once the rodents chew completely through the wires the gas will shut off or the brakes will fail thus this will definitely cause an accident of some sort. Can we, the consumers live with this? No it costs us more money in the long run to repair the wiring issue that was caused by the auto manufacturer!!!! What recourse does the consumer have???
CategoryElectrical System
DateSep 08, 2018
StateNV
Description
This is the second 2018 charger 392 ive had. The issue is the uconnect system will attempt to connect to my phone when the car has been fully turned off. If it connects succesfully the radio will start up by itself and drain my cars battery. On my original 2018 charger it killed the battery completely. On this new one I keep correcting the issue by disconnecting my phone going back to the car and cycling the power to return it off. This happens frequently.
CategoryEngine
DateAug 31, 2018
StateCA
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2018 dodge charger. While driving 70 mph, the vehicle shook and shut off. The vehicle was pulled over to the shoulder and towed to autonation chrysler dodge jeep ram valencia (23820 creekside rd, santa clarita, ca 91355, (661) 379-7709). The dealer was unable to find any failures and stated that the vehicle was fine. The contact stated that the failure recurred while driving on the highway and the check engine indicator illuminated. The contact waited twenty minutes before restarting the vehicle and then drove to an unknown dodge dealer in bakersfield, ca. The second dealer also found no failures with the vehicle. The contact called the warranty department with the manufacturer and was informed to take the vehicle back to the bakersfield dealer. The manufacturer also promised to try to get an extended warranty. The failure mileage was 5,000.
CategoryEngine, Unknown Or Other
DateAug 31, 2018
StateCA
Description
My dodge has shut off on me while driving twice and each time we take it to the dealership they say they cannot find anything wrong with it. The first time it happened was august 6, 2018 the second time was august 29, 2018. Both times it shut off on us while we were on the freeway
CategoryEngine, Power Train
DateAug 14, 2018
StateGA
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2018 dodge charger. While driving various speeds on different occasions, the vehicle stalled without warning. The contact mentioned that the vehicle needed to be shifted into park and then restarted after several attempts. The vehicle was taken to woody folsom chrysler dodge jeep ram (1859 golden isles w, baxley, ga 31513, (888) 283-8230), but no failure codes were found during the diagnostic testing. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 15,000. The vin was not available. *dt *tr
CategoryWheels
DateJul 26, 2018
StateKY
Description
I was driving on the highway and the front drivers side control arm had broke on me causing me to run into the wall on the highway. I was just sending this to document the incident. Thank you.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJun 08, 2018
StateAZ
Description
My wife and I were driving down the road to our house. There was no traffic in front of us, nor was any oncoming traffic in the opposite lanes. There were no people around on the sidewalks. We were traveling approximately 40 mph and slowing down to make a right hand turn towards our house, our sunroof exploded from the inside out. There was no impact of any kind. I wasn't sure what happened exactly, but we pulled over to check what might have hit us. There was nothing that would indicate an impact of any kind, yet the sunroof was shattered and bowed upwards instead of down towards the inside of the vehicle which would be more indicative of some kind of impact to the sunroof. It almost looked like a blow out from inside out like pressure had caused it. We contacted the dealership to tell them what happened (this car is brand new, it was bought on 5/13/18), they are telling us it had to be an impact. I believe this to be disingenuous. I have no reason to lie about this incident. I was the passenger in the car and I was paying attention when it happened. I believe this to be a safety risk for drivers. If we had not had the slider below the sunroof closed, broken glass would have rained down inside of the vehicle and potentially distracted my wife and caused an accident. Just the sound of the sunroof popping was extremely loud and caused a lot of immediate confusion. I have seen similar stories online about exploding sunroofs, and I believe it to be a legitimate safety concern.
CategoryService Brakes, Unknown Or Other
DateJun 01, 2018
StateCA
Description
At around 400-600 miles the car started having issues. Every time I press the brakes you can hear a noise as if the brakes have been wearing out, also when I turn the wheel left or right there is a ticking clicking noise.
CategoryStructure:body
DateMay 15, 2018
StateVA
Description
This is a rental and I have been driving this car for about 6. In the afternoon of day 6, I went to get into the car and the door handle made a funny clicking sound and would not open the door. It is attached but feels like someone is unhooked inside the door because it seems to lift up higher than it should. Door opens from the inside with no problem.
CategoryWheels:rim
DateMay 09, 2018
StateCA
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2018 dodge charger. The contact stated that the tpms warning indicator kept flashing "low tire pressure". The vehicle was taken to the dealer (dependable dodge, 21415 roscoe blvd, canoga park, ca 91304, (818) 883-9060) more than once. The dealer did not fully inspect the tires; however, they refilled the tires with air and provided no permanent remedy. The failure continued and the vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic. The vehicle was placed on a lift and the mechanic noticed that the oem rear passenger rim had cracks. The dealer was contacted and indicated that there was a national backorder for the rims. The contact was informed that there were 26 other customers already on the waiting list and that the part may become available around july 20, 2018. The dealer further stated that the vehicle was unsafe to drive until the rim was replaced. The contact was informed that the vehicle could be left at the dealer until the part arrived; however, they would not be liable if anything happened. The contact declined because a loaner vehicle was not offered. The failure mileage was not available.
CategorySuspension
DateMay 03, 2018
StateCA
Description
Front suspension has excessive rust. Rust is eating out the material, can possibly break and cause and accident. Dealer refused to replace part.
CategorySuspension
DateApr 30, 2018
StateCA
Description
To whom it may concern, my brand new 2018 dodge charger has suspension rusting issues. Pretty upset how a brand new car can have this type of issue. It has been my dream car to own such vehicle and to see this issue makes me think twice about dodge. It only had 1,200 miles on this vehicle when the issue was noticed.
CategoryElectrical System
DateApr 01, 2018
StateAZ
Description
Uconnect unit failure on new vehicle 16 days after purchasing. Uconnect sporadic rebooting of center console including climate, radio, backup camera, performance gauges, and remote vehicle services. Happens when vehicle is stationary or in motion.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateFeb 01, 2018
StateAK
Description
Purchased the car on 12/23, on 1/20/18 my wife was driving, she pulled back on the turn signal lever to activate the high beam headlights and the turn signal lever broke off in her hand. I was told by chrysler corporate and the dealership that this wouldn't be covered under warranty. When I called another dealership to inquire about having the broken part replaced, I was told this is on a national back order. I called dodgepartsonline. Net to see about purchasing this part and they said that they are showing 26 back orders for this part. When performing a google search for this same incident, there are multiple reported occurrences of the turn signal lever breaking off. To rebut chrysler's response, if this part isn't defective then why is there a national back order with chrysler for the replacement part and other owners reporting a similar incident with the lever breaking off. I had to utilize an epoxy resin to glue the broken piece back onto the shaft so I can operate the turn signals but my windshield wipers are inoperative due to the ribbon wire that controls the wipers broke.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJan 07, 2018
StateNV
Description
2018 dodge charger with 8. 4 u-connect radio system with sirius radio option. Sirius has weather/traffic updates which continually pop up on screen. I've documented pop-ups numerous times on short trips. I've created a log showing as many as three in a 20 minute drive. Additionally, the warning reports are for areas outside my zip code (they are for another state). A driver have to take their eyes off the roadway and look at the radio display to cancel the alert. Sirius and dodge are aware of this issue but there has been no patch to cure the issue or cancel and turn off the alerts. I just spoke to a service representative at sirius and they ware aware of many complaints. Dodge has been made aware of this situation. This is a common complaint listed on dodge forums. I am a traffic school and dui instructor for the city of las vegas. I can tell you this is a serious distraction that can cause traffic accidents by drivers diverting their attention from driving to cancelling the pop up notices.

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.

Share your story

Does this ring a bell? Have you had a bad experience too? Sound off and share your experience with other visitors in the comment box below.

Brian Jones

About the Author:

Brian Jones spent more than 20 years working as an ASE Certified Master Tech and Parts Specialist at multiple dealerships. Brian has become an authority in the industry, traveling across the country to consult for car dealerships and contributing his expertise as a writer for several major automotive publications. In his spare time, Brian enjoys working on pickup trucks, muscle cars, Jeeps and anything related to motorsports.

See more posts from Brian Jones
1 COMMENT
  • Patrick

    Like many other Dodge owners, my 2015 charger of only 41,000 miles has a loose driveshaft. There has been 2 recalls about this issue, 18V281000 and 17V097000, but neither recall cover my specific VIN. Even though the same issue is occurring. There are countless others that are having this same issue. I’ve screenshot over 40 cases of people who are not being covered by the recall, even though they are sharing the same problem. It’s obvious that the recall should have been extended to cover more models that have the same issues.

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead you can to our legal team.

Please select your star rating.

Briefly describe your experience Briefly describe your experience

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? Please enter a valid phone number

Want to know if you could sue? Get a free legal evaluation Lemberg Law?

Get Your No-Obligation
Case Evaluation

Send a secure message to our legal team.

What’s your name? What’s your name?
What’s your email address? What’s your email address?
What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?
Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem
Confidentiality Guarantee: We keep your information completely confidential and will not send you spam or sell your information.