We Help Stop Unifin Collections Harassment

How To Put An End to Unwanted Calls and Debt Collector Abuse and Threats.

CALL US NOW FOR >> FREE LEGAL HELP

Unifin Inc is a debt collection agency, which receives a lot of consumer complaints to our law firm for debt harassment. Find out who they are, why they might be calling, and how you can stop them.

Quick links:

What is Unifin Inc?

Unifin , Inc. is a Business Process Outsourcing (BPO) and Accounts Receivable Management (ARM) company that specializes in third-party debt collection. Unifin has received consumer complaints alleging violations of the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act (FDCPA), including illegal communication tactics and attempting to collect debts not owed. If you have been contacted by Unifin,take some time to understand your rights before responding.

Have questions? Call us now at 475-277-1600 for a Free Case Evaluation.

Our services are absolutely FREE to you.

The harassing company pays our fees.

Is Unifin Inc a scam?

They’re legit. According to the Better Business Bureau (BBB), Unifin, Inc. is a legitimate collection agency,  founded and incorporated in June 2011. The BBB established its profile page in September 2012. Unifin is listed as a collection agency and collection systems provider. Buzzfile estimates Unifin’s annual revenue at about $450,000 and the size of its headquarters staff at 5 employees.

According to its website, Unifin is “a full-service BPO and Accounts Receivable Management firm licensed and bonded nationally.” Unifin Inc provides solutions that “enable businesses to meet the challenges associated with their BPO needs…improve efficiency, generate more revenue, improve cash flow, and increase ROI.”

Unifin Inc cites four areas in which they claim their services outperform the competition: data security, regulatory compliance, business operations transparency, and performance in collecting delinquencies. To support these claims, their website cites their information security program; a secure web portal for client relations; high ethical standards; and compliance with nationally accredited licensing and bonding programs. However, as for compliance, they do not provide any information about consumer protection laws or enforcement agencies, except for a link to the Debt Buyers Association website.

Who does Unifin collect for?

Unifin Inc collects delinquent debts for student loan lenders, healthcare providers, utility and telecommunications providers, and government agencies.

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of collection harassment and abuse. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. We’ve helped more than 15,000 consumers stop harassment and recover money from debt collectors. Harassed? Abused? Misled by a collector? Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.

How many complaints are there against Unifin Inc?

As of February 2018, the Better Business Bureau (BBB) has closed 13 complaints against Unifin Inc in the preceding 3 years, with 8 complaints closed in the past 12 months. Complaints allege problems with billing and collections; customer service; and advertising and sales. As of December 2015, the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau (CFPB) has received 1 complaint about Unifin, and Justia lists at least 2 causes of civil litigation involving Unifin Inc.

Contact Information

Unifin, Inc.
PO Box 4519
Skokie, IL
Telephone:(888) 572-3987
Website: http://www.unifinrs.com/

Can Unifin Inc Sue Me or Garnish My Wages?

It is illegal for a debt collector to make empty threats to sue you or garnish your wages. It is also unlikely Unifin would sue you for a debt you may not owe or they cannot validate. However, debt collection agencies are known to have summoned debtors to court and garnish wages after a default judgement. Contacting an attorney BEFORE this could possibly happen would be a smart move. We’ve helped thousands of consumers fight back against unscrupulous debt collection harassers. Find out if we can help you too today!

Get Free BBB A+ Attorney. Call 475-277-1600 NOW

Unlawful Debt Harassment? Learn the Law & Sue the Collector.

Can you help me file a No Fee Lawsuit against Unifin Inc?

Absolutely.  You can sue a debt collector. Here is a Sample Case Complaint:

Complaints against Unifin Inc cite problems resulting from hostile and abusive telephone representatives who blame consumers for the abuses of Unifin employees. For example, in July 2017, a complainant indicated he had been receiving calls at work from a Unifin representative after informing them that he was not allowed to receive calls at work. This conduct is a direct violation of the FDCPA. The complainant indicated that he had acknowledged that the debt was valid and that he intended to pay it, but specifically requested that he not be called at work. In response, Unifin refused to accept responsibility for the violation, simply stating that there was not a “Do not call at work” notification on the complainant’s account. The Unifin representative who responded to the complaint offered a lengthy explanation about how their collection agents are supposed to document accounts, but ultimately blamed the consumer for their failure to adhere to regulations.

Similarly, in January 2016, a complainant indicated that Unifin representatives repeatedly engaged in abusive and harassing conduct during telephone conversations.  Initially, the complainant indicated that when he began contacting Unifin Inc, their representatives continually hung up on him. Subsequently, when he requested validation of his debt, they allegedly refused to send any documentation; failed to inform him that they were a debt collector attempting to collect a debt; failed to inform him that his call was being recorded; and yelled at him. Allegedly, Unifin representatives then accused the complainant of harassing them because he “kept calling back demanding to speak to a supervisor or get the address to send a complaint.” The complainant also allegedly asked them to stop calling him, and a Unifin representative “refused…said it was within their rights…that they would still pursue debt collection and threatened to call him back.” In response to this complaint, Unifin offered an apology if the complainant felt “like our representatives were rude.” However, rather than accepting responsibility for the misconduct, they merely insisted that Unifin Inc prides itself on “being a complaint (sic) debt collection agency that adheres to all the laws and regulations that apply to our industry.

Unifin Inc Calling You?

Federal laws protect you. The Fair Debt Collections Practices Act (FDCPA) regulates the behavior of collection agencies by prohibiting actions such as the use of abusive or threatening language; harassment; or the use of false or misleading information to collect a debt. The FCRA regulates how collection agencies and creditors report delinquent debts to credit reporting agencies. Additional consumer protection laws include the Telephone Consumer Protection Act (TCPA) and the Consumer Financial Protection Act (CFPA).

Can I sue Unifin for harassment?

Yes. If you want to enforce your rights, or recover money for violations — you need to sue. Federal laws provide individuals like you with a means to seek monetary damages in court. For example, the FDCPA allows consumers who have been violated to recover damages of up to $1,000, plus attorney fees and court costs.

Want to Stop Unifin Inc Debt Collection Harassment Now?

You may have a case, if…

  • You are receiving multiple calls per week from third party collection agencies.
  • You are receiving early morning or late night calls from debt collectors
  • You are receiving calls at work from a debt collection agency
  • Debt collectors are calling your family, friends, neighbors, or coworkers
  • Collectors are threatening you with violence, lawsuit, or arrest
  • A debt collector attempts to collect more than you owe
  • You are being threatened with negative credit reporting
  • A debt collector attempts to intimidate you
  • Criminal accusations are being made towards you
  • Use of obscene language during an attempt to collect
  • Automated robocalls are being made to your phone in an attempt to collect

What Our Clients are Saying

“Every e-mail sent or phone call made to your firm was answered not only promptly, but virtually immediately. Mr. Hirnyk patiently explained every legal concept – including what was possible and what was not – under existing state and federal consumer law.”

“Prior to contacting you, we had tried repeatedly to handle this matter without threatening litigation. In the end, not only were they unapologetic, but they were dismissive – even of an attorney friend who called on our behalf. Sincerest thanks for resolving this matter for us!”

“Know that Sergei, and your firm did a good thing. You took on a big company for little people and righted a wrong. For this we are grateful.”

“Thank you and your team at Lemberg Law for the exceptional work you did on my behalf. I have never experienced the level of care, professionalism, timeliness in follow-through, and monetary compensation obtained through your firm.”

Can You Help Me Delete Unifin Inc from My Credit Report?

We can absolutely help. Call us today.

Share your story

Have you had a bad experience with this agency’s debt collectors? Sound off and share your experience with other visitors in the comment box below.

9 COMMENTS
  • Peter H

    These assholes call me every few days, and I ignore them. The one time I picked up they went to harvest data, and the one time I listened to the messages they had a ‘deal’ for me to pay 400 some bucks now and there forgive me for some 2000$ debt.

    A real company that prefers to act and do like scammers. Take what they say with a grain of salt.

  • Vernita L

    I have received 2 letters from Unifin saying that I owe a dicounted price of $6544.24 for a debt to Sychrony Fin Luxuary. I am not aware of any debt that I owe.

    There is no date or explanation of so called item that was purchased.
    There has not been any item that I have purchased in the last 4 years that I owe on. ‘The statuate of limitation is 4 years in California.

  • AG

    I received a call today, March 18 2020 from Unifin. Unlike other debt collectors, they present my full name and last four up front so I let them continue talking. They stated they inquired the debt from one company, and told me who the original lender was. I am in the market to buy a home this year, so I check my credit report about twice a week. I instantly knew I didn’t have a outstanding debt for that lender. I asked Unifin to provide me with the original loan agreement number, the location of the lending company (always stated on your CR) and the date the loan was open. All they could tell me was the year 2013. However, the scammer tried to get me to log onto their website where I would be able to see more information. He provided me with the reference number needed in order to log on. I didn’t log on, instead I wrote the number down in case I ever needed to sue them because if you login it’s admitting you owe a debt. I told the representative that I wanted the loan agreement number and loan date before I logged in, at which point he got hostile kept asking me if I intended to pay, and I asked him why I would pay for a debt that is a)not on my credit report and b) he could not validate. He hung up on me, I called back because I wanted all the company information from how they acquired the “debt” and my social. The next woman was also hostile, almost as if she knew I was onto them. Once she hung up, I double checked my credit report and just I suspected, no debt owed. However, I did have a loan a year before the fictitious one that was close in name and a year before the date they claimed; that loan has been paid off in good standing since 2014. I think this is a fraudulent company that has some how acquired enough details from someone’s credit report to try to scam people into going to their site, accept fault for debts they don’t have. I would definitely look into escalating this if possible because had I not been obsessive over my credit report, I may have thought this debt was legit based on the fact the lender had “similar” names. Additionally, I made sure I googled the real lender to ensure they hadn’t changed their businesses name and no it’s been the same since 1998. I would also note that they knew I was a veteran and it was eerie that when I asked what date was on the agreement he only said 2013 when you were in the service (in the military). Very creepy.

  • Shelly s

    Call my work non stop and do not email proof when asked. After months of asking finally received a vague email that still does not make sense. Cannot understand the rep on the phone! Calling for an alleged debt from 10+ years ago.

  • Mattie C

    I received a letter from Unifin about a debt that I paid years ago to get a home loan. The letter was dated 2/18/19, but I didn’t get it until after the 1st of March, giving me less than 30 days to respond. I have been offered some pay off options. I have not engaged with them as I know this debt is invalid. Even if it wasn’t paid off, the debt is likely too old to be pursued.

  • Tamara W

    I received multiple calls from Unifin, Inc. stating that I owe an outstanding credit card debt which originated back in 2007. That makes that outstanding debt 12 years old. I requested that they send me proof of owing this debt and they agreed to send me an email. I never once disputed that I might possibly owe this debt but there’s no possible way I could remember 12 years ago! They never sent the email so I called them and they promptly sent the email once I made contact with them. I haven’t called nor have they called me since. She did state that if arrangements weren’t made within 5 days then they would pursue further action.

  • Tim D

    I just got a call from UNIFIN actually I think I’ve been getting calls from a similar number but they never leave a message so I answered and they were saying I owe to a hospital. I asked if they could mail out proof that I owe it and she said no they could email it. I tried to get them to mail it out but wouldn’t budge so I agreed to have them email it and then they said it’s just a settlement letter and she wouldn’t even do that now after she said she would in the beginning. Then she said I wouldn’t agree on paying it and I tried talking back and she hung up. I just wanted proof I owe this debit. I think we were scammed before and I’m not doing it again

  • Rachel N

    I received a call from they agency telling me I needed to clear up a debt are I was going to be pick up by the police or I was going to be in front of a judge they scared me and I set up a payment arrangement witty the representative on the phone.I was told I would receive an email with all of the information from the call .I never.I make a $25 dollar payment ever month and when I can’t make the payment the representative tell me I will be drop off this arrangement .I’m a mother that can’t afford to give up The money because I’ve been laYoff of my job.

  • Christine L

    I received a call yesterday from your agency telling me I needed to clear up a debt. I set up a payment arangement with the representative on the phone. I was told that I would receive an email with all of the info from the call. I never received that email. This makes me thing that I have been scammed out of my hard earned money.

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead you can to our legal team.
Email is required to block spam, but will not be published.

Please select your star rating.

Briefly describe your experience Briefly describe your experience

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? Please enter a valid phone number

Want to know if you could sue? Get free legal evaluation Lemberg Law?

Get Your No-Obligation
Case Evaluation

Send a secure message to our legal team.

What’s your name? What’s your name?
What’s your email address? What’s your email address?
What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?
Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem
Confidentiality Guarantee: We keep your information completely confidential and will not send you spam or sell your information.