Free Help to Stop Penn Credit Corp Collections Harassment

How To Put An End to Unwanted Calls and Debt Collector Abuse and Threats.

CALL US NOW FOR >> FREE LEGAL HELP

Penn Credit Corp
Penn Credit Corporation, a debt collection agency, generates a lot of consumer complaints about debt harassment. Find out who they are, why they might be calling, and how you can stop them.

Quick links:

What is Penn Credit?

Penn Credit Corporation is a third-party collection agency based in Pennsylvania. Penn Credit has received consumer complaints alleging violations of the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act (FDCPA), including improper conduct or sharing of information and threatening to take actions that cannot legally be taken. If you have been contacted by Penn Credit Corp., make sure you understand your rights before responding.

Have questions? Call us now at 475-277-1600 for a Free Case Evaluation.

Our services are absolutely FREE to you.

The harassing company pays our fees.

Is Penn Credit a scam?

They’re legit. According to the better Business Bureau Penn Credit Corporation is a debt collection agency located in Harrisburg, PA. The BBB indicates that the business was started locally and incorporated in 1987. The BBB opened its file on this collection agency about nine months after its initial founding. Buzzfile indicates Penn Credit Corp. has an annual revenue of $29.6 million and an estimated staff of 140 at its headquarters.

Who does Penn Credit collect for?

Penn Credit acts as a third-party collection agency for the following markets: consumer credit cards; commercial accounts receivable; direct marketing, including book, movie, and music clubs; student loan providers; state, county, and municipal debts such as taxes, traffic citations, and court fines; healthcare; retail credit; telecommunications; and utilities. It describes itself as a “cutting edge leader in the collections industry whose professionalism, ethics, and integrity…serve as a model for how collection agencies should be run.”

Its website lists affiliations with The Association of Credit & Collection Professionals (ACA International); American Association of Healthcare Administrative Management (AAHAM); Telecommunication and Risk Management Association (TRMA); Healthcare Financial Management Association (HFMA); International Parking Institute (IPI); and The Georgia Municipal Association (GMA). The Consumer FAQs link on the company’s About page contains information for consumers trying to pay a debt, including contact information; a link to an online pay portal; call center hours; information about the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act (FDCPA); information about the Fair Credit Reporting Act (FCRA); a link to the Federal Trade Commission (FTC); and a link to information about resolving consumer debt.

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of collection harassment and abuse. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. We’ve helped more than 15,000 consumers stop harassment and recover money from debt collectors. Harassed? Abused? Misled by a collector? Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.

How Many Complaints are there against Penn Credit Corporation?

As of January 2018, the Better Business Bureau lists a total of 133 closed complaints against Penn Credit Corporation in the previous three years; 55 of these complaints were closed in the previous year. Of these complaints, 33 were resolved to the satisfaction of the complainant. Many of the complaints resulted from calls for unverified debts or excessive phone calls. In addition, there were 16 negative customer reviews of this company complaining of rude collection agents; inaccurate billing and reporting information; and excessive phone calls. The BBB had given the debt collection agency a rating of A-. Justia lists at least five different cases of civil litigation naming Penn Credit Corp. as the defendant.

Contact Information

Penn Credit Corporation
916 S 14th St
Harrisburg, PA 17104-3425
Telephone: (717) 238-7124
Website: https://penncredit.com/

Can Penn Credit Corporation Sue Me or Garnish My Wages?

It is illegal for a debt collector to make empty threats to sue you or garnish your wages. It is also unlikely Penn Credit would sue you for a debt you may not owe or they cannot validate. However, debt collection agencies are known to have summoned debtors to court and garnish wages after a default judgement. Contacting an attorney BEFORE this could possibly happen would be a smart move. We’ve helped thousands of consumers fight back against unscrupulous debt collection harassers. Find out if we can help you too today!

Get Free BBB A+ Attorney. Call 475-277-1600 NOW

Unlawful Debt Harassment? Learn the Law & Sue the Collector.

Can you help me file a No Fee Lawsuit against Penn Credit Corporation?

Absolutely.  You can sue a debt collector. Here is a Sample Case Filed in Federal Court:

In 2017 Penn Credit Corporation was the defendant in a proposed class action filed in Virginia over alleged violations of the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act (FDCPA). The plaintiff claims he was sent collection notices by the defendant that listed 21 debts allegedly owed to the Virginia Department of Taxation. One of the listed debts was reportedly owed by the plaintiff for Virginia’s state income tax, which the lawsuit says was assessed more than seven years prior to the date on the collection notices. The plaintiff argued he did not owe the  debt because collection of the debt was time barred by the state’s seven-year statute of limitations.

In another case in November 2015, a judge considered a default judgement against Penn Credit Corp for alleged violations of the FDCPA provision against excessive phone calls. The plaintiff in this case charged that, over a two-month period, Penn Credit made so many phone calls, including robocalls placed to a cellular telephone, that the debt collection agency violated provisions of the FDCPA.

Lemberg Law Client Lawsuits

June 5, 2017. On behalf of our client, Lemberg Law filed a complaint in U.S. District Court, Middle District of Pennsylvania. The case, against Penn Credit Corporation, charges the debt collection agency with violating federal law and asks for $1,000 in statutory damages under the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act and other relief.

When the phone rings and it is a debt collector, you can’t be blamed if your heart starts to race and your palms get a little sweaty. When you realize that the debt collector is trying to reach someone who doesn’t even live with you, that makes it even worse. Our client says that Penn Credit Corporation called her in an attempt to collect a debt from someone else. She contacted the debt collection agency to inquire about the calls, at which time the debt collector asked to speak with the person who owed the money. Our client advised the debt collection agency that the person who owed the money did not live with her and that they were not reachable at her phone number. She also asked them to stop calling her. Nevertheless, the debt collection agency continued calling our client in attempt to collect the other person’s debt.

September 20, 2015. On behalf of our client, Lemberg Law filed a complaint in U.S. District Court, Eastern District of Texas, against Penn Credit Corporation. Our client wrote a cease and desist letter PennCredit , telling them to stop calling her. Despite the letter, this collection agency continued to call.

The lawsuit charges that Penn Credit Corporation violated the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act (FDCPA) by continuing to contact our client after having received written notification from her to stop calling; by engaging in harassing behavior; and by using unfair and unconscionable means to collect a debt. The suit seeks statutory damages of $1,000, punitive damages, and other relief.

Penn Credit Corporation Calling You?

Federal laws protect you. The Fair Debt Collections Practices Act (FDCPA) regulates the behavior of collection agencies by prohibiting actions such as the use of abusive or threatening language; harassment; or the use of false or misleading information to collect a debt. The FCRA regulates how collection agencies and creditors report delinquent debts to credit reporting agencies. Additional consumer protection laws include the Telephone Consumer Protection Act (TCPA) and the Consumer Financial Protection Act (CFPA).

Consumers have reported this agency harassing them from the following numbers:

  • 800-900-1367
  • 800-900-1300
  • 800-900-1381
  • 800-800-3328
  • 800-798-2724
  • 800-720-7281
  • 800-900-1380
  • 800-900-1388
  • 800-900-1361
  • 800-720-7290
  • 800-900-1392

Can I sue Penn Credit for harassment?

Yes. If you want to enforce your rights, or recover money for violations — you need to sue. Federal laws provide individuals like you with a means to seek monetary damages in court. For example, the FDCPA allows consumers who have been violated to recover damages of up to $1,000, plus attorney fees and court costs.

Stop Debt Collection Harassment

You may have a case, if…

  • You are receiving multiple calls per week from third party collection agencies.
  • You are receiving early morning or late night calls from debt collectors
  • You are receiving calls at work from a debt collection agency
  • Debt collectors are calling your family, friends, neighbors, or coworkers
  • Collectors are threatening you with violence, lawsuit, or arrest
  • A debt collector attempts to collect more than you owe
  • You are being threatened with negative credit reporting
  • A debt collector attempts to intimidate you
  • Criminal accusations are being made towards you
  • Use of obscene language during an attempt to collect
  • Automated robocalls are being made to your phone in an attempt to collect

What Our Clients are Saying

“I didn’t know there was a group of professionals who were willing to go above and beyond to ensure their clients get justice. You helped stopped the notorious payday loans staff from calling me. I highly recommend your services to anyone.”

“It’s never too late to say a BIG thank you. It’s a month since you assisted me in stopping the numerous telemarketing calls I was receiving. My interaction with your staff was a great experience.”

“I received a scary call from a group saying that my credit card had been flagged for fraud. They threatened me that I needed to pay off $1,500 or end up incurring fees and fines. I knew this was likely a scam and I contacted Lemberg Law. You responded immediately and took over the case. I really appreciate the efforts of the entire legal team for putting an end to this nightmare.”

Read our reviews

Can You Help Me Delete Penn Credit Corporation from My Credit Report?

In short, chances are we can. Call us to today and we’ll tell you how we can help.

Share your story

Have you had a bad experience with this agency’s debt collectors? Sound off and share your experience with other visitors in the comment box below.

User Profile Image

About the Author:

Sergei Lemberg is a lawyer whose practice focuses on consumer law, class actions and personal injury litigation. He has been repeatedly recognized as the “most active consumer attorney” in the country. In 2020, Mr. Lemberg represented Noah Duguid in the United States Supreme Court in the case entitled Duguid v. Facebook. He is the author of Defanging Debt Collectors, a book that teaches consumers how to battle debt collectors and win.

See more posts from Sergei Lemberg
20 COMMENTS
  • Michele G

    I keep getting numerous calls from Penn Credit and they NEVER leave a message. We don’t answer any calls we don’t know because we get tons of robocalls and spam calls. Penn Credit calls excessively and want them to stop! I don’t owe anyone any money and I pay my bills on time and have excellent credit. This is harassment!

  • Julia C

    I have been getting robocalls from Penn Collection Agency for four months. I just received a call from my neighbor informing me that she is now receiving calls from this company regarding a debt that I owe. I have no idea what debt they insist that I owe. I don’t have any outstanding debts. I am not able to speak to anyone at Penn to get more information as to why they are constantly calling my number and now bothering my neighbor. I just want this company to stop calling and harassing my neighbor and myself.

  • Shana J

    I have talk to this company several times to explain I have no debt with the sewer company, yet they still demand money from me. I called the sewer company and Penn credit on 3 way calling to let the manager at the sewer company (Maggie) explain to Penn Credit manager(Josh) on 1/31/2020 at 4:46 pm that I have no debt with them and to stop calling and writing me. Josh said he would note it and stop the calls. I am still getting calls including one from today at 10:45 am from 18007207290. this is harassment and I want it to stop. this is a crime to demand money knowing that i owe nothing. Please help me stop them.

  • Isaac C

    I payed the bill that penn credit says I have it is a 200 dollar power bill and I payed it off 3 to 4 years ago and it is messing up my credit score and I can’t get a car

  • Penny M

    I am so fed up with Penn Credit, I am ready to have my phone disconnected permanently however I am very ill and have heart and other chronic illnesses so I need my phone in case of a emergency, I receive multiple calls a day everyday either robo or other I have begged them to stop calling me at 8 am in the morning or any other time but they continue calling with different numbers even though I try to block them they keep asking for someone I don’t even know or who has had my number in the past. I am disabled and I do owe some medical bills and I do my best monthly to pay them what I can afford I just can’t do anymore than I already do. I am desperate for help in stopping these harassing phone calls on a daily basis if you could help me It would be wonderful I just don’t know where else to turn for help stopping their calls. I googled their name is how I found this site, Thank You in advance for reading my concerns. Penny

  • John W

    Penn Credit calls me almost on a daily basis, sometimes into the very late evening. They are looking for a Jason and I have nothing to do with him. I answered once and told them to stop calling me as I have nothing to do with his alleged debts. I am a 72 year old disabled person and they are starting to enrage me. (I want these people “hurt financially”) I do have them on “call block” but the phone still rings once.
    P.S. My credit rating is “Excellent!” Thank you.

  • dan

    Constant – often several times a day – calls from Penn Credit Corp. – Don’t pick up because I hear you shouldn’t pick up robocalls. I have no debt of ANY kind. How can this be stopped. About to have to discontinue my landline because of this!!

  • Dena S

    I am receiving at least 6 calls per day since January from this Penn Credit Corp and I have no idea why. I have tried answering a couple of times and it hangs up. I don’t want to keep answering in case it is fraud or a scam and I don’t know that I owe anything to anyone. This is overly annoying and ridiculous. BBB is my next contact.

  • Colette B

    I got a Met Ed Bill from 2009 for over 3,000.00 because Met Ed claims I must pay back my BCAP credit since they have no funding form Berks County for Bcap. I told them I qualified and was a single mom being my estranged husband was a veteran and got hurt at his job and not working. living with us instead his 90 year old motheer who had cancer. He did not pay child support because of no imncome but gave my daughter a few dollars from his mother for school supplies etc. Since Met Ed had only 1 BCAp coordinator Ms Jennifer Rivera who was a high manager in the company she gave all the WARMS housing projects to her uncle who had no assistant . The uncle did not show up for 3 appointments so I g=had to report it to MET Ed in retaliation the uncle and Ms Rivera lied and told met Ed my Ex -Husband was living with me full time and giving me child support which was not completely accurate since it was from his mother on a random basis for her grandaughter. My Ex Husband had to put her on the bus and receive her after school on his days off from physical therapy since he gor hurt at work and was off for teamster union worker complaint mediation to the company where he got injured frequently. BCAP funding was severely cut in May 2009 and demanded all working applicants to pay back their BCAP to suplemental those applicants not working due to being a welfare recipient. I filed an appeal several time but MET- Never filed my complaint to the complaint officer whom did not granted my appeal comping up with an out ragiuos amount of money I never received from BCAP

  • Rudy B

    Penn Credit keeps calling me everyday since 1-1 19. Make them stop!

  • Ron R

    This company has been HARASSING me since the beginning of January 2019 – this is now MARCH. It is a recording from Penn Credit saying something to the effect “have a message for you concerning important personal business”.
    I DO NOT OWE ANYONE ANYTHING. Never have. This is harassment and I want it stopped.

  • Melissa L

    They call after hours and on Sundays an also on Holliday’s an never tell me who the debt is through an it’s always a recording saying I owe 48 dollars an some odd cents but never can I talk to an actual person nor do I know who the are calling about but the place is Penn credit

  • Florence L

    Penn Credit Corp keeps calling me multiple times a day. The computer message said I owed $48 to Publishers Clearing House, which I have never purchased anything from them before, and they will not stop calling. I have an excellent credit score of 850+. If I owed money, I think Publishers Clearing House would have notified me a long time ago. I believe this is a scam to get small amounts of money from thousands of people who would be willing to pay it, just to stop the calls. If this is the case, this is FRAUD. Stop calling me!!!

  • Elaine W

    Junk debt buyers. These people are bottom feeders. Laughable. I told them to get a more dignified line of work and then blocked them.

  • Akirah

    There is a bill in my name out through ppl electric and it was switched to penn credit Corp and my mom took the bill and put it in her name now that bill is still on my credit report and they will not take it off

  • Larry L

    This company keeps harassing me about a parking ticket from k Key West and I have never driven a vehicle that was registered in my name to Key West. The dept. of motor vehicles has no record of any ticket!!! SCAMMERS!!!

  • anonymous

    Received notice by mail from PennCredit stating I have a debt from a few years ago from a state that I was not in during that time. I will respond in writing stating their records are flawed and ask for evidence of the debt they state I owe.

  • Sherlock

    Calling all the time I am in Florida for the winter and get my phone calls no. Forwards to me. Do not know what it is for

  • RICHARD N

    I HAVE MADE ARANGMENTS WITH MMH ON A MONTHLY PAYMENT MORE WILL COME WHEN THING GET BETTER THANK YOU what i said is the same thing what more do you want me to say ,every one will be payed but wright now i can not pick it of a tree

  • Janis G

    this company needs to stop calling every day all day and some nights …..

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead you can to our legal team.
Email is required to block spam, but will not be published.

Please select your star rating.

Briefly describe your experience Briefly describe your experience

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? Please enter a valid phone number

Want to know if you could sue? Get free legal evaluation Lemberg Law?

Get Your No-Obligation
Case Evaluation

Send a secure message to our legal team.

What’s your name? What’s your name?
What’s your email address? What’s your email address?
What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?
Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem
Confidentiality Guarantee: We keep your information completely confidential and will not send you spam or sell your information.