2022 GMC Sierra 1500 Problems and Top Complaints – Is Your Car A Lemon?

Brake, electrical system, and engine issues are among the top complaints received by the NHTSA from vehicle owners

Updated on Author: Brian Jones | Reviewer: Sergei Lemberg

The 2022 GMC Sierra 1500 is a truck designed for getting jobs done. The automaker maintains that it’s known for its “trailering capabilities.” But an increasing number of owners are experiencing major problems with their trailer brakes that General Motors can’t fix.  They are also complaining about other braking system issues as well as glitchy electrical systems and defective engines.

Click on other model year to view more problems: 2019   2021   2023

Most Common Problems

Between February 16, 2022, and February 1, 2023, 28 consumers complained to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) about the 2022 GMC Sierra. The most common problems relate to the brakes, engine, and electrical system. Nevertheless, 6 other components and systems are included in the complaints. These are the powertrain, steering, structure, forward collision avoidance, lane departure, and vehicle speed control.

Powertrain issues include the transmission of a 2022 Sierra needing replacement after only 170 miles. This was after the check engine warning light was illuminated.

There is also a complaint filed as a powertrain problem that reports how a Sierra rolled backward while in Park. The owner, from Georgia, was struck by the truck twice while trying to stop and control it. “I sustained moderate injuries, but thankfully was not catastrophically disabled. This should be investigated thoroughly so that no other person(s) is injured or dies as a result of this defect.”

There is also a complaint that reports electronic stability control (ESC) and power steering failures. The complaint from an owner in North Dakota states that the truck is difficult to steer and navigate without power steering. Additionally, the truck slides when taking corners because the ESC doesn’t engage.

2022 GMC Sierra 1500 Complaint Summary

Complaint Category Number of Complaints
Electrical System
23
23
Unknown Or Other
19
19
Service Brakes
18
18
Engine
14
14
Structure:body
12
12
Power Train
8
8
Forward Collision Avoidance: Warnings
4
4
Forward Collision Avoidance: Adaptive Cruise Control
3
3
Air Bags
2
2
Forward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking
2
2

Problems with the Brakes

There are 14 complaints that include brake problems ranging from trailer brakes that disengage and are disabled to issues with the antilock braking system. There are also complaints that new 2022 Sierras needed antilock brake system (ABS) modules and/or brake master cylinder assemblies to be replaced. In one case, the owner from New Mexico was told in March 2022 that there were no master cylinder assemblies available. This was after the truck displayed “a whole slew of warnings and warning lights.” These included “Service ESC, Service Trailer Brake System, Service Brake Assist, Steering Assist is reduced Drive with care and finally Brake System Failure 43 MPH top speed.”

An owner from Texas did have both the brake master cylinder and ABS module replaced. This was after the Sierra brakes  failed to respond or decelerate. First, the “service vehicle warning light” displayed. Then the ESC, trailer brake, and, brake warning lights were illuminated. The vehicle was towed to the local dealer who replaced the brake master cylinder and ABS module.

Trailer Brake Problems

Most of the problems relate to the trailer brakes. Drivers are warned to check their trailer brakes. This warning is followed by a “Trailer Brakes Disabled” alert. This issue is explained in detail in our post about the GMC Sierra 1500’s faulty trailer bike controller. It mentions the technical service bulletins (TSBs) issued by GM and warns that while the manufacturer knows about the issue, they are still working on a fix.

The most recent complaint is from an owner in Connecticut dated January 21, 2023. While towing a 7,000 lb car trailer, “I get a message that the trailer brakes need service, then I get another message that the trailer brakes are disabled. At this point the brakes are shut off and no longer work. This is extremely dangerous.”

Response from General Motors

There are a couple of service bulletins on file with the NHTSA that discuss diagnostic trouble codes (DTCs). As mentioned in the complaints above, 2022 Sierra owners with brake problems often get warning messages. Typically, they follow a general check engine malfunction alert. But there is nothing in this TSB that relates specifically to the brakes.

There is, though, one TSB that affects the electrical system, service brakes (air), and trailer hitches of the 2022 Sierra GMC as well as the 2022 GMC Yukon XL, 2022 Cadillac Escalade ESV, and several 2022 Chevrolet models. Preliminary information (PI) supplied to dealers in September 2022 states that some customers may report that when they “connect a trailer to the truck that there is a Service Trailer Brake message displayed in the DIC,” (driver information center). It states that while the cause is unknown, “GM Engineering is aware of the issue and working on a fix.” They undertake to update the PI when more information is available. By February 8, 2023, there was still no update.

While there is one recall that mentions the brakes of some 2022 GMC Sierra vehicles, it applies to an inoperative high-mounted brake light that potentially reduces visibility to other drivers. This, of course, increases the risk of a crash. But General Motors appears to be unmoved by the possible risk of a crash if the Sierra’s brakes fail.

Don’t be stuck with a lemon. You have legal rights to cash, return or buyback.

The law makes GMC pay legal fees.

We've fixed thousands of lemon problems. Message or call 877-795-3666 today.

Engine and Electrical Issues

The engine in a truck is essential for providing reliable power, but when it malfunctions, drivers and their passengers are in trouble. One of the 6 NHTSA complaints filed in the Engine category is from an owner in Oklahoma. It states that after driving the truck for less than 3 months, the engine started making a loud knocking noise that sounded like “a piston trying to shoot out of (the) engine. Very loud. I was afraid to drive it.” In response, the dealership said they “have had a few (2022 GMC Sierra 1500s) come back for lifter problems.”

An owner from California states that the engine shut off completely at a traffic light. “It has auto start to save gas and normally starts and stops at lights.” But this time it didn’t and the owner narrowly avoided being rear-ended.

There are also a few complaints that are filed under both Engine and the Electrical System.

Problems with the Engine

The engine in a truck is essential for providing reliable power, but this motor is a disgrace to the pickup lineup.

Another NHTSA complaint says, “Purchased 2022 GMC Sierra on 1/18/2022 with 0 miles on it…On 04/08/2022 the engine started a loud knocking noise…sounded like a piston trying to shoot out of engine. Very loud. I was afraid to drive it. We took it to the dealership and they said they have had a few come back for lifter problems. Not very happy for my purchase of a brand new truck with 0 miles on it after driving for less than 3 months.”

If this wasn’t enough, take a look at Service Bulletin #PIP5844. It states that DTC P06DD gets set because there’s no oil pressure following an oil and filter change. It’s something that happens because the filter was drained and empty. However, the filter is always drained and empty for a second after an oil change. This shouldn’t lead to trouble codes setting unless it’s a defective system, which is what the Sierra 1500 is.

Complaints that Combine Electrical and Engine Problems

One  from an owner in New York says that the check engine light came on at 458 miles. It took an hour for the dealership to determine it was the engine control module (ECM.) “They said it was bad. Now they’re on the hunt for one.” Because he’s owned the vehicle for such a short time, he says, “I’m going to need a loaner for longer than I’ve had it and still make payments.”

An Engine/Electrical complaint, which is also listed under Powertrain, is described as a ”catastrophic failure.” As with brake issues, several check engine and sensor lights came on. Then the Sierra, which had only 319 miles on the clock, lost speed from 60 mph, coming to a standstill in an intersection. After being stuck in the intersection for more than 2 hours, the owner, from Florida, managed to reverse at about 2 mph. He turned the engine off and then on again, but couldn’t get it out of Park. “We were in an extremely dangerous situation. This truck nearly caused our entire family to get in a very bad collision.”

Even the police tried unsuccessfully to get the truck out of Park. Eventually it was scanned on-site for error codes. These included the check engine, collision assist, and service traction control lights, as well as the message Service ESC. “This vehicle needs to be investigated if it is failing this early on. There also needs to be a manual release for the parking gear. The truck has no way to be placed in neutral upon failure of the transmission relay.”

Your Lemon Law Legal Rights

If you own a 2022 GMC Sierra and think that you might have a lemon, it’s a good idea to let the experts work out your lemon case at no cost to you. After all, the law makes GMC pay legal fees.

Every year, auto manufacturers like GMC buy back, replace, or pay cash settlements to thousands of ‘lemon’ owners. If you’d like Lemberg Law to assess your problem and advise you free of charge, call our Helpline or fill out a contact form now.

About the Author:

Brian Jones spent more than 30 years working as an ASE Certified Master Tech and Parts Specialist at multiple dealerships. Brian has become an authority in the industry, traveling across the country to consult for car dealerships and contributing his expertise as a writer for several major automotive publications. In his spare time, Brian enjoys working on pickup trucks, muscle cars, Jeeps and anything related to motorsports.

See more posts from Brian Jones
9 COMMENTS
  • Oneil G

    I have a 2022 GMC at4 with 3.0 diesel engine. The only issues I’ve had were engine oil leaks, which were fixed. I drive a lot, I already have 41k miles on it. What I’ve noticed is if I take a long trip with or without my camper (5k airstream) I use a quart of engine oil. I’ve bought all my oil filters from my dealer and changed every 5k miles which I still have 40-50% oil life left when I do the change. Has anyone else complained of this?

  • Gregory Y

    I purchase a GMC Sierra 1500 on 2/15/2022. The vehicle was specifically purchased to tow a 7K boat & trailer, and a 12K dump trailer. I order the 6.2L V8 with the max trailer package for this purpose. First time I towed the boat in June 22, I received message check brake wiring followed by message brakes disengaged. Of course I was on a down hill grade for 20 miles and now with no trailer brakes. Over the next 10 months I had the vehicle in 3 times for this issue and was told something different each time, such replace trailer plug with this model and make, or we fixed the problem. After another close call, I discovered service Bulletin No. PIT5509H which addressed the issue which basically says the factory installed controller will not work with Electric over Hydraulic actuators. Something two different GMC dealers were not aware of or would not disclose. After opening a Case with GMC I was told today that there is nothing GMC will do to fix the problem and that if I install and aftermarket brake controller I will void my warranty on my braking system. So basically they are telling me not tow any trailer with and electronic actuator. So I am now borrowing my son-in-laws F150 or my friends Ram to tow with. So I am stuck with a worthless tow vehicle.

  • Tonya D

    My son was driving and noticed oil pressure in truck was dropping! He was on phone with his dad and his dad told him pull over. When he did he pulled by gas tanks. He got out smelled like something was burning. So he jumped in truck and moved truck over to side praise god he did! Once he moved it to the side he noticed when getting out of the truck when popped hood that smoke and flames started. 911 was called and luckily my son had a fire extinguisher on his boat and a man ran to help my son until Fire Dept. came. This is 2022 GMC 1500 Evolution package

  • Hope H

    We bought a 2.7 liter turbo GMV Sierra 1500 elevation. We bought it at Brennan Buick in Plattsburgh, NY. Having nothing but problems it will buck when accelerated. Transmission shifts hard. I’ve brought it 2 times for the same problem they told me they fixed chafing on the wire harness both times and its still doing the same thing. Not happy what so ever. then they look at you like you have 2 heads because you are getting upset well yes I’m getting upset, wouldn’t you?

  • M P

    Well I rented a 2022 Silverado. After two exits on the highway and 3 hours after I rented the vehicle the steering wheel was vibrating violently, brakes wouldn’t work, cant control the steering, hit the brakes again. The vehicle swerved over two lanes right into the concrete guard rail in the middle of the highway. I ended up in the hospital with a broken finger and a fractured spine, 3 bulging disks and no one is owning up saying nothing was wrong with the vehicle. The accident was 8-20-2022. Thanks

  • Kayla

    I have a 2022 GMC Sierra Denali 1500 i purchased March 2022. I live in Florida where it rains a lot! I’ve had leaking in the top roof of my truck near the visor on the from driver and passenger side! I have reported it to my nearest GMC service team they stated they sent it out to be fixed August 2022. Once it rained again in September 2022 I got in my truck and noticed the puddle of water in same spot again. Took it back to the GMC Service center September 2022. Hurricane Ian came in October 2022 and noticed it again. I went back to the Service center they stated they fixed it but now I get in my truck this morning and it isn’t fixed! I’m still getting rain leaking in the truck and service is saying there is no recall! What are my next steps? I paid Cash for my truck I need to know what I need to do because I’m over it with GMC!

  • Reinier

    My new gmc denali diesel 1500, no display on radio maps etc. Went to the dealer 1st time, was module problem, 2 months later, again the same problem, I thought that I bought a good truck, but now I really concerned about this.

  • Johnny

    Just bought a 2022 GMC Sierra 1500 Slt and it hasn’t even been 30 days and I haven’t Made my first payment and my Brakes became defective twice not allowing me to stop, as well as the check engine light coming on, and is yet still on. After the brake failure a message displayed in the center of my dash reading “Service Brake assist”.

  • Santos

    Just bought a new 2022 gmc sierra 1500
    I drove it for 3 weeks now and it gave me the check engine light I took it to the dealer service department and said the diesel was bad or the water was bad and smelling bad.
    They stayed with the truck service call me back and said it was the injectors they need a week to fix it..now I don’t feel right driving it I feel unsafe, it has warranty 3 years ir 36 thousands miles ..but I feel that after all thus the truck is new and it should drive right without any problems but with this I dont want it ni more
    Give me new one without problems but I havent paid my first Month and is giving problems already what can I do or should I do
    I lost with this problem.

Leave a Reply or Comment Cancel Reply

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead you can to our legal team.

Please select your star rating.

Briefly describe your experience Briefly describe your experience

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? Please enter a valid phone number

Want to know if you could sue? Get a free legal evaluation from Lemberg Law?

Get Your No-Obligation
Case Evaluation

Send a secure message to our legal team.

What’s your name? What’s your name?
What’s your email address? What’s your email address?
What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?
Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem
Confidentiality Guarantee: We keep your information completely confidential and will not send you spam or sell your information.
By submitting above, I agree to the privacy policy and terms and consent to be contacted by an agent via phone call or text message at the phone number(s) listed above, including wireless number(s).
Exit mobile version