2019 Nissan Titan Problems and Top Complaints – Is Your Car A Lemon?

Electrical, fuel system and steering issues among the top complaints received by the NHTSA from vehicle owners

By Brian Jones | Updated on

By Brian Jones | Updated on

While there are some clear leaders in the pickup market, the 2019 Nissan Titan has its own following. After all, the company claims to provide “America’s Best Truck Warranty,” which owners seem to be taking advantage of. This truck has numerous complaints filed against it for the electrical system, steering, service brakes and fuel system.

Click on other model year to view more problems: 2017   2018   2021

Don’t be stuck with a lemon. You have legal rights to cash, return or buyback.

The law makes Nissan pay legal fees.

We've fixed thousands of lemon problems. Message or call 877-795-3666 today.

NHTSA Complaints for the 2019 Nissan Titan

Complaint CategoryNumber of Complaints
Electrical System
7
Tires
4
Unknown Or Other
4
Power Train
4
Engine
2
Vehicle Speed Control
2
Fuel/propulsion System
2
Back Over Prevention: Rearview System Braking
1
Back Over Prevention
1
Exterior Lighting
1

Problems with the Electrical System

The Titan supposedly has more standard equipment than the other truck brands, but if the electrical system doesn’t work like it should, this really doesn’t matter.

Just read what this Cars.com review says. “I have 16k miles on a 2019 and it’s been in the shop 3 times. Hasn’t started and the dealer can’t figure out why. I should have to deal with issues on a 40 thousand dollar truck I’ve had for less than a year.”

In fact, the company has issued two electrical system related recalls since this truck debuted. The first, NHTSA Campaign Number 19V495000, states that the alternator harness may short in nearly 100,000 vehicles because it was damaged when the engine was installed. If this occurs, it could lead to a stalling engine and an increased chance of collision. It also increases the likelihood of a fire. Additionally, NHTSA Campaign Number 19V654000 states that the back-up camera image in over a million vehicles might not be functioning correctly. Considering that Titans were considered pre-Olympian gods in Greek mythology, this truck surely doesn’t live up to its name.

Problems with the Steering

No one assumes that a full-size truck will respond like a compact car on the road, but it should certainly be controllable. Yet, the steering and handling is a sore topic with owners.

One Cars.com review says “I am a current owner of a 2019 Nissan Titan midnight edition after having to trade in my 2019 Nissan Altima SV AWD cause it was also a lemon!, after a short test drive due to an electrical malfunction was noticed in the Titans dome light the test drive was ended an truck was taken into the shop you could tune the light on an off by simply touching pushing on the headliner. It was said to be repaired and working as normal I inspected agreed an purchased the truck with 23miles on it, shortly after I had finally found the need to go over 50mph finding a pretty noticeable shake once I reached 50+ and the same coasting during deceleration around the same speed my truck went into the shop went on a test drive with the service writer he was very surprised at the trucks problem agreed it needed immediate attention. The truck has now been at the dealership going on 50 days straight they have replaced nearly $18,000 in parts with internal labor and the truck is not fixed still performs the same with same problem. I was working very politely with Nissan North America they offered to buy it back the real shock is when I opened the purchase back PDF to see they were requesting me to pay Nissan North America back $7862.10 for a customer cash rebate purchase Incentive that was paid by Nissan North America.”

While there aren’t any communications about the steering, the company has talked about some structural-related issues that could annoy drivers. For example, Service Bulletin #NTB19-102 discusses the reasons why this truck experiences excessive wind noise when traveling at 40 mph or more. So, in the process of attempting to keep this truck on the road, owners also have the pleasure of hearing the symphony of road noise in the background.

Problems with the Service Brakes

Considering how large the Titan is, the automaker needs to spend particular time making sure the brakes can stop it. However, that seems to be yet one more problem with this vehicle.

Here’s an NHTSA complaint to consider. “Rear brakes will make squealing noise and cause brakes to wear excessively and cause brake failure. Nissan attempted to repair 5 times and were unable to and will not repurchase or replace the vehicle and expect owners to go out on their own to repair vehicle with only 4,000 miles on the odometer. “

The company hasn’t discussed the brake situation publically. However, at this point, it has probably occurred to several owners that they might be better off letting the brakes fail and allowing the truck to drive itself off of a cliff somewhere.

Problems with Fuel System

Above all, the engine and the fuel system must be dependable or the truck isn’t going to go anywhere. These basic systems have been perfected and shouldn’t face any defects.

However, this NHTSA complaint states otherwise. “Something wrong with fuel tank as it blew a hole outward from inside the tank like an exit wound from a shotgun shell. This caused the 26 gallons of gas to flow out of the tank and lose pressure. Spraying gas on the rear wheel and brake pads which could have ignited if sparked. No idea when it occurred as were not in the vehicle it was parked after the 3rd filling of the tank and about 100 of driving on that full tank.”

There’s no better way to start a day than to come out for a drive to work only to find gasoline all over the driveway. There are other fuel issues with the Titan. Even Service Bulletin #NTB19-049 states that these trucks can exhibit a whistling noise during refueling, which indicates that the tank must be replaced. Apparently, the first design wasn’t good enough, so owners are in need of a new one. However, how many drivers have been putting up with the whistle and are driving around with defective tanks? This should have been a recall instead of just a service bulletin, especially considering the fire danger. Hopefully, owners aren’t parking it too closely to their homes.

Your Lemon Law Legal Rights

Think you have a lemon? Sit back and let the experts work out your lemon case at no cost to you. The law makes Nissan pay legal fees. You may be able to get your lemon out of your life. Every year, auto manufacturers buy back, replace or pay cash settlements to thousands of ‘lemon’ owners like you.

Complaint Data

CategoryTires
DateSep 19, 2022
StateTX
Description
These are nhtsa recalled tires for my 2019 nissan titan. I had them inspected (via the recall) at cedar park nissan and even though they showed major sidewall issues (peeling, tread chunk missing, etc.), I was told they were a non-issue. I brought them in a 2nd time because the peeling and marring of tire look like major issues - they dismissed it. These are one of the tire models you state in your "part 573 safety recall report 21v-169". Specifically "continental tire 265/70 r18 116s tl grabber hts ". My wife and I were driving home with our 8 and 10 year old sons in the truck when the tire completely blew out and we were able to avoid a collision and wreck by the grace of god. I have photos and I have contacted cedar park nissan (the customer service rep would not connect me with anyone in management or authority and said it was my responsibility to find them sometime). I am fine with new tires - or pursuing a lawsuit and getting as much as court will allow. Nissan's choice. Your help would be appreciated, since this is a defective tire and is in the description of a tire the nhtsa deemed as defective. No warnings given - other than the recall the nhtsa issues that cedar park nissan deemed unnecessary. The previous symptoms have already been noted, as cedar park nissan was made aware of them 2 times and sent us away without help. The other 3 tires look poor, as I previously showed them twice now.
CategoryBack Over Prevention: Rearview System Braking, Unknown Or Other
DateApr 22, 2022
StateVA
Description
Back up camera is blurry and barley visible. Our family dog "bingo" was injured while backing up in the driveway.
CategoryBack Over Prevention
DateMar 11, 2022
StateFL
Description
The contact owns a 2019 nissan titan. The contact stated that while reversing the vehicle, he noticed that the backup camera did not display an image. The contact pressed the reset button on the vehicle, but the failure recurred. The vehicle was not diagnosed nor repaired by an independent mechanic or dealer. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The contact related the failure to nhtsa campaign number: 19v654000 (back over prevention) however, the vin was not included in the recall. The failure mileage was approximately 48,000.
CategoryTires
DateJan 21, 2022
StateTX
Description
The contact owns a 2019 nissan titan equipped with goodyear tires, tire line: wrangler sr-a, tire size: p275/60/r20, dot number: m6yn exer4518. The contact stated while driving 80 mph, the rear driver's side tire experienced a blowout. The contact was able to control the vehicle and veered to the side of the road. The contact replaced the defective tire with the spare tire and continued to drive the vehicle. The tire was original equipment. The dealer and the manufacturer were not notified of the failure. The tire was not inspected. The tire and vehicle failure mileage were approximately 24,060.
CategoryElectrical System
DateNov 15, 2021
StateGA
Description
The contact owns a 2019 nissan titan. The contact stated that the vehicle was parked and failed to start up. The contact was able to jumpstart the vehicle with assistance and the vehicle restarted. There were no warning lights illuminated. The contact stated that he drove the vehicle to his residence and the vehicle remained parked over the weekend. The contact stated that the failure reoccurred. The dealer and the manufacturer were not notified of the failure. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 18,000.
CategoryEngine, Power Train, Vehicle Speed Control
DateSep 17, 2021
StateFL
Description
Frequent and intermittent appearance of abs, traction control, engine warning and 4wd error lights on dashboard. All lights appear simultaneously and when they appear, cruise control fails, vehicle downshifts and slows substantially and engine rpms increase 10-20% above norm for each gear. If vehicle is stopped, turned off and then restarted, conditions return to normal, only to appear again later. During a recent 3,000 mile florida-michigan-florida trip, these incidents occurred a total of 56 times, all while on interstate highways driving 55-70 mph. The incidents do not occur during daily low-speed driving around town. After the recent 3k mile trip, I brought the vehicle to nissan dealer however they would not service because dashboard lights were not on and vehicle was operating normally. Dealer advised I should wait until lights reappear, then bring vehicle into dealer service bay immediately and “do not turn off ignition” because lights will disappear. This situation is difficult because lights only appear when I am driving on the interstate, usually far from home, and they disappear upon restart. Also I would need to immediately find a nissan dealer with an open service bay.
CategoryTires
DateAug 13, 2021
StateMO
Description
The contact owns a 2019 nissan titan equipped with general tires, tire line: grabber, tire size: 265/70/r18, dot number: a3845mal5018. The contact stated that the driver's side front tire pressure was continuously low and had to be re-inflated every 2 days. The tire was taken to the dealer who discovered that the exterior center tread of the tire had multiple tiny air holes present. While examining the interior of the tire it was also discovered that the inside tread was separated. The cause of the failure was not determined. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 15,000.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJun 26, 2021
StateCA
Description
Www. Cityofpomona. Org/lacountysheriffdept/westcovina lm@lmtowingservice. Net - arrest warrant by sheriffs dept. #sealed - www. Odfl. Com/long-beach www. Chase. Com/banking "quick deposits" rt:322200456 acct: 0123456789 california only www. Usa. Gov/irs
CategoryTires
DateApr 26, 2021
StateMO
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2019 nissan titan equipped with general tires, tire line: grabber a/tx, tire size: 265/70/r18, dot number: a3h4hmal5018. The contact stated that the tire continually loss air pressure and air pressure had to be added every two days. The vehicle was taken to al west nissan (2540 n bishop ave #1, rolla, mo 65401) who informed the contact that there was no recall on the tires. Additionally, the contact was informed that there was a pinhole leak with a 2 inch crack on the inside of the tire. The dealer installed the spare tire and shipped the defective tire back to the manufacturer to be examined. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and informed the contact that there was no recall associated with the failure. The failure mileage was 15,500. The vin was not available.
CategoryExterior Lighting, Forward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Lane Departure: Blind Spot Detection
DateApr 22, 2021
StateCA
Description
Tornado iii 4wheel trailers giant rv downey: downey, ca 90242 vin no.: 4ymul10166t002959 ca plate no: 4bz2788 www. Downeynissan. Com/downey
CategoryElectrical System, Unknown Or Other
DateMar 28, 2021
StateAZ
Description
Not running, doors closed, doors open random . Radio comes on. Can shift mode (radio station/cd player/ etc) dealer has put on radio tech note. Nothing done. Battery was replaced within first 6 months. Nissan offered 1500 to drop it.. No further action has been done.. They closed my account because I refused to accept theyre cover up, I thought was radio but dont know .. They have witnessed it.
CategoryElectrical System, Power Train, Vehicle Speed Control
DateJan 18, 2021
StateLA
Description
2019 nissan titan pro-4x while driving the truck, the battery voltage will drop below 12 volts (as low as 11. 75 volts). When the voltage is low I've noticed that the transmission is constantly 'hunting' to find the right gear. Also the throttle control becomes 'sluggish'. When trying to lightly accelerate it will not gain speed until the transmission downshifts harshly. On a handful of occasions I've experienced an issue where I can push the accelerator pedal to the floor and it would not accelerate at all. The engine rpms would slowly increase but the truck would continue to slow down as if the transmission was not fully 'engaged'. Once every 2-3 uses of the truck it will not start and acts like the battery is dead. I jump start it and then it cranks right away. I've load tested the battery and it is still in good condition. The problem was intermittent for the first year of ownership but now is a consistent problem. I've had to buy a portable battery jump starter to keep in the truck because I keep getting stranded. This is also a possible safety issue because the electrical control system is designed to operate above 12 volts. When the voltage drops below 12 volts then it is possible to render some of the vehicle control systems (including safety systems) inoperable which could possibly result in a crash causing injury and/or death. I am a control systems engineer and have over 25 years of experience in industrial electrical controls.
CategoryElectrical System, Power Train
DateJan 07, 2021
StateWI
Description
My 2019 nissan titan, with only 6500 miles, has twice failed to shift from lower gear when pulling away from a stoplight or stop sign causing me to have to pull out of traffic on a city street. Eventually, it shifted as normal. The electrical issue is more perplexing. Without having the ignition key in even remotely close proximity to, and with the vehicle stationary and not running, the vehicle radio begins playing.
CategoryElectrical System
DateDec 04, 2020
StateCA
Description
Android auto does not work properly. Music played from devices with android auto cuts in and out. Happens with all devices. Google maps doesn't work sometimes. Screen on head unit becomes unresponsive. Xm radio cuts in and out using android auto.
CategoryElectrical System, Suspension
DateNov 24, 2020
StateOK
Description
Had loud popping in the front end and the radio still turns off when it wants and comes on when the car is off
CategoryEngine, Fuel/propulsion System
DateNov 24, 2020
StateAZ
Description
When I try to accelerate from a stop in my 2019 nissan xd there is a considerable lag in time from when I press the accelerator and when my truck begins to move. It makes it unsafe when trying to merge into traffic.
CategoryElectrical System
DateNov 18, 2020
StateKY
Description
Nissan connect system constantly resets or reboots, apple carplay works intermittently and radio turns on and off, by itself, constantly, whether car is running or not. Most times the radio comes on by merely approaching the truck with the fob on my person or when simply opening the door. When it comes out on unexpectedly, it startles everyone on board due the very loud volume, and causes the elderly driver to grab the steering wheel tightly and slam the brakes when driving. There's no way to turn it off until it goes off by itself, sometimes as long as 2 minutes. Other times, and with the same scenarios above the radio again on its own, comes on extremely loud with a screeching noise as if current is being discharged from a high voltage capacitor and again startles the driver. Of course, according to legacy nissan in london, ky, says merely, that there's no recall concerning my complaint.
CategoryWheels
DateAug 29, 2020
StateFL
Description
Tires is breaking in pcs. I made only 6000 miles on them. Contact dealer, warranty on tires, manufacturer and nissan usa and nobody cares about safety on myself or my family.
CategoryPower Train, Unknown Or Other
DateDec 01, 2019
StateFL
Description
Truck has a shake between 45-75 mph. Depends on rpms and tire pressure. Does not matter if it is highway or city. Most notable between 65-72mph. Have had it to the dealer 3 times. 1st time, they said it was the tires as there were new and overinflated. Told to drive it a few hundred miles. 2nd time at dealer, the road forced balanced and replaced a tire. No fix. 3rd time, a service tech actually rode with me. Let the vibrations, noted them as well. After we arrived back to the dealer, waited 20 minutes until the service tech came back. Tech stated that the truck has stiff springs and performed as expected. The tech looked like he didn't even believe it. I have heard all three of these scenarios for "fixes" from other titan owners. It must be the line they sell us. Also, why do not all titans have the shake? Disappointing that nissan won't acknowledge the issue or attempt to really fix it. Issue has been since day one of ownership, july 2019.
CategoryService Brakes
DateNov 19, 2019
StateMD
Description
Rear brakes will make squealing noise and cause brakes to wear excessively and cause brake failure, nissan attempted to repair 5 times and were unable to and will not repurchase or replace the vehicle and expect owners to go out on their own to repair vehicle with only 4,000 miles on the odometer
CategoryFuel/propulsion System
DateMay 06, 2019
StateFL
Description
Something wrong with fuel tank as it blew a hole outward from inside the tank like an exit wound from a shotgun shell. This caused the 26 gallons of gas to flow out of the tank and lost pressure. Spraying gas on the rear wheel and brake pads which could have ignited if sparked. No idea when it occured as we were not in the vehicle it was parked after the 3rd filling of the tank and about 100 miles of driving on that full tank.*dt*jb *dt*jb consumer stated that there was definite and obvious difference that could be seen in the tank texture form the one that blew out to the new one they installed.*jb

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.

 

Share your story

Does this ring a bell? Have you had a bad experience too? Sound off and share your experience with other visitors in the comment box below.

Brian Jones

About the Author:

Brian Jones spent more than 20 years working as an ASE Certified Master Tech and Parts Specialist at multiple dealerships. Brian has become an authority in the industry, traveling across the country to consult for car dealerships and contributing his expertise as a writer for several major automotive publications. In his spare time, Brian enjoys working on pickup trucks, muscle cars, Jeeps and anything related to motorsports.

See more posts from Brian Jones
1 COMMENT
  • Michael B

    Truck has been in the shop for same problem 4 times. Each time they say it’s fix but problem keeps repeating.

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead you can to our legal team.

Please select your star rating.

Briefly describe your experience Briefly describe your experience

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? Please enter a valid phone number

Want to know if you could sue? Get a free legal evaluation Lemberg Law?

Get Your No-Obligation
Case Evaluation

Send a secure message to our legal team.

What’s your name? What’s your name?
What’s your email address? What’s your email address?
What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?
Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem
Confidentiality Guarantee: We keep your information completely confidential and will not send you spam or sell your information.