2018 Chevrolet Tahoe Problems and Top Complaints – Is Your Car A Lemon?

Headlights, structure and brakes and powertrain issues among the top complaints received by the NHTSA from vehicle owners

By Brian Jones | Updated on

By Brian Jones | Updated on

One of the more popular SUV models on the market is the 2018 Chevrolet Tahoe. Overall, Tahoe vehicles have been praised for the spaciousness and power. Even the automaker hails the new lineup as “the best for a reason,” but the company has overlooked some major flaws. This SUV has a poorly-built structure, terrible exterior lighting, a defective powertrain and malfunctioning service brakes.

Click on other model year to view more problems: 2017   2019   2020   2021   2022

Don’t be stuck with a lemon. You have legal rights to cash, return or buyback.

The law makes Chevrolet pay legal fees.

We've fixed thousands of lemon problems. Message or call 877-795-3666 today.

NHTSA Complaints for the 2018 Chevrolet Tahoe

Complaint CategoryNumber of Complaints
Unknown Or Other
11
Service Brakes
10
Steering
8
Electrical System
7
Engine
4
Power Train
3
Fuel/propulsion System
2
Exterior Lighting
2
Seats
1
Air Bags
1

Problems with the Vehicle Structure

For the price point of the Tahoe, it must be built to last, but it isn’t. Customers continue to complain about the cheap materials and defective structure.

Look at this Edmunds review as an example. “I’ve never had a new vehicle at the dealership for warranty work as much as this junk. Within the first month I had water flowing out of the overhead console due to the antenna leaking. Also the trim piece under the wipers was warped. Both were replaced by the dealership and I was reassured that it wouldn’t leak again. Four months later and both issues were back and repaired. Eight months in and the 10 speed transmission is acting up as well as the parking sensors, blind spot monitoring and theft deterrent systems going haywire. This is definitely my last new GM purchase and I look forward to the lease ending.”

One would think that GM would want to hide the structure-related troubles, but the communications are filled with issues. Even Service Bulletin #19NA255 openly discusses how the wax frame coating can peel, leading to rusting and corrosion concerns. Of course, there doesn’t seem to be any alarm over this condition, but rather seems that customers should just expect this from a new SUV. Clearly, this isn’t a reason that it is “the best.”

Problems with the Headlights

Even when customers are happy with other aspects of this vehicle, they tend to have some complaints about the lighting.

Just look at the secondhalf of a positive review from an owner writing on Edmunds. “I have to be honest though, the standard headlights are awful.  During my multiple test drives in the Spring, it was never dark enough for me to evaluate the headlights. There is absolutely no excuse for such poor low beam headlights on such an expensive vehicle. If I don’t keep the car for more than a year or two, it will be because of the headlights. Dinged my overall review because of the headlights.  Update 12/19/18 – reiterating that the headlights are awful for a vehicle in its price class. Update 6/19/19 – sold the car.  Night driving with poor headlights is dangerous.”

Following up on the structure incidents, take a peek at Service Bulletin #PIE0498, which also involves the lighting system. It appears that the door weatherstrip doesn’t seem to fit plus the company is dealing with rear tail lamp moisture as a result of the shoddy construction. With all of these concerns, it seems that the Tahoe assembly workers were in a hurry to get this SUV together. A lot of components seem overlooked and rushed, leading to massive problems. Again, these issues are talked about as if it is just normal. If customers wanted this type of quality, they could have saved themselves a lot of money with a different model.

Problems with the Transmission

The main component of a powertrain is the transmission. It must be working correctly to provide a smooth-shifting drive, but it’s just another area for failure with the Tahoe.

Another Edmunds review states, “Then it happens I back out of the drive I’m on the road put it in drive and NOTHING happens I calmly shift to neutral and try again and BOOM it slams into drive with a big thud and i eat the steering wheel. I start to panic that maybe that did not just happen and I’m crazy. I gather some witness to confirm I’m not crazy, no indeed I am not. Chevrolet thinks I’m crazy it “never” happened to them but it happens to me 5 plus times a week. This sadly will be my last Chevy product, I can buy the same [non-permissible content removed] quality for half the money going with another manufacture.”

As discussed before, it might be time to look at other brands for everyone’s SUV needs, because this model can only claim to be the “best” lemon. Service Bulletin #16NA019 talks about several other transmission-related concerns, such as flares, low-mileage harsh shifting and slipping. If owners wanted to take the kids on an amusement ride, they could have paid far less.

Problems with the Brakes

The service brakes are required to keep occupants safe and are critical when traveling with kids. Yet, this is probably the biggest disappointment on the 2018 Chevrolet Tahoe.

One NHTSA complaint talks about a scary situation. “Sitting in traffic on I-95 and had total brake failure and began rolling back in traffic and had to use emergency brake to stop the car twice. Cannot believe that GM is allows to sell a vehicle that now has serious problems and is allows to put my family’s life and others at risk of death.”

Those are some pretty severe statements, but all backed up by recalls that have been issued by GM. The first one, NHTSA Campaign Number 19V61000 talks about how a software error can cause the system to unintentionally brake on one side, which causes the vehicle to pull hard. This particular recall affected more than 600,000 vehicles, but that’s not the worst of it. NHTSA Campaign Number 19V645000 was issued on more than three million vehicles. With this recall, it’s evident that the vacuum pump can lead to a decrease in pressure, which causes the brake assist to malfunction. When this occurs, drivers must apply additional force to stop the SUV, and it could lead to an accident. Plus, the brake problems plagued so many GM vehicles that the dealers can’t keep up with repairs, leaving many people still at risk on the road. The only way that this situation could be positive is if the Tahoe happened to roll away unexpectedly off a cliff with no one in it. It’s possible that many owners dream about this situation just to get out of the death trap.

Your Lemon Law Legal Rights

Think you have a lemon? Sit back and let the experts work out your lemon case at no cost to you. The law makes Chevrolet pay legal fees. You may be able to get your lemon out of your life. Every year, auto manufacturers buy back, replace or pay cash settlements to thousands of ‘lemon’ owners like you.

Complaint Data

CategoryEngine And Engine Cooling
DateNov 15, 2022
StateGA
Description
The contact owns a 2018 chevrolet tahoe. The contact stated that while driving approximately 65 mph, the vehicle decelerated and abruptly slowed down and lost motive power. The check engine warning light was illuminated. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic who informed the contact that the smr lifter and the engine failed. The contact called the local dealer who informed her that the parts were back ordered but the vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure but provided no additional assistance. The approximate failure mileage was 104,163.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Service Brakes
DateOct 23, 2022
StateNJ
Description
While driving home, the the fac, forward automatic crash, indicator light came on, I applied the brakes and watched to my dismay as my vehicle slowed down but would not stop. I applied steady hard pressure until impact with another vehicle in front of me. The fab, forward automatic braking system never kicked in. I will contact the dealer concerning the above issue.
CategoryEngine, Power Train
DateOct 15, 2022
StatePA
Description
A lifter collapsed, which in turn damaged the lobes of a piston, which then damaged the camshaft... Generating a repair bill of ,100 per the dealer. The vehicle only has 69,200 miles on it. When the lifter failed, the car shuddered at stops, lost some power and made a noticeable clanking noise. When pulling out from stops, or into traffic, the car hesitated somewhat before accelerating. This creates a very dangerous situation. Also, if more lifters or the camshaft seized up at higher speeds, a driver could experience a potentially fatal situation from an uncontrollable vehicle or a fire. Research shows that chevy/gm knew about the lifter problem on 5. 3 ltr engines with their afm system for years and sold them anyway. They apparently have never solved the problem, and it still exists today. Several class action lawsuits have been lodged against them for the lifter failure problem. Aside from the serious potential safety issues, an expensive vehicle like my tahoe should not be expected to incur a ,100 repair bill when it's only 4 years old and has less then 70,000 miles on it. That's ridiculous. My wife and I are both retired. We will be tapping our retirement account to pay for this shoddy chevy product and will worry that it just might occur again, after the fix. From a safety standpoint, a stall, loss of power, or engine seizure at speed will tax our quick response reflexes. The known lifter problem is a legitimate safety situation and needs to be addressed before someone is seriously injured or killed... If they haven't already. Thank you for listening.
CategoryPower Train
DateSep 24, 2022
StateTX
Description
On july 29, 2022 my tahoe broke down on me while driving home from work. It started to lose speed while on a busy highway during rush hour. I started losing speed and I kept giving it gas and it wouldn't go. I kept trying to get speed to try and get off the highway to avoid getting into an accident or put someone else in danger. Somehow I managed to get off into a shopping center. I had come up to a stop sign and couldn't even get the tahoe to stop while there was a lot of traffic in the shopping center as well. I eventually got it to a safe spot and called a tow truck. I live almost an hour from home. The shop the tahoe was towed too said the torque converter was contaminated with metal shavings that was caused by parts on the tahoe grinding together and therefore contaminating the torque converter and then it ruined my transmission. I was also told this is a common thing they are seeing with chevy tahoes, but yet no recalls have been issued and I think something needs to be down about it. It put my life in danger as well as other drivers around me! And I couldn't afford to fix it so I lost my vehicle and all the hard work and money I put into paying my vehicle since 2018! I also found a lawsuit regarding this issue too.
CategoryService Brakes
DateSep 12, 2022
StateMI
Description
Brake assistance on this vehicle sucks
CategoryService Brakes
DateJul 21, 2022
StateGA
Description
When applying the brakes the suv will pull hard to the left or at times to the right. I get a screen message that reads " trailer brake system failure". The suv has never trailed anything. Also dont know if these are tied together but I'm also experiencing a dragging battery during this time. When the trailer brake says failure goes away the battery issue goes away. I've done some research and have found a gm service call "n192261050" which seems to indicate the same issue/concern.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJun 29, 2022
StateUT
Description
I have a 2018 chevrolet tahoe. Today, while I was pulling out of the sam's club parking lot I heard a huge thud, the car jerked forward and completely stopped. The drive line / drive shaft had broken clean off. I'm awaiting official diagnosis from riverton chevrolet's service dept., but it was a very scary situation. I'm thankful that I was not rear ended or hurt. I see that welding issues are part of a nhtsa safety issue on later model chevy tahoe vehicles. I'm wondering if my 2018 is a victim of a similar problem. I do not drive at high speeds or go off-roading. I get my car serviced regularly. This could have been catastrophic if I'd been on the freeway. Repair invoice pending.
CategorySteering
DateMay 31, 2022
StateFL
Description
My wife was driving everything was working fine until a message came on the dash "steering stopped drive with care" she was mid way in a turn to get on highway when this happened if I wasn't in vehicle to grab the wheel my wife would have ended up in a wall or worst case in the canal next to 95 with my 4 year old in the car. The vehicle is currently at a chevorlet dealer in greenacres florida and they say the electric steering gear has stopped working.. This seams like a very unsafe system as when it stops the steering wheel is very stiff more than a old car with no power steering. I think this needs to be investigated yesterday as someone could die from this if it hasn't happened already. As of right now I no longer feel that this is a safe vehicle for my wife to be driving
CategoryEngine
DateMay 09, 2022
StateTX
Description
The contact owns a 2018 chevrolet tahoe. The contact stated while driving at various speeds, the vehicle stalled with the check engine warning light illuminated on the instrument panel. Recently, the contact had the vehicle towed to a dealer where they diagnosed the vehicle with engine failure. The contact was notified of the diagnosis and the dealer recommended that the engine be replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and the contact was provided a case number. The vehicle was not repaired and remained in the possession of the dealer. The failure mileage was 22,949.
CategoryEngine
DateApr 27, 2022
StateVA
Description
Transmission issues on 2018 chevy tahoe. The vehicle stopped on the hwy. Dealership says the transmission needs to be replaced. Is uncertain why the transmission has gone out on the vehicle since it's only 4 years old. Error message came on my vehicle and I called the dealership. From my research it appears chevrolet is continuing to have problems with the transmission on its tahoes. This is unexceptionable. The consumer has to pay the price not the manufacturer. Please assist.
CategorySeat Belts
DateApr 20, 2022
StateWA
Description
1- the second row center seat belt receptacle stopped locking so failed, this happened while using the vehicle. 2- the seatbelt receptacle stopped latching while using the car in seattle, I had to drive with someone in that seat unbuckled because all other seats were being used. 3- the receptacle can not be repaired, needs to be replaced; 4- I have contacted the manufacturer to have them fix this but they will not do it without compensation. 5- no warning. The vehicle is not old and in very good condition. I drive with my family in the car daily but rarely need to use the middle seat. I feel this is a defective latch due to the limited use and age of vehicle. I am concerned that the other seatbelts will also break without warning and think that gm needs to be aware of a possibility.
CategorySteering
DateMar 08, 2022
StateTN
Description
The contact owns a 2018 chevrolet tahoe. The contact stated that while his wife was driving approximately 35-40 mph, the power steering assist failed. The failure occurred on several occasions, which nearly caused a collision. The vehicle was not diagnosed nor repaired by an independent mechanic or dealer. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 120,000. The vin was unavailable.
CategoryService Brakes, Hydraulic
DateMar 07, 2022
StateWV
Description
The contact owns a 2018 chevrolet tahoe. The contact stated that while either reversing or stopping, the brake failed to operate as needed the contact stated that the brakes were skipping. The service brake assist and brake assist warning lights were illuminated. The local dealer was not contacted. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact stated that the failure was related to nhtsa campaign number 19v761000 (service brakes, hydraulic, service brakes, electronic stability control) however, the vin was not included. The manufacturer was not notified. The approximate failure mileage was 84,000.
CategoryElectrical System, Steering
DateFeb 22, 2022
StateLA
Description
Steering wheel hard to turn and locks for a short period when making turns going low speeds. (turning into parking spot or reversing out of parking spot) when steering in reverse, front dashboard shut down and returned in 1 second with a restart. Left in middle of road trying to back into driveway. Car parked and started, car windshield wipers were activated while in garage, radio station was reset & wouldn't allow to be changed, and car gave action required notifications on dashboard (power open & close driver window & passenger window) park assist off light shows after steering issues. Tire sensors reset compass recalibrated
CategoryElectrical System
DateOct 04, 2021
StateCO
Description
Entire vehicle loses electrical power. The vehicle does not shut off, however. Lights, dash, display etc. Possibly a grounding issue. Problem has not been looked at yet, but has occurred twice in the last week. No warning lights available. Occasional park assist failure occurs, may or may not be related.
CategoryService Brakes
DateAug 26, 2021
StateAZ
Description
As I drove the 2018 chevy tahoo the brakes got really hard to press and would no longer stop. I was finally able to get it to stop and moved off the road. The vehicle was towed to the autonation chevrolet mesa dealership (6330 superstition springs blvd. Mesa, az 85206). I was told that the vacuum pump seized causing the brake belt to break. I was told by another mechanic that there is a recall on the hydraulic vacuum pump breaking system....... As the vacuum level drops, the brake assist decreases, increasing braking effort, extending the distance required to stop the vehicle, thereby increasing the risk of a crash. Summary: general motors llc (gm) is recalling certain 2015-2017 cadillac escalade, 2014-2018 chevrolet silverado, gmc sierra, 2015-2018 chevrolet suburban, tahoe, gmc yukon vehicles. The amount of vacuum created by the vacuum pump may decrease over time.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Adaptive Cruise Control, Service Brakes
DateAug 02, 2021
StateSD
Description
My vehicle recently has had 2 issues that I have taken in to the service shop for 3 times and the problem has not been fixed. My most concerning issue is my brakes. My brakes are doing the exact problem indicated in this article: https://www. Consumerreports. Org/car-recalls-defects/gm-recalls-suvs-and-pickups-for-braking-issue/ when the brakes malfunction, I feel a vibrating brake pedal, feels like my vehicle is not going to stop on time, I hear a ticking noise from the engine and my brake assist service light comes on. The issue continues until I can pull over and restart the vehicle. It is a very uneasy feeling having to drive a vehicle that you do not feel safe in. I called 800 chevrolet's customer service number provided in the article and they are unaware of the recall mentioned in this article. I do not know where to go from here. I just want my vehicle fixed and to feel safe. My 2nd issue is regarding my adaptive cruise control. I've had it in the shop 3 times for this also and they did replace a part but that did not fix this issue. I will be driving down the highway or interstate and out of the blue my alarm starts dinging, the seat vibrates, the cruise control gets kicked off and I get an alert on my dash stating that the adaptive cruise control was disabled. Each time it has happened to me there is nothing around but it immediately starts reducing my speed. If someone were behind me it could cause a crash because of the unexpected speed limit reduction. When you go in to look at recalls on 2018 chevrolet tahoes it shoes that there is 3 of them that have been issued, yet my vin is not included in any of them? What can I do from here? I've called chevrolet's 800 # and they created a "high urgency case" but I have not heard back. Attached are my copies of service records and vehicle summary showing there has never been recalls on my vin #.
CategoryService Brakes, Steering
DateJul 06, 2021
StateFL
Description
The contact owns a 2018 chevrolet tahoe. The contact stated while driving 40 mph and making a left turn, the vehicle started hesitating. The steering wheel ceased. There was no warning light illuminated. The contact took the vehicle to the local dealer, where it was diagnosed with needing all four tires to be replaced. The contact replaced all four original tires however, the failure persisted. The contact took the vehicle back to the local dealer, where it was diagnosed with needing an alignment. The contact stated that the wheels were aligned however, the vehicle but continued to experience the failure. The contact stated she had the vehicle serviced four times but continued to experience the failure. The contact also stated that the low brake fluid warning flashed off and on, even after adding brake fluid to the vehicle. The vehicle was not repaired but was pending repairs. The manufacturer had been informed of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 40,000.
CategorySteering, Suspension
DateDec 08, 2020
StateTX
Description
2018 tahoe w/ 60,000 miles began riding extremely rough any speed. So much bounce and jarring that the car is unsafe to drive on any rough road.
CategorySteering
DateDec 02, 2020
StateAZ
Description
When stationary and turning on vehicle I had difficulty turning steering wheel. I received a notification that power assist was not active. This happened once before and I took to dealer. They claimed it was the battery and replaced. I see there have been prior recalls on tahoe for steering assist issues.
CategoryPower Train
DateNov 21, 2020
StateMS
Description
We just had to spend

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.

,000 to have the radiator replaced on our 2018 chevrolet tahoe because it was leaking which only has 32,050 miles on it. The tahoe had a 3 year 36,000 mile bumper to bumper warranty, but we were two (2) days past the 3 year mark so they would not cover it. The tahoe also has a 5 year 60,000 powertrain warranty, but the dealership said that the radiator is not considered to be part of the power train only the hoses going from the radiator to the engine were covered under the powertrain warranty. In january 2019 gm issued service bulletin pi1513f (attached) for 2015-2016 tahoes for this exact same leaking radiator issue which states that the radiator replacement should be covered under the power train warranty. This is a known issue for 2017 & 2018 models also, but gm has not issued a recall, nor will they cover the 2017-2018 model under the 5 year 60,000 mile power train warranty like they do with the 2015-2016 models.
CategoryElectrical System
DateOct 22, 2020
StateAR
Description
Passenger window when rolled up it rolls down automatically. Button has to be held in the upward position for window to stay up. Has already been serviced by dealership.
CategoryFuel/propulsion System
DateOct 19, 2020
StateMD
Description
While driving vehicle it constantly revvs up uncontrollably. Almost like it's down shifting in low gear when my foot is off the gas pedal.
CategoryEngine, Service Brakes, Unknown Or Other
DateJul 17, 2020
StatePA
Description
When accelerating it sounds like my vehicle is stuck in brake degrading or is making that distinguishing noise. My vehicle is in the shop for the second time to fix the same issue of park assist, side detection and front camera service. When expressing my concern for this problem of the sound the dealership said let's fix the service issues first as everything is electronic. I hope my vehicle is safe to drive.
CategorySteering
DateMay 16, 2020
StateTX
Description
Thank god my wife or someone wasn't driving at this time : got in the vehicle, started and a service vehicle came on.. It said ' power steering drive with care '. I could not even turn the steering wheel. I guess a steering module or a software update is needed. Called local chevy dealer and they said call back monday. Bought tahoe brand new in 2018, only has 22k miles. I'm stuck not driving the vehicle till monday. *tr
CategorySteering
DateMay 11, 2020
StateIN
Description
Steering assist is reduced drive with care message came up on the dash while I was driving on a 2 lane state road (highway) and the cruise control stopped working causing vehicle to slow down below highway speed luckily there was not any vehicles behind us. *tr
CategoryStructure:body, Unknown Or Other
DateMar 10, 2020
StateSC
Description
I purchased a new 2018 chevrolet tahoe within the first year the sunroof started leaking. I had it repaired the first time in august. Second time it was repaired was in november. Nine days later, it leaked again. I took it back for the third repair and got it back 6 weeks later. December 21 I got it back and it leaked again the worst ever in 48 hours. Plus they did damage to the inside of my car. Some of the damages was cause by trying to get the old headliner out and the new one put in. When it raining after the third tempt of repairing it now water start dripping water out of the speaker on to my drivers seat and down my steering wheel on to my hand. Everytime it rains the inside of my vehicle headliner gets wet. I am worried about mold and mildew. Moisture being inside the car. Plus the safety of my vehicle with it holding water in the headliner.
CategoryAir Bags
DateMar 07, 2020
StateKY
Description
I was in an accident an rear ended a pickup truck at 50 mph causing my front end to buckle and separate the engine from the motor mount and multiple other damages. My air bags didn't deploy and this is very concerning and felt this should be reported.
CategoryService Brakes
DateMar 06, 2020
StateNJ
Description
Over the last 6 months the brake pedal is hard to push after the truck sits over night. The vacuum bleeds out indicating a vacuum leak in the system. Gm and the dealer said this model and year not covered under current recall.
CategoryService Brakes
DateFeb 07, 2020
StateGA
Description
Service brake assist message on dash board. This year make and model has a recall but my vin# is not showing an issue though my vehicle ia having braking problems. Dealer says no recall for my vehicle. Why not my vehicle? It is definitely the issue under the 2018 tahoe recall.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJan 23, 2020
StateAL
Description
Ac condenser leak. Appears to be the same problem as 2015-2017 issue that required gm to provide a special coverage adjustment. Repair required replacement of condenser and new refrigerant.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJan 05, 2020
StateNH
Description
My tahoe does not start! Then it will hours later, it has happened 3 times in 2 days I have taken it to a local dealer and the said it keeps starting for them, we asked them to drive it then try again. Waiting to hear! I also have had my radio shut off then after 10 min will turn back on? I love my truck, but not if I can't drive it
CategoryExterior Lighting
DateDec 20, 2019
StateTX
Description
I purchased this vehicle from jm chev in lufkin tx on oct 3 2019. Driving it home I noticed my headlights were not working properly. After taking it back to the dealer iwas told the headlight assembly was bad. The dealer ordered a new one. It has been 2 months. I called gm parts and was told there were no headlights like this in the usa. No dealers have any in stock. These are the intellibeam headlights. In motion on state highway.
CategoryElectrical System
DateNov 09, 2019
StateAK
Description
On or around october 16 2019 I was driving my 2018 chevy tahoe when the radio stop playing. I pulled over in a hotel parking lot turn the vehicle off open the door and then started the vehicle back up. The radio did not work. I went to mcdonald's to have breakfast it was about 30 minuets before I got back in the truck started it up and the radio stated to play. I thought it was strange so I continue to drive 2 days later my check engine light came on so I took it back to the dealer to see what was wrong. They told me that they clear the code and nothing was wrong with the vehicle so I then got an oil change since the vehicle was already in the shop. On november 2, at around 3:20 my car rpm was on 5 and the speed limit was only 23mph. Then the check engine light came back on. I call the dealer and explain the situation and the told me to bring it back in the next day. When I started the vehicle and put it in drive the vehicle made a huge thrust as if I was hit from behind. It's been a week now and my vehicle is still in the shop.
CategoryElectrical System
DateMay 02, 2019
StateTX
Description
I was unloading groceries from the back of the car. The tailgate sensor under the car sensed my feet and began to close. The tailgate continued to close on me, not stopping after coming into contact with me as I quickly ducked out of the way.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateFeb 07, 2019
StateTX
Description
After being stopped at a stop sign or red lightthe car seems to not want to go after your foot is taken off the brake and placed on the accelerator to need to go. The vehicle will then hesitate to go and then all of a sudden jerk real hard as if being hit from behind right before it decides to accelerate.
CategoryService Brakes
DateJan 10, 2019
StateWV
Description
Sitting in traffic on I 95 and had total brake failure and began rolling back in traffic and had use emergency brake to stop the car twice. Cannot believe that gm is allowed to sale a vehicle that they now has serious problems and is allowed to put my families life and others at risk of death.
CategorySeats
DateJan 06, 2019
StateOH
Description
2nd row and third row seats have no center head rest.
CategoryVehicle Speed Control
DateDec 23, 2018
StateMD
Description
The brake pedal is too close to the driver in relation to the gas pedal. The distance of each pedal cannot be adjusted independently. A driver's foot can be trapped in between the two pedals because of the gap. In a fatal situation, it takes longer for the right foot to move from the gas pedal to the brake pedal since the right foot cannot just move laterally to the left, but it needs to go around.
CategoryElectrical System
DateDec 07, 2018
StateSC
Description
On the evening of november 27th, my car with 10,200 miles had multiple issues making it undrivable. I attempted to pull my car out of a parking space. When I put the car in drive, I felt a hard thrust. The thrust was so hard that I felt like a car hit me. I attempted to put the car in reverse; however, it would not reverse when I stepped on the gas pedal. When I put the car in drive, it barely moved. As it moved, I felt the power steering lock, and I could not move the steering wheel. I turned the car off and on three times and encountered the same issues. At this point, I was stuck in the middle of a parking lot in a odd place where cars had to go around me. When the tow truck arrived to move the car, the driver encountered the same issues. He pointed out there were no rpms on the car. The tow truck driver had to tow the car from behind, as I was stuck in an odd position at the edge of the parking lot. After two weeks, my car remains at the dealership. The dealership states it's a complex electrical issue. They are waiting to find out if gm can fix it or worse.... They will just give it back. I am begging to have this investigated as I would have for anyone or myself to encounter this failure while driving.
CategoryElectrical System, Unknown Or Other
DateOct 26, 2018
StateNC
Description
Back up camera has zero visibility while backing up during night in dark area with rain condition. The rear back up lights do no illuminate enough light to guide the vehicle. The camera image is too grainy, distorted and pixelated.
CategoryExterior Lighting, Unknown Or Other
DateOct 26, 2018
StateNC
Description
Back up camera has zero viability while backing up during night in dark area with rain condition.
CategoryFuel/propulsion System
DateSep 03, 2018
StateWA
Description
First the fuel gauge stopped working on and off would go to e when on full tank. Then check engine light came on days later. Then vehicle stopped running while driving, and would shut off. Engine would start and drive again, then stop running and shut off while driving. First time I was driving on hwy, then on city streets. Vehicle is in gm shop now, and they said it was the fuel pressure sensor. And they are replacing the part.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateAug 28, 2018
StatePA
Description
I own a 2018 chevrolet tahoe premiere with the rst 6. 2l performance package. This vehicle has the optional performance front brake upgrade system. I received the following recall: gm program # n182155600, customer satisfaction program #18119 - spare tire does not fit over performance front brake kit. The vehicle has a 17 inch spare tire which will not fit over the front brakes when equipped with the performance brake kit. The solution proposed by chevrolet for a flat front tire is a dual tire change (replace a rear tire with the spare and move the rear tire to the front). The chevrolet dealer is to print and install an insert to the owner's manual describing this dual tire change. This solution compromises safety, especially if the dual tire change has to occur on the side of a busy highway. It does not meet my expectations for a premium suv. Chevrolet should provide a spare tire (free of charge) that will fit over the performance front brake kit. An appropriate spare tire should have been included with the front brake upgrade option. I called the chevrolet customer assistance center regarding this issue. Their representative was rude and no help at all. His only reply was that I needed to take this matter up with my chevrolet dealer. So I did that and the dealer checked with their chain-of-command within chevrolet. Their zone representative stated that there was nothing else they could do other than provide the owner's manual insert. My complaint is not with the dealer. I do not expect them to provide an appropriate spare tire at their cost. A rim and tire for this vehicle (that will fit over the performance front brake kit) is very expensive. My complaint is against gm and chevrolet corporate regarding their unacceptable response to this problem.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateFeb 23, 2018
StateTN
Description
Collision alert system does not function with enough warning distance on the seat vibration and red flash projection on the windshield. The driver essentially must near collide with an object or vehicle for this feature to work. The yellow caution indicator in the dash display will light-up but the seat vibration and red flash on the windshield does not function. Chevrolet dealership insists it works properly, I contend it does not based the functionality of the previous model I owned, a 2015 tahoe. This safety function advertised by chevrolet does not function as intended.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateOct 25, 2017
StatePA
Description
I purchased a 2018 tahoe 20 days ago and at 45 mph and 65-75 mph I feel pressure in my ears which then makes me feel nauseous which leads to severe headaches. This buffering occurs every time I drive it. I have tried driving with the windows down / up, radio on / off. Nothing changes to lessen the effects. I goggled searched it today and found several reports and complainants about this issue but both gm customer assistance and my dealer says they never heard of the problem. The pressure occurs on local roads and highway, every time between the speeds of 45-55 and 65-75 mph.

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.

Share your story

Does this ring a bell? Have you had a bad experience too? Sound off and share your experience with other visitors in the comment box below.

Brian Jones

About the Author:

Brian Jones spent more than 20 years working as an ASE Certified Master Tech and Parts Specialist at multiple dealerships. Brian has become an authority in the industry, traveling across the country to consult for car dealerships and contributing his expertise as a writer for several major automotive publications. In his spare time, Brian enjoys working on pickup trucks, muscle cars, Jeeps and anything related to motorsports.

See more posts from Brian Jones
BE THE FIRST TO COMMENT

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead you can to our legal team.

Please select your star rating.

Briefly describe your experience Briefly describe your experience

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? Please enter a valid phone number

Want to know if you could sue? Get a free legal evaluation Lemberg Law?

Get Your No-Obligation
Case Evaluation

Send a secure message to our legal team.

What’s your name? What’s your name?
What’s your email address? What’s your email address?
What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?
Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem
Confidentiality Guarantee: We keep your information completely confidential and will not send you spam or sell your information.