2018 Subaru WRX Problems and Top Complaints – Is Your Car A Lemon?

Airbags, engine and steering issues among the top complaints received by the NHTSA from vehicle owners

By Brian Jones | Updated on

By Brian Jones | Updated on

It’s not always easy to find a high-powered sports sedan in today’s market. Consumers tend to lean toward SUVs more and more, but the 2018 Subaru WRX still has a place in the hearts of enthusiasts. The new lineup boasts of “breathtaking performance,” but research states otherwise. Instead, this model seems to be consumed with a defective steering system, faulty engine and malfunctioning airbags.

 

Don’t be stuck with a lemon. You have legal rights to cash, return or buyback.

The law makes Subaru pay legal fees.

We've fixed thousands of lemon problems. Message or call 877-795-3666 today.

NHTSA Complaints for the 2018 Subaru WRX

Complaint CategoryNumber of Complaints
Electrical System
9
Steering
7
Unknown Or Other
4
Engine
4
Power Train
4
Air Bags
4
Fuel/propulsion System
3
Visibility/wiper
3
Wheels
3
Service Brakes
1

Problems with the Steering

Drivers of sports cars want to have complete control over the road. The trouble with the Subaru WRX is that the steering doesn’t operate the way it should. Instead, it puts drivers at risk.

One NHTSA complaint states, “The contact’s son owns a 2018 Subaru WRX. While making a left turn at 25 mph, the front driver side wheel remained in a turned position after the driver attempted to straighten the vehicle. The driver lost control of the vehicle and collided with a tree. The air bags failed to deploy. The driver suffered a broken nose and a swollen eye. The driver was taken to the hospital for medical attention. A police report was filed. The vehicle was towed from the scene to an independent mechanic. The vehicle was in the process of being transferred to [dealer] for diagnostic testing. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and planned to investigate. The approximate failure mileage was 1,055.”

The automaker has remained relatively quiet and chosen not to discuss a lot of problems, despite the overwhelming amount of complaints from owners. Instead, they have issued meaningless communications, such as Service Bulletin #07-137-18, which discusses diagnostics of the automatic headlight beam leveler system. While this information has a place and should be included, it would have been far better for the company to talk about direct steering problems. Because of the safety concerns, it’s likely the steering issues could end up being a recall in the future. At that point, it would be difficult for Subaru to maintain the breathtaking slogan.

Here are some actual complaints logged with the NHTSA about the 2018 Subaru WRX Steering Problems:

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2018 SUBARU WRX. WHILE DRIVING AND AFTER SHIFTING THE GEAR, THE STEERING WHEEL SEIZED WITHOUT WARNING. AS A RESULT, THE VEHICLE JUMPED A CURB AND CRASHED INTO SOME BUSHES. THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. THERE WERE NO INJURIES. A POLICE REPORT WAS NOT FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO SUBARU OF SANTA FE , BUT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 3,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

TL* THE CONTACT’S SON OWNS A 2018 SUBARU WRX. WHILE MAKING A LEFT TURN AT 25 MPH, THE FRONT DRIVER SIDE WHEEL REMAINED IN A TURNED POSITION AFTER THE DRIVER ATTEMPTED TO STRAIGHTEN THE VEHICLE. THE DRIVER LOST CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE AND COLLIDED WITH A TREE. THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. THE DRIVER SUFFERED A BROKEN NOSE AND A SWOLLEN EYE. THE DRIVER WAS TAKEN TO THE HOSPITAL FOR MEDICAL ATTENTION. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED FROM THE SCENE TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC. THE VEHICLE WAS IN THE PROCESS OF BEING TRANSFERRED TO BRUNSWICK SUBARU FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND PLANNED TO INVESTIGATE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 1,055.

THE WHEELS LOCKED WHILE DRIVING ON A CLEAR DECEMBER DAY (I DON’T HAVE EXACT DAY) ON A WINDING MOUNTAIN ROAD FULL OF CLIFFS. 38 MPH AND FEET FROM GOING OFF A CLIFF. SUBARU SAY ELECTRONIC MODULE FAILED THEN IN ANOTHER STATEMENT FROM SUBARU AMERICA THEY SAY THE TWO OCCURRENCES NOT RELATED EVEN THOUGH THEY HAPPENED SIMULTANEOUSLY. WE TOOK THE CAR IN BECAUSE OF THE WHEEL LOCKING UP WHILE MOVING AND THEY DISCOVERED THE ELECTRONIC FAILURE. THEY MAINTAIN THE CAR IS SAFE TO DRIVE “BECAUSE THEY CAN’T RECREATE THE PROBLEM”.

Problems with the Engine

While discussing the slogan, it’s time to look at the performance that is constantly talked about. The main aspect to reliable performance is a strong motor. Yet, customers reveal just as many motor issues as any other part of this vehicle.

Here is another comment left on the NHTSA website. “Vehicle mileage was 7,387 miles. While driving several Check Engine Lights illuminated including Traction Control, Check Engine Light, ABS, Hill Descent Assist, Cruise Control icon flashing. Vehicle power was dramatically reduced. Made appointment next day with Subaru dealership. I was informed code P0016 showed up on the diagnosis. It indicated crankshaft position camshaft position correlation Bank 1 Sensor A. Vehicle was at dealership for close to two weeks. Numerous parts were replaced including oil valve assembly, camshaft sprocket assembly, ECU control unit, guide chains, chain lever, etc. I have invoice from dealership detailing all parts replaced. Although covered under warranty, a brand new vehicle with under 8,000 shouldn’t encounter these issues.”

This owner seems to have a replacement part for just about everything in the engine. Subaru has acknowledged other issues on top of these. Service Bulletin #02-170-17R talks about the Active Valve Control System with the oil control solenoid valves that might require a new internal oil seal. Otherwise, there could be oil seepage into the wire harness. If oil seeps over time, the Check Engine light is likely to come on. There isn’t much performance that can be expected while leaking oil. Maybe the breathtaking part comes from the owners holding their breath while waiting for service. It appears to take weeks on end in some cases.

Here are some actual complaints logged with the NHTSA about the 2018 Subaru WRX Engine Problems:

CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ADVISING CYLINDER MISFIRE ADVISING RING AND PISTON FAILURE. SPARK PLUGS DESTROYED

THIS ISSUE OCCURS ON ACCELERATION , MOST NOTICEABLE WHEN MERGING ONTO FREEWAY FROM ON RAMP 1/2 THROTTLE , THE VEHICLE STARTS TO ACCELERATE NORMAL THEN HITS AROUND 4200 RPM AND THE BOOST GAUGE GOES NUTS FLUCTUATING UP AND DOWN AND THE VEHICLE LOOSES POWER , HESITATES , SURGES ( LIKE A FLAT SPOT ) THEN FINALLY GETS A LITTLE HIGHER IN RPM AND IT WILL PICK UP AGAIN THROUGH THE REST OF RPM GAUGE , MOST NOTICEABLE IN LOWER GEARS

Problems with the Airbags

With all of these safety issues, it seems that the Subaru should have a functioning set of airbags, but again, this system is downright defective.

Look at this NHTSA complaint. “The front passenger door was slammed on my 2018 Subaru WRX. This caused all of the side airbags to deploy, including the airbag in the passenger seat. The vehicle was stopped with the engine on. There was no impact aside from the door being slammed from the outside. This occurred in a parking lot.”

While there was an issue earlier where the airbags didn’t deploy, this owner can’t seem to keep them where they belong. Instead, the driver has to face extensive repairs as a result of closing his door. It seems Subaru can’t figure out how to make the airbags work right. Service Bulletin #17-17-13R even discusses equipping the airbags with EDR functionality. This Event Data Recorder allows the manufacturer to analyze the crash situations to see how the airbags are performing. If there wasn’t something the company was trying to figure out, there would be no need for this situation. After all, you don’t need to monitor a component that works as intended. It seems Subaru has a lot to do before it can continue to boast. To start, the automaker should focus on creating a car that doesn’t let its owners down at every turn.

Your Lemon Law Legal Rights

Think you have a lemon? Sit back and let the experts work out your lemon case at no cost to you. The law makes Subaru pay legal fees. You may be able to get your lemon out of your life. Every year, auto manufacturers buy back, replace or pay cash settlements to thousands of ‘lemon’ owners like you.

Complaint Data

CategoryElectrical System, Service Brakes, Steering
DateSep 19, 2022
StateCA
Description
Unknown. I am unsure of the issue. However, there is an issue. & it is very dangerous... This has happend about 5, or 6 times now. Sometimes when I am making a turn (I believe it is related to the braking), my steering wheel locks up (as if the key isn't in the ignition). It only lasts for a second, or two. But again, it is very dangerous. & I am at my wits end trying to figure out what the issue is. I am unsure of the issue. But, there is an issue. & it is dangerous for myself, & others. I am trying to limit my driving, but I still have bills to pay, & jobs to do. So please get back to me at your earliest convenience. Thank you, & god bless.
CategoryFuel/propulsion System
DateJun 11, 2022
StateCA
Description
We tool the car to the dmv to get the plates and rhey told us the car had a recall. They stated the fuel pump may fail. However, we were unaware.
CategoryElectrical System
DateJan 10, 2022
StateNJ
Description
Parasitic battery drain. Car is rendered inoperable after periods of non use. The batter has been replaced and the problem persists.
CategoryElectrical System
DateJan 04, 2022
StateCA
Description
Battery dies and vehicle is unable to start after short periods of being turned off. This has left me stranded in unsafe areas and can pose a major safety hazard. Vehicle has been inspected and no issues found by subaru dealer. No warning lights or other notifications, vehicle simply does not start.
CategoryElectrical System
DateSep 14, 2021
StateNY
Description
The contact owns a 2018 subaru wrx. The contact stated that the vehicle had been parked in the garage during the winter months and while attempting to drive the vehicle, the vehicle would not start. The contact stated he charged the battery and he was able to restart the vehicle. The vehicle was not diagnosed nor repaired by an independent mechanic or dealer. The contact stated that the failure persisted, and he replaced the battery himself. However, the failure reoccurred, and he was unable to restart the vehicle. The dealer and the manufacturer were not notified of the failure. The vehicle was not diagnosed nor repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 5,000.
CategoryElectrical System, Unknown Or Other
DateMay 16, 2021
StateWA
Description
Battery drained even though I left no lights on and has happened multiple times. Had to replace battery twice in less than a year. Had battery tested and it was good. Had to jump my car multiple times for dead battery while at work. Vehicle was parked in a parking lot.
CategoryElectrical System
DateMay 15, 2021
StateCO
Description
Battery draining beginning in december 2019 but still exists
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateJan 04, 2021
StateTX
Description
Woke up one day to my windshield having a smaller crack that was not there before. Was a cold night crack has spread, asked subaru if they would cover the cost they didn't but its a known defect in subaru
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateDec 14, 2020
StateNJ
Description
Windshield chipped/cracked while driving on a highway.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine, Fuel/propulsion System
DateSep 09, 2020
StateCA
Description
When driving my 2018 subaru wrx premium in the heat with the a/c on it is causing extreme driving conditions with the car stuttering causing fluctuation in speed with the car dragging then propelling dramatically due to the turbo engaging. The erratic change in the performance of the car is not normal and is cause for attention from the manufacturer. I was driving on the freeway and this pulled such an extreme drain on the cars electrical system and cooling system it almost made my car overheat in the middle of fast moving traffic. My car is well maintained and driven responsibly. I had my family in the car and this could have caused a traggic situation as the freeways here in california are very unforgiving.
CategoryPower Train
DateJul 21, 2020
StateFL
Description
Defective throw-out bearing and fork in the six speed manual transmission completely burning the clutch in 3 months to 3000 miles after repair with replacement part. This is completely unacceptable in a brand new vehicle after repair at dealership. Purchased 2018 wrx with 13,000 miles on february 17, 2020 and it is now july 2020 since then, on my third throw out bearing replacement. I put the car in gear, let the clutch out all the way out, push the gas pedal and the car revs up and slips and doesnt move in moving traffic! It completely stops in the road, I physically had to get out of the vehicle and push the car off the road and have a tow truck tow it to the dealership! Throw-out bearing fork burnt out smokes underneath the hood. A common defective issue on this model 2018 subaru wrx the dealers know this and throw out bearing in transmission is not covered under warranty multiple duplicate subaru services performed with same defective throw out bearing the manufacturer has created a new release of bearings and incorporated into production in the 2018 legacy, outback, impreza, crosstrek and forester. But not the wrx! Fact check https://static. Oemdtc. Com/tsb/mc-10150949-9999. Pdf throw out bearing fork is rusted from major heat friction and corroded burnt black and orange rust particles on the 3 month old transmission interior in 3000 miles of driving a brand new vehicle and clutch and flywheel are completely burnt to hell. The throw out bearing makes a loud chirping noise from the transmission within the bellhousing of the transmission every day. Thousands of wrx owners experiencing the same throw-out bearing issue and the dealer is charging customers for these repairs of their factory defective slipping transmission in the 6 speed manual transmission. It is a rip off and lemon
CategoryPower Train
DateJul 21, 2020
StateFL
Description
Defective oem throw-out bearing and fork in the six speed manual transmission completely burning the clutch in 3 months to 3000 miles after repair with replacement part. This is completely unacceptable in a brand new vehicle after repair at dealership. Purchased 2018 wrx with 13,000 miles on february 17, 2020 and it is now july 2020 since then, on my third throw out bearing replacement. I put the car in gear, let the clutch out all the way out, push the gas pedal and the car revs up and slips and doesnt move in moving traffic! It completely stops in the road, I physically had to get out of the vehicle and push the car off the road and have a tow truck tow it to the dealership! Throw-out bearing fork burnt out smokes underneath the hood. A common defective issue on this model 2018 subaru wrx the dealers know this and throw out bearing in transmission is not covered under warranty multiple duplicate subaru services performed with same defective throw out bearing the manufacturer has created a new release of bearings and incorporated into production in the 2018 legacy, outback, impreza, crosstrek and forester. But not the wrx! Fact check https://static. Oemdtc. Com/tsb/mc-10150949-9999. Pdf throw out bearing fork is rusted from major heat friction and corroded burnt black and orange rust particles on the 3 month old transmission interior in 3000 miles of driving a brand new vehicle and clutch and flywheel are completely burnt to hell. The throw out bearing makes a loud chirping noise from the transmission within the bellhousing of the transmission every day. Thousands of wrx owners experiencing the same throw-out bearing issue and the dealer is charging customers for these repairs of their factory defective slipping transmission in the 6 speed manual transmission.! It is a rip off and lemon
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateJun 21, 2020
StateRI
Description
The vehicle was in motion on a highway when the wind shield cracked along the most superior border of the windshield. There was nothing visible or audible that had caused the windshield to crack during my 10 minute commute. There was also little to no traffic. The crack was large enough that I had to replace the windshield. I am only reporting this now because I suspect the windshield cracked secondary to being one of the defective windshield's that subaru is under scrutiny for. Unfortunately, I no longer have pictures of the cracked windshield; however, I have attached my receipt from safelite autoglass.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJan 16, 2020
StateWA
Description
Sunroof exploded driving on highway going roughly 65mph. The car was not driven for 2 days prior due to snow in the area, meaning 2 or 3 inches of snow was sitting on top of the car the previous two days. The night prior to the incident the temperature rose in the area to around 40 degree f. The morning of the incident the temperature was around 38 degrees f. The defrost was on in the car and the sunroof cover was closed. The car is fitted with a sunroof deflector on the roof of the car and roof racks are installed. For debris to hit top of the vehicle from another moving car is very unlikely. There were no overpasses or bridges that were passed under during the incident.
CategoryAir Bags
DateNov 05, 2019
StateUT
Description
Tl* the contact owned a 2018 subaru wrx sti. While the contact's son was driving 5-10 mph, a 2009 chevrolet hhr t-boned his vehicle and pushed it 60 feet. There were no warning indicators illuminated. The driver sustained head injuries and the passenger sustained neck injuries. Medical attention was received. A police report was filed. The air bags did not deploy. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic. The contact called young subaru (3920 riverdale rd, ogden, ut 84405, (801) 528-9342) and informed them of the failure. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was contacted and provided case number: 1-46604412545. The insurance company deemed the vehicle a total loss. The failure mileage was 28,028. The vin was not available.
CategoryAir Bags, Electrical System, Steering
DateMay 03, 2019
StateWA
Description
In january 2019 at around 10pm pst my 2018 subaru wrx experienced a serious malfunction. At the time of this incient I was in a secluded, wooded area without cellphone service, as well as being at least 30minutes to the nearest store. This could have been deadly. I was going down a hill at 35mph, it was rainy and difficult to see. At the bottom of this hill was a sharp turn, at this time the safety system actived taking over all control of the vehicle. This caused the steering to lock up, pulling to the far left, towards a 15-20foot drop into a lake. The approaching turn I was supposed to take was a sharp right. Still unable to regain control I was driving straight into the fast approaching lake. Shortly before the endge of the road I was able to force the vehicle to the right. Again steering locked up, now forcing me far right. At the right was dense trees, bushes, and shrubs. Narrowly able to regain control before going head-on into a tree, I forced the steering wheel back to the left. I ended up striking some bushes and a tree stump. Causing minor damage to the passenger side mirror, scratches to both passenger doors, and a deep dent on the lower rear door and quarter pannel. This is when the rear passenger tire collided with a tree stump, taking the 35mph brunt impact that stopped the car instantly. The tire was separated from the rim by a tree branch, the lower control arm was bent and cracked, the entire rear drive train was push to the right causing the alignment of the driver side left tire to be pushed out as well. The airbags did not deploy. The car was 100% immobile at this point as the rear tire wouldn't move. After spending an hour I was able to remove the old tired and put on the dought. I have complained about the issues that casued this many times and nothing has been done. I am scared of this car and will never own a subaru again.
CategoryElectrical System, Electronic Stability Control, Steering
DateMay 03, 2019
StateWA
Description
In january 2019 around 10pm pst my 2018 subaru wrx experienced a serious malfunction. At the time of this incient I was in a sucluded, wooded area without cellphone service, as well as being atleast 30minutes to the nearest store. This could have been deadly. I was going down a hill at 35mph, it was very rainy and difficult to see. At the bottom of this hill was a sharp right turn, at this time the safety system actived taking over all control of the vehicle. This caused steering to lock up, turning to the far left. At the right was a 15-20foot drop into a lake. The turn I was supposed to take was a sharp right. Still unable regain control and was driving straight towards the fast approaching lake. Shortly before dropoff I was able to force the sterring wheel to the right. But steering again locked up and forced me to the far right. Off the road to the right was heavly wooded. Narowly able to regain control of sterring I crashed through bushes. Causing minor damage to the following; passenger side mirror, scratches to whole passenger side, deep dent on lower rear door and quarter panel. Rear passenger tire collided with a tree stump with impact at 35mph stopping the car instantly. Tire was separated from the rim by a tree branch, lower control arm was bent and cracked, entire rear drive axle was push to the right causeing alignment of the driver side rear tire to be pushed out. The airbags did not deploy and I hit my head on the driver's side window. The car was 100% undrivable tire wouldn't move. Taking damage tire off and putting on donugt took over an hour, I couldn't get the damaged tire off. A lot more to this as well. I have complained about this issue many times and dealership did nothing. I am scared of this car and will never own a subaru again. This is one of dozens of issues I have with this car. Its getting worse but the dealer wont care until I get hurt
CategorySteering, Structure:body, Wheels
DateMay 03, 2019
StateWA
Description
In january 2019 around 10pm pst my 2018 subaru wrx experienced a serious malfunction. At the time of this incient I was in a sucluded, wooded area without cellphone service, as well as being atleast 30minutes to the nearest store. This could have been deadly. I was going down a hill at 35mph, it was very rainy and difficult to see. At the bottom of this hill was a sharp right turn, at this time the safety system actived taking over all control of the vehicle. This caused steering to lock up, turning to the far left. At the right was a 15-20foot drop into a lake. The turn I was supposed to take was a sharp right. Still unable regain control and was driving straight towards the fast approaching lake. Shortly before dropoff I was able to force the sterring wheel to the right. But steering again locked up and forced me to the far right. Off the road to the right was heavly wooded. Narowly able to regain control of sterring I crashed through bushes. Causing minor damage to the following; passenger side mirror, scratches to whole passenger side, deep dent on lower rear door and quarter panel. Rear passenger tire collided with a tree stump with impact at 35mph stopping the car instantly. Tire was separated from the rim by a tree branch, lower control arm was bent and cracked, entire rear drive axle was push to the right causeing alignment of the driver side rear tire to be pushed out. The airbags did not deploy and I hit my head on the driver's side window. The car was 100% undrivable tire wouldn't move. Taking damage tire off and putting on donugt took over an hour, I couldn't get the damaged tire off. A lot more to this as well. I have complained about this issue many times and dealership did nothing. I am scared of this car and will never own a subaru again. I want this car gone!!!! Something of this nature happens everyday with my car. Just once it caused an accident
CategoryPower Train
DateApr 25, 2019
StateMI
Description
While driving vehicle the engine started knocking. Took to dealer under warranty and denied claim.
CategoryEngine, Unknown Or Other
DateApr 23, 2019
StateFL
Description
Check engine light advising cylinder misfire advising ringland oiston failure sparknplug destroyed
CategorySteering, Unknown Or Other, Wheels
DateJan 16, 2019
StateCA
Description
The wheels locked while driving on a clear december day (I don't have exact day) on a winding mountain road full of cliffs. 38 mph and feet from going off a cliff subaru say electronic module failed then in another statement from hak at subaru america they say the two occurrences not related even though they happened simultaneously. We took the car in because of the wheel locking up while moving and they discovered the electronic failure. They maintain the car is safe to drive "because they can't recreate the problem". Subaru fairfield has promised us help but have done nothing but issue threats when no one from subaru america even calls us! The cars have a serious safety issue and no one wants to drive it including the service technician. They drove it 20 miles when they were supposed to be testing it. We have date/time stamped photos! We were told this is a "rare" safety failure yet they treat us like normal and lie about even test driving it. This is so unsafe that a car wheel stops moving like the engine is off yet the car is runningt!!! She decided try and jerk the wheel super hard and fortunately it finally moved and she did not go over the cliff and fortunately there was no traffic coming in the opposing lane as she crossed the yellow lines etc. She had a sore back for many days from the force of jerking the wheel and was left shaken and disturbed with no where to pull over. Subaru america regional service manager requested the details and was supposed to contact us but no one has. We naively beloved the dealer that they were trying to help us instead today I get an email saying the will now charge us storage of 5 x day if we don't collect the car. I sent them notification that we are surrendering the lease as we will never get in this car again. Dont buy a wrx!!!!!
CategoryEngine
DateNov 29, 2018
StateMA
Description
Vehicle mileage was 7387 miles. While driving several check engine lights illuminated including traction control, check engine light, abs, hill decent assist, cruise control icon flashing. Vehicle power was dramatically reduced. Made appointment next day with subaru dealership. I was informed code p0016 showed up on the diagnosis. It indicated crankshaft position camshaft position correlation bank 1 sensor a. Vehicle was at dealership for close to two weeks. Numerous parts were replaced including oil valve assembly, camshaft sprocket assembly, ecu control unit, guide chains, chain lever, etc. I have invoice from dealership detailing all parts replaced. Although covered under warranty, a brand new vehicle with under 8000 shouldn't encounter these issues.
CategoryAir Bags
DateOct 26, 2018
StateCA
Description
The front passenger door was slammed on my 2018 subaru wrx. This caused all of the side airbags to deploy- including the airbag in the passenger seat. The vehicle was stopped with the engine on. There was no impact aside from the door being slammed from the outside. This occurred in a parking lot.
CategoryEngine, Fuel/propulsion System, Power Train
DateJun 27, 2018
StateTX
Description
This issue occurs on acceleration , most noticeable when merging onto freeway from on ramp 1/2 throttle , the vehicle starts to accelerate normal then hits around 4200 rpm and the boost gauge goes nuts fluctuating up and down and the vehicle looses power , hesitates , surges ( like a flat spot ) then finally gets a little higher in rpm and it will pick up again through the rest of rpm gauge , most noticeable in lower gears ( mines a 6 speed manual , I have taken the car to dealer on 5/30/18 with 1380 miles on the odometer , huffines subaru denton texas , tony the service manager drove my car and duplicated the complaint , he then proceeded to get another new wrx off the lot similar to mine and again duplicated the complaint ( so this is a known issue ) the dealer claims its just a design in the car , its very unsafe as you think you will get up to speed and then it hesitates which could cause an accident , the dealer did say they would open a case with subaru techline which they did not , so I called subaru customer service and filed a complaint , they call back 2 days later and tell me we spoke to dealer nothing we can do , so I proceeded to do an internet search and found numerous people complaining about the same issue on 17-18 wrx models , I currently have 2006 miles on the car and its still doing this , not sure if its a drive by wire , throttle map issue or a flaw in the factory tuning causing this but it needs to to be addressed and fixed , vehicle gives false sense of security on accelleration .
CategoryExterior Lighting
DateJun 13, 2018
StateCA
Description
This is an issue regarding the headlight housing. For unknown reasons part of it seems to be melting from the inside. This to me can be a safety or even fire hazard.
CategorySteering
DateMay 25, 2018
StateCA
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2018 subaru wrx. While driving and after shifting the gear, the steering wheel seized without warning. As a result, the vehicle jumped a curb and crashed into some bushes. The air bags did not deploy. There were no injuries. A police report was not filed. The vehicle was towed to subaru of santa fe (7511b cerrillos rd, santa fe, nm 87507), but was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 3,000. The vin was not available.
CategoryAir Bags, Steering, Wheels
DateOct 12, 2017
StateOH
Description
Tl* the contact's son owns a 2018 subaru wrx. While making a left turn at 25 mph, the front driver side wheel remained in a turned position after the driver attempted to straighten the vehicle. The driver lost control of the vehicle and collided with a tree. The air bags failed to deploy. The driver suffered a broken nose and a swollen eye. The driver was taken to the hospital for medical attention. A police report was filed. The vehicle was towed from the scene to an independent mechanic. The vehicle was in the process of being transferred to brunswick subaru (2992 center rd, brunswick, oh 44212) for diagnostic testing. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and planned to investigate. The approximate failure mileage was 1,055.

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.

Share your story

Does this ring a bell? Have you had a bad experience too? Sound off and share your experience with other visitors in the comment box below.

Brian Jones

About the Author:

Brian Jones spent more than 20 years working as an ASE Certified Master Tech and Parts Specialist at multiple dealerships. Brian has become an authority in the industry, traveling across the country to consult for car dealerships and contributing his expertise as a writer for several major automotive publications. In his spare time, Brian enjoys working on pickup trucks, muscle cars, Jeeps and anything related to motorsports.

See more posts from Brian Jones
BE THE FIRST TO COMMENT

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead you can to our legal team.

Please select your star rating.

Briefly describe your experience Briefly describe your experience

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? Please enter a valid phone number

Want to know if you could sue? Get a free legal evaluation Lemberg Law?

Get Your No-Obligation
Case Evaluation

Send a secure message to our legal team.

What’s your name? What’s your name?
What’s your email address? What’s your email address?
What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?
Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem
Confidentiality Guarantee: We keep your information completely confidential and will not send you spam or sell your information.