2018 Chevrolet Impala Problems and Top Complaints – Is Your Car A Lemon?

Brake, electrical, and engine issues among the top complaints received by the NHTSA from vehicle owners

By Brian Jones | Updated on

By Brian Jones | Updated on

The 2018 Chevrolet Impala is one of GM’s full-size car options. The newest lineup claims to be made “exclusively for everyone,” but there is a multitude of owners that don’t agree. This model suffers from a defective electrical system, malfunctioning brakes and a faulty engine.

 

Don’t be stuck with a lemon. You have legal rights to cash, return or buyback.

The law makes Chevrolet pay legal fees.

We've fixed thousands of lemon problems. Message or call 877-795-3666 today.

NHTSA Complaints for the 2018 Chevrolet Impala

Complaint CategoryNumber of Complaints
Unknown Or Other
14
Electrical System
9
Service Brakes
7
Engine
6
Power Train
5
Exterior Lighting
3
Air Bags
3
Fuel/propulsion System
2
Steering
2
Visibility/wiper
2

Problems with the Electrical System

The electrical system of a vehicle contains the battery, starter and alternator, but also includes all of the lighting and features. When something goes wrong with this system, it could cause massive problems or simply lead to some nuisance troubles.

One complaint on the NHTSA website talks about something more severe. “I went to the store and came out to leave. I attempted to start my car and the radio came on, lighting in the car flashed a couple of times and then I tried again. Then it started making a clicking sound.”

While there isn’t more information given, it’s clear that either the battery or alternator suddenly died. This is annoying and can cause trouble in a person’s life, especially if they are trying to get to work on time. Yet, these aren’t the only electrical complaints. Even GM has nearly 80 electrical-related communications in the database, which shows some serious concerns. Service Bulletin #18NA266 illustrates one of the annoying electrical problems by stating that drivers are complaining of an intermittent blank or flickering driver information center. The moral of the story is that the Impala is “for everyone,” unless the owner wants to start the vehicle or read the relevant system information.

Problems with the Brakes

The brakes of any vehicle are essential for stopping before an accident occurs. The trouble with the 2018 Chevy Impala is that this model doesn’t want to stop.

Read this NHTSA review. “In February 2019, I purchased a 2018 Chevy Impala Premier. Upon driving the car I noticed that the brakes were not working like my 2018 Chevy Camaro but I chucked it up to the car being heavier and paid it no attention. For months I have been thinking that maybe I just need to get used to the brakes on my new car and that it was nothing. While I drive at normal speeds (40-45 mph) my car slide an extra 5-10 feet more than it is supposed to every time. Yesterday while braking, my brakes just totally did not respond causing me to hit the back of another driver. I was driving about 30 mph literally just turning out of a shopping plaza when the accident happened. I started to press the brakes about 50 meters ahead and my car did not budge nor did it begin to stop. It continued to drive at the same speed until I prompted to turn and braced for the collision. I hit the back passenger bumper and the sidewalk bringing my car to a halt. This incident which prompted me to look further brought me online to see that there is a recall for the Chevy Impala brakes working improperly. It says that it is on some Impalas and I believe that mine is one of them.”

The recall being referenced in the above complaint is labeled with NHTSA Campaign Number 18V576000. It states that there was an insufficient coating on the rear brake caliper pistons that could lead to a reduction in braking performance and cause an accident. This massive recall affects more than 200,000 vehicles, meaning that there are a lot of GM cars out there that can’t brake properly. Instead of being “exclusively for everyone,” it appears this model is attempting to hurt everyone in an accident. It’s a death trap on wheels.

Problems with the Engine

The engine is the heart of any vehicle. It gives the vehicle power and helps it to move. When the engine doesn’t work as it should, every drive becomes more cumbersome.

One NHTSA complaint talks about some engine troubles. “Stabilitrack and engine light came on at the same time with a message that said, ‘Engine Power is Reduced.’ This occurred as I was driving on the highway. The vehicle gradually slowed, but I was able to maintain a speed of 55 mph. I was unable to accelerate quickly.”

Again, there is a long list of engine-related communications with the automaker, further proving how poorly this system has been built. Chevy fans are sure to be disappointed when they read things such as Service Bulletin #PIP5163D, which discusses excessive engine oil consumption, cylinder bore damage, cylinder leakage or blow-by. None of these instances should be anything that new car owners should need to worry about, but with the Impala, they do. At this point, it shouldn’t surprise anyone to know that loyal Chevy owners are considering making the jump to the Blue Oval instead. While those vehicles might not be “exclusively for everyone,” they might just keep drivers safe.

Your Lemon Law Legal Rights

Think you have a lemon? Sit back and let the experts work out your lemon case at no cost to you. The law makes Chevrolet pay legal fees. You may be able to get your lemon out of your life. Every year, auto manufacturers buy back, replace or pay cash settlements to thousands of ‘lemon’ owners like you.

Complaint Data

CategoryElectrical System, Engine, Power Train
DateAug 06, 2022
StateSC
Description
While driving from work the car did a quick jerk and the stabilitrak, abs and check engine light all came on all at once. As I pulled into my workplace the car lost power to the engine completely while displaying action required on the lcd screen. The brake and steering wheel became stiff and it was hard to control the vehicle. It took 10 minutes for me to regain power and control over the vehicle that again after leaving work stopped on the highway.
CategoryElectrical System, Service Brakes
DateJul 17, 2022
StateKY
Description
Check engine light did not come on when battery was bad. Also brakes feel spongy and go to the floor at times,pads and rotors are good.
CategoryEngine, Fuel/propulsion System
DateMar 28, 2022
StatePA
Description
When driving on the highway at full speed my car suddenly loses power almost causing me to be hit from behind. I then get a reduced engine power warning. Once I get the car off the road, I shut the engine off for a few minutes and then restart it. The car runs fine but the check engine lights remains on. This has happen 4 times this week.
CategoryFuel/propulsion System
DateMar 28, 2022
StateFL
Description
I noticed lately my car has trouble starting, especially after I get gas. Anywhere I take it, no one knows what it is. Literally someone said that I'm not holding the brake down when I'm starting it. I know how to start my vehicle! It doesn't want to start and sounds like a broke down saturn when I start it. It takes like 20-30 seconds to start. Also that ac went out, I paid 0 at chevy, and then the ac went out again a few months later, again no one knows why. Wtf!
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateMar 15, 2022
StateTX
Description
Ii purchased the car new. At 3 years and 3 months the evaporator core failed dumping the freon. I realize you stated the a/c is not a safety item but I read many complaint on this vehicle on the internet. I am a retired mechanic and the failure rate for evaporators is very low. I changed out maybe 10 in 30 years working on vehicles. This needs to be looked into and addressed by gm and corrected. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
CategoryPower Train
DateFeb 07, 2022
StateSC
Description
I have a 2018 chevrolet premier impala that has started skipping gears at 1st and 2nd while driving. The vehicle shudders when it changes gears. Took vehicle to dealer who informed me that the transmission needs to be replaced already. I haven't received any dash messages or vehicle warnings prior to noticing the transmission problem. I always kept the car properly serviced by the dealer for all routine maintenance requirements. I am the original owner of this vehicle. The car has under 100,000 miles. Dealer informs me that it will take at least a week before they can possibly get new transmission for vehicle. I may be without vehicle for at least 2 weeks minimum.
CategorySteering
DateNov 18, 2021
StateVA
Description
The vehicle had a sudden loss of power steering. No warnings or indications of any isues just immediate loss of the ability to steer
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateMay 13, 2021
StateNY
Description
Refrigerant leaks. 1234yf
CategoryPower Train, Unknown Or Other
DateMay 12, 2021
StateCA
Description
The evap core started leaking a month ago had the car for 2 years and as I read online its a common issue and chevy doesnt want to fix it. Sometimes the transmission shifts hard but doesnt happen often
CategoryExterior Lighting, Visibility/wiper
DateApr 29, 2021
StateMI
Description
I purchased this vehicle 2 weeks ago never been happier. My complaint is about my headlights they have serious condensation in both and there is about an inch or 2 of water inside the headlights. This issue is causing bad visibility with low lighting. I have tried everything to keep the water out and provide headlights with proper air so this doesn't happen. How come chevrolet didn't recall these headlights due to poor design and improper ventilation. What can I do besides spend 0. 00 on 2 new ones?
CategoryService Brakes, Unknown Or Other
DateMar 29, 2021
StateTX
Description
Getting a second look at air conditioning. I was told the compressor could be leaking as there has been no freon for over a month or two. The freon is 120/pound and could cost 1000, he mentioned for freon alone. This is a 2018, purchased last year and I'm dealing with a compressor issue as well as very expensive freon?
CategoryElectrical System
DateFeb 02, 2021
StateAZ
Description
2018 chevrolet impala. Consumer writes in regards to issues with door locks and tires. *ld the consumer stated the vehicle was sold with 3 worn tires and a key with a dead battery. The consumer was driving the vehicle on a mountain side and extremely heavy fog, the lights (inside and out) went out. The dealer was informed of the failure. The consumer could not replicate the problem, but was unable to start the vehicle. The dealer was unable to repair the vehicle and suggested trading it in. The consumer traded the vehicle in after owning the vehicle for only 8 months. *js
CategoryExterior Lighting:headlights
DateNov 13, 2020
StateFL
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2018 chevrolet impala. The contact stated she noticed that water was entering the driver's and the passenger's side headlight housings and causing the illumination to be reduced. The vehicle was taken to local dealer nimnicht chevrolet located at 1550 cassat ave, jacksonville, fl 32210, (904) 387-4041, where she was informed the mechanic needed to drill holes into each headlight housing to allow for the water to properly drain from the headlight housings. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer had been informed of failure. The failure mileage was approximately 44,000.
CategorySteering
DateOct 07, 2020
StateSC
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2018 chevrolet impala. The contact stated that after reversing the vehicle and placing the gear shifter in drive, the steering wheel stiffened as the "power steering, drive with care" warning message appeared on the instrument panel. The contact took the vehicle to mcelveen buick gmc (117 farmington rd, summerville, sc 29483) where they diagnosed the vehicle with a defective power steering gear. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 74,000.
CategoryElectrical System
DateOct 06, 2020
StateOK
Description
If the car has been operating for long period of time an hour or more when the auto stop kicks on the whole car turns off. Usually at a stop sign or stop light. In the middle of traffic. I have to let it sit off for a couple minutes and restart and jerks hard into gear. . Was told it's the battery fuse block and isn't covered by warranty.
CategoryElectrical System, Power Train
DateOct 04, 2020
StateGA
Description
Gears skipping and shruddering between 2nd and 4th gear. Chevrolet dealership recommended engine mounts replaces which was a false diagnose. After further inspection and diagnosing, they revealed that my transmission needs to be replaced for 6200$. I paid the 6200$ and now transmission shifting hard into 2nd gear.
CategoryEngine
DateAug 19, 2020
StateSC
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2018 chevrolet impala. The contact stated that while operating the vehicle, a strange odor was present coming from the engine into cabin of the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to local dealer (raceway chevrolet located at 1510 south 5th st, hartsville, sc 29550) who diagnosed the air conditioning evaporator coil was defective and had leaked freon. The coil was replaced and the failure was remedied. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 39,000.
CategoryPower Train
DateAug 12, 2020
StateFL
Description
Transmission slipping, rough shift and bucking back and forth. Happens intermittently at low speeds and in stop and go traffic as well as highway speeds and when passing.
CategoryAir Bags, Seats, Unknown Or Other
DateJul 21, 2020
StateGA
Description
On 16th july 2020 while driving bell sounds went off in my car, on dash airbag warning came on and got an onstar alert that airbag malfunction. Onstar said to get it to dealership asap. Yesterday 20th july dealership told me that front passenger seat airbag module, front passenger airbag plate in seat and something else airbag is wrong. Told me not covered under warranty in which since it is a 2018 I couldn't believe it. They said because have 62,000 miles is why. I said this is a safety issue they acknowledged that but said I would need to have it repaired which would cost 00 without taxes. I called general motors and have a case number. However, not gm nor the dealership nesmith chevrolet, buick, gmc seem to feel this should be a recall or a safety issue that they should be liable for!
CategoryAir Bags, Seats, Unknown Or Other
DateJul 20, 2020
StateGA
Description
Freighted: airbag warning on dash came on, bells started making nose in car and got onstar alert that airbag malfunction to get it to dealership asap. Even if push dismiss button comes back on. Called dealership and got an appointment: today dealership says it is issue with airbag sensors in passenger seat and passenger side airbag. Tells us it is not covered under warranty and no recalls for this. We have called gm today also and have a case number
CategoryLatches/locks/linkages:trunk Lid:lock
DateJun 10, 2020
StateGA
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2018 chevrolet impala. The contact stated that the trunk was closed however, failed to latch securely and opened intermittently without warning. The vehicle was taken to carl black chevrolet buick gmc (1110 roberts blvd nw, kennesaw, ga 30144, (770) 424-2200) to be diagnosed however, the mechanic was unable to the duplicate the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure recurred several times. The manufacturer was not made aware of he failure. The failure mileage was approximately 40,400.
CategorySuspension, Wheels
DateMay 22, 2020
StateOH
Description
This is the second 2018 chevy impala I've had and the same problem existed. The front wheel bearings grind ridiculously, and I'm only at 48k miles now. Initially I reported this issue while my vehicle was under the bumper to bumper 36k mfg warranty and naturally the dealer found no issues and just lubbed the wheel area and sent me on my way. I am paying a pretty penny for this 2018 chevy impala and want to file this complaint. I noticed this seemed to be a reported problem and that chevy has ignored this problem and continues to place these wheel bearings that are sub-par into the vehicles.... Why??? I haven't had this car 1 year yet and I have had more lub jobs that I care to mention( like every month). When driving this car and you're getting ready to brake/stop, the second you put your foot on the brake pedal, a horrible grinding sound emerges from the front end of my car, I shouldn't be fixing a problem that chevy has created... A recall should be considered or better yet instituted to remedy these sick vehicles, you want us to buy american, well you need to build them like americans.. Strong *tr
CategoryEngine, Unknown Or Other
DateMay 14, 2020
StateFL
Description
My vehicle has been serviced several times since I have purchased the vehicle. The car will completely shut off when attempting to turn back on after the auto stop turns it off then I have to place the park hit the start switch and restart the vehicle. Also my ac has stopped several times in the vehicle. The ac compressor was replaced in 2019 and had been serviced twice before that happened because it blows extremely low and have to put it on high just for the air to blow. As of today the ac has been going in and out even after the replacement of the compressor and still no one can tell me what's the issue! *tr
CategoryUnknown Or Other, Visibility/wiper
DateMay 13, 2020
StateFL
Description
While operating vehicle on public roadway while utilizing the ac function, the ac evaporator catastrophically failed under the dash, startling the driver & passenger, and exposing them to high levels of 1234yf refrigerant in the enclosed cabin. The ac system subsequently went into low pressure mode, rendering all ac functions useless such as defrosting the windshield which has created safety issues in addition to the inhalation of the leaked refrigerant. This style of failure is covered under special coverage adjustment - n182186881 evaporator core icing, leak for certain 2016-2018 impala vehicles. Gm customer service states that this vin is not covered under this special coverage, even though this is a similar failure on a part that should last the life of the vehicle. Gm refuses to cover this failure and requested that the customer contact the nhtsa to help resolve the missing vin from the special coverage. Customer is currently saddled with a 00 repair bill for a lifetime part that has failed in 2. 4 years and poses an ongoing safety issue. *tr
CategoryService Brakes
DateNov 21, 2019
StatePA
Description
The car was stopped on a parking lot exit ramp. When the car ahead of me moved forward I took my foot of of the brake so I could move forward. When I applied the break to stop, the breaks did not work and I hit the car in front of me.
CategoryService Brakes
DateOct 14, 2019
StateCA
Description
October 10th, I was in an accident where I was literally an entire car length back driving with the flow of traffic at 50-55 mph, when the vehicle in front of me came to an abrupt stop on the freeway. I slammed on my brakes but my car slid straight into the back of the vehicle in front of me. It felt as if my brakes were not stopping my car. I noticed this happening before on a main street and I was travelling at 45 mph but I did not think anything of it at the time.
CategoryElectrical System, Service Brakes, Unknown Or Other
DateOct 06, 2019
StateMS
Description
Tires-tires keep losing air pressure, they appeared new but when tested problems was found, they were wore to the outside as if aliment was needed, new tires was purchased electrical/battery-there is a frequent shut down of electrical system, while driving the engine light come on, from the driver information center (dic) the was 14. 7, the battery was checked twice within a period of two days from the dealership, the first day the battery was good then on the second day they said I had a battery problems, purchased new battery, no warning tried to crank barely turnover, sometimes the dic goes blank and it takes a while for it to display again, this have happen at least 3 times brakes-when backing up there is a frequent loud medal to metal sound, this have happened at least 4 times
CategoryElectrical System, Engine, Exterior Lighting
DateSep 30, 2019
StateMS
Description
I went to the store and came out to leave. I attempted to start my car and the radio came on, lights in the car flashed a couple of times and then I tried again. Then it started making a clicking sound.
CategoryElectrical System
DateSep 27, 2019
StateGA
Description
Side detection device not working. Car was purchased in june at a reputable dealer. The dealership is not saying there is a problem, but the sensor is corroded. There are a number of other cases with the same problem.
CategoryService Brakes
DateSep 06, 2019
StateFL
Description
In february 2019 I purchased a 2018 chevy impala premier, upon driving the car I noticed that the brakes were not working like my 2018 chevy camaro but I chucked it up to the car being heavier and paid it no attention. For months I have been thinking that maybe I just need to get used to the brakes on my new car and that it was nothing. While I drive at normal speeds (40 - 45 mph) my car slid an extra 5- 10 ft more then it is supposed to every time. Yesterday while braking my brakes just totally did not respond causing me to hit the back of another driver. I was driving about 30 mph literally just turning out of a shopping plaza when the accident happened. I started to press the brakes about 50 meters ahead and my car did not budge nor did it begin to stop it continued to drive at the same speed until I prompted to turn and braced for the collision. I hit the back passenger bumper and the sidewalk bringing my car to a halt. This incident which prompted me to look further brung me online to see that there is a recall for the chevy impala brakes working improperly. It says that it is on some impalas and I believe that mine is one of them.
CategoryExterior Lighting, Service Brakes
DateJul 28, 2019
StateMI
Description
I was driving and lady came to a complete stop at rail road track and I couldn't stop I ran into the back of her
CategoryElectrical System
DateJun 24, 2019
StateNJ
Description
This was a hertz rental car I picked up at the orlando, fl airport. June 2, 2019. There was no operators manual in the car. It was 10 pm and I had to drive 90 miles to my destination. About 30 minutes on the highway to check oil light came on. I tried to clear the notice by pressing several buttons on the dash board. Then I thought I found the correct button and pressed it. It was the car start and off button. The car immediately shut off including all the lights. O was going 65 mph and suddenly the road was pitch black. The engine had turned off so I could not hold my speed. I slowly pulled over to the side. (turn signals were not working at this time). When I composed myself, I put the car in park and restarted it. Thankfully there were no other cars around since the car was totally dark and without power at 65 mph. I was very fortunate. I an baffled that chevrolet would not have caught this flaw before putting these cars on the road.
CategoryBack Over Prevention: Sensing System: Camera
DateMay 10, 2019
StateFL
Description
2018 chevrolet impala. Consumer writes in regard to problems with image concerning the rearview camera during inclement weather. *as *js *js
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateFeb 10, 2019
StateME
Description
From december 22 thru 27, 2018 I rented this 2018 chevrolet impala (california plate 8dve598) from hertz at the hotel del coronado, coronado, ca. For the first 4 or 5 backups the reverse camera display worked properly. That is it came on when I shifted into reverse and went off when I shifted forward. Then suddenly it stayed on for the rest of the week. We could neither get it to go to the normal icon display nor turn it off. It would not reboot when the ignition was turned off. Safety consequence--at night the display is so bright that it completely blocks right front quarter vision. I had to drive this to 4,000 feet at night on a california mountainside. We mitigated the problem by folding one of the very large aaa city series maps with all its weight wedged against the base of the windshield and one thickness over the display. This would not have worked if I had had to run the defroster. Nhtsa needs to mandate either a pull down cover for these dlsplays or a panic button to shut them off. Thank you.
CategoryElectronic Stability Control, Engine
DateNov 19, 2018
StateIN
Description
Stabilitrack and engine light came on at the same time with a message that said, 'engine power is reduced'. This occurred as I was driving on the highway. The vehicle gradually slowed, but I was able to maintain a speed of 55 mph. I was unable to accelerate quickly.
CategoryUnknown Or Other, Vehicle Speed Control
DateNov 17, 2018
StateWI
Description
Adaptive cruise control (acc) issues scenario 1 first day I was traveling at approximately 70 mph. As I would in any of my other 100 + cars I've owned, I held the cruise control 'set' button expecting the speed to gradually decrease. The impala much to my surprise, with traffic behind me, went from 70 mph to approximately 20 mph within 7 secs. The traffic behind me was swerving to avoid crashing into me. It clearly states on page 182 of the owner's manual 'reducing speed while acc is at a set speed. 'press and hold setuntil the desired lower speed is reached, then release it. When you hold the set button the speed drops so rapidly there is no possible way you could reduce the speed to only (for example) to 58 mph. Scenario 2 I was following a vehicle with the acc set. Vehicle ahead of me signaled to make a right turn and was merging right to make the turn. As I proceeded to change lanes and go around the vehicle, my impala slammed on the brakes causing the vehicle behind me to have to swerve to avoid a crash. Scenario 3 referring to the scenerio 2. When the vehicle turning right cleared the camera on my impala the impala accelerated aggressively as though I was attempting to pass someone. It was very unexpected and to the point where I felt I could lose control of the vehicle. Scenario 4 when rounding a curve if the acc camera senses a vehicle moving in a parking lot near the road it again brakes harshly for no good reason. Again causing the vehicles behind me to have to react. The impala will again accelerate aggressively once past the moving car in the parking lot. Scenario 5 in two lane traffic with the acc set, when you're rounding a corner if the camera of the acc gets the car in the other lane in its vision the impala will again slam on the brakes. When the car in the other lane is out of the camera range the impala accelerates rapidly.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateOct 10, 2018
StateNY
Description
The forward collision alert system which is stated to work over 40 mph does not give adequate warning at any setting. The system shows a green icon when following another vehicle. The icon changes to amber when following another vehicle extremely close (way too close) as a tailgating alert. It is meant to give a heads ups flashing red display on the windshield when overtaking another vehicle at a speed that may cause a collision. This system has a near. A medium and a far setting which is supposed to function within 194 ft. At no setting approaching a vehicle from the rear to a dangerously close point could I get the system to give a red alert, this was on the far setting. The dealer service checked the system in the garage and said it was working. They would not do a road check because it is too dangerous. The service manager said he had done them in the past and the red alert only happens when you are extremely close to the car ahead. In a controlled check I got to within a cars length overtaking the car ahead with no alert and this was on the far setting. This system is useless without giving an alert in time to react. I have seen this system work well in other brand cars.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateSep 24, 2018
StateFL
Description
I owned a new 2014 chevrolet impala. The 2014 impala had a backup camera system which was outstanding. I never had a problem with what I saw on the rear view monitor screen which was on the dash of the impala. I traded in the 2014 chevrolet impala for a 2018 and now there are two major problems with the 2018 impala back up camera system. First, if there is a light rain to a heavy rain you lose 80% to 90% of the clear vision on the monitor screen. Not once did I ever have a problem with my 2014 impala. Second, I have lost 20% of my rear view vision because 20% of the monitor screen shows the rear view bumper which reflects the sky. These are two major safety defects with my 2018 impala. Not once did I ever have a problem with my 2014 chevrolet impala. I have attached to iphone photos to illustrate the safety defects. I will put today's date to go to next part of form. Problem started when I first got the car. I was told that the camera on the back of the car was relocated as compared to the 2014 chevrolet impala camera location.
CategoryAir Bags
DateAug 29, 2018
StateIN
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2018 chevrolet impala. While driving approximately 50 mph, the contact's vehicle was involved in a front end collision with a deer. The air bags did not deploy. A police report was filed. The vehicle was damaged and towed to an independent body shop. The manufacturer and dealer were not notified. The driver sustained injuries that required medical attention. The failure mileage was approximately 2,000.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateNov 26, 2017
StatePA
Description
While driving on highway, went to touch the hazard button but pushed the engine start/ stop button instead. Engine shut off. Had to pull off the road, engage brake, put transmission into park to be able to start car. The hazard lights button is waaayyy to close to the start stop button. Especially while keeping an eye on the road. This is a new rental car belonging to ean holdings llc.

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.

Share your story

Does this ring a bell? Have you had a bad experience too? Sound off and share your experience with other visitors in the comment box below.

Brian Jones

About the Author:

Brian Jones spent more than 20 years working as an ASE Certified Master Tech and Parts Specialist at multiple dealerships. Brian has become an authority in the industry, traveling across the country to consult for car dealerships and contributing his expertise as a writer for several major automotive publications. In his spare time, Brian enjoys working on pickup trucks, muscle cars, Jeeps and anything related to motorsports.

See more posts from Brian Jones
7 COMMENTS
  • Jesse P

    I bought a low mileage 2018 Impala Premier. It drove like a dream but the AC was like a bad dream. I replaced the AC compressor and ventilator and other parts twice costing me around $3,000. I have a 2016 which has caused no trouble but the 2018 took me for a ride in more ways than one.

  • Sam L

    I bought a 2018 IMPALA Premier in early 2021, it had 17k miles, but out of warranty of course! I have already had to replace the ac compressor, and on rainy days the rain water from the road gets on engine and causes steam. Engine temp is fine, but it’s troubling I currently still only have 21k miles on it.

  • Joe C

    i own a 2018 Impala premier and have a scraping noise in bothfront wheels which has been determined to be the brake dust shields, I would like to know if this is a common problem with this car, Othere than that Ive had no issues at 48K miles

  • Haywood S

    I have a 2018 Chevrolet Impala LT Flex Fuel V6 Engine. I’ve been having problems when I put fuel in my car. Everytime I refuel,when I try to start the engine, it hesitate for maybe 30 seconds before it starts. Just makes the sound until it finally starts with a little pressure to the gas pedal. Anyone know the problem??? I’m really contemplating getting rid of it, but I love this car .

  • Jdub

    I own a 2018 Impala Premier and no real issues yet. Keep my fingers crossed 🤞! I bought it brand new with 67000! Runs like day one…so far so good!

  • Yadira a

    I have leased the 2015 Chevy impala, 2018 Chevy Malibu and currently have the 2018 Chevy impala premier all have given me ISSUES with engine failure!!! I traded in the 2015 impala for the Malibu and it was worse then speed reduced to 10mph on a busy freeway I could have been killed. The dealership was if no help and would not fix it because they didn’t know what was wrong with it. I drive it to Honda on the same day and traded it for a 2019 Honda sport but Then in 2020 my husband found the black impala premier I had originally wanted with a sunroof so he got it a a very low price as a gift for me thinking that whatever happened with the other cars had most likely been fixed by now. Wrong!!! The car is less than 2yrs old with 52,900 miles and the engine light went on!!! Please don’t buy Chevy at all after this I’m done with chevy. I have a service appt tomorrow morning and we’ll see if they make me pay out of pocket if so I might just sue them Which is what I should have done in the first place.

  • Gearhead

    I’ve owned a 2018 Impala LT for 18 mths and had zero problems with the car

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead you can to our legal team.

Please select your star rating.

Briefly describe your experience Briefly describe your experience

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? Please enter a valid phone number

Want to know if you could sue? Get a free legal evaluation Lemberg Law?

Get Your No-Obligation
Case Evaluation

Send a secure message to our legal team.

What’s your name? What’s your name?
What’s your email address? What’s your email address?
What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?
Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem
Confidentiality Guarantee: We keep your information completely confidential and will not send you spam or sell your information.