2018 Nissan Murano Problems and Top Complaints – Is Your Car A Lemon?

Electrical, braking system and structure issues among the top complaints received by the NHTSA from vehicle owners

By Brian Jones | Updated on

By Brian Jones | Updated on

The 2018 Nissan Murano is a crossover designed for today’s families. Even the automaker claims that the newest lineup is “tech advanced for the modern boss,” but owners can’t seem to agree. This vehicle has a defective structure, poorly functioning electrical system, dangerous visibility and malfunctioning brakes.

Click on other model year to view more problems: 2019

Don’t be stuck with a lemon. You have legal rights to cash, return or buyback.

The law makes Nissan pay legal fees.

We've fixed thousands of lemon problems. Message or call 877-795-3666 today.

NHTSA Complaints for the 2018 Nissan Murano

Complaint CategoryNumber of Complaints
Service Brakes
23
Vehicle Speed Control
22
Unknown Or Other
21
Electrical System
14
Electronic Stability Control
8
Visibility/wiper
5
Forward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking
5
Seat Belts
4
Forward Collision Avoidance: Adaptive Cruise Control
3
Forward Collision Avoidance: Warnings
3

Problems with the Vehicle Structure

While the cost of the 2018 Nissan Murano isn’t over-the-top, it’s enough to assume that the structure is made from high-quality parts, yet that’s not the case.

One Edmunds review states, “We really wanted to love this vehicle, but with the rust issues that include exhaust, lines and frame we can’t. We purchased our 2018 Murano S with 50 miles on October 28, 2018. I happen to notice rust on the tailpipes and looked under the vehicle. To my horror, the whole exhaust was rusted and parts of it had flaky rust as if the rust had been there for a long time. I also noticed the parking brake connections, parts of the frame and suspension rusted. The vehicle only had 3000 miles on it and two months old. We took it back to the dealer and explained to us they had never seen anything like it. They received approval from Nissan to replace the exhaust system and the parking brake cable, but told us the other rust was ‘normal.’ We have gotten nowhere with Nissan Customer Care (Nissan1). I would not buy a Nissan Murano.”

No vehicle should suffer from rust after 3,000 miles. What’s most disturbing is the lack of care that Nissan gave to the customers, further proving how little the automaker values dedicated enthusiasts. It’s no wonder that people aren’t willing to buy from the company any further.

Problems with the Electrical System

The same situation with the lack of care is prevalent with the faulty electrical system.

This Edmunds review states, “Love the car, hate the Bose sound system. Sound is tiny and has no depth took the vehicle to two different Dealers and compared against other Muranos, they all sounded tiny. The Engineer at Nissan that released this system for the Murano must be hearing impaired or sound deaf. Front-facing Radar continues to turn off during highway travel causing the cruise control to turn off for five minutes this is a safety concern if passing another vehicle at the time. Nissan is aware of the problem and does not have an engineering solution. Class action suit has been filed.”

It takes a class-action lawsuit to get the automaker’s attention. There is also a recall, NHTSA Campaign Number 19V654000 that discusses how more than one million vehicles have a malfunctioning back-up camera display. Basically, owners can be a “boss,” unless they want to back up.

Problems with the Automatic Emergency Braking System (AEB)

When it comes to safety, the service brakes are paramount to stop in time. Yet, the Murano fails on every level, once again.

Another Cars.com review states, “The front radar, which helps with braking and cruise control, CONSTANTLY MALFUNCTIONS. It’s troublesome around town, hearing the constant BEEP, and seeing ‘front radar obstruction’ flash up on the screen. However, when on the highway, it is downright dangerous, as it immediately disables your cruise control, causing your vehicle to slow down. It then takes about 5 minutes before you can use cruise control again…and it malfunctions consistently every 10-15 minutes. There is no fix, nor can you disable the function.”

It turns out that there is another recall for this system. NHTSA Campaign Number 19V807000 states that the brake fluid can leak onto the ABS circuits and cause a fire. While the solution is that owners park their vehicles and get an immediate repair, Nissan doesn’t have the parts yet to resolve the situation. Effectively, the automaker is asking customers not to drive their SUV but has no way of fixing the problem. Imagine how the “bosses” are feeling right now.

Your Lemon Law Legal Rights

Think you have a lemon? Sit back and let the experts work out your lemon case at no cost to you. The law makes Nissan pay legal fees. You may be able to get your lemon out of your life. Every year, auto manufacturers buy back, replace or pay cash settlements to thousands of ‘lemon’ owners like you.

Complaint Data

CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Forward Collision Avoidance: Warnings, Service Brakes
DateJun 29, 2022
StateKY
Description
Multiple times I will get a warning that emergency braking is not available for an obstruction. But no obstruction. The feb system light will come on out of nowhere… literally nothing around! Causing cruise control to disengage and not work again until I stop and restart the car 😡 no actually crash has occurred, but if this can't be fixed I see it as inevitable! Please advise on what to do. This also I believe is the reason why I've had to replace front breaks and rotors twice in 2 years!!!
CategoryAir Bags
DateMay 31, 2022
StateCA
Description
The contact owns a 2018 nissan murano. The contact stated while driving approximately 45 mph, an accident occurred in front of her and she crashed into the passenger side of one of the vehicles. The driver side air bags did not deploy. The contact sustained injuries on her back, neck, right shoulder, left hand, both knees, and both ankles, her chest was sore, and she experienced headaches. The contact did seek medical attention. A police report was filed. The vehicle was not driveable. The vehicle was towed to a towing lot. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. A dealer was not contacted. The manufacturer had not been informed of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 35,000.
CategoryEngine
DateMay 08, 2022
StateMD
Description
Car fire started engin area
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Adaptive Cruise Control, Forward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Service Brakes
DateFeb 22, 2022
StateIL
Description
The front radar module frequently fails disabling the automatic emergency braking and the adaptive cruise control.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Adaptive Cruise Control, Vehicle Speed Control
DateDec 19, 2021
StateTX
Description
While driving with cruise control set at 80, I passed a vehicle and as I began to return to the driving lane from the passing lane, the control panel beeped and a warning "front radar unavailable due to obstruction" appeared and the vehicle immediately decelerated drastically and the cruise control was disengaged and disabled. I had to react quickly to avoid a rear collision by accelerating rapidly. There were no vehicles in front of me or on either side. The cruise was disabled for about 4-5 minutes. This happened a total of 12 times in a 5. 5 hour trip. I googled the problem and realized that it was ongoing for many years and involved a recall on other vehicles, but not mine. This is dangerous and should be a recall part before someone gets killed or seriously injured.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Adaptive Cruise Control, Forward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Forward Collision Avoidance: Warnings
DateOct 20, 2021
StateWI
Description
The distance measuring sensor failed on my 2018 murano. The vehicle would suddenly brake on its own without warning, with no vehicles in its path. Then, later if a vehicle would pass you and move in front of you a warning light would go on with the message "front radar unavailable due to obstruction". There are service bulletins out on this since 2015. It is my understanding through research that nissan received a bad lot of sensors from their oem producer. They are aware of this, yet they refuse to issue a recall to replace these defective sensors.
CategoryAir Bags
DateOct 02, 2021
StateAR
Description
Dtc b00a0-00 (occupant detection sensor unit) is stored and ocs zero point reset cannot be performed (continued on the next page) red airbag warning came on located in dash when no passenger in seat but when a passenger is in seat it goes off however regardless the airbag reports that it is turned off due to the ocs cannot complete it's scan. This puts all passengers at safety risk and they will not deploy if there is an accident. Has been verified by outside mechanic and have an appointment with nissan dealership monday however they will not tell me if it is covered under powertrain warranty even though it is within the mile/time period. I've been told 2x that airbags are not covered but the warranty clearly states it includes airbags and electrical components.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJul 30, 2021
StateNY
Description
2018 nissan murano. Consumer stated that there is a clunking noise coming from vehicle.
CategoryService Brakes
DateJul 15, 2021
StateMI
Description
All of the safety lights came on including abs and awd sensor. I took my car to demaag gmc nissan in battle creek mi and they said that the abs actuator is bad. I see that there has been a recall for this for the 2016-2018 nissan murano but they say that mine wasn't included and they told me that this was the issue. Why is it not included?
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateMay 11, 2021
StateOK
Description
Driving on freeway at 65 mph with no other vehicles around and the sun roof exploded. It sounded like an explosion and glass fell into the car. There was no evidence in the car that anything fell onto the sunroof.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Warnings, Lane Departure: Blind Spot Detection, Power Train
DateMay 02, 2021
StateKY
Description
I purchased a 2018 nissan murano in may 2019 with 16k miles on it, at 30,000 miles I started noticing an issue with it not coasting into turns, it would almost come to a complete stop, and nearly cause accidents to unsuspecting drivers behind me. I took it to kerry nissan in florence and the tech acted like I was imagining things, since they couldn't get it to repeat the action. It's happened off and on since then, and based off the techs reaction, thought nothing of it. About a week ago it began happening more often, like on every turn, and I started getting worried that I was going to cause an accident, so I took it back it to kerry, it was at 62,000 miles. They called me on monday 4/25 and said my transmission was bad, the diagnostic came back with an error code, cvt judder. They told me I had to call consumer affairs because the powertrain warranty expired at 60k miles. Consumer affairs said they would agree to pay 50% of the repair, even though the car had been in the shop for the same exact issue at 30k miles!!! Again, repeating that the warranty expired at 60k miles.... 2k miles earlier!!! I googled the issue and it appears to be a huge issue with cvt transmissions, nissan knows it, they know it's dangerous, but won't do anything about it. They've been involved in several class action law suits over the same thing, but not newer models. I was quoted 00 for the repair, which is just crazy to me, on a car that is 3 years old!!!! I thought nissan had a good reputation when I spent ,000 on my car, not knowing there was such a huge issue where their entire lineup of cars. They are crooks, and I don't understand how they continue to get away with this. This is a also a huge safety issue! Transmissions are failing while people are driving on the interstate, the car just stops. There are a ton of complaints, and there needs to be a recall on cvt transmissions!
CategoryService Brakes
DateFeb 04, 2021
StateFL
Description
On jan 21, 2021 I was driving our murano and was in the drive thru line at the county health department parking lot, to receive my covid-19 vaccination. As the line moved, I slightly pressed the gas pedal moving slowly up in the line. When the vehicle in front of me stopped I slid my foot to the left to press on the brake. My foot slid behind the brake pedal and I was unable to apply the brakes. My rate of travel was less than 2 mph, I placed the transmission in neutral in an attempt to stop the vehicle. The vehicle continued to coast as I tried to remove my foot from behind the brake petal. Moving my foot to the right it hit the side of the gas petal (the vehicle was still in neutral). As I struggled to free my foot, I was finally able to do so. Unfortunately, my vehicle bumped into the car in front of me. There is no damage to that person's car, my car receives some scratches on the bumper. My concern is if this would have happened while I was traveling at a higher rate of speed. This incident could have been a lot more serious and even fatal. I believe I did nothing wrong and there should be no way a person's foot can slide behind the brake pedal. Then, they must struggle to free their foot.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking
DateJan 20, 2021
StateTX
Description
The aeb system engaged with nothing infront of my vehicle on jan 19, 2021. This is not the intended way of functioning for this system.
CategoryElectrical System, Seats
DateJan 12, 2021
StateWA
Description
Smoke was noticed inside the car while I was driving on a rural freeway in the blue mountains of oregon. The source of the smoke appeared to be the rear passenger set, right side. I pulled over. When I opened the door on the right side of the car, a large plum of smoke erupted from the rear seat. I then noticed a black, burned hole in the seat measuring about 10in x 10in. As quickly as it began, the combustion stopped. After a 20-minute wait the seat cooled off and I was able to proceed. Note that the rear seats were in the down position, and pillows were placed on the floor boards where passenger feet would normally be. Photo shows damage to the pillows. I suspect the origin of the fire was an electrical failure related to heated seats.
CategoryElectrical System, Visibility/wiper
DateJan 08, 2021
StateSC
Description
About 2 months ago, the display window showing audio selections, rearview camera, navigation, etc. Began rapidly jumping back and forth from screen to screen. Nothing I did, affected it, thus I wasn't able to change channels or get full view when backing up. When in reverse, 2 lines of text were displayed, blocking the camera view. One said, "display settings", but when I pressed it, nothing happened. Upon starting the car, the time varies as to when the irregularities begin. Sometimes it starts immediately, but other times it may appear normal for a few minutes and then start. But once it starts, it doesn't stop until the vehicle is turned off. It seems to be an electrical issue since nothing I've tried remedies it. In the "when did this happen" section below, I will put the approximate date the issue started, but as I said, it is a continuous problem.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateDec 01, 2020
StateNJ
Description
I was driving on a highway and suddenly my sunroof exploded. It sounded like a loud bang next to me and then I heard broken glass above my head.
CategoryService Brakes
DateOct 25, 2020
StateOR
Description
3 incidences of sudden, immediate automatic braking without obstacles or other cars in front of ours. 10/15/2020: mid day, sunny/dry conditions, residential street. Moving forward from a stationary position and below 10 mph. Car suddenly stopped, loud noise, warning flashed on dash board. No other vehicle or object noted in front of car. 10/20/2020: between 8:00-8:30pm, dry conditions, city street. First car at intersection moving forward from stationary position at green light. While moving through intersection, car suddenly stopped, loud noise, warning flashed on dash board. No other car or object was in front of our car. 10/24/2020: between 7:00-7:30 pm, conditions dry, city street. Again first car at an intersection. From stationary position and at green light moved forward into intersection. While moving through intersection the car came to a sudden, halting stop, loud noise and warning flashed on the dash board. No other car or object was in front of our car. In each of these three incidences the car was in drive, the accelerator was slightly depressed for slow acceleration and for no reason the car automatically, suddenly halted.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateOct 23, 2020
StateKS
Description
While operating my nissan on a rural highway I heard what I thought to be a gun shot and felt glass hit me. To my surprise, the sunroof in my 2018 nissan murano had exploded.
CategorySeat Belts
DateOct 10, 2020
StateWV
Description
The driver side seat belt does not want to snap into the belt holder which has the red button you push to release it, I have checked every time for any obstruction and nothing is there, it does finally lock into the spot after about 10 times of trying this just started happening 2 weeks ago, the car is not that old to be having seat belt problems like that. It does not matter what time of day it does it regardless and only when putting it on, it releases just fine just when putting it on it will not latch. Just let me know if you need me to do a video of it I never made a video of this happening.
CategoryElectrical System
DateOct 02, 2020
StateCA
Description
Android auto system randomly crashes or freezes when navigating with google maps. As a result we are left scrambling while driving to disconnect and reconnect our phone to reset the system, or to change usb phone settings to properly reconnect the our phone to android auto, causing a dangerous distraction from the road. Sometimes reconnecting the phone does not work causing a repeat of the effort and causing further driving distraction. I have repeatedly attempted to get the nissan dealer to repair the problem but they deny there is an issue.
CategoryElectrical System, Forward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking
DateSep 22, 2020
StateGA
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2018 nissan murano. The contact stated that while driving and attempting a right turn, the doors unlocked. The door ajar light illuminated. The contact also stated that with another vehicle in the passenger's side lane, the forward collision automatic braking feature activated with an audible alarm. The failures recurred several times. The vehicle was taken to two separate dealers including the headquarter nissan dealer located at 1725 whittlesey rd, columbus, ga 31904, where the technicians from both dealers replaced all the sensors. The failure recurred. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure three times and stated that the vehicle would be bought back however, the service manager at the headquarter nissan dealer intervened, stating that the vehicle was repaired and that there was no need for a buy back. The contact stated that the vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 4,500.*dt consumer stated video is attached.*jb
CategoryElectrical System, Service Brakes, Vehicle Speed Control
DateAug 27, 2020
StateFL
Description
I have a 2018 nissan murano platinum awd. I will be driving on cruise control and it will turn off and the collision light lights up and car will come to a stop. The warning system gives a clue as to what is going on, it says radar obstruction. This happens at any speed, at random, with or without cruise control and has been happening many times a day for months, sometimes with the car behind me almost hitting my car because of the fault of the system. I took it to hgreg delray nissan and they basically blew me off as if it wasn't an issue. The service manager actually told me to drive it and when the light comes on bring it back to him. They didn't even do a test drive! Well, I left that dealer since they are unwilling to help out with what I think is a severe motor vehicle safety issue. I will continue my quest to get this fixed at another nissan dealer. I have heard of a few people with the same issue having some success when the dealer has replaced the radar sensor.
CategoryElectrical System
DateJul 13, 2020
StateMD
Description
This morning at about 0630 am while parked in my driveway,my car went totally dark. All lights went off,ignition switch was inoperative, doors locked and could not be open. As I was calling my wife to bring spare key to unlock doors because I was trapped in vehicle, all lights return and was able to exit vehicle. The time for lights to return was about 3 to 4 minutes.*dt consumer stated vehicle was taken to the dealer but could not find any issues. Vehicle has not been repaired and is recurring continuously.*jb
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJun 16, 2020
StateGA
Description
Unavailable front radar obstruction warning comes on for no reason. This has happened at least 48 times in a 4 week period. For no reason. False warning. *tr
CategoryService Brakes, Structure:body, Unknown Or Other
DateJun 10, 2020
StateNY
Description
I rented this vehicle from enterprise and while driving on old country road in westbury, new york, all of a sudden smoke filled the car and my foot felt really hot like it was on fire. This occurred suddenly without any warnings, causing me to lose visibility and crash into another vehicle and ultimately a tree. I lost consciousness. *tr
CategoryElectronic Stability Control, Service Brakes, Vehicle Speed Control
DateMay 21, 2020
StateKS
Description
While driving with cruise control set at 80, I passed a vehicle and as I began to return to the driving lane from the passing lane, the control panel beeped and a warning "front radar unavailable due to obstruction" appeared and the vehicle immediately decelerated drastically and the cruise control was disengaged and disabled. I had to react quickly to avoid a rear collision by accelerating rapidly. There were no vehicles in front of me or on either side. The cruise was disabled for about 4-5 minutes. This happened a total of 12 times in a 5. 5 hour trip. I googled the problem and realized that it was ongoing for many years and involved a recall on other vehicles, but not mine. I took it to a dealer where they indicated a faulty icc module that I am having to replace at a cost of over 00. (it is being fixed today so I do not have the invoice yet.) this is dangerous and should be a recall part before someone gets killed or seriously injured. *tr
CategoryElectronic Stability Control, Service Brakes, Vehicle Speed Control
DateMay 18, 2020
StateKS
Description
I was driving for the first time in this vehicle on interstate with cruise control activated and the car sensor speed control set to the lowest setting. I changed lanes to pass a car, and after passing, signaled to return back to the lane. The car suddenly beeped and a warning appeared "front radar unavailable due to obstruction" and the car suddenly deactivated the cruise control and braked. There were no vehicles in front or beside me. I floored the accelerator so that the car behind me didn't hit me. It happened several more times, so I turned off the cruise control until I could safely stop and check the manual to see what happened. I googled the warning and immediately saw that this was a common problem. On my return home it happened at least 8 times with no warning in a 3 hour trip. The cruise control remains deactivated for a period of time before you can engage it again. *tr
CategoryService Brakes, Unknown Or Other
DateApr 27, 2020
StateNY
Description
Whether it be a few seconds after driving, or a minute or two, the warning 'unavailable front radar obstruction' appears on the dash board. This indicates that the automatic collision avoidance system has been disabled. This is the radar system that monitors the distance between the vehicle and any object in front of it, that first alerts the driver if they are approaching an object ahead rapidly and if no action is taken on the drivers part, will then try to slow the vehicle down by applying the brakes to help avoid or mitigate the impact of a collision. This system is not supposed to automatically turn itself off. This happens every single time the vehicle is used and seems to be a well documented phenomenon by murano owners, through unofficial nissan murano forums, as well as here on digital trends 'https://www. Digitaltrends. Com/cars/faulty-radars-compromising-nissan-emergency-braking-system/? Amp' with the 2015-2018 nissan murano and other nissan vehicles.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateMar 17, 2020
StateIL
Description
Sunlight reflects off a ridge near the back of the hood directly into the driver's eyes.
CategoryElectronic Stability Control, Service Brakes, Vehicle Speed Control
DateMar 13, 2020
StateMS
Description
While driving my 2018 nissan murano, all of a sudden my vehicle began to de-accelerate and lost it's ability to accelerate. I immediately attempted to pull onto the median of the highway and realized that my brakes were malfunctunctioning, but by then my vehicle was at such a low speed that the brakes were able to stop my vehicle when the peddle was depressed all the way to the floorboard. Three warning lights were indicated on my warning screen and my rpm indicator was bouncing up and down. I called my dealership (my vechicle, was still under factory warranty) and they directed me to a number to call for towing services. In the meantime, I cranked my car several times, and each time the same warning lights were on, the rpm indicator continued to bounce, and the vehicle's engine was geared up while the vehicle was shaking. After my vehicle was taken to the dealerhip (petro nissan in hattiesburg,ms) they told me that the only way they could diagnose and repair the malfunction was to "replicate the malfunction in my vehicle". After three days, the dealership said that the malfunction was not replicated so there was nothing the dealership could to repair the malfunction. The dealership also refused to furnish me with a loaner car because the malfunction wasn't diagnosed. So, I am now in a situation where my car remains unsafe to operate, but I cannot in good conscience sell or trade it in and allow someone to operate this dangerous vehicle. I am in a very precarious situation but cannot afford to simply sideline this vehicle and purchase another. Nissan is forcing me to operate a vehicle which is a danger to the occupants of this vehicle and to those others on the streets and highways.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateMar 02, 2020
StateAR
Description
Front collision sensor unavailable obstruction this warning and the orange crash light symbol randomly lights up and beeps when there are no other vehicles, pedestrians or objects around me. It happens randomly when driving down an open highway.
CategoryElectrical System, Electronic Stability Control, Unknown Or Other
DateFeb 26, 2020
StateTX
Description
I own a 2018 nissan murano sl. There is a front senor issue that I have been experiencing ever since I purchased the vehicle, in november 12, 2019. Every time I drive it, without fail. Seemingly random, I get an error message: "front radar obstructed" warning appears on panel. The "collision warning system inactive" icon light comes on. After a few minutes, the warning message goes off; the collision warning system light goes off. This error continues to happen again almost every ten minutes after the initial error message for the duration of my car trip. It doesn't seem to matter if I'm traveling on a highway or country road.... Or even at a complete stop.... It still happens no matter what, as long as the vehicle is turned on.
CategoryVehicle Speed Control
DateFeb 07, 2020
StateVA
Description
Intelligent forward collision warning system randomly shuts off.
CategoryService Brakes
DateJan 10, 2020
StateVA
Description
Tl* the contact owned a 2018 nissan murano. The contact stated that while his wife was driving approximately 50 mph, when attempting to press the brake pedal in order to stop for an oncoming turning vehicle when the brakes failed. The contact stated that they ended up crashing into the turning vehicle causing the vehicle to bounce off of the other vehicle and hit a nearby guardrail. The airbags did deploy and smoke emitted from them. The police were contacted. A police report was filed. The vehicle was towed and deemed totaled. The contact stated their wife needed to be cut out the vehicle and taken to the hospital via ambulance. The wife sustained injuries to their right leg, ankle, and the rib area. The contact who was the passenger received injuries to their left knee and head where medical attention was needed. The contact had not contacted the dealer however prior to the failure being experienced the vehicle had a 21,000 mile inspection. The vehicle had not been diagnosed. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The approximate failure mileage was 22,000. *dt
CategoryElectrical System, Service Brakes
DateDec 27, 2019
StateFL
Description
Car brakes hard all the sudden, almost cause me a accident, I clean the sensor thinking it qas dirt is doing the same thing. Also when that happens the center screen goes off I lose the radio. I have to turn off the car and on again.
CategoryService Brakes
DateDec 19, 2019
StateFL
Description
Forward collision system keeps malfunctioning. Shows a warning 'front radar unavailable due to obstruction,' message. Nothing in front of it. Turns on and off while driving. Happens at all different speeds. Has been happening for several weeks and getting worse. Was told 00 to repair from dealer.
CategoryVehicle Speed Control
DateDec 16, 2019
StateIL
Description
Forward collision system turns off on a regular basis as you are driving.
CategoryService Brakes, Unknown Or Other, Vehicle Speed Control
DateDec 15, 2019
StateWI
Description
Purchased 2018 nissan morano sl suv on 12/14/2019. Driving from dealer on 4 lane highway, approx. 3 mi., dashboard displayed 'unavailable front radar obstruction'. It has randomly displayed this ever since. Nissan dealer stated they have been 'desensitizing' the radar as a remedy but denied having any previous knowledge of this defect.
CategoryElectronic Stability Control, Service Brakes, Unknown Or Other
DateDec 09, 2019
StateNY
Description
When driving in cruise control, the vehicle will suddenly flash a signal stating "front radar obstruction, unavailable" which disengages the braking system while driving in cruise control, . This almost caused a major accident on the highway because the radar failed to alert and automaticall slow car down. This also causes a hazard when driving on regular streets as all of a sudden the signal flashes inexplicably and unpredictably which causes a distraction while driving.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateDec 02, 2019
StateOR
Description
Unavailable front radar obstruction pops up randomly while driving around town or highways, freeways or anyplace. It is faulty, causing the emergency braking system to not work. Because it does not work, neither will using cruise control - a basic accessory for the past several decades! The ebs has been going off and on for quite some time and I figured I'd have it checked at the next maintenance appointment (1 week ago). They found it to be faulty and replaced a distance sensory unit. Within about 20 miles the ebs quit working again. It has been this way for most of the week but I have not taken it in due to the holidays. Today I had to drive over 100 miles and was unable to use cruise control because the ebs system did not work the entire time. The crash light comes on,
CategorySeat Belts
DateNov 26, 2019
StateLA
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2018 nissan murano. The contact stated that the chime was inaudible when the seat belt was not latched. The vehicle was taken to orr nissan shreveport (844-244-2459, located at 1240 e bert kouns industrial loop, shreveport, la 71105) where it was diagnosed that the model vehicle was not equipped with a chime. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure was not remedied. The failure mileage was approximately 20,000.
CategoryVehicle Speed Control
DateNov 11, 2019
StateCO
Description
Unavailable front radar obstructed errors appear on dash about every 10-15 minutes while driving. If the cruise is on, it disables the cruise setting and the car immediately slows down. Emergency braking is also disabled when this error happens. If a car is following while driving at 70mph and the cruise disengages this could cause a rear end collision to happen.
CategoryElectrical System, Electronic Stability Control, Vehicle Speed Control
DateNov 03, 2019
StateGA
Description
Unavailable front radar obstruction error intermittently . Cruise control is disabled.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine
DateOct 28, 2019
StateMA
Description
Front/side impact warning unavailable light. Although it did not happen in my vehicle it can cause the car to slow even at high rates of speed.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateOct 28, 2019
StateAR
Description
The vehicle caught on fire next to the abs system resulting in total loss of vehicle and near personal injury a quality defect caused the fire . Many photos available!
CategoryElectrical System
DateOct 14, 2019
StateKS
Description
While driving, a safety light keeps coming 'unavailable front radar obstruction'. This happens even without anything blocking the radar. This also controls the cruise control and if not working cc gets disabled. It also controls emergency braking.
CategoryVehicle Speed Control
DateOct 14, 2019
StateMN
Description
Warning comes on "unavailable front radar", happens no matter what the outside conditions. Disables the cruise control. Sometimes I can recycle and the cruise will start to work again and sometimes I have to wait several minutes to be able to reactivate. Automatic braking is also disabled during this time. Happens at any speed.
CategoryService Brakes, Vehicle Speed Control
DateOct 08, 2019
StateGA
Description
I just purchased a 2018 nissan murano platinum "as is" with no warranty. After driving I am now noticing a beep and message across dash that says "unavailable front radar obstructed." cruise control is not even on. I researched the problem and found it is a very widespread problem with several nissan models. I am so frustrated now. I am afraid to use cruise control which I like to use from time to time when traveling. If there is a fix I don't feel that I should have to pay for it. This is a problem nissan has known about due to a defective part. Not sure where to go from here or what to do.
CategoryElectrical System
DateOct 06, 2019
StateKS
Description
The automatic emergency braking sensor comes on without reason and then will not disengage. It also will not turn off if you choose to disable it. It also kicks you out of cruise control if you have it on. This happened daily at all speeds and making all sorts of maneuvers including turning right or left after being stopped at a light and driving down a highway without any vehicle in front of me.
CategoryVehicle Speed Control
DateOct 04, 2019
StateOH
Description
Intelligent cruise control front radar sensor continuously alarming for obstruction which renders the cruise control unusable and does not provide any front crash protection. This occurs anytime I am following a car and move to pass a car, the system will alarm for obstruction which can take up to 1/2 hour before it resets.
CategoryVehicle Speed Control
DateOct 03, 2019
StateLA
Description
On any roadway (city street highway interstate in motion) warning light displays unavailable front radar obstruction while cruise control is on. Then cuts cruise control off and slows vehicle down. Warning continues intermittently while driving with cruise control off or on. Cruise control will not work with warning on. If vehicle is turned off and restarted light turns off only to return again. Seems to be when driving 40 mph or above that this happens. Checked vehicle and there is no obstruction.
CategoryElectrical System, Service Brakes, Vehicle Speed Control
DateAug 16, 2019
StateCO
Description
Obstacle radar failure (front) - vehicle in motion ; "city street" " driving straight " dash warning ; front collision radar obstructed. No obstruction noted by dot certified inspector . Inspector witnessed warning on dash while vehicle in motion - warning occurred approximately every 10 minutes while in motion on city streets ... Warning occurred regardless to whether there was surrounding traffic in the vicinity .
CategoryVehicle Speed Control
DateAug 16, 2019
StateTN
Description
When entering certain intersections, there is almost 100% probability that I get the following message: 'unavailable front radar obstruction'. It's happening every day on the same spots and the number of these spots is growing. This causes the radar to be not working for about 3 minutes. It's been happening for about a year or so. The last time just less then 2 hours ago.
CategoryService Brakes
DateAug 07, 2019
StateTX
Description
I bought my 2018 nissan murano on jan 31, 2019. The car was supposedly built with all safety features and I felt good about it until I started getting the message "unavailable front radar obstruction". This affects the abs and can also affect the cruise control if being used on the highways. It's a serious issue that can inadvertently cause accidents. This is a known and well advertised issue on nissan's website. I sincerely hope the company will correct the issue whatever it takes to assure the vehicle is safe on the road. *tr
CategorySeat Belts
DateJul 27, 2019
StateMO
Description
The driver & front passenger seat belts are located behind the seats off the floor of the rear passenger seats, so when anyone is sitting behind the driver or passenger the feet of the rear passengers can be placed on the seat belts causing the front passengers to be restrained.
CategoryService Brakes, Vehicle Speed Control
DateJul 15, 2019
StateMI
Description
While driving, a safety light keeps coming 'unavailable front radar obstruction'. This happens even without anything blocking the radar. This also controls the cruise control and if not working cc gets disabled. It also controls emergency braking.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJul 01, 2019
StateGA
Description
The censor is defective on my vehicle. The censor has been replaced twice. I purchased this vehicle new and now I feel very unsafe driving it because the censor defectiveness can cause the vehicle to stop in traffic.
CategoryElectrical System
DateJun 28, 2019
StateKY
Description
While driving the automatic stop system fails, a warning flashes on the dashboard to indicate the problem: 'front radar unavailable due to obstruction.'
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateJun 08, 2019
StateAL
Description
I was driving around 50 miles an hour, heard a small pop sound then my sunroof exploded. Glass rained down on me causing me to swerve and almost wreck. I was on the highway at the time with no vehicle in front of me.
CategoryVehicle Speed Control
DateJun 07, 2019
StateFL
Description
June 7 2019 murano platinum 21,470 miles driving @various speeds, in any weather, a warning light comes on that reads "front radar unavailable due to obstruction". I have checked the sensor and nothing is obstructing it. It will stay on for a few minutes and then shut off, only to come on again. When this happens, the cruise control shuts off without warning creating a hazardous situation in traffic with sudden deceleration. This warning comes on multiple times during any normal driving on street, highways, byways, or standing still. - inverness, fl, usa
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJun 03, 2019
StateGA
Description
While driving along approximately 5 mph along a city street approaching a traffic light ready to stop, I heard this really loud noise sounding like a gunshot or similar loud noise. The sunroof was closed, however, it exploded the front sliding glass of the sunroof, and I was very surprised. At first I had no idea what h ad taken place, I then heard loud air noises coming in the car. I checked to make sure all the doors and windows were closed tightly. I decided to strop and check the outside of the vehicle, and noticed the large hole in the sunroof. I had drive home about 35 miles with the broken glass sliding around in the shade between the sunroof and the car. I had no idea how this could have happened. The next day I took it to the body shop, and they stated that I shouldn't be driving it like this because it would be very dangerous if the broken glass would suddenly break through the shade, and the glass would fall directly into the auto and on me and the passenger. I don't have any pictures at this time,,however the body shop has.
CategoryService Brakes
DateMay 15, 2019
StateIN
Description
Cruise control is inoperable and automatic emergency braking system (aeb) is deactivated. Warning comes on stating 'front radar unavailable due to obstruction.' nissan service department indicated on warranty service invoice that problem is related to sensor unit and noted "replace adas".
CategoryElectronic Stability Control, Engine, Unknown Or Other
DateMay 08, 2019
StateCA
Description
I was driving in the fast lane on the freeway, and for no apparent reason, the car shut down, then immediately started up again. I was fearful that I was going to get hit from behind, so immediately went to the slow lane. I drove the car to and from my destination with no further incident, but fear it might happen again.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateApr 18, 2019
StateCT
Description
Sunroof exploded. Driving on the highway and the sunroof suddenly shattered and glass showered the interior of the vehicle. This was not caused by impact with an object. There were no overpasses, nearby trees, open trucks, or other likely sources of debris. The road and weather conditions were excellent (sunny, high 70s). This defect presented a significant safety issue.
CategoryExterior Lighting
DateMar 30, 2019
StateMO
Description
I called nissan today to register my complaint. They have not gotten back to me yet. They requested my vin and proof of ownership, and took my complaint, and will have someone call me. They asked me if I had taken the car to a mechanic. I have not, as the headlights are functioning mechanically correctly (not dim, no bulbs out, etc.) however, there is a serious design flaw that decreases visibility and makes driving at night dangerous. The low beam headlights only shine about 30 feet ahead of the vehicle. There is a sharp delineated black shadow after that (no diffuse light). If you are on a flat grade, the problem is not as noticeable. However, as you go up a hill or even a small grade, or down a hill, or make a corner, the low beams shine brightly for 30 feet in front of the car, and then there is an area of total blackness in front of that. It's not the kind of light that slowly diffuses, and then gets dark, it is a sharp cut-off, of total lack of visibility. If you're traveling even 30 miles an hour, that is not enough visual distance to be driving safely. I have also called a nissan service center and they said that they "had heard of the problem", and I could try adjusting my headlights in an upward direction. So my husband turned them up about 4-6 inches (we were shining the headlights on the siding on our house, for a reference line). This caused the distance that the headlights would shine to become around 50 feet. Still not acceptable for driving safely. This is dangerous, and I hope there is a fix for this problem. My guess is that I will probably be sent to a nissan dealer, who will say there is nothing wrong, and then my next guess is nissan will say since there is no problem to fix, that the equipment if fine, and they won't do anything. I'm probably going to have to sell this car at a loss. I'm very upset with this situation.
CategoryVehicle Speed Control
DateJan 18, 2019
StateCT
Description
While driving @various speeds, in clear weather, a warning light comes on and states "front radar unavailable due to obstruction". I have pulled over and checked the sensor and have never found anything obstructing it. It will stay on for a few miles and then shut off, only to come on again. When this happens, the cruise control shuts off without warning creating a safety situation in traffic with sudden deceleration. This warning comes on multiple times during most trips.
CategoryVehicle Speed Control
DateJan 08, 2019
StateIN
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2018 nissan murano. While driving with the cruise control activated, a warning indicator illuminated on the speedometer. Suddenly, the cruise control became inoperable. The vehicle was taken to tom naquin chevrolet nissan cadillac (2500 w lexington ave, elkhart, in 46514) where they stated that they were aware of the failure; however, nissan had not issued a recall. The vehicle was taken back and forth to the dealer several times. The manufacturer was notified, but did not assist. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The failure mileage was 14.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateDec 26, 2018
StateIN
Description
Frontal collision warning system continuously turns off while driving car. When this happens it also causes the cruse control to turn off. When traveling at highway speeds this causes the vehicle to rapidly slow down on the highway without the brake lights coming on. This potentially could cause a chain reaction accident. The problem occurs every time the car is driven . Nissan knows of the problem but does not have a fix for it. They continue to say the problem is under engineering review. The problem has been on nissan vehicles for at least two years and nissan continues to produce vehicles that they know has a safety problem.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateNov 26, 2018
StateIL
Description
The rear spoiler of this vehicle was disconnected (torn apart) from the main body while I was driving in a high way with my new-born baby. Person in an auto-shop told me this car was already bad-made and it was already loosely connected. Nissan didn't take my case seriously.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateNov 14, 2018
StateNY
Description
Emergency breaking system keeps flashing a warning. Front radar unavailable due to obstruction
CategorySteering, Suspension
DateNov 07, 2018
StateCA
Description
All the noises occur occasionally and not all the time: 1. Steering column makes a metal clunking noise while turning and accelerating on cold start. Occurs when pulling out from driveway or parking spot. 2. Steering column makes a metal clunking noise when accelerating from a complete stop. Occurs when car is already warmed up, driven for 10 mins. 3. Steering column makes a metal clunking noise when going into driveway or bumps. Occurs when car is already fully warmed up, driven for more than 10 mins. Brought into nissan stevens creek, said there was nothing visually wrong, went for a test drive, couldn't replicate, said they would lubricate steering column. Monitor until problem gets worse. Brought into nissan dublin, said they inspected steering components and torqued everything, could not find anything wrong. Stated, I still had warranty, if things went wrong. My concern is that something is not connected properly in the suspension or steering column which could result in a crash if I am going on the highway or backroads through the snow.
CategoryElectronic Stability Control, Service Brakes
DateOct 30, 2018
StateFL
Description
I own a 2018 nissan murano sv (vin [xxx]). It has approximately 17,500 miles. The automated emergency braking (aeb) is malfunctioning. I am receiving an error message in the dash display that the aeb disabled even though it has been engaged in the settings menu. No matter how many times I engage the system I keep receiving the error message that the system is disabled. I understand this may be a problem with the radar units. I am sending this message as documentation that there seems to be a problem with these units. Sincerely, [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the freedom of information act (foia), 5 u. S. C. 552(b)(6). *tr
CategoryVehicle Speed Control
DateOct 30, 2018
StateTX
Description
The abe warning light (orange) displays and the warning message 'unavailable front radar obstruction' appears randomly. This happens sporadically and intermittently while driving under various conditions (highway, street, turning, lane changes, straight ahead in one lane, seems to be at speeds of 40 mph and above and occurs with cruise control activated or not activated ). After pulling over, stopping and turning the vehicle off, the warning light does go off. The abe warning light also will go off on its own within a few minutes without having stopped the vehicle. In any case, upon inspection of the area of the front bumper where the sensor is located, there is no obstruction (no dirt or other substance or object). Note: if this warning scenario occurs while the cruise control is activated, the cruise control is instantly inactivated and the car begins to slow immediately. This problem started around september 2018. I purchased the car in december 2017.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance
DateSep 24, 2018
StateTN
Description
Radar sensor issue started about 6 weeks, started getting message front radar unavailable, it wound show for a few seconds then go away, in the last two weeks it has increased to 2-3 times a day ( I was driving 5-10 miles daily) yesterday we drove about 40 miles and it happened at least 6 times. I called nissan where I had made my purchase in march 2018 and the lady advised there had been several of these situations happening. We have a service appointment on oct 2 2018
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance, Vehicle Speed Control
DateSep 17, 2018
StateDC
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2018 nissan murano. While driving various speeds, the cruise control disengaged without warning. The contact stated that the cruise control feature of the vehicle was controlled by a collision control system, which malfunctioned while on an incline and while driving various speeds on a bridge. Each time the failure occurred, the vehicle decelerated without any warning or brake lights illuminated. The dealer was not made aware of the failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and provided the contact with case number: 32755178. The failure mileage was approximately 500. *dt *js
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateSep 10, 2018
StateFL
Description
Each time the vehicle is driven a warning pops up indicating "unavailable front radar obstruction". Happens every time the vehicle is driven.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateAug 28, 2018
StateCA
Description
Silver border around side air vents reflects strongly in the side window and obscures the view in the sideview mirrors. This is a safety issue as it could obscure the view of a bicycle or motorcycle and a black vent border should be provided to resolve this issue.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJul 11, 2018
StateTX
Description
Current mileage is 9,900. Three times now while driving on the highway, the a/c stops blowing through the air vents in the cabin, even though the compressor is still audible in the dash. Three times I have visited the dealer for service and have been sent home three times saying they cannot duplicate the issue. Of course they can't because this in an intermittent problem that happens after an hour of driving on the highway. When the service tech finally gets to the car to begin the diagnosis, the car is cold and works fine. I filed a complaint with nissan corporate and they said the same, they could not authorize a repair until a dealer could duplicate the problem and document it. I even took a video with my phone of the issue live when it happened on the highway while my wife was driving. In the video, you can see the air is not blowing a piece of paper in front of the vent but the a/c is set to max and turned on full blast.
CategoryWheels
DateJul 10, 2018
StateNV
Description
While in traffic on a freeway travelling around 25 mph my back left tire exploded. I heard the boom but did not know what it was. I had not hit anything and was not knocked off course. Fortunately with traffic backed up I was travelling at a lower speed than normal. Shortly after a warning signal came on indicating my back left tire had 00 pressure. My new murano only had 1630 miles on it before the tire blew out. I drove about a mile to an area safe to pull over. A highway patrolman assisted with the removal of the tire. We did not see any damage to the tire. He mentioned it was likely the bead seal wasn't sealed correctly. He wanted to test my other tires but because there was evidence of nitrogen in the tires he chose not to. My tire pressures were around 44 in two tires and 46 in the others before the blowout. I had just taken my car for the first oil change at the nissan dealership I bought my car at maybe two weeks before this and they mentioned they adjusted my tire pressure.
CategorySeat Belts
DateMay 23, 2018
StateTX
Description
I contacted peltier nissan last week to schedule repair of the audible alert for drivers side seat belt. I am getting no audible alarm when driving down the road without my seatbelt hooked. I brought the car in today, may 23, 2018 and they had the car for over 4 hours. When they called, the service personnel told me that they checked other 2018 cars on the lot and none of them had an audible seatbelt alert either, so the vehicle is fine. Stating it's not supposed to 'ding' if you don't hook your seatbelt, that it's only supposed to give you a visual alert. They wrote this on the report and wrote 'normal operation', ' no action'. When I got home my husband called the nhtsa to ask about federal law regarding this, however, the person didn't know the law and referred us to call nissan! (that's scary). So my husband called nissan main office, and the lady looked up the specs and told us that "yes, the vehicle is supposed to have an audible alert". We then looked it up in our manual, and the manual states there is an audible and visual alert for the driver and passenger side when seatbelt is not hooked. This is disturbing that your agent didn't know the law, and that nissan has even more cars on the lot with no audible warning. My car dings when the lights are left on, door is open, or keys are left, but they think it's ok that it doesn't alert me when I'm zooming down the highway with no seatbelt on? I believe an investigation needs to be done, as this is a huge safety issue and liability on their part.
CategoryService Brakes
DateMay 22, 2018
StatePA
Description
The automatic emergency braking warning light came on 14 times throughout the day while driving. There were no other cars around and there was no apparent reason that the chime & warning light should have come on.
CategoryExterior Lighting
DateFeb 23, 2018
StateTN
Description
I have a problem with the low beam headlights. I was driving down a back road ( no street lights) when I noticed that my low beam headlights only illuminated about 50 or 60 feet in front of the vehicle. It appears that after the 50 or 60 feet my headlights are blacked out like a screen is in front of the headlights. This almost caused me to miss a turn and run off the road. The issue is that when on unlit streets at night you will only see what is directly in front of your car. Any speed at all will cause you to overdrive your headlights. I called nissan and lodged a complaint and laurie said since it's by design they have nothing to with it anymore. This is a dangerous situation for people driving the rural backroads of america.

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.

 

Share your story

Does this ring a bell? Have you had a bad experience too? Sound off and share your experience with other visitors in the comment box below.

Brian Jones

About the Author:

Brian Jones spent more than 20 years working as an ASE Certified Master Tech and Parts Specialist at multiple dealerships. Brian has become an authority in the industry, traveling across the country to consult for car dealerships and contributing his expertise as a writer for several major automotive publications. In his spare time, Brian enjoys working on pickup trucks, muscle cars, Jeeps and anything related to motorsports.

See more posts from Brian Jones
BE THE FIRST TO COMMENT

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead you can to our legal team.

Please select your star rating.

Briefly describe your experience Briefly describe your experience

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? Please enter a valid phone number

Want to know if you could sue? Get a free legal evaluation Lemberg Law?

Get Your No-Obligation
Case Evaluation

Send a secure message to our legal team.

What’s your name? What’s your name?
What’s your email address? What’s your email address?
What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?
Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem
Confidentiality Guarantee: We keep your information completely confidential and will not send you spam or sell your information.