2018 Kia Forte Problems and Top Complaints – Is Your Car A Lemon?

Vehicle speed control, powertrain and engine issues among the top complaints received by the NHTSA from vehicle owners

By Brian Jones | Updated on

By Brian Jones | Updated on

While examining various compact cars on the market, it’s tough to ignore the 2018 Kia Forte. It features a stylish appeal and boasts of exceptional performance. Even the automaker claims, “Forte breaks the rules, so you can rule the road.” While it’s clear that this model breaks some rules, it’s not in the way any owner wants to deal with. This car suffers from a malfunctioning engine, defective powertrain and faulty vehicle speed control.

Click on other model year to view more problems: 2017   2019   2020   2021   2022

Don’t be stuck with a lemon. You have legal rights to cash, return or buyback.

The law makes Kia pay legal fees.

We've fixed thousands of lemon problems. Message or call 877-795-3666 today.

NHTSA Complaints for the 2018 Kia Forte

Complaint CategoryNumber of Complaints
Engine
19
Unknown Or Other
13
Air Bags
8
Electrical System
7
Vehicle Speed Control
6
Power Train
6
Fuel/propulsion System
5
Exterior Lighting
3
Structure:body
3
Engine And Engine Cooling
3

Problems with the Engine

What’s the most important part of any new car? It could be argued that the engine is most critical above all other systems. For a car to be considered durable, it must contain a motor that’s functional and reliable. That’s not the case with the 2018 Kia Forte.

Just look at this NHTSA complaint. “I have had my brand new Kia Forte for 8 months starting in April. I currently have 16,581 miles on the car. About a month ago my ECO light came on by itself and there was no way to turn it off so I had to take it to the Kia where they unscrewed my battery and it went off. Now I am having problems with my car not wanting to turn on and after taking a trip to Auto Zone we found out that it was the crank shaft. I am having problems with a brand new car that I have only had for eight months. I was driving when my engine light came on so I became really concerned and that’s what forced me to have to go to Auto Zone to see why my engine light was on.”

When the AutoZone employees know more about what’s going on with a car than Kia technicians, there is something seriously wrong. It could also be that Kia simply doesn’t want to deal with the problem. It appears that they have other engine issues on their plate. Service Bulletin #PS067_R1 discusses how some engines were placed in vehicles without the proper steel sealing balls in place. How does an engine leave the production plant without the right components installed? Is it part of the company’s “breaking the rules” tactic?

Here are some actual complaints logged with the NHTSA about the 2018 Kia Forte Engine Problems:

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2018 KIA FORTE. WHILE DRIVING, THE CHECK ENGINE INDICATOR ILLUMINATED AND THE VEHICLE STALLED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO POMONA KIA WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THERE WERE METAL SHAVINGS IN THE ENGINE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED AND PROVIDED CASE NUMBER: 13235167. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 34,000.

Problems with the Transmission

Another vital part of any vehicle is the powertrain. One of the main components of this system is the transmission, which clearly has problems in the Forte as well.

This NHTSA user says, “This problem happened 2 times this week and on 2 separate days while I was driving and since I only drive this car once or twice a week, this has me concerned. The car started ok and drove for a couple of miles just fine when suddenly the car felt like I was trying to drive while the car was in neutral and even with my foot was on the gas pedal the car wasn’t going anywhere. I pulled off the road to get out of the flow of traffic and tried to put the shift lever in a different gear but it was stuck in Drive even when my foot was firmly on the brake pedal, so I tried to jiggle it a little from left to right but the shift lever wouldn’t really move so I just sat there. After a few minutes I made an attempt to safely pull out into traffic and the car hesitated a little but then drove fine. When this happened the first time this week I ignored it and treated it as a one time only issue, but then it happened a second time so I got concerned and made an appointment with [dealer] to have this checked out.”

It appears that Kia also has several transmission concerns. Service Bulletin #TSBTRA078 talks about the need for a TCU update whenever the Dual Clutch Transmission Assembly, Double Clutch Set or Transmission Control Unit is replaced. This is done to prevent shift shock, which shouldn’t be a concern on new vehicles. It’s going to be hard for this model to rule the road if it can’t even pull out in traffic effectively.

Here are some actual complaints logged with the NHTSA about the 2018 Kia Forte Powertrain Problems:

I’VE HAD MY CAR SINCE 38 MILES. THIS IS MY SECOND YEAR OWNING IT. IT HAS BEEN WELL KEPT AND IT STARTED HAVING PROBLEMS ABOUT A MONTH AGO THAT HAS GOTTEN WORSE. IT SHAKES REALLY BAD AT 30MPH AND STAYS IN 6TH GEAR. IT ALSO HAS MAJOR PROBLEMS PICKING UP SPEED AND SHIFTING IN GENERAL. SOMETIMES IT JUST STALLS AND DONT GO. WHEN SWITCHING LANES ON THE INTERSTATE IT SLOWS WAY DOWN AND DOESN’T SHIFT. IT DOESN’T MATTER MY SPEED. FROM 10-50MPH AND UP IT SKIPS GEARS AND STALLS.

Problems with the Vehicle Speed Control

Finally, it’s time to look at the vehicle speed control of this car. If this system malfunctions, danger awaits and that’s precisely what the customers claim is happening.

One NHTSA review states, “Vehicle was in my driveway, had to move car forward to get into my trunk as I was only going a few feet I got into car leaving door partial open with my left leg hanging out. As I started the car it instantaneously surged forward 10 to 12 feet into my garage, pinning my leg between the door and the rocker panel. After coming to a stop running into a cabinet in the garage, I slammed the car in reverse backing out of garage. After getting out of car I could see that my foot had been severely cut wide open. Shortly after my daughter drove me to the hospital to emergency care where I received 14 stitches on top of foot. Have been able to return to work for two weeks since 9/16/19 and may be another two to three weeks before able to return to work.”

There aren’t any manufacturer communications regarding the speed control, but there are many other complaints. Some of them even discuss the gas pedal getting stuck, forcing the car to continue moving forward. It appears if the Forte can’t rule the road by being a reliable vehicle, it is going to forcefully take action and run people over instead.

Here are some actual complaints logged with the NHTSA about the 2018 Kia Forte Cruise Control Problems:

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2018 KIA FORTE. WHILE DEPRESSING THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL, THE PEDAL FAILED TO RELEASE AND BECAME STUCK. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO A DEALER FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING OR REPAIRS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 1,462.

Your Lemon Law Legal Rights

Think you have a lemon? Sit back and let the experts work out your lemon case at no cost to you. The law makes Kia pay legal fees. You may be able to get your lemon out of your life. Every year, auto manufacturers buy back, replace or pay cash settlements to thousands of ‘lemon’ owners like you.

Complaint Data

CategoryAir Bags, Electrical System
DateDec 01, 2022
StateMD
Description
I initially submitted a complaint on nov 6 with my 2018 kia about engine failure /possibly, my car was towed to darcars kia urbana pike in frederick md, I had just made an appointment with them b4 my car broke down to get the trunk & air bag recalls taken care of 11/09 my car sat there until yesterday, they never took care of the recalls? Regardless my engine /break down shouldn't they have fixed those issues? And I was told they would run diagnostic test on my car to figure out what happened, I never received anything other than them wanting me to pay 7,000 to fix my car ,or they would give me 500. If I wanted to sell they told my insurance agent I had engine failure from normal wear and tear? I didn't know they only expect their kias to run 100,000k also got a bill with absolutely no explanation of why I was charged,they clearly are playing a game- I called kia america who left me on hold over 2 hrs until I hung up,also emailed them about my recalls not being taken care of - they said it's not their problem, I'm assuming I should get a lawyer now
CategoryEngine, Unknown Or Other
DateNov 15, 2022
StateMI
Description
The 2018 kia forte lx that my daughter is the primary driver of (but I am on the loan) engine light has been on for several weeks and it has also had trouble starting, resulting in several days of missed work. We have taken it to two mechanics, whose partial diagnosis was that it needed a new timing chain kit which we had done on november 1, 2022 along with new spark plugs. However the engine light continues to stay on, with a loud idle and trouble starting. We took it back to the mechanic and after checking everything he could think of, he advised us that there is definitely an oil pressure issue and that we should take it to the kia dealership and ask about a silent recall on the engine/oil pump. The issues we are having with the vehicle exactly match nhtsa recall no. 21v-260; manufacturers recall no. Sc210, however it is not showing up on my vin number. I fear that this is only getting worse and as recall sc210 states, if the vehicle is continually operated with this condition, the engine can be damaged (if not already) and loss of motive power may occur, increasing the risk of a crash. I have also attached part 573 safety recall report 21v-260. Your consideration in this matter would be greatly appreciated as we feel it applies to our vehicle and that we shouldn't have to spend even more than what we have already spent in repairs and job time loss. I can be contacted at [xxx] or by email at [xxx]. Sincerely, [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the freedom of information act (foia), 5 u. S. C. 552(b)(6).
CategoryEngine
DateNov 06, 2022
StateMD
Description
My kia broke down on the highway ,I believe the engine is blown ,no warning lights came on until the exact incident occurred. I wasn't able to get power from the accelerator and managed to pull to the side of the highway . My car had started a knocking noise a day and a half b4 the incident, I've seen online that my car model and year has had issues with engine failure ,so far kia has ignored my calls ,I was in touch on the day b4 incident
CategoryVisibility:defroster/defogger/hvac System
DateNov 03, 2022
StatePA
Description
The contact owns a 2018 kia forte. The contact stated that while driving at an undisclosed speed, the defroster failed to operate as needed. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic; however, the mechanic was unable to determine the cause of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 129,000.
CategoryElectrical System
DateOct 25, 2022
StateIL
Description
My vehicle was broken into and attempted to be stolen. My kia was made within the years that is a known issue that thieves can simply use a usb to start the car. There is no immobilizer switch on the ignition. This issue has caused a rise of 400% in thefts of kias and hyundais. I personally had to pay 8 to get it repaired and another 0 to have accurate security put in the car. Kia knows and has known that this is a defect in their manufacturing.
CategoryEngine
DateSep 22, 2022
StateMI
Description
The contact owns a 2018 kia forte. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the check engine warning light illuminated, and the vehicle stalled. The contact stated that the failure recurred three times in one day. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic to be diagnosed and the contact was informed that the timing chain had slipped, and the engine needed to be replaced. The dealer was not notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure however, the contact stated that he was left on hold for two hours without a call back. The failure mileage was approximately 136,000.
CategoryTires:tread/belt
DateSep 14, 2022
StateMO
Description
The contact owns a 2018 kia forte equipped with nexen tires, tire line: n 'priz ah8, tire size: 195/65/r15, dot number: e025. The contact stated that the vehicle was taken to the dealer for a recall repair and the mechanic noticed that all four tires had started to crack in the center of the tire with rotting to the tread. The contact stated that she had replaced the tires two years prior. The contact then stated that the dealer informed her that all four tires needed to be replaced. The tires were not replaced. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 32,215.
CategoryAir Bags
DateAug 16, 2022
StateUT
Description
The contact owns a 2018 kia forte. The contact stated while driving at 50 mph, the contact stated he rear-ended the vehicle in front of him causing damage to the front end of his vehicle and the air bags did not deploy. The contact had several cuts and bruises, but no medical attention was required and he stated that no one else was injured. It was unknown if a police report was filed. The vehicle was towed to a collision center. The contact stated he later find out that his vin was under recall nhtsa campaign number:22v031000(air bags) the dealer was not contacted, and the manufacturer was not contacted. The failure mileage was 64,000.
CategoryEngine
DateAug 16, 2022
StateIL
Description
Last fall my car would turn off while I was parked or driving at low speeds, I brought it to my kia dealership and they could not find an issue, it happed a few more time in the winter, then in this summer it started happing more and more, including when I was driving at low speeds, my car would turn off, the battery and check engine light would come on, I would have to put the car in park in the middle of the road, then turn it back on and all the lights would go off and it would drive perfect again. I brought it to my kia dealer again, they kept it all day and again found noting wrong. Now this care is turing off while I'm driving 2-3 times a day including while I'm on the highway in bumper to bumper traffic. Again when this happens I put the car in park take out the key, turn it back on and its fine. I have taken a few videos of this issue, and my dealer refuses to help anymore. This is an extremely dangerous situation that is putting my life in jeopardy because of a defect with this car
CategoryAir Bags
DateAug 08, 2022
StateIL
Description
The contact owns a 2018 kia forte. The contact stated while driving at 50 mph, the contact rear-ended the vehicle in front of her however the air bags failed to deploy. The air bag warning light was illuminated. A police report was not filed. The contact sustained injuries to her back but did not receive medical attention. A dealer was not contacted. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 22v031000 (air bags). The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was not available.
CategoryEngine
DateJul 18, 2022
StateMD
Description
I took my 2018 kia forte lx to get an oil change on june 28, 2022 at jiffy lube. A week after my oil change, I noticed that oil was leaking from my car. I went back to jiffy lube to have them inspect for a leak. I was informed that there was a puncture on the top of my oil pan and it would need to be replaced. I bought a new oil pan from advanced auto parts and had my mechanic change it. He informed me that it looked to be a manufacture defect. I googled recalls for 2018 kia forte's and saw there has been a recall for some models. Recall number sc210. I would like to know if I could be reimbursed for the oil pan. I have my receipt from advanced auto parts and I have pictures of the puncture. Also my mechanic put my old oil pan in a box, if that is needed as well.
CategoryExterior Lighting, Structure:body
DateJul 14, 2022
StateFL
Description
Water in the rear tail light. Dealer is trying to collect money from me, even though the other service tech said if it was not moisture but water retention that is would be under warranty. It is evident in the internet car forums that this has been happening to many current and previous forte models and a factory know defect. The other issue is the gas tank lid won't opened. I had it in to be checked 7 times. They've replaced the spring, the replaced the lid. The tech claimed yesterday that he couldn't replicate and when I picked up the car I couldn't open the gas tank lid.
CategoryEngine And Engine Cooling
DateJun 29, 2022
StateMN
Description
The contact owns a 2018 kia forte. The contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 21v260000 (engine and engine cooling) however, the part to do the recall repair was not yet available. The local dealer was contacted and it was confirmed that the part was not yet available. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.
CategoryEngine And Engine Cooling
DateJun 27, 2022
StateMN
Description
The contact owns a 2018 kia forte. The contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number 21v260000 (engine and engine cooling) however, the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The local dealer was contacted and it was confirmed that the part was not yet available. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJun 17, 2022
StateNJ
Description
I was driving on the parkway when I heard a rattling sound from the engine and white smoke started coming out of the back or the car. Car stopped accelerating and we pulled over (we didn't drive it for more than a minute once it started making that sound) all of the oil dumped out of the car on the side of the road and the engine seized and would not restart.
CategoryEngine, Engine And Engine Cooling
DateJun 13, 2022
StateTX
Description
The contact owns a 2018 kia forte. The contact stated while driving at various speeds, an unknown strong fume odor would emit from the vehicle without warning. The contact took the vehicle to kia at huffines mckinney (1201 n central expy, mckinney, tx 75069) where she was informed that oil in the engine had become sludge due to a lack of oil changes. The contact was informed that the repair for the vehicle would not be covered under the warranty. Months later, the contact stated that the check engine warning light had illuminated the instrument panel. The vehicle was taken to another dealer where two unknown recalls were serviced; the check engine warning light was no longer illuminated. Months later, the check engine warning light returned and the contact was informed that the vehicle needed a combustion chamber soak or an engine replacement. The manufacturer had yet to be notified of the failure. The vehicle had yet to be repaired. The failure mileage was 46,000.
CategoryAir Bags
DateMay 03, 2022
StateFL
Description
The contact owns a 2018 kia forte. The contact stated she was at standstill at a parking space when another vehicle backed into the front passenger side of the vehicle. The air bags did not deploy. The contact sustained a bulging disc on the neck, vertigo, and a concussion from the whiplash. The contact did not seek medical attention at the moment but did go to the hospital 8 days later. A police report was filed. The vehicle was not drivable. The vehicle was towed to the collision shop and had the bumper, the front passenger side headlight, and the steering column repair. The vehicle was repaired. The contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 22v031000 (air bags). The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. A dealer was not contacted. The manufacturer had been informed of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 17,000.
CategoryAir Bags, Exterior Lighting, Fuel/propulsion System
DateApr 15, 2022
StateGA
Description
I was told to come to service department on 2/22/2022 to change my indicator light because it was not working and had to be ordered in advance and for recall on trunk latch. The invoice said bulb was replaced and trunk lock and did multi point inspection. I asked her if everything was ok with my car she said yes but the next day I realized it indicator light was still not working. I got another recall to replace air bag. I called in and got a service appointment for 4/2/2022. I told them the indicator was still not working and I was having an oil leak. They said 5. 00 for inspection for leak, confirmed that one of the oil pan was leaking and would cost 0. 00 to replace but it was cover under warranty. I said ok. When I turned on car and try to drive out there was a funny scraping sound, one of the managers came out when he saw me stop and getting out of car and said it was because of the painted surface of the service entrance. The next day I looked at the invoice and saw that they did not replace the oil pan but had "scraped off factory rtv and replace it with fresh rtv and reinstalled oil pan." my indicator light still does not work. I am still having leak, pool is on my garage floor and also drips. I am worried now because I am not sure air bag was changed even when they said they had and have done another "multi-point vehicle inspection.
CategoryEngine, Fuel/propulsion System
DateMar 01, 2022
StateOH
Description
when driving the car will stall. I was in a parking lot moving forward at 3mph, hit the brakes and the car stalled. After work the other night, while exiting one freeway ti enter another driving about 45mph, the car just stall and shut off. I had to put it in neutral, turn the ignition to the off position(which turns the lights off), and restart the vehicle. This is extremly dangerous.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateFeb 06, 2022
StatePA
Description
Hi, I am reaching out due to the recall notice ever since my wife and I have owned our vehicle the trunk has always randomly opened or refused to open with or without the key or vehicle latch being engaged.
CategoryEngine
DateJan 07, 2022
StateIN
Description
The contact owns a 2018 kia forte. The contact stated while driving at 10 mph, the vehicle was approaching a train track when the vehicle suddenly lost motive power and stalled. No warning lights were illuminated. The contact was able to restart the vehicle and continue to drive to her residence. The contact had the vehicle towed to the local dealer to be diagnosed. The contact was informed that due to low oil consumption, the engine needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 51,000.
CategoryEngine, Fuel/propulsion System
DateDec 27, 2021
StateWA
Description
On 12/12/2021 my car stalled while driving. I started it up got to my destination, when leaving just a few minutes later it stalled again. On 12/13/2021 I was almost rear-ended when my car stalled while turning a corner on my way to work. On 12/14/2021 my car stalled two more times while driving. I have not driven it since. I had two different mechanics come and look at the car, both told me that the engine has failed. One mechanic found the engine recall on line. I contacted the dealership 3 times that week (twice via live chat and one direct phone call) each time directed to leave my information and someone would get back to me. I was finally able to speak to someone on 12/20. I explained what happened and was told that my vin doesn't have a recall because my car was made in mexico. I contacted a second dealership and was told the same thing.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateDec 06, 2021
StateIL
Description
I live in chicago it was approximately 35 degrees and raining out today, so I had my defrost on. I was in the line at a fast-food restaurant and I heard a crack noise. I looked at my windshield and there was a straight, horizontal line crack approximately 8-10 inches long. When I got out to look to see if something had hit my window, I saw that there were no impact chips and it is a crack that just begins at the very edge of the windshield going into the center. I took pictures but I have not done anything to stop the crack from spreading because I do not want to void my warranty or anything just in case. Kia already has this same issue happening with the 2020 kia tulleride.
CategoryLatches/locks/linkages:trunk Lid:latch
DateOct 21, 2021
StateFL
Description
My trunk will not open at all, I have had this issue since july and received a letter about recalls on certain kia fortes yet mine was not included in the recall.
CategoryLatches/locks/linkages
DateAug 18, 2021
StateOR
Description
The contact owns a 2018 kia forte. The contact stated that the trunk door latch would not securely latch when closed. The contact was on the way to the dealer to have the vehicle diagnosed. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 82,734.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateAug 06, 2021
StateMI
Description
While was driving the car kia forte spin out control or someone used an remote and became an hot engine but due to car getting repossession kia saying can't do nothing about it , my safety was put as risk due to car spinning out control and yes the car did deployed its airbags only driver side , no inspection due to kia saying they can't do nothing . It was 7 warnings lamps afterwards the incident , made an report on june 3, 2021 14164508 with kia consumers
CategoryTires:sidewall, Tires:tread/belt
DateJul 22, 2021
StateVA
Description
With less than 40,000 miles on the car/tires, one of the front tires blew on the highway. Discovered it blew out on the side wall and metal was showing, took the car in and had the tire replaced. We did not keep that tire because we didn't realize it was not an isolated incident. About 2 weeks later the same thing happened to the other front tire. Took the car in to have the other 3 replaced and was informed that one of the rear tires was in the same condition and we are lucky it didn't blow out on us. The car has only been inspected by the tire shop and we kept the tires this time for inspection of anyone that can help file some sort of recall or claim. There is still a good amount of tread on the tires. This could very well have caused serious injury or death to my family!
CategoryPower Train
DateApr 05, 2021
StateTX
Description
I took a rd trip and downloaded root just to track my adventures and maybe side with quote offered. I've been tracking miles since I got the car! Listening to its functions. There's something off for sure. The hr ride there with speed performance was ok. The night rd back on hwy was the ultimate mind shifter for an indication of the gears not properly shifting and picking up speed. As I road about 70mph I left laned to pass vehicles slowing on right. As I accelerated to pick up speed it topped off at 80! I continued to press gas petal slowly down till reached floor then I slowed and got back in the rt lane! Cruised it down to about 50 and put it in standard! 5th gear and sped up till gear change and put in 6th gear for ride. It did not puck up speed as it should've and it still stalled at 80!!!!!! There's more to this on small notes and I know something is off! I'm no crash dummy! The 2018 kia doesn't smoothly accelerate either from a stopped point. Acts as if there's horse power with easing on the gas from a stopped point. Also with a/c on driving it makes a wired noise after awhile. That happened twice where I turned it off. When manually driving it's like riding in standard without upshifting with the stick. Feels like I have to let off gas for it to properly change gears then accelerate. It's like the car does what it want and I have to work with it! That's scary! I haven't had the vehicle over a month! I told dealership where bought it from and they said if no lights came on there's pretty much nothing. Car doesn't even have 70,0000 miles on it!!! I'd hate not to prevent something seeing I explained this!
CategoryEngine
DateMar 25, 2021
StateVA
Description
I got my 18 kia was purchased with 25k miles on it and when it got around 72,000 miles the car started to shut off, make a grinding noise at times and the check engine light was on. I took the car to kia and gave them all my oil change receipts. They said I was missing 1 maybe 2 so it wouldn't be covered. So picked the vehicle up took it by o riley's where they tested it and said it was a crank shaft sensor we replaced that and it did not fix the problem. We've been driving it because it's our only form of transportation so today my husband was driving it and thankfully not going very fast when it cut off, my husband tried to put it in neutral to restart and ended up going down a hill and hit a tree. Kia needs to do something about this issue! My husband could have been really hurt and thank god I was not in it I'm pregnant nor my 2 small children. This has really made me not ever want another kia or will I ever recommend one to a friend or family member! What's kia waiting for to fix this problem? Someone to die first because the car cuts off in traffic and you get slammed!!! What if this was a teenage in their first car they would not know what to do I barley know what to do when it stalls I'm traffic. Just ridiculous!*dt
CategoryElectrical System, Engine, Power Train
DateJan 18, 2021
StateTX
Description
Note: the individual submitting this statement of facts is prepared and willing to testify before congress or any court of law that all of which that is contained within this submission is based on facts and truth . Also let it be known a degree in "applied science in automotive & diesel technology and advanced drill fluids technology & engineering" is held by this individual and the later degree deals with the construction and engineering of newtonian and non-newtonian fluids (I. E.> water based and oil based fluids such as a engine oil ) is well within the individuals understanding of the molecular construction and deconstruction of elements . I was approached by a friend who had a situation that required quick action if any hopes of a remedy were to prevail , and the end result for myself would be owning a 2018 kia forte . The said vehicle had a total of 41,117 miles calculated and displayed on the information display attached to the instrument cluster . The vehicle was well maintained by the kia dealership as promised up to the warranty period of 12000 miles as promised by kia , at no extra charge to the customer. Afterwards the 1st original owner would continue the schedules service as outlined in the owners manual . This maintenance service would always be performed at the owners usual trusted repair shop and if not within the area at the time service was needed , a reputable repair shop would be the choice . With a well maintained vehicle in my possession I soon experienced an engine failure due to metal shavings causing poor oil circulation and paired with several other factors causing sludge build up which rendered my vehicle garbage . The dealership claimed it was due to negligence and improper maintenance . The failure happened while my children were in the vehicle during a thunderstorm with flash flooding . "satisfaction guarantee" is a lie !
CategoryEngine
DateDec 04, 2020
StateOH
Description
53,000 no warning was driving along a highway car started to knock. Then all of the sudden car shuts off and I pull over. Come to find out engine through a rod in the block and was not cover under warranty because they said I didn't have enough proof oil was never change even though I gave them all my receipts.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateNov 19, 2020
StateFL
Description
Gas cap cover does not effectively open when I pull the lever inside unless I first push in the cover. Car is stationary.
CategoryTires
DateOct 13, 2020
StatePA
Description
I needed to take my car in to the mechanic to repair a tire that had a nail in it. While repairing the tire, I asked him to also check the tread of the tires. He preceded to tell me that the treads were still good, but what concerned him was the tread separation, cracking, and dry rot that the tires had. He said they definitely need replaced but not because of tread. He told me to look in to it because he felt they were defective.
CategoryEngine
DateSep 21, 2020
StateFL
Description
Got my car at 60 miles. That was a lil over two years ago and now my car is at 68000. The engine is stalling and it's not accelerating properly. When I have to break or even break pulling into a parking spot the car cuts off. No lights are popping up and I've never had this issue before. I see a lot of other people on here who are also having these problems.
CategoryEngine
DateAug 26, 2020
StateOH
Description
Vehicle repeatedly stalls and must be restarted when travelling at low speeds. Manufacturer and dealership both recommended replacing aftermarket automatic starter and problem still persists.
CategoryAir Bags
DateAug 07, 2020
StateMD
Description
In loved accident june17th 2019 was rear ended and driven into rear end of 129000 lbs tractor trailer. Car was demolished, front end and rear sustained major damage. Was extracted from car. Air bags dud not delploy. Sustained fractured skull and concussion
CategorySeat Belts
DateJul 30, 2020
StateGA
Description
Drivers seat belt is just getting shredded / coming apart. This is not just cosmetic fraying - the fabric is coming apart on both sides of the strap.
CategoryElectrical System
DateMay 22, 2020
StateVA
Description
I have trouble with my car starting every time get ready to start it I would have to get someone to jump start my car off every time ike yesterday when I got ready to go to work it didn't start it make a clicking noise ike it's the battery but I really can't tell what is causing this problem I have taken my care to kia dealership they found nothing wrong and here I am again a week later with the same issue as before and no solution and I'm getting really frustrated with problem I jus want fixed. *tr
CategoryEngine
DateApr 13, 2020
StateOH
Description
While my daughter was driving this vehicle it started making a loud noise, then the motor stopped. There was no indication, ever, of an engine issue. No lights, warnings, temperature, nothing ever alerted her. We took it to two mechanics who diagnosed as total engine failure. All fluids were low, no oil. We never saw oil spots. She had the oil changed in february. We have to purchase a new engine as her warranty ran out at 60,000 miles. How convenient for kia. She has 67,000 miles. None of the sensors alerted her to any engine issues! The mechanics noted a thick sticky covering over the bottom of the engine. We know kia has had several motor recalls on other models. This model should be included. I noticed online several other kia forte owners with engine issues. Please advise.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateMar 02, 2020
StateFL
Description
My vehicle keeps beeping and saying the doors are open. The light comes on & the dashboard shows the door opening. This is a constant issue whenever anyone I sitting in the front passenger seat. Sometimes I can't relock the door because of this. This is very scary & I've been to the dealership. I will be going back again. I have also had my passenger takes videos. It happens when turning left or right and high speeds.
CategoryVehicle Speed Control
DateJan 14, 2020
StateVA
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2018 kia forte. The contact stated that while merging into traffic, the accelerator pedal was depressed however, the vehicle hesitated. The vehicle was taken to motor mile kia 2260 roanoke st #1, christiansburg, va 24073 (540) 381-8417, to be diagnosed. The mechanic was unable to retrieve a fault code or duplicate the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact stated that the failure was intermittent. The manufacturer was contacted and informed of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 9,624. The vin was not valid.
CategoryElectrical System, Vehicle Speed Control
DateJan 02, 2020
StateFL
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2018 kia forte. While the vehicle was stopped at an inersection, the contact depressed the accelerator pedal. The vehicle hesitated for approximately sixty seconds and failed to accelerate properly. The vehicle was taken to kia autosport of pensacola (6637 pensacola blvd, pensacola, fl 32505, (888) 512-0124) where it was diagnosed that the instrument cluster needed to be updated. The vehicle was repaired; however, the failure recurred multiple times. The contact referenced nhtsa id number: 10162043. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and provided case number: [xxx]. No further assistance was provided. The failure mileage was approximately 31,022. *ln *tr *dt *bf *tp*dt consumer stated bbb autoline decided to repurchase vehicle due to being lemon.*jb 'parts of this document have been redacted to protect personally identifiable information pursuant to the freedom of information act (foia), 5 u. S. C. 552(b)(6).'*jb
CategoryElectrical System, Power Train
DateDec 15, 2019
StateNC
Description
Ive had my car since 38 miles. This is my second year owning it. It has been well kept and it started having problems about a month ago that has gotten worse. It shakes really bad at 30mph and stays in 6th gear. It also has major problems picking up speed and shifting in general. Sometimes it just stalls and dont go. When switching lanes on the interstate it slows way down and doesn't shift. It doesn't matter my speed. From 10-50mph and up it skips gears and stalls.
CategoryVehicle Speed Control
DateSep 29, 2019
StateVT
Description
Vehicle was in my driveway had to move car forward to get into my trunk as I was only going a few feet I got into car leaving door partial open with my left leg hanging out as I started the car it instaniously surged forward 10 to 12 feet into my garage pinning my leg between the door and the rocker panel after coming to a stop running into a cabinet in the garage I slammed the car in reverse backing out of garage after getting out of car I could see that my foot had been severly cut wide open shortly after my daughter drove me to the hospital to emergency care where I received 14 stitches on top of foot. Have been unable to return to work for two weeks since 9/16/19 and may be another two to three weeks before able to return to work.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateAug 31, 2019
StateWI
Description
My car has been hacked while I was at work. I had my car parked in the museum parking lot in milwaukee, wi.
CategoryEngine
DateAug 01, 2019
StateCA
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2018 kia forte. While driving, the check engine indicator illuminated and the vehicle stalled. The vehicle was taken to pomona kia (8 rio rancho road, pomona, ca 91766, (909) 664-2200) where it was diagnosed that there were metal shavings in the engine. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was contacted and provided case number: 13235167. The failure mileage was 34,000.
CategorySteering
DateJul 23, 2019
StateNV
Description
I was having an issue with a "used" kia the day I bought it I say used because it had less then 2000 miles when I was given the keys, it had wobbly tires and then about 2 weeks into having it, this noise came up in the front right tire, clanking and grinding almost; when I pulled into a parking spot, turning the wheels all the way left, a pop happened. I straightened the wheels and got out. Looked at my front driver and it looked okay, but then when I went to the front passenger it was turned all the way inwards. There was a line with a lug nut on the end that was disconnected. I'm happy it didnt happen doing 65 around a corner.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJul 09, 2019
StateCA
Description
My car was parked in my parents driveway for 24 hours when my husband heard a pop and it had caught on fire flames were forcefully coming out from under the hood and it burned our house down the car was too burned for an inspection by the insurance companies or anybody the car was totaled it was the first new car that I had ever had this happened on 10/31 2018 the city of anaheim california has the fire report which states that it was my car that caused the whole fire according to state farm and mercury casualty it is a large loss
CategoryElectrical System, Unknown Or Other
DateJun 24, 2019
StateIL
Description
Trunk is constantly popping open, although no one is hitting the button on the keys nor pulling the lever. I can be in the house with my keys on the counter and it will pop open. Actually had stuff stolen because of this. This will happen whether it is stopped, when I'm driving, anywhere. I don't have to hit a bump or anything. Radio is crackly and cuts out and beeps but only when playing bluetooth. When I use an aux or just fm it works perfect.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJun 17, 2019
StateNJ
Description
My car has no eco button or sport button. They both come on and go off for no reason
CategoryUnknown Or Other, Wheels
DateMay 30, 2019
StateGA
Description
April 2018, I purchased the kia forte from bulldog kia-athens ga. Two weeks later the tire sensor light came on. The kia was driven to the bulldog constantly. Air pressure checked each time. Aptil 10, 2019 the tire sensor light came on, passenger front tire blewout and damaged rim while in motion. The car was towed from winder hwy: winder ga to bulldog kia. Thr car set over 30 days. I involved gainsco my auto insurance on april 24, 2018. There was damaged done to my car prior to filing an insurance claim. When the gainsco adjuster called on april 27, the service manager said that he couldn't locate my car. The adjuster arrived at bulldog kia. The adjuster said that my car was in a wreck because the added damage while car was parked in bulldog kia's lot. May. 1st, I personally had my car towed from bulldog kia. Cost one was 3 paid at bulldog kia may 1st, 2019. Upon removal, the rear passenger rim was bent and pulled away from the tire. 76 auto repair repaired passenger rear rim and tire: test driven kia, srnsor came on: checked driver rim and tire-rear front rim was cracked-and was repaired. Cost two 4. 00 paid may 26, 2019. I was without transportation over 30 days and have photos and receipts.
CategorySteering, Structure:body, Unknown Or Other
DateApr 19, 2019
StatePA
Description
I was entering an onramp at about 15mph; a car yielded in front of me. I hit my brakes and yet slid into the rear of the front car. I did not stop, even with brakes applied, and slid in to the front acre. No airbags deployed and my kia was totaled and undrivable.
CategoryEngine, Fuel/propulsion System
DateApr 08, 2019
StateFL
Description
This is a follow up to my original complaint on this issue #11186351... As indicated in that original complaint I took my forte in to the dealership and had it serviced (oil & filter change, tire rotation) and had them check out the issue I was experiencing; they said they could not find anything (not surprised) however there was some type of kia service alert to replace the spark plugs 'again'... I have had this 2018 forte exactly one year now and I am on the second set of spark plugs which I find quite unusual to put it politely.. I have owned many, many new cars and I've never had spark plugs replaced at this rate so imo there is something else wrong with this vehicle and I guess I will have to do the wait and see.. As far as the original problem I still have it driving along and it feels like I ran out of gas which is not true I have almost a full tank of gas and I keep an electronic fuel log to monitor gas usage and the vehicle is getting about 29 mph around town on regular gas..
CategoryExterior Lighting
DateApr 08, 2019
StateFL
Description
Driving at night on a rural road, without street lights (or other ambient lighting), the low beams do not illuminate the road adequately. According to the florida drivers handbook it states that low beams should illuminate 250 feet. Once safely off the roadway, in the same dark conditions, I actually measured the distance that was lit by the low beams and it only measured 85 feet... Way less than required by law.. The low beams are consistently dim yet the dealer claims they are "working properly". This is not safe!
CategoryEngine, Fuel/propulsion System, Vehicle Speed Control
DateMar 26, 2019
StateWA
Description
When accelerating there is no power and it is going to cause the accident I was on the freeway I went to switch lanes I hit the gas and the car would not move just stood there and rp m's going up
CategoryPower Train, Vehicle Speed Control
DateMar 13, 2019
StateFL
Description
This problem happened 2 times this week & on 2 separate days while I was driving & since I only drive this car once or twice a week this has me concerned.. The car started ok and drove for a couple of miles just fine when suddenly the car felt like I was trying to drive while the car was in neutral & even with my foot was on the gas pedal the car wasn't going anywhere.. I pulled off the road to get out of the flow of traffic & tried to put the shift lever in a different gear but it was stuck in drive even when my foot was firmly on the brake pedal, so I tried to 'jiggle' it a little from left to right but the shift lever wouldn't really move so I just sat there.. After a few minutes I made an attempt to safely pull out into traffic & the car hesitated a little but then drove fine.. When this happened the first time this week I ignored it and treated it as a 'one time only' issue, but then it happened a second time so I got concerned and made an appointment with citrus kia for 3/15/19 to have this checked out.. I'm not sure if anyone else is experiencing this but felt I should report it and will update this after the kia dealer has a look at it..
CategoryEngine, Unknown Or Other
DateJan 05, 2019
StateCA
Description
I have had my brand new kia forte for 8 months starting in april. I currently have 16,581 miles on the car. About a month ago my eco light came on by itself and there was no way to turn it off so I had to take it to kia where they unscrewed my battery and it went off. Now I am having problems with my car not wanting to turn on and after taking a trip to auto zone we found out that it was the 'crank shaft'. I am having problems with a brand new car that I have only had for eight months. I was driving when my engine light came on so I became really concerned and that's what forced me to have to go to auto zone to see why my engine light was on.
CategoryAir Bags, Structure:body
DateNov 21, 2018
StateOH
Description
Takata recall. I was involved in an accident and crash head on into another car. The vehicle was totaled but the airbags never deployed.
CategoryVehicle Speed Control:accelerator Pedal
DateJun 27, 2018
StateIL
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2018 kia forte. While depressing the accelerator pedal, the pedal failed to release and became stuck. The vehicle was not taken to a dealer for diagnostic testing or repairs. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 1,462.
CategoryAir Bags
DateJun 25, 2018
StateNJ
Description
Takata recall I was in an accident. The initial impact was the front of the car and the drivers side airbag did not deploy. I ran a stop sign at aprox 35mph and tee boned a truck. After the impact I spun into a telephone pole where the side curtain did deploy.
CategoryService Brakes
DateJun 02, 2018
StateCA
Description
Vehicle was purchased with 28 miles on 4/10/2018. The vehicle makes a grinding noise upon applying the brakes. It doesnt matter what speed you are at the brakes grind in reverse or drive when applying the brakes. Kia dealership already replaced caliper says it's normal noise when kia forte is stopped. Would like to know anyone experienced same issue
CategoryPower Train
DateMay 01, 2018
StateFL
Description
This is a follow-up to my original complaint # 11088519 on 4/10/18.. When I brought the vehicle to the dealer on 4/25/18, I was told it was a bad spark plug huh on a new car; what would be next.. In any event the dealer had to order the spark plug another huh on that too.. Spark plug is in & I have an appointment tomorrow 5/2/18 to replace & repair & none too soon because the car sounds & runs 'terrible'.. Sitting at a light it sounds worse than the 2016 fiesta I traded in terrible rough idle & really bad when accelerating from a light which could be dangerous.. This kia forte at present has 465 miles on the odometer..
CategoryPower Train
DateApr 16, 2018
StateFL
Description
Well at present my car only has about 400 miles on it I only picked it up on 4/4/2018 & it's starting to sound like the 2016 ford fiesta I traded in.. When stopped at a light the idle gets rough and if this was the 1960's I would say it had a bad spark plug or carburetor issues; however, this is 2018 so not sure but it's the only thing I can relate the idle issue with.. I spoke with the salesperson at the dealership that sold me the car but he said he knows nothing about inner workings of cars so I made an appointment with the service department for 4/25/2018 since I cannot get there at the times they want me to; and until then I can only monitor it.. This issue started after I had the car approximately one week; nothing like florida car dealers selecting a car for me off their lot that has issues..
CategoryVehicle Speed Control
DateApr 06, 2018
StateFL
Description
I picked up this 2018 kia forte vehicle on 4/4/2018 which had approximately 18 miles on the odometer so I'm not sure if this issue is because the vehicle is still new or because I just traded in a 2016 ford fiesta & just not used to this vehicle.. What I've noticed is that the gas pedal sticks a little & doesn't respond right away to foot pressure, but I'm a small person so foot pressure is not as heavy as big person.. I just wanted to note this issue just in case it does become an ongoing problem..

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.


Share your story

Does this ring a bell? Have you had a bad experience too? Sound off and share your experience with other visitors in the comment box below.

Brian Jones

About the Author:

Brian Jones spent more than 20 years working as an ASE Certified Master Tech and Parts Specialist at multiple dealerships. Brian has become an authority in the industry, traveling across the country to consult for car dealerships and contributing his expertise as a writer for several major automotive publications. In his spare time, Brian enjoys working on pickup trucks, muscle cars, Jeeps and anything related to motorsports.

See more posts from Brian Jones
2 COMMENTS
  • Michael b

    The same thing has happened to my 2018 forte bought from world car kia on Fredricks burg road in San Antonio Texas. With mine, it’s 3 1/2 yrs old and it completely self destructed. There was no warning. All the issues described above and more happened simultaneously . Since I am over the 100k mile warranty ( barely, they have washed their hands . I’m throughly disgusted. It didn’t even make it the damn 60 months of my loan. They have destroyed my investment, endangered my life and my livelihood and it appears that they can’t be held accountable .

  • Shauntel

    I have had my 2018 for two years now , I am the only owner and just recently I’ve had issues with my low beam head lights, my car slowly speeds up when switching lanes etc

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead you can to our legal team.

Please select your star rating.

Briefly describe your experience Briefly describe your experience

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? Please enter a valid phone number

Want to know if you could sue? Get a free legal evaluation Lemberg Law?

Get Your No-Obligation
Case Evaluation

Send a secure message to our legal team.

What’s your name? What’s your name?
What’s your email address? What’s your email address?
What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?
Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem
Confidentiality Guarantee: We keep your information completely confidential and will not send you spam or sell your information.